Can Mohammad Amir ever get wickets when there is no pressure on the opposition?

waleed88

The only time I see him remove an opposition top order is against India, both times they were under pressure.

The first time, the ball swinging an inch on a green top...

The second time India was chasing 336 in a CT final...

When has Amir ever been able to do that when the opposition doesn't feel the pressure?

Is he really a good enough bowler to make hay on his own... ??

What does Amir bring to the team besides a false hope of making early inroads in the top order, which he hardly ever does?

Twice in 2 years of his International return

Bhai idhar gayara player pooray nahi horahay Amir ko bhi behta dogaye tou khelayga kaun???

We will win this one IA and in the next one Amir will rip through NZ

Aur agar aisa nahi howa tou mughay nahi bolna mein koi najumi thori :yk

From what I've seen, he requires an adequate opening bowler to take wickets.

Pressure gets released with his opening partner. So goes defensive with his lines and lengths.

Good bowler, at the moment, nothing special.

Yes he can.

Well we said our new bowl bowling is in great hands after the entry of Mohammad Amir in the side, why isn't he getting the same output NZ bowlers are getting on the same pitch? Don't tell me the quality of the opposition openers rubbish, our attack is supposed to be one of the best in the world... we rely on our bowling to produce results.

Bhai idhar gayara player pooray nahi horahay Amir ko bhi behta dogaye tou khelayga kaun???

Don't waste your energy with this guy, he takes pleasure in targeting players that are slightly overrated by the fans and then hating on them. There's is criticism, but this is just hate.

Well we said our new bowl bowling is in great hands after the entry of Mohammad Amir in the side, why isn't he getting the same output NZ bowlers are getting on the same pitch? Don't tell me the quality of the opposition openers rubbish, our attack is supposed to be one of the best in the world... we rely on our bowling to produce results.

Tell me this...did you watch the opening 5 overs he bowled here and in the last ODI?

Pressure gets released with his opening partner. So goes defensive with his lines and lengths.

Yes but please tell me how Raees at the other end doesn't stop Hasan or Shadab from getting wickets?

How many bowlers in world cricket rip through opposition top orders game after game in ODIs ?

Tell me this...did you watch the opening 5 overs he bowled here and in the last ODI?

I've heard this arguement many times, from Test Matches to ODIs, from excuses of Sohail Khan to Rahat Ali to Junaid Khan ruining the 'pressure' Amir created.

Lets just say there is no pressure, its only ability to bowl dot balls.

I don't care what he did if his wickets column goes empty, its the bowlers fault, not the rest of the world

He needs a proper bowling partner upfront to keep pressure.

Rumman isn't the answer. Opening bowlers hunt in pairs. Here, Amir has not had a decent bowling partner since his return.

Even Akram in his decline was a lethal new ball bowler.

Either we have a bowler who is not good on his own... can he produce that magic delivery out of the blue that Hassan is able to produce anytime, the delivery that makes him the best in the world and not Mohammad Amir?

Well you have seen Southee and Boult do that for NZ... and Southee is a crap bowler in ODIs if I'm not wrong

Yea but Southee and Boult are bowling in swinging conditions to Azhar, Imam, Malik, Hafeez.

Amir is bowling on a phatta to Guptill and Williamson.

Yea but Southee and Boult are bowling in swinging conditions to Azhar, Imam, Malik, Hafeez.

Amir is bowling on a phatta to Guptill and Williamson.

Exactly. Pitch becomes a Phatta when Amir is bowling

Seems Amir has forgotten to bowl full or a decent yorker, was pathetic in the 2nd spell. Gave away a lot of runs. Not only bowled like crap but fielded lousily.

I've heard this arguement many times, from Test Matches to ODIs, from excuses of Sohail Khan to Rahat Ali to Junaid Khan ruining the 'pressure' Amir created.

Lets just say there is no pressure, its only ability to bowl dot balls.

I don't care what he did if his wickets column goes empty, its the bowlers fault, not the rest of the world

Since his return he averages 28 in ODIs with an economy 4.7, and has literally played almost every ODI PAK have played in that time. That's world class in ODIs and better than any other bowler not playing for PAK right now. In fact there is only a handful of bowlers, Boult, Rabada, Starc and Hasan to be precise that have better records in that time. Not to mention he has better economy than all of them. The funny thing is you keep criticising this guy but give no replacement or constructive criticism, which is the hallmark of a blind hater. Your logic is simply; he didn't live up to the hype so we should drop him and you have similar view on Azam. What a one-dimensional view of cricket and I'm glad your not a selector.

Since his return he averages 28 in ODIs with an economy 4.7, and has literally played almost every ODI PAK have played in that time. That's world class in ODIs and better than any other bowler not playing for PAK right now. In fact there is only a handful of bowlers, Boult, Rabada, Starc and Hasan to be precise that have better records in that time. Not to mention he has better economy than all of them. The funny thing is you keep criticising this guy but give no replacement or constructive criticism, which is the hallmark of a blind hater. Your logic is simply; he didn't live up to the hype so we should drop him and you have similar views on Azam. What a one-dimensional viewed cricket and I'm glad your not a selector.

You're on the wrong forum buddy. This forum isn't a place of 'constructive criticism'

I never said drop him, its a question that still hasn't been answered by anyone

You're on the wrong forum buddy. This forum isn't a place of 'constructive criticism'

I never said drop him, its a question that still hasn't been answered by anyone

Then what's the point of your thread then?

Just criticising for the sake of it?

Amir is over rated. Period. Good enough to be an economical third/fourth seamer in the team but definitely not good enough to spearhead an attack. A lot of people are still in awe of the teenage Amir and can't get it through their heads how much he has regressed. It's been 2 years since his comeback and people are still making excuses that he's 'unlucky' or 'the other bowler releases pressure'. Seriously? 2 years of excuses and he's had only 2 decent games...that too against India. I've hardly seen him pitch the ball up since his return. The only time he did...that was in the CT final and he managed to pick up wickets. As of right now, he's bang average and living off his hype.

The Zulfiqar Babar of pacers. The sooner everyone realizes it the better. The guy has been playing on pure hype and nothing else.

He may not be as good as some of his fans make him out to be, but he won you an ICC trophy.

That's more than anything our players have ever done.

Amir is a good bowler and it might be hard for Pakistani fans to accept this but the Ishant Sharma comparison is apt.

For the ones that who go into a hysteria when an Indian bowler is brought up,the real
followers of the game will know,Ishant when things are going his way or if there are other bowlers looking like a million bucks especially spinners in Subcontinent or on a green helpful track will look like a winner but when you have to depend on him to be your spearhead you are screwed.

Amir is in the same boat really.

There is a big difference between NZ batsmen and our batsmen. Any NZ batsmen from current team is better than any of our batsmen.
On performance Amir is very poor. PCB needs to be more strict with him and bar any franchise T20s and told him concentrate on performance for national team.

He may not be as good as some of his fans make him out to be, but he won you an ICC trophy.

Amir depend too much on his luck. He took advantage of that plus Indian batsmen where too timid.
He is Mustafiz kind bowler and no where next to Rabada, Bolt, Starc..... I hoped for last 2 years to prove me wrong

There is a big difference between NZ batsmen and our batsmen. Any NZ batsmen from current team is better than any of our batsmen.
On performance Amir is very poor. PCB needs to be more strict with him and bar any franchise T20s and told him concentrate on performance for national team.

Yes but how does that stop him from being the lowest wicket taker in our whole series until now?

He didn't win us the trophy, Hasan Ali did, Fakhar Zaman did. Statistically he was not even our top 5 performers

He won it for you by removing India's top order.

If he didn't do that, India could have still chased it down.

He won it for you by removing India's top order.

If he didn't do that, India could have still chased it down.

I highly doubt it, he wasn't there in our other 4 games, didn't make much difference to us

The only reason the whole thing made a big deal was because it was 'Amir' who did it not anyone else

I highly doubt it, he wasn't there in our other 4 games, didn't make much difference to us

The only reason the whole thing made a big deal was because it was 'Amir' who did it not anyone else

who got the wicket of mathews against the run of play?

For some reason he is not getting the ball to swing consistently enough.

Maybe this is why his lengths aren't so attacking. He is scared to go fuller because he is not swinging and he would just go for runs.

When he gets it swinging early on he gets those attacking lengths going and he looks a completely different bowler.

Amir = Boult with zero wicket-taking ability.

And Boult is Amir without 2 icc trophies.
Teams look to play out Amir. They hardly take any risks.
Just look at his ECO rate.

Perhaps he can pitch it up a bit fuller. However he is the BEST opening bowler in pak.

Very nicely put.

Amir is a member of a team of XI players - he doesnt exist in a vacuum.

Just like Shaheen Shah Afridi, I know he is still raw and young but he can be the wicket taking bowler.

That is nonsense.

Teams looks to play out all strike bowlers. No one is stupid enough to take unnecessary risks against bowlers like Starc, Boult, Rabada, Hazlewood etc. However, these bowlers still find ways to take wickets in heaps because they are fantastic bowlers.

Amir doesn't have the same ability to take wickets. He doesn't have a single 5-fer in ODIs and probably never will. We can either accept the reality or make poor excuses.

That is nonsense.

Teams looks to play out all strike bowlers. No one is stupid enough to take unnecessary risks against bowlers like Starc, Boult, Rabada, Hazlewood etc. However, these bowlers still find ways to take wickets in heaps because they are fantastic bowlers.

Amir doesn't have the same ability to take wickets. He doesn't have a single 5-fer in ODIs and probably never will. We can either accept the reality or make poor excuses.

HAVE agreed with u right from the start .This man is riding on hassan ali shoulders.

That is nonsense.

Where did I say he is on same level as starc, rabadda, hazlewood etc?

Fact is his eco rate is world class in ODIs. Probably top 3 during opening overs.

Yes he should take more wickets that we all know amd its upto him to achieve that. The player he is I expect him to overcome this soon.

Where did I say he is on same level as starc, rabadda, hazlewood etc?

Fact is his eco rate is world class in ODIs. Probably top 3 during opening overs.

Yes he should take more wickets that we all know amd its upto him to achieve that. The player he is I expect him to overcome this soon.

He isn’t at the same level as Boult either.

Dont know about Boult.
Didnt see him play enough.

Amir won 2 icc trophies, guess Boult can only dream of playing 2 ICC finals and dismissing the top batsmen in both 2009 and 2017.

Keep the rant going Amir already is a pak great in LOIs.
The trophy cabinet counts not some JAMODIS.

Dont know about Boult.
Didnt see him play enough.

Amir won 2 icc trophies, guess Boult can only dream of playing 2 ICC finals and dismissing the top batsmen in both 2009 and 2017.

Keep the rant going Amir already is a pak great in LOIs.
The trophy cabinet counts not some JAMODIS.

Like Joginder Sharma is Indian great?

Amir is a good bowler just not as good as some posters on PP make him to be.

He could be more consistent, but he was good enough to remove the so called world's best in a big game :kohli then again many Indian fans don't seem to rate Virat either these days so not much to speak of with regards to that performance even though it was in a ICC final :mv