Babar Azam vs Haris Sohail in ODIs

fazleefridi

Tape Ball Captain
Haris looked as if he would be the guy who would rescue the sinking ship of the Pakistan team.

Alas, he went off radar due to the injury.

Thank ALLAAH, Babar has looked good, albeit a small sample size.

Both didn't play together.

Haris is back at the NCA, training hard for his comeback.

At best, he would be back for the tour of WI, or CT'17.

So insha ALLAAH we would see both of them at 3 and 4 in the CT.

One is LHB who bowls a bit of SLA
other is RHB who bowls a bit of OB.

Both are technically good, if not sound

Let's see who leads the team, BABAR or HARIS(IF he stays the same post injury)

I always supported these two players because I knew they are more talented and capable of delivering for team than most of players we have. Technically sound and can easily bat with 80 odd strike rate. I wish Haris Sohail was not dropped after his first tour. It was such a criminal decision by everyone responsible.

same is the case with Umar Amin. He has also been victim of seniors powers.

Babar in ODIs.

Haris is tests especially overseas.

I reckon babar could easily average 45, whereas Haris would average 40-43

In terms of adding to the team, I reckon Babar could easily surpass Haris, especially if he can learn to bowl 3-4 overs of off-spin in a match

I say put Haris in as soon as he is able to walk, even a langra luraa Haris would be a massive upgrade over Asad

Babar at 3 and Haris at 4 is the last hope for Pakistani fans.

That...

Sha-jeel, Baba, Hariz, Sa-fraz, Malik and Wazim at 2,3,4,5,6 and 7 gives u much confidence

Compared to Sharjeel, Hafeez, Babar, Asad, Malik, Umar and Rizwan

Babar, Haris and Sarfraz at 3,4, and 5 I would say.

Sarfraz is needed to rotate the strike in the middle overs and to attack the spinners

Alas, head was made to look like murali by our batsmen

This would be my ideal lineup:

1. Sharjeel Khan
2. Sarfaraz Ahmed
3. Babar Azam
4. Haris Sohail
5. Malik
6. Umar Akmal
7. Aamer Yamin
8. Imad Wasim

Until Harris gets fit and gets into some kind of form - all this is wishful thinking.

Btw, he was not be better than Babar in ODIs.

Wasn't Harris the one who struggled to get to a 100 after scoring 70 odd and still having 15 overs to play vs UAE in the 15' WC?

Harris Sohail is better than Babar

Potentially yes, but his fitness was poor. Got exhausted after 30s and 40s. Babar is very fit, but needs some strength training. At times, his shots lack power.

The problem is not top 6. We will always get top order batsmen who will accumulate their way up to 35 overs at 5 run rate. There are quite a few in domestics. And the prospect of seeing top 6 of Sharjeel, Shehzad (current form), Babar, Haris, Sarfraz and Malik really gives some hope.
But the real problem is bottom 5, with the bat. They are not able to slog their way up to 50 overs and convert that 5 run rate to 6 or 6 to 7. They are not actually the sloggers or hacks or whatever you say. The batting coach or head coach or whoever is responsible should either convert 3 of bottom 5 into sloggers or put 3 sloggers or power hitters (like Shadab Khan, Fahim Ashraf, Amad Butt, Kamran Ghulam) from domestics in bottom 5. That is the only way we can compete with top teams.

The problem is not top 6. We will always get top order batsmen who will accumulate their way up to 35 overs at 5 run rate. There are quite a few in domestics. And the prospect of seeing top 6 of Sharjeel, Shehzad (current form), Babar, Haris, Sarfraz and Malik really gives some hope.
But the real problem is bottom 5, with the bat. They are not able to slog their way up to 50 overs and convert that 5 run rate to 6 or 6 to 7. They are not actually the sloggers or hacks or whatever you say. The batting coach or head coach or whoever is responsible should either convert 3 of bottom 5 into sloggers or put 3 sloggers or power hitters (like Shadab Khan, Fahim Ashraf, Amad Butt, Kamran Ghulam) from domestics in bottom 5. That is the only way we can compete with top teams.

Look at the English side that endeavored to chase down the Indian target of 380 today and just fell short by 15 runs. They had freaking David Willey coming in at number 10 and Willey is good enough to replace Asad, Malik, Rizwan and Imad within our middle order. He also opens the batting for his county side.

Seriously I wouldn't mind us playing all part-time bowlers if it means we have good strikers of the ball coming in till number 10.

This is how modern day ODI cricket is played. Gone are days when you will score 260 odd and then trap the opposition side in their chase. Unfortunately our team management is still stuck in the 80s and 90s.

Never thought much of Sohail

Seems a bit lazy in the field

If Hafeez/Azhar are playing

Then the choice for 5 is between Sohail/Akmal

Really we need to move on From Hafeez/Azhar

But even if Azhar fails in his next 2 innings against Australia

He'll get given another chance in WI
If he isn't the captain, i don't think he deserves a spot in the XI

Babar is the better player and has more ability. I rate Haris very much though and he should also be batting in the top 4 in ODIs. I'd take an injured Haris over this useless Asad

Haris' injury has hurt us more than anything. The next risk-free player that easily slots in at 5 is Zeeshan Malik but it will be two years or so before he's ready.

where would u put sarfaraz ? When do u think the qalandar irfan will debut ? btw, is he playing for qalandars in this years psl ?

Look at the English side that endeavored to chase down the Indian target of 380 today and just fell short by 15 runs. They had freaking David Willey coming in at number 10 and Willey is good enough to replace Asad, Malik, Rizwan and Imad within our middle order. He also opens the batting for his county side.

Seriously I wouldn't mind us playing all part-time bowlers if it means we have good strikers of the ball coming in till number 10.

This is how modern day ODI cricket is played. Gone are days when you will score 260 odd and then trap the opposition side in their chase. Unfortunately our team management is still stuck in the 80s and 90s.

You are missing one thing. Look at the size and physique of England cricketers and then look at Pakistani cricketers. They look so powerful that their mistimed shots also cross the boundaries most of the times. They have proper six hitters down there in their line up. But unfortunately, I am not able to see any powerful youngster in our domestic who is well built and can hit sixes cleanly.

where would u put sarfaraz ? When do u think the qalandar irfan will debut ? btw, is he playing for qalandars in this years psl ?
Seven.

I don't know. It depends when he's noticed. He's a supplementary player. He might get a game.

i loved haris and have been dreamimg of the babar-haris axis at 3-4. with sarfaraz and malik at 5 6 we just need some tullay baaz at number 2 with sharjeel and at number 7. hopefully we will unearth somebody in psl in coming seasons in time for the world cup

Harris should open alongside Sharjeel once he's back. The reason I say this is because he never seemed troubled by either pace or swing when he was playing. Was heads and shoulders above every other Pakistani player. I would not want to risk Babar as an opener, even though I believe he can open, considering he's coming in after 5 or so overs anyway, barring a good start from BOTH our openers, which rarely happens. Babar is young and has a potentially higher ceiling than Haris, hence should be given the number 3 spot.

Having Harris open would also mean the rest of our batting order should be batting in their best respective positions, which is Sarfraz at 4 and Malik at 5, as these two are easily our best middle order players who can milk the bowlers for runs at run a ball. I can only hope Umar comes good at number 6, because God knows how much we need him there. Even though, again, he is someone who should ideally be batting at number 4, but with the composition of our team, he is needed as a lower order finisher (the only dynamic player we have alongside Sharjeel).

1.Sharjeel(Agressive opener)
2.Sarfraz(Wk, C)(Rotates strike, Sharjeel won't b under pressure,L-R combination)
3.Babar(Our best bat)
4.Haris(Second best bat, LH)
5.Malik(Best Middle order bat,6th bowler)
6.Umar/ Maqsood(Hard hitting Lower order bat)(Both are bad, but unless we find some one, no other way. Hope we can find some1 from PSL 2)
7.Imad(Good spin AR)
8.Yamin(Good seam AR)
9.Amir
10.Hassan
11.Junaid

12.Fakhar
13.K Akmal(back up keeper, batting would be lot better than Rizwan, but should neva play as a specialist batsman)
14.K ghulam(Would be a good AR than Nawaz in Loi's)
15.Irfan/ Wahab/ G mudassar/ Asif/ Zia/ Raees/ Sadaf(Whoeva is good)

How many 100s did Harris make? How is he better than Babbar by any stretch of imagination?

Both are our best batsmen... Must play them in odi side, babar at 3 and haris at 4.. Just need a solid opener alongside sharjeel to rotate strike and a low order clean hitter at 6 or 7 then we are good to go...

How many 100s did Harris make? How is he better than Babbar by any stretch of imagination?

Haris is the best player of Pakistan against pace/swing/seam bowling in any conditions. Better than Babar in this aspect.

So the comparison isn't one sided.

But i still feel Babar is more talented naturally.

Better options for 5. He's just there to keep.

dont expect much then
hope u werent laughing at rizwan that day too. number 7 needs to be a proper hitter in the modern game otherwise it can waste whatever ur better options at number 5 have done

babar, haris, malik and sarfraz should occupy 3-6,
in between hafeez will be a problem because his bowling will still be useful..
sarfraz keeping will be < rizwan's
azhar's defensive batting and captaincy

interesting to see how mickey handles all these things..

babar, haris, malik and sarfraz should occupy 3-6,
in between hafeez will be a problem because his bowling will still be useful..
sarfraz keeping will be < rizwan's
azhar's defensive batting and captaincy

interesting to see how mickey handles all these things..

We cannot play both Hafeez and Azhar. That would mean that we will remain firmly planted at the number 8 or 9 in the rankings. We do however need Hafeez's bowling. The problem is his batting is a HUGE issue.

Still Hafeez >> Azhar.

dont expect much then
hope u werent laughing at rizwan that day too. number 7 needs to be a proper hitter in the modern game otherwise it can waste whatever ur better options at number 5 have done
#7 does not affect the game on a regular basis. Most of the damage is done upfront by your openers and 5-6 in the final overs.

either way sarfaraz will walk back into 5 position. did u see the odis in england and v windies.
so the better option for the the middle overa is only a figment of your imagination at the moment

When Haris is back and hopefully in form he should open considering he was our best player of swing. This order will look good

1. Sharjeel Khan
2. Haris Sohail
3. Babar Azam
4. Malik
5. Sarfaraz
6. Akmal

As I guessed,Harris is ready for CT'17, but your powerless selectors won't select him.

If both can be at 3 and 4, they can be really good combo for Pak.

As I guessed,Harris is ready for CT'17, but your powerless selectors won't select him.

If both can be at 3 and 4, they can be really good combo for Pak.

Yea man. Can be like Ganguly and Tendulkar or Sangakkara and Jayawardene.

Haris vs babar in any format is a no contest..Babar is looking as if he'll be a pakistan mainstay..Haris the saviour cant even get into the pitch and when he does huffs and puffs his way to a pretty 40 before running out of steam..

Harris has done nothing so far to warrant any special previledges.

Ofcourse Babar is streets ahead of Harris right now and probably was always meant to be the superior player

But Haris bats like a dream (or used to).

Can we have both in the side please, we need to play our best batsmen as we have a clear dearth of batting talent. Babar is a run machine, if he can maintain his motivation and fitness he can become Pakistan's GOAT.

Haris just looks so could at the crease whenever I see him bat, unlike the rest of the TFF's who are always edgy and easily get bogged down, this guy is a treat to watch and hard to pin down due to his range of strokes.

maybe an unpopular opinon here, and not saying it means he is better, but Haris has more ability than Babar imo, especially when it comes to stroke making against Fast Bowlers

Unpopular for only those who havent seen Haris bat over the years.
He is a better player of fast bowling than Babar and thats why will have more success in tests as compare to Babar while Babar will have a better odi career.
I have never missed a televised match of Haris and havent found him in trouble against swing, seam and pace.
Comfortably the best player of fast bowling in Pakistan.

Both r very good. Haris threw his wicket away quite often after getting a decent start lets hope he has learnt hw to build an innings. Babar is already mature enuf and has played long innings. So babar is slightly ahead and of course is in the squad that matters d most

lol..ok...i mean im sure you remember his magnificent 150 against the west indies in the west indies a few years ago??

You are acting as if the folks in the side at the moment are hitting daddy hundreds for fun.

the thread is babar vs haris and with all due respect but nearly everyone in the top few places within our side has hit a hundred. Either in a test match or in ODI's..for example sarfraz who the 12 year old experts on here hate scroed a brilliant hundred in a crunch world cup game, hafeez has scored hundreds, malik (even though i hate his guts) has scored hundreds, babar has scored hundreds, shehzad has a scored some too..what has saviour done to warrant the adulation you teeny boppers give him?

Babar at 3 and Haris at 4 is the last hope for Pakistani fans.

For Test yes, I hope PCB goes in that direction. Waqar did mention those hope as well yesterday.

In ODIs, I am tempted to put Harris as opener(if Sharjeel does not come back). Harris can hit boundaries in power play and has strong defense against 145 clicks pace(he plays late, under his nose, only weakness is short ball, which can only be fixed by playing at international level), which both Hafeez and Shezad lack. Those two are too weak against pace and seam to be given the job of opening, their main strength is wacking spin.

the thread is babar vs haris and with all due respect but nearly everyone in the top few places within our side has hit a hundred. Either in a test match or in ODI's..for example sarfraz who the 12 year old experts on here hate scroed a brilliant hundred in a crunch world cup game, hafeez has scored hundreds, malik (even though i hate his guts) has scored hundreds, babar has scored hundreds, shehzad has a scored some too..what has saviour done to warrant the adulation you teeny boppers give him?

Ironic that Misbah supporters are deriding others for not having an ODI ton.

Haris Sohail has played a grand total of 22 ODIs, batting in 21 off those and has 7 fifties with highest score being 89* in a winning cause. He has a batting average of 43 and SR of 83.

That record is better than all of Pakistani batsmen currently in the team apart from Babar, who obviously is a once in a generation player.

Look no one is saying Sohail is a world beater, he just wipes the floor with the duds in the side at the moment.

Haris Sohail has played a grand total of 22 ODIs, batting in 21 off those and has 7 fifties with highest score being 89* in a winning cause. He has a batting average of 43 and SR of 83.

That record is better than all of Pakistani batsmen currently in the team apart from Babar, who obviously is a once in a generation player.

Look no one is saying Sohail is a world beater, he just wipes the floor with the duds in the side at the moment.

can you tell me how many hundreds he has in List A cricket? I mean if he's better than these "duds" as you call them his record should be miles better..

and yes you are all saying he's a world beater and world class and the best player of pace we have and other nonsense..abay chalis run say ziyada bana nahin sakta aur bradman bana diya hay tum logoan nay!!
get real. He's unproven. End of and from what little I've seen well lets just say I'll be surprised if he has much of a ODI career with us..

i think haris sohail's comeback will be curtailed by injury.

bhai rehnay do .. first they will cry that we should get rid of ttfs and when someone ask for solution they dont have anwser.

if you see potential in a player then invest in him.. every country does it.. but maybe Pakistanis want ready made products. I even doubt they see domestic matches apart from PSL.. if Haris is not good against pace then who is ? flashy Kamran or technique Hafeez ?

can you tell me how many hundreds he has in List A cricket? I mean if he's better than these "duds" as you call them his record should be miles better..

and yes you are all saying he's a world beater and world class and the best player of pace we have and other nonsense..abay chalis run say ziyada bana nahin sakta aur bradman bana diya hay tum logoan nay!!
get real. He's unproven. End of and from what little I've seen well lets just say I'll be surprised if he has much of a ODI career with us..

In case you didn't know 50 is greater than 40, and he has 7 fifties in 21 ODI innings.

han 40 runs nahi hotay tabhi he scored 7 50s in 21 innings..
only 33% of the times he went to 50. sooo pathetic.. we have Tendulkars and Kohlis in our odi side who have much better conversion and SR.

Let me teach some elders in this thread basic Math.

If player A has an average of 50 over 10 games, with 5 hundreds, this is a hypothetical breakdown:

0 100 0 100 0 100 0 100 0 100

If player B has an average of 50 over 10 games, with 0 hundreds, this is a hypothetical breakdown:

50 50 50 50 50 50 50 50 50 50

People will easily disregard the 0's Player A scored because, well, he scored 5 hundreds woohoo! The same people will discount Player B's consistency, and despise him for not scoring 100s. If we have too many of Player As in our team, there will be days when they will fail, and these days will come to bite us hard. This is where players like Player B come into the equation. They are guaranteed (to the same extent that Player A is guaranteed to score regular hundreds) to score 40s and 50s every game and save the Pakistani ship from sinking.

Let me teach some elders in this thread basic Math.

If player A has an average of 50 over 10 games, with 5 hundreds, this is a hypothetical breakdown:

0 100 0 100 0 100 0 100 0 100

If player B has an average of 50 over 10 games, with 0 hundreds, this is a hypothetical breakdown:

50 50 50 50 50 50 50 50 50 50

People will easily disregard the 0's Player A scored because, well, he scored 5 hundreds woohoo! The same people will discount Player B's consistency, and despise him for not scoring 100s. If we have too many of Player As in our team, there will be days when they will fail, and these days will come to bite us hard. This is where players like Player B come into the equation. They are guaranteed (to the same extent that Player A is guaranteed to score regular hundreds) to score 40s and 50s every game and save the Pakistani ship from sinking.

lol wow..now 40's and 50's win you ODI matches lol..oh my days...
to score a 100 in an ODI match is not a joke..you have limited time, you have to know when to slow down when to accelerate, when to run those twos and three's and most likely bat the final ten overs with a dud at the other end, I'll take a player who can hit 5 odi hundreds over a player who makes a pretty 40 or 50 every other game..

Haris is selected. He should bat, no less than 4. Let's see who does the best in ODIs. Now the competition begins.

Hope Babar and Haris play, at 3 and 4.

This should be the line up today. It would be a good practice against some good bowling attack

Hafeez
Fakhar
Babar
Haris
Sarfraz
Imad
Fahim
Shadab
Amir
Hassan
Wahab

Babar azam is a better odi batsmen, but haris is not far behind. Both of them are excellent players and should be batting at 3 and 4 which will solidify our batting. Can't understand the hate which hairs is getting he is by far the second best batsmen in Pakistan after babar.

Post CT this should be the line up. you would be a team to beat.

Sharjeel
Sahibzada
Babar
Haris
Sarfraz
Imad
Yamin
Shadab
Fahim
Amir
Hassan

Amir, Hassan, Imad and Shadab to bowl 10 overs each.

Fahim 6 and Yamin 4(3 with the new ball)

Sharjeel
Sahibzada
Babar
Haris
Sarfraz
Imad
Yamin
Shadab
Fahim
Amir
Hassan

Excellent team on paper , but knowing inzimam won't be surprised to see gul back.

Sharjeel
Sahibzada
Babar
Haris
Sarfraz
Imad
Yamin
Shadab
Fahim
Amir
Hassan

Very good team. But I think Sharjeel won't be there, So Umar Amin should open. And Hussain Talat should replace Yamin

Umar Amin
Sahibzada Farhan
Babar Azam
Haris Sohail
Sarfraz
Hussain Talat
Imad Wasim
Shadab Khan
Fahim Ashraf
Mohammad Amir
Hassan Ali

Others:
Amir Yamin
Mohammad Nawaz
Rumman Raees
Ehsan Adil

Haris will be far ahead once he starts getting opportunities again.

Very good team. But I think Sharjeel won't be there, So Umar Amin should open. And Hussain Talat should replace Yamin

Umar Amin
Sahibzada Farhan
Babar Azam
Haris Sohail
Sarfraz
Hussain Talat
Imad Wasim
Shadab Khan
Fahim Ashraf
Mohammad Amir
Hassan Ali

Others:
Amir Yamin
Mohammad Nawaz
Rumman Raees
Ehsan Adil

He would get away with a slap on the wrist.