Deadline for squad announcement - April 23: Predict Pakistan's squad for the World Cup

Please select 15.

This would be my Squad:

1) Fakhar Zaman
2) Babar Azam
3) Haris Sohail
4) Muhammad Hafeez
5) Sarfaraz Ahmed (C) (WK)
6) Umar Akmal
7) Shadab Khan
8) Imad Wasim
9) Muhammad Amir
10) Hasan Ali
11) Shaheen Shah Afridi

12) Faheem Ashraf
13) Umer Khan
14) Imam-Ul-Haq
15) Junaid Khan

I'm quite surprised people still want Malik in the team in my opinion if Hafeez is fit we don't need Malik in the squad at all hopefully selectors can understand this thing

After PM's displeasure, though it's very late, I hope sense will prevail and somehow the following squad will be selected after sudden big steps :

Sharjeel
Fakhar
Azhar/Shahzaib
Saud
Haris
Sarfraz (c)
Hafeez (vc)
Imad
A.Yameen
Shadab
Kashif
Hasan
Junaid
Shaheen
Sadaf

Reserves

Azhar/Shahzaib, Babar, Asif, Irfan khan Rumman

After PM's displeasure, though it's very late, I hope sense will prevail and somehow the following squad will be selected after sudden big steps :

Sharjeel
Fakhar
Azhar/Shahzaib
Saud
Haris
Sarfraz (c)
Hafeez (vc)
Imad
A.Yameen
Shadab
Kashif
Hasan
Junaid
Shaheen
Sadaf

Reserves

Azhar/Shahzaib, Babar, Asif, Irfan khan Rumman

So basically you're expecting most of the players to be dropped, and banned players to be selected alongside a bunch of debutants. Sounds like a plan!

Atleast they are match winners/changers unlike favourites compromise of nephews, sons, blue eyed boys of Mickey etc.

Which players in my list exactly you have issues with?
Sharjeel? Shahzaib? Best modern openers by miles in our setup, no one comes close to them except Fakhar.
Azhar? Not a modern opener yes, but he's selfless individual who complemented Fakhar very well in CT esp in SF and in the Final, but after that got dropped for nephew without given a long run with Fakhar and was forced to retire because people still had Azhar/Fakhar combination fresh in their mind so he could be 'dangerous' for Imam's spot.

Saad Shakeel? Best young batsman in the country by a mile who doesn't eat balls up like favourite babar and instead relies on strike rotation.

Kashif bhatti? Best spinner in the country in longer formats, if SC and management aren't picking him and if he doesn't play PSL doesn't mean he don't exist.

Sadaf Hussain? Unmatched list A record, again getting ignored by SC, because of personal grudge of some board member, doesn't mean he doesn't exist or isn't one of the most potent Oneday and test bowler in the country.

This is the best possible squad we can pick for the WC if we select on 99.9% merit imo

Atleast they are match winners/changers unlike favourites compromise of nephews, sons, blue eyed boys of Mickey etc.

Which players in my list exactly you have issues with?
Sharjeel? Shahzaib? Best modern openers by miles in our setup, no one comes close to them except Fakhar.
Azhar? Not a modern opener yes, but he's selfless individual who complemented Fakhar very well in CT esp in SF and in the Final, but after that got dropped for nephew without given a long run with Fakhar and was forced to retire because people still had Azhar/Fakhar combination fresh in their mind so he could be 'dangerous' for Imam's spot.

Saad Shakeel? Best young batsman in the country by a mile who doesn't eat balls up like favourite babar and instead relies on strike rotation.

Kashif bhatti? Best spinner in the country in longer formats, if SC and management aren't picking him and if he doesn't play PSL doesn't mean he don't exist.

Sadaf Hussain? Unmatched list A record, again getting ignored by SC, because of personal grudge of some board member, doesn't mean he doesn't exist or isn't one of the most potent Oneday and test bowler in the country.

This is the best possible squad we can pick for the WC if we select on 99.9% merit imo

My point was that your squad is not a realistic one, not even close.

What's the point in discussing completely random scenarios that will not come to fruition?

Worst part is Malik is going to be there along with nephew. With two out of the top 5 being complete duds how can you expect team to perform?

Then Fakhar is hot or cold now, Haris Sohail has garbage fitness and cannot bat at a decent click. That only leaves Babar.

Good luck winning the WC (or going deep) with one batsman.

I hope Saad Ali gets the last two games and absolutely makes the number 4/5 position his own.

If I were to pick a top 6:

Fakhar
Imam :facepalm:
Babar
Saad/Haris
Hafeez
Sarfaraz

I hope Saad Ali gets the last two games and absolutely makes the number 4/5 position his own.

If I were to pick a top 6:

Fakhar
Imam :facepalm:
Babar
Saad/Haris
Hafeez
Sarfaraz

Why does Saad Ali have only one century in List A?

Ideal world

1.Sharjeel Khan
2.Fakhar Zaman
3.Babar Azam
4.Haris Sohail
5.Mohammad Hafeez
6.Sarfraz Ahmed (wk)
7.Imad Wasim

My point was that your squad is not a realistic one, not even close.

What's the point in discussing completely random scenarios that will not come to fruition?

Shahzaib is very unrealistic I agree.
But for other selections, all you need is sincerity. Nothing else.

How can anyone, who wants to select best possible squad for the WC , is gonna ignore best players in the circuit? I Understand in Pakistan there's no merit but IK's interference could come in handy and ensure merit. And if there's merit, the names of Saud, Sadaf, Kashif have to be in discussion and Sharjeel's inclusion have to be on the cards as it's in PCB's hand to call him early

Shahzaib is very unrealistic I agree.
But for other selections, all you need is sincerity. Nothing else.

How can anyone, who wants to select best possible squad for the WC , is gonna ignore best players in the circuit? I Understand in Pakistan there's no merit but IK's interference could come in handy and ensure merit. And if there's merit, the names of Saud, Sadaf, Kashif have to be in discussion and Sharjeel's inclusion have to be on the cards as it's in PCB's hand to call him early

No team in the world will pick players out of blue who have never played for the country before and thrust them into a World Cup. Forget everything else, it's unfair on the players themselves.

I don't think Saud, Kashif etc will mind getting a call up for the WC. Infact they will be disheartened if they don't get selected because they aren't even in the discussion despite terrific performances and more so when we are in need of genuine wicket taking spinner and a reliable batsman at 3 who's good at strike rotation.

They would just need backing from the managmnt and the confidence which unfortunately non favourites don't get in our cricket

Shaping Up the World Cup Squad

With just few months left for the world cup, Pakistan Team is still uncertain on who will be the 15 for the world cup. The dilemma is as follows:

Openers
Fakhar Zaman
Imam ul Haq
(1 Spot)

Batsmen
Shoaib Malik
Babar Azam
(1 spot)

Wicket Keepers
Sarfraz Ahmed (c)

All Rounders (We can call them spinners too)
Mohammad Hafeez
Imad Wasim
Shadab Khan

Pacers
Hasan Ali
Faheem Ashraf
Shaheen Shah Afridi
(2 Spots)

There can be two scenarios: either take 2 openers only, which means that there will be two spots available to fill in the middle order, the second scenario is take 3 openers meaning that only one spot available for the middle order.

3rd Opening Spot War - Ahmad Shahzad vs Shan Masood: Shan Masood has been poor during this series so far, I think this will open the door of the national team for Ahmad Shahzad (in case the management decides to take a 3rd opener)

Middle Order War - Umar Akmal vs Haris Sohail vs Asif Ali: in case of 3 openers I think Asif Ali should fill the batsman spot left in the team, and in case of 2 spots available Haris should be left out, he is classy while driving but he cant rotate the strike, we have too many similar batsmen and we cant afford another one.

Pace bowling: Amir has been very disappointing, Hasnain is too young and Abbas has been tried very late, which indicates Junaid and Shinwari could be the possible candidates for the two spots left. The management and selection committee might prefer the experience of Amir and junaid.

Concluding the discussion, My squad would be the following:

Imam ul Haq
Fakhar Zaman
Babar Azam
Shoaib Malik
Sarfraz Ahmed
Asif Ali
Imad Wasim
Shadab Khan
Hasan Ali
Junaid Khan
Shaheen Shah Afridi

Ahmad Shahzad/Umar Akmal
Mohammad Hafeez
Faheem Ashraf
Usman Shinwari

Yes every team pick squad on merit, we don't. It's never late to correct yourself and start thinking about the country. It's better to select deserving newbies than selfish, incapable oldies for the WC.

I would pick this team. I think it's the best we have atm out of the current lot:

1.Fakhar Zaman
2. Imam ul Haq
3. Babar Azam
4. Haris Sohail
5. Malik
6. Sarfaraz
7. Shadab Khan
8. Faheem Ashraf
9. Hassan Ali
10. Amir
11. Shaheen Afridi

12. Imad Wasim
13. Asif Ali
14. Junaid Khan
15. Hafeez

1. Fakhar Zaman
2. Imam ul Haq
3. Babar Azam
4. M Hafeez
5. Sarfraz Ahmed
6. Shoaib Malik
7. Imad Wasim
8. Shadab Khan
9. Hasan Ali
10. Junaid Khan
11. Shaheen Shah Afridi

12. Kamran Akmal
13. Haris Sohail
14. Usman Shinwari
15. Fahim Ashraf

I think this is a decent squad. They can change the starting 11 according to the conditions and opponent. Maybe Akmal for Asif Ali.

Fakhar
Imam
Babar
Sarfraz
Malik
Hafeez
Imad
Shadab
Amir
Hasan Ali
Shaheen

Bench:
Junaid Khan
Faheem Ashraf
Asif Ali
Haris Sohail
Umar Akmal

Don't know why people are so Angry at Team For losing against Australia Thus Australian Side is Playing for A year .Every player Knows his role in team.With Same Captain.
And Pakistan has made as many changes as 8 from previous South African Squad We have Almost won The South Africa series.New Zeeland Series .

Our Team Was More or less awas already been decided for world cup
1.Fakhar.
2.Imam
3.Babar.
4.Haris Sohail.
5.HAfeez/
6.Shoaib Malik
7.Sarfraz Ahmad
8.Imad
9.Shadab
10.Shaeen
11.Hasan
12.FAHEEM
13.Umar Akmal(reserve wicketkeeper)./Rizwan(Reserve Wicketkeeper)
14.Amir/Junaid Khan/Shinwari
15.Shan Masood/Asif Ali.

Cant believe some people actually want Bazid Khan as chief selector for Pakistan after seeing how he rates some of the guys over others.

He will be worse then inzi. Can't believe he didn't pick haris in there.

My XI:

Fakhar Zaman
Babar Azam
Haris
Umar Akmal
Hafeez
Asif Ali
Imad (possibly captain)
Sarfraz/Rizwan (wk)
Hasan Ali
Amir/Hasnain
Shaheen

If they don't pick Asif Ali in the squad, bring in Imam to open and shift everyone one down the order.

Haris, Imad and Hafeez can bowl 20 overs of spin.

Fakhar
Imam
Babar
Harris
Umar akmal
Malik
Sarfaraz
Shadab
Imad
Hassan
Shaheen
Junaid
Faheem
Shan Masood
Aamir/Shinwari

Imam-ul-Haq
Fakhar Zaman
Babar Azam
Muhammad Hafeez
Haris Sohail
Sarfaraz Ahmed
Imad Wasim
Shadab Khan
Hasan Ali
Shoaib Malik
Umar Akmal
Umer Khan
Junaid Khan
Muhammad Amir
Shaheen Shah Afridi

Openers:
Imam
Fakhar
Shehzad

Middle
Babar
Harris
Sarfaraz

Allrounders
Hafeez
Imad
Faheem
Shadab

Bowlers:
Umer Khan
Hasan
Amir
Junaid
Shaheen

Your wc squad?

Mine:
Fakhar
Imam
Babar
Haris
Umar
Asif
Faheem
Shadab
Imad
Sarfi
Hasan
Shaheen
Amir
Hasnain
Rauf would be the 15th but he wasn't select for the aussies series

Fakhar, Imam, Abid - Openers
Babar, Haris, Malik, Hafeez, - Middle order
Safaraz - WK
Imad, Shadab, Faheem - All rounders
Amir, Hasan, Shaheen, Junaid - Bowlers

It's a joke that we have no choice but to play both Malik and Hafeez imo, but it is what it is. All other options have hardly any talent and very inconsistent e.g. Akmal, Asif, Shan, Talat. May as well go with the experience of the senior 2.

Anyone except selfish players. That way, I won't have to regret their performance or to know they could have done it and had the time to do it, but they played for personal milestones

Pakistan team for world cup 2019

Batsmen

Fakhar
Imam
Abid
Babar
Hafeez(if available)
Asif ali

Keepers

Sarfraz
Rizwan

All rounders
Shadab
Imad
Amir yamin

Fast bowlers

Shaheen
Junaid
Amir
Hassan
Husnain

My starting 11

Fakhar
Imam
Babar
Hafeez
Sarfraz
Asif
Shadab
Hassan
Amir
Shaheen
Husnain

Pakistan has a lot of problems. Fakhar and hafeez are the only two batsmen who can play long and play with good pace ,there are only bit and pieces all rounders like shadab, yamin and imad and pakistan can only play one of them. Asif ali can provide some impetus in the end with his quick 30/40.

There isn't much debate:

1. Imam Ul Haq
2. Fakhar Zaman
3. Babar Azam
4. Haris Sohail
5. Shoaib Malik
6. Asif Ali
7. Sarfraz Ahmed
8. Imad Wasim
9. Shadab Khan
10. Hasan Ali
11. Shaheen Afridi
12. Faheem Ashraf

Only 3 spots up for grabs that means:

13. Usman Shinwari
14. Junaid Khan
15. Abid Ali

I think the list has to change now.

1. Fakhar
2. Abid Ali
3. Imam

4. Rizwan
5. Malik
6. Hafeez
7. Babar

8. Sarfraz

9. Shadab
10. Amir Yamin over Faheem as we need a batting all rounder
11. Imad Wasim

12. Hassan
13. Shaheen
14. Junaid Khan
15. Hasnain ( We should go with a surprise package)

Barring an Umar Akmal special in the 5th ODI, I'd go:

Fakhar
Abid
Babar
Rizwan
Hafeez
Sarfraz* (WK)
Imad (VC)
Shadab
Hasan
Shaheen
Hasnain

Bench: Imam, Haris, Faheem, Junaid

If Hafeez is injured, get Umar to warm the bench and slot Haris in the XI.

This seems realistic asides from keeping Malik out. That somehow needs to happen.

Well first of all these guys are 'in', for sure with or without performances :-
1. Mohammed Hafeez (Legend of Pakistan cricket, period)
2. Shoaib Malik (Senior player - what more needs to be said)
3. Sarfraz (Captain's are always backed by PCB chairmen, even when they are consistently awful in both captaincy and their own performances - that's the sign of a great PCB chairman)
4. Mohammed Amir (best bowler in the world 'on his day' and that will keep him in the team - except his day is only once or twice a decade!)
4. Imam ul Haq (he's actually performed on merit, but chances are he would be there even if he hadn't)
5. Shan Masood (good kid)

As for others, I'm backing Usman Shinwari to make it as I get the feeling someone in team management / selectors think-tank think he is a brilliant bowler <-- I'm sure Chris Gayle and Hazratullah Zazai will look forward to his lollypops keenly.

Umar Akmal has been poor so far

needs to hit something special if he wants to come to England

I would personally take Abid Ali, Haris Sohail and Mohammed Rizwan in place of Hafeez, Shoaib Malik and Sarfraz (WK) respectively - because we all know right away that their 'seniority' and 'experience' counts for nothing because they have a track record of failing consistently when the team looks up to them to deliver.

I don't think it will be any different to what we have seen and personally it wouldn't be what I want

1. Fakhar Zaman
2. Imam-ul-Haq
3. Babar Azam
4. Haris Sohail
5. Umar Akmal
6. Sarfaraz Ahmed
7. Imad Wasim
8. Shadab Khan
9. Hasan Ali
10. Shaheen Shah Afridi
11. Mohammad Abbas

12. Shoaib Malik/Mohammed Hafeez - He will take one of Malik or Hafeez. Malik isn't in great form and Hafeez is currently injured.
13. Shan Masood
14. Mohammad Hasnain/Faheem Ashraf - Faheem Ashraf gives a "batting bonus" but if given a chance until the world cup Hasnain could be on the plane.
15. Junaid Khan/Another Spinner (not Yasir Shah) - they need another spinner besides Imad and Shadab but I don't know and also don't think it will be Yasir Shah.

The 15th spot was quite difficult to think of cause I didn't know who they could have gone with. I personally would have selected Aamir Yamin, Zafar Gohar/Umer Khan, Saad Ali and a back-up keeper.

Yeah..... there are quite a few changes I would make with my team. Out go Imam, U.Akmal and Mohammad Abbas. In come Shan/Abid maybe more Shan because the England pitches would probably suit him more since he likes to play more on the square. Umar Akmal would shifted with Aamir Yamin with maybe Sarfaraz moving to No.5 and Yamin coming in at No.6. Abbas for me goes out for young, unknown quantity Hasnain or with experienced Junaid Khan. For me Hasnain, Right Arm Fast bowler would be great in England pitches. Malik/Hafeez would traded for Saad Ali straight away even though I haven't seen enough of him and today wasn't good enough example of his ability or I would take Asif Ali a genuine hitter at No.6 or Mohammad Rizwan who has been in good nick. Faheem Ashraf loses his spot to Mohammad Amir and Umer Khan would be the other spinner I would take rather than Yasir Shah. So:

1. Fakhar Zaman
2. Shan Masood
3. Babar Azam
4. Haris Sohail/Mohammad Rizwan
5. Sarfaraz Ahmed (C/WK)
6. Aamir Yamin
7. Imad Wasim
8. Shadab Khan
9. Hasan Ali
10. Mohammad Hasnain
11. Shaheen Shah Afridi

12. Abid Ali/Asif Ali
13. Umer Khan/Saad Ali
14. Mohammad Amir
15. Junaid Khan

If we can somehow squeeze in Umer Khan as a surprise package that would be great :kakmal

Pakistan's WC squad

Fakhar
Imam( he's not a ******, he has proven it and is improving day by day)
Babar
Hafeez( will play in the middle order but can open as well, if needed)
Shoaib ( experience is needed in a WC)
Asif Ali ( pitches in England are true and he can win games for us)
Shadab( needs to find his mojo, hasn't been the same bowler in recent times but needs to step up)
Imad Wasim ( we might need a second spinner in certain games where the wicket would be on the slower side)
Hassan
Shaheen
Amir( some might disagree but if he clicks and finds his rhythm, swing and wicket taking ability, he would prove to be a fantastic option at the WC)
Faheem Ashraf ( because we have no other option and we haven't given chances to Aamir Yamen)
Junaid/ Shinwari/ Hasnain/ Abbas/ Wahab( you can help me here because I'm not sure of this spot).
Sarfaraz ( obviously our captain and wicket keeper batsman).
We should have a second keeper in the squad because you need a back up wicket keeper.
The options are Rizwan and Abid Ali... Abid looked more compact and technically sound. If he performs well in the last odi as well, who knows he might make it.
Eagerly waiting for your comments... Any suggestions will be valuable.

Imam Ul Haq
Fakhar Zaman
Babar Azam
Haris Sohail
Mohammad Hafeez
Sarfraz Ahmed
Imad Wasim
Shadab Khan
Hasan Ali
Junaid Khan
Shaheen Afridi

Mohammad Amir
Faheem Ashraf
Mohammad Rizwan
Asif Ali

Umer Khan
Ahmed Shehzad
Shoaib Malik
Usman Shinwari
Wahab Riaz

I am sure at least 13 players from this list will be in WC -

Imam, Fakhar, Babar, Haris, Hafeez, Malik, Sarfraz, Imad, Shadab, Faheem, Amir, Hasan, Shaheen

Rest 2 most likely Rizwan & JK. PAK is the most settled team (in terms of selection, not performance) in WC - more than a year back PCT management had confirmed selecting at least 12 players for WC regardless of whatever; Shaheen is the only new addition in last 1 year.

This series is played against Australia reserves .... had it been against AFG reserves and still had the result been 0-4 (so far), yet those 13 would have been on UK bound flight. [MENTION=9]Saj[/MENTION] posted a list of PAK's W/L in last 15 months against any team ranked 7th or higher - still it was enough for Management to stick to those core players, therefore don't think anything else could have changed the squad.

Fakhar
Imam
Babar
Malik
Hafeez
Sarfaraz
Rizwan/Abid Ali ( 2nd keeper)
Asif Ali
Faheem
Imad
Shadab
Hasan
Shaheen
Amir
Hasnain/Junaid( I would not go with Shinwari or Abbas).
Some might say no need of another keeper, but it's a must.

Bro I'm not sure about Haris. The reason being strike rate.... Imam, Babar are already there. With this team consisting of fakhar, imam, Babar, Shoaib, Hafiz, Sarfaraz, all-rounders and the bowlers, Haris won't make it to the playing 11. Won't make any sense to have Haris in the squad at the cost of Asif who can win us quite a few matches coming in the slog overs. I know Haris is a good player, and won't be surprised if he gets selected, but it would be better off having Asif, because already 2,3 player slow hi khelte Hain...

I believe, you were responding me - agree with your point, though not sure if Asif is that good, after Josh Buttler, you are expecting him to play Abdur Razzak role ..... might be a bit too much, but you never know - he has everything.

Don't think logic works much in election for PCT, which is a colony of Inzamam, Arthur is his Viceroy, Sarfraz honorary Governor and players are native subjects, apart from ... you know. It's about who your CS likes to be in WC ... rest will fail fitness test.

Hahahaha.... No bro I'm not expecting him to be Abdul Razzaq.... I just want him to be Asif Ali.... Bhai aap hi bolo koi choice hai kya hamare pass???

Team should be

Fakhar
??
Babar
Rizwan/Haris
Sarfraz
Shadab
Faheem
Imad
Hasan
Junaid
Hasan

1. Fakhar
2. Abid Ali
3. Babar A.
4. Rizwan
5. Sarfraz
6. Hafeez ( Ahead of Malik if fit)
7. Shadab
8. Faheem / Imad ( Based on pitch condition) Ideally would want Amir Yamin here ahead of Faheem
9. Hassan
10. Shaheen
11. Junaid

12. Imad
13. Malik
14. Imam ( Don't want him but unlikely he will get dropped)
15. Hasnain ( Need to keep him as a surprise package)

Amir / Shinwari to miss out one on form and another on inconsistency (aside from no ball issues) that can be crucial in a close game

1. Fakhar Zaman
2. Imam ul Haq
3. Babar Azam
4. Haris Sohail
5. Sarfraz Ahmed (c) (wk)
6. Mohammad Hafeez
7. Imad Wasim
8. Shadab Khan
9. Hasan Ali
10. Shaheen Afridi
11. Junaid Khan

12. Mohammad Amir
13. Faheem Ashraf
14. Abid Ali
15. Shoaib Malik

Will the pcb select the same slected world cup squad for the tour of england prior to the world cup???

We have too many accumulators in the lineup I would have this team playing the world cup :

1. Fakhar Zaman
2. Abid Ali
3. Babar Azam
4. Hafeez
5. Sarfaraz
6. Asif Ali
7. Imad Wasim
8. Faheem Ashraf
9. Hassan Ali
10. Amir
11. Shaheen Afridi

12. Shadab Khan
13. Malik
14. Junaid Khan
15. Imam ul Haq

Pakistan should also take some extra players like Srilanka.

The squad which will be picked and one which I feel should be picked are probably two different things. In terms of who I believe to be likely to enter the WC based on the selection policies, coach and captain:

1. Imam ul-Haq
2. Fakhar Zaman
3. Babar Azam
4. Haris Sohail
5. Shoaib Malik
6. Sarfraz Ahmed wk/c
7. Imad Wasim
8. Hasan Ali
9. Shadab Khan
10. Faheem Ashraf
11. Shaheen Shah Afridi
12. Junaid Khan/Muhammad Amir
13 -
14 -
15 -

I feel like 3 places are up for grabs at the moment. Personally I'd have Junaid Khan over Muhammad Amir, with the possible inclusion of one other pace bowler (Hasnain/Rauf/Shinwari/Abbas), while one the remaining spots belong to either Abid Ali or Muhammad Rizwan, with the final bowler being a 2nd/3rd spinner in Umer Khan.

The scary part is I believe Hafeez may be recalled if fit.

The best possible starting XI I see is...and one that is realistic:

1. Imam
2. Fakhar
3. Babar
4. Sohail
5. Malik
6. Sarfraz
7. Imad
8. Shadab
9. Ashraf
10. Hasan
11. Afridi

Shadab will go to England but it's lamentable how Pakistan always makes the wrong investments.

Since the Asia Cup, Shadab has gone south in both batting and bowling. Excluding the match v Hong Kong, he averages 14 and 35 with bat and ball.

I don't like this trend of fast-tracking kids after just six weeks of PSL into the national team while consistent domestic performers like Zafar Gohar sit on bench. It doesn't do the team any good - nor the youngster for his development as he's bound to get exposed.

X8NqTOM.jpg

1.Fakhar.
2.Imam
3.Abid Ali
4.Babar.
5.Haris Sohail.
6.Hafeez/Malik
7.Sarfraz Ahmad
8.Imad
9.Shadab
10.Shaeen
11.Hasan
12.Shinwari
13.Rizwan
14.Amir
15.Asif Ali.

My squad and likely squad, though I would have loved to have a good off spinner and Saud Shakil (if only they gave him opportunities beforehand).

Shadab will go to England but it's lamentable how Pakistan always makes the wrong investments.

Since the Asia Cup, Shadab has gone south in both batting and bowling. Excluding the match v Hong Kong, he averages 14 and 35 with bat and ball.

I don't like this trend of fast-tracking kids after just six weeks of PSL into the national team while consistent domestic performers like Zafar Gohar sit on bench. It doesn't do the team any good - nor the youngster for his development as he's bound to get exposed.

He's been awful with the bat but even after the Asia Cup he's bowled some good spells, like 1-25(10) and 4-38(10) vs New Zealand and 1-41(10) and 2-46(10) vs South Africa.

It's not as though he can't perform against top teams.

Inclusion

My predicted squad :
1.Fakhar Zaman
2. Imam Ul Haq
3. Abid Ali
4. Babar Azam
5. Shoaib Malik
6. Mohammed Hafeez (if fit otherwise Umar Akmal or Asif Ali)
7. Haris Sohail
8. Sarfraz Ahmed (C)
9. Shadab Khan
10. Imad Wasim
11. Faheem Ashraf
12. Shaheen Shah Afridi
13. Hasan Ali
14. Muhammed Amir
15. Usman Shinwari
16. Muhammed Rizwan

So the squad for the England series has to be the World Cup playing squad.

1.Imam Ul Haq
2.Fakhar Zaman
3.Babar Azam
4.Haris Sohail
5.Mohammad Rizwan
6.Mohammad Hafeez
7.Imad Wasim
8.Shadab Khan
9.Hasan Ali
10.Mohammad Amir
11.Shaheen Afridi

Batting till 10, Shadab and Hasan aren't all rounders but they can hold a bat and smash a few.

[MENTION=133760]Abdullah719[/MENTION]

There should be a thread for Pick your WC squad too where we post squad of our choice along with this predict one.

Was waiting till the end of the Australia series to finalise my squad.

1. Imam
2. Fakhar
3. Abid
4. Babar
5. Haris
6. Hafeez
7. Rizwan
8. Sarfaraz
9. Imad
10. Shadab
11. Faheem
12. Hasan
13. Shaheen
14. Hasnain
15. Shinwari :facepalm:

We lack "firepower" and a genuine spinner.

I think that's the best possible squad we can have.

I think this would probably be the squad with Faheem coming in for Junaid and Malik coming in for Abid.. we all know Malik ain't gonna be dropped for his supposedly wealth of experience that he brings to the table.

1. Imam
2. Hafeez
3. Fakhar
4. Babar
5. Abid
6. Asif
7. Harris
8. Sarfaraz
9. Shadab
10. Afridi
11. Hasnain
12. Shinwari
13. Hasan
14. Fahim
15. Imad /Rizwan/Malik (although I am not sold on any of the three... I would personally pick a genuine spinner like Yasir)

1. Fakhar
2. Imam
3. Babar
4. Hafeez (if fit) else Abid
5. Rizwan
6. Haris
7. Sarfraz
8. Asif
9. Faheem
10. Shadab
11. Imad
12. Hasan
13. Amir
14. Shaheen
15. Shinwari (no other option)

1.Imam Ul Haq
2.Fakhar Zaman
3.Babar Azam
4.Haris Sohail
5.Mohammad Rizwan
6.Mohammad Hafeez
7.Imad Wasim
8.Shadab Khan
9.Hasan Ali
10.Mohammad Amir
11.Shaheen Afridi

Batting till 10, Shadab and Hasan aren't all rounders but they can hold a bat and smash a few.

Looks solid.

1.Imam
2.Fakhar
3.Abid
4.Babar
5.Haris
6.Hafeez
7.Rizwan
8.Sarfraz
9.Shadab
10.Imad
11.Hasan