Do you think it's unfair that Sialkot does not get a PSL team?

Slog

Senior Test Player
So according to reports there will be 5 teams in the PSL. These are the cities which get a team:

Islamabad, Karachi, Lahore, Peshawar and Quetta.

Apart from the fact that five is way too low in my opinion dont you think it is a bit of a farce that the most successful team in Pakistan T20s (heck probably history of T20s period) does not get a representative team?

Also dont understand the logic of one team from Punjab. Ideally there should have been Sialkot and Faisalabad too and doesnt make a lot of sense for Quetta considering the lack of quality homegrown players there.

Also with just 5 teams, will any domestic player who hasnt represented Pakistan even get a chance?

PSL is in initial stage so I dont bother about Faisalabad Sialkot etc once it is organised then they can add or change name of teams according to marketing need.

Err 5 is a lot tbh and more than enough to keep it interesting.Quetta was imo avoidable and Sialkot could had come from there, don't really know any major players from Quetta pardon the ignorance.

Its not like Quetta players will play for Quetta. If we remove Quetta from this list one province will lost interest in PSL i.e Balochistan. There is a reason PCB is picking one city from each province which will represent them

Yaar wasay bhi Balochistan se kon se logon ko dekhna hai.

Younger generation is following cricket now even army organized T20 matches in Bughti Stadium which is filled with spectators.

5 teams is a very good number for the 1st edition. Fewer teams and fewer matches is the way forward. Less teams mean best talent is involved, tourney would be short and interesting. All games should be serious, meaningful games. If one city is taken from one province then its good. Sialkot can be added in the next season.

Oh OK, now I get it.

The Teams are based on provinces with each provincial capital getting a team and one for the federal capital. If Sialkot had been given a slot over any of the other teams it would have caused ruckus for no real reason. I Personally think the number of teams is good.
Looking at the performances in the just ended T20 Haier cup I feel that if we select the Top 65-70 players we could have a very good and competitive league even without the addition of foreign players

Quetta seems random to be named alongside the 4 major cities but makes sense in that if another city/region was picked then an entire province (Balochistan) would be excluded.

It's not random. It's four provincial capitals plus the national capital. Personally, I don't care about team names as long as tournament is held successfully. But increasing the number to at least 8 is a must in future.

it's not random. It's four provincial capitals plus the national capital. Personally, i don't care about team names as long as tournament is held successfully. But increasing the number to at least 8 is a must in future.

k.

Its fine as it will be mix set of players like Imran Khan jr can play for Khi or Akmal for Peshawar or Ali Asghar (Hub resident) for Islamabad. So you may give any name to the team.

As mentioned already, 5 teams = four provincial + federal capital.

What's the point of Islamabad team?

Because Sialkot is not the capital of Pakistan
eyS2Ice.png

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-partner="tweetdeck"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Fans want a Sialkot team in the PSL <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/PSL2018?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#PSL2018</a> <a href="https://t.co/RdisWWpgSu">pic.twitter.com/RdisWWpgSu</a></p>— Saj Sadiq (@Saj_PakPassion) <a href="https://twitter.com/Saj_PakPassion/status/971798460088365058?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">March 8, 2018</a></blockquote>

If Sialkot do get a team I think Shoaib will go on to captain them.