Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation to provide $200mn for PM Imran Khan's Ehsaas programme

Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation will provide Pakistan an amount of 200 million dollars for implementation of ‘Ehsas Program’ next year.

A Memorandum of understanding was signed by the both parties in a meeting held in New York today.

The meeting was attended by Prime Minister Imran Khan, Chairperson ‘Ehsas Program’ Dr Sania Nishtar and Bill Gates.

According to the agreement, the amount will be spent on 134 poverty alleviation projects.

Speaking on the occasion, the Prime Minister said that ‘Ehsas Program’ is a big project in the history of Pakistan which will turn the country into a welfare state. He said the poverty alleviation is on the top priority of his government from day one.

He said this program will help to achieve the sustainable development goals set under United Nations. He also expressed his commitment for complete elimination of polio from the country.

http://www.radio.gov.pk/26-09-2019/...-foundation-to-provide-200m-for-ehsas-program

248877_1640928_updates.jpg

Bill Gates is a great man. His charities run into millions. Perhaps billions.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-partner="tweetdeck"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Spoke with Bill Gates last night & thanked him for the help his Foundation provided for polio eradication in Pak. This time last yr we had 56 reported cases - this yr so far only 1 case. InshaAllah we will eradicate polio completely in coming yr.</p>— Imran Khan (@ImranKhanPTI) <a href="https://twitter.com/ImranKhanPTI/status/1407991403980935169?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">June 24, 2021</a></blockquote>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-partner="tweetdeck"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Also asked Bill if he could set up a Microsoft incubation lab in Pakistan.</p>— Imran Khan (@ImranKhanPTI) <a href="https://twitter.com/ImranKhanPTI/status/1407991408078774274?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">June 24, 2021</a></blockquote>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-partner="tweetdeck"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Spoke with Bill Gates last night & thanked him for the help his Foundation provided for polio eradication in Pak. This time last yr we had 56 reported cases - this yr so far only 1 case. InshaAllah we will eradicate polio completely in coming yr.</p>— Imran Khan (@ImranKhanPTI) <a href="https://twitter.com/ImranKhanPTI/status/1407991403980935169?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">June 24, 2021</a></blockquote>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-partner="tweetdeck"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Also asked Bill if he could set up a Microsoft incubation lab in Pakistan.</p>— Imran Khan (@ImranKhanPTI) <a href="https://twitter.com/ImranKhanPTI/status/1407991408078774274?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">June 24, 2021</a></blockquote>

That is great work. Polio had been almost eradicated back in the 60s. Thank the Almighty we are getting back on track.

On a side note, Bill is no longer associated with Microsoft in any capacity so requesting him to set up a MS lab will not help.

I wonder if the divorce b/w Bill and Melinda will negatively impact their foundation?

ISLAMABAD:Microsoft co-founder and billionaire philanthropist Bill Gates arrived in Pakistan on Thursday for a day-long visit and met Prime Minister Imran Khan.

Gates, who is also the co-chairman of Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation, is on his first-ever visit to the country.

He visited the anti-polio programme, where he was briefed by the programme’s chief Dr Shehzad Baig and was informed of Covid-19 and polio prevention measures being taken in the country.

Special Assistant to the Prime Minister on Health Dr Faisal Sultan took to his official Twitter handle to welcome Gates to Pakistan.

The SAPM stated that Gates’s planned engagements also include meeting President Arif Alvi and a review of the Ehsaas programme

During his visit to the country’s nerve centre for Covid-19 response – the NCOC – Gates met the body’s head Asad Umar and SAPM Dr Faisal Sultan.

Gates, along with his delegation, attended the NCOC’s morning session and were apprised about the forum’s role , methodology, achievements since the start of the pandemic and the current situation in the country, including various NPIs enforced by the NCOC to control the virus’ spread.

“A comprehensive review of Pakistan’s efforts against Covid-19 was presented to visiting delegation. The visiting delegation was also briefed on genome sequencing (prevalence of various variants in the country ),” said a statement.

Gates, according to the to NCOC statement, took keen interest on various initiatives by the NCOC particularly the smart lock down and micro smart lock down strategy used by the forum.

The philanthropist also shared his views on Covid-19 particularly vaccination drive.

During the visit, Umar acknowledged the efforts of Gates and his foundation to support Covid-19 initiatives in Pakistan. Gates appreciated Pakistan’s success against Covid-19 despite resource constraints and introducing excellent initiatives and measures for public health safety.

Earlier in January, Gates and the premier discussed matters of shared concern including polio eradication in Pakistan and the ongoing Covid-19 pandemic.

The premier had expressed appreciation for the work of the Gates Foundation in fighting poverty, disease, and inequity around the world.

PM Imran had reaffirmed that eradication of polio from Pakistan remains a key priority of the government and efforts are underway to intensify the anti-polio campaign across the country.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-partner="tweetdeck"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">It was a pleasure to welcome <a href="https://twitter.com/BillGates?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@BillGates</a> who came to Pakistan on my invitation.Apart from his many achievements,he is admired globally for his philanthropy.On behalf of our nation I thank him for his immense contribution towards polio eradication & poverty alleviation initiatives. <a href="https://t.co/1tR9cICbhY">pic.twitter.com/1tR9cICbhY</a></p>— Imran Khan (@ImranKhanPTI) <a href="https://twitter.com/ImranKhanPTI/status/1494307576229552137?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">February 17, 2022</a></blockquote>

Have to appreciate the pm here for taking the begging bowl to the rich of the world.

Didnt this guy said he uses to feel ashamed when our pms would take the begging bowl to different world leaders and ask for money...

Oh right, he does it than its ok i guess

Have to appreciate the pm here for taking the begging bowl to the rich of the world.

Didnt this guy said he uses to feel ashamed when our pms would take the begging bowl to different world leaders and ask for money...

Thoughtful comment.

Thread is about eradicating polio and poverty.

Asking for help while not taking briefcases filled with money abroad to improve the life of Pakistani citizens is quite different that what you have attempted in “very thoughtful” comment.

Oh bhai thori tu sharam karu - persistent “butt hurt” and urge to find something negative whenever you hear and see IK is not the way to go :)

I will never understand your love for corrupt politicians but your hatred for corrupt cricketers. &#55358;&#56618;

again, these are the words of Imran himself where he bashed others for taking the begging bowl.

But if Imran himself takes a uturn(as usual) and does it than its ok i guess

That is great work. Polio had been almost eradicated back in the 60s. Thank the Almighty we are getting back on track.

On a side note, Bill is no longer associated with Microsoft in any capacity so requesting him to set up a MS lab will not help.

True. I think Imran is sometimes getting dragged back by a terrible support team. It is not expected that any PM will know all but they should have accurate information/context at their disposal and if thats not happening frequently, then questions need to be asked of his team that does all groundwork.

Why don't you pay more taxes. Aren't you the one that wants all the subsidies for things like Petrol but don't want to pay taxes. Can you tell me the secret to square this circle

so you want me to pay double the gst now on products? so because of the failiure of pti the awaam should play a pti failiure tax. mashallah

What a pathetic statement.

Is he "begging" for his own self or for the millions of poor and hungry. People who you support and worship corrupt Zardari and Bhutto clan have ruled the country for decades and the end result is we are a poor, undeveloped country. Your favourite PPP has been ruling in Sindh for last 15 years, yet Sindh is now even lagging behind Baluchistan in many aspects of social development. Wonder why you don't talk about that? Kya howa agar corrupt looteray hain kam kam se kam Billoo David english tu achi bol lehta hai.

If the choice is between Khan and a corrupt dynasty like the Bhutto/Zardaris I will chose him 10 times out of 10.

Maybe rather than running mouth you should try and be more productive. Last I checked 220 million Pakistanis have exports of just $30-35b which is equal to the remittances that just 8 million overseas send.

:shhh

so you want me to pay double the gst now on products? so because of the failiure of pti the awaam should play a pti failiure tax. mashallah

What failure is that then? Inflation isn't an exclusively a PK problem. And you want subsidies but don't want to pay taxes. And you ask why PK hasn't developed. Give me strength

What a pathetic statement.

Is he "begging" for his own self or for the millions of poor and hungry. People who you support and worship corrupt Zardari and Bhutto clan have ruled the country for decades and the end result is we are a poor, undeveloped country. Your favourite PPP has been ruling in Sindh for last 15 years, yet Sindh is now even lagging behind Baluchistan in many aspects of social development. Wonder why you don't talk about that? Kya howa agar corrupt looteray hain kam kam se kam Billoo David english tu achi bol lehta hai.

If the choice is between Khan and a corrupt dynasty like the Bhutto/Zardaris I will chose him 10 times out of 10.

Maybe rather than running mouth you should try and be more productive. Last I checked 220 million Pakistanis have exports of just $30-35b which is equal to the remittances that just 8 million overseas send.

:shhh

This dude had attempted every criticism to criticize health program by PTI.

Unnecessary Criticism such as his makes it extremely difficult to show any respect when they even make an honest criticism.

Almost everyone in all province except one, are insured up to certain amount to get Health care they need albeit not the great quality but still they have healthcare that they didn’t under PPP and PML- N government.

That’s what you call investing in human development with the loan and aid received - I guess alien concept for most PPP and PML-N supporters :facepalm

What's PK tax to GDP ratio?

Funny how this PPP jiyala thinks he can take pot shots at IK and not expect to hear back.

This guy supports a corrupt dynasty because of personal benefits. Let's list down the achievements of PPP:

1. Founder Zulfiqar Ali Bhutto did not allow democratically elected Mujib ur Rehman to form government leading to fall of Dhaka

2. ZAB applied full stop on rapidly advancing economy by undertaking nationalization. At that point Pakistan's per capita was better than China and India. Imagine! Heck upto the 80s we even used to build ships for China.

3. Then came ZAB's corrupt daughter Benazir. Who just got two stints of 2 years each and even that was sufficient time to loot and plunder so much that seven generations of Bhutto clan will live without having to work a day in their lives.

4. She also was the architect of the IPP crisis and how Pakistanis have to pay a big chunk of their income just to get power.

5. Then came the era of 2008-2013. Musharraf left a stable economy, with flourishing PIA, Railways, Steel Mills but lo and behold PPP only knows how to loot and plunder. Filled these institutions with their jiyala so much so that despite PTI's best efforts there seems to be no way to fix them. In this stint they also passed the draconian 18th amendment that ensures that Pakistan will ALWAYS be in a financial quagmire. Not to forget the unabated looting and plundering by Zardari and clan.

6. Then it's the 15 years of continuous rule in Sindh with the largest province have the economic engine of the country now lags far behind Punjab and KPK and even behind Baluchistan in some aspects.

Before [MENTION=135038]Major[/MENTION] runs his mouth against IK he should first assess how PPP have been a leading cause in why Pakistan is the way it is today.

So how much money did Kaptaan beg Bill for? Can any Youth provide a quote?

Prime Minister Imran Khan has revealed that he invited Microsoft co-founder and billionaire philanthropist Bill Gates to Pakistan to “fully involve him into the IT sector” of the country.

“He always remained in touch [with me] regarding polio eradication efforts and I invited him [Gates] to visit Pakistan after no polio case was recorded across the country,” said the premier on Monday while addressing an E-Commerce Pakistan Convention in Islamabad on Monday.

My aim was to fully involve him in the IT sector of the country... and seek his advice. At this stage I will not make any announcement but in the coming days will give you good news,” he remarked.
He also appreciated the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation’s contributions to eradicate polio endemic in Pakistan.

PM Imran said Pakistan’s IT sector exports have the potential to cross $50 billion per annum mark while terming it the future of the country.

The premier said his government was taking all-out measures to remove hurdles in the IT sector and for this purpose registered freelancers across the country have been exempted from all taxes.

Pakistan’s exports of information technology (IT) and IT-enabled services have increased by 42% to $635 million in the first quarter of fiscal year 2021-22 compared to $445 million in the same quarter of the previous year, Adviser to Prime Minister on Commerce and Investment Abdul Razak Dawood had said.

Pakistan mainly exported software services to IT companies in the west, information and communications technology (ICT) expert Parvez Iftikhar earlier told The Express Tribune.
P
At the start of his address, PM Imran asked the audience “which sentence I use the most”.

He added that since coming into power he had been using the phrase Ghbarana nai hai [don’t panic] because he knew that his government would have to take tough decisions to rescue the country “as it was on a verge of collapse”.

https://tribune.com.pk/story/2344575/good-news-in-the-offing-after-gates-visit-to-pakistan-pm

Prime Minister Imran Khan has revealed that he invited Microsoft co-founder and billionaire philanthropist Bill Gates to Pakistan to “fully involve him into the IT sector” of the country.

“He always remained in touch [with me] regarding polio eradication efforts and I invited him [Gates] to visit Pakistan after no polio case was recorded across the country,” said the premier on Monday while addressing an E-Commerce Pakistan Convention in Islamabad on Monday.

“My aim was to fully involve him in the IT sector of the country... and seek his advice. At this stage I will not make any announcement but in the coming days will give you good news,” he remarked.

He also appreciated the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation’s contributions to eradicate polio endemic in Pakistan.

PM Imran said Pakistan’s IT sector exports have the potential to cross $50 billion per annum mark while terming it the future of the country.

The premier said his government was taking all-out measures to remove hurdles in the IT sector and for this purpose registered freelancers across the country have been exempted from all taxes.

Pakistan’s exports of information technology (IT) and IT-enabled services have increased by 42% to $635 million in the first quarter of fiscal year 2021-22 compared to $445 million in the same quarter of the previous year, Adviser to Prime Minister on Commerce and Investment Abdul Razak Dawood had said.

Pakistan mainly exported software services to IT companies in the west, information and communications technology (ICT) expert Parvez Iftikhar earlier told The Express Tribune.

At the start of his address, PM Imran asked the audience “which sentence I use the most”.

He added that since coming into power he had been using the phrase Ghbarana nai hai [don’t panic] because he knew that his government would have to take tough decisions to rescue the country “as it was on a verge of collapse”.

The coronavirus pandemic is far from over, Bill Gates has warned, saying there could still be a variant which is "even more transmissive and even more fatal".

"We haven't even seen the worst of it," he said in an interview.

While not wanting to be a "voice of doom and gloom", the risk of a more virulent variant emerging is "way above 5%", the Microsoft co-founder and philanthropist told the Financial Times.

"We're still at risk of this pandemic generating a variant that would be even more transmissive and even more fatal," he said, adding that longer-lasting vaccines which block infection are urgently required.

Gates, one of the world's wealthiest people, has written a book called How to Prevent the Next Pandemic.

He is urging the creation of a team of international experts - ranging from epidemiologists to computer modellers - to identify threats and improve international coordination.

He is also calling for a global epidemic response team, managed by the World Health Organisation, and says extra investment is vital.