Clean homes, dirty streets - India's civic sense problem

RizwanT20Champ

First Class Star

India has a massive issue with civic sense:

1.Garbage on streets
2.Lack of toilets
3.Lack of empathy and regard among common populace

Why is India so unclean? I don't want to take a dig at India but does it matter if you are the 4th biggest economy if your biggest cities look like ghettos for the most part?

@finalfantasy7 @Rajdeep @Devadwal @Cpt. Rishwat @KingKhanWC @cricketjoshila @emranabbas @Major

Why do they lack civic sense?

It's the same in most third world countries. I've seen it in streets where east european asylum seekers live in the UK. In fact I've seen it even in the local council estates which are low income. There is a lack of pride in their local areas, maybe because of despair at their surroundings.

India is still a third world dump mostly, that's why all the talk of being a rising super economy will always be laughed off. it still looks worse than Palestine after it's been bombed.

Not an India problem but a South Asia problem. Also I know we big up China over here but my god those Chinese tourists in Vegas, Disney and other tourist hotspots are a menace and even more jaahil and lack civic sense. At least desis are kinda of intimidated into following rules when there are others around. @Stewie @uppercut @deltexas who live here know what I am talking about:

One thing I've noticed in Indian cities and towns is the total absence of public litter bins and garbage trucks like you see in many other countries. Why has that never been a priority of muncipal bodies or even Modi with his supposed Swachh Bharat mission ? Phool wasted a decade in power instead of acting on these issues.

It's the same in most third world countries. I've seen it in streets where east european asylum seekers live in the UK. In fact I've seen it even in the local council estates which are low income. There is a lack of pride in their local areas, maybe because of despair at their surroundings.

India is still a third world dump mostly, that's why all the talk of being a rising super economy will always be laughed off. it still looks worse than Palestine after it's been bombed.
Notice how it's crickets in this thread. If it was something about Pak @cricketjoshila or @Rajdeep @Devadwal would have been all over it like a rash. From my personal experience with even rich Inds in the West, they lack civic sense big time. There's just no sense of pride.

1.Garbage on streets
2.Lack of toilets

Why is India so unclean? I don't want to take a dig at India but does it matter if you are the 4th biggest economy if your biggest cities look like ghettos for the most part?

@finalfantasy7 @Rajdeep @Devadwal @Cpt. Rishwat @KingKhanWC @cricketjoshila @emranabbas @Major
To be honest and in my experience Brahmans are generally pretty clean and they keep their environments clean too, including space outside of their houses etc.​

Other castes of Hindus are not as clean and meticulous as Brahmans.

I think its all perspective/relative too. My Pakistani friends complain that Bangladeshis won't even bath for weeks in winter and its unbearable in mosques while praying next to them.
No Pakistani (or anybody) who is a practicing Muslim says that about anyone and I am not saying it for the sake of it. I have prayed in plenty of Bangladeshi Mosques and next to them for decades and there is no such thing at all.

I know that lying, being deceitful and dishonest is the trait of Hindus and I am sure that you can google and post some obscure stuff OR have no hesitation making things up.

No Pakistani (or anybody) who is a practicing Muslim says that about anyone and I am not saying it for the sake of it. I have prayed in plenty of Bangladeshi Mosques and next to them for decades and there is no such thing at all.

I know that lying, being deceitful and dishonest is the trait of Hindus and I am sure that you can google and post some obscure stuff OR have no hesitation making things up.
Why should I lie for the damn thread.its ur choice to believe ot or not.its not speculative physics after all. I relayed my friends opinion.

Oh of course, @Vikram1989 has plenty of Pakistani friends, just none he can actually talk to here, apparently. Very believable. And I am sure they are big fans of his takes on Muslims and Islam too. :misbah

Honestly, they would probably feel more comfortable having @cricketjoshila as an enemy than a "friend" like @Vikram1989. :inti

To be honest and in my experience Brahmans are generally pretty clean and they keep their environments clean too, including space outside of their houses etc.​

Other castes of Hindus are not as clean and meticulous as Brahmans.
Can you elaborate brother? I don't have as much knowledge of Bramans or others. Are they taught differently?

1.Garbage on streets
2.Lack of toilets

same issue in some cities and parts of Pakistan, but this overall depends on the culture and values among communities and not just cities or countries.

Clean Educated Well mannered communities reflect on on their surroundings accordingly.

Not an India problem but a South Asia problem. Also I know we big up China over here but my god those Chinese tourists in Vegas, Disney and other tourist hotspots are a menace and even more jaahil and lack civic sense. At least desis are kinda of intimidated into following rules when there are others around. @Stewie @uppercut @deltexas who live here know what I am talking about:
It is never an Ind problem right? Countries much smaller and poorer than Ind are cleaner and people have civic sense. Take Sri Lanka for example. Don't keep deflecting.

It's funny hearing you say this after leaving India. One of the people you quoted, @deltexas, even said he would visit 100 other countries before India, that says a lot, doesn't it? :inti

Majority of Indian people are actually lower caste and tribal people. They collectively make up 80% of the Indian population. These families are generationally uncivilized, their homes also aren't clean, they don't take bath or maintain basic hygeine, they smell terribly, any room they enter becomes unbearable. There's little you can do about these people because you have to understand living in dirt is a civilizational habit for them even when they're no longer acting as actual scavengers.

Takes a courageous person to say that about their own countrymen. Well done @Bhaijaan
:inti

It would help a lot if civilised Inds such as yourself taught the general populace in your country about civic sense and baths?

They probably will solve this issue as well like all other issues they had in the past , the point is we as a nation were far ahead of India in everything just 3 decades ago even our currency valued higher than Indian currency in 1996 ,

The fact is we regressing at an alarming rate and they are progressing very well.

They probably will solve this issue as well like all other issues they had in the past , the point is we as a nation were far ahead of India in everything just 3 decades ago even our currency valued higher than Indian currency in 1996 ,

The fact is we regressing at an alarming rate and they are progressing very well.
What does it have to do the thread topic? FWIW on average Pak tend to be more civic minded than Inds especially in the West. Ind looks worse than war hit countries in many places as others have pointed out. Deflecting doesn't solve the issue.

The points we used to mock India about are disappearing fast for example pace bowlers or fearless batsmen or low per capita income so hygiene and civic sense issue will be a goner too in 2040.

Eventually things will have to get better as India continues to grow economocially. A lot of the talk about lack of civic sense is actually initiated by Indians themselves on their social media which is a sign of a society that's first and foremost dead honest about its situation. Admission of fuilt is the first step to solution and Indians are 20% ahead on that road already.

Upon my multiple travels to India over the years, i observed imporvements.
They're an awful country but not a hopeless country.

What does it have to do the thread topic? FWIW on average Pak tend to be more civic minded than Inds especially in the West. Ind looks worse than war hit countries in many places as others have pointed out. Deflecting doesn't solve the issue.
The point of the fact is that this thread is created in order to mock Indians regarding the stuff they don't have and we actually have (civic sense in this case) , As I said that they are progressing and we are regressing soon we will run out of points to mock indians,

It was far better if we try to progress as a nation instead of finding faults and weaknesses in other nations to mock at them.

The point of the fact is that this thread is created in order to mock Indians regarding the stuff they don't have and we actually have (civic sense in this case) , As I said that they are progressing and we are regressing soon we will run out of points to mock indians,

It was far better if we try to progress as a nation instead of finding faults and weaknesses in other nations to mock at them.

You will be called an Indian now. This is what they do to sensible and unbiased posters.

India has so many hygene and civil issues but still Pakistanis/Bangladeshis use India's name to run their restaurants in Britain. Weird people.

If you name your restaurant Taste of Dhaka or Taste of Pindi...people will not come, is it?

Delhi Hut, Mumbai Spice, Taste of India, Rajasthani Grill, Bombay spice...just to name a few right infront of my house run by notorious Bangladeshis with their disgusting food.

India has so many hygene and civil issues but still Pakistanis/Bangladeshis use India's name to run their restaurants in Britain. Weird people.

If you name your restaurant Taste of Dhaka or Taste of Pindi...people will not come, is it?

Delhi Hut, Mumbai Spice, Taste of India, Rajasthani Grill, Bombay spice...just to name a few right infront of my house run by notorious Bangladeshis with their disgusting food.

Its not just the food.
Indian are docile, soft people, and make good servants, hotel attendants etc. The service is generally great.

Us Pakistanis are a bit too loud and careless to provide excellent service and Bangladeshi people are the worst of Indians and Pakistanis combined with no good qualiies received from either genes.

Its not just the food.
Indian are docile, soft people, and make good servants, hotel attendants etc. The service is generally great.

Us Pakistanis are a bit too loud and careless to provide excellent service and Bangladeshi people are the worst of Indians and Pakistanis combined with no good qualiies received from either genes.
Brother....you are a model Pakistani which every Bharati looks up to and envy.

Indians by large don't place much value on cleanliness and incorporate dirty habits- spiritually and by culture. Nothing wrong in it.

Why should I lie for the damn thread.its ur choice to believe ot or not.its not speculative physics after all. I relayed my friends opinion.
A Muslims who goes to the Masjid (meaning practicing at some level) will complain about (fellow) Bangladeshi Muslims to a Hindu!

Sure...
  1. That person is an idiot, OR
  2. You are a stone cold liar!
Second is a greater possibility because as a Hindu you have no standards, no morals and no ethics and no hesitation about lying and being dishonest.

Can you elaborate brother? I don't have as much knowledge of Bramans or others. Are they taught differently?
In general and in my experience Brahman are more clean about themselves, their environment because it is part of their ideology and they seem to treat it as a differentiating factor to other Hindu castes, even poor or nonpracticing Brahmans are cleaner.

You can see it in their houses and physical hygiene.

Because they regard themselves as "superior" to others, they go out of their way to distinguish themselves in cleanliness and try to stand apart, it is ingrained into them.

A Muslims who goes to the Masjid (meaning practicing at some level) will complain about (fellow) Bangladeshi Muslims to a Hindu!

Sure...
  1. That person is an idiot, OR
  2. You are a stone cold liar!
Second is a greater possibility because as a Hindu you have no standards, no morals and no ethics and no hesitation about lying and being dishonest.
What do you mean by that? aren’t you a maulana type? Next time don’t be crying Islamophobia when someone addresses you in the same tone.

@LordJames if you combine Bangladesh + Pak + India- Muslims seem to be one of the poorest groups with most social issues. Not to make fun of the poor but that’s an unfortunate fact . most live in ghettos which are not known to be shining examples of cleanliness or hygiene. Even Europe and UK, you know what areas stick out like a sore thumb. I would tread carefully before I generalize.

By the way dhaka is the worst city in cleanliness after karachi
in Islam Muslims wash at least 5 times a day and have to do a obligatory bath after certain activities so everyone here knows your lying.

Muslims aren't dirty stinky like Indians who eat animal faeces.

It is never an Ind problem right? Countries much smaller and poorer than Ind are cleaner and people have civic sense. Take Sri Lanka for example. Don't keep deflecting.
Srilanka has less population density than Ind, Pak, Bangladesh.

Also they had a lesser talked about genocide which wiped out an entire community so there is that 🤷‍♂️

Indians by large don't place much value on cleanliness and incorporate dirty habits- spiritually and by culture. Nothing wrong in it.
What do you mean by spiritually and culture? India has many cultures and spirituality. Pls elaborate.

Am not saying india is cleanest .I said dhaka is one of the most polluted and dirty places to counter his argument that bng people cleanliness is amazing.

Here is the 2025 report. U gave 2020 report.

He got triggered when i said cleanliness is irrelevant to religion but it's different matter. any person with ocd will not spare his neighbour untidy behaviour ( irrespective of religion) .

In general and in my experience Brahman are more clean about themselves, their environment because it is part of their ideology and they seem to treat it as a differentiating factor to other Hindu castes, even poor or nonpracticing Brahmans are cleaner.

Because they regard themselves as "superior" to others, they go out of their way to distinguish themselves in cleanliness and try to stand apart, it is ingrained into them.

Brahmins and some Baniya castes, Jains are generally the cleanest people in India, even if their household income is mediocre for the reasons you already mentioned.

Then you have upper class Sikh Jatts who also take good care of themselves and maintain high standards of living.

Thats it. It ends there and thats like 10-15% or at max 20% Indians.

Rest are all civilizational scavengers who are struggling to change habbits even after quota, mafia, corrupt systems helped them gain decent wealth. The also have an obsession with unaesthetic bright colours for garments, housewall paint and you can always recognize these low caste people from far with non existent value system. Their culture is dancing on sexualized songs made on Bhabhi, village aunties etc. They also are biggest contributors to rape culture in India.

Am not saying india is cleanest .I said dhaka is one of the most polluted and dirty places to counter his argument that bng people cleanliness is amazing.

Here is the 2025 report. U gave 2020 report.

He got triggered when i said cleanliness is irrelevant to religion but it's different matter. any person with ocd will not spare his neighbour untidy behaviour ( irrespective of religion) .

this report is different this is for air pollution not land pollution

From what i have seen, except sri lanka, entire sub continent lacks civic sense and cleanliness.

Hurtful but the truth.

Btw dhaka n buri ganga areas are the dirtiest i have seen in my life.

I am not mocking anyone. This isn't meant to be a comparison either. Ind positions itself as the next superpower and still displays an alarming lack of civic sense. If you want to discuss Pakistan or other countries feel free to open your thread.

Brahmins and some Baniya castes, Jains are generally the cleanest people in India, even if their household income is mediocre for the reasons you already mentioned.

Then you have upper class Sikh Jatts who also take good care of themselves and maintain high standards of living.

Thats it. It ends there and thats like 10-15% or at max 20% Indians.

Rest are all civilizational scavengers who are struggling to change habbits even after quota, mafia, corrupt systems helped them gain decent wealth. The also have an obsession with unaesthetic bright colours for garments, housewall paint and you can always recognize these low caste people from far with non existent value system. Their culture is dancing on sexualized songs made on Bhabhi, village aunties etc. They also are biggest contributors to rape culture in India.
Looks like you are reverting back to your bramhan roots :yk

I see thanks for the insights brother. I have met Inds but no clue if they were bramans or not.

Srilanka has less population density than Ind, Pak, Bangladesh.

Also they had a lesser talked about genocide which wiped out an entire community so there is that 🤷‍♂️
What does genocide have to do with anything? Classic Ind response. Are you Inds lack civic sense and throw garbage on streets because of something that happened in SL?

I am not mocking anyone. This isn't meant to be a comparison either. Ind positions itself as the next superpower and still displays an alarming lack of civic sense. If you want to discuss Pakistan or other countries feel free to open your thread.

India's super power days are over, USA Russia China are all well ahead. India nowadays compares it self to Pakistan and Pakistan is the benchmark as long as they are ahead of Pakistan its all good.

Israel and Iran has more chance of becoming super power than India

India's super power days are over, USA Russia China are all well ahead. India nowadays compares it self to Pakistan and Pakistan is the benchmark as long as they are ahead of Pakistan its all good.

Israel and Iran has more chance of becoming super power than India
Inds are always deflecting. See this bloke local dada who claims Inds lack civic sense because of some event in Sri Lanka. No logic just nonsense.

Pakistanis also lack civic sense as a whole, but in general they are better when it comes to personal hygiene. The problem that India has is that organic filth is ingrained into their culture. By this I mean cow excretia is seen as holy, paan spitting is seen favourably, beach pooping etc.

Actually this could all be seen positively if you genuinely care for the environment. Indians might be the most naturally environmental conscious people on the planet.

Pakistanis also lack civic sense as a whole, but in general they are better when it comes to personal hygiene. The problem that India has is that organic filth is ingrained into their culture. By this I mean cow excretia is seen as holy, paan spitting is seen favourably, beach pooping etc.

Actually this could all be seen positively if you genuinely care for the environment. Indians might be the most naturally environmental conscious people on the planet.
I don't want to give our British friend @Rajdeep ammunition to sidetrack the thread but civic sense in a hygiene context is an Indian problem. Pakistanis have issues yes but it is more civic sense related to being noisy, being arrogant about wealth etc. In the context of this thread, Inds issue is rather unique with no parallel. I have been to several African countries which you would expect to be bad but many of them for me looked better than the pics of New Dehli you see online.

Inds are always deflecting. See this bloke local dada who claims Inds lack civic sense because of some event in Sri Lanka. No logic just nonsense.
It matters. Authoritarian regimes can implement strict rules, in India you and yours pals will be on street, even if some small time constable kicks you on the back for spitting gutkha.

I don't want to give our British friend @Rajdeep ammunition to sidetrack the thread but civic sense in a hygiene context is an Indian problem. Pakistanis have issues yes but it is more civic sense related to being noisy, being arrogant about wealth etc. In the context of this thread, Inds issue is rather unique with no parallel. I have been to several African countries which you would expect to be bad but many of them for me looked better than the pics of New Dehli you see online.
Everyone laughs at you dude...be in cricket forum or here. Starting from user name to actual posting, nothing seem to be rational about you. On top of that I live rent free in your head 24*7. Comparing New Delhi with African sub Saharan towns based on pictures shared by Bradfordian Cpt Rishwat shows your IQ. Next time come with me... I will take you to proper New Delhi...being a Pakistani you will feel like you landed in 22nd century or from PSL you walked into IPL.

I didn't share any pictures, neither do I live in Bradford. You do.

I think I live rent free in your head, no idea why you mentioned me here.

Looks like you are reverting back to your bramhan roots :yk

I was never Brahmin but yes my Sikh mother hails from Brahmin ancestors. I studied a lot about Sikhism and Ancient Brahmins and believe they were exceptional men. They wanted to create the perfect society but Kshatriya kings who were womanizers and greedy let them down and resulted in the downfall of the Sanatani civilizations. Men became weak and divided over generations and were bested by united Islamic forces who were following a divine prophecy.

It matters. Authoritarian regimes can implement strict rules, in India you and yours pals will be on street, even if some small time constable kicks you on the back for spitting gutkha.
Ok but why do Inds throw garbage on the streets anyway? It's not like in the West people do it out of fear of the police. It is a quality and sense you are born with.

Who is everyone? If I have a username based on my name you have an issue with that? Should I have issues with every poppa who has Raj and Ramesh in their name? I would never want to step there bro, it is a dump and a toxic chamber. What pictures from Rishwat? Are you dense?

THREAD IS NOT ABOUT PAKISTAN.... STAY ON TOPIC NOW
They don't have a choice!

Whenever some aspects of India or Hinduism is discussed, they have to lie, cheat, be dishonest or change topics and start WhatsAboutism.

@LordJames if you combine Bangladesh + Pak + India- Muslims seem to be one of the poorest groups with most social issues. Not to make fun of the poor but that’s an unfortunate fact . most live in ghettos which are not known to be shining examples of cleanliness or hygiene. Even Europe and UK, you know what areas stick out like a sore thumb. I would tread carefully before I generalize.
This guy is switching to Bangladesh and Pakistan because he knows that he cannot defend:

1. India is Number 1 in Fake News & Disinformation
  2. India is about Fake Data and Fake Degrees
The counter argument isn't that India is Number 1 on this survey or Number 5 on that survey but FAKE is pervasive in India and Indian society and FAKE is just polite way of saying "Lying, Cheating, Dishonesty"

Have no moral code, no moral standard, nothing which empirically ties them to morality and best they can do is "Indian Constitution" which is loosely applied in India due to corrupt policing and judiciary (and Bias).

Everyone living in India knows this but they will keep on lying and trying to deflect attention and change topics.

The true comparison of India should not be with Pakistan or Bangladesh but with China.

Who is everyone? If I have a username based on my name you have an issue with that? Should I have issues with every poppa who has Raj and Ramesh in their name? I would never want to step there bro, it is a dump and a toxic chamber. What pictures from Rishwat? Are you dense?
Oh so Rizwan is your name and you are T20 champ? I thought its based on M.Rizwan, the Pak cricketer.

@Rana bhai...pls take a note.

In India social attitudes toward sanitation work have historically been influenced by class and caste hierarchies. Jobs like street cleaning or waste collection have often been stigmatized and people doing them may be referred to with terms like “naukar” (servant), which can carry a dismissive tone.

There is no dignity to labor in India.

Also corruption is a major issue, funds that should go into infrastructure often don’t get fully utilized. Many contractors deliver substandard work, cutting corners on materials and quality. As a result, things deteriorate quickly and you end up back at square one.

Everything is a jugaad, no one takes pride, they just want to sit pretty all day like a afsar or babu.

In between, you get some safaai when it's time for Laxmi pooja, elections or a wedding.

That’s why it can be surprising to many Westerners, they often aren’t used to things like less emphasis on personal space, littering, frequent honking, or spitting in public spaces.

I’m fairly sure that various forms of pollution in India especially constant vehicle honking contributes to hypertension and a shorter lifespan.

Also, the assumption that homes are clean is laughable. People may not litter inside, but that doesn’t necessarily mean the space is truly clean.

In India social attitudes toward sanitation work have historically been influenced by class and caste hierarchies. Jobs like street cleaning or waste collection have often been stigmatized and people doing them may be referred to with terms like “naukar” (servant), which can carry a dismissive tone.
Naukar? They are referred to as jamadar, chamar, and churay by upper caste hindus. But when their own sons and daughters do the same in Canada or the US, it suddenly becomes a source of pride and an honest job. :inti

@Local.Dada @rpant_gabba @uppercut @deltexas

You are confused. You listed four points none of which has anything to do with your original observation about hindus having no moral code or moral standard. Their moral standards come from a mix of centuries old oral traditions and their own scriptures like Bhagvad Gita, Vedas, Upanishad etc..

If that is true then Islam is no different because there are muslims who have their own interpretations of what is good and what is bad and what the Quran allows for. Similiar ambiguity. For instance, there was that thread on here about the taliban judge who thought it was okay for husbands to beat their wife because the Quran sanctions it. Tell me why is he wrong.
As usual, you deny, deflect and obfuscate.

Does Hinduism have a single divine code or standard by which you live? E.g. Chapter x, Verse Y says "Do not Lie" so Hindus abide by it and Do not Lie.

List a single agreed upon source of creed, dogma, divine revelation and say "This is our creed"

Don't deflect to say whether it is advantageous, prudent, applicable, stick to the argument and respond to what is being asked.

pakistani or Bengalis wont name the resturant or takeaway after anything indian - here in the UK,

your getting it ixed up with the term all south asian food places come under the term Indian - very different to what you stated and you know this.

The funny thing is here in the UK - majority of the term "Indian" restaurants are actually Bengali owned and Bengali food, around 65% of all restaurants here in UK are owened by bengais - they dominate the restaurants field in "Indian" food and then the smaller takeaways industry is mainly run by the Pakistani Kashmiri's

heres a video:
Why are 90% of Indian Restaurants Owned By Bengalis? #restaurant #indianfood #bengali #bangladeshi

its not 90% - hes just exaggerating- its around the 60% mark

Fun fact - first Indian resturant in the UK was a bengali - he beacme the first South Asian UK (English) Millionaire - took him a few yrs with his first resturant - he never called it indian, the white english called it Indian and hence this term has stuck with us

Does Hinduism have a single divine code or standard by which you live? E.g. Chapter x, Verse Y says "Do not Lie" so Hindus abide by it and Do not Lie.

Here is a verse from the Bhagvad Gita 16.2 - "There are three gates leading to hell—lust, anger, and greed. Every sane person should abandon these"

My guess is hindus reading that will derive their moral standard from that verse. Is that good enough for ya ?

Now please answer my question about the taliban judge since you cite Quran as the single source of truth and virtue.