Brendon McCullum shows us the way to use Yasir Shah in LOI formats

Hasan123

Test Star
I know Yasir has been rubbish in LO so far. Yes he has himself to blame and his lack of variety doesn't help. But the capataincy of Azhar hasn't helped him at all. Often using him to contain runs and not setting attacking fields.

Today Mccullum used Yasir as a wicket taking opitions and set attacking fields even with a low score. The attacking field placing were the downfall of Sammy and Morgan, even though Morgan was unlucky had the short leg not been there, Morgan definitely would have survived.

I am a big fan of having a leg spinner in LO cricket, if Yasir is going to be used as an attacking opition by Sarfraz, he could be a useful bowler. We are probably in the worst era of batsmen playing spin, Baz has shown us the way to use Yasir or any leg break for that matter.

I wouldn't mind Yasir getting a chance under Sarfraz if he fails than I hope we can find another leg break option.

We need an attacking option in the middle overs of an ODI. A firing Shah could be the ideal bloke to play that role.

Exciting times for Pakistan cricket. A new captain incoming who is the BEST captain in Pakistan at the moment, and Shah is beginning to find his foothold in LOI. Other than that Hasan is emerging as a real gem, with excellent pace and good variety. Fakhar is also knocking on the door of selection. Harry and Babar will find form soon enough as well.

We can't be dampened by mindless fixers. Have better players to replace them.

We need an attacking option in the middle overs of an ODI. A firing Shah could be the ideal bloke to play that role.

Exciting times for Pakistan cricket. A new captain incoming who is the BEST captain in Pakistan at the moment, and Shah is beginning to find his foothold in LOI. Other than that Hasan is emerging as a real gem, with excellent pace and good variety. Fakhar is also knocking on the door of selection. Harry and Babar will find form soon enough as well.

Exactly. Best time to use Yasir is 20th-40th over with attacking fields. If he's selected I hope Sarfraz was watching how Baz used him today.

I do hope the same that SARFU and MICKEY watched today's game...but definitely AZHAR watched it :amir3:akhtar:babar...

Why is everyone forgetting the sand paper pitch we played on today?

Can't replace Sharjeel no matter how much we try to deny it

Exactly! Next match might be on a flat not turning pitch which Yasir finds difficicult to bowl on.
Lets not get too excited after one good performance.

Yeah was pretty hyped up while watching him play today.

Only one game and I really can't believe I'm saying this, but under Sarfraz, I won't mind Yasir in LOIs too much.

I agree that Yasir could be utilised better by his captain especially going by recent history but also remember that the wicket today was very helpful for him.

sarfraz best captain in pakistan? any proof? can you back up your statement? only international captaincy experiene will count

hasan a real gem.... really...doidnt he just give 100+ runs in 10 overs in aus? wah wah kaya gem hai bhai

and who is harry?

and who is fakhar? lol

I agree that Yasir could be utilised better by his captain especially going by recent history but also remember that the wicket today was very helpful for him.

Were playing in the west indies next, could get some assistance there as well.

sarfraz best captain in pakistan? any proof? can you back up your statement? only international captaincy experiene will count

hasan a real gem.... really...doidnt he just give 100+ runs in 10 overs in aus? wah wah kaya gem hai bhai

and who is harry?

and who is fakhar? lol
bhai ap PSL dekho saray jawab mil jayengain

That's what happens when a mediocre bowler has a good day.

Everyone goes ecstatic and lose track of facts plus logic.

Hasan, Yasir is low quality in LOIs and was immensely helped by not only the pitch but clueless batting by Zalmi plus clueless umpiring.

That's why I calles it a low quality match.

Leg spinners can only work well under attacking spinners.

Pakistan need to find someone who can bat as well, because Pakistan tail not that strong. Number 8 , 9 cannot be mugs with the bat any more

Hasan, Yasir is low quality in LOIs and was immensely helped by not only the pitch but clueless batting by Zalmi plus clueless umpiring.

Lol most modern day batsmen struggle vs spin so if Yasir is used correctly he can get wickets.

If he doesn't perform you will call him rubbish. So tell me what you want him to do?

No one is getting estatic lol, I'm just making the point if he is used as an attacking option I don't see the harm in giving him a run.

Being a leggi, he bowled with a new ball under dew at around 10pm today for just about 10 runs in 4 overs - that's very good control for any type of wickets.

Called* it not calles. :/

Lol most modern day batsmen struggle vs spin so if Yasir is used correctly he can get wickets.

If he doesn't perform you will call him rubbish. So tell me what you want him to do?

No one is getting estatic lol, I'm just making the point if he is used as an attacking option I don't see the harm in giving him a run.

I don't think he deserves a space in LOI squad where we're already struggling and conceding 320 plus in almost every other match.

Need someone better. Asghar is much better but Inzi is being clueless again.

Being a leggi, he bowled with a new ball under dew at around 10pm today for just about 10 runs in 4 overs - that's very good control for any type of wickets.

I don't think dew is much of a factor in this tournament. The weather is unusual for UAE.

I'll also blame Zalmi batting, the way they played was poor.

Do you want him in LOIs? :danish

So he has one excellent display on a pitch where 17 wickets fell for 110 runs and suddenly

1) Sarfaraz is the greatest captain ever, visionary
2) Yasir is the answer to all problems
3) Yasir is one of the best in the world

This after he returned figures of 1/32 off 4 and 0/15 off 2 overs within the last 3 days.

Seriously lads, seriously. Some restraint.....

I also don't understand how McCullum is getting much praise for his field settings today.

He had 60 runs to defend! He had no choice!

True. First EFFECTIVE aggressive opener for Pak in 15 years.

I actually loved that guy as much as Sarfraz. Watched the Aus ODI series only for him. What a batsman yaar. Shame he chose to go down that route :facepalm:

Yasir lacks patience in limited overs cricket.

I suppose a captain can go full attack and hope Yasir has a good day (like McCullum did). However, it's become clear he's not cut out for the shorter formats.

You can't select a player on a prayer he'll come off if you attack.

Somehow his bowling IQ goes out the window in ODI/T20 cricket and that has to be accepted. Some guys are not cut out for certain formats (i.e. Shafiq in ODIs) but do well in tests.

No.

Brendon McCullum showed us how to use Yasir Shah on a two paced turning pitch.

Not every pitch is like this one, we have all seen what happens when Yasir has to bowl on a traditional LOI pitch.

Yasir is a test match bowler, unless he has a Imran Tahir like transformation, I do not see him as a long term option for LOIs.

Misbah and Azhar are defensive captains and their defensive captaincy has a huge part to play in the poor performance of our bowlers. They do not have the calibre to be captains.

Called* it not calles. :/

I don't think he deserves a space in LOI squad where we're already struggling and conceding 320 plus in almost every other match.

Need someone better. Asghar is much better but Inzi is being clueless again.

I don't think dew is much of a factor in this tournament. The weather is unusual for UAE.

I'll also blame Zalmi batting, the way they played was poor.

Do you want him in LOIs? :danish

Any time - not Yasir, but I actually want to see a leggi in ODI - if there is a better one than Yasir, bring him on.

Soo tired of this over praising of mccullum

His team got an alltime psl low score forgods sake

Instead of going full crazy, he should take responsibility.

Also, pitch played a big favour for bowler aswell

Duscounting the conditions????
Yasir is a bad option in LOIs. That wont change.

Duscounting the conditions????
Yasir is a bad option in LOIs. That wont change.

Yup Yasir hasnt performed in LOI but he had been playing under the dumbest captain of all time,

this was his first opportunity to play under a proper captain who knows how to use his resources,

so I think Yasir still has the benefit of the doubt...

I suppose a captain can go full attack and hope Yasir has a good day (like McCullum did). However, it's become clear he's not cut out for the shorter formats.

Somehow his bowling IQ goes out the window in ODI/T20 cricket and that has to be accepted. Some guys are not cut out for certain formats (i.e. Shafiq in ODIs) but do well in tests.

He loses plot in Tests too once batsmen start attacking him.

Not sure why are people talking about him like he was David Warner. The guy hit his single hundred against Ireland. At best he was a promising LO batsman. Pakistan has survived without bigger players. Sharjeel is a nobody.

There is criticism of Lahores batting apptoach,there is a thread on it and in the match thread baz and his team were getting criticism.

So we can't praise him for nearly defending 60 runs?

So he has one excellent display on a pitch where 17 wickets fell for 110 runs and suddenly

1) Sarfaraz is the greatest captain ever, visionary
2) Yasir is the answer to all problems
3) Yasir is one of the best in the world

This after he returned figures of 1/32 off 4 and 0/15 off 2 overs within the last 3 days.

Seriously lads, seriously. Some restraint.....

Alright

Can we find one spinner in the history of cricket who is successful in tests yet a failure in ODIs ?

NONE.

Murali and Warne would have failed under Azhar anyway, who bowls offies against RHB and Leggies against LHB because thats what is programmed. ( This is intended to not criticise Azhar Ali, but to highlight unwarranted criticism against Yasir which is unfair).

Nawaz of PSL was looking a gem but went missing in ODIs. Any promising young spinner shouldn't debut under Azhar for the time being.

Yasir aside, who are the other spinners IN HISTORY to have success in tests and failures in ODIs?

Spinners who are Successful in Tests can not be a failure in ODIs. Thats Chemistry Of Cricket BY DEFAULT.

Naraine and even Fakhar was turning square on that wicket so no really nothing much Yasir did extraordinary here....The wicket was absolutely horror for T20 Cricket.

Alright

Spinners who are Successful in Tests can not be a failure in ODIs. Thats Chemistry Of Cricket BY DEFAULT.

Explain Danish Kaneria and Monty Panesar then.

You shouldn't make outlandish claims and act as though they're fact unless you've fact checked them first. That's just COMMON SENSE. :harby