Cricket bat help!

pakviper

Salam Everyone,

I am looking to buy a bat from Pakistan as my dad is there nowadays. Yaar, its been a long time since I have played cricket. I want to start playing again and want to improve my batting in the coming summer.

I want to buy a bat which I can use with the tape ball first and then with hard ball as due to space limitations, I can only get one bat this time (hopefully). My price range is between 5000-1000 PKR. My dad has checked some prices from Jhelum
and Dina. One of my cousin has a shop in Dina and he has told my dad that whatever bat I say, he can get that from Sialkot. He himself has all the MB and CA bats etc.

I have listed prices of various makes for all the members just for info as most of the bats are above my price range. I do not want to go over Rs 10000 as honeslty because of my university, I wouldn't be able to play for any club and I just want to have a Pakistani bat which will last for some time. My cousin and another shopkeeper in Jhelum has told my dad one thing that a lot of people take MB Sher Amin abroad and it is very good.

I am looking for a light weight bat with low to mid height sweet spot.

CA:

Gold 5000 (Rs 4000)
Plus 5000 (Rs 5800)
Plus 7000 (Rs 6800)
Plus 8000 (Rs 7800)

Boom Boom:

2 Star (Rs 6000)
3 Star (Rs 14000)
4 Star (Rs 18000)
5 Star (Rs 20000)

Ihsan:

Inferno 350 (Rs 5500)
Inferno 450 (Rs 6500)
Inferno 550 (Rs 7500)
Inferno 650 (Rs 8500)
. .
. .
. .
. .
. .

MB:

Zulfi (Rs 3000)
Gold (Rs 4000)
Sher Amin (Rs 6500)
Babbar Sher (Rs 10000)

Jazzakallah Kher!

Walakiumasalam Bhai,

First of all, JazakAllah Khair for creating a thread here, I appreciate it.

Second of all, welcome to PakPassion. I hope you enjoy your stay here :)

I understand your situation and am a student myself and sometimes the budget is restricted, hence, expensive or top of the line bats couldn't be bought. But personally I would say get a grade 1 bat rather than a grade 2 bat. The reason why I'm saying this is because you will be buying one bat for a long time so why not buy the top bat once? So a good actually very good grade 1 bat could be purchased within your budget.

One bat and brand you haven't mentioned in the above post is AS V3 or AS V10. Both (V3 and V10) are very good bat and in fact are best Asian bat(s) for its value. AS V3 goes for something around Rs. 6300 whereas AS V10 goes for something around Rs. 10,000. Both of these bats are very similar to each other, however, the difference is of cleft as V10 has a better and premium cleft on contrary to AS V3 so since your budget is restricted then why not opt out for AS V3?

MB Malik Sher Amin, is a very good bat as well but the problem is that Sher Amin is Grade 2 bat now whereas V3 which is of same price is Grade 1. This doesn't mean that V3 is not a good bat. In fact, many players use AS bats and one of AS loyal customer is Abdul Razzaq.

AS V3/V10 both have a very long sweetspot and a high spine which is very good when driving the ball. I have picked V3 and V10 both and these bats have exceptional pickup and balance whereas it is very fun to use them.

Below are links of AS V10 review and which contain pictures of V10;

http://www.pakpassion.net/ppforum/showthread.php?t=111890

http://www.pakpassion.net/ppforum/showthread.php?p=3379037#post3379037 (Post 120)

http://www.pakpassion.net/ppforum/showthread.php?t=111395&page=2 (Post 149)

I was in a bit rush so bear with me if any of your question(s) left unanswered. If you still have any question(s) please please don't hesitate to ask me :)

Thankyou very much Uzair and yaar if you advise I can increase the budget. Yaar honeslty, I do not know the difference between Grade 1 and Grade 2.........which one is long lasting?

Also, I have heard that V3 and V10 have problems of breaking handles........

Thankyou very much Uzair and yaar if you advise I can increase the budget. Yaar honeslty, I do not know the difference between Grade 1 and Grade 2.........which one is long lasting?

Also, I have heard that V3 and V10 have problems of breaking handles........

No worries bro!

The difference is of the wood, Grade 1 is top wood whereas Grade 2 is touch lower in terms of grading. The difference is just like Level 4 mark and Level 3 mark.

Yes, handle breakage is common with AS bats but to be honest this is common with MB as well. I have a Bubber Sher and that bat seem to have cracks near the splice area so handle issue is common within Pakistani bats, however, the new MB I have seen seem to have a better handle.

Bhai, if can increase your budget to Rs. 14300 then you can buy MB LE which is the best I would say!

Hope it helps

I would say go for Ihsan inferno 750 since your only starting to resume playing. The bats Uzair is recommending are very good bats but not long lasting/durable and plus these bats are very expensive & are good if ur playing premier league club cricket or 1st class.

Ihsan Inferno series bats are really tough strong bats will last you long time and once they open up/fully knockin then do perform well.

I would say go for Ihsan inferno 750 since your only starting to resume playing. The bats Uzair is recommending are very good bats but not long lasting/durable and plus these bats are very expensive & are good if ur playing premier league club cricket or 1st class.

Ihsan Inferno series bats are really tough strong bats will last you long time and once they open up/fully knockin then do perform well.

Seeing the pattern between the following prices;

Inferno 350 (Rs 5500)
Inferno 450 (Rs 6500)
Inferno 550 (Rs 7500)
Inferno 650 (Rs 8500)

It looks like Inferno 750 will be Rs. 9500 which is pretty much same as AS V10 price and expensive for V3.

Seeing the pattern between the following prices;

It looks like Inferno 750 will be Rs. 9500 which is pretty much same as AS V10 price and expensive for V3.

Bhai, you know the AS LE I am asking Asad bhai for, is that V10 or a V3?

I have a couple of more questions from you guys which are: You guys have not mentioned any CA bat...Are they not long lasting? How long a V3 and V10 can last?

Sorry for a lot of questions but I am a newbie and highly praise your help guys!

Bhai, you know the AS LE I am asking Asad bhai for, is that V10 or a V3?

It is a bit better thab V10 mere bhai :)

I have a couple of more questions from you guys which are: You guys have not mentioned any CA bat...Are they not long lasting? How long a V3 and V10 can last?

Sorry for a lot of questions but I am a newbie and highly praise your help guys!

Ah no worries bro ask as many questions you wish to ask. Forums are basically made for questions/discussion.

Since bat is made out of wood which is natural so there is no definate time frame telling it will last this long or that long. So I would say it depends how you use the bat and where you use the bat. Few things which damage the bats are hard ball, hard playing surface, wet conditions, not knocking in properly, bat pressing etc

However, grains also play a role in longivity so I would say go for fewer grains as that takes time to open up, hence, bat last longer than usual.

So as I said different brands don't have specific life, it is natural product and only Allah (SWT) how long it can last.

Again feel free to ask if you have got anymore question(s)

Thankyou very much guys for all the help..........As soon as I get the bat from Pakistan, I will post some pics and in the mean time before my dad purchases the bat, if I have any questions I will bug you guys again...!

JazakallahKhair

Sorry Uzair for the late reply, I did not notice any new post in my thread............but my dad should buy it in a day or two and then I will let you know......I think, AS V3 or Sher Amin but yaar how it will be brought to Canada without any damage to the bar is a question. I mean in the suitcase or another suggestion is to have the bat wrapped around with the suitcase.......any suggestion?

Sorry Uzair for the late reply.............but my dad should buy it in a day or two and then I will let you know......I think, AS V3 or Sher Amin but yaar how it will be brought to Canada is a question. I mean in the suitcase or another suggestion is to have the bat wrapped around with the suitcase.......any suggestion?

Bhai, I have brought quite a few bats from Pakistan and what I usually do is put some foam around the bat and then wrap it in that thing you get in the airport to keep your suitcase shut, lots of times over the bat.

Hope this helps. :)

Sorry Uzair for the late reply, I did not notice any new post in my thread............but my dad should buy it in a day or two and then I will let you know......I think, AS V3 or Sher Amin but yaar how it will be brought to Canada without any damage to the bar is a question. I mean in the suitcase or another suggestion is to have the bat wrapped around with the suitcase.......any suggestion?

No worries!

Nahii don't wrap the bat around the suitcase because during handling it will get damaged and who knows what custom people do with it.

I'd say just put it inside (where you put clothes etc) the suitcase and bring it to Canada.

Hope it helps

Salam,

I am in a bit of hurry but here are some of the pics of the bat as promised. This is the first time I took pictures of a bat so was not sure of the angles etc but here you go:

Image0055.jpg

Image0056.jpg

Image0057.jpg

Image0058.jpg

Image0059.jpg

Wow, it is a beast!!!

Do you mind if I ask how much does it weighs?

The profile and shape of the bat is amazing and I liked it.

Looks massive for its weight.

Mind telling how does it feels etc?

Sure Uzair bro, I will post more pics later and on one of the stickers at the face of the bat it says 2.8 so I think it is 2.8 lb. The pickup is light but the handle is a bit on the thinner side! Any more questions please feel free to ask!

JazakAllah Khair bro, I appreciate it!

If you find the handle to be thin then it would be good to add another grip. It will make the bat feel lighter and balance would be good as well.

Sure Uzair bro, I will post more pics later and on one of the stickers at the face of the bat it says 2.8 so I think it is 2.8 lb. The pickup is light but the handle is a bit on the thinner side! Any more questions please feel free to ask!

Sorry weight stickers mostly not correct its weight may be more

sticker dont weigh that much ^^^
superb bat as Uzair bhai said great profile

Great looking stick as the others have said Viper bhai.

But would someone please mind telling me why, the Sher Amin has two types of stickers, the one above and the one that :afridi uses?

JazakallahKhair

Yaar thanks all for the kind words....actually my dad got it from my cousin's shop. It is not exactly custom made but I asked him for 2.7 lb and he was telling me that this particular stick is hard pressed so, I do not have to knock it but even then I will knock it in.

Great looking stick as the others have said Viper bhai.

But would someone please mind telling me why, the Sher Amin has two types of stickers, the one above and the one that :afridi uses?

JazakallahKhair

The ones Afridi used were old, these are new/latest.

Okay, jazakallahKhair.

Just one more question, will they reveal new stickers for Bubber Sher?

Did you meant to ask if Bubber Sher will be available in stickered version rather than painted?

No, bhai I just like Pakistan bat stickers. However some can be a bit OTT in terms of the amount of stickers.

Ahh okay, yes some times they are over the top.

Some Pakistani manufacturers like AS and CA etc they have crowded there bats with those big big stickers on the front and back

Grains are just preference, it doesn't really matters to be honest.

That bat is also grade 2 so is yours.

Yeah what CD bhai said, and also it doesn't really matter as long as the bat goes like a bullet.

Also the edges on your MB look a bit thicker.

Thankyou CD bhai for the kind words but if you see something wrong let me know, I will take good class of my cousin....lol

Also, what place you suggest from where I can buy the mallet, anti-scruff sheet and edge tape etc in Canada?

I also got some of these balls from Pakistan:

009.jpg

LOL Bhai everything is absolutely fine.

Where are you located? I'm not sure of any store in Toronto except Bedessee Sports but in Mississauga you can buy from Hagee Sports or Khan Sports.

These balls are good looking as well, they are 4 piece, I hope they are not those hard ones.

lol.......I live in Kitchener but am currently on a work term in Ottawa. There are some sellers on ebay who sell these bat mallets and anti-scruff sheet etc, do you suggest buying online from ebay?

For the balls, I was told that they are one of the best in Pakistan but honestly I do not know. The manufacturer's website looks authentic and PA buys stuff from them.

http://www.jaghasports.com/

lol.......I live in Kitchener but am currently on a work term in Ottawa. There are some sellers on ebay who sell these bat mallets and anti-scruff sheet etc, do you suggest buying online from ebay?

For the balls, I was told that they are the one of the best in Pakistan but honestly I do not know but their manufacturer's website looks authentic and PA buys stuff from them.

http://www.jaghasports.com/

Actually I would say EBay sounds a lot more convenient and easy for you.

Not sure but aren't there any cricket stores in Ottawa?

When buying scuff sheet I would recommend to buy the one clear one not the fibretech ones.

Not bad, the website looks a lot professional so I would say they would be good balls.

Salam Everyone,

I am looking to buy a bat from Pakistan as my dad is there nowadays. Yaar, its been a long time since I have played cricket. I want to start playing again and want to improve my batting in the coming summer.

I want to buy a bat which I can use with the tape ball first and then with hard ball as due to space limitations, I can only get one bat this time (hopefully). My price range is between 5000-1000 PKR. My dad has checked some prices from Jhelum
and Dina. One of my cousin has a shop in Dina and he has told my dad that whatever bat I say, he can get that from Sialkot. He himself has all the MB and CA bats etc.

I have listed prices of various makes for all the members just for info as most of the bats are above my price range. I do not want to go over Rs 10000 as honeslty because of my university, I wouldn't be able to play for any club and I just want to have a Pakistani bat which will last for some time. My cousin and another shopkeeper in Jhelum has told my dad one thing that a lot of people take MB Sher Amin abroad and it is very good.

I am looking for a light weight bat with low to mid height sweet spot.

CA:

Gold 5000 (Rs 4000)
Plus 5000 (Rs 5800)
Plus 7000 (Rs 6800)
Plus 8000 (Rs 7800)

Boom Boom:

2 Star (Rs 6000)
3 Star (Rs 14000)
4 Star (Rs 18000)
5 Star (Rs 20000)

Ihsan:

Inferno 350 (Rs 5500)
Inferno 450 (Rs 6500)
Inferno 550 (Rs 7500)
Inferno 650 (Rs 8500)
. .
. .
. .
. .
. .

MB:

Zulfi (Rs 3000)
Gold (Rs 4000)
Sher Amin (Rs 6500)
Babbar Sher (Rs 10000)

Jazzakallah Kher!

There is shop on mangla road cant remeber name. Its inside a small "gally" on mangla road. He had some nice CA bats. I bhought my Ihsan 950 from him

Don't use those balls viper.

Your Sher looks just like mine :amir

Which bat is better for me?

I was wishing that someone could tell me which of the following would be the best bat for me? I am a middle order batsman for my local club and am 14 years old. I am looking to buy from Karachi a bat that is no more than Rs. 8000
Malik Sher Amin
Malik Zulfi
CA Plus 5000
AS V3
Regards, Hassaan

angrypathan, welcome to PakPassion, I hope you enjoy your stay here :).

I will also vouch for CA 5000 Plus although AS V3 is not bad.

However, having said that since you'll be buying it I would suggest you to go into the shop and buy the one that feels the best in your hands.

Waisay going by your username I think SherAmin would be best :afridi :))

CA 5000 it is

Thank you knightrider and coverdrive bhai for your help. I will probably be buying a CA Plus 5000 then :)

I had a GN Fusion but it finally got a crack at the bottom so thats why I am looking for a new bat.