Babar Azam's knock against India in the Champions Trophy final

Hawkeye

Sucking momentum out of the inns.

Has to recover n recover fast.

Has been poor so far in this tournament. Flat pitch today so no excuse of playing like Misbah here.

They were bowling spinners so why didn't the thick tank send in malik or sarfi. I don't like their obsession with babar and Imad. It's a Karachi kings bs

there is no shortage of golden boys in pakistani team, if you have ****** and few performances you are reserved for 2-3 years

In Zulu "Barar" is an old man....

HaHa.. Babar batting like an old man

I always back technique and class and Babar has both. Inshallah today is the day, but even if it isn't we need to keep backing genuine talent as long as possible. His time will come.

This guy plays his own game

I've noticed he bats very slowly and cautiously when pressure is on

Surprising because considering his record he should be full of confidence but bats like someone fighting for his place

He truly is an Akmal family member

I always back technique and class and Babar has both. Inshallah today is the day, but even if it isn't we need to keep backing genuine talent as long as possible. His time will come.
With his record and batting style he should have all the confidence in the world so why does he start like a tailender wasting a good 30 balls?

As I said in another thread, so far this is mirroring the Asia Cup 2012 game vs India. Openers did well, U Akmal sucked out momentum.

Babar is playing like U Akmal here.

Playing like Hafeez but seems to be taking the initiative after Fakhar went out. 75 SR is fine so far.

Disappointing so far but if he makes up for it, good otherwise this is quite awful momentum killing inning. Fakhar was going extra hard because of slow start by Babar.

Trying to make up for it

We need 330+ by hook or by crook

Spinners are getting a tonking and we have 3

Game is still going on.

Let's get behind each player and back them up, despite past history.

Baber has to take responsibility now that fakhar is gone an step up, no doubt. Now is the stage perform for your country, kid.

But I expect the most from veterans and senior superstars.

Even if you finishes on a strike rate of 120. It doesn't change the fact he came in and chocked innings

And that's the difference between him and Hafeez- easily capable of going to 100 SR from a slow start of 11(22) and not caring for his personal milestones. Good stuff especially after Fakhar got out

Playing excellently so far. He's our best batsman. Some people love to cry

Even if you finishes on a strike rate of 120. It doesn't change the fact he came in and chocked innings

This is a joke, right? He started slow because he wanted to get in, but has settled and is going nearly run a ball now.

Pakistani fans are the most overemotional, negative, knee jerking cricket fans I know. Literally in one over you go from making a player the King of Pakistan to sending him to the gallows. Jesus.

Babar Azam knew what to do....give Fakhar Zaman the strike and him to support. Once Zaman got out, Babar took over. He's been playing well.

Hadd hai yaar...and then we wonder why Aamir Sohail says the things he says. People need to there attitude.

Hes one of our best bats indeed.

However it doesn't change the fact he started out like Ahmed Shehzad today.

Have. Single standard. You would've criticized if it was Shehzad.

Now the difference is looks like Babar is recovering fast.

Since fakhar was in the other end it wasn't a wrong approach to take his time. Still I'd have preferred if he had played less dot balls and just rotated the strike a bit better.

To be honest his early did had a glimpse of how our senior superstars play. I hope he doesn't continue this trend.

Look at the match situation.

He could afford to play a couple if dot balls since the platform was laid and fakhar was still going berserk.

In an ideal world he should still have kept his dot balls low.

Shehzad is an opening batsman and has a completely different role.

The difference is Shehzad never recovers....

Out. He played a crucial innings because you know how Pakistan can collapse. But he needs to learn how to end the innings on a high.

Gone after a pathetic knock. Didn't deserve his fifty anyway.
You dont have bradmans. Look at how malik gave away his wicket. Babar's innings was important to stop a collapse. But yes disappointing the way it ended.

Really needs to develop a power game and bat with confidence if he wants to be counted as among the top batsman

Looks like a scared little kitten out there, get similar vibes as Kami and Umar in pressure situations.

Started poorly but played well. Should have knocked it around for couple more overs.

Out. He played a crucial innings because you know how Pakistan can collapse. But he needs to learn how to end the innings on a high.

Agreed. He played an important role today, but didn't stay around to really win the game. I think this has been a crucial knock for his development though. He'll go on to win plenty more games after this.

He knows his limitations so not a disastrous inning but he must learn not to play with dead bat in these situations.

Most selfish innings ever, made a negative contribution. A 30 from 20 would've been more useful. He's the worst batsman under pressure for Pak. Take his record of west indies at UAE away and he's Bazid Khan level.

Crucial innings. Also very selfless that he got out slogging before his fifty.

Decent... after the start he got it ended up being an OK innings

Fakhar compensated for his slowness, but Babar started playing his shots and it was a crucial juncture in the innings where Babar carried on after Fakhar gone and game could've been lost in that position

Terrific post to sum up Babar's innings.

Good post. People who don't understand this are crazy. Not everyone in the batting lineup can afford to go at 120SR

can't hit big then why waste balls early on when Fakhar is blasting opposition away? pathetic

Most selfish innings ever, made a negative contribution. A 30 from 20 would've been more useful. He's the worst batsman under pressure for Pak. Take his record of west indies at UAE away and he's Bazid Khan level.

Lol what? :murali

Averages 54 in AUS, 72 in NZ, and 46 against ENG (in UAE).

Crucial knock. He provided Hafeez platform to unleash himself.

Had he played aggressively and gotten out we might've collapses to 290. Can't understand why people fail to differentiate between T20s and ODIs. You can start slowly and then accelerate in ODIs and that's what he did.

couldn't agree more

Continues to look weak and gutless at the crease. Took too long to get going, and threw it away as soon as it was time for him to launch. Statistically he is superb in ODIs, but his impact has been zero. We don't want another Amla on our hands who races to 20+ ODI tons but people are left wondering if he has ever contributed in a big game.

It is time for him to have a good look in the mirror. He has immense ability but he is not doing justice to it because of his personality.

Continues to look weak and gutless at the crease. Took too long to get going, and threw it away as soon as it was time for him to launch. Statistically he is superb in ODIs, but his impact has been zero. We don't want another Amla on our hands who races to 20+ ODI tons but people are left wondering if he has ever contributed in a big game.

It is time for him to have a good look in the mirror. He has immense ability but he is not doing justice to it because of his personality.

He played well today during the very period in which Pakistan and other teams have a habit of letting India come back into the game by losing wickets. He ensured that no more wickets fell and as soon as fakhar got out he scored quickly and ended with a sr of 90.

Tactically speaking, his innings ensured that Pakistan bat India out of the game because he stretched Pakistan's innings without losing wickets. He was set to score big , jist mistimed one.

He needs to learn how to finish though.

Overall 6/10 performance.

I felt he batted well after he got settled just gave his wicket away at the wrong time, but it is a good learning experience this early in his career to be playing a World Final against India.

Batted well in my opinion as we could not have afforded mini collapse to give the initiative back.

He is class, his record speaks for itself. Always back class, I told you this about Mohamed Aamir, and the same holds here. This wasn't a great knock, but it was a crucial one, and I expect he will take confidence from this and go on to show his pedigree.