Do Pakistan's players deserve the extravagant gifts they have been receiving?

Muhammad10

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">A local bank in Karachi has awarded Sarfraz Ahmed a BMW after he captained Pakistan to victory in the Champions Trophy <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/CT17?src=hash">#CT17</a> <a href="https://t.co/FXbh3kh0za">pic.twitter.com/FXbh3kh0za</a></p>— Saj Sadiq (@Saj_PakPassion) <a href="https://twitter.com/Saj_PakPassion/status/877789815688896512">June 22, 2017</a></blockquote>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Mohammad Hafeez has been given 4 cars by sponsors for being part of Pakistan's Champions Trophy winning squad <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/CT17?src=hash">#CT17</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Cricket?src=hash">#Cricket</a> <a href="https://t.co/44RUO08obV">pic.twitter.com/44RUO08obV</a></p>— Saj Sadiq (@Saj_PakPassion) <a href="https://twitter.com/Saj_PakPassion/status/878704858798411777">June 24, 2017</a></blockquote>

Sarfraz Ahmed was also awarded a 250-yard plot in the Bahria Town.

Mohammad Hafeez also received a 65 inch TV.

These are just some examples.

Our players are understandably being showered with these glamorous rewards for winning the Champions Trophy, but have we gone overboard?

Could these luxurious gifts make them complacent in the future and cause their hunger for success to diminish as a result?

I just saw on facebookk Mohammad Hafeez just received 4 cars as gifts? Is that really true?

Don't think Hafeez deserves 4 cars for being mediocre

Babar Azam,Zaman and Azhar deserve some as well as does Hassan,Amir and Junaid, Shadab also deserves something

Imad Wasim and Shoaib Malik are probably the least deserving of any gifts

What did hafeez do to get 4 cars? and the captain gets only one?? Looool

Was just about to make a thread on this. I think this is going over the top. Hafeez is already pretty wealthy and deserved it the least.

The players have made millions of $$$ in a mater of a few days. From the expensive gifts and prize money from the ICC to being given money rewards and plots of land from Malik Riaz to the PCB and the Govt separately giving 10m Rs each to these cars and even Bol TV giving gifts. And this doesn't even include the sponsors and endorsements. Lots of money.

I wish that all the Protea players should be given a vintage Morris car with a choke switch

Morris-1000-1.jpg

s-l225.jpg

Guys like hafeez are already on their last leg, so it would be great if they take the gifts and decide to retire respectfully while they can.

I think the players deserve these gifts. Most of all I hope that the younger generation is watching the way these players have been welcomed and treated and it inspires them to pursue a cricketing career. The young players who are already in domestic are motivated by the hero's welcome to put in extra hard work and not give up.

It's difficult to pursue a career in sports in Pakistan since among other things it is not financially rewarding at lower level. Unless your parents are well off or you have elder siblings who can support your pursuit, it is next to impossible. With this win I hope the parents too are much more supportive of their young ones wanting to go into sports.

Fakhar Zaman's story as an example shows how unsupportive the parents can be if you pursue such a career and the main reason is the financial insecurity which comes along with such an endeavor. The parents see an investment in the education of their child as the only option to have a financially stable future.

why doesnt sarfraz deserve? he has single handedly lifted the team which was ranked 8th and on verge of being disqualified for WC and CT? guy has done more than expected for a player

hafeez played brilliant innings in the final so he also deserves it as well, infact anybody deserves award for his good winning performance

all other players, if showered with similar gifts deserve it

but its a moral question if they should be accepting these gifts because the sponsors only want to gift them because they want their brands associated with them and for publicity stunt.

top cricketers earn 10-14 crore ind Rs for playing ipl.
So its ok for pakistani players to get 5-6 crore in gift/bonuses for winning an ICC event.

Audi has partnered with the Protea players. All the players receive a latest Audi model car

DCq0L9xXkAAc-5j.jpg

CNUl0U-VEAAUGu-.jpg

They deserve even more. Indian cricketers make a lot more in IPL.

I don't see why people are complaining. Success should bring reward!
Also in the longer term it will deter players from being involved in corrupt activities due to the potential rewards available for performing well

We need to understand we didn't just win ICC champion's trophy but we defeated India as well and all these gifts because for beating India.

Guys like hafeez are already on their last leg, so it would be great if they take the gifts and decide to retire respectfully while they can.

I think the players deserve these gifts. Most of all I hope that the younger generation is watching the way these players have been welcomed and treated and it inspires them to pursue a cricketing career. The young players who are already in domestic are motivated by the hero's welcome to put in extra hard work and not give up.

It's difficult to pursue a career in sports in Pakistan since among other things it is not financially rewarding at lower level. Unless your parents are well off or you have elder siblings who can support your pursuit, it is next to impossible. With this win I hope the parents too are much more supportive of their young ones wanting to go into sports.

Fakhar Zaman's story as an example shows how unsupportive the parents can be if you pursue such a career and the main reason is the financial insecurity which comes along with such an endeavor. The parents see an investment in the education of their child as the only option to have a financially stable future.

Well said I totally agree, if the team is not rewarded for their success then why should x or y pursue sport and their parents especially would not be so hopeful with regards to their prospects. Youngsters will be inspired by how our players have been treated for their hard work. Also, not like Pak team is the most well paid relative to other international teams and they are not on the IPL payroll either.

People need not worry about the complacent rhetoric because if they keep failing then their run in the team will be short-lived; plus we're in good hands with Mickey at the helm he always keeps his danda next to him, me and [MENTION=53290]Markhor[/MENTION] will also be sending him a bigger one as a special Eid gift.

And those who have issues with them being allegedly "overly" rewarded for their success should just mind their own business and keep their jealousy/selfishness to themselves.

Once in a lifetime achievement, we call it.

Don't think they'll get the same for 2019 World Cup even...

Its the sponsors giving extraordinary gifts in the month of Ramazan.

Otherwise, Government, PCB, Malik Riaz etc. were meant to distribute what they did.

In comparison to other players in the world, Pakistani players are not as well remunerated. So I would certainly not begrudge them gifts for what was after all a magnificent victory. At the same time, I do hope there is level headed leadership that works to keep the players grounded. The 1992 World Cup victory offers a salutary lesson. Whilst at the time, the triumph in the 1992 World Cup seemed to represent a beginning of a special era, we can now retrospectively see it differently, as representing in fact a denouement of sorts. Following the victory in 1992, rather than blossoming, Pakistan cricket went through a period of considerable disorder. The victory and the happiness it aroused may have partly contributed to what came afterwards. Egos were inflated. And whilst the Government handed out plots of land to the players, in the absence of strong leadership, players began to believe rather too much into their own stardom.

It's good.

Younger prospects see this and understand the value of winning in Pakistan.

Did the 1992 squad and the 2009 squad receive these level of gifts and adulation? I doubt it

This is going way too far now. They escaped final due to India's infights yet everyone's loving them like they've won 3 WCs in row. A little bit is fine. Guys like Fakhar and Hasan can really use 1m Rs, but this is clearly going way to far.

What kind of question is this ?? Why not , they brought so much happiness to a nation of 20 millions.

This is going way too far now. They escaped final due to India's infights yet everyone's loving them like they've won 3 WCs in row. A little bit is fine. Guys like Fakhar and Hasan can really use 1m Rs, but this is clearly going way to far.

India's infighting was there even in the first match where they trashed us and during the rest of their games. We beat them fair and square.

Lionel Messi's salary per day is £60000 per day. Yet nobody complains about it. Quaid e Azam started to earn beyond RS 1500 per day in 1930's which roughly today's 10 lakh (per day). The so called golden generation of Post Imran khan era (after 1992) gave us home Test series defeats against Sri lanka, England, South Africa and even India + Australia. Combine it with humiliation in Bangalore 96 QF and 1999 world cup choke. This team deserves even more a lot more. This generation has given 0 home test series defeats plus ICC Test Mace plus test series win in West indoes.

Listen cricket is a rich Man's sport

Hafeez won 4 cars worth about 7,000 pounds so overall he got 28,000 but Sarfraz won a BMW Worth 25-30 grand plus a Plot worth 30,000 pounds

What kind of question is this ?? Why not , they brought so much happiness to a nation of 20 millions.

200 millions, we are a nation of 200 million people. 6th largest in the world. And that makes your point even stronger.

Did the 1992 squad and the 2009 squad receive these level of gifts and adulation? I doubt it

At that time t20 was considered a baby sport, that just grew out of infancy, it went to be even more popular thanks to franchise leagues, alot of ppl didn't take it seriously but eventually people started to realize the value of it when they realized Pak won't win a global tournament for a while now

Once in a lifetime achievement, we call it.

Don't think they'll get the same for 2019 World Cup even...

Its the sponsors giving extraordinary gifts in the month of Ramazan.

Otherwise, Government, PCB, Malik Riaz etc. were meant to distribute what they did.

World cup is definitely bigger than CT so I have to disagree, however this means we will have exceeding expectations to win that tournament now... Sky is the limit as far as expectations go, and they will come down very hard when we don't come down on them.

I remember the poor 1999 team, and how they were demolished by our media after we lost the final to Australia.. they didn't deserve the abuse they got, they played good cricket till the final

Well that was the most over rated team in Pakistan's history. They lost to India, South Africa and Bangladesh plus Australia in 99 world cup.

I wish that all the Protea players should be given a vintage Morris car with a choke switch

Morris-1000-1.jpg

s-l225.jpg

Come on man, you been too hard on them lately.

Fresh pitch of Wanderers , Steyn steaming in ( hope he recovers soon) while Philander jogs up deceptively. There is no greater sight in test cricket than RSA in flow , still

Dont let this LOI upsets hamper your spirits

Don't see any problem with gifts and rewards being given by private companies and individuals. Although, imo PCB should ask the players to report the details of all rewards they receive (if it's not doing so already) to avoid any future problems.

It should have a positive effect on the players. They will crave success more and feel that if they perform, they will be rewarded.

https://tribune.com.pk/story/1444575/no-tax-deductions-rewards-champions-trophy-winners/

KARACHI: Things keep getting better and better for members of the Pakistan team who created history by winning the country’s first-ever ICC Champions Trophy title last Sunday by beating arch-rivals India as they will not have to pay taxes on their prize money.

A source confirmed to the Express News that the government have decided not to subtract any tax from the $2.2 million tournament winning bonus, along with the prize money received for various man-of-the-match awards, as well as for Hasan Ali’s man-of-the-tournament and best bowler awards.

According to the rules and regulations, the prize money of all these awards will be divided equally among all team members rather than just going to the individual that won the award. All players are therefore expected to earn Rs15 million each in prize money, while the management gets Rs1.2 million apiece.

Even pacer Wahab Riaz, who was ruled out of the tournament after sustaining an ankle injury in the first game and was replaced by fellow left-armer Rumman Raees, will be eligible for the amount.

Meanwhile, Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif — the PCB’s patron — announced Rs10 million apiece for the players, with board also announced Rs1 million apiece. This amount, however, will have tax deducted from it.

What is the max tax bracket in Pakistan? Surely the players will be subject to it? How much will their take home be then?

It is the biggest achievement in PK history along with WC, ofcourse they deserve it!

How much revenue PCB made and how much revenue each channel created because of CT victory? Its peanuts what these players get.

This is subcontinent culture.This is really too much.Players will think that they have won their only lifetime achievement.I am thinking what would have the Pakistani players got if they would have won 3 world cups like the Australian in a row by the same generation of cricketers- a plot in Mars,Neptune and Pluto.

Nope, they wouldn't have received much then, as the only reason they are getting these prizes is because we didn't win a ICC 50 over event from past 25 years, also as they were the weakest team in terms of ranking at the start of the competition and as no one expected a team with failure after failures in the past 5 years in ODI cricket to win the tournament, this why everyone was so happy.

You are right mainul....all the board should keep the players off the media. Media do lots of praising when you win & criticize alot when the players lost. That would really gonna put their focus off the real task.
Yea sure this victory was great given that we had such an inexperianced team and were ranked lowest amongst all but this victory is not the end of the world for us. We have to aim big for now. We should look to build our team for coming world cup.

Nope, they wouldn't have received much then, as the only reason they are getting these prizes is because we didn't win a ICC 50 over event from past 25 years, also as they were the weakest team in terms of ranking at the start of the competition and as no one expected a team with failure after failures in the past 5 years in ODI cricket to win the tournament, this why everyone was so happy.
Thats good but we should now move on and aim towards something even bigger.

You are right mainul....all the board should keep the players off the media. Media do lots of praising when you win & criticize alot when the players lost. That would really gonna put their focus off the real task.
Yea sure this victory was great given that we had such an inexperianced team and were ranked lowest amongst all but this victory is not the end of the world for us. We have to aim big for now. We should look to build our team for coming world cup.

You are right.Media in this modern era puts a lot of negative impact on players' psychology especially if the players are not accustomed to how to cope with media pressure and praises.I don't know whether the cricket boards give them training or not,but it's necessary.You just can't keep these players completely from media,it's virtually impossible.But you can train them.

Pakistan has played some brilliant cricket to win the CT.They deserved some rewards.But everything has its own limit.In subcontinent,the limit is often crossed.In Bangladesh we saw the same scenario when Bangladesh won ICC trophy to qualify for the world cup for the first time in 1997,when they became runners up in Asia cup 2012,reached quarterfinal in WC 2015,first ever test series win against Zimbabwe....the list continues.It makes me so annoyed.When you are rewarded so much for carrying out your duty,it's something wrong.It's players duty to try hard and soul to win matches for their country,winning is byproduct.

If it's private gifts, there's no issues apart from a possible new bookie connection being established, like a commentator in another thread pointed out.

The bigger deal is if the gifts are coming out of the public pocket. That is not right. This doesn't just apply to Pakistan btw.

No they don't when so many in the country don't know where their next meal is coming from. Yes they do for making million's of people so happy. In conclusion, they deserve to be rewarded but not as much as they are.

Unfair with Muhammed Amir

It seems like Amir missed an opportunity to get free BMW, other vehicles and cash prizes from Ramazan Transmissions. On the other hand, likes Hafeez, Shehzad and Wahab are getting all the fame and the last time I checked Hafeez got atleast three vehicles.

Amir should have missed a first county game and come to Pakistan. He is picking wickets for fun in his first game. I don't think county cricket will improve him, however getting injured is very likely.

Amir got the best gift of all. A contract in Essex county. Good piece of cash, and priceless experience of cricket bowling. INSHALLAH it will help him in the long run.

Anyways, congrats to Hafeez for 4 cars. I'm sure you'll enjoy it. Would like to see an invention of the "Chautah" in your bowling.