'Behind you Skipper': PM Imran secures vote of confidence from NA

Will Imran Khan win the vote of confidence from the parliament?

• No, he will lose the vote

Votes: 0 0.0%

• Poll closed .
Imran survives, receives 179 votes.

You got to know your opponent better.

Before making his moves, Imran Khan likes to block best moves of his opposition. This is his instinctive behaviour.

I don't think surviving was the primary stimulus.

You got to know your opponent better.

Before making his moves, Imran Khan likes to block best moves of his opposition. This is his instinctive behaviour.

I don't think surviving was the primary stimulus.

Badniyaati of the mafia supporters unashamedly on show on this thread.

PTI supporters have no intelligence so it is not surprising to see them do bhangra over their dramaybaazi.

The reality is that tabdeeli drama has flopped big time and Imran and PTI have lost popular support. The common man views him and his party as a bunch of con-artists.

If the masters do not win them the next election, they are unlikely to prevail.

Moreover, PTI has no long-term future. It is not a proper party with roots. It is a disjointed party led by a U-turn master with messiah complex and a bunch of opportunist turncoats who have jumped on the tabdeeli bandwagon to save their own political careers.

Imran is the glue that is keeping this fake party together. When he is gone, PTI will cease to exist. The opportunist lota politicians will be absorbed by the parties that they came from or they will break away to form their own factions.

For example, the “Corrupt Tareen” Jahangir Tareen and the fake pir Shah Mehmood Qureshi hate each other and will be fighting for supremacy in south Punjab.

PTI will be history in a few years and will be reduced to a footnote in Pakistan history. On the other hand, PMLN and PPP will continue to thrive and take turns in the centre for generations to come because they are proper parties with deep roots.

The Nawaz and Bhutto/Zardari family names will continue to win votes and command respect long after the current generation is gone.

I understand you have hatred against Imran and from your post I completely agree with you that once IK departs there would be no more PTI. However, IK would go down as one of the most historic personalities of Pakistan history. 30-40 years down the line when IK would be long gone your own kids would be studying in some way or form Pakistan's history where IK would be prevalent subject. I hate to be in your situation where you'd have to explain to your kids what a great leader IK was as that is what they would find in their textbooks. Ok I exaggerated a little, not your kids but your grand kids!

On a serious note, I do not agree with you that PMLN and PPP would thrive in Pakistan politics taking turns for generations. The biggest contribution IK has made in his political career is awaken the consciousness of average Pakistan and have inspired independent leaders. We have already started to see IK dismantling the family political setup and PMLN/PPP would be a distant memory in long-term future. What we would see going forward is new parties emerging behind real leader somewhat what IK has done himself. IK has started to break the political wheel of Pakistan politics and I'm actually quite proud to have him as a leader.

I understand you have hatred against Imran and from your post I completely agree with you that once IK departs there would be no more PTI. However, IK would go down as one of the most historic personalities of Pakistan history. 30-40 years down the line when IK would be long gone your own kids would be studying in some way or form Pakistan's history where IK would be prevalent subject. I hate to be in your situation where you'd have to explain to your kids what a great leader IK was as that is what they would find in their textbooks. Ok I exaggerated a little, not your kids but your grand kids!

On a serious note, I do not agree with you that PMLN and PPP would thrive in Pakistan politics taking turns for generations. The biggest contribution IK has made in his political career is awaken the consciousness of average Pakistan and have inspired independent leaders. We have already started to see IK dismantling the family political setup and PMLN/PPP would be a distant memory in long-term future. What we would see going forward is new parties emerging behind real leader somewhat what IK has done himself. IK has started to break the political wheel of Pakistan politics and I'm actually quite proud to have him as a leader.

WHen history is studied, the first thing that gets discussed is the economic situation the economic betterment that leaders bought.

There has been continous mhengai in this country.

Its sad that the only achievement that you could have come up here was that IK broke the politcal wheel, but cant really mention any economic good he has done.

What is really sad is that not alot of people would know the way IK used undemocratic means to control the public.

WHats the point of breaking hte politcal wheel, when in return this guy made the ISI and millitary more stronger in our politics.

WHen history is studied, the first thing that gets discussed is the economic situation the economic betterment that leaders bought.

Its sad that the only achievement that you could have come up here was that IK broke the politcal wheel, but cant really mention any economic good he has done.

What is really sad is that not alot of people would know the way IK used undemocratic means to control the public.

WHats the point of breaking hte politcal wheel, when in return this guy made the ISI and millitary more stronger in our politics.

I agree. History remembers Bhuttos nationalization policies and what they did to completely unravel Ayub Khan's industrialization policies in the 60's. History will also remember the corruption of Zardari, Benazir, Sharifs and the $100 billion in Foreign Debts they left for Pakistanis as their tofa.

I see you've conveniently ignore my question.

Who would you vote for and why?

I agree. History remembers Bhuttos nationalization policies and what they did to completely unravel Ayub Khan's industrialization policies in the 60's. History will also remember the corruption of Zardari, Benazir, Sharifs and the $100 billion in Foreign Debts they left for Pakistanis as their tofa.

Your post makes no sense.

AYub khan believe in socialism, and Bhutto also beleive in socialism and that was the whole concept.

Nationalization policies failed because of our weak CSS system and the right person couldnt be found for the job.

Zia, and the Sharifs were the one that promoted privitization of each and eveyry thing.

Pakistan being a capitalist economy is what is still making the poor poorer and the richer getting mroe rich.

Back than the economy was in the hands of few people, and it had to be stopped

The concept of nationalization was great, problem was, there werent any educated people to run it.

Today we have Uni graduates and skillful youth, but in the 70s the case was much different

As discussed before many times, IK rescued a bankrupt country. This is his biggest achievement or do you want to go down the road of your friend [MENTION=131701]Mamoon[/MENTION] and get humiliated. The fact that your crooks couldn't even pass the FATF laws without unashamedly trying to link their own cases with the nations interest shows how bankrupt you are with your arguments in support of crooks. It hasn't gone unnoticed that Sugar and Atta prices are controlled by the mafia, in fact one of the reasons for the atta prices is the gross incompetence and criminality of the Sindh govt. Do you want to read the links or do you have no shame. The other 2 causes of higher inflation is the depreciation of the Rp and the higher cost of electricity. The Rps was artificially inflated but at the cost of borrowed billions of Dollars, now how do you carry borrowing billions and when do you stop, sooner or later the country had to live within its means, and it was IK that took the political hit for the incompetence and criminality of the mafia by ending a 27% subsidy of the overinflated exchange rate and I am not sure if you have the intelligence and knowledge to understand, but that also means our exports are also more expensive by 27%. The other cause of inflation is the cost of electricity, by some measures it costs around 33% more than PKs neighbours, guess who borrowed $64bn but built no Dam and whats more never fixed the transmission lines but did give incredibly inflated contracts to their friends through IPPs. Again as Kaptaan has tried to reduce the subsidy as part of the IMF loans the prices have risen. The mafia also gave Sovereign guarantees( read up on what that means) to their friends but again all this is IKs fault. The Nooras paid 33% more for LNG to their allies in Qatar than IK ( who the Crook Sethi told us weren't happy with IK) and apparently they are competent.
As I said if you are educated you will know this and if you are still with the mafia, then your badniyaati is off the scale. So which is it?
https://propakistani.pk/2020/04/30/wheat-worth-rs-7-billion-stolen-from-a-warehouse-in-sindh/

Federal Information Minister Shibli Faraz on Sunday blasted the opposition Pakistan Democratic Movement (PDM) alliance as a "force of darkness and falsehoods", saying the first task of such forces was to destroy morals, hollow out institutions, eliminate meritocracy and attain goals through the use of money and force.

Addressing a press conference in Islamabad, the minister spoke out the "wave of happiness" that he said was seen across the country and among overseas Pakistanis in the wake of Prime Minister Imran Khan's successful vote of confidence in the National Assembly on Saturday. The premier won the trust vote with 178 ballots — six more than required.

He said he received "thousands of phone calls and messages" and there was an atmosphere of celebration in the country because "those (opposition) forces were defeated". The minister stated that the PTI was "fighting a war" against forces represented by the PDM which had caused substantial damage to the country's morality, institutions, meritocracy, democracy and society.

The PDM "represents that segment of Pakistan which conducts politics based on [personal] interests, money, force and greed," said Faraz. He said no one had accepted this section at first but through bribery and involving money and personal interests in politics, it "gave birth to a group that became entrenched in Pakistan's roots".

He stressed that the purpose of the parliament was to serve the nation's interests instead of the personal interests of a few individuals or groups.

"How will they (opposition) do lawmaking against themselves and their interests? They used parliament and this was the reason the country and its poor people always suffered."

He questioned why the opposition did politics in the name of the poor while "making properties in Europe", adding that this was proof they only used politics for their own business interests.

"The PDM is not together for the interests of the nation. All of Pakistan knows they are using every method to pressure the government in order to protect their wealth but [Prime Minister] Imran Khan doesn't come under such pressure," he said.

On the other hand, the PTI "wants a system based on morals, rule of law and prosperity in this country", Faraz said, adding that the steadfastness with which the PTI had stuck to this vision was the reason it had political representation in all four provinces while the opposition parties were confined to single provinces.

"Their narrative and stance keeps changing. Whatever suits them becomes their stance and what goes against them is not their stance," he said, adding that the people could see through this "hypocrisy".

DAWN

AYub khan believe in socialism, and Bhutto also beleive in socialism and that was the whole concept.
Ayub Khan allowed the free market to prosper. That is generally rightist in economic policy. Bhutto attempted to nationalize industries, which is considered leftist (socialist).
Nationalization policies failed because of our weak CSS system and the right person couldnt be found for the job.
Definitely. We have a weak governmental system, one susceptible to corruption and mismanagement, which is why previously profitable businesses like PIA, railways, steel mills began being mismanaged and incurring losses.

Bhutto made this decision.

Zia, and the Sharifs were the one that promoted privitization of each and eveyry thing.
Yes, Zia promoted privatization to reverse the damage of nationalization. Sharif did the same, but was only interested in making money.

Pakistan being a capitalist economy is what is still making the poor poorer and the richer getting mroe rich.
Most capitalist countries are richer as a whole than socialist countries. The wealth generation makes the rich richer, but the effects trickle down to the poor. In Pakistan, socialism was attempted but this also made the rich richer and poor poorer, with the only difference being the rich were not as rich (big industries were not generating as much money, so less wealth creation, less jobs, less taxes for schools and hospitals...)

It was in the hands of even fewer people after nationalization — few government officials taking cuts instead of few private businessmen.

The concept of nationalization was great, problem was, there werent any educated people to run it.

Yeah. So those folks decided to steal money instead. Please refer to the thousands of government employees pretending to be poor under the Benazir Income Support Program (BISP).

PML-N Vice President Maryam Nawaz on Sunday alleged that the government had used the help of secret agencies to secure support for Prime Minister Imran Khan's vote of confidence and that two MNAs who had resisted the pressure were "locked up in a container for four hours" and forced to vote in the premier's favour.

Addressing a press conference after a party meeting attended by all senior PML-N leaders, Maryam claimed that government lawmakers were "in touch" with her party and alleged that the agencies had "made people disappear" on behalf of the prime minister ahead of Saturday's trust vote.

Prime Minister Imran was prompted to seek the vote after the ruling coalition suffered an upset in the March 3 Senate elections on the seat for the federal capital where Finance Minister Abdul Hafeez Shaikh lost to the joint opposition candidate Yousuf Raza Gilani. The premier won the vote of confidence with 178 ballots cast in his favour — six more than required.

The vote taken by the prime minister "has no legal, Constitutional, political or moral value", Maryam claimed today, asking the government how the MNAs who voted for Gilani in the Senate polls could change their minds in only two days.

"They (the MNAs) did not change their decision, they were forced to change it," she said, claiming that the government had kept a watch on each MNA using "drone cameras".

"It has come to our personal knowledge that two MNAs who were not ready to vote for [the prime minister] until the last moment were taken to the compound of an institution in Golra (near Islamabad), kept locked up in a container there for four hours and were forced by personnel of agencies to vote in favour of Imran Khan," she claimed.

Maryam neither identified the source of her information nor named the MNAs who were allegedly subjected to this treatment.

"The way you used Pakistan's secret agencies for your benefit is very shameful. Is this all agencies in Pakistan are left for? Will their role from now on be to throw their institution into politics in order to protect a man who is being rejected by the people?" she asked, saying the Pakistani people and the PML-N demanded answers to these questions.

She claimed that Prime Minister Imran knew he would be "lose badly" if the agencies allegedly hadn't helped him.

Maryam said the vote of confidence taken forcibly from own lawmakers and after kidnapping them and making them "inaccessible" meant that "Imran Khan, you know that your time is up. You know that it is over for you."

She said the PML-N members had "expressed a lot of anger" over yesterday's incident outside Parliament House where a number of senior PML-N leaders were allegedly manhandled by PTI supporters.

The party will not take such behaviour "lying down", she added, saying the PTI would have to "pay a heavy price" for the same. "If you slap us twice, we will slap you 10 times. The hooliganism the PML-N leadership was subjected to yesterday ... is a debt on every PML-N worker which the PML-N knows well how to pay off," she said, addressing the ruling party.

She also revealed that the PML-N members during today's meeting had agreed with consensus to field former finance minister Miftah Ismail as the party's candidate for the NA-249 Karachi by-election. She said a formal announcement in this regard will be made by the party president. The seat fell vacant after PTI lawmaker Faisal Vawda resigned from the National Assembly before his election as a senator.

https://www.dawn.com/news/1611207/m...iner-for-4-hours-ahead-of-pms-confidence-vote

Oh bhai, this seat was the most important. Pm talked big about it.

Plus, these are your mpas and mnas that got sold out.

Maybe pti need to xhoose their own mpas and mnas correctly..

Jisko dil keya tixket deydeya. PTI choose these electables no one forced them to.

Now all of a sudden, when senate elections come, the bandwagon whines on a new reason

No word of how the gilani seat was purchased and how ppp are the leaders in horse trading. People like you are the reason why corruption exist in Pakistan. Hopefully your days are numbered.

Your post makes no sense.

Today we have Uni graduates and skillful youth, but in the 70s the case was much different

oh boy
I didn't think in this day and age we can find anyone supporting "nationalization"
Concept of nationalization was ALWAYS idiotic to win votes from idiots - simple

Hell Big countries like Argentina suffered from these nationalization policies so why would a country like Pakistan with a weak political, bureaucrats system make this idea work

PURE CAPITALISM is the ONLY solution with wealth creation in 20, 30 years only than can you even think about welfare to poor

even than nationalization of any industry would actually be equivalent to killing the "milk" giving cow from your own hand to
enjoy its "meat" for a short while

but then there's nothing left to actually create wealth
government can't create wealth they are terrible in it, what would a dumb bureaucrat who studied his entire life know about "wealth creation", "smart business" decisions - that's where a business man comes in

Bhutto single handedly DESTROYED our economic future because of his economic policies and even with a good bureaucracy it would have never worked, cause it's a deeply FLAWED idea

oh boy
I didn't think in this day and age we can find anyone supporting "nationalization"
Concept of nationalization was ALWAYS idiotic to win votes from idiots - simple

Hell Big countries like Argentina suffered from these nationalization policies so why would a country like Pakistan with a weak political, bureaucrats system make this idea work

PURE CAPITALISM is the ONLY solution with wealth creation in 20, 30 years only than can you even think about welfare to poor

even than nationalization of any industry would actually be equivalent to killing the "milk" giving cow from your own hand to
enjoy its "meat" for a short while

but then there's nothing left to actually create wealth
government can't create wealth they are terrible in it, what would a dumb bureaucrat who studied his entire life know about "wealth creation", "smart business" decisions - that's where a business man comes in

Bhutto single handedly DESTROYED our economic future because of his economic policies and even with a good bureaucracy it would have never worked, cause it's a deeply FLAWED idea

Bhutto was happy to nationalise other people's businesses but didn't nationalise the wadera land and give it to the poor of Sindh and South punjab. Whats sauce for the goose wasnt sauce for the gander.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">May your dream of creating a New Pakistan come true. God speed.<a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/wearebehindyouskipper?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#wearebehindyouskipper</a> <a href="https://t.co/B2BmEK3ry1">pic.twitter.com/B2BmEK3ry1</a></p>— Wasim Akram (@wasimakramlive) <a href="https://twitter.com/wasimakramlive/status/1368571452442767361?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">March 7, 2021</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

You have to be a total nutcase to support Zardari/Bhutto regime. These jahils (even educated) supporting leeches who treat Pakistan as their khandaan ke jageer is beyond comprehension. Their usual cry of inflation drama and looted money promises is all the cards they can play to put IK down. Love the fact that these corrupt party goons and its desperate fans keep getting embarrassed and humiliated at many platforms since IK came to power.

It's a third world country which will take it's time to be heading to the right direction, and Imran Khan is placing good stepping stones. He won't be able to change the country completely in his span but he will bow seeds which will benefit generations to come. Silly claims that this is an overnight job are comical.

PML-N's Hina Pervaiz Butt tells Hafeez to 'shut up and focus on cricket'

PML-N politician Hina Pervaiz Butt told Pakistani cricketer Mohammad Hafeez to "shut up and focus on cricket" a few days ago after the all-rounder took to social media to praise PM Imran Khan.

Tensions have risen between the government and the Opposition parties ever since Dr Abdul Hafeez Shaikh lost the Senate election from Islamabad to former prime minister Yousaf Raza Gillani.

In the days that followed, when the prime minister was able to successfully secure a vote of confidence from the parliament, Pakistani cricketer Mohammad Hafeez took to Twitter to appreciate the premier.

"Master stroke. #VoteOfConfidence [MENTION=5335]imrankhan[/MENTION]PTI," tweeted Hafeez.

The tweet apparently did not sit well with PML-N's Hina Pervaiz But, who lashed out at the cricketer, telling him to avoid discussing politics and focus on cricket instead.

"Pakistan [cricket] has become a laughing stock around the world for failing to implement coronavirus SOPs and now you are supporting a vote thief," Butt lashed out on Twitter.

"It is better if you shut your mouth and play cricket and refrain from commenting on politics," she tweeted.

Hafeez has not responded to Butt's tweet.

https://www.geo.tv/latest/338864-pm...-tells-hafeez-to-shut-up-and-focus-on-cricket

Shehbaz Sharif slams PTI for attack on PML-N leaders

LAHORE: PML-N President Shehbaz Sharif on Tuesday slammed the ruling party for attacking Opposition leaders saying the behaviour of the PTI activists against Shahid Khaqan Abbasi, Ahsan Iqbal, Musadik Malik, Miftah Ismail, Rana Sanaullah and Marriyum Aurangzeb was reflective of the political training given to them by their leadership.

In a statement, the PML-N chief said the attack on PML-N lawmakers was the most condemnable act.

“The recent string of attacks shows the desperation, frustration and true nature of the PTI leadership that had resorted to violence when all other instruments of persecution had failed,” said the Opposition Leader in the National Assembly.

Read more: PTI supporters, PML-N leaders come to blows; shoe thrown at Ahsan Iqbal

Shehbaz said the assault on the PML-N spokesperson has exposed the brought-up of the PTI workers and their leadership. He also slammed the shoe-throwing at Ahsan Iqbal and said the shoe disgraced Imran Khan, NA Speaker Asad Qaiser and the attacker's moral values.

“Arrogant and ruthless Imran Khan wants to avenge his failures and prejudice by bringing the nation at daggers by drawing people against each other,” said Shehbaz. He also added that it was utterly disturbing and sad that the nation was being dragged into “anarchy, polarisation and moral degeneration” just because of Imran Khan’s petty political agenda and vengeance.

He paid tribute to the PML-N leadership's unwavering commitment to the party’s political ideology, their courage and high spirits.

He called on the nation to unequivocally condemn the hooliganism of the PTI and added that such actions were a threat to the social harmony in the country.

Read more: 'Govt will pay heavy price for assault against PML-N leaders,' Maryam Nawaz says

Last week, as the government and its allied lawmakers gathered in the National Assembly for a vote of confidence for Prime Minister Imran Khan, PTI workers present outside the National Assembly clashed with PML-N workers who had arrived there for a press conference.

As the PML-N leaders started to speak, they were surrounded by the angry crowd, which attempted to drown them out with slogans in support of the prime minister and the ruling party.

The situation turned ugly when the politicians and the PTI supporters started pushing each other and exchanging hot words.

TV footage showed Musaddiq Malik being hit from behind, following which him and Shahid Khaqan Abbasi chased down the man who pushed them to deliver some retaliatory blows.

A Peshawari chappal was also thrown at Ahsan Iqbal as he stood on a platform and shouted slogans criticising the government.

https://www.geo.tv/latest/338965-shahbaz-sharif-slams-pti-for-attack-on-his-pml-n-leaders