Christchurch mosque attack: Brenton Tarrant given life term without parole

“You lot”.... “one of your own”.... presumably you must be saying that because the terrorist killer is white? So I now am connected to and responsible for him.... because I am also white?

Is this really where we’ve got to?

He is a disgusting mass murderer and racist terrorist. I am none of these things.

Spot on. There is a famous *My name is Richard* clip on LBC with host James O'Brien who beautifully illustrates your point, in that, the majority do not present the minority, and are neither responsible for the actions of the minority.

What are you talking about?! An Australian is not part of “my community”.

I am saying that he is a terrorist!! What annoyed me was the posters early in the thread more bothered about whether he was being called a terrorist or a shooter than actually expressing sadness about the victims!

This is a tragic and horrific terrorist incident. Your post implying that I am in some way responsible for this attack is darn disgusting, and if you don’t reevaluate and retract then we’re going to fall out here.

you shouldn't be questioning their feelings..the sadness is a given..the media never calls white supremacist terrorists, terrorists..never..you lot live in denial..shut your eyes and ears to whats happening to Muslims..from the workplace to the streets..you conveniently walk in and out of your bubbles, because you think your tolerant and accepting therefore your ok. Well guess what its high time you looked at yourselves in the mirror and asked serious questions about yourself and those around you. Look at our society. By the way I didnt say you were personally responsible and would never do so.

i'm angry, upset but Im tired too. tired of it all..and I want action!! no more platitudes and prayers..I want to see Hinuvta,white and islamist all of these extemists behind bars..I wanna see yaxley lennon and his supporters in jail for good..no more!!

you shouldn't be questioning their feelings..the sadness is a given..the media never calls white supremacist terrorists, terrorists..never..you lot live in denial..shut your eyes and ears to whats happening to Muslims..from the workplace to the streets..you conveniently walk in and out of your bubbles, because you think your tolerant and accepting therefore your ok. Well guess what its high time you looked at yourselves in the mirror and asked serious questions about yourself and those around you. Look at our society. By the way I didnt say you were personally responsible and would never do so.

i'm angry, upset but Im tired too. tired of it all..and I want action!! no more platitudes and prayers..I want to see Hinuvta,white and islamist all of these extemists behind bars..I wanna see yaxley lennon and his supporters in jail for good..no more!!

Ok I understand your post now and sorry for hitting the roof unnecessarily.

I think we agree on what we want as an outcome - all extremism and terrorism must be dealt with, swiftly and with no forgiveness.

“You lot”.... “one of your own”.... presumably you must be saying that because the terrorist killer is white? So I now am connected to and responsible for him.... because I am also white?

He is a disgusting mass murderer and racist terrorist. I am none of these things.

Ok my post was made in anger and I'm sorry.

I have a problem with an act of terror not being called that because of a person's ethnicity. A terrorist has no race or religion.

Was shocked to wake up to this horrfic news. NZ is one of the last places you expect this thing to happen.

Ok my post was made in anger and I'm sorry.

I have a problem with an act of terror not being called that because of a person's ethnicity. A terrorist has no race or religion.

Ok and I am also sorry for reacting in the way that I did.

Completely agree that when a white person commits a terrorist act, a spade should be called a spade.

Spot on. There is a famous *My name is Richard* clip on LBC with host James O'Brien who beautifully illustrates your point, in that, the majority do not present the minority, and are neither responsible for the actions of the minority.

Unless of course you are a part of a non-white grooming gang, then it becomes necessary to mention ethnic and national heritage in all the headlines.

Reminds me of 26/11 in Mumbai but that was on much greater scale and that was sickness to the whole new level, where they even wanted to target patients.

Also reminded me of the massacre of over a 100 Christians carried out by Hindu Terrorist in Orissa India around the time of the Mumbai attacks.
And it hardly got any coverage.

Ok I understand your post now and sorry for hitting the roof unnecessarily.

I think we agree on what we want as an outcome - all extremism and terrorism must be dealt with, swiftly and with no forgiveness.

yes sorry for losing it a bit too..im really upset today..its really hit me very hard..

Also reminded me of the massacre of over a 100 Christians carried out by Hindu Terrorist in Orissa India around the time of the Mumbai attacks.

dont feed this saffron fascist...just relax and imagine him with a cup of tea going "thousand apologies sir" "I cant tell you that sir!"

9 Pakistanis killed in Christchurch mosque massacre, gunman to face sentencing hearing [Post #16]

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">New Zealand mosque shooting victims include:<br><br>3 Bangladeshi citizens killed, 4 injured<br>4 Pakistani citizens injured, 5 missing<br>3 Turkish citizens injured<br>3 Afghani citizens injured<br>2 Malaysian citizens injured<br>2 Indonesian citizens (father and son) injured</p>— AJ+ (@ajplus) <a href="https://twitter.com/ajplus/status/1106585980176224263?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">March 15, 2019</a></blockquote>

RIP

You are not connected to this terrorist just like how a typical Muslim isn't connected to the murderers behind Paris attack for instance.

As you can see just like how it's wrong to put you in the same basket as the terrorist due to same ethnicity, it is also wrong to blame the whole Muslim community for the actions of some. It is a simple enough concept and one might appreciate it mentally, however only when one is actually at the receiving end does one really grasps the gravity of blind generalization and prejudice.

Unfortunately through the media and many ignorants a narrative has started to spread, blaming the whole Muslim community for it. The sort of accusations and prejudice you are facing today is what Muslims have to face frequently on a daily basis. That's why many are sensitive to how media portrays an incident. Especially since media plays a big role in how the minds of general population are formed.

4 injured, not killed. The thread headline needs to be changed.

If u see any indians condoning this and getting happy tell them that in the terrorist's manifesto he stated he wants to kill indians, sri lankans as well.

In thier hatred for Muslims these overly nationalistic hindu-facists have lost any sort of common sense and dignity.

Tragic events. We belong to Allah and to Allah we shall return. Thoughts are with the families of the victims.

The immoral so called war on terror is the root cause of this. So called civilised nations demonised Muslims for their own imperial gain, looting of oil and protection of Israel in order to destroy numerous Muslim nations and kill millions. Now Muslims all over the world are a target because of this fearmongering spread by western governments and media.

It is important to make sure the terrorist is called a terrorist because it was only those criminals who claimed to be Muslims were seen as terrorists.

All mosques in non-Muslim majority nations should have their own security from now on.

Far right extremists just like Hindu or Muslim extremists should be locked up and silenced. Enough is enough

The Queen's message to New Zealand in the aftermath of the Christchurch mosque shootings

The Queen has expressed her condolences to the people of New Zealand following the attacks on mosques in Christchurch.

The monarch sent a message to the governor general, saying she was "saddened by the appalling events in Christchurch today. Prince Philip and I send our condolences to the families and friends of those who have lost their lives."

The monarch paid tribute to the emergency services and volunteers offering support to the wounded.

https://www.stuff.co.nz/national/11...ftermath-of-the-christchurch-mosque-shootings

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">On behalf of the UK, my deepest condolences to the people of New Zealand after the horrifying terrorist attack in Christchurch. My thoughts are with all of those affected by this sickening act of violence.</p>— Theresa May (@theresa_may) <a href="https://twitter.com/theresa_may/status/1106461659856551936?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">March 15, 2019</a></blockquote>

It is upsetting but lets not do what the far right do and be angry at anyone who has the same colour as the terrorists, they have nothing to do with it!

Lets also keep things in perspective, NZ and many other non-Muslim majority nations have many tolerant and caring people.

Dont forget for every far right protest in the UK , they are outnumbered many times by anti-facists.

It is upsetting but lets not do what the far right do and be angry at anyone who has the same colour as the terrorists, they have nothing to do with it!

Lets also keep things in perspective, NZ and many other non-Muslim majority nations have many tolerant and caring people.

Dont forget for every far right protest in the UK , they are outnumbered many times by anti-facists.

Admirable sentiments, indeed one of the things which makes me proud of this nation is that there is a very committed and vocal younger generation which will fight the Far Right - or white supremacist movement if you want to give a more accurate label. But we can't ignore the insidious message which has been encouraged by the media, and how that has led to Brexit over here, and the slaying of MP Jo Cox.

These groups which proliferate on Facebook and Twitter are bad enough, but they are often encouraged by dog whistle headlines in the best selling news publications.

So sad. My brother works in NZ. Thanks to the almighty he was in Hamilton at the time.

This was inevitable with the narrative against Islam.

You mean kandhmal riots firstly, riots happened in a lot of country, not just India but Pakistan as well, secondly 26/11 was a first kind of incident, where bunch of guys started shooting guys for fun, [MENTION=253]the Great Khan[/MENTION], what's ur problem with Hindus just because I said something about 26/11 doesn't meant I justify this, this victim mentality oh that Muslim are suffering and Islamophobia, needs to stop, their has been attacks on people in religious places, Gujrat akshardham, kashmir Raghunath temple, attack on amarnath pilgrims, like I said people need to do lot of soul searching too, you may be hit very hard by this incident, the Great Khan but you need to understand others have been hit hard too, one need to call out terrorist doesn't matter which religion he or she belongs too, if this guy is hated and rightly so so should be a burhan wani or a shamima begum, you cannot have two different set of rules, I know I am talking bitter and you guys must be hating me for this but fact of the matter is their can't be a good terrorist or bad terrorist, their is always a bad terrorist.

Your communal mindset has been exposed but communal feelings obviously dont stay hidden for long. You couldnt really control yourself could you? Reading your posts throughout this thread and other threads can make anyone sure how you are feeling about this tragedy.

Look I don't need to explain my self to anyone, as they say truth is bitter, nor am I going to say anything about ur opinion, like I said it's for ur lot need to do a lot of soul searching why this is happening, surely their must be a problem living in denial is easy is all I can say, but point is this is not just one of attack, the hatred is going and growing on and on surely there must be a reason don't you think, Mr khan has a speech to say on Islamophobia but didn't uttered a word on pulwama.

Soldiers dying in occupied territory is not comparable to innocent worshipers.

What a pathetic post once again from you. there have been similar kinds of attacks on synagogues and Gurudwaras and Hindu temples by white supremacists. unfortunately your communal eyes will not let you see that.

So, those soldiers didn't died fighting they were killed via ambush.

They were in an active conflict zone where guerilla warfare tactics are used. What do you expect can happen in such an area? and we dont even know who did that in reality as no evidence has come out.

What happen pathetic post once again from you. there have been similar kinds of attacks on synagogues and Gurudwaras and Hindu temples by white supremacists. unfortunately your communal eyes will not let you see that.
like I said each and every such attack need to be not just condemned not just white supremacists or hindu fascist, but can you tell me how many of those attack were done by white supremacist, was London bombing, 9/11,Spain bombing, 26/11,aps peshawar attack, Boston bombing gulshan Cafe the list goes on and on done by any white supremacist, I agree hindu's are fascist, white are supremacist, but what about laden, isis the so called good or bad Taliban what they do, in whose name do they do, were they illiterate, like I said I have seen this whole video and it boils my blood that how can someone be so ruthless that he attacks women too, but hey I am Communal because I am bitter, liberals are those who are not seeing the bigger picture, for them every thing is a conspiracy, every one is after them. OK then jab koi rasta hi nhi dekhna chahta to koi kya kare.

They were in an active conflict zone where guerilla warfare tactics are used. What do you expect can happen in such an area? and we dont even know who did that in reality as no evidence has come out.

So which strategy was it to kill people in mosque, plz explain.

Well said.

This is the call I was referring to, the Richard call

LBC Radio Caller Demands Muslims Apologise For Paris Massacre

like I said each and every such attack need to be not just condemned not just white supremacists or hindu fascist, but can you tell me how many of those attack were done by white supremacist, was London bombing, 9/11,Spain bombing, 26/11,aps peshawar attack, Boston bombing gulshan Cafe the list goes on and on done by any white supremacist, I agree hindu's are fascist, white are supremacist, but what about laden, isis the so called good or bad Taliban what they do, in whose name do they do, were they illiterate, like I said I have seen this whole video and it boils my blood that how can someone be so ruthless that he attacks women too, but hey I am Communal because I am bitter, liberals are those who are not seeing the bigger picture, for them every thing is a conspiracy, every one is after them. OK then jab koi rasta hi nhi dekhna chahta to koi kya kare.

Nobody praised laden here. Every terrorist attack on civilians has been condemned on this forum every single time. But the way you have tried to use this event to peddle a different narrative is sickening. At least let people mourn in peace.

Were the people in the mosque soldiers?
Nope, but were the people in pulwama or pathankot or uri deserved a cowardly attack. How can someone say it was a gurreila tactic killing a namazi is bad, but killing someone in his sleep, blasting his vehicle and firing rounds at him is equally sinful.

Why are you equating killing of civilians in a peaceful area with killing of combatants in a conflict zone?

Because someone was saying that it was a gurreila tactic, to attack someone who was going on road, because that lad who did this act did it in the name of you very well know whom because his hatred was noticeable in his videotape, because you are trying to differentiate both attack but clearly can't see that both were hate inspired attack, one in the name of white supremacy the other in the name of Islam that is what I am trying to tell you both are coin of same sides

If somebody is inspired to be a terrorist just because he was slapped then kashmiri pundits should have been the first one, but did they took weapons in hand no, like I said terrorism is terrorism be it supremacist or islamist

Hindu extremist terrorism exists and has shown it's ugly face many times. Evil people come in all colours, shapes and religions but they do not represent their faith or ethnicity.

Plz tell me how many hindu extremist you saw going to Karachi like Mumbai with automatic rifles in hand and started slaughtering people in the name of the jihad, how man such instance, how many bombed Mumbai Delhi Jaipur, how many attacked hazis like amarnath yatris were killed.

Can someone explain why it took first responders so long to get there? I assume someone on the sidewalk when he first started shooting called the police. Why did he have over 10 minutes after that (enough time for him to go back in twice) before we even heard any sirens? This was a pretty busy street too.

Your an extremist fascist who is happy at the death of Muslims thats what my problem is..

Nobody praised laden here. Every terrorist attack on civilians has been condemned on this forum every single time. But the way you have tried to use this event to peddle a different narrative is sickening. At least let people mourn in peace.

He's a Hindu extremist who is trying to hide behind this whataboutery..disgusted at our neighbours who are rejoicing at this murder..no wonder they elect mass murderers to office!!

Plz tell me how many hindu extremist you saw going to Karachi like Mumbai with automatic rifles in hand and started slaughtering people in the name of the jihad, how man such instance, how many bombed Mumbai Delhi Jaipur, how many attacked hazis like amarnath yatris were killed.

Lol. Is this post a joke. Have you forgotten Gujarat, Orissa, Punjab? In their 1000s.

Nope, but were the people in pulwama or pathankot or uri deserved a cowardly attack. How can someone say it was a gurreila tactic killing a namazi is bad, but killing someone in his sleep, blasting his vehicle and firing rounds at him is equally sinful.

Never said that killing soldiers was good. But the person targeted soldiers directly he didn't start killing innocent civilians whom had nothing to do with those atrocities.

Lol. Is this post a joke. Have you forgotten Gujarat, Orissa, Punjab? In their 1000s.
by that logic shall I go in details of what happened in Pakistan or Bangladesh, like I said riots happened anywhere but I was saying that Hindus didn't go to any other country to kill people

Because someone was saying that it was a gurreila tactic, to attack someone who was going on road, because that lad who did this act did it in the name of you very well know whom because his hatred was noticeable in his videotape, because you are trying to differentiate both attack but clearly can't see that both were hate inspired attack, one in the name of white supremacy the other in the name of Islam that is what I am trying to tell you both are coin of same sides

I think your brain needs more furrows to comprehend what is being discussed here. It is appalling that you cannot see the difference between these two events even after it is being shoved down your throat by more than 1 poster. It is like you are deliberately trying to ignore what is being said. This is actually the prime feature of a communal person that he is blinded to any counter arguments and he again and again parrots the same thing even when they have been countered.

You armymen travelling on roads in Kashmir are not tourists. They very well know what conflict they have gotten into, what the risks are. Dont compare them with innocent civilian worshippers in a mosque. The man who killed your jawans did it, not for Islam, but for a political purpose which started in 1947. It is only recently that we hear Indian propagandists trying to give the Kashmiri struggle a communal colour to malign its image. Finally, we dont even know who actually did Pulwama. Raj Thackrey and Mamta Banerjee said that it was an inside job. No credible evidences have come out. Only 1 video which can be made by any agency.

[MENTION=149123]Zhasan[/MENTION] stop posting garbage and outright lies.

It's white supremacist sympathiser Donald Trump who downgraded the Countering Violent Extremism taskforce set up in Obama's second term.

The Office of Community Partnership administered grants towards community organisations trying to tackle extremism and had a budget of $21m. Trump cut it to $3m and halved its workforce.

Trump's homeland security adviser Seb Gorka said the white supremacist threat was "overblown", and it was Trump himself who described the Charlottesville fascists (who inspired the Christchurch shooter) as "very fine" people.

by that logic shall I go in details of what happened in Pakistan or Bangladesh, like I said riots happened anywhere but I was saying that Hindus didn't go to any other country to kill people

They dont need to, they seem to do a good job of it in their country.

He's a Hindu extremist who is trying to hide behind this whataboutery..disgusted at our neighbours who are rejoicing at this murder..no wonder they elect mass murderers to office!!

I read his posts since morning. He has nothing good to say. He has talked 26/11, about today's attacker having travelled to Pakistan, pulwama, how Islam inspires terrorism etc etc. in this thread. How sick it is, words cant describe it. And most importantly he doesnt even make sense.

[MENTION=149123]Zhasan[/MENTION] stop posting garbage and outright lies.

It's white supremacist sympathiser Donald Trump who downgraded the Countering Violent Extremism taskforce set up in Obama's second term.

The Office of Community Partnership administered grants towards community organisations trying to tackle extremism and had a budget of $21m. Trump cut it to $3m and halved its workforce.

Trump's homeland security adviser Seb Gorka said the white supremacist threat was "overblown", and it was Trump himself who described the Charlottesville fascists (who inspired the Christchurch shooter) as "very fine" people.

He's a Zaid Hamid.

Never said that killing soldiers was good. But the person targeted soldiers directly he didn't start killing innocent civilians whom had nothing to do with those atrocities.

You should have listened to his comment, what he said, or the message of IM before the blast I remember each and every word that was displayed on TV mate, like I said it is for the society to think why so much divisiveness is happening, where people are killing other people in the name of color and religion and caste, where religion are called dog on live TV, this has to stop, what kind of future are we going to give to our generation, ki Ye hindu baniya hai, Ye kafir hai Ye white supremacist hai Ye islamist hai, bas sab kuch hai insaan nhi hai, shamima begum was OK with isis when they were killing non Muslim Ye Jo mentality hai na mujhe isse nafrat hai.

Ya relate few, to the whole community, while conviniently forgetting what happened before these incidents.

A few that resulted in thousands of deaths.

Muslims even in the West who have been involved in terror attacks have killed far less than people who the Saffron terrorists have killed in India.

I read his posts since morning. He has nothing good to say. He has talked 26/11, about today's attacker having travelled to Pakistan, pulwama, how Islam inspires terrorism etc etc. in this thread. How sick it is, words cant describe it. And most importantly he doesnt even make sense.
Where have I taken name of Islam, was I wrong in pointing out that he went to Pakistan, so 26/11 didn't happened right nor did pulwama, calling out people to think deep is bad is it, everything is sick according to you, when somebody calls you out he is a fascist a sick mentality person, kab bahar aaoge is soch se, Bhai sirf tum hi victim nhi ho aur bhi hai, main munhfat bnda hu, I don't hesitate in calling spade a spade mujhe Pta hai tumhe bura lag rha hai.

A few that resulted in thousands of deaths.

Muslims even in the West who have been involved in terror attacks have killed far less than people who the Saffron terrorists have killed in India.
So you mean to say only Muslims died in riots let me guess, so you mean too say their were far few deaths in operation searchlight, during 9/11,the terror attacks that happened in Delhi in Jaipur in Mumbai, all of it is justified because of this.

Beside this tell me one thing how many hindu applied for Indian citizenship and left Pakistan for India recently I mean in last 10 yrs and how many Muslims went to Pakistan

So you mean to say only Muslims died in riots let me guess, so you mean too say their were far few deaths in operation searchlight, during 9/11,the terror attacks that happened in Delhi in Jaipur in Mumbai, all of it is justified because of this.

If you can speak in proper English I may be able to decipher what you've said.

I cannot believe that a human being can do this to other humans.

What is the world coming to.

We humans are worse than animals.

This is what the shooter said about Pakistan

Tarrant’s travels took him through much of Europe, North Korea, India and Japan.

Last year, he described Pakistan as "an incredible place filled with the most earnest, kind hearted and hospitable people in the world".

This is what the shooter said about Pakistan

Tarrant’s travels took him through much of Europe, North Korea, India and Japan.

Last year, he described Pakistan as "an incredible place filled with the most earnest, kind hearted and hospitable people in the world".

Seruously? what he was doing.

This is no normal human being

The youngster was “actively” pursued down the street by the former personal trainer, witnesses told a New Zealand Herald reporter.

https://www.mirror.co.uk/news/world-news/new-zealand-shooting-gunman-chased-14140370

To chase a small child down the road and then shoot them, you have to be pure evil, nothing less. :(

So one is a terrorist if they attack an international region? You do know the meaning of the word terrorist, right?

Do you know why Mandela was imprisoned? Terrorists charges in his own country, not abroad.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Front page top story of the Mail Online after a massacre of 49 Muslims at two mosques. <a href="https://t.co/5tuYQOUX6B">pic.twitter.com/5tuYQOUX6B</a></p>— Miqdaad Versi (@miqdaad) <a href="https://twitter.com/miqdaad/status/1106569154843299840?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">March 15, 2019</a></blockquote>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">“You’ll have to forgive me, these won’t be my best words...”<br><br>On this heartbreaking day, Waleed reflects and calls for unity. <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/TheProjectTV?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#TheProjectTV</a> <a href="https://t.co/mIOI0eGamb">pic.twitter.com/mIOI0eGamb</a></p>— The Project (@theprojecttv) <a href="https://twitter.com/theprojecttv/status/1106471346303754240?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">March 15, 2019</a></blockquote>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Front page top story of the Mail Online after a massacre of 49 Muslims at two mosques. <a href="https://t.co/5tuYQOUX6B">pic.twitter.com/5tuYQOUX6B</a></p>— Miqdaad Versi (@miqdaad) <a href="https://twitter.com/miqdaad/status/1106569154843299840?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">March 15, 2019</a></blockquote>

Expected from the Daily Mail.

A reminder to those who believe the media doesn't have an agenda. No use of the term *terrorist*, because he was a bright blond/blue eye individual. Had he been brown or had a beard, the headline would be 2 words - Terrorist attack.

Expected from the Daily Mail.

A reminder to those who believe the media doesn't have an agenda. No use of the term *terrorist*, because he was a bright blond/blue eye individual. Had he been brown or had a beard, the headline would be 2 words - Terrorist attack.

No use of the word is the minor issue here. The Daily Hate are making up excuses for mass murder. Poor guy, his father died of cancer so because he was upset he decided to murder as many people he could.

In another video I saw an Indian reporter making up stories of he was attacking out revenge etc.