Cricket among Olympic Games sports approved by IOC for Los Angeles 2028

I play tennis, squash (and table tennis) and I disagree. Squash is a far more physically demanding sport and requires far more stamina, quick reflexes, and agility due to the intense, constant movement on a smaller court with little to no time for rest between points.
In terms of watchability do you think it is close to tennis?

No need for minnows to play in Olympic.

Top 5 Plus host is right choice for Olympic.

And team's will take bilateral T20 series seriously knowing Olympic qualification is at stake.

No place for mediocrity. Well done IOC

No need for minnows to play in Olympic.

Top 5 Plus host is right choice for Olympic.

And team's will take bilateral T20 series seriously knowing Olympic qualification is at stake.

No place for mediocrity. Well done IOC

There is high chance participation gets extended to 8 teams to get Pakistan in.
Broadcasting revenue won't change much for organizers, but gate receipts for India-Pakistan match would be something for LA Olympics.

There is plenty of time for Olympics qualification to come up and I am sure they will revert to top 8 teams. excluding big countries like Pakistan, Sri Lanka and Bangladesh won't be good.
Qualification criteria are not yet out, so we should hold our horses.

There is high chance participation gets extended to 8 teams to get Pakistan in.
Broadcasting revenue won't change much for organizers, but gate receipts for India-Pakistan match would be something for LA Olympics.
Unlikely and IOC doesn't depend like ICC for india - Pakistan match . :kp

Ioc will try to test the waters and India is sufficient to pull it off.they should place usa in India's group of 3 teams in case of semis qualification for safety.

All other team sports events have 12 or even 16 teams. hockey football etc.
Even Basketball had 12 teams. heck even handball had 12 teams.
So just 6 teams for cricket doesn't make sense
Others sport's don't take around four hours to Complete the single game . So it's make perfect Sense to play only 6 team's. :kp

Ioc will try to test the waters and India is sufficient to pull it off.they should place usa in India's group of 3 teams in case of semis qualification for safety.
Doesn't matter which group we placed . We have strong team to win the Olympic Gold 🥇 :kp

Even if Pakistan does not qualify, I will not be surprised. This team is playing like a minnow for now and they should not be given any favors.

they should play some regional qualifiers to add some excitement to the event. Emerging Asia cup and finalists get spot in olympics.

USA
Asia 1
Asia 2
Caribbean
Africa
Aus/NZ

In football some of the smaller GB nations refused to participate as they felt that it could impact their own national teams so Team GB was essentially England. I am guessing it will be the same for cricket but this time I don't think GB will send a team. In Cricket, Ireland also plays as a United Ireland side, but in the Olympics, Northern Irish will compete under the GB banner and ROI as a separate nation, so it will get messy.

The ECB have already apparently been in discussions with Cricket Scotland about it. Wales is already integrated into the 'England' team and Northern Irish athletes can choose whether to represent GB or Ireland which makes it pretty easy.

That's interesting! They may well field a GB team then.

I too have a feeling they will make a way for Pakistan to make it to the Olympics to set up a match against Bharat just to make all the money.

But still a cruel joke on the other cricketing nations who will miss out.

Pakistanis, we got your back brothers.
See you at the Olympics yar

Have you ever played squash? As someone who regularly plays it I can tell you that is absolutely not the case.
200%, Squash is literally the sport that prevents me from getting fat.

But it's not just physically demanding and for weight loss and fitness purposes.

Playing squash with a good squash player is utter hell. So much strategy, hand reflex, quick thinking and concentration is involved to win a game of squash.

It's by far one of if not the most toughest sports out there.

Squash is just cardio for people who weren’t good enough at tennis and too angry for yoga—basically glorified wall-slapping with extra grunting.

I've played both & also done yoga but tennis is easier than squash & yoga is totally in an entire other domain in terms of exercise. The higher work rate, the lower down time, & the constant force required to hit the ball in squash is way more taxing than tennis & other racket sports (have also played badminton, table tennis, & going to try padel some day too).

High quality tennis (I have not played badminton so cannot speak from experience there) is more intense than Squash and in terms of watchability Squash is the worst racket sport. In terms of racket sports it is regarded as a minor sport by the Olympics which is why it has never made it there and Badminton/Tennis exist.

Even if Pakistan does not qualify, I will not be surprised. This team is playing like a minnow for now and they should not be given any favors.

What if this team transforms in 3 years. It’s a lot of time. Looking at the rankings right now is irrelevant. For all we know he’ll maybe Bharat or Australia would be ranked outside Top 5 in few years

IOC has thrown this challenge to make everyone competitive by the Olympics.
This will ensure whoever clinched the Gold truly is the King of Cricket brother.

Why host? Should only be top six then.

Doesn’t make any sense to have host country playing. Otherwise in all other sports should be same.

Why host? Should only be top six then.

Doesn’t make any sense to have host country playing. Otherwise in all other sports should be same.
IT IS THE SAME!!
I cant fathom the level of ignorance about actual sports in sub continents. :facepalm

Hosts get a free spot in every team sports in Olympics. France took the host sport in Hockey which they would have never qualified on merit. South Africa got to play Football world Cup in 2010, Qatar had its dumb team in 2022 World Cup.

Will it be U23? If so then why do rankings have an impact?
Where did the U23 thing crop up. Cricket is not Football. Presence in Olympics is a huge privilege for cricket while in football IOC had to negotiate with FIFA and football clubs to make it a standardized U 23 tournament.

They are giving alot of power to ICC here too. I read today that the IOC has told ICC to come up with the qualification process. Will be interesting how ICC comes up with one if they want to get Pakistan in lol. My guess would be continental qualification.

U-23 thing in football is really stupid. Such a self-defeating thing to do for your sport.

They are giving alot of power to ICC here too. I read today that the IOC has told ICC to come up with the qualification process. Will be interesting how ICC comes up with one if they want to get Pakistan in lol. My guess would be continental qualification.

U-23 thing in football is really stupid. Such a self-defeating thing to do for your sport.
It has to be based on rankings or T20 world cup performance + ranking + qualifier.

FIFA doesnt want to do anything to do with Olympics, this is just charity they have done for the Olympics.

It has to be based on rankings or T20 world cup performance + ranking + qualifier.

FIFA doesnt want to do anything to do with Olympics, this is just charity they have done for the Olympics.
Actually now that I think about it, I don't see where on the international cricket calendar they would organize another qualifier tournament so you're probably right. I think it'll be based on T20 WC performance similar to how CT qualification was based on CWC performance.

Hopefully I will be watching the cricket in olympics in the stadium. I would rather prefer to watch a match between two good teams like India Vz Australian rather than Pakistan getting humiliated by India, again. I'm happy with Pakistan less likely to qualify.

Pakistani fans are in an awkward situation. As unfair as it is, they can’t say with their chest out that why US is getting a direct qualification as out of all the major teams only they got smashed by US. So US will be like sit down Son.
dont worry, you guys sent a big team to olympics last year won nothing. We send barely 6 or 7 people and won a gold.

It depends upon ICC.

Often in Olympics teams that are sent are u23 or weaker sides. Hope it is that way for Cricket.
But i doubt it will happen. Usually sports bodies allow u23 teams because the main players are playing the leagues and dont have permission to play.

I think ICC will allow main teams to play

dont worry, you guys sent a big team to olympics last year won nothing. We send barely 6 or 7 people and won a gold.
Only individual gold in history lol. And no other medals. Complete fluke. One medal in 30 years. India has around 25 in that period with two golds.

India won more individual medals last Olympics (6) than Pak has in its history combined (3).

And don't worry in LA we will win the cricket gold like we won the WC. Too bad Pakistan won't be there to get their regular smackdown by India.

Does ICC make any money from this? If it does than Pakistan might have a chance.

Continental would be very harsh since only a few teams play the sport and you are giving only 5 slots. I think this is why China gave up on cricket because they understood qualification was impossible and ICC-IOC messed up here big time.
Football gets 16 spots. 3v3 basketball gets 8 spots 5v5 gets 12. Football has 22 squad members and hockey has 18.

Only individual gold in history lol. And no other medals. Complete fluke. One medal in 30 years. India has around 25 in that period with two golds.

India won more individual medals last Olympics (6) than Pak has in its history combined (3).

And don't worry in LA we will win the cricket gold like we won the WC. Too bad Pakistan won't be there to get their regular smackdown by India.
has India won anything in the recent olympics or not?

I dont care what you won in the 90s or 80s. Current olympics took place, did you guys win anything? If not than just keep quiet.

Oh, as for the fluke, the same guy threw 2 javellins further than the guy who came second. So he beat everyone twice in a single night.

Talk when that indian guy crosses atleast 90 in his career.

Javelin jeet nahi sakta, cricket ka gold ka khawab dekhta

It depends upon ICC.

Often in Olympics teams that are sent are u23 or weaker sides. Hope it is that way for Cricket.
But i doubt it will happen. Usually sports bodies allow u23 teams because the main players are playing the leagues and dont have permission to play.

I think ICC will allow main teams to play
There are other sports than football in the world.
For most other sports like Hockey, etc, Olympics is equivalent or even bigger than their respective World Cups.
Dont just jump in with your lack of ignorance as usual. The main sport of Pakistan is Javelin, you should stick to that particular event only.

There are other sports than football in the world.
For most other sports like Hockey, etc, Olympics is equivalent or even bigger than their respective World Cups.
Dont just jump in with your lack of ignorance as usual. The main sport of Pakistan is Javelin, you should stick to that particular event only.

As i have mentioned sports like football get to have more teams. Why are you trying to ignore football?

ICC and IOC have messed up here.

I get it, since India got in and your indian, so you will give your lame reasons

As i have mentioned sports like football get to have more teams. Why are you trying to ignore football?

ICC and IOC have messed up here.

I get it, since India got in and your indian, so you will give your lame reasons
The only sport that that has U23 arrangement in Olympics is football. and no one in the football world gives a damn about Olympics gold medal. Your lack of knowledge about sports is just plain for everyone to see. There is no other sport like Football in the world. A little extra knowledge will not burn you to ashes, major saab!

PS: Football in Olympics is not just U23, it allows 3 senior players too. Sharing it since, some so called experts hardly know anything about the sports world.

Read about participation of Great Britain football team in Olympics and then do a commentary about mess ups!
And chill on the personal attacks, I will not insult whole of Pakistan by equating them to your level of prejudiced mindset.

I don't want full teams in Olympics. Follow same format as football please. Eventually Olympics can give platform to new nations to try cricket and it will work best with youngsters and a few uncles sprinkled in to keep the viewers happy.

You can't equate cricket to sports like hockey lol. Cricket has a world cup watched by hundreds of millions. It's probably the second sport in the world after football.

I don't want full teams in Olympics. Follow same format as football please. Eventually Olympics can give platform to new nations to try cricket and it will work best with youngsters and a few uncles sprinkled in to keep the viewers happy.

You can't equate cricket to sports like hockey lol. Cricket has a world cup watched by hundreds of millions. It's probably the second sport in the world after football.
Again, the lack of sports knowledge in the sub continent for everyone to see.
In other threads, the same posters are talking about the inevitable demise of cricket as a sport and here the same guys are putting cricket in the same tier as Football :facepalm.

Cricket's success in the Olympics is the only possible way to see a possible dilution of BCCI's monopoly on Cricket's market. Pakistani posters should understand this truth and not imagine diluting the event just because Pakistan might be missing the participation due to merit.

Again, the lack of sports knowledge in the sub continent for everyone to see.
In other threads, the same posters are talking about the inevitable demise of cricket as a sport and here the same guys are putting cricket in the same tier as Football :facepalm.

Cricket's success in the Olympics is the only possible way to see a possible dilution of BCCI's monopoly on Cricket's market. Pakistani posters should understand this truth and not imagine diluting the event just because Pakistan might be missing the participation due to merit.
Brother, we know Pakistan is in your head 24/7 but these same points where you claim to know know what Pakistanis are thinking and why is quite tiresome. One minute you are twerking for BCCI and now you claim to want to initiate a masterplan to end their domination.

Let me be clear. If Pakistan aren't good enough to qualify then so be it. It doesn't impact what we will think of the event.

And as far as sports knowledge goes brother you have maybe attended college athletics tournaments in Gujrat and some IPL matches. Your expertise is nothing to flaunt.

Cricket has a T20 world cup every two years. That ain't going anywhere. The best way to grow the game is to increase the level of competition and to also reduce the inequality - u23 or u19 tournaments provide a platform to do that.

Brother, we know Pakistan is in your head 24/7 but these same points where you claim to know know what Pakistanis are thinking and why is quite tiresome. One minute you are twerking for BCCI and now you claim to want to initiate a masterplan to end their domination.

Let me be clear. If Pakistan aren't good enough to qualify then so be it. It doesn't impact what we will think of the event.

And as far as sports knowledge goes brother you have maybe attended college athletics tournaments in Gujrat and some IPL matches. Your expertise is nothing to flaunt.

Cricket has a T20 world cup every two years. That ain't going anywhere. The best way to grow the game is to increase the level of competition and to also reduce the inequality - u23 or u19 tournaments provide a platform to do that.
It is laughable that South Asians are dissing the importance of Olympics! :ROFLMAO:

You guys have just read about that Football is U23 and that's what you go ahead with it. Learn about the sports not just the headlines. You guys are just openly parading your utter lack of knowledge about anything beyond cricket. Infact, I dont think you know about the qualifiers etc the associate nations play in Cricket.

If cricket has to enter new markets, Olympics is an easy giant bus to carry it around the world. FIFA didnt want Olympics to rival its authority and hence diminished the Olympics to U23 level. If BCCI feels threatened by Olympics, BCCI will very well do what you guys are proposing by diminishing the value of Olympics. The irony is that you guys are literally proposing things that will be in the monopolistic interests of BCCI. :ROFLMAO:
and why, because some random news report, 3 years in advance, kinda implies that Pakistan might not qualify. :facepalm
Most Olympic team events have 12 teams. Even if cricket has just 6, the qualification criteria is not yet out.
Even Asian games had 14 teams in cricket event. Straight away jumping to conspiracies and negative mindset. :nonstop:

Should have been 8 teams.

6 teams including USA is a joke.

India or GB to win this inaugural Olympic gold.

Absolutely . just one ICC event for every formats

Odi- World Cup
T20- World T20 Cup
Test - WTC ( needs lots of improvement currently it's a joke)

Replace champion trophy with Olympic

No Champions Trophy won't be replaced as it's next edition is to be played in India in 2029.

The only sport that that has U23 arrangement in Olympics is football. and no one in the football world gives a damn about Olympics gold medal. Your lack of knowledge about sports is just plain for everyone to see. There is no other sport like Football in the world. A little extra knowledge will not burn you to ashes, major saab!

PS: Football in Olympics is not just U23, it allows 3 senior players too. Sharing it since, some so called experts hardly know anything about the sports world.

Read about participation of Great Britain football team in Olympics and then do a commentary about mess ups!
And chill on the personal attacks, I will not insult whole of Pakistan by equating them to your level of prejudiced mindset.
Looks like someone is abit annoyed i wonder why.

First calm down.

Whether an u23 arrangement is made or not is upto the icc but it most likely wont happen because we wont have any icc related tournament going on in between. Same is with ice hockey where weaker teams are sent

Fact is if football can have more teams, IOC should had allowed cricket aswell

Looks like someone is abit annoyed i wonder why.

First calm down.

Whether an u23 arrangement is made or not is upto the icc but it most likely wont happen because we wont have any icc related tournament going on in between. Same is with ice hockey where weaker teams are sent

Fact is if football can have more teams, IOC should had allowed cricket aswell
There is only one poster who is annoyed enough. Of all things you have picked Ice Hockey which takes place in Winter Olympics. :ROFLMAO:.
1. Winter Olympics are basically a footnote in sports and not many care about it.
2. Your facts, as usual, are wrong about ice hockey :ROFLMAO:.
3. I have already pointed the absurdity of 6 team event and high chance it will be 8. but you do you, you tend to lose the context when just blinded by your prejudice.

Does ICC make any money from this? If it does than Pakistan might have a chance.

Continental would be very harsh since only a few teams play the sport and you are giving only 5 slots. I think this is why China gave up on cricket because they understood qualification was impossible and ICC-IOC messed up here big time.
Football gets 16 spots. 3v3 basketball gets 8 spots 5v5 gets 12. Football has 22 squad members and hockey has 18.
I don't think so.

I think they will just go with T20 WC positions. That's seems like the most logical thing to do.

has India won anything in the recent olympics or not?

I dont care what you won in the 90s or 80s. Current olympics took place, did you guys win anything? If not than just keep quiet.

Oh, as for the fluke, the same guy threw 2 javellins further than the guy who came second. So he beat everyone twice in a single night.

Talk when that indian guy crosses atleast 90 in his career.

Javelin jeet nahi sakta, cricket ka gold ka khawab dekhta
lol Minor. Troliing bhi dhang ka karo.

India won plenty of medals in 00s and 10s when Pakistan won 0.

2021 was recent. Neeraj won gold. Did your Nadeem even win a medal?

2023 WC Neeraj won Gold beating Nadeem.

Olympics and javelin did not start in 2024 just like cricket did not start in 2017.

Minor's trolling is like that selective cricket trolling - ICC trophies won in last X years where X starts from 2014 to not include India's CT 13 win but Pak's CT 17 win. What happens, India wins back to back ICC trophies in 8 months and Pak fans go back into their little rat holes.

Talk when you win more than a single medal in 30 years.

Cricket me we are world champions without losing a single match. Olympics will be the same teams.

Qualify bhi nahi karoge in Olympics, bakwaas trolling karta hai.

Win double digit medals in Asian Games and CWG, before talking about Olympics. 1 medal in 36 years lol.

And we won 6 medals in 2024, which is 6 more than what you won in last 32 years lol.

All those hoping Pak gets in because of the Ind-Pak money are deluded.

Ind-Pak matches makes money because of India, not Pakistan. India vs anyone will make that money. Pakistan vs anyone else will not make money.

Pakistan cricket is going the same way as hockey where they don't even play in Olympics while India wins medals. In fact Pak cricket team could not even medal in the Asian Games where competition is lower.

Afg and Bang finished ahead of them in the Asian Games 23 as well as the Asia Cup 23 as well as the T20 WC 24 as well as the CT 25. All of these events were won by India btw.

Asian Games 23

1744474518756.png

Asia Cup 23

1744474554412.png

T20 WC 24

1744474603112.png

CT 25

1744474637147.png
1744474651927.png

Venue announced for cricket’s Olympics return at LA28

Cricket will return to the Olympics after 128 years, with the location now confirmed.

The ICC have welcomed the announcement that the Fairgrounds in Pomona, Southern California, will host cricket at the 2028 Los Angeles Olympics.

Excitement around cricket’s Olympic comeback has been building since it was confirmed that the sport would return to the Games after a 128-year gap.

On 9 April, the Executive Board of the International Olympic Committee (IOC) confirmed the player quotas and number of participating teams for cricket at the 2028 Olympics.

A host of stars reveal their excitement at cricket formally being added to the Olympic Games programme at LA28 and the prospect of competing for a gold medal

Both the men's and women's T20 competitions will feature six teams each, with a 90-player quota allocated per gender, allowing each nation to field a squad of up to 15 players.

The full tournament schedule will be finalised closer to the start of the Games.

“We welcome the announcement of the venue for cricket at Los Angeles 2028 as it is a significant step towards the preparation for our sport’s return to the Olympics," ICC Chair Jay Shah said.

“Although cricket is a hugely popular sport, it will be a fantastic opportunity to expand traditional boundaries when it features in the Olympics in the fast-paced, exciting T20 format that should appeal to new audiences.

“On behalf of the ICC, I want to express my gratitude to LA28 and the International Olympic Committee for their support and look forward to collaborating with them and ICC Members in preparing for LA28 and making cricket a huge success there.”

Cricket’s return to the Olympics was confirmed in October 2023, alongside the inclusion of five additional sports for the Los Angeles Games – baseball/softball, flag football, lacrosse (sixes) and squash.

The T20 format has previously featured in multi-sport events, with both men’s and women’s competitions held at the Asian Games in 2010, 2014 and 2023. The 2022 Commonwealth Games in Birmingham featured a women’s T20 tournament.

ICC

Venue announced for cricket’s Olympics return at LA28

Cricket will return to the Olympics after 128 years, with the location now confirmed.

The ICC have welcomed the announcement that the Fairgrounds in Pomona, Southern California, will host cricket at the 2028 Los Angeles Olympics.

Excitement around cricket’s Olympic comeback has been building since it was confirmed that the sport would return to the Games after a 128-year gap.

On 9 April, the Executive Board of the International Olympic Committee (IOC) confirmed the player quotas and number of participating teams for cricket at the 2028 Olympics.

A host of stars reveal their excitement at cricket formally being added to the Olympic Games programme at LA28 and the prospect of competing for a gold medal

Both the men's and women's T20 competitions will feature six teams each, with a 90-player quota allocated per gender, allowing each nation to field a squad of up to 15 players.

The full tournament schedule will be finalised closer to the start of the Games.

“We welcome the announcement of the venue for cricket at Los Angeles 2028 as it is a significant step towards the preparation for our sport’s return to the Olympics," ICC Chair Jay Shah said.

“Although cricket is a hugely popular sport, it will be a fantastic opportunity to expand traditional boundaries when it features in the Olympics in the fast-paced, exciting T20 format that should appeal to new audiences.

“On behalf of the ICC, I want to express my gratitude to LA28 and the International Olympic Committee for their support and look forward to collaborating with them and ICC Members in preparing for LA28 and making cricket a huge success there.”

Cricket’s return to the Olympics was confirmed in October 2023, alongside the inclusion of five additional sports for the Los Angeles Games – baseball/softball, flag football, lacrosse (sixes) and squash.

The T20 format has previously featured in multi-sport events, with both men’s and women’s competitions held at the Asian Games in 2010, 2014 and 2023. The 2022 Commonwealth Games in Birmingham featured a women’s T20 tournament.

ICC
So 6 teams is confirmed here.
USA taking the host spot.
Top 5 should be based on T20 world cup.. 4 semi finalists and 4 losing sides of Super 8 compete for the 1 spot in a play off.

Would be interesting to see how the qualification process pans out.

I think they should do a knock-out tournament in Olympic --> 8 teams, 4 quarter-finals, 2 semi-finals, 1 3rd place (bronze medal) match, and 1 final.

Talks over GB cricket team for LA 2028 Olympics
Discussions are taking place about the formation of a Great Britain cricket team that could compete at the Los Angeles 2028 Olympic Games.

The talks between the England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB) and Cricket Scotland to establish a Team GB side have begun as the sport prepares to make its return to the Games.

Cricket Scotland chief executive Trudy Lindblade told BBC Radio 4: "We have a really good working relationship with the ECB, so we have been in talks with them and [we're] in the process of establishing a Team GB cricket entity.

"That's what's required by the British Olympic Association (BOA) for a British team to compete at the Olympic Games."

The ECB has confirmed those discussions to BBC Sport.

Olympic cricket events at LA 2028 will be played as six-team T20 tournaments for both men and women, the International Olympic Committee announced last week.

"So it's really interesting, the six teams for us, we would have an opportunity through the GB concept," Lindblade said.

Participating teams will be able to field squads of up to 15 players, but the qualification process has not yet been confirmed.

"There's a lot to come in terms of how qualification takes place, not just for those six teams but how - if a GB team were to qualify - we have selection within that," Lindblade added.

"So, exciting times, and we'll continue to liaise with the ECB and our colleagues at LA 2028 and ICC. It will be interesting."

Cricket's only previous appearance at the Olympics was at Paris 1900.

On that occasion, Great Britain won by 158 runs against France in a one-off final, after the Netherlands and Belgium withdrew.

The BOA said in August it hopes to enter a men's football team into the 2028 Games, uniting the England, Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland Football Associations to field a first Team GB men's Olympic side since London 2012.

England were the nominated nation to attempt to qualify on behalf of Team GB for the women's football competition at the Paris 2024 Games, but they fell short in their Nations League campaign