Curfew in Maharashtra’s Nagpur after clashes over reports of Quran burning

The Bald Eagle

Nagpur: Violence erupted in Nagpur, Maharashtra, following reports that the holy Quran had been burned during a Hindutva group’s protest demanding the removal of the 17th-century Mughal emperor Aurangzeb’s tomb.

According to Kashmir Media Service, the clashes led to numerous injuries, prompting the authorities to impose a curfew in several parts of the city.

The clashes left many injured, prompting the authorities to impose a curfew in several areas of the cit

The clashes between Hindus and Muslims took place in the central part of the city late Monday. Stones were thrown, shops were vandalized and several vehicles were torched. Videos from the scene showed burning vehicles and scattered debris.

Muslim groups said that members of Hindutva outfits, including the Vishwa Hindu Parishad (VHP) and Bajrang Dal, burned a cloth with the holy text, on it during a protest demanding the removal of Aurangzeb’s tomb in Sambhaji Nagar.

The unrest began when Bajrang Dal members staged a demonstration near the Chhatrapati Shivaji statue in the Mahal area. During the protest, there were reports that the Quran had been burned, which quickly fueled outrage among members of the Muslim community. The situation escalated as videos of the protest went viral on social media, intensifying the anger and prompting members of the Muslim community to take to the streets. As a result of the spreading unrest, large groups of Muslim community members gathered in several parts of Nagpur, including Mahal, Kotwali, Ganeshpeth, and Chitnis Park.

According to an official notification from Maharashtra Police, a curfew has been enforced in several areas of Nagpur city due to tensions surrounding the demand for the removal of Aurangzeb’s grave in Khultabad, Aurangabad.

Source: Kashmir Media Service

Calling the Nagpur violence a "planned incident," Maharashtra CM Devendra Fadnavis on Tuesday warned that those who attacked police "will not be spared."

“Specific houses, establishments targeted by mob; it looks like a conspiracy," CM Fadnavis in the state legislative assembly.

“In Nagpur, Vishwa Hindu Parishad and Bajrang Dal held protests. Rumours were spread that things containing religious content were burnt....It looks like a well-planned attack. No one has permission to take law and order into their hands. Chhava movie has ignited people’s anger against Aurangzeb still, everyone must keep Maharashtra peaceful," noted CM Fadnavis.

Tension escalated in central Nagpur on Monday as stones were thrown at police officers amidst unfounded rumours that Quran had been desecrated during a protest by a right-wing group demanding the removal of Aurangzeb's tomb. The Monday evening incident, which was reported from Mahal area of Nagpur, resulted in injuries to four individuals, according to official reports.

What Led to Nagpur Violence?

The immediate cause of Nagpur riot was unfounded rumours that the Quran had been burned during a protest by a right-wing group demanding the removal of Mughal emperor Aurangzeb's tomb in Sambhaji Nagar. The protest was organized by groups such as the Vishwa Hindu Parishad (VHP) and Bajrang Dal, who allegedly burned a cloth with "kalma" on it, leading to widespread outrage among Muslim groups.

Is section 144 imposed in Nagpur’s Mahal?

Nagpur Police Commissioner Ravinder Singal said that section 144 has been imposed in the area.

What is Aurangzeb Tomb Row?

Right-wing groups, including the Vishwa Hindu Parishad (VHP), had demanded that the tomb of Mughal emperor Aurangzeb be dismantled. Security had been heightened at the tomb of the Mughal Emperor Aurangzeb in Chhatrapati Sambhajinagar (formerly Aurangabad) following the demands from VHP, and Bajrang Dal.

On the Nagpur incident, Maharashtra Minister Nitesh Rane said, as quoted by ANI, "...Abu Azmi is responsible for this... He started this issue... This was a preplanned violence to defame the government...We will not spare those who raise their hands on our police personnel... strict action will be taken in this matter..."

Nagpur CP Ravinder Singal appeals for peace

On violence, Nagpur CP Ravinder Singal appealed for peace and urged people not to believe the rumours. Speaking to media, as quoted by PTI, he said, "The incident that happened yesterday, it was between two groups. A photograph was burnt, then it was put on social media. A delegation had visited us and they wanted us to take action, FIR was registered, we were acting. But in the evening, the two groups came in front of each other, sloganeering happened, stones were pelted, police were there, there was action. Five cases have been registered, more than 50 persons were arrested. Action is going on. We want to appeal for peace, I want to urge people not to believe the rumours, and want to request them to report anything suspicious they encounter."

Normalcy restored :kp
===

Mumbai: A day after the sudden clashes in Nagpur in the backdrop of the growing demand to raze the tomb of Mughal emperor Aurangzeb in Chhatrapati Sambhajinagar, security was beefed up manifold in the town which is limping back to normalcy.

While Maharashtra CM Devendra Fadnavis expressed suspicion that it could be a "well-planned" attack, the police has launched massive investigations to track down the conspirators who had fuelled the riots.

The focal point of the clashes was the Mahal, considered the historic heart of Nagpur.

The headquarters of RSS, the ideological fountainhead of BJP, is located in the Mahal area and hence, strict checking has been put in place at the roads leading there.

The violence on Monday evening, during the holy month of Ramzan, coincided with the birth anniversary of legendary Maratha warrior-king Chhatrapati Shivaji Maharaj.

"It looks like a well-planned attack," Maharashtra CM Devendra Fadnavis said.

A total of five FIRs have been lodged in connection with the attacks.

As many as 33 police personnel, including three Deputy Commissioners of Police, were injured in the violence. "One DCP was attacked with an axe and was injured. One of the five civilians injured in the violence is in ICU. There was a pre-planned pattern behind the riots," he added.

"Curfew has been imposed in the jurisdiction of 11 police stations and a number of entry points to the city have been sealed," he said.

"Stones were brought in a trolley...weapons have been found," the CM said.

Meanwhile, state Revenue Minister Chandrashekhar Bawankule, who is also the Nagpur district's Guardian Minister, visited the 'Orange City' and reviewed the security arrangements.

===

Mumbai: A day after the sudden clashes in Nagpur in the backdrop of the growing demand to raze the tomb of Mughal emperor Aurangzeb in Chhatrapati Sambhajinagar, security was beefed up manifold in the town which is limping back to normalcy.

While Maharashtra CM Devendra Fadnavis expressed suspicion that it could be a "well-planned" attack, the police has launched massive investigations to track down the conspirators who had fuelled the riots.

The focal point of the clashes was the Mahal, considered the historic heart of Nagpur.

The headquarters of RSS, the ideological fountainhead of BJP, is located in the Mahal area and hence, strict checking has been put in place at the roads leading there.

The violence on Monday evening, during the holy month of Ramzan, coincided with the birth anniversary of legendary Maratha warrior-king Chhatrapati Shivaji Maharaj.

As many as 33 police personnel, including three Deputy Commissioners of Police, were injured in the violence. "One DCP was attacked with an axe and was injured. One of the five civilians injured in the violence is in ICU. There was a pre-planned pattern behind the riots," he added.

"Curfew has been imposed in the jurisdiction of 11 police stations and a number of entry points to the city have been sealed," he said.

Meanwhile, state Revenue Minister Chandrashekhar Bawankule, who is also the Nagpur district's Guardian Minister, visited the 'Orange City' and reviewed the security arrangements.

These things can spiral out of control. Credit to the police for stepping and quelling it so quickly. Unfortunately in these riot situations rumours very quickly fly and escalation happens within seconds.

===

Hopefully the heinous act of Quran burning is just a rumor.

Burning a religious book like Quran in India is unacceptable

However every time such a rumor or real incident takes place, 10000s of these Vella zombies come out on streets and burn public property- that is unacceptable too.

Need some kind of a belt treatment for all parties involved and this bs of mobs and riots should stop. France, Nagpur, London same pattern.

Didn't think it would be long before someone blamed the victims for acts of demolition by the hindutva majority. Same old same old, rinse and repeat.

A significant portion of Hindutva derives its pride and satisfaction not from its own well being, religion, or country, but from the suffering it can inflict on Muslims. The essence of being Hindu is increasingly being reduced and redefined as the ability to hate Muslims.

What about the Muslim mob burning public property and causing riots ? I agree burning Quran is unacceptable in a secular country or any religious book.

Same pattern in France, same in London, other European countries, mob comes out on blasphemy charges in Pakistan, Bangladesh etc? No “Hindutva” there.

Ah real idiots .burning verses in ramdan month to trigger extreme volatility in peaceful place. Stupidity does not have borders.

Change your name to Vikramullah if you are saying Hindus cannot burn the photo of a bigot terrorist like Aurangzeb. This is our country and we gave many sacrifices to protect from Islamists.

As usual, the Muslims expose their anti national mentality. 1947 was a disaster. All of these Islamists should have been kicked out right there and then. Bharat can never achieve its full economic potential with these leeches spread across the country to pull us down all the time with their nafrat.

They sure got their priorities right.

People in 21st century fighting over the tomb of some dude that lived 400 years ago. Complete morons. As of removing the tomb from Nagpur will solve all their problems.

Change your name to Vikramullah if you are saying Hindus cannot burn the photo of a bigot terrorist like Aurangzeb. This is our country and we gave many sacrifices to protect from Islamists.
Check out post 7 before jumping on conclusions, they put on fire a big cloth piece with Quranic verses inscribed over it

As usual, the Muslims expose their anti national mentality. 1947 was a disaster. All of these Islamists should have been kicked out right there and then. Bharat can never achieve its full economic potential with these leeches spread across the country to pull us down all the time with their beghairati and nafrat.
There will always be Muslims dreaming for a mythical caliphate to become reality one day. But that does not mean that they should get attacked for their dreams. Unless they are caught in the act, nothing should be done to them by law enforcement.

Everyone has dreams. Reality is very different.

Check out post 7 before jumping on conclusions, they put on fire a big cloth piece with Quranic verses inscribed over it
No one can read that script. It can say - "Mc Donalds, I'm Lovin it" in Arabic like script and burnt and riots erupts in India.

I doubt the clowns that burnt the cloth can read what is written on it.

For anyone who can read Arabic, can you explain what was written in the cloth?

No one can read that script. It can say - "Mc Donalds, I'm Lovin it" in Arabic like script and burnt and riots erupts in India.

I doubt the clowns that burnt the cloth can read what is written on it.

For anyone who can read Arabic, can you explain what was written in the cloth?
It contained the last four chapters of Holy Quran.

That’s classic diversion tactics.
So what if they did that.
You are going to set the city on fire because someone burnt a piece of paper? Really are you all going to defend rioters now? Is this the new low

Ask your buddy @uppercut first who backed a BJP guy who vowed to massacre 200000 Muslims because a cow head was found near a temple.

With medieval mindset still prevalent, India isn't ready for such Europe style protests. Glad police did an admirable job of diffusing the situation.

And this is not a diversion tactics, you guys incite people by such actions....anyways agree with champ pal why you guys so obsessed with a man died 4 centuries ago

There will always be Muslims dreaming for a mythical caliphate to become reality one day. But that does not mean that they should get attacked for their dreams. Unless they are caught in the act, nothing should be done to them by law enforcement.

Everyone has dreams. Reality is very different.

Unfortunately this is the sad truth.
There can never be peace with Muslims.

The only way you can ever a peaceful friendly relationship with Muslims is when you don’t share a border with them.

They’re a problem as fellow citizens because they’re by nature anti national and wouldn’t hesitate to burn any country to the ground for any stupid reasons for as long as it’s not completely Islamic.

They’re a constant threat as a neighbour because they’re an expansionist religion.

Enough is enough. They need to be put in their place.

As usual, the Muslims expose their anti national mentality. 1947 was a disaster. All of these Islamists should have been kicked out right there and then. Bharat can never achieve its full economic potential with these leeches spread across the country to pull us down all the time with their beghairati and nafrat.
Aurengzeb was a tyrant. Let's call him out for what he was and try not to make a hero out of a tyrannical villain.

But burning holy quran is not acceptable .

Unfortunately this is the sad truth.
There can never be peace with Muslims.

The only way you can ever a peaceful friendly relationship with Muslims is when you don’t share a border with them.

They’re a problem as fellow citizens because they’re by nature anti national and wouldn’t hesitate to burn any country to the ground for any stupid reasons for as long as it’s not completely Islamic.

They’re a constant threat as a neighbour because they’re an expansionist religion.

Enough is enough. They need to be put in their place.
Time to pack up and move to the moon.

Yep wanna criticize a ruler do all day but not at the cost of infringing other's religious feeling
Aurengzeb was a tyrant. Let's call him out for what he was and try not to make a hero out of a tyrannical villain.

Some of the responses in this thread so far :-

“They burnt some verses of Quran, so obviously the Muslims had to set the city on fire.”

And you all still claim to be civilized and educated?

Some responses here so far,

"Starting the riot was perfectly fine, but kick Muslims out of the country because how they dare to react" 🤡

This is Modi's India. :inti

images

But why is Aurangzeb so relevant in 2025? Is it because of a recently released movie? We have people here who refuse to discuss statistics from just 25 years ago, yet all the andhbhakhts, including the newly subscribed ones, are losing sleep over Aurangzeb. :facepalm

Maybe @Sachin fan can explain it better because according to him: :inti

Past mai jeene walo ka kabhi aaj aur aane wala kal, bhala nahi hota bhai.

IMG_20250318_224505.jpg

But why is Aurangzeb so relevant in 2025? Is it because of a recently released movie? We have people here who refuse to discuss statistics from just 25 years ago, yet all the andhbhakhts, including the newly subscribed ones, are losing sleep over Aurangzeb. :facepalm

These guys seem to have too much time at their hands. They are causing this drama during a weekday. Do they not have jobs or something? :inti

Maybe @Sachin fan can explain it better because according to him: :inti

Past mai jeene walo ka kabhi aaj aur aane wala kal, bhala nahi hota bhai.

View attachment 152373
Good advice by Sachin fan 👍

These BJP lunatics seem obsessed with Mughals/Aurangzeb. They are obsessed with stuff which happened 500-600 years ago.

Chaiwala Modi is taking India back to stone age. His incompetent leadership is hurting India.

Very poor.

Aurangzeb was a pathetic looney. But doing such stuff will yield nothing.
Looks like your for your ‘Big Bhaiya’ it has…

Pesky muslims need putting in their place, Qur’an and holy verses are fair game..according to him

India is trying to bite more than it can chew. India is being full of hubris and they are overestimating themselves.

They are making adversaries domestically, regionally, and internationally. They have become a pariah/rogue state.

Maybe this hubris will lead to Indian downfall. Happened many times in human history.

:inti

India is trying to bite more than it can chew. India is being full of hubris and they are overestimating themselves.

They are making adversaries domestically, regionally, and internationally. They have become a pariah/rogue state.

Maybe this hubris will lead to Indian downfall. Happened many times in human history.

Biting more than it can chew is if Indian rightwing brigade demands removal of statues and tombs of Islamic invaders of India in foreign lands. It is their own country. So there is nothing called biting more than it can chew.

Indian downfall is only in the dreams of some. Every country falls after its dominance runs its course. Would you think the caliphate fell due to its hubris just like Roman empire or Greek empire?

Come on bhai. No body will object insults to aurangajeb in india. Mostly Muslims are peace with him atleast in india.dont bring holy verses (whatever its there , whether we like or not) in to picture. At the end we should fight in our house for whatever differences. We should not burnt it.

Don't care about india , First care about Bangladesh where extremists were vandalised Sheikh Mujibur Rahman’s statue.

But this thread is about India, so why will he care about Bangladesh here? :inti

They do not realize I do not read 99% of the stuff they write. :inti

Derailing the thread is nothing new for them. When they don't have a comeback, they have to bring up Bangladesh, Pakistan, China etc.

Acha. Just like you bring IPL discussion in every thread .tab yad ni ati apko :kp
IPL discussion in every thread? Kuch bhi? I know you have started loving that chaiwala recently, but you don't have to follow his 'jhoot bolo, baar baar jhoot bolo'. :rabada2 :inti

Please don't take any offence my dear Hindu brothers. But whenever we discuss caste, dalit, manu smirti, sati, breast tax etc then you guys say that is in the past we have moved on from these evil acts.

But at the same time you want to exhume, desecrate and perhaps if some remains are still there commit necrophilia with someone who committed what you consider evil acts in the past.

It doesn't make sense brothers.

'Chhaava' Effect? Nagpur Mayhem & Dangers of Mixing Myth With Propaganda​

The formula has been tragically simple with Chhaava: hyper-emotional storytelling with a dash of Islamophobia.​

In India, history is constantly mythologised, myth is conflated with historic fact, and cinema often steps in as the grand preserver of momentous sentiments. In this landscape, Rama and Ravana cannot remain fiction, despite archaeological evidence pointing otherwise. Here, monarchs are divine incarnations sent to protect people from evil — and the ‘other’ is always the demonic intruder.

This constant fusion of the political and the spiritual has shaped a powerful legacy of storytelling in India, where human conflicts are not earthly but interlaced with divine influences.

Please don't take any offence my dear Hindu brothers. But whenever we discuss caste, dalit, manu smirti, sati, breast tax etc then you guys say that is in the past we have moved on from these evil acts.

But at the same time you want to exhume, desecrate and perhaps if some remains are still there commit necrophilia with someone who committed what you consider evil acts in the past.

I don't think anyone from India has said Caste system is no longer in use or it was the past lol.

Caste system will remain till the end of human civilisation, which shouldn't be too far with the inevitable take over by AI..

Sums it up. We don’t hate these hindu extremists and their closet supporters (who learn history from trash like Chaava) enough. They need more hate from the world.

Their knowledge comes from BJP WhatsApp University. They tend to be obnoxious and ignorant. :inti

Anyway, India is digging a big hole for themselves. They are on a self-destructive path.

“They burnt some verses of Quran, so obviously the Muslims had to set the city on fire.”

They only endorse such claims among themselves, no one outside the Muslim world buys it, and for a good reason. When confronted with reality and shown a mirror, the usual counter is Islamophobia accusations.

Yep wanna criticize a ruler do all day but not at the cost of infringing other's religious feeling

Except when it comes to cows and temples where Muslims are squatting the rules of religious feelings magically change upside down. And then you go on to wonder why there is backlash from Hindu vigilante groups against Muslims. Waah ji waah !!!

Looks like Vishwa Hindu Parishad (VHP) and Bajrang Dal started this conflict. Unnecessarily provocative.

Do Indian posters here have the decency to condemn them? :inti

Seen this happen plenty of times all over the world where there is no Hindutva. The world has now got used to this.

Looks like Aurangzeb over 300 years old aatima set a fire under Hindutva dhoti and so long a single Muslim exist in India, it’ll continues to stay lit.

Absolutely dumb and disgusting. Never a fan of cleansing history just for the sake of it.
The lowest of the low groups destroy existing heritage sites and places of worship for their own motive, have seen it for thousands of years all over the world. It only leads to decline and decay.
I hope sense prevails!

You meant to say no bigots like Hindutva? Like EDL and KKK?
Did I say anything wrong? Haven't we seen this happen in every nook and corner of the world where there is no Hindutva? All anyone needs to do is draw a cartoon and the true color of the entire community comes up immediately.

Religious fanatics are never objective, no matter the religion. They will white wash their own past misdeeds as heroic events in the name of God's wrath or justice.
There nutjobs just causes decay of society and human progress.

Nagpur: Violence erupted in Nagpur, Maharashtra, following reports that the holy Quran had been burned during a Hindutva group’s protest demanding the removal of the 17th-century Mughal emperor Aurangzeb’s tomb.

According to Kashmir Media Service, the clashes led to numerous injuries, prompting the authorities to impose a curfew in several parts of the city.

The clashes left many injured, prompting the authorities to impose a curfew in several areas of the cit

The clashes between Hindus and Muslims took place in the central part of the city late Monday. Stones were thrown, shops were vandalized and several vehicles were torched. Videos from the scene showed burning vehicles and scattered debris.

Muslim groups said that members of Hindutva outfits, including the Vishwa Hindu Parishad (VHP) and Bajrang Dal, burned a cloth with the holy text, on it during a protest demanding the removal of Aurangzeb’s tomb in Sambhaji Nagar.

The unrest began when Bajrang Dal members staged a demonstration near the Chhatrapati Shivaji statue in the Mahal area. During the protest, there were reports that the Quran had been burned, which quickly fueled outrage among members of the Muslim community. The situation escalated as videos of the protest went viral on social media, intensifying the anger and prompting members of the Muslim community to take to the streets. As a result of the spreading unrest, large groups of Muslim community members gathered in several parts of Nagpur, including Mahal, Kotwali, Ganeshpeth, and Chitnis Park.

According to an official notification from Maharashtra Police, a curfew has been enforced in several areas of Nagpur city due to tensions surrounding the demand for the removal of Aurangzeb’s grave in Khultabad, Aurangabad.

Source: Kashmir Media Service
Heartbreaking to see such violence unfold. Acts of disrespect towards any religious text or heritage site only deepen divides instead of fostering understanding. Dialogue and peaceful resolution should always be the way forward. Hoping for calm and unity to prevail in Nagpur.

I agree, destroying properties isn’t the way to go, ignoring it. But why is it always bigots from every every nook and cranny to always trying to offend?

What about the Muslim mob burning public property and causing riots ? I agree burning Quran is unacceptable in a secular country or any religious book.

Same pattern in France, same in London, other European countries, mob comes out on blasphemy charges in Pakistan, Bangladesh etc? No “Hindutva” there.
Your post is really weird.

What does a secular country have to do with this.

In general you cannot burn any book in any country living. It could be of any religion

What is breast tax. Is it what i think it is? Cause you never know what goes down in India

Your post is really weird.

What does a secular country have to do with this.

In general you cannot burn any book in any country living. It could be of any religion
Your post is weirder, I have acknowledged that burning any religious book is wrong, you are still doing gymnastics and haven’t said rioting and burning public property is even worse as real people could die/ get injured, people’s livelihood can get affected etc.

Is India my country?

Why would i be concerned with who is burning property in your country.

Oh you assuming, muslims of pakistan should take responsibility of what muslims of india do. ...

People who engage in violence over a book are mentally unstable imo and should be forcibly admitted to a mental health facility.

Since the post hangs freely. Let me ask in the same vein.

Please don't take offense my Muslim brothers. But whenever we discusss pedophilia, slavery in the past, then most of you just quiet down or some simply say that's not evil at all.

But when we talk about these issues, you sound very modern and call pedophila and slavery as evil acts.

See this is why i didnt judge @DeadlyVenom mian. Because when you are discussing India, stupidity has alot of possibilities over there.

So Indians used to charge a Breast tax :zaka
When it comes to Hindus, the extremists will say the past is the past. They will dig up the grave of a dead Muslim king and call him evil but cover up the scandals of their dead leaders.

We need to discuss this Breast Tax further in a new thread :zaka