Desis at The Airport

I have also seen that the big gang of people who come to see off their relative/s bring their own food and have a picnic either outside one of the airport cafes', benches inside the airport or even in the car park!!

I once witnessed a huge desi family who obviously had already waved goodbye to their traveller (I think), were sat outside Costa Coffee eating parathas, samosas, pakoras, biryani etc. The food was in lots of Asda carrier bags and in plastic containers including re-used margarine tubs.

I think they had bought couple of cups of tea/ coffee so that they could sit and eat outside the cafe. You could smell the food from a mile and passers by couldn't help but notice what was going on :D

My wife is so tight she always tries and stop me eating at any of the airport cafes and insists on packing her own sandwiches and crisps. I always want to eat out but when I've paid £10 for a bad sandwich and a soft drink I always think maybe she was right. :91:

I love this thread, has made a laugh a lot. Great one Saj.

a lot of the behaviour is typical and funny, but sometimes embarrassing! Though what is not funny is the lack of queuing. Unless it is a very old person, I always correct them.

Had the pleasure of visiting the airport the other day to take a relative there who was flying to Pakistan.

Some things never change :) Suitcases open, things being moved around from suitcase to suitcase. I even saw a full blown out family argument with some terrible language even from the women.

Had a maulana saheb there too who thought he could go to the front of the queue, much to the annoyance of other passengers.

32kg weight allowance, more like 62kg per person :)

Desi aunties take all the forks, spoons, and remaining food and quickly stuff it in their purses before getting off of the plane. :))

If anyone has ever been through immigration at Indira Gandhi International airport more than a few times they will notice all the immigration officers look exactly the same. Middle aged, bespectacled men with thick moushtaches. Seriously, all the Indians or anyone who goes through there next time, observe this, quite surreal.

the amount of extortion going on in Pakitani airports by authorities is baffling..

guess someone's getting paid :zardari

Mum packed me home made chicken on my way to France in 2006 and I ate the food in the plane :facepalm:

Some of the habits are annoying; but i think the "2 vans to see off one person" is kind of cute.
They are often emotional affairs; for e.g. a 24 yr old may be going as a laborer for the first time in his life and may be 3 years before he is back. Or a worker in the Gulf may be leaving his wife and children behind for a year. When the whole family goes, the parents in the first case and wife/children in the 2nd case may feel a bit better.

OTTH, its nice to see the arrivals hall when people returning after a long time are mobbed by emotional family members

Mum packed me home made chicken on my way to France in 2006 and I ate the food in the plane :facepalm:

Enjoy your mothers cooking while you can. Those who stay far from their mothers knows the value of a mother's cooked meal

If anyone has ever been through immigration at Indira Gandhi International airport more than a few times they will notice all the immigration officers look exactly the same. Middle aged, bespectacled men with thick moushtaches. Seriously, all the Indians or anyone who goes through there next time, observe this, quite surreal.

Lol, you are right.
And in my only trip there, the agent greeted me saying "Haaii"

Why would someone take disposable forks and spoons.

U wont believe this aunty i know she returned frm umrah and she even had the toothpick and tissuepaper frm the plane all nicely packed with her. This other time i was taking a flight from dunedin to auckland and this south indian guy with his family half way into the flight sat on the floor and started eating every1 was like wth so yh we all do see diff incidents at sme point :-) so jat njoy and be happy

Sent from my IM-A820L using Tapatalk 2

Last time while traveling to Mumbai a Desi mom (with a baby) at Heathrow.

I never understood why did she carry so much of hand baggage (especially having a few month old baby with her) while traveling alone

But she has no tissue or wet wipes.
Baby is wearing clothes as if it has to go on war with so many buckles and buttons.
Keep feeding her while the boarding starts.

Result, the baby throws up and she has nothing to help her clean. so many backpacks that she is literally crying.

We had to end up helping her clean the baby and herself. Felt pity for her but was angry too.

She is not alone, I have seen many doing the same thing. Go too heavy with baggages while carrying small babies.

Another instance

One older punjabi lady sitting next to me.

Some passengers asked for coke and the steward gave them the coke cans.

This lady asked me "Tum bhi maango. Paise tho humne bhi diya hai ticket ka. Sirf unko coke kyun de rahi hai ?".

I said "It's okay. I don't drink coke anyway."

The lady "Koi nahin. Leke tho aao. I will take it" :O

hehe, I will check that when I go next. Now a days I travel through Mumbai or Bangalore instead of Delhi.

But I can see what you mean.

Also, I am not sure if you have noticed another thing with Delhi immigration officers or not, they all look very very serious. Silent, just take the passport, look at you, stamp and give it back. No word uttered.

In Mumbai atleast I have seen the officers talking to you sometimes (especially to my little daughter). :)

Flight from Western countries coming in to land at Saudi airports.

Just before landing, lots of arab looking women form queues outside toilets. Most in the queues enter wearing western clothing (especially short skirts/short dresses/ tight jeans etc) but exit wearing the niqab or hijab.

The reverse situation just after flights take off from Saudi airports going to Western destinations.

A great thread:))!

Had the pleasure of visiting the airport the other day to take a relative there who was flying to Pakistan.

Some things never change :) Suitcases open, things being moved around from suitcase to suitcase. I even saw a full blown out family argument with some terrible language even from the women.

Had a maulana saheb there too who thought he could go to the front of the queue, much to the annoyance of other passengers.

32kg weight allowance, more like 62kg per person :)

Must have been hilarious stuff:))!

Also, I am not sure if you have noticed another thing with Delhi immigration officers or not, they all look very very serious. Silent, just take the passport, look at you, stamp and give it back. No words

LOL exactly this. Actually last time the guy mightve grumbled "you're welcome" :)

Just remembered the last time I went through Mika Singh was right behind me in line. He finally got these moushtachio zombies to utter a few words actually. They seemed to know him pretty well and were all "haanji sirjee". Mika then proceeded to get the phone # of two white women while at the luggage carousel.

LOL exactly this. Actually last time the guy mightve grumbled "you're welcome" :)

Just remembered the last time I went through Mika Singh was right behind me in line. He finally got these moushtachio zombies to utter a few words actually. They seemed to know him pretty well and were all "haanji sirjee". Mika then proceeded to get the phone # of two white women while at the luggage carousel.
Well that must be Mike then. Were the women russian by any chance ?

Oh wow just googled Mika

Friday, February 08, 2013 10:05:54 AM (IST)

Singer Mika Singh gets bail

Mumbai, Feb 8 (PTI): Bollywood singer Mika Singh, who was arrested last night at the international airport here for allegedly carrying Indian and foreign currency beyond permissible limit, was today granted bail for Rs one lakh, Customs officials said.
"Singh was let off after being granted bail for Rs one lakh. In his statement, the singer claimed he got the money for performing stage shows for two days abroad," an official said.
Singh, who arrived here from Bangkok by a private airline at around 7.30 PM yesterday, had been intercepted by the officials. During checking, he was found in possession of USD 12,000 and Rs 3 lakh cash.

Once at peshawar airport i was searched by customs as i was carrying silver jewellery. There were some glass bangles ( choorya) and some indian VCD's in one jewellery box. The custom official didn't open to see what was in it. He must have thought, it was jewels so kept it aside. He found nothing wrong with my luggage so he let me go. When i arrived in UK and checked my luggage that box was missing! I was robbed by custom official! But he got 3 to 400 rps worth of items only!

Flight from Western countries coming in to land at Saudi airports.

Just before landing, lots of arab looking women form queues outside toilets. Most in the queues enter wearing western clothing (especially short skirts/short dresses/ tight jeans etc) but exit wearing the niqab or hijab.

The reverse situation just after flights take off from Saudi airports going to Western destinations.

Not just to Saudi; you see such cases in flights fron Tehran to Dubai, and also the West to Dubai.
In the latter, the girls dont wear full Burqa like in Saudi, but they do wear more decent stuff than what they were wearing in their vacation

I have had my fair share of traveling around the world by different flight carriers but last trip with PIA was a memorable one.

Three incidents happened in one trip when I was flying from New York to Peshawar via London and Dubai back in early 2000.

At the JFK I noticed a desi guy in a full blown cowboy attire, this included those metal spurs on his long shoes, a black Levi jeans, a short brown leather jacket and big cow boy hat with a couple of shiny chains around his neck. He was constantly on the phone and kept on walking in front of waiting passengers in an attempt to display his importance. Me and my brother looked at each other and could not control our laughter.
Anyway, I got on the plane and did not notice whether he was on the plane or not.

Half an hour before making a stop over and Heathrow, the Pilot announced the request to get seated and be buckled up. Soon as this announcement was made, a choudry type desi guy stood up, pulled his bag out and walked absolute carefree towards and plane's door. He was dead serious and has neck stiffed with fake arrogance as if he was above the rules and regulations and it was too fussy for him to wait. This triggered a ripple effect and another guy followed him, followed by another and another.. so we had a queue formed in front the door while the plane was in flight. The air hostesses and pilot had given up after constant request, begging, and yelling to get them back to their seats. Some desi lady in the mean time had put her baby on the front seat's food tray and changed the baby's diaper since the rest room was busy (because landing announcements were made). She didn't have an extra plastic bag so I guess she just tossed the used diaper on the plane's carpet.
Now I am not sure what she fed the baby with but it was like an atomic reactor blown up. The baby diaper reeked with full potency and the entire plane smelled like poop.

In all that chaos, the uncle, wearing a white Shalwar qameez, next to me (looked like a shareef guy) had accidentally spilled some juice or water on his clothes (May be his brain got paralyzed by the diaper's aroma), so he pushed the button to call the air hostess. After a few minutes an over weighted wild and extremely vicious buffalo came and furiously asked, "KIA CHAHYAY ???" The miskeen uncle looked at his clothes and said "thora napkin laa dayn juice girr gaya hai".. she mumbled something and rushed towards the restroom and came back with an entire roll of a toilet paper that she had pulled out from the reserves and literally slammed it into the uncle's lap that hit him at some "nazuk area", the uncle could not stop the yelp and moaned in misery "oooii maaa, marr gaya". The misery on his face was not enough for the air hostess to give a flying flock so she disappeared. The uncle was left placing his hands in the center of his lap and bent over in pain.
Not sure exactly what was it but all of a sudden many small babies had started crying in a chorus (perhaps they were all getting a diaper change as part of getting ready routine before landing)
The pilots had gone crazy so they reported the queue situation at the plane's door to the Heathrow's security. The plane landed and doors were NEVER opened. Heathrow officials had instructed the pilot that EVERYONE stays on the plane while it gets refueled.
This was actually a very sad situation because many passengers had Heathrow as their final destination but after a lot of argument, hangama, and requests, the plane door was never opened and EVERYBODY had to travel to Dubai with us (even those who were supposed to get off at Heathrow). Thanks to choudry Sahib.

Now I find myself in the queue to get aboard for Dubai to Peshawar flight. All of a sudden this guy bumped me to cut the queue and stand in front of me, I looked at him and he made those miskeen shakkal and hand gesture of saying "aadab" as if saying, "yaar kher haina, mujhay queue mein apnay se aagey aaney dow". I smiled and said OK.
I got into my seat and noticed that passengers just kept pouring in even after all seats were occupied. Turns out, this small fokker airplane was severely overbooked. Believe it or not but the entire aisle area and walking passage was used to get them seated on the plane's carpet. It was all labor type passengers who didn't mind it, all they wanted was to go home without caring that it was now impossible for seated passengers to reach the lavatory. Deep inside my mind I had a mixed feeling and was sorta enjoying the funny pains of this trip on one hand, and on the other hand, I was sad that our folks still live in stone age.
Just before the landing, there were some forms distributed. The air hostess had given the stack to the front row passengers to pass it back as she there was no room to walk thru the aisle.
I got the form and noticed that there was no pen, luckily (or I should rather say unluckily) I had one in my pocket so I pulled it out and SOON AS I STARTED to write on the form, there were 100's of hands all around me, about ten hands on my right, 12 on my left, 15 thru the top my head, some thru my arms, I mean they were everywhere .. It was like when news reporters flood some important personality with mics and cameras. And I saw that every hand was holding that form.
For a moment I thought they didn't have a pen but I knew immediately what it was. But to take the doubts out of my mind, I offered my pen to one of hands and it was exactly what I suspected. They wanted me to fill out their forms as they did not know how to write.
Since these were my fellow Pakistanis and very cute and innocent ones, I found myself unable to refuse, so I think I ended up filling out about 50 forms. By this time I had a headache and my hand was tired. The pilot announced landing, thanks for the passengers sitting in the aisle area that no one could walk to the plane's door.

An amazing thing happened at the touch down. The entire plane started to clap very hard and cheered in joy. I looked around a literally outbursted in laughter. There was nothing in the world that could stop me from joining the party so I clapped as well (Dil khole kar). All my travel frustration vanished in a matter of seconds and I had a big smile at getting off the plane.

Our driver received me and I called home (in new york) upon arriving my home (in Peshawar) to let the family know that I have arrived safely.

My brother told me that the desi cowboy guy at JFK had missed his flight while he was busy showing off and was begging to the counter clerks to call the pilot and had him return back to JFK and pick him up.

^^ :))) honestly loved every bit of this !

We Pakistanis behave the same wherever go we in the world..the cowboy guy attempting to display his importance..that especially is our style hahaha

I have had my fair share of traveling around the world by different flight carriers but last trip with PIA was a memorable one.

Three incidents happened in one trip when I was flying from New York to Peshawar via London and Dubai back in early 2000.

At the JFK I noticed a desi guy in a full blown cowboy attire, this included those metal spurs on his long shoes, a black Levi jeans, a short brown leather jacket and big cow boy hat with a couple of shiny chains around his neck. He was constantly on the phone and kept on walking in front of waiting passengers in an attempt to display his importance. Me and my brother looked at each other and could not control our laughter.
Anyway, I got on the plane and did not notice whether he was on the plane or not.

Half an hour before making a stop over and Heathrow, the Pilot announced the request to get seated and be buckled up. Soon as this announcement was made, a choudry type desi guy stood up, pulled his bag out and walked absolute carefree towards and plane's door. He was dead serious and has neck stiffed with fake arrogance as if he was above the rules and regulations and it was too fussy for him to wait. This triggered a ripple effect and another guy followed him, followed by another and another.. so we had a queue formed in front the door while the plane was in flight. The air hostesses and pilot had given up after constant request, begging, and yelling to get them back to their seats. Some desi lady in the mean time had put her baby on the front seat's food tray and changed the baby's diaper since the rest room was busy (because landing announcements were made). She didn't have an extra plastic bag so I guess she just tossed the used diaper on the plane's carpet.
Now I am not sure what she fed the baby with but it was like an atomic reactor blown up. The baby diaper reeked with full potency and the entire plane smelled like poop.

In all that chaos, the uncle, wearing a white Shalwar qameez, next to me (looked like a shareef guy) had accidentally spilled some juice or water on his clothes (May be his brain got paralyzed by the diaper's aroma), so he pushed the button to call the air hostess. After a few minutes an over weighted wild and extremely vicious buffalo came and furiously asked, "KIA CHAHYAY ???" The miskeen uncle looked at his clothes and said "thora napkin laa dayn juice girr gaya hai".. she mumbled something and rushed towards the restroom and came back with an entire roll of a toilet paper that she had pulled out from the reserves and literally slammed it into the uncle's lap that hit him at some "nazuk area", the uncle could not stop the yelp and moaned in misery "oooii maaa, marr gaya". The misery on his face was not enough for the air hostess to give a flying flock so she disappeared. The uncle was left placing his hands in the center of his lap and bent over in pain.
Not sure exactly what was it but all of a sudden many small babies had started crying in a chorus (perhaps they were all getting a diaper change as part of getting ready routine before landing)
The pilots had gone crazy so they reported the queue situation at the plane's door to the Heathrow's security. The plane landed and doors were NEVER opened. Heathrow officials had instructed the pilot that EVERYONE stays on the plane while it gets refueled.
This was actually a very sad situation because many passengers had Heathrow as their final destination but after a lot of argument, hangama, and requests, the plane door was never opened and EVERYBODY had to travel to Dubai with us (even those who were supposed to get off at Heathrow). Thanks to choudry Sahib.

Now I find myself in the queue to get aboard for Dubai to Peshawar flight. All of a sudden this guy bumped me to cut the queue and stand in front of me, I looked at him and he made those miskeen shakkal and hand gesture of saying "aadab" as if saying, "yaar kher haina, mujhay queue mein apnay se aagey aaney dow". I smiled and said OK.
I got into my seat and noticed that passengers just kept pouring in even after all seats were occupied. Turns out, this small fokker airplane was severely overbooked. Believe it or not but the entire aisle area and walking passage was used to get them seated on the plane's carpet. It was all labor type passengers who didn't mind it, all they wanted was to go home without caring that it was now impossible for seated passengers to reach the lavatory. Deep inside my mind I had a mixed feeling and was sorta enjoying the funny pains of this trip on one hand, and on the other hand, I was sad that our folks still live in stone age.
Just before the landing, there were some forms distributed. The air hostess had given the stack to the front row passengers to pass it back as she there was no room to walk thru the aisle.
I got the form and noticed that there was no pen, luckily (or I should rather say unluckily) I had one in my pocket so I pulled it out and SOON AS I STARTED to write on the form, there were 100's of hands all around me, about ten hands on my right, 12 on my left, 15 thru the top my head, some thru my arms, I mean they were everywhere .. It was like when news reporters flood some important personality with mics and cameras. And I saw that every hand was holding that form.
For a moment I thought they didn't have a pen but I knew immediately what it was. But to take the doubts out of my mind, I offered my pen to one of hands and it was exactly what I suspected. They wanted me to fill out their forms as they did not know how to write.
Since these were my fellow Pakistanis and very cute and innocent ones, I found myself unable to refuse, so I think I ended up filling out about 50 forms. By this time I had a headache and my hand was tired. The pilot announced landing, thanks for the passengers sitting in the aisle area that no one could walk to the plane's door.

An amazing thing happened at the touch down. The entire plane started to clap very hard and cheered in joy. I looked around a literally outbursted in laughter. There was nothing in the world that could stop me from joining the party so I clapped as well (Dil khole kar). All my travel frustration vanished in a matter of seconds and I had a big smile at getting off the plane.

Our driver received me and I called home (in new york) upon arriving my home (in Peshawar) to let the family know that I have arrived safely.

My brother told me that the desi cowboy guy at JFK had missed his flight while he was busy showing off and was begging to the counter clerks to call the pilot and had him return back to JFK and pick him up.

I wonder if you awoke up after the above....

Absolutely awesome read. Had fun reading it. Very well written.

Update - went to a UK airport and saw a major altercation between what seemed to be 2 different desi families. Good to see that they brought their problems to the airport and were sorting them out in the full view of everyone at the airport.

1. Getting up out of the seats as soon as the plane lands, sometimes even before and opening the overhead luggage. All the Emirates staff are always like..."WHOA! who...who are we dealing with here?!". It's a priceless look on their face, while the one Pakistani Emirates staff member is just sitting in the corner trying to shrink away into oblivion out of embarassment.

2. Overbooked luggagers (is that even a word?) who feel the need to ask everybody in line with little to no luggage to see if they can book it in their stead. I have been asked this three times now.

Shouldn't make fun of it if someone needs help from you in filling their immigration form...

What a read.

Once wiaiting for relatives at Heathrow....a group of 8-10 ladies and kids (Punajbis) were dressed in really colourful gowns also waiting for their relatives. OMG the amount of cackling and laughs going around were fun to see. At one point they all sat on the floor like in a picnic.

Really wanted to see who was coming for them, but Heathrow parking prices are a bit hefty.

Many tourists visiting Dubai go to desert safari camps, where ladies get henna painted on hands and the men and women can dress in faux Arab style (men with Gulf arab headress and a robe, women with black robe and glittering scarf), and get their pics taken.

I have seen 2 Desi Brit couples over the last year show up at Dubai Airport fully dressed (along with Prince of Persia style trousers) in their desert safari photo session kit !

Once wiaiting for relatives at Heathrow....a group of 8-10 ladies and kids (Punajbis) were dressed in really colourful gowns also waiting for their relatives. OMG the amount of cackling and laughs going around were fun to see. At one point they all sat on the floor like in a picnic.

I used to make fun of such cases but now I smile and find it nice. In desi culture, a relative coming or going is an important family event, it could be a father coming back to his kids, or an aunt joining her family for a wedding in London, and it all ends up with 8-10 members going to meet one person.

Since it was a little too long, I never got to read this post, but I couldn't hold myself seeing the appreciations that it has got!

Wow! I instead thank you for taking your time to write all this to share with us. Hilarious:)):)))!

The "Naazuk area" bit was perhaps the funniest!

Post of the week easily.

I used to make fun of such cases but now I smile and find it nice. In desi culture, a relative coming or going is an important family event, it could be a father coming back to his kids, or an aunt joining her family for a wedding in London, and it all ends up with 8-10 members going to meet one person.

I kind of liked how exited the group were.

However I am guessing they wouldnt sit down on the ground at an airport if they were in India/Pakistan.

Some people I have seen write their home addresses+names on all of their luggages.

your naive if you dont do that...

Writing down your address and name on luggage is important. If the Lugagge is lost or misplaced, its easier for the airport officials to track it down. Infact, it is recommended to write your address and name on lugage.

your naive if you dont do that...

Writing down your address and name on luggage is important. If the Lugagge is lost or misplaced, its easier for the airport officials to track it down. Infact, it is recommended to write your address and name on lugage.

Suppose your lost luggage goes into wrong hands. Then not only will you have lost your luggage, the person will also know where you live. And you would not want that to happen, would you?

I hear you there but what is the chance of a strange man taking an international flight to come to your address to harm you against airport authorities returning your baggage to your address?

It's like not using internet banking because there is a chance of someone snooping your account details.

I travel from australia to pak regurely. One time i was sitting with a Pakistani who said it was his first time on a plane. He was travelling with a buddy, both thought it was their right to take all the cutlery and pillows and so proceed to stuff as much as they could into their bags. It was amusing at first untill they started shouting at the air hostess, screaming " I PAY FOR THIS"

Lol my grandma went back recently my freshie uncle put kids toys inside a blanket thinking they wont see . I was like wth is the point of that they have xray machines and there aint no need to hide the toys in the first place but he all ways has to have his say .Oh and lol we are guilty of everyone going to the airport even though one person is actually getting on a plane .No lie but we took at least 40 family members last time even though only 4 were going back .As my dad says we Pakistanis love paying NPC parking .

I hear you there but what is the chance of a strange man taking an international flight to come to your address to harm you against airport authorities returning your baggage to your address?

It's like not using internet banking because there is a chance of someone snooping your account details.

Well, better be safe than sorry. Right? :P

Another interesting action-packed visit to the Airport.

Noticed that desis tend not to want to pay for their parking. One guy having an argument with the airport security guy. It was meant to be drop off parking, the security guy could be heard saying "you've been parked here for 2 hours" :)

Went to Karachi all by myself for the first time in my 'adult' life. My cousin was suppose to pick me up from the airport and he hasn't seen me in like 12 years (last time he saw me I was 8), so I decide to be brave and say I will call you when I arrive and it shouldn't be a big deal, my cousin told me not to leave the airport no matter what....

I reach karachi at 3AM in a packed 777 from dubai (eid time) and along with my flight there are also a few other flights landing at the same time (apparently most flights arrive at that time). At first there's this hussle and tussle to get out and find luggage I find my luggage after 30mins and ask some luggage guy if there's any pay phone in the area... he tells me there's none, but offers me to use his phone so I use his cellular phone to dial my cousins number only to find out that the government has cut off all cell phone services because of terror threats.... meh. Luckily, I spotted my family after roaming the unfamiliar karachi airport for 2 hours.

Okay don't laugh at me but this thing that I've experienced is really true:

Whenever I'm at airports, people (mostly desis) think I'm a foreigner so a lot of them will muster up the energy to talk to me in English. Sometimes their English is not the best and I don't want to break their hearts by replying back in Urdu. Usually it's all done but sometimes they ask "where you from" and when I tell them they get really embarrassed.

I'm a bit late to this thread, but how about everyone at the gate standing up together and charging towards the door at the slightest indication of the start of boarding?

Gets me every time.

I'm a bit late to this thread, but how about everyone at the gate standing up together and charging towards the door at the slightest indication of the start of boarding?

Gets me every time.

Nice to see you back!

in air india our baba jis will keep on asking for more drinks.. lol... desi air hostess will say sardar ji ye pee k tunn hanay k liye nahi hai .lol

Just before the landing, there were some forms distributed. The air hostess had given the stack to the front row passengers to pass it back as she there was no room to walk thru the aisle

fun read but you made up the bolded part..it is not possible. plane hai yaar koyee bus nahi

Okay don't laugh at me but this thing that I've experienced is really true:

Whenever I'm at airports, people (mostly desis) think I'm a foreigner so a lot of them will muster up the energy to talk to me in English. Sometimes their English is not the best and I don't want to break their hearts by replying back in Urdu. Usually it's all done but sometimes they ask "where you from" and when I tell them they get really embarrassed.
happens to me a lot as well,,even in india at gurudwaras sometimes they will come and try to start a conversation in English ...problem is my own English is tutti futti.. lol..once at Us Canada border they called me after looking at someone else pic. lol

Another interesting action-packed visit to the Airport.

Noticed that desis tend not to want to pay for their parking. One guy having an argument with the airport security guy. It was meant to be drop off parking, the security guy could be heard saying "you've been parked here for 2 hours" :)

Its not just parking at airports that our desi friends dont like to pay for, its also at hospitals. Some people just drive round and round hoping for a free quick stay parking space.

Lol anyway to save money and we are on it.Tbf times are tough and everyone's doing this not just desis.

:))) :))) :))) i died laugjing

No Fokker can do a DXB-PEW leg, and Emirates never owned any, and PIA didn't shuffle them around any international hops.

Your story is entirely fabricated, and not just because of this technical fact.

This thread seems to have some seriously funny stuff.

Anyone else has anyone new experiences to add?

2 years ago i was returning from Khi and at Khi airport there was some delay and then subsequent cancellation of a PIA flight to Dubai, there was a group of men (probably Labourers) chanting PIA murdabad (siyasi jaloos style) and then one of the Uncles started to speak some kind of ‘Angrezi’ to put PIA staff under pressure. It was very difficult to control the laughter at what he was saying..

The PIA staff were trying to leg it after announcing the cancellation but were followed by the group everywhere. I felt bad for the poor guys but their reaction was a little shocking

No Fokker can do a DXB-PEW leg, and Emirates never owned any, and PIA didn't shuffle them around any international hops.

Your story is entirely fabricated, and not just because of this technical fact.

LMAOO. There was a wonderful research article I read awhile back about people on forum making up things to sound relevant.

Humans are humans everywhere. We should not ridicule desis. One major reason is, lack of education more so the fact that the westerners who grew up in a law abiding country and had access to education yet behave like uncultured, racists and also does crimes but in a very subtle way. I have visited Europe, USA and Asia - have monitored their behavior with a microscopic lens. With all these first class education and law abiding rules, they still break rules. So you can pardon these folks because of not growing up in a law abiding country so they have no exposure. However, there are Pakistanis who even in Pakistan are very puntual on time and follow the laws. No point of ridiculing your country men.

Maybe we can find a middle ground like the BBC did and target certain ethnics which are fair game? I am thinking Citizen Khan which was so loved by Brits it was recomissioned for repeat series!

Weight limit for luggage is 35kg per person, but desis feel they should be allowed to take 45kg without paying extra.

Lol last year I was going from Karachi airport and it seemed that some guy had come to his flight on the wrong day (2 days earlier).

He was fighting with counter where you get the boarding pass to let him go today. He was like ‘adjust karlain sir’ and would not budge. It was funny to see the helpless Turkish airlines guy saying in exasperation ‘bhai yar bus nahi hai yeh’

:)) :)) :))

This needs to be adapted into a movie lol

I once was waiting for my inlaws to come from a Dubai flight into Heathrow.

There was a group of 12 freshies (sounded Punjabi) who were all dressed in colourful clothes as if it was a special event. They were quite load too. Everyone was watching their drama. As the flight was delayed they all decided to sit down on the floor as if it was a picnic area.

There's always the over-dressed groom or bride on the flight to the UK, finally getting his/her chance to meet his wife/husband.

With, around 50 people at the airport waiting to greet him/her.

The oversized bags and chalaki to try and get some luggage as hand held is an art we have mastered!