Chennai becomes sixth Indian city with metro railway

Buffet

Post of the Week winner
I scan skyscraper-city time to time and saw this one. We have lots of PPers from that Indian city. Did any of you took a ride on first day? Is this metro all above ground or some portion underground as well? I am huge fan of infrastructure projects and some of the best examples of those projects are in China.

Anyway, all densely populated cities should have metro. I use DC metro frequently and just wish that DC had circular route to connect areas to make it more practical.

------------------------

Chennai becomes sixth Indian city with metro railway

metro2.jpg

A metro rail service has been launched in the southern Indian city of Chennai, making it the sixth Indian city to get the service. The 10km (6.2-mile) stretch of elevated track has seven stations and connects Alandur to Koyambedu.

The journey takes 15 minutes - the metro is expected to ease traffic congestion. The construction is part of a proposed 45km (27-mile) network which is due to be completed by 2015. Chennai is the sixth Indian city to have the metro after Delhi, Kolkata, Bangalore, Mumbai and Jaipur.

The Chennai metro was inaugurated on Monday by Tamil Nadu Chief Minister J Jayalalitha. The first train was driven by a 28-year-old woman, A Preethi, an engineering diploma holder, reports say.
"I am excited, my daughter's dream of becoming a loco pilot (driver) of Metro Rail has come true," Ms Preethi's father R Anbu told Press Trust of India news agency.

"She quit her first job, applied for a job in Chennai metro rail, and she was the first woman to get selected. Three other women joined as pilots after her and I am happy that she was successful," he said. The 45km (27 miles)-long, 32-station service will eventually run on two corridors in the city: Washermenpet to Chennai Airport and Chennai Central to St Thomas Mount.

http://www.bbc.com/news/world-asia-india-33307399

------------------------------------------

It seems festive with all the flowers and people taking pictures and videos. If some PPers have taken pics then you can share here.

metro8.jpg

Lol at uncle taking picture of the cameraman take his picture..

I hope they have separate compartments for men and women.. we all know what happens in India when women travel alone on public transport..

Some pics from skyscraper-city,

------------

metro6.jpg
-----------
metro3.jpg

And Pakiland still stuck with crappy bus metro.. 4 times the cost of the metro India makes

I know the Kolkata metro is underground. May be because it is old. Are all the new ones overhead?

My city, Nagpur will have a metro in 3 years time. Construction has just recently started. It is overhead too.

I hope they have separate compartments for men and women.. we all know what happens in India when women travel alone on public transport..

Yes they sure have. 1st compartment is reserved for ladies.

It's good you show concern for Indian women.

And Pakiland still stuck with crappy bus metro.. 4 times the cost of the metro India makes

I think city of Lahore is going to build one metro rail. I recall reading some comments in Skyscrpers forum.

Damn 6 indian cities have a metro train but no Pakistani city does, I think every major city of Pakistan should get one of these

I know the Kolkata metro is underground. May be because it is old. Are all the new ones overhead?

My city, Nagpur will have a metro in 3 years time. Construction has just recently started. It is overhead too.
The older metro track is underground.The newer ones elevated.In Kolkata that is.

I know the Kolkata metro is underground. May be because it is old.

I am very sure that it won't have anything to do with old or new. Underground is more costly to build but you don't have option if it is passing through some heavily built area. Normally, you get some underground inside downtown and more portions over ground as you get outside of city.

whats the condition of the delhi metr?

Yes they sure have. 1st compartment is reserved for ladies.

It's good you show concern for Indian women.

I hope the wall between the first and second compartment is not windowed, otherwise you would have alot of drooling men in the second compartment.

But there must be some some less dense than other areas. I was talking in relative term here.
Parts of southern Kolkata are less dense than Northern Kolkata.Also certain areas have been developed as townships in last 20-30 years and they are less densely populated as they are planned.

I hope the wall between the first and second compartment is not windowed, otherwise you would have alot of drooling men in the second compartment.

We pray Pakistan doesnt send another Kasab to give a lot of love...

Drooling is minor

What a sick comment.

There are unisex compartments too & no such incident has been reported in any of the 5 metros in all these years.

Btw, even that incident wasn't on Public transport but some drunkards masquerading a private bus as public one.

Heart of delhi....best in country..thousands or even lakhs of passengers travel daily..

I took a quick look at Indian metro size and it seems Delhi is the only real big one. Others are adding sections but Delhi is quite big when you see operational lines.

Delhi_metro_rail_network.svg.jpg

Average Daily Ridership in Delhi Metro:
delhi use.jpg

All trolling aside, India has done well to develop metro transport in six major cities.. Its the need of the hour for any big city.

I once read somewhere that the gentleman who was the mastermind behind the Delhi metro was willing to share his knowledge for the Lahore metro system (the proposed rail network)

We immediately need such systems in atleast Lahore, Karachi, Faisalabad, Rawalpindi and Multan.

It is the most expensive though.

The city’s much-delayed and much-awaited project — Metro Rail — might end up burning a hole in the pockets of commuters. With a fare of Rs. 40 for 10 km between Alandur and Koyambedu, Chennai Metro Rail is now the costliest in the country.

Kolkata Metro is the cheapest with a maximum fare of Rs. 25. In Delhi, a distance of 9-12 km costs only Rs. 16. Even a distance greater than 44 km will cost a person taking the Delhi Metro only Rs.30 for a one-way ride. Jaipur Metro, which began operations this month, has an introductory fare for the first six months. The highest fare is just Rs. 15.

On the Mumbai Metro, a one-way ticket between Ghatkopar and Versova – a distance of 12.5 kms — costs Rs. 40, while a return ticket is Rs. 60. In Bengaluru, a one-way ticket costs Rs. 17 on the operational line between Bayappanhalli and M.G. Road.

All trolling aside, India has done well to develop metro transport in six major cities.. Its the need of the hour for any big city.

I once read somewhere that the gentleman who was the mastermind behind the Delhi metro was willing to share his knowledge for the Lahore metro system (the proposed rail network)

We immediately need such systems in atleast Lahore, Karachi, Faisalabad, Rawalpindi and Multan.

It seems he visited Lahore in 2007. Any progress after that?

Delhi Metro Rail Service Managing Director Dr E Sreedharan has declared the first phase of the light rail transit system in Lahore a viable project, suggesting some measures to improve it.

In an interview with Dawn here on Wednesday, Dr Sreedharan said Lahore should have a light rail system because it could not manage its 8.5 million population’s movement without it.

The Indian official was invited by the Punjab government for his expert opinion on the $8billion project of running the light rail in the city on four routes.

On Tuesday, he inspected the first priority line’s route from Greenland (Shahdara) to Hamza Town (near Chungi Amar Sadhu). On Wednesday, he shared his expertise with Transport Minister Pir Ghulam Mohayuddin and senior officials of his department. He also called on Chief Secretary Salman Siddique to exchange his views on the project and share his own experience of running the same system in Delhi.

The proposed rail service is the main part of the Lahore Mass Transit System (LRMTS). The project will be executed with the financial assistance of the Asian Development Bank. Officials expect that the first train will be operational in 2012. The groundbreaking ceremony is scheduled to be held in June next.

Dr Sreedharan called the project a well-conceived scheme aimed at introducing an absolutely needed facility to Lahore. He said the project would prove a success if it was executed properly after fine-tuning.

In his view, the implementation of the project (the first line) would face no major technical difficulty because the soil condition en route was good and roads were wide, having room for underground construction without creating any serious inconvenience to the city.

Dr Sreedharan said the government must take a final decision about the funding of the project. It should also decide whether the project would be handled by one of its departments or a private company. “A legal cover is also required through the assembly,” he said.

He said the government would need permission from the owners of private buildings to dig underground or to acquire land, which should be done through a legal procedure.

He said the government would also need a law to operate and maintain the system and to ensure its safety. The system should be duty exempt for its several metro stations and depots through a law to reduce its maintenance cost, he said.

He said the metro rail service project in Delhi was completed in seven years — 1998 to 2005 — instead of the specified 10 years.

The rail covered 65kms providing an excellent transport system to the city besides ridding it of immense air pollution which was being caused by transport, he said.

He said initially people used to object to the high cost of the project but time had proved that it was necessary for the city. The rail service had also brought about a positive cultural change in Delhi, teaching people to form queues to board the train, he said.

The minimum fare was Rs6 and the maximum Rs22 which was economical. “You also need to keep the fare reasonable,” he said.

The plan to introduce a light rail system in Lahore was made in the 80s in the light of a feasibility report prepared by the Japan International Cooperation Agency. It was taken up for implementation after Chief Minister Pervaiz Elahi showed a keen interest in it in 2005. In response, the planning and development board got prepared a fresh study of the project from a Hong Kong-based firm selected through an international tender.

According to the study completed last year, around 30,000 people could travel by the train in one hour, resolving the ever-growing transport problems of the city.

The proposed first line will cover 27kms from Shahdara to Hamza Town, having 22 stations. This project will be completed at an estimated cost of $2.4 billion.

The system will be operated on the ground from Ravi Bridge to Bhati Chowk and underground from Bhati Chowk to Kot Lakhpat via Lower Mall, The Mall, Queens Road and Ferozepur Road.

The second line will cover Railway Station to Thoker Niaz Beg via McLeod Road, GPO, Chauburji and Multan Road. —Intikhab Hanif

http://www.dawn.com/news/236416/

What are the ticket prices? Is it cheaper than the other available modes of transport? Is it affordable for the average daily commuter?

Read post #30.

Well that only matters if the spending power of Chennians is equal to or less than the rest of the country.
If so, then its more of an occasional distraction rather than something in the service of the city.

What are the ticket prices? Is it cheaper than the other available modes of transport? Is it affordable for the average daily commuter?

ticket prices are way very cheaper than other modes here in delhi and i am sure in other metro cities as well.....daily travellers have metro pass so its very much affordable for everyone

Well that only matters if the spending power of Chennians is equal to or less than the rest of the country.
If so, then its more of an occasional distraction rather than something in the service of the city.

Yes, unfortunately. But the middle class forms a sizeable chunk (more than 50%) of metro cities like Chennai. So, don't think the second line is accurate.

Also, the daily commuters can have metro passes at concessional rates.

It is possible that Chennai Metro Rail will end up remaining outside the purview of the lower middle class and workers in the unorganised sector.

Metro Rail sources said much of the network runs underground in the city, unlike other centres, as a result of which the charges on air conditioning and electricity charges will be much higher. Hence, the rates.

Impressed with metro rail and glad to see India is moving forward despite of poverty not letting its slow down on progress. Pakistan government makes one metro bus, and all hell is loose. Suffice to say, if Imranistan or public continues to implement this tactics, say goodbye to future investment including metro-rail as they are embodiment of the modern city. Without that, crowded cities with the congested traffic are waiting to happen.

actually india is third richest country in the world behind usa and china only in terms of ppp economy its in trillions and its growing more than china this decade though we are far behind them ..india is rich its people are poor actually and god knows about corruption only in this country...but do you think pakistan really need metros?? you dnt have much population problem like us in india

Corruption stems from over population. Indians are poor because of excess population. If our population was only 40 crores, people would have been a lot richer.

Well its not about population as much as population density. Pakistan has about 2/3rds the population density per kilometre of India although Bangladesh has a higher population density than India.

Many people here will be surprised to know the fact that the first indian metro service started in I984.

Corruption stems from over population. Indians are poor because of excess population. If our population was only 40 crores, people would have been a lot richer.
\\
well this is the one main disadvantage of democracy overpopulation...i wish we can implicate the same law as in china for having n.o of kids... one good thing is we have the largest n.o of youth like 356 million under 24 age in the world...but our middle class size is increasing amazingly from over 15 years..there are some amazing stats like third highest n.o of millionaires in the world etc and the average income of middle class and size of middle class is increasing..inshort we are progressing and hope so we will be called gold sparrow one day like we used to be called in the past loll............ and we definately deserve ..i

Does they charge fare by number of stations you travel like in Taipei City or it is flat rate like in NYC?

I think its seventh city. Following cities already have running metros and same number under construction

1. Kolkata
2. Delhi
3. Bangalore
4. Mumbai
5. Gurgoan
6. Jaipur

gurgoan is the only city with two metros, it has delhi metro and gurgoan metro both

Few more images, its has best looking rolling stock

4.jpg

18646936714_319d81d6c6_c.jpg

19243324446_98a372db7d_c.jpg

19077811830_6fe7d95e4f_c.jpg

19077806458_0307366fcb_c.jpg

What do you people think, is the main reason holding it back in Pakistan ? Is it money or mentality ?

Looks quite good, what is the overall cost of this project?

from wiki

At the time of construction, it had costed about ₹3000 million (US$48 million) and ₹1000 million (US$16 million) to build one kilometre of tunnel and one underground station, respectively.[12]

When the Chennai Metro Rail project was initiated in 2007, the estimated cost of the 45-km route in phase I was around ₹146 billion (US$2.3 billion)[93] with a forecasted 5 percent increase. As of 2014, the project cost came to ₹200000 million (US$3.2 billion). As against an earlier estimate of ₹10000 million (US$160 million) for the land, it touched ₹25000 million (US$400 million) in 2014.[4]

Phase I extension of 9 km from Washermanpet to Wimco Nagar at Tiruvottiyur cost ₹30010 million (US$480 million) as of 2014, which is expected to begin by December 2014.[94]

Phase II of the Chennai metro rail project is estimated at ₹360000 million (US$5.7 billion). The project is being funded by the Japan International Cooperation Agency (59 percent), 20 percent by the Union government and 21 percent by the state government.[4]

other metros in India

Kolkata(quite old though)

kolkata-tollygunge1.jpg

Delhi metro(can get overcrowded at rush hours)

Delhi_Metro.jpg
0148.jpg
Rajiv-Chowk.jpg

Mumbai metro and monorail

M13.jpg
mumbai-monorail.jpg

Gurgaon metro

Rapid-Metro-Gurgaon-1.jpg

Bangalore metro

25met2.jpg
BL22_REALESTATE_BAN_899644f.jpg

Jaipur

jaipur-metro_650x400_71424448315.jpg

[MENTION=134809]sensible-indian-fan[/MENTION] [MENTION=137142]JaDed[/MENTION] when am i expecting the Tamil heroes to fight the bad guys in one of them ? :rahi

Did you travel on them yet ? How is it ? is it affordable for an average middle class ?

Indian cities NEEEEED metro. Bangalore metro seem to have the nicest stations.

Whole of Kolkata is densely populated.

Kolkota needs metro carts like this we have here in Toronto. I believe Delhi metro bought some subway trains from Bombardier(Canadian). I wonder why Delhi went with smaller carts when they could have bought these once, they are big, wide and you would never be stuck in just one cart.

TTC.jpg

India is very underrated here on PP (not surprising it is a Pakistani forum). I have been regular here since two months and have seen that most of the news from India which makes on to timepass section is about the shortcomings of India. I don't know about the growth and development of Pakistan so can't comment on it but situation in India is definitely not as gloomy as is projected here

Kolkota needs metro carts like this we have here in Toronto. I believe Delhi metro bought some subway trains from Bombardier(Canadian). I wonder why Delhi went with smaller carts when they could have bought these once, they are big, wide and you would never be stuck in just one cart.

May be coz of separate coaches for women

[MENTION=134809]sensible-indian-fan[/MENTION] [MENTION=137142]JaDed[/MENTION] when am i expecting the Tamil heroes to fight the bad guys in one of them ? :rahi

Did you travel on them yet ? How is it ? is it affordable for an average middle class ?

Haven't travelled in it yet mate.

Lol Its defn the most affordable mode of transport but the line right now is not helpful yet may be after it connects the Central station to Airport it would be amazing.
Delhi Metro on the other hand is so massive i don't think any city would come near it.
On the other hand Chennai metro has been delayed massively!

Lol Its defn the most affordable mode of transport but the line right now is not helpful yet may be after it connects the Central station to Airport it would be amazing.
Delhi Metro on the other hand is so massive i don't think any city in India would come near it.
On the other hand Chennai metro has been delayed massively!

View attachment 57912

Kolkata Metro began functioning in 1984.The planning started way back in early 70s.So i guess 1 or 2 trains are 20 years old.though AFAIK all trains have been now replaced by the 2010 BHEL/Knorr Bremse AC(3000 Series).

Here is a pic.

ICF-Metro-Rail-Coach.jpg

View attachment 57912

I hear Bombardier signed a contract with Delhi Metro as well with the manufacturing to be done in India.

http://montrealgazette.com/business/local-business/bombardier-signs-deal-with-delhi-metro-rail-for-162-train-cars?__lsa=d0ba-6134

Its not a must for a city to have Metro.Ahemdabad has Bus metro system like the one in Lahore works well for them.It basically depends on density also the fact whether it has cities near to them for example Delhi connects itself to Noida,Gurgaon so its a must for Delhi where Metro has had a great effect.
Chennai and Mumbai already have existing cheaper Railway(not metro but normal Broad Gauge) which are not a/c and kinda dirty as well but they connect the required population from far of places to the Centre of the city.

You can't board it on certain stations on Sundays. It's almost impossible to get in or out.

Not only on sundays but on weekdays as well, especially office going and returning hours are crazy.
Two or three times I could not get out at my intended stop because the incoming crowing just rushed in without letting the crowd in the train exit, I had to get down at the next stop.

Not only on sundays but on weekdays as well, especially office going and returning hours are crazy.
Two or three times I could not get out at my intended stop because the incoming crowing just rushed in without letting the crowd in the train exit, I had to get down at the next stop.
true only last week my mobile got stolen from rajiv chowk metro station.it was way very crowdy at that time..i was trying to get in the metro and during that i have no idea how my mobile got lost loll

nice setup. And im not surprised considering the density and population. Its a good thing the govt is looking to help alleviate transport problems that our countries suffer from. The rolling stock looks neat and efficient too. By the way the bangalore pick is stunning. But your Mumbai pic? omg...soo many people..lol

coming onto Pakistan, if we had some proper leadership on the local level like you have india we would have had a metro in Karachi a while back. But alas. Karachi is the one city in Pakistan that desperately needs a proper metro system. There is talk of getting the green line project off the ground now but the politicians will probably steal the money given to them. I predict we will see a metro in Lahore by 2018 and in a few more Punjab cities by 2020-2025. the rest can be dealt with by busses for now.

overall well done to Chennai.

May be coz of separate coaches for women

Kolkata Metro began functioning in 1984.The planning started way back in early 70s.So i guess 1 or 2 trains are 20 years old.though AFAIK all trains have been now replaced by the 2010 BHEL/Knorr Bremse AC(3000 Series).

Here is a pic.

View attachment 57916

I hear Bombardier signed a contract with Delhi Metro as well with the manufacturing to be done in India.

http://montrealgazette.com/business/local-business/bombardier-signs-deal-with-delhi-metro-rail-for-162-train-cars?__lsa=d0ba-6134

There is a separate coach for the women ? Is it only in Delhi or in every metros?

Yes i see, i don't think Kokott's metro tracks can handle bigger carts. From quick google image search, it looks like these metro's are lighter version of subways you see in Toronto and NewYork. Looks like only Chennai could handle big carts.

Bombardier produces planes too. There is a small airport near my university(6-7km away). They've been testing their new airplanes very often.

Its not a must for a city to have Metro.Ahemdabad has Bus metro system like the one in Lahore works well for them.It basically depends on density also the fact whether it has cities near to them for example Delhi connects itself to Noida,Gurgaon so its a must for Delhi where Metro has had a great effect.
Chennai and Mumbai already have existing cheaper Railway(not metro but normal Broad Gauge) which are not a/c and kinda dirty as well but they connect the required population from far of places to the Centre of the city.

What happened to "Flying train" ? Does it not exactly do what this does ? except it is faster ?

nice setup. And im not surprised considering the density and population. Its a good thing the govt is looking to help alleviate transport problems that our countries suffer from. The rolling stock looks neat and efficient too. By the way the bangalore pick is stunning. But your Mumbai pic? omg...soo many people..lol

coming onto Pakistan, if we had some proper leadership on the local level like you have india we would have had a metro in Karachi a while back. But alas. Karachi is the one city in Pakistan that desperately needs a proper metro system. There is talk of getting the green line project off the ground now but the politicians will probably steal the money given to them. I predict we will see a metro in Lahore by 2018 and in a few more Punjab cities by 2020-2025. the rest can be dealt with by busses for now.

overall well done to Chennai.

actually you mixed delhi pic with mumbai and Gurgaon with Bangalore.

The crowded pic is from Rajiv chowk station which is like a interchange for various lines hence the crowd

these are latest delhi metro phase 3 trains by Hyundai Rotem.small amount will be imported from South Korea and rest will be made in India.

new-DMRC-coaches.jpg

true only last week my mobile got stolen from rajiv chowk metro station.it was way very crowdy at that time..i was trying to get in the metro and during that i have no idea how my mobile got lost loll

Same thing happend to my collegue as well, u have to be extremely careful with ur phone and wallet.
Earlier in the year my phone also got stolen when I was travelling in a bus.

I don't like overhead metros trains. They are ugly and ruin the beauty of cities. At least metro buses and dedicated tramway tracks can be converted into roads down the line when the city gets a proper underground metro.

The only kind of overhead metro trains that I like are the Wuppertal Suspension Rail. Pretty bad-ass looking.

If a city is so spaced out that underground metro doesn't make economic sense then it doesn't need a metro system in the first place, doubling the tracks of the train system so that you have some trains making more frequent stops is perfectly enough.

Most underground metros tend to have some overhead portions on the periphery of cities but building massive overpasses in city centers so that you don't have to go underground has to be the most short-sighted piece of city planning.

actually you mixed delhi pic with mumbai and Gurgaon with Bangalore.

The crowded pic is from Rajiv chowk station which is like a interchange for various lines hence the crowd

lol sorry yaar, but that was a nice pic..but thats a massive crowd in delhi...how do you guys get around? very brave...

Rajiv Chowk is horrible, extremely crowded to get into the metro.