Bangladesh refuses to travel to India for T20 World Cup 2026 (Update @ post#84)

After Pakistan, is BCCI now targeting Bangladesh cricketers for exclusion from IPL as well?

Are Bangladesh cricketers target worthy in the first place? How many leagues are actually looking to pick them? KKR started picking them because of commercial reasons as it has language connection. Afghanistan, Srilanka bring in mystery element. They are pretty smart.
Srk tries to get these players for his personal reasons,

Bd cannot be looking for a conflict with India and expect employment in India at the same time

Going through such threads, I like to remind myself that there are also decent Ind posters out there. Just that most are happy to parrot their state’s narrative without applying any critical analysis of their own.

Honestly such a poor move by BCCI but as expected it’s been defended and justified by the chest-thumping, mildly educated, right-wing Ind dudes that we have no shortage of here on pp 😂

Bangladesh look to move T20 World Cup matches from India amid Mustafizur row​

BCB cites safety concerns with Sri Lanka a potential alternative host

Bangladesh will ask the ICC to relocate their T20 World Cup matches from India to Sri Lanka, after Kolkata Knight Riders were instructed to release Mustafizur Rahman as a result of deteriorating political ties between Bangladesh and India.

The BCB is expected to write to the ICC to raise their concerns about player safety in Kolkata, where Bangladesh are scheduled to play their first three matches of the World Cup next month.

Bangladesh will ask the ICC to relocate their T20 World Cup matches from India to Sri Lanka, after Kolkata Knight Riders were instructed to release Mustafizur Rahman as a result of deteriorating political ties between Bangladesh and India.

The BCB is expected to write to the ICC to raise their concerns about player safety in Kolkata, where Bangladesh are scheduled to play their first three matches of the World Cup next month.

Isn't it a bit too late for this? Bangladesh moving their games to Sri Lanka might have a knock-on effect on the other teams' games?

As far as I can see, Australia and Pakistan are playing all their matches in Sri Lanka. Add Bangladesh to this list, this will be a nightmare for the ICC.

Sensible move from Bangladesh.

They surely can't play in India after recent comments by Indian politicians.

Good move.

Bangladeshis should stop going to India and Bangladesh should ban all Indians. That would be the best move.

Bangladeshis who go to India should lose Bangladeshi citizenships. They can stay in India. :inti

Good move.

Bangladeshis should stop going to India and Bangladesh should ban all Indians. That would be the best move.

Bangladeshis who go to India should lose Bangladeshi citizenships. They can stay in India. :inti

Maybe Bangladesh can stop playing cricket temporarily and focus on football/soccer. Football is rising in popularity in Bangladesh anyway. Young guys are more into football than cricket.

Cricket has been turned into a ghetto sport by the Indians. Until cricket becomes liberated from the Indians, maybe it is time to focus on other sports. :inti

BCCICC have ruined cricket with overcommercialization and petty politics. It is a shame because cricket was a lovely sport before 2000 (when England was controlling it).

Indian politics in cricket nothing new. Ipl owners were dying to buy him in the auction now the hindutva extremist bjp government got involved and forced bcci to make kkr make a youturn.

Personally I dont want him or BD players to play for KKR anyway because I remember in 2016 world t20 a match they supported Pakistan over Bangladesh (which I dont mind, it showed they are confused and contradicted themselves, supported their own ‘enemy’ when their Hindutva government disapproves it). It was all because they were vexed over some BD fan did an image edit with one of their cricketers image in 2015 odi series.

I'm sure ICC will gladly oblige.

After Mustafizur Rehman, their only IPL player was thrown out from
IPL 2026 in a humiliating manner by the BCCI, the Bangladesh awaam felt insulted and disrespected and has thus written to ICC as per reports that they would prefer their matches being moved out of India for the ICCWT20 2026

------------------------

AS PER REPORTS:

Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) is set to request the ICC to relocate their T20 World Cup matches from India to Sri Lanka, following the release of Mustafizur Rahman from Kolkata Knight Riders due to strained political ties between the two countries. The BCB held an emergency Zoom meeting on Saturday, after which media committee chairman Amzad Hussain confirmed that the board will write to the ICC, citing safety concerns in Kolkata where Bangladesh are scheduled to play their first three matches next month. Bangladesh’s sports adviser Asif Nazrul also expressed doubts about the team’s security in India, noting that if a contracted Bangladeshi player cannot participate in the IPL, the national team cannot feel safe playing in the World Cup. Nazrul further instructed the BCB to request Sri Lanka as an alternative venue and urged the country’s information ministry to stop broadcasting the IPL. KKR, who had bought Mustafizur for ₹9.2 crore in the 2026 auction, faced backlash from Indian spiritual and political leaders before confirming his release. Despite the tensions, the BCB recently announced their 2026 home schedule, which includes a postponed white-ball series against India. Bangladesh’s World Cup fixtures are currently slated for Kolkata and Mumbai, with their opener against West Indies at Eden Gardens on February 7.

After Mustafizur Rehman, their only IPL player was thrown out from
IPL 2026 in a humiliating manner by the BCCI, the Bangladesh awaam felt insulted and disrespected and has thus written to ICC as per reports that they would prefer their matches being moved out of India for the ICCWT20 2026

I'm sure ICC will gladly oblige. If BCB pulls out, the entire tournament will be down in the dumps both financially and quality wise.​

YOU GUYS HAVE DERAILED THE THREAD ENOUGH..

IF YOU CAN TALK ABOUT IPL AND CRICKET ONLY THEN GOOD OTHERWISE LEAVE

Bangladesh's Sports Adviser turns confrontational after BCCI removes Mustafizur:​

View attachment 160478

Bangladesh should not go to India for the World Cup. Safety issue. Lots of human animals in India. :inti

Either they play in SL or they can withdraw I guess.

Bangladesh should also ban Indians in Bangladesh and kick out Indian ambassador.

I agree with Asif.

Fiz is lucky here tbh. Women players got sexually harassed in India. Expect only worse for them to do to a Muslim cricketer

Good move.

You are speaking as if Bangladesh is a Rich and independent country. Look at imports and exports between India and Bangladesh you will know how much Bangladesh depends on India to survive.

Bangladesh should not go to India for the World Cup. Safety issue. Lots of human animals in India. :inti

Either they play in SL or they can withdraw I guess.

Bangladesh should also ban Indians in Bangladesh and kick out Indian ambassador.

I agree with Asif.
It's better for World T20 if minnow Bangladesh will not participate. Who care if these minnow team not play 🤣🤣🤣 :kp

Good on Bangladesh for showing a spine and walking away. Pakistan would have never done such an honorable move. It took Pakistan years of humiliation and disrespect to refuse to play in India. It took only one incident for Bangladesh.

Proud of them for standing up to the Hindu nationalists.

STAY ON TOPIC AND TALK ABOUT IPL AND MUTAFIZUR.

WE ARE NOT INTERESTED IN YOUR POLITICAL POINT SCORING.

This is a tamasha created by nautankis for the temporary edification of the ADHD peanut gallery.

India has good reasons to take steps against Bangladesh for its recent policy shifts, and treatment of Hindus in general.

But the decision to remove a BD cricketer from IPL is weak, deflective and a populist measure by GOI, a hollow pretence.

If this was about punishing Bangladesh it’s a weak and misdirected effort. What exactly have you accomplished that’s of substance?

If this was about making a statement, what’s that statement exactly? That you mess with India we will remove one of your players from IPL? Pardon me while I laugh at this ‘retaliation’.

It will have the opposite effect of what’s intended.
This bangladeshi was allowed into ipl even after anti Hindu and anti India antics in bd,

This is only start of retaliation, it hints at the line of attack India may take, retaliation will be financial, you can laugh at fizz for losing a million dollars.

YOU GUYS HAVE DERAILED THE THREAD ENOUGH..

IF YOU CAN TALK ABOUT IPL AND CRICKET ONLY THEN GOOD OTHERWISE LEAVE
How is this unrelated to the thread? :inti

IMG-20260104-WA0008.jpg

images

This bangladeshi was allowed into ipl even after anti Hindu and anti India antics in bd,

This is only start of retaliation, it hints at the line of attack India may take, retaliation will be financial, you can laugh at fizz for losing a million dollars.
It is likely he will still be paid

Government denying visa is a force majeure

Fizz can play psL
Maybe he will play PSL but it's unrelated to what happened in IPL.

He will take money from IPL according to most reports.

Force majeure clause means KKR will still have money to spend and will be recredited, it doesn't mean that Fizz will receive nothing.

What reports?

Did the reports knew he would be

thrown out of ipl?

Fizz may have the option of arbitration But he may not go there knowing it may affect his chances at other ipl owned franchise teams

What reports?

Did the reports knew he would be thrown out of ipl?
Yes after his removal. It is all over media.

So far Fizz has received money from Indian GMR group in IL20 and Via KKR.

Now if he plays PSL he can be picked up for a fraction of the cost by Pakistani franchises given he is indirectly subsidised by IPL.

The lad has done well out of it.

Tomorrow you may say cricket invented by Bangladesh 😄
Absolutely not. I am not a fool like you and there is a higher chance of you claiming that cricket was invented during the Mahabharata era. :misbah

Why don't you prove me wrong instead and explain how this logo is not a copy of Mashrafe Mortaza's shot. Isn't this pure hypocrisy? Is it time to boycott IPL because it's logo was inspired from a Bangladeshi player's shot? #PuchtaHaiBharat :yk :inti

images

Absolutely not. I am not a fool like you and there is a higher chance of you claiming that cricket was invented during the Mahabharata era. :misbah

Why don't you prove me wrong instead and explain how this logo is not a copy of Mashrafe Mortaza's shot. Isn't this pure hypocrisy? Is it time to boycott IPL because it's logo was inspired from a Bangladeshi player's shot? #PuchtaHaiBharat :yk :inti

images
IPL makes Crores of Business and you undermine it because of a small irrelevant logo which can be changed in few seconds quite funny. But honestly being an Indian I was so happy for Shoaib Aktar when he played his first match for kolkata night riders and took 4 wickets it was a pure goosebump moment. Shah Rukh Khan celebrating the win with Shoaib Aktar.

Small irrelevant logo? Do you understand branding and stuff? Definitely not. :inti

Yes after his removal. It is all over media.

So far Fizz has received money from Indian GMR group in IL20 and Via KKR.

Now if he plays PSL he can be picked up for a fraction of the cost by Pakistani franchises given he is indirectly subsidised by IPL.

The lad has done well out of it.
dude hit the jackpot then, get indian money and not even have to go to india, lolol. an increase in avaialability of bangla players will help given PSL will have two more teams this year.

That was not just a cricket moment but a pop culture moment. Two of the biggest stars of the subcontinent with fans across both countries celebrating together.

dude hit the jackpot then, get indian money and not even have to go to india, lolol. an increase in avaialability of bangla players will help given PSL will have two more teams this year.
It's only really Fizz.

The others didn't get picked up in the IPL anyway. Maybe the leggie too is a good shout for PSL.

Bangla players are decent but problem is for PSL they don't provide anything that local players can't.

They are full of conventional spinners and batsmen who nudge the ball.

But yeah 3-4 should get picked up.

If they release me, there’s nothing much I can do: Mustafizur Rahman on IPL exit

In recent days, a section of Indian supporters called for a boycott of Mustafizur, with anger also directed at KKR for picking the Bangladesh international. As protests and criticism spread across India, BCCI secretary Devajit Saikia instructed Kolkata Knight Riders to release Mustafizur from their squad.

KKR later issued an official statement confirming that the franchise has released Mustafizur Rahman in compliance with the BCCI directive. As a result, Mustafizur will not feature in the IPL in the upcoming season.

The news has sparked intense reactions back home in Bangladesh. The cricketing community has been buzzing with criticism surrounding India, the IPL, and the situation as a whole. At the same time, Kolkata Knight Riders have reportedly seen a sharp drop in followers on social media platforms.

Reacting to his IPL exit, Mustafizur told BDCrictime, “If they release me, there’s nothing much I can do.” Sources close to the player have confirmed to BDCricket that the pacer was deeply disappointed after hearing the news of his exclusion from the tournament.

Kkr will anyways get their money re credited as this was done on bccis instructions and kkr will get money to biy a replacement

Unless fizz wants to sue and spoil relationship with ipl teams he will not get his 1mn usd salary

Kkr will anyways get their money re credited as this was done on bccis instructions and kkr will get money to biy a replacement

Unless fizz wants to sue and spoil relationship with ipl teams he will not get his 1mn usd salary

I’m looking at it purely as a business decision.

If it’s covered in his contract, I think he should ask for his money.

I mean you’re right in what you say, but it’s now possible that a BD player will not be playing in IPL for a very long time anyway.

So Fizz waiting for some payout in the future, not want to spoil relationships becomes a moot point.

He may be retired or injured or not good enough by the time anything changes.

@cricketjoshila just hope BCCI dont agree with BCB demands and move Bangladesh matches to SL for T20 WC. We have done this mistake before with Pakistan and it has set the preceedence. IMO we should have never accepted hybrid final. Ideally people like Naqvi should obey the order of BCCI. What is the point of worlds most powerful board if a minnows like BCB can dictate terms to us.

BCCI must do a press release and categorically reject any change in venue at the last minute. If BCB is not comfortable, they are free to pull out and pay compensation to ICC for the loses.

I simply dont understand why these clowns in BCCI like Saikia and Shukla ji acting so meek? N.Srinivasan would have shown them where they belong.

Bangladesh will not play its T20 World Cup 2026 fixtures in India over concerns about the players’ safety, following the removal of a top Bangladeshi player from the Indian Premier League (IPL), a government official has said.

Amid growing political tension between the South Asian neighbours, the Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) requested the International Cricket Council (ICC) to move its games to Sri Lanka and sought clarity on fast bowler Mustafizur Rahman’s abrupt removal from the IPL, youth and sports adviser Asif Nazrul said on Sunday.

“Bangladesh will not go to ‍India to play the World Cup. The board [BCB] has taken this decision today,” Nazrul said in a statement, adding, “We welcome this decision taken in the context of ‍the extreme communal ⁠policy of India’s cricket board.”

After Mustafizur’s release on Saturday, the BCB held an emergency meeting and was planning to write to the ICC to relocate Bangladesh’s matches and raise concerns about player safety.

“The board should inform that where a Bangladeshi cricketer cannot play in India despite being contracted, the entire Bangladeshi cricket team cannot feel safe going to play in the World Cup,” Asif wrote in a social media post on Saturday.

“I have also instructed the board to request that Bangladesh’s World Cup matches should be held in Sri Lanka,” he added. “We will not accept any insult to Bangladeshi cricket, cricketers and Bangladesh under any circumstances. The days of slavery are over.”

BCB President Aminul Islam Bulbul said the board will prioritise player safety.

Hope BCCI dont cave in to such absurd demands. You cannot ask to change venue at last minute. BCCI should categorically reject the request. BCB is free to pull out of the tournament and pay compensation to ICC. Time has come now for BCCI to flex its muscles and show the worth of these 2 rupee boards.

Not a great look for India this.

If matches moved out, ECB will be really peeved off having to do the unnecessary travel to Sri Lanka and possibly again for a semi or final against Pakistan.

Soon teams will just get tired of BCCI’s stupid insistence on politicising the sport

India dream of hosting the Olympics too. Not sure how, they are not USA, China or Russia where they will get the same kind of western whitewashed overlooking

Hope BCCI dont cave in to such absurd demands. You cannot ask to change venue at last minute. BCCI should categorically reject the request. BCB is free to pull out of the tournament and pay compensation to ICC. Time has come now for BCCI to flex its muscles and show the worth of these 2 rupee boards.
Wait…Are these demands as absurd as Indian cricketers ‘safety concerns’ in Pakistan?

The threats to the Bangladesh cricket team are fresh and genuine threats.

Safety comes first.

ICC must ensure that Bangladeshis feel safe and make the same accomodation they make for India.

Bangladesh in the same group as England, WI and Nepal

I think they have a genuine chance to qualify for super 8s in India or even in Sri Lanka.

That means potentially, at least 7 matches which could have been in India shifted to SL.

Too late . Indians from the cooli at the airport , in hotels and grounds will show animosity towards them on a dangerous level It’s only a sport , let them play in lovely Sri Lanka , it will help their tourism too .

India can only blame itself for this humiliation. Since Hasina was ousted Indians have been inciting violence against Bangladesh and its people. Don’t believe me? Read back through your posts

No India v Pakistan in India

No Australia v England either as both teams unlikely to face off until Semis or final

This isn’t looking great for India as a host.

In the current climate BCCICC cannot guarantee that Adil Rashid and Rehan Ahmed will be able to play in India too. GOI can revoke at the last minute.

Wait…Are these demands as absurd as Indian cricketers ‘safety concerns’ in Pakistan?

Indian players have genuine safety concerns in Pakistan. BCCIs stance of not playing cricket in Pakistan is consistent from last 18 years and it has not changed come what may.

This is not the case for PCB. Their stance is childish t-i-t for tat. They are willing to send its cricket team to India as long as India send theirs. Its just proves there is no genuine threat of Pak players in India but a revenge tactics. Pak toured India in 2012, 2016, 2023 etc. For BCCI, even if mars collides with earth, Indian team will not travel to Pakistan. So their stance is genuine, consistent and not based on whims of other boards.

BCCI is 100% at fault here for acting meek, accepting Moshin Naqvi's request of hybrid final. This has kind of set a preceedence for even minnows like BCB to make such absurd demands. Ideally likes of Naqvi and BCB should simply obey the orders of BCCI. Thats what Srinivasan made these boards do. Time for present BCCI regime to bring that gangsta approach back.

No question of any venue change for Bangladesh team. Either play as scheduled or pull out. However, if they do pull out, pay the hefty compensation to ICC for loses. Probably they can take some money from SRK.

Let’s be clear this decision is 100% about security, and anyone denying that is lying to themselves.

A T20 World Cup means constant travel, public exposure, packed stadiums, and intense pressure. Add hostile crowds and toxic atmospheres, and it becomes a security nightmare. Indian crowds are among the worst aggressive, abusive, and unpredictable. The last thing any sane cricket board would do is throw its players into that mess and then “hope for the best.”

Moving the matches to Sri Lanka isn’t drama it’s common sense. It’s a neutral, safer environment without the arrogance, intimidation, and power-tripping that has become routine in india.

Player safety is not up for debate. No trophy, no tournament, no amount of money is worth risking lives.

If a country behaves like a bully, it should be avoided, not rewarded with hosting duties.

Unless the ICC ensures that the conditions of both Sri Lanka and India will be the same or thereabouts….then this is a massive PR disasterclass waiting to happen.

You prepare thoroughly for certain conditions, only to find them to be completely opposite or very different due to the varying nature of tracks in one country as compared to the other.

There is more chance of Pakistani cricketers being attacked in India than there is of Indians being attacked in Pakistan

Pakistan have respected and trusted Indian authorities and security, even though we have seen how flimsy they are when it comes to national security.

At this point, all that’s needed is for Sri Lanka to take a principled stand and also refuse to play in India. Once more countries stop tolerating India, India will be forced back to its real aukat.

For too long, India has relied on its size, money, and influence to silence others and dictate terms in international cricket. That arrogance only survives because smaller boards are pressured into staying quiet. The moment that silence breaks, the illusion of control will collapse.

At this point, all that’s needed is for Sri Lanka to take a principled stand and also refuse to play in India. Once more countries stop tolerating India, India will be forced back to its real aukat.

For too long, India has relied on its size, money, and influence to silence others and dictate terms in international cricket. That arrogance only survives because smaller boards are pressured into staying quiet. The moment that silence breaks, the illusion of control will collapse.
Kasmey Mazza aa jaye if Nepal also asks for its games in Sri Lanka

I got a napalese cricket fanatic friend who’s dreading the games in Mumbai. They want games in Sri Lanka where their spinners come into affect and that’s their strength

There is more chance of Pakistani cricketers being attacked in India than there is of Indians being attacked in Pakistan

Pakistan have respected and trusted Indian authorities and security, even though we have seen how flimsy they are when it comes to national security.

Agree.

India is literally being run by hindu nazis. Terrorists and extremists are running the country. A large percentage of the population is radicalized.

Now I’m just waiting for the usual over-the-top comical tamasha from Indian news channels, fake outrage, shouting matches, and peak comedy pretending it’s serious analysis.

my popcorn is ready 🍿