Congratulations to Babar Azam on his maiden T20I century, the highest T20I score by a Pakistani!

Firebat

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-partner="tweetdeck"><p lang="in" dir="ltr">Highest scores in T20Is by a Pakistani batsman:<br><br>Babar Azam 122<br>Ahmed Shehzad 111*<br>Mohammad Rizwan 104*<a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/SAvPAK?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#SAvPAK</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Cricket?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#Cricket</a> <a href="https://t.co/M7GmVgsRuU">pic.twitter.com/M7GmVgsRuU</a></p>— Saj Sadiq (@Saj_PakPassion) <a href="https://twitter.com/Saj_PakPassion/status/1382360076069965826?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">April 14, 2021</a></blockquote>
<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-partner="tweetdeck"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Babar Azam's century today came up in 49 balls which is the fastest century in T20Is by a Pakistani batsman <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/SAvPAK?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#SAvPAK</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Cricket?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#Cricket</a></p>— Saj Sadiq (@Saj_PakPassion) <a href="https://twitter.com/Saj_PakPassion/status/1382360557416747010?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">April 14, 2021</a></blockquote>

- 11th highest individual T20I score in history
- Joint 2nd highest individual T20I score while chasing

One of the Best 20/20 Tons I have seen.

Pakistan is so lucky to have such a fine player.

His haters are a total embarrassment to the sport.

He will finish his career with at least 60+ international centuries which would be a great achievement.

This was an awesome knock and just goes to show that those late wickets helped Pakistan.

It just goes to show that the bowling on both ends was poor.

Pakistan still maintain their unbeaten record at Centurion.

Pakistan 3, South Africa 0

Congratulations to the number 1 batsman in the world. What a fantastic innings. Made my day. Amazing start to Ramzan!

He will finish his career with at least 60+ international centuries which would be a great achievement.

The problem is we don't play so much.

PCB are incompetent at organizing innings. Not playing at home also helps this sad fact.

Ideally Babar should soon average 50+ in all three formats!

On top of the stats already in OP:

- 11th highest individual T20I score in history
- Joint 2nd highest individual T20I score while chasing

Greatest innings by a Pakistani batsman in T20 cricket.

One of the greatest T20 tons ever.

The best batsman in the world

Thank you Aqib Javed for the wise words. The impact of which will remain forever!

Surely the top ranked batsman in both limited-overs formats now?

I don’t agree with him being as good as Kohli in either ODIs or T20s yet but he is an absolutely elite batsman and will go down as an ATG. Will surpass Miandad as our greatest all format bat

OMG. What an innings. Absolutely top class. Deserves all the praise. Totally Bobby's day today.

I sincerely hope that 10 years from now we will look at this innings as Babar’s breakthrough into batting dominance for a decade.

The stats are amazing already, don’t get me wrong - but it’s evident that with the technique and ability he has, he is destined for something great if he is willing to take it.

I sincerely hope that 10 years from now we will look at this innings as Babar’s breakthrough into batting dominance for a decade.

The stats are amazing already, don’t get me wrong - but it’s evident that with the technique and ability he has, he is destined for something great if he is willing to take it.

In Sha Allah

Azams 49 ball 100 faster than any of kohlis international centuries. Kohli has obviously played a few better inngins than babar today but it just goes to sbow babar is not simply an impactless accumalator.

I'm not surprised one bit. Pakistan rarely get to play on these sort of wickets and Babar rarely gets to bat without wickets falling at the other end. Take those two shackles off and you get a proper batsman who can strike at 200 playing good shots.

He has been the best batsman in the world over the last two years and he certainly has it in him to remain the best in the world for years to come, InshaAllah.

Top TOP innings.

But

Need to continue this.

The bowling will not be trash like this against most top teams.

But still, today was special.

Top TOP innings.

But

Need to continue this.

The bowling will not be trash like this against most top teams.

But still, today was special.

Its unlikely we will be chasing these kind of totals that often either.

Pakistan has conceded 200+ twice to date. Not something too many other teams can boast about.

Amazing century in t20Internationals
By azam

Kohli still has not scored a century in t20 internationals hahahhaha

He is just so elite at finding and piercing gaps. Incredible innings and it was great to see him play such a long innings with a fantastic SR.

Keep it going Babar!

Its unlikely we will be chasing these kind of totals that often either.

Pakistan has conceded 200+ twice to date. Not something too many other teams can boast about.

He doesn't have to score 100.

What I meant was the strike rate he batted at. In T20s his SR like today will make him elite.

One of the best T20I knocks. Chasing 200+ against any bowling attack (No 1 T20I howler and best pacers SA has to offer from their domestic structure after their front 3) on any surface in an international T20 match is not an easy task. He did it with ease 122 off 59 balls with 15 4s and 4 6s at a SR of 206 with 2 overs to spare.

We're pretty lucky to have seen two extraordinary knocks, 193 from Fakhar and 122 from Babar, in the space of a few weeks.

This generation of Pakistani batsmen are very entertaining when playing in South Africa

Babar scored a remarkable 90 odd last time Pakistan toured South Africa also. In the same game in which Shinwari was taken to the cleaners by Miller!

Great innings by Babar. Also a great innings from Rizwan.

I think this has cleared up that these guys will be opening for us.

Fakhar at three isn't a bad idea at all, can go flat out against spinners and keep it moving in the middle overs.

Real issue is that 5, 6, 7 are still untested. Will they rise to the occasion? A difficult question to answer. My guess is they won't.

Great innings by Babar. Also a great innings from Rizwan.

I think this has cleared up that these guys will be opening for us.

Fakhar at three isn't a bad idea at all, can go flat out against spinners and keep it moving in the middle overs.

Real issue is that 5, 6, 7 are still untested. Will they rise to the occasion? A difficult question to answer. My guess is they won't.

Would much rather have Sharjeel at 5 or 6 instead of Asif Ali at least

Such a weird knock.

Scoring 100 from 50 balls means going crazy and whacking every ball.

And what the hell this guy does? He plays proper crikceting shots. Drives and proper shots according to the text book. He gets a 50 ball 100 just by playing orthodox cricket.

I have to admire this guy. He is a batting talent. There is no perfect batsmen like Babar Azam. The guy is a textbook cricekter.

One of the best 100s i have ever seen in my life.

Now, i look at his innings, than i think about the strikers and finishers we play at no.5 or no.6. They wouldn't had been charging down and whacking every ball and still not be able to get this score.

Infact, when Fakhar Zaman came out to to score to finish it, he had to whack the ball to the boundary. Babar did the same thing, but only difference was he played proper cricketing shots without taking risks.

I still can't believe that Pakistan produced this kind of batsmen.

But watching Babar Azam also makes you sad, because this is what Ahmed Shezad should had been. Ahmad Shezad had all the shots in his aresnal, problem was he didn't know how to use them. To score runs, he started to whack the ball instead of staying true to the textbook shots.

More is yet to come from Babar. I am already waiting for his next best innings.

Can't believe I missed the match this morning man! Watched the highlights and that was as dominant an innings as I've ever seen a Pakistani Batsman play! Congrats Babar! We're gonna need more of this type of Babar during the World T20

You guys remember the days when we couldn't even chase 140 though lol, it's crazy to actually think how far our batting has come with the addition of the young talent in the past 5 years!

True. Even a 40 year old kamran akmal will be better than asif. So sharjeel can be picked for 6th. Fakhar,hafeez,haider,sharjeel would be an explosive middle order if it fires.

But watching Babar Azam also makes you sad, because this is what Ahmed Shezad should had been. Ahmad Shezad had all the shots in his aresnal, problem was he didn't know how to use them. To score runs, he started to whack the ball instead of staying true to the textbook shots.

Comparing Babar to Shehzad is like comparing Babar to Shreyas Iyer :rabada2

Although the wicket was a batting paradise (SA pitches for LOIs usually are), but the knocks by both Babar and Rizwan were amazing. Even better that it came during a mammoth successful chase.

Very good innings from Babar and all praise is deserved

I just hope this helps kickstart Babar's transition from a very good batsman into a consistent match winner. If he can break the mental barrier which has been present throughout his career and start playing knocks like this against top tier opponents than I reckon it will easily make him the best batsman in Pakistan history and one of the best of this generation.

Such a weird knock.

And what the hell this guy does? He plays proper crikceting shots. Drives and proper shots according to the text book. He gets a 50 ball 100 just by playing orthodox cricket.

I have to admire this guy. He is a batting talent. There is no perfect batsmen like Babar Azam. The guy is a textbook cricekter.

Now, i look at his innings, than i think about the strikers and finishers we play at no.5 or no.6. They wouldn't had been charging down and whacking every ball and still not be able to get this score.

Infact, when Fakhar Zaman came out to to score to finish it, he had to whack the ball to the boundary. Babar did the same thing, but only difference was he played proper cricketing shots without taking risks.

Ahmed Shehzad is one of the worst placers of the ball post a shot and been a very selfish batter. Plus his work ethic and ego have always been questionable. In addition, he lacks concentration resulting in many single digit dismissals.

<iframe src="https://streamable.com/e/upllzw?loop=0" width="560" height="315" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

The 100 moment :)

Almost forgot that Asif Ali somehow made it into the team. Yeah, Sharjeel just needs to be able to lose weight. In the death, you still need to be able to run quick singles to put the set batsman on strike.

Haider needs to find his feet in T20s very quickly. If he doesn't perform tomorrow, he probably won't get a chance to play again, and will get replaced by someone else.

Perhaps Sohaib Maqsood can earn a recall to T20Is, given that he has actual domestic stats to back his selection.

Faheem is also the bigger question. He's not really a power-hitter at all, and Nawaz is a bowler not an all-rounder. Our lower middle order needs to get looked at, and we need new bowling plans to South Africa's openers.

Such a weird knock.

Shehzad had the talent and the shot selection, and probably a better hitting game than Babar. His attitude, among other issues, prevented him from becoming a great batsman for us. If he focused on his game, and tried to improve his game as well, he could have been a great player by now.

However, as stated, he didn't. And now he's forgotten.

Babarnama: The making of a batting great

The finer aspects of Azam’s batting, by his own admission, were learnt from the greats. The key was practice. “I remember Virat Kohli telling me ‘You will play in the ground the way you play at nets,” recounted Azam. For the cover drive, the most pleasing stroke to come out of Azam’s bat, he studied de Villiers.

To comprehend what Babar Azam’s ascent to the ODI rankings summit means to Pakistan, play back their last decade in international cricket. Who were their finest specialist batsmen apart from Babar? Misbah-ul-Haq was more pluck than flair. Shoaib Malik failed the Test mark by a distance, as did the ageless Shahid Afridi. And for a long time, Mohammad Hafeez merited a place in the side because he could bowl too. Meanwhile, the world got used to the next generation of talent. India have Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma and now, Rishabh Pant. England have had Alastair Cook, Joe Root and Ben Stokes. South Africa had AB de Villiers and Hashim Amla. Australia have Steve Smith, David Warner and Marnus Labuschagne while New Zealand know, irrespective of the format, Kane Williamson and Ross Taylor will always show up.

Time, however, stood still for Pakistan. Forced to adopt a new home, all they could do was reminisce about the past, about Zaheer Abbas’s elegance, Javed Miandad’s shrewdness, Saeed Anwar’s cavalier opening acts, Inzamam-ul-Haq’s laidback grace, Mohammad Yousuf’s bountiful talent and the indisputable resilience of Younus Khan who was Pakistan’s last line of defence against many hostile bowling attacks for a good 15 years. Their experiments with raw talent continued in the meantime, discarding many and keeping faith in a bare few. Babar is the cream of this churn, this unforgiving hunt for the next batting great, and, more importantly, someone who can rival Virat Kohli.

Azam was all of 22 during the 2017 Champions Trophy final win against India. Two years later, he broke Miandad’s 1992 record for most runs by a Pakistan batsman in a World Cup by finishing with 474 runs at 67.61. Pakistan fell agonisingly short of a semi-final berth in 2019 but the world knew of the coming of age of Azam, courtesy one of the finest chases in the history of the game against New Zealand at Edgbaston. Under overcast skies, against the probing swing of Trent Boult, the accuracy of Mitchell Santner and Lockie Ferguson’s zipping pace, Azam was a picture of calm, bearing his time, threading the gaps and accumulating runs with conviction. “I can say that this is one of my best knocks because the aim is to be the best batsman in the world,” he said after that match-winning century.

Azam's basics, of course, were developed playing tennis ball cricket in the bylanes of Lahore. More organised cricket in the form of training and competitive matches came later, at Model Town Park, not far from the Gaddafi Stadium where he made his debut against Zimbabwe in 2015. The Akmal brothers were his cousins but Babar still had to chart his own path, with father Azam Siddique hand holding him almost every step of the journey. In a PCB podcast chat with Azam, Imam-ul-Haq recalls how Azam's father used to sit all day at the ground during the under-16 trials. “Even today, if you are not home by 11, he either calls you or me,” said Imam. “Abhi bhi daant parti hai, agar main galat shot kheloon (I still get a scolding when I play a wrong shot),” Azam replied. “I wasn’t allowed to go out with friends. I wasn’t happy but my father always used to say ‘you will know when you grow up’. I do now.”

The finer aspects of Azam’s batting, by his own admission, were learnt from the greats. The key was practice. “I remember Virat Kohli telling me ‘You will play in the ground the way you play at nets,” recounted Azam. For the cover drive, the most pleasing stroke to come out of Azam’s bat, he studied de Villiers. “I couldn’t be confident till I played a cover drive. Many people warned me against trying that shot early on. I struggled. But it was so natural to me that it was difficult for me to let go off. I still practise it a lot.” Further bolstering Azam’s technique was his ability to play late. This he learned from Williamson and Ijaz Ahmed. “The closer you play (to the body), the better command you exercise on that stroke. Earlier I used to play away from my body. That was a habit. Ijaz bhai used to tell me I would struggle if I kept playing on the up like that. Only after 2-3 years did I realise he was right.” You get the magnitude of what Azam has been able to pull off when you realise how much he has learned on the go. “It doesn’t happen overnight, or even in a year. I used to retreat to a shell if I failed. I started thinking negative. But I have overcome that. I keep talking to myself.”

And then there is that desire to play as much cricket as possible. When Pakistan were knocked out of the 2019 World Cup, Azam didn’t sit and mope. Instead, he opted to play a highly rewarding season of county cricket for Somerset, leading the Vitality Blast tally with 578 runs at 52.54. “There was a lot I learned there. I went after just a week's rest at the end of the World Cup. I played 14 matches against quality opposition, and that helped quite a lot,” said Babar during the home series against Sri Lanka later. He is undeniably Pakistan’s best batsman in recent times. In the last five years, he averaged 58.18 in ODIs, only behind Kohli (75.10) and Sharma (60.82). No one has scored more runs than him in T20Is (1916 runs in 50 matches, Sharma is second with 1572 runs from 51 matches) in the last five years. He still has a long way to go in Tests to be even compared with Kohli, Root, Smith, Williamson or even Chesteshwar Pujara. But there is promise.

His role keeps evolving at the same time. From being Pakistan’s white-ball captain to leading in all formats now, Babar is now expected to be an astute manager and not let it affect his batting. It’s a task many have flunked. “I am definitely not expecting a straight line of victories as a captain. There will be ups and downs, there will be mistakes and there will be good performances,” he said in May after becoming white-ball captain. But the momentum is in favour of Azam. Pakistan have just become only the second side after Australia to twice win an ODI series in South Africa. And now, he has ended Kohli’s 41-month long stay at the top of the charts. The last time a Pakistani had topped the ODI ratings was Yousuf in 2003. It has been a long wait for Pakistan.

https://www.hindustantimes.com/cricket/babarnama-the-making-of-a-batting-great-story-behind-pakistab-s-babar-azam-101618474638842.html

Fantastic inning, Maza ah gaya. Creating new bunch mark for all the players. keep it up.

I smell burn 🔥 😂😂😂😂👉🏽🤦🏽*♂️

Why would you smell burn? I’m a Pakistan cricket fan too, I just don’t get carried away when we play well against a weakened opposition.

Can you even remember all the bowlers he come up against last night without having to look at the scorecard?

Great innings by Babar he can dominate for the next 6-7 years if he wants it.

I was really critical of Babar after the 2nd T20 but man he served some humble pie after that. Epic innings chasing 200 odd in 18 overs. Babar is here to rule. THE BEST BATSMAN ON THE PLANET.

It is only comical that a lot of the pak fans are getting overexcited with this innings against a severely depleted team.

If anything it just reinforces Barbar’s status as a minnowblaster. Long way to go before he can be counted among the big boys.

It is only comical that a lot of the pak fans are getting overexcited with this innings against a severely depleted team.

If anything it just reinforces Barbar’s status as a minnowblaster. Long way to go before he can be counted among the big boys.

South Africa aren't exactly minnows, regardless of their bowling, its not his problem who they pick. He's scored in tough places like Australia.

It's well established, he can score anywhere. You can only bash what's in front of you.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Watched the highlights of <a href="https://twitter.com/babarazam258?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@babarazam258</a> innings yesterday, what a batting lesson! It included every aspect of batting even in the t20 format.</p>— Herschelle Gibbs (@hershybru) <a href="https://twitter.com/hershybru/status/1382593848665313280?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">April 15, 2021</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Inzamam praising Babar Azam:

“I have never seen a batting display like this before from a Pakistan team. You can’t praise Babar Azam enough. I had said that he was a little bit worried about losing his wicket in the last game due to lack of batting depth in Pakistan team. But today he played an effortless inning, which included proper shots and no slogs. It won’t be wrong to call him number one batsman"

“The kind of player Babar is, he should not only Pakistan records but also the world records. I have never seen any player perform as consistently as Babar Azam"

South Africa aren't exactly minnows, regardless of their bowling, its not his problem who they pick. He's scored in tough places like Australia.

It's well established, he can score anywhere. You can only bash what's in front of you.

Yeah, 1 overseas hundred in entire career is not exactly bashing by standards of most international teams.

Pakistan team celebrating Babar's achievement

<div style="width: 100%; height: 0px; position: relative; padding-bottom: 56.250%;"><iframe src="https://streamable.com/e/62ku2f" frameborder="0" width="100%" height="100%" allowfullscreen style="width: 100%; height: 100%; position: absolute;"></iframe></div>

Odd for people to say this. In T20's, his worst numbers are against Sri Lanka and the conditions he has produced the worst in is UAE & West Indies. Really good numbers vs Australia/SA/England and in their conditions too.

In ODI's, his worst results have been against India and NZ but only in NZ. He has been great vs Australia/England/SA and in those conditions too. This is still early in his career as well.

In Test is where you can pick apart his record a bit but a lot of his struggles have been in Australia (has any Pakistani batsmen not been completely awful there?) and somehow West Indies. A bit of struggle in SA too but only 3 matches and he had have 2 50's in that 2019 tour.

Babar is truly world class and better yet, he is really coming into his own. He played some really slow innings early in his career and a lot of that was due to UAE but he is certainly starting to become an amazing free flowing batsmen. He will never be a true power hitter but he is so good at picking apart bowlers and batting along the ground & finding gaps, he doesn't need to. Keep your head on straight Babar and he will go down as the best Pakistani batsmen ever. One of the best in general with the trajectory he is on.

Yeah, 1 overseas hundred in entire career is not exactly bashing by standards of most international teams.

Just like Kohli, Babar has excelled in white ball cricket at the start of his career before adapting better to the longer format.

Thus he has 5 ODI overseas centuries compared to 1 test century overseas. He also doesn't play anywhere near the number of tests as the big 3.

He's only 26, so he's got plenty of time to pad up his stats and make you satisfied. So my suggestion is - sit tight and enjoy the ride.