Congratulations to India on achieving the No. 1 ranking in Test cricket!

Woooooooooooooooooo

We are back!!!

The no 1 team in the world is back!!!

The king of spin is back!!!!

Not O'Keefe, Not Lyon but Ashwin!!!!!!

To all non-Indians:

suno gaur se duniyaa waalon
buri nazar naa humpe daalo
chaahe jitnaa zor lagaa lo
sabse aage honge hindustaani

hamne kahaa hai tum bhi kaho

Beware all pretenders to the throne. The kings are back!!!

Yes, the kings are back. Better still, the batsmen seem to have figured out the Aussie spinners. Looking forward to a series win, and maybe even a Kohli double century in the 5th consecutive series.

Hey [MENTION=134300]Tusker[/MENTION], I am back... was waiting for the right moment :)

All this goes to show is that never write off #1.

Welcome back but sadly I think the usual suspects have all gone underground for obvious reasons :))

Indeed, as I was hurrying out of the underground shelter (where I have spent the last ten days fuming) I saw them running into it :)

India are well ahead of everyone.

Congrats to India.

But, India will lose the position post the overseas tours season or this difference will either decrease big time considering the history.

Also in the past 5 years or so same thing happened to every team including Aus, SA, Pak or India whenever they achieved the top rank.

Congrats to India.

But, India will lose the position post the overseas tours season or this difference will either decrease big time considering the history.

Also in the past 5 years or so same thing happened to every team including Aus, SA, Pak or India whenever they achieved the top rank.
That's not true India's descent started towards the middle of 2011, almost 2 years after we achieved the top billings in 2009. Won a series in NZ, no biggie I know, drew in SL (should've won it) & nearly won in SA, if not for the Kallis innings on day 4. The WC euphoria & poor prep for Eng cost us dearly, otherwise even if you start from 2001, till 2011, we have had the best away record, apart from Aus. Dhoni led us down, bigly!

I think Indians lost a point here after this SL series.

Interesting to see what Indias ranking or ranking points are once they have toured S.A, england etc... Most of Indians ranking points have been accumulated as they seem to play at home 90% of time nowadays.

I doubt that's the case. I am sure it's more evenly spread out. If not then we would have heard a bunch of boards crying that they cannot make money because India isn't touring.

Bhai, ek baar saare schedule to check kar lete, baad me comment dete!!!!

Still number 1 after 3 years. What a team ! What a team! Unlike flash in the pan fluke teams that were number 1 for a couple of months because India's matches got rained out.

Respect! :salute

Still number 1 after 3 years. What a team ! What a team! Unlike flash in the pan fluke teams that were number 1 for a couple of months because India's matches got rained out.

Respect! :salute

We have a number of series at home coming up, so the #1 ranking should be safe for a while.

For all the criticism that India became #1 by "gorging on home tests" (by [MENTION=132916]Junaids[/MENTION] etc.), we are still #1 after having played away from home in SA, England, and Australia.

With England losing to Australia and NZ to SL, if we beat SA at home (October series) we will have a bit of cushion.

We have a number of series at home coming up, so the #1 ranking should be safe for a while.

For all the criticism that India became #1 by "gorging on home tests" (by [MENTION=132916]Junaids[/MENTION] etc.), we are still #1 after having played away from home in SA, England, and Australia.

With England losing to Australia and NZ to SL, if we beat SA at home (October series) we will have a bit of cushion.

Absolutely. We have to hammer Windies and Saffers 5-0 and we will continue to be #1. 2nd longest continuous run since the ATG Aussie side . :bow:

Golden age of indian test cricket is about to arrive, we now have superb fast bowlers and its just a matter of time when shaw and gill will settle.

Mayank and shaw.
Chepu-he won't fail in overseas now.
Kohli
Gill
Pandya
Pant
Bumrah
Jadeja.
These players will take us to glory.

In tests, India should go with:-

Agarwal
Shaw
ChePu
Kohli
Gill
Pant
Pandya
Jadeja
Ashwin
Shami
Bumrah

if you can dominate at home and make it a fortress then you have every right to claim the title of being the best team of this era and india clearly is the best team.
It hurts to accept but it's the truth.

Winning away is important too but no one barring india has dominated at home. It shows you how difficult it is to dominate at home. People talk about Aussies missing smith and warner. india also played walking wickets rofl like Rahul and vijay/dhawan when Shaw and Mayank should have played from the very beginning.

Its easier if people just accept the truth and move on.
pakistan are getting better and I really.hope they make their home base at U.A.e a fortress. Focus on winning at home first. Pakistan already beat England before. Its time to Improve on bouncy seaming tracks like those offered in Aus and s.africa. shaheen will be key.

How come India refuses to play pakistan in uae?, your point above is misleading

would love to see india vs pakistan. You know very well why they don't want to play there though. I don't care about the political situation but my wish is to see all Asian teams especially india and pakistan maintain a top 3 status. Pakistan need to bounce back and make u.a.e a fortress. Win and dominate every team at home first and then focus on beating teams away as well.

As for your point, well india does tour the most out of all test and odi playing nations. They are probably the most fatigued team by the end of the season to be honest.