Do you like going to family gatherings? Why or why not?

Maybe its age or maybe its maturity but I do like family gatherings as helps me reconnect with family which is tough in today's lives.

How about yourselves?

Depends on who I'm meeting, there are some relatives i would rather not associate with.

Friends Gathering = Big Yes.

Family Gathering = Big No (unless I am only meeting my parents and brother)

I absolutely hate to meet my relatives. Boring and vile creatures.

I mean I have plenty of cousins, half of whom are in and around my age. We do not get to see each other for months because of work/school/wives/husbands/kids etc.... so it's always fun to hang out in family gatherings. The flipside is all of the cousins are chilling together in one spot not caring what is going on in the rest of the gathering

Mother's side of the family - Everyday of the week. Love them to death

Father's side of the family - Absolutely not!

I'm not a fan of the Aunty Brigade at all.

Referring to those 55-year olds in sarees. They only mean trouble.

Big family gatherings? Depends on whether my cousins/close friends are there or not. Otherwise no, i like to be in a small gathering with my dad, mom and brothers.

Family functions in my husband's home, hell no! Except for the mother/father/sister/brother-in-laws and their kids , all the emotions there are fake. We have a family gathering once every year here and i still don't know who is whose kid.:facepalm:

Big family gatherings? Depends on whether my cousins/close friends are there or not. Otherwise no, i like to be in a small gathering with my dad, mom and brothers.

Family functions in my husband's home, hell no! Except for the mother/father/sister/brother-in-laws and their kids , all the emotions there are fake. We have a family gathering once every year here and i still don't know who is whose kid.:facepalm:

Never knew you are a lady. Will have to be extra respectful to you from now on :D

Yes.As long as they dont ask me when i am getting married or if i still have the gf named XYZ.

Lived without family (without cousins, aunts, uncles) for majority of my life so family gatherings are a little uncomfortable and awkward. Now that everyone is grown up they are more uncomfortable and awkward.

Very good question and I think most of my friends and family in the UK would say yes we don't mind meeting up with family. Gatherings are exciting, lots happening and for once you may get to see everyone at the same place. However gatherings in Pakistan are a seperate matter altogether. I hate going Pakistan because of these needy relatives who want to give their daughter for marriage or have other motives. I am likely going to Pakistan for a week next month, it's going to be a pain.

Great thread, and an interesting topic to discuss.

I think it depends upon the kind of people you meet.

My father side of the family is boring. Laughing at lame jokes and all. Dont really like meeting them.

Mother side family, they are always fighting and arguing doing batameezi.

Each time i meet either families i isolate myself from everyone.

Though they are some people in my mothers extended side of the family who i do like to meet, and thats because of the guys and second cousins.

Yes, if by family gatherings you mean what is the norm family gathering for each of us. For my family, it's me and some of my family who don't live that far and it's normally for birthdays etc and I enjoy them as I have lots of cousins who are similar age so we all get on and have fun times. However, the majority of adults in my family are too over the top religious in my opinion.

It depends which side if the family it is. Generally, I do enjoy family gatherings if it involves my mum side.

Will never meet my dad's side. I'm cool with my dad, but we both know his side of the family is filled with venomous folk who are always vested into some sort of saazish. Took him a while to realize it.

Very close to my mom's side of the family. My khaala is like my 2nd mom for e.g. Will make time to meet them, no questions.

Looks like too many people are not good with their father's side of family. I wonder why?

Yeah it's interesting, but not surprising. That side of the family is usually more oppressive from your mom's POV which becomes your own POV as well, since she is an outsider and you know how a wife is seen by her in laws in Desi culture, pretty much 90% of dramas are centered around that concept.

So over time, naturally your mom takes more of a part in raising you so you gravitate to her side of the family more which are usually like her.

Idk, this isn't a full proof theory but a guess of mine.

In desi culture... dad is out of the house while mum is always there with the kids. Mum is 99 times out of 100 on good terms with her own family and ok terms with her in-laws (in some case the terms are really really bad). This means she can shape the opinion of her off-spring to naturally be more loving towards the mum's side and be suspicious of the dad side.

This is my own logic and it is not scientifically proven... don't hang me if it is untrue :srt

Sometimes I do wish I was blessed with my cousins but I can't be because of all the historical family beef. My mum's side is filled with malicious, evil, vile creatures who wish for the worst of you and plot on you whereas my Dad's side is filled with too many fake people who are hell bent on wanting to wreck you. Never really had a full on conversation with my cousins but we're not aloud to speak to each other because of the women in our family teaching us that the other one is "so-and-so". Truly I find this absolutely disgusting; just hope things get better Inshallah, nowadays I don't care anymore, my parents, sister and friends mean more to me than anything else compared to my relatives. A bit shocking for me to say that my friends are like my blood brothers whereas my relatives are not.

Yeah it's interesting, but not surprising. That side of the family is usually more oppressive from your mom's POV which becomes your own POV as well, since she is an outsider and you know how a wife is seen by her in laws in Desi culture, pretty much 90% of dramas are centered around that concept.

So over time, naturally your mom takes more of a part in raising you so you gravitate to her side of the family more which are usually like her.

Idk, this isn't a full proof theory but a guess of mine.

In desi culture... dad is out of the house while mum is always there with the kids. Mum is 99 times out of 100 on good terms with her own family and ok terms with her in-laws (in some case the terms are really really bad). This means she can shape the opinion of her off-spring to naturally be more loving towards the mum's side and be suspicious of the dad side.

This is my own logic and it is not scientifically proven... don't hang me if it is untrue :srt

I can understand that but When we become adults we can reason with ourself that where did everything go wrong? These cousin brothers and sisters are as good as the mother's side but we just interpret them to be wrong because of their parent's doings. But sometimes the mental trauma due to these family fightings might deeply affect once childhood. The children can't be blamed for that tbh....

I sincerely wish that this doesn't happen with my children. My in-laws are extremely good people.

Once invited my parents to give them a glimpse of my high lifestyle, but had to bear their tantrums, as they would only eat what they eat at home..and had my sleep disturbed by their constant coughing. And the rooms smelled like old people.

:srt
you sir deserve a biscuit.

In my case, they are a bunch of selfish people who couldn't give a damn about us. My father took care of their education and everything, and now they don't even care except when they are in need of something. I couldn't give two hoots about them.

Hate it. Would rather pass the time alone or with strangers.

(Glad to read that most people has it hard as well :yk )