Bilawal Bhutto unveils 'making and saving Pakistan' election manifesto

hadi123

Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP) Chairman Bilawal Bhutto Zardari has unveiled election manifesto of the party, saying it promises to ‘develop and save’ Pakistan.

“This election manifesto marks the practical beginning of my political life and I would like to present the solution to the grave issues facing the country at the moment,” Bilawal said while addressing the ceremony in Islamabad on Thursday.

“Everywhere in today’s Pakistan is a pileup of issues and we will present solutions to resolve all of these problems,” the PPP chief said. “Our manifesto is bibi ka wada nibhana hai, Pakistan bachana hai [honouring Benazir Bhutto’s promise to safe Pakistan].”

Bilawal said his party will continue struggle to establish the South Punjab province.

Today, he added, Pakistan is under debt and is being isolated on the diplomatic front. “The country is facing an isolation and is not listened to in the international fora despite rendering sacrifices in men and material. We will include Fata in the national mainstream as soon as possible.”

“The PPP has focused on resolving issues relating to education and health and other basic necessities. We will also focus on resolving two major issues perturbing the youth; unemployment and opportunities,” Bilawal maintained.

Measures will have to be taken to give a boost to industrial progress and development, he said and stressed that his party will evolve a zero tax policy for the textile sector.

“We will introduce measures to increase synergy between national institutions.” the PPP chief said the rulers need to ensure that there’s no exploitation of the weak and the marginalised. According to him, ineffectiveness to resolve the water scarcity issue is an injustice with the future generation.

“We will not compromise on national integrity,” Bilawal said and added that “our manifesto will make the rulers answerable to the masses.”

https://tribune.com.pk/story/1744967/1-live-bilawal-unveils-ppp-election-manifesto/

Yawn..hasnt worked a day in his life and thinks he can run a country of 200 million people..

https://ppp.org.pk/wp-content/uploads/2015/10/PPP_Manifesto_2018_ENG.pdf

Link above in case anyone wants to read it.

Maybe we should take a look at its contents before criticising Bilawal and the rest of his party (I am not a fan of this party, but they at least deserve this).

Why read? We know that the manifesto will have about as much value as used toilet paper. We also havent forgetten their theft on a grand scale in 2013. I will read it when Billo calls for daddy and auntie to be locked up.

Saving Pakistan ?? More like looting Pakistan.

How are people in interior Sindh comprehend PPP's manifesto when majority of population can't read or write, all thanks to Bhutto Clan.

Maybe we should take a look at its contents before criticising Bilawal and the rest of his party (I am not a fan of this party, but they at least deserve this).

Thats the problem with Pakistan. What makes you think this party deserves anything, considering they and the rest of these political gangs have turned Pakistan into one of the worst countries to live in over the past 2 decades. Have a bit of self respect.

Empty words.His party ruled for 5 years till 2013,his father was in charge,and they did zilch.

Just going through this.

First Thoughts:

1) Health Care. Pie in the sky. How are they going to pay for this? What current models of healthcare are they planning to use? No mention of Health insurance or linking in with a insurance company to help the central govt manage the amount required to provide every person with a card. Expansion of LHW's is a good idea but again how are they going to pay for this?

2) Food security and agriculture. They are proposing an increase in subsidies for farmers. Again how are they going to pay for this? The country is in a poor economic state at the moment and making such tall promises without costing anything is folly of the highest order.
They have proposed at least four new legislations to help with their policy. This will take more time, and theer is no guarantee they can get any of this through parliament.

thats as far as I have gone for now....will update further..

They have a lot of good ideas, but the question is how would they pay for a lot of those things?

In any case, these are all empty promises. They make a manifesto every time with the same principles, same sort of ideas, but they never deliver on their promises. The day they deliver on their promises in Sindh, people may start taking them seriously again.

I do appreciate a lot of the ideas in their manifesto. A lot of the things in the manifesto are great ideas and there are many issues highlighted that only a left wing party would talk about, and thus, no other party in Pakistan really talks about those issues much. However, PPP have been extremely dissappointing, corrupt, and simply do not have my trust or the trust of the nation. At this stage the only way I can see a PPP resurgance is if they can deliver on their promises in Sindh, which is extremely unlikely considering that they did nothing in their previous terms.

Still, whatever happened in the past, I am willing to give Bilawal and Asifa a chance to prove themselves, and not judge them based on Asif Ali Zardari. These two are new to the scene and will be elected to office for the first time this election cycle. Many people are inclined to judge Bilawal by the way he speaks, his father, and by his privileged upbrining. But I think he deserves to at least be allowed the oppurtunity to prove himself and show his worth. If he fails to do that, then yes, he deserves all the criticism.

So far from what I have seen of Bilawal, he definitely did not enter politics by choice, he was thrown into it. However, it seems he as accepted this life and is getting on with it. A couple of his foreign interviews have been impressive, not for the English, but for what he said. However, it remains to be seen whether it was just empty words or true intent.

More like amassing massive amounts of wealth. These Bhuttos, Sharifs and their worshippers are Allah's curse on this nation

I don't care how good their manifesto is it should be torn into a thousand pieces and thrown at their faces.

Benazir Bhutto was one of the most incompetent prime ministers of all time. An absolute non entity of a leader who did more corruption in her tenure than most corrupt governments can manage in 20 years.

The narrative of her being a champion of democracy and that she would have saved Pakistan is the biggest load of bull. And to her dopey followers the Roti Kapra aur Makaan fund that has been giving to some people came from the UK and it did NOT come from her or any other PPP fund. An absolute disaster of a politician. May her soul rest in piece and it was tragic how she died but she did nothing for the country AND WAS NEVER CAPABLE of doing anything for the country.

And we all know what Zardari is all about.

It will give alot of people great pleasure if the PPP is wiped out PERMANENTLY in the near future. It will do Pakistan the world of good.

I don't care how good their manifesto is it should be torn into a thousand pieces and thrown at their faces.

Benazir Bhutto was one of the most incompetent prime ministers of all time. An absolute non entity of a leader who did more corruption in her tenure than most corrupt governments can manage in 20 years.

The narrative of her being a champion of democracy and that she would have saved Pakistan is the biggest load of bull. And to her dopey followers the Roti Kapra aur Makaan fund that has been giving to some people came from the UK and it did NOT come from her or any other PPP fund. An absolute disaster of a politician. May her soul rest in piece and it was tragic how she died but she did nothing for the country AND WAS NEVER CAPABLE of doing anything for the country.

And we all know what Zardari is all about.

It will give alot of people great pleasure if the PPP is wiped out PERMANENTLY in the near future. It will do Pakistan the world of good.

Exactly, well said. Just because she has a tragic passing, the liberal brigade make her seem some sort of angelic national leader. She was corrupt to the core and an opportunist. People would have been cursing her worse than Zardari had she been around in 2008 to form government.

Allah has His ways of tighetening the rope. These zaalim rulers all realize it one after another. Bhutto, Zia, Benazir all tasted Allah's judgement in this life only and inshallah Zardari and Nawaz will too.

Lets hope the same for Maulvi Aziz, Khadim Rizvi, Hafiz Saeed, Aurangzaib Farooqi and those who have supported them and enabled them to operate without accountability.

Not a fan of PPP at all, but we should read their manifesto. In fact we should respect all parties taking part in the democratic process (aside from those with a past of hate speech and inciting violence)

Lets hope the same for Maulvi Aziz, Khadim Rizvi, Hafiz Saeed, Aurangzaib Farooqi and those who have supported them and enabled them to operate without accountability.

Not a fan of PPP at all, but we should read their manifesto. In fact we should respect all parties taking part in the democratic process (aside from those with a past of hate speech and inciting violence)

BUT theft and looting, which as a direct consequence has lead to many lives being lost, is ok?

Anyone who goes to that link should have their head tested, unless of course they're doing it for the laughs. They're crooks man. That should be the end of that.
With respect to the young apprentice, what has done in his life to deserve this? Other then spend is ill gotten money and party his life away. What work has he ever held down that hasn't involved his father and his family?

Are you a crook or someone with principals? I'm sorry but it really does come down to that.
I ask the same question of family members.

BUT theft and looting, which as a direct consequence has lead to many lives being lost, is ok?

Thousands of children die every year in Pakistan due to hunger, thirst, malnutrition and disease while rulers go abroad to get checked for a mild fever, but thats ok and acceptable as per people like [MENTION=131701]Mamoon[/MENTION] [MENTION=142317]Loralai[/MENTION] and [MENTION=138980]TalentSpotterPk[/MENTION]

I agree with you. Now, I wonder which institution in Pakistan is most responsible for theft and looting...

Syed1 said:
Thousands of children die every year in Pakistan due to hunger, thirst, malnutrition and disease while rulers go abroad to get checked for a mild fever, but thats ok and acceptable as per people like @Mamoon @Loralai and @TalentSpotterPk

Yes I agree. Maybe one way we could improve healthcare and prevent these deaths would be change the amount we spend on defence and cut our army's budget and instead invest this money in healthcare instead?

I agree with you. Now, I wonder which institution in Pakistan is most responsible for theft and looting...

Yes I agree. Maybe one way we could improve healthcare and prevent these deaths would be change the amount we spend on defence and cut our army's budget and instead invest this money in healthcare instead?

That's not possible in the neighborhood you're in. If you take geopolitics into consideration, this is why artsy fartsy people don't understand statecraft.

Unfortuntely we are surrounded by enemies and practically at war, can't really cut down on defense.

That's not possible in the neighborhood you're in. If you take geopolitics into consideration, this is why artsy fartsy people don't understand statecraft.

Right, I'm sure our generals have an excellent understanding of statecraft. Let's look at their record:

- discriminating against East Pakistanis and launching a genocide in 1971, leading to war, loss of our territorial sovereignty and loss of half our country
- interfering in Afghanistan by backing Taliban and by supporting home grown terrorists for strategic purposes
- embarrassing us with the Kargil episode
- enriching themselves at the cost of Pakistani citizens
- diplomatically isolating ourselves and destroying our international reputation

With such a wonderful record, maybe we should give the so-called artsy-fartsy people a chance.

That's complete and utter nonsense.

Even after taking the defense budget in to account, billions of rupees which were earmarked for education, health, water etc were stolen by the politicians.

You only have to see the amount spent in KPK. It's a prime example of how money was correctly spent and highlights the disparity between spending the in the different provences.

You are extremely agenda driven, to the point that you will forgo common sense logic as long as what you're saying fits your narrative.

[MENTION=142317]Loralai[/MENTION]

This is #Extra Covers analysis on another thread,

Q u o t e

A simple but eye opening report here. We all know the differences in budgets allocated to education in KP, Punjab, Sindh and Federal. For example, in the budget of 2016-17 Punjab allocated Rs 73.3bn to education while in same period KP allocated Rs 19.5bn to allocation. Therefore, annually going by this rate Punjab spent more than Rs 50bn on education than KP. See below for references to spending.

KP: https://www.dawn.com/news/1264953
Punjab: https://www.dawn.com/news/1264730

Let's digest the above fact for a moment first. Now, let's back to this report of BBC. As per the report the results are eye opening.

KP: 4.5k increase in number of schools with water facilities (29%).
Punjab: 1.1k increase in number of schools with water facility (2%).

KP: 7.7k more schools with electricity (47.5%)
Punjab: 6.1k schools with electricity (12.5%)

KP: 4.3k more schools with toilet facility (19.5%)
Punjab: 2.3k schools with toilet facility (4.6%)

KP: 4.8k more schools with boundaries (22%)
Punjab: 3.4k schools with boundaries (7%)

Now sit back and ask yourself this question as to where did that additional Rs 50bn worth of spending on education went? You guessed it right this IS corruption.

U n q u o t e

Ironically I get the following message:

403 ERROR
The request could not be satisfied.

It loads fine for me in Canada. Perhaps assess is restricted in India to prevent spying :smith

Right, I'm sure our generals have an excellent understanding of statecraft. Let's look at their record:

- discriminating against East Pakistanis and launching a genocide in 1971, leading to war, loss of our territorial sovereignty and loss of half our country
- interfering in Afghanistan by backing Taliban and by supporting home grown terrorists for strategic purposes
- diplomatically isolating ourselves and destroying our international reputation

With such a wonderful record, maybe we should give the so-called artsy-fartsy people a chance.

This is the truth, and as usual, people are opting to run away from it. However, Jinnah himself sowed the seeds of discrimination against East Pakistan, when he declared Urdu as its official language in spite of the overwhelming majority of Bengali speakers.

In the current circumstances, Pakistan cannot afford to reduce defense spending. Our conflicts - both internal and external - are self-created, but they are what they are now.

However, what needs to be cut down is the influence of the military on our foreign policy and the amount of money that is allocated to the military for their perks and VIP culture within Pakistan. The men in boots are running their own business, which doesn’t happen elsewhere.

The Army Chief is a subordinate of the Head of State and is answerable to him. This is how it works in democracies. In Pakistan, it is the other way around, and as long as that is the case, we can forget cordial relations with India and Afghanistan.

Think you just called for the wrath of marhsal law boot palishayz. The general awam is too dumb to fathom that Military rule ruined us.

This is the truth, and as usual, people are opting to run away from it. However, Jinnah himself sowed the seeds of discrimination against East Pakistan, when he declared Urdu as its official language in spite of the overwhelming majority of Bengali speakers.

That is a half truth.

The whole truth is that yes Pakistan should worry only about it's internal affairs BUT that the present and previous politicians have Destroyed the country. This is irrespective of the Army, their "agenda", their budget.

You can add it a it more to this too, such as corrupt individuals will only support corrupt politicians. Some that claim to be democratic are just fools caught up in their own web of lies and deceit. Glass half empty sort of people, ones that spew utter rubbish in the hope that other similar beings will rally around them holding them up to be some superior intellect.

That is a half truth.

The whole truth is that yes Pakistan should worry only about it's internal affairs BUT that the present and previous politicians have destroyed the country. This is irrespective of the Army, their "agenda", their budget.

You can add it a it more to this too, such as corrupt individuals will only support corrupt politicians. Some that claim to be democratic are just fools caught up in their own web of lies and deceit. Glass half empty sort of people, ones that spew utter rubbish in the hope that other similar beings will rally around them holding them up to be some superior intellect.

The military has done more damage to the country - and have done more corruption - than any political party. The sole reason why our civil institutions are so weak today is because the military has not allowed them to flourish.

It took 60 years for a democratically elected party in Pakistan to complete its tenure, without the military poking its nose and detailing the government. How will the country progress when you do not let elected governments flourish?

India’s example is in front of us. The reason why they have such a strong democracy today is because their military has never intervened in politics, and have understood their role in the country.

Put your faith in democracy and it will adjust itself in the long run. People like Nawaz, Zardari etc. will filter out. Look at PPP, they have lost their clout in Pakistan politics and have been reduced to a distant third party after PML-N and PTI, and are desperately handing out tickets to electables.

If the influence of the military is reduced in Pakistan, and the foreign policy is dictated by the elected government rather than the military who wants tension on borders to increase its power, in two to three decades, the country will be in a much better shape.

However, if the military maintains its stronghold and thus the status quo remains, Pakistan will continue to struggle like it has since 1958, when the first martial law was declared and civil supremacy was thrown out of the window.

The military has done more damage to the country - and have done more corruption - than any political party. The sole reason why our civil institutions are so weak today is because the military has not allowed them to flourish.

It took 60 years for a democratically elected party in Pakistan to complete its tenure, without the military poking its nose and detailing the government. How will the country progress when you do not let elected governments flourish?

India’s example is in front of us. The reason why they have such a strong democracy today is because their military has never intervened in politics, and have understood their role in the country.

Put your faith in democracy and it will adjust itself in the long run. People like Nawaz, Zardari etc. will filter out. Look at PPP, they have lost their clout in Pakistan politics and have been reduced to a distant third party after PML-N and PTI, and are desperately handing out tickets to electables.

If the influence of the military is reduced in Pakistan, and the foreign policy is dictated by the elected government rather than the military who wants tension on borders to increase its power, in two to three decades, the country will be in a much better shape.

However, if the military maintains its stronghold and thus the status quo remains, Pakistan will continue to struggle like it has since 1958, when the first martial law was declared and civil supremacy was thrown out of the window.

It’s our failure that we have had a wave of corrupt politicians ruling the roost and taking the country of everything.

Now we have someone who stands for anti corruption and doing good for the poor.
Someone who has no track record of corruption, unlike the current leaders.

So yes let democracy take its course.
But don’t be fooled into thinking that if IK loses that this will be the end. This is just the beginning, a torch has been lit and a revolution will deep across the country.

The corrupt have it coming to them.

It’s our failure that we have had a wave of corrupt politicians ruling the roost and taking the country of everything.

Now we have someone who stands for anti corruption and doing good for the poor.
Someone who has no track record of corruption, unlike the current leaders.

So yes let democracy take its course.
But don’t be fooled into thinking that if IK loses that this will be the end. This is just the beginning, a torch has been lit and a revolution will deep across the country.

The corrupt have it coming to them.

Yes, Imran is standing against corruption by welcoming corrupt politicians in his party.

Yes, lets vote for massive corrupt leaders like Nawaz and Zardari again. Long live the monarchical democracy.

Like I said it’s a revolution.
Now there’s several ways to go about this.
Marching in the streets, civil riots etc etc
Or if we had educated people who were not so desperate that they could say NO to being bought a free lunch and given a few rupees for their votes. or people that were so entrenched in corruption that they would rathe keep the status quo and avoid going to jail... or there were enough decent and honest electables....

The choice is a simple one. Even if we don’t like these candidates we are votIng for change. If he wins and doesn’t deliver then we have another election in a few years.
So really there is absolutely nothing to lose by voting for IK...

Unless of course you are corrupt and hence a cheating crook.

If I was in Pakistan right now, I would abstain from voting in this election or, at best, vote for a decent independent candidate such as Jibran Nasir or Ammar Rashid.

Like I said it’s a revolution.
Now there’s several ways to go about this.
Marching in the streets, civil riots etc etc
Or if we had educated people who were not so desperate that they could say NO to being bought a free lunch and given a few rupees for their votes. or people that were so entrenched in corruption that they would rathe keep the status quo and avoid going to jail... or there were enough decent and honest electables....

The choice is a simple one. Even if we don’t like these candidates we are votIng for change. If he wins and doesn’t deliver then we have another election in a few years.
So really there is absolutely nothing to lose by voting for IK...

Unless of course you are corrupt and hence a cheating crook.

Electables will not bring change. It is a reality that will eventually sink in, and PTI supporters are setting themselves up for disappointment.

Politics is bottom-up; it is not top-bottom. Imran cannot do anything sitting at the top of the perch when the same old faces are running the show at the bottom.

Yes, lets vote for massive corrupt leaders like Nawaz and Zardari again. Long live the monarchical democracy.

Good answer, but it doesn’t address why Imran changed the definition of electables to justify his attempt to win the election on the back of crooks and frauds.

History tells us that if the leader of a group wants, he can entirely change the dynamics of a failed group of people, that's how much a leader has an influence, either in politics or in an organization.

Listening to Naz Baloch right now defending PPP makes me realise that all politicians are sociopaths, devoid of any semblance of conscience.

One leader can be a quick fix but it doesn’t change the overall condition of that group in a long run. From Atila the Hun to Quaid-e-Azam Mohammad Ali Jinnah, history is littered with such examples.

Its better to elect someone who can alteast fix something rather then those Sharifs and Zardaris who will loot and destroy whats handful is left in this country. Past 10 years of monarchy in Pakistan has left us with dangerous level of international debt.

That is not a solid argument bro.

Here’s a a solid argument.
You are a strong PMLN or PPP supporter,
Hence a supporter of Corruption and the death and destruction of the poor.

That’s an argument you know to be true and one you cannot argue against.

Here’s a a solid argument.
You are a strong PMLN or PPP supporter,
Hence a supporter of Corruption and the death and destruction of the poor.

That’s an argument you know to be true and one you cannot argue against.

Ha ha ha. Just read my earlier posts. What a clueless bunch!

You know i’m right.

There is a strong distinction in this election.
You can vote for continuing corruption or you can vote for change.

It’s that simple.

A revolution at the elections or a major uprising in the future because the poor cannot remain downtrodden as they are.

Voting for independents is only going to strengthen PMLN or PPP.

So these are the choices. Corruption or anti corruption?

Electables will not bring change. It is a reality that will eventually sink in, and PTI supporters are setting themselves up for disappointment.

Politics is bottom-up; it is not top-bottom. Imran cannot do anything sitting at the top of the perch when the same old faces are running the show at the bottom.

He may fail, but at least he would have tried. The beneficiaries and supporters of killers and thiefs like you dont want to even try.

You know i’m right.

It’s that simple.

A revolution at the elections or a major uprising in the future because the poor cannot remain downtrodden as they are.

Bro, do you know Jibran Nasir? I just said I’d rather vote for him than any other existing political parties that are just the extensions of our deep rooted dictatorial beliefs and attitudes.

I am a true supporter of Anti Corruption policies so much so that I am blinded by it and other then that I know nothing about Jibran Nasir or any of the candidates or party members. So I stand corrected.

Apologies Bro

These shameless people and their party already had ruled the country for a long time ' why they could not do anything then. His dumb mother then then his corrupt father did not do anything and what about Sindh now .

Urdu is not a provincial language , it was a common language of expression in united India. Punjabi, Sindhi, Bengali were the regional languages, not urdu.

You know i’m right.

It’s that simple.

And, if you have closed your eyes from a fact that Imran is willing to make compromises to win one election campaign, then you are setting yourself up for a few rude awakenings.

I am a true supporter of Anti Corruption policies so much so that I am blinded by it and other then that I know nothing about Jibran Nasir or any of the candidates or party members. So I stand corrected.

Apologies Bro
No need for apologies mate. Difference of opinion should be encouraged for our better collective future.

And, if you have closed your eyes from a fact that Imran is willing to make compromises to win one election campaign, then you are setting yourself up for a few rude awakenings.

That’s where I have had to do some soul searching. But if we have faith in the work he’s done so far and faith that he will carry out his manifesto if he wins then what is there to lose?

If he fails, he loses the next election or the people will rise up against him.

That’s where I have had to do some soul searching. But if we have faith in the work he’s done so far and faith that he will carry out his manifesto if he wins then what is there to lose?

If he fails, he loses the next election or the people will rise up against him.

That’s why he is the lesser evil. At least for now.

If I was in Pakistan right now, I would abstain from voting in this election or, at best, vote for a decent independent candidate such as Jibran Nasir or Ammar Rashid.
Ammar Rashid is not independent and is representing AWP (Awami Workers Party). We need more people like Jibran and Ammar in our politics.

Best of luck to Ismat Shah Jahan as well.

Absolutely. They are fantastic candidates. It is not easy to put forward progressive views in Pakistani society. They have done very well and deserve a lot of credit and support. It is people like this who have Pakistan's best interests at heart and will lead the nation forward.

BTW, when are you guys releasing your manifesto? Or is it already out?

While I don't like electables given a ticket by IK, but Pakistani Awam do not vote for anyone else and they continue to only choose these electables who have been ruling for the last 15-20 years continuously. IK tried new people in 2013 and we saw him getting 30 odd seats only despite being one of the most popular parties.

He has been struggling for over 20 years but to no result. It's only now that he has any chance due to electables coming in. What comes across as hypocricy is people saying how they don't like electables yet going back and voting for Nawaz and Zardaris, who are kings of electables.

Democracy will take it's course but by voting in new people. If the new ones don't do what they are supposed to, then another new batch is voted in, not by going back to the ones who were curropt before them. You cannot keep on voting for the same corrupt, and tried and tested failures and expect to see democracy prevail.

It is the truth which PTI supporters will not wish to accept. You can't bring change by recycling the same old rubbish. We need to move away from this culture of electables.

That is a half truth.

The whole truth is that yes Pakistan should worry only about it's internal affairs BUT that the present and previous politicians have Destroyed the country. This is irrespective of the Army, their "agenda", their budget.

Sorry but nothing is "irrespective" of the army's agenda in Pakistan.

From disappeared persons to clampdowns on free speech to the open support given to extremists, the army is very much involved behind the scenes.

They have pillaged us brutally for seventy years and it seems like certain posters here are unwilling to accept this.

Our armed forces have caused us greater problems and have caused us more difficulty than any mainstream civilian party. We complain about Nawaz Sharif's ill gained assets and his corruption (and so we should), but we should extend this scrutiny to our generals too. I would love to find out more about the location and value of Raheel Sharif's assets.

The fact that we are unwilling to accept the truth and face up to it is very sad and unfortunate.

People can vote PTI, PML(N), PPP, AWP or whoever they want, but everyone should understand and accept the brutal impact our army has had on our nation and the problems it has caused us. We must give democracy a chance if we want to excel as a nation.

He may fail, but at least he would have tried. The beneficiaries and supporters of killers and thiefs like you dont want to even try.

Winning election with tried and tested crooks and frauds is not called trying.

Sorry but nothing is "irrespective" of the army's agenda in Pakistan.

From disappeared persons to clampdowns on free speech to the open support given to extremists, the army is very much involved behind the scenes.

They have pillaged us brutally for seventy years and it seems like certain posters here are unwilling to accept this.

Our armed forces have caused us greater problems and have caused us more difficulty than any mainstream civilian party. We complain about Nawaz Sharif's ill gained assets and his corruption (and so we should), but we should extend this scrutiny to our generals too. I would love to find out more about the location and value of Raheel Sharif's assets.

The fact that we are unwilling to accept the truth and face up to it is very sad and unfortunate.

People can vote PTI, PML(N), PPP, AWP or whoever they want, but everyone should understand and accept the brutal impact our army has had on our nation and the problems it has caused us. We must give democracy a chance if we want to excel as a nation.

I accept everything you’re saying but what does that achieve?
Democracy is being tried but if all we get are families ruling the roost then there may not even be a Pakistan in thirty years let alone a chance for democracy to thrive.

For the first time in history we have a non corrupt leader of a party standing against proven corrupt parties. So I say it again, if you truly believe in democracy then you’ll give this man a chance. Like i’ve been saying, if he proves to be another military puppet and does nothing for our people then we all have a chance to vote him out.

The real problem as I see it is that a lot of people are intenched in the current corrupt system. They don’t want change because it will either lead to them earning less money or in an extreme case losing everything they have or even being put to jail. You can almost see the desperation in the posts.

At the moment, it’s who you know and not what you know that gets you places. This is wrong.

So again I ask you the question. What have you got to lose by voting PTI?

Winning election with tried and tested crooks and frauds is not called trying.

But you will never know until PTI is elected the government.
Why not give them five years? What have you got to lose?

Can we all get back to discussing Billoo's manifesto plz? i found it largely unworkable and pretty much pie in the sky stuff..

The thing is that there are no real numbers either, they haven't really specified where they will get the money from the implement their ideas. All they have done is compiled a document of what they want to do, and it largely isn't really feasible for 5 years. I would be interested to see what PTI do in their manifesto.

But you will never know until PTI is elected the government.
Why not give them five years? What have you got to lose?

Never know what? He has given tickets to people who have no integrity. I have no reason to believe that they will change their colors after getting dry-cleaned by Insaaf washing powder, or perhaps the First Lady, the White Priestess would recite some spell and do a "choof" and lo and behold - these people will stop doing what they have been doing over their whole political careers.

As far as not having anything to lose is concerned, that is a valid argument.

If PTI supporters acknowledge that Imran is a lying hypocrite who is doing double-faced politics to come into power, but they are still giving him their votes because at least he is knew, and there is a chance that he might to do better than the governments who have been in power for decades. If his supporters starting calling a spade what it is, Imran will be subjected to less opposition and hostility.

The problem is that his supporters defend him at every nook and corner and do not acknowledge the fact that he is giving his manifesto and ideology a toss in order to become the PM. They justify his every word and every action, even though the hard facts, including what Imran has said and done in the past (when he was not corrupted by the desire to become the PM at all costs) simply goes against what they preach.

Urdu is not a provincial language , it was a common language of expression in united India. Punjabi, Sindhi, Bengali were the regional languages, not urdu.

It wasn't a common language of expression in East Pakistan, and Jinnah's decision to go there and emphasize on the importance of Urdu laid the foundation of the insurgency. It was a mistake that has been acknowledged by various commentators and analysts.

While I don't like electables given a ticket by IK, but Pakistani Awam do not vote for anyone else and they continue to only choose these electables who have been ruling for the last 15-20 years continuously. IK tried new people in 2013 and we saw him getting 30 odd seats only despite being one of the most popular parties.

He has been struggling for over 20 years but to no result. It's only now that he has any chance due to electables coming in. What comes across as hypocricy is people saying how they don't like electables yet going back and voting for Nawaz and Zardaris, who are kings of electables.

Democracy will take it's course but by voting in new people. If the new ones don't do what they are supposed to, then another new batch is voted in, not by going back to the ones who were curropt before them. You cannot keep on voting for the same corrupt, and tried and tested failures and expect to see democracy prevail.

Struggling for 20 years means nothing in politics. The country was not going to be handed over to him on a platter. His party is only 22 years old in a country where the other main political parties have been operating for over 60 years.

2013 was the first full-fledged election that PTI contested with a genuine opportunity of winning majority. However, after one defeat, he has given up on his ideology and has decided to settle for compromises. To me this shows what a weak leader he has become.

Stronger leaders do not sell their integrity after setbacks, and that is exactly what Imran has done over the last five years by handing out party tickets to people who stand for everything that PTI fought against since 1996.

There are two types of PTI supporters:

Group I:

People who are member of the PTI cult, who consider Imran a messiah who has been sent from the heavens to change the country. These people will defend him as if he is a divine figure and above human sin. They will defend and justify every action and word that comes out of his holy mouth, irrespective of how many times he takes a U-turn and contradicts himself.

They agreed with him with his original definition of electables, and now they agree with him with his new convenient definition of electables to justify his U-turn. If he takes another U-turn and goes back to his original definition of electables, they will agree with him again.

For these cult members, if you criticize Imran, you are automatically a PML-N or PPP supporter. It is not possible to have a civil discussion with this people, as we have seen on this forum.

Group II:

These PTI supporters are not cult members. They do recognize the fact that is Imran is a desperate, power hungry narcissist who is a master of hypocrisy and double-faced politics, but they are still going to vote for him because at least he is new.

They have seen the other parties and what they have to offer, so they are justified in their thought-process that they have nothing much to lose. In the worst case scenario, he will be as bad as the others. That is certainly a very reasonable point of view, but unfortunately, Group I forms roughly 90% of the PTI supporters, and that is a huge problem indeed.

History tells us that if the leader of a group wants, he can entirely change the dynamics of a failed group of people, that's how much a leader has an influence, either in politics or in an organization.

Absolutely. Our savior keeps giving us the example of Prophet Muhammad PBUH and how he transformed the people of Arabia, which is certainly a very relevant example and justifies our savior's U-turn.

Wow, I just gave you an example of how leaders can have a massive effect and what you did here is cherry pick one of Imran Khan's statement on a private channel. Great going, keep it up.

What cherry picking. These are our savior's words, and he has emphasized on this example a hundred times now on various forms. I think it is a very relevant example and a genuine justification for our savior's U-turn.

You seem to disagree with this analogy which is surprising because our savior can never be wrong.

What cherry picking. These are our savior's words, and he has emphasized on this example a hundred times now on various forms. I think it is a very relevant example and a genuine justification for our savior's U-turn.

You seem to disagree with this analogy which is surprising because our savior can never be wrong.

No one is perfect but he is the best option we have got. Secondly, if PTI wins majority, I will support all accountability measures taken by respective departments if they don't do their job correctly.

Lastly, I will never support the monarchical corrupt system that was started by certified corrupt Bhutto-Zardari family and then continued by massively corrupt Sharif family.