Babar Azam returns in T20I as Pakistan unveil T20I and ODI squads for South Africa, Sri Lanka, and Tri-series

BouncerGuy

The National Selection Committee has named a 15-member squad for the T20I series against South Africa and the T20I tri-series involving Sri Lanka and Zimbabwe, while a 16-member squad has been announced for the ODI series against South Africa and Sri Lanka.

The T20I series between Pakistan and South Africa will be played in Rawalpindi and Lahore from 28 October to 1 November, while the T20I tri-series will be staged at the same venues from 17 to 29 November. In the T20I squad, Abdul Samad, Babar Azam and Naseem Shah make a comeback to the side after missing out on the previous events. Usman Tariq is the only uncapped player in the T20I squad.

Pakistan and South Africa, who are currently playing the second Test at the Rawalpindi Cricket Stadium, will also feature in a three-match ODI series to be held at the Iqbal Stadium in Faisalabad from 4 to 8 November. The ODI series will be followed by another three-match ODI series against Sri Lanka at the Rawalpindi Cricket Stadium from 11 to 15 November.

In the ODI squad, Faisal Akram, Haris Rauf and Haseebullah return to the side.

15-member T20I squad:

Salman Ali Agha (captain), Abdul Samad, Abrar Ahmed, Babar Azam, Faheem Ashraf, Hasan Nawaz, Mohammad Nawaz, Mohammad Wasim Jnr, Mohammad Salman Mirza, Naseem Shah, Sahibzada Farhan, Saim Ayub, Shaheen Shah Afridi, Usman Khan (wicket-keeper), Usman Tariq

Reserves: Fakhar Zaman, Haris Rauf, Sufiyan Moqim

16-member ODI squad:

Shahen Shah Afridi (captain), Abrar Ahmed, Babar Azam, Faheem Ashraf, Faisal Akram, Fakhar Zaman, Haris Rauf, Haseebullah, Hasan Nawaz, Hussain Talat, Mohammad Nawaz, Mohammad Rizwan (wicket-keeper), Mohammad Wasim Jnr, Naseem Shah, Saim Ayub, Salman Ali Agha

Schedule:

South Africa tour to Pakistan

28 October – First T20I at Rawalpindi Cricket Stadium, Rawalpindi

31 October – Second T20I at Gaddafi Stadium, Lahore

1 November – Third T20I at Gaddafi Stadium, Lahore

4 November – First ODI at Iqbal Stadium, Faisalabad

6 November – Second ODI at Iqbal Stadium, Faisalabad

8 November – Third ODI at Iqbal Stadium, Faisalabad

Sri Lanka tour to Pakistan

11 November – First ODI at Rawalpindi Cricket Stadium, Rawalpindi

13 November – Second ODI at Rawalpindi Cricket Stadium, Rawalpindi

15 November – Third ODI at Rawalpindi Cricket Stadium, Rawalpindi

T20I Tri-Series (Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Zimbabwe)

17 November – Pakistan v Zimbabwe, Rawalpindi Cricket Stadium, Rawalpindi

19 November – Sri Lanka v Zimbabwe, Rawalpindi Cricket Stadium, Rawalpindi

22 November – Pakistan v Sri Lanka, Gaddafi Stadium, Lahore

23 November – Pakistan v Zimbabwe, Gaddafi Stadium, Lahore

25 November – Sri Lanka v Zimbabwe, Gaddafi Stadium, Lahore

27 November – Pakistan v Sri Lanka, Gaddafi Stadium, Lahore

29 November –Final, Gaddafi Stadium, Lahore

PCB

The National Selection Committee has named a 15-member squad for the T20I series against South Africa and the T20I tri-series involving Sri Lanka and Zimbabwe, while a 16-member squad has been announced for the ODI series against South Africa and Sri Lanka.

The T20I series between Pakistan and South Africa will be played in Rawalpindi and Lahore from 28 October to 1 November, while the T20I tri-series will be staged at the same venues from 17 to 29 November. In the T20I squad, Abdul Samad, Babar Azam and Naseem Shah make a comeback to the side after missing out on the previous events. Usman Tariq is the only uncapped player in the T20I squad.

Pakistan and South Africa, who are currently playing the second Test at the Rawalpindi Cricket Stadium, will also feature in a three-match ODI series to be held at the Iqbal Stadium in Faisalabad from 4 to 8 November. The ODI series will be followed by another three-match ODI series against Sri Lanka at the Rawalpindi Cricket Stadium from 11 to 15 November.

In the ODI squad, Faisal Akram, Haris Rauf and Haseebullah return to the side.

15-member T20I squad:

Salman Ali Agha (captain), Abdul Samad, Abrar Ahmed, Babar Azam, Faheem Ashraf, Hasan Nawaz, Mohammad Nawaz, Mohammad Wasim Jnr, Mohammad Salman Mirza, Naseem Shah, Sahibzada Farhan, Saim Ayub, Shaheen Shah Afridi, Usman Khan (wicket-keeper), Usman Tariq

Reserves: Fakhar Zaman, Haris Rauf, Sufiyan Moqim

16-member ODI squad:

Shahen Shah Afridi (captain), Abrar Ahmed, Babar Azam, Faheem Ashraf, Faisal Akram, Fakhar Zaman, Haris Rauf, Haseebullah, Hasan Nawaz, Hussain Talat, Mohammad Nawaz, Mohammad Rizwan (wicket-keeper), Mohammad Wasim Jnr, Naseem Shah, Saim Ayub, Salman Ali Agha

Schedule:

South Africa tour to Pakistan

28 October – First T20I at Rawalpindi Cricket Stadium, Rawalpindi

31 October – Second T20I at Gaddafi Stadium, Lahore

1 November – Third T20I at Gaddafi Stadium, Lahore

4 November – First ODI at Iqbal Stadium, Faisalabad

6 November – Second ODI at Iqbal Stadium, Faisalabad

8 November – Third ODI at Iqbal Stadium, Faisalabad

Sri Lanka tour to Pakistan

11 November – First ODI at Rawalpindi Cricket Stadium, Rawalpindi

13 November – Second ODI at Rawalpindi Cricket Stadium, Rawalpindi

15 November – Third ODI at Rawalpindi Cricket Stadium, Rawalpindi

T20I Tri-Series (Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Zimbabwe)

17 November – Pakistan v Zimbabwe, Rawalpindi Cricket Stadium, Rawalpindi

19 November – Sri Lanka v Zimbabwe, Rawalpindi Cricket Stadium, Rawalpindi

22 November – Pakistan v Sri Lanka, Gaddafi Stadium, Lahore

23 November – Pakistan v Zimbabwe, Gaddafi Stadium, Lahore

25 November – Sri Lanka v Zimbabwe, Gaddafi Stadium, Lahore

27 November – Pakistan v Sri Lanka, Gaddafi Stadium, Lahore

29 November –Final, Gaddafi Stadium, Lahore

PCB
That 49 not out probs helped

Haris dropped from t20 side.. LOL
free ka safar tamam hua...

Good to see Haseeb in ODI though.. WHy haris rauf in ODI?? Kidding me>?

Good to see that rizwan was not added in t20s... It means Usman Khan will get full chance now in t20s... He has to make it count otherwise Riz's return is on cards

How is it a sad day for me?

I have issues with rizwan not babar 🤣🤣🤣.

Ping me when rizzu gets added. Babar sahi hai, better t20 player then Agha atleast.

Fakhar shouldn't have been dropped though.
You had issues with Babar as well. Should I bump another thread to exposed you ? :kp

They will notice that Haris is dropped also.. No fakhar zaman also... UFFF
That part is unforgivable and the fact you are advocating this showcases your allegience.

Sharam karo, an aussie dual citizen with only 50% PK support supports PK more then you.

If Fakhar Zaman was in Aus, he probs would have been their main test opener after Warner retired.

Mistreatment, Corruption. Thanks to people like you.

Usman is another heck and he is likely to fail :kp
He has earned his spot TBH..

That part is unforgivable and the fact you are advocating this showcases your allegience.

Sharam karo, an aussie dual citizen with only 50% PK support supports PK more then you.

If Fakhar Zaman was in Aus, he probs would have been their main test opener after Warner retired.

Mistreatment, Corruption. Thanks to people like you.

Fakhar's form made it happen... He deserved a shake up like Babar did.. Fakhar can always make a comeback but his t20 form was never good... Good decision to rest him

You had issues with Babar as well. Should I bump another thread to exposed you ? :kp
I have issues with babar yes, many many many issues but I don't hate him to the point that I'll lose my sleep over it.

But yes, I am mad that he got selected over Fakhar. That part is diabolical.

Also bhai stop with this exposing nonsense. I say 2 words and you go on a report spree. 🙄🙄

He has earned his spot TBH..

Fakhar's form made it happen... He deserved a shake up like Babar did.. Fakhar can always make a comeback but his t20 form was never good... Good decision to rest him
I am on same page here.. He should have played more test cricket...
What form? Being the best batsmen in Asia cup??????????????????

OMG you agenda brigade. You're so biased.

Unbelievable.

Where are all the unbiased posters such as myself nowadays?

I have issues with babar yes, many many many issues but I don't hate him to the point that I'll lose my sleep over it.

But yes, I am mad that he got selected over Fakhar. That part is diabolical.

Also bhai stop with this exposing nonsense. I say 2 words and you go on a report spree. 🙄🙄

Maybe you forget but this is your own thread. Lol

:klopp :kp

What form? Being the best batsmen in Asia cup??????????????????

OMG you agenda brigade. You're so biased.

Unbelievable.

Where are all the unbiased posters such as myself nowadays?
T20 from... look at his stats... medicore at best... ODI giant for sure but good that he has been dropped from T20s... Nice

Maybe you forget but this is your own thread. Lol

:klopp :kp
When have I attacked Babar in this thread? I called him an accumulator 👺. Abh jhoot bhi bolna shuru kar doon 🤣🤣🤣.

Should I call him a dynamite batsmen 🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣.

Or do you just love Bobby cause he humiliated India by 10 wickets which was a fluke?

Only time I agree with you that it was a fluke win.

The real dominant win was in the sarfi era by our goat batsmen fakhar zaman and sarfi

T20 from... look at his stats... medicore at best... ODI giant for sure but good that he has been dropped from T20s... Nice
Stats mean nothing. They are as irrelevant as Usman Khawaja and Brook avg 105 and 150 pre aqib era and babar avg 70.

Imagine if Fakhar Zaman was in Australia.

1) Fakhar Zaman
2) Renshaw
3) Green
4) Steve Smith
5) Head
6) Webster
7) Carey

Beautiful test batting lineup.

Now replace Fakhar with babar in that line up :klopp

Only one man is enough to make us lose.

Haris RAUF.

He is called back to ODIs. And also retained in T20s.

DOUBLE REWARD for him!!!

lol @ Haris being dropped for Usman Khan. What's the incentive for players to actually play aggressive and modern style cricket if they are going to be dropped after few bad games? Haris was literally your highest scorer in the match vs Bangladesh that got you to the Asia Cup final. Mohammad Haris gets dropped when there is chances for him to get runs in his home conditions instead of playing in tough, spinning slow conditions Pakistan have been doing and this will result in Usman Khan piling on easy runs for future selections. it is a mistake to select him. He is simply not international caliber.

Fakhar being dropped is understandable. His T20 career has been pretty pedestrian and he is getting up there in age.
Usman Tariq is a nice selection but it seems inevitable he will be called for his action.
I am assuming Shaheen is in the squad because it's the squad for tai-series as well which he will play. But I truly hope he is rested for the SA ones unless the wish is to get him injured and broken down again. He is finally getting his rhythm and pace back. Don't overwork him.

I think the ODI squad is good and they selected the right backup WK for that one too. Faisal Akram call up is nice.
My only issue is Hussain Talat in the squad. I am sorry but no, I just think he is complete rubbish. Another accumulator with zero power and just a very mediocre player. Why not give Kamran Ghulam some more chances? They literally discarded him after a couple of flops which is insane.

I also love how hypocritical people are.

Babar and rizwan kicked out of the squad: PCB is a circus clown board.

Babar comes back over fakhar in the squad: PCB is the greatest board on planet earth 👺

It already ended in tears when they were there... Nothing new
Like I said if have no issues with babar being in the squad but have issues with

A) Him being in the playing 11 when he should be a stand in for incase a batsmen gets injured.

B) Dropping the greatest opener since Saeed Anwar for a failed Akmal. All Akmals are failures.

C) Anyone advocating an Akmal Khandan batsmen over Saeed Anwar 2.0

Fakhar and haris have been rightfully dropped.
Haris has been pathetic for a long time and fakhar seems to have lost the hand eye coordination obviously becoz of age.
I think fakhar to prioritize full time now on ODIs and be fit for 2027 wc

Fakhar not in t20 squad . Why ? Insane
Babar is okay we need someone like him at 3 on Srilankan pitches . Harris WK righty dropped . Saim Ayub hmmm

Lmao, Babar back in, Fakhar and tulla Haris out—brace yourselves, the troll brigade is about to flood this thread with their daily dose of hate.

Like I said if have no issues with babar being in the squad but have issues with

A) Him being in the playing 11 when he should be a stand in for incase a batsmen gets injured.

B) Dropping the greatest opener since Saeed Anwar for a failed Akmal. All Akmals are failures.

C) Anyone advocating an Akmal Khandan batsmen over Saeed Anwar 2.0
This is why he is rested/dropped... OK??

1761196462025.png

Fakhar not in t20 squad . Why ? Insane
Babar is okay we need someone like him at 3 on Srilankan pitches . Harris WK righty dropped . Saim Ayub hmmm
His numbers are among the worst for t20s and he has played over 100 matches. His numbers are way worse than Rizwan and Babar.

You also called fakhar the greatest open in t20s. So how can you be taken seriously?
I never called him the greatest t20 opener? When did I claim hes > Kohli, Warner, KP, Gayle who are the undisputed top 4?

I said greatest t20 opener for PAKISTAN.

And yes I can be taken very seriously over someone who believes Afghanistan who just got drubbed by Sri lanka, Pakistan, Bangladesh and Zimbabwe are the 2nd best Team in Asia all formats 👺

I never called him the greatest t20 opener? When did I claim hes > Kohli, Warner, KP, Gayle who are the undisputed top 4?

I said greatest t20 opener for PAKISTAN.

And yes I can be taken very seriously over someone who believes Afghanistan who just got drubbed by Sri lanka, Pakistan, Bangladesh and Zimbabwe are the 2nd best Team in Asia all formats 👺
LOL... What a joke... I gave you stats up... He is not the best.. On par with babar atm..

Babar and Usman are terrible selections, and maybe it’s just a last chance salon kind of thing of either.

How can we not find a decent wicket-keeper in our country?

Why does Fakhar get treated like this . He performed decent in Tri series and Asia cup and was just starting to build a fluid opening partnership with Farhan.
So we decide to put him in reserves! Genius.

Why does Fakhar get treated like this . He performed decent in Tri series and Asia cup and was just starting to build a fluid opening partnership with Farhan.
So we decide to put him in reserves! Genius.
LOL 109 t20s he has already played, and you are saying that he started to build a partnership?

I know we don't have many options, but fakhar's time was already up...

So they replaced Fakhar with Babar?
Yes. People dont realise this team is weaker then asia cup and are doing bhrangra. These guys dont have a clue

They were constantly whining about how everyone excluding Farhan and Fakhar and sometimes haris at no 3 were either walking wickets or slow SR batters.

Now they are happy with axing Fakhar for babar, And Haris as well?

Mashallah, talk about backward priorities.

Good to see Babar back in the mix. He looks to have found his touch. Tulla Agha needs to go, a shame that a batsman who struck at 79 in the Asia Cup and less than 115 overall is our T20 captain. Tulla Agha is the epitome of mediocrity and symbolises everything wrong with our cricket today. Glad to see Fakhar gone as well, didn't deliver for far too long and excuses are running out after 100 T20Is. He is a mediocre T20I player and that is a cold hard fact, ODI is a different story.

Bottom line, I told you Babar would be back in the T20 mix yesterday :) Time for redemption and we need to go back to being a great T20 side like in late 2000s and early 2010s/2020s

Good to see Babar back in the mix. He looks to have found his touch. Tulla Agha needs to go, a shame that a batsman who struck at 79 in the Asia Cup and less than 115 overall is our T20 captain. Tulla Agha is the epitome of mediocrity and symbolises everything wrong with our cricket today. Glad to see Fakhar gone as well, didn't deliver for far too long and excuses are running out after 100 T20Is. He is a mediocre T20I player and that is a cold hard fact, ODI is a different story.

Bottom line, I told you Babar would be back in the T20 mix yesterday :) Time for redemption and we need to go back to being a great T20 side like in late 2000s and early 2010s/2020s
Tulla Usman Khan also needs to go! Bring back Riz.

You are so strange

You have been needlessly tagging me and @mominsaigol at the failures of players in the middle order and praising Babar and Rizwan…

Why are you crying now? You’ve got what you wanted?
When did I praise rizbar??
When did I advocate their return in T20Is??