Does Pakistan T20I cricket enter a new era with Babar Azam and Mohammad Rizwan left out?

I want to ask you one thing.

I do agree with 70% your post. Talent isn't present. Pakistan was at its best when they were hosting psl and playing test in uae. Those pitches are tough and improved out players but also generated interest in test cricket since no one wants to bowl on roads.

I still remember psl 2016 when the opening matches all featured 130 winning scores.

Imo the temporary solution is to go back to uae. Their pitches are so varied and diverse that it'll work to some extent.

But I really don't get why you're boased towards babar and rizwan. Babar is not your best ever batsmen brother. In his prime he's essentially Joe root, aka a decent accumulator with a weak conversion rate against top sides. And a prime root isn't t20 material.

As for rizwan, Same thing, Him opening creates problems. Replacing an out of form fakhar for Rizwan in t20 is the equivalent to replacing an out of form Travis head for labu in t20. No matter how out of form they are, you just can't replace em until a more inform X factor comes along.

If theirs a 1 in 10 chance they'll perform that day, you gotta take it due to their value.

Even though fakhar is now finished, Saim ayub when he comes back should logically open in t20 full time.

Rizwan has always been a support batter. He's at his absolute best when he's providing support like he did with agha againat sa and Abdullah with sri lanka.

The other 2 batters were more aggressive then he was. He stuck it out and played longer. T20 isn't that game though.

Only contention is if Babar should have been kept due to having 3 t20 centuries in this format, but he's compeltly useless atm. No side can carry a player that long.

Australia had to eventually discard Smith in t20. You can only endlessly carry an out of form Test atg till the ends of time. In odi and t20? Naw, you gotta drop em after a while.
Pakistan has had some terrible batters. Except for Misbah and Fakhar Zaman. No batter since 2010 was able to keep his spot in the team. Everyone lost their spot either due to flawed technique or poor fitness.

Currently, all the criticism going on, bo one has issues with Babar Azams batting technoque, only issue is approach. Technique cant be fixed but approach can always be fixed.

He needs proper coaching.

Same goes for Rizwan. Best keeper in the country and we saw in 2020 and 2021 how we fixed his game and was scoring runs.

You need a coaching set up to fix these issues, not hire aqib to just fan pitches and thab be exposed in odi and t20 cricket.

Anyways, if the new squad wins a few upcoming t20 series, than i am willing to change my opinion.

But if we lose, i doubt others will change theirs

Pakistan has had some terrible batters. Except for Misbah and Fakhar Zaman. No batter since 2010 was able to keep his spot in the team. Everyone lost their spot either due to flawed technique or poor fitness.

Currently, all the criticism going on, bo one has issues with Babar Azams batting technoque, only issue is approach. Technique cant be fixed but approach can always be fixed.

Same goes for Rizwan. Best keeper in the country and we saw in 2020 and 2021 how we fixed his game and was scoring runs.

You need a coaching set up to fix these issues, not hire aqib to just fan pitches and thab be exposed in odi and t20 cricket.

Anyways, if the new squad wins a few upcoming t20 series, than i am willing to change my opinion.

But if we lose, i doubt others will change theirs

Wont happen so you dont need to change your opinion. It's foolish to think it'll happen considering the strength of the squad.

Idk about rizwan but babar has never worked with coaches that's the issue. Yousaf correctly identified all problems qith his technique and so did sunny. Yousaf personally worked with Babar but he didn't listen. Infact yousaf worked with Abdullah, Usman Khan and the entire 2024 team and none of them listened. He quit for that very reason.

Lastly technique can be improved. Ricky Ponting just had an interview where he outright talked about both kohli and Babar in test cricket.

He told them both to take a small break and work on their technique targeting the 3rd offstump line. And he told them to learn from Steve smith as well

The reason why smith came back to form is because he switched back to his 2015 technique. Smith post 2015 still played odi and t20 but he started focusing on test full time and it became clear he was going to be a test star only.

Hence he changed his stance. His new stance was more closed and he shuffled across. This stance did wonders for his in Ashes. The benefits of this stance was that it allowed him to balance himself better against pace and spin and play more grounded shots since he disnt see the need to focus on lofting in tests.

But the downside was that smith was now more prone to lbw due to shuffling across and the new stance also prevented him from playing certain deliveries that most batters could easily dispatch. Things like full tosses or short pitched bowling became uncomfortable to play.

Eventually he went out of form and bumrah kept lbw him over and over and so did many others.

What he did in bgt was go back to the 2015 stance which is more open and he still shuffles across but less. The downside is that it exposes his stumps and allows for a greater chance to be clean bowled, however it allows him to loft more and increases bat swing speed. He was able to tack bumrah, Indian pacers and sri lankan spinners better and get back into century galore mode.

Babar's old stance and old technique from debut is massively different from his current stance as well. His old stance was similar to Unar Akmal. The new stance is better. But maybe he should listen to ponting and modify his technique.

He's clearly vulnerable against spin, 3rd off stump line and just overall poor when pulling off the backfoot.

Maybe listen to sunny and yousaf.

Wont happen so you dont need to change your opinion. It's foolish to think it'll happen considering the strength of the squad.

Idk about rizwan but babar has never worked with coaches that's the issue. Yousaf correctly identified all problems qith his technique and so did sunny. Yousaf personally worked with Babar but he didn't listen. Infact yousaf worked with Abdullah, Usman Khan and the entire 2024 team and none of them listened. He quit for that very reason.

Lastly technique can be improved. Ricky Ponting just had an interview where he outright talked about both kohli and Babar in test cricket.

He told them both to take a small break and work on their technique targeting the 3rd offstump line. And he told them to learn from Steve smith as well

The reason why smith came back to form is because he switched back to his 2015 technique. Smith post 2015 still played odi and t20 but he started focusing on test full time and it became clear he was going to be a test star only.

Hence he changed his stance. His new stance was more closed and he shuffled across. This stance did wonders for his in Ashes. The benefits of this stance was that it allowed him to balance himself better against pace and spin and play more grounded shots since he disnt see the need to focus on lofting in tests.

But the downside was that smith was now more prone to lbw due to shuffling across and the new stance also prevented him from playing certain deliveries that most batters could easily dispatch. Things like full tosses or short pitched bowling became uncomfortable to play.

Eventually he went out of form and bumrah kept lbw him over and over and so did many others.

What he did in bgt was go back to the 2015 stance which is more open and he still shuffles across but less. The downside is that it exposes his stumps and allows for a greater chance to be clean bowled, however it allows him to loft more and increases bat swing speed. He was able to tack bumrah, Indian pacers and sri lankan spinners better and get back into century galore mode.

Babar's old stance and old technique from debut is massively different from his current stance as well. His old stance was similar to Unar Akmal. The new stance is better. But maybe he should listen to ponting and modify his technique.

He's clearly vulnerable against spin, 3rd off stump line and just overall poor when pulling off the backfoot.

Maybe the issue is with Yousuf than.

Didnt Rizwan change his approach in 2021 under Misbah?

Im not saying bring Misbah as coach, i also want a foreign coach like Kristein or Gillespi but atleast give them full charge.

Good insight in the technique issue, so maybe you are right technique can change, but we need coachs for that.

Look when Babar was made captain in 2020 and isaw his mistakes i called it back than and even after losing the world t20 2021, this guy sucks as a captain. Everyone around here had a go at me, because at that time babar the batsman was untouchable and there is an old issue in pakistan that if you are a performing player, lets make you captain irrespect of your captaincy ability.

Same mistake is being made by trying to bring in Shadab as captain now.

So changes have been made, but no proper chnage or improvement has been bought in. Things will revert back after 1 year or even before

Relax guys. They have just given a short break to cool down the situation after the CT loss.
Eventually, both Babar and Rizwan will find a place in the team and manage to make a comeback. :dhoni

Issue is not really these two.

There are no other support players to help out in the innings. Babar and rizwan are proper batsman that need further polishing with game strategy by a coach.

Aqib is not someone who makes startegies.

Remember when Rizwan sucked in the begining in t20 than changed his game and improved. Why it happened? Due to proper coaching.

Pakistan has a very limited resource of batsman. We all saw how tahir and usman sucked.

If we lose this NZ series, than are we gonna accept the issue or not?
I dont care if Pakistan loses all bilateral series as long as we are giving youngsters a chance.

I am done with Saya mafia beating B/C team of other teams and then getting knocked in first round of every tournament. They are simply not good enough.

And stop with this BS about no talent, that is what Misbah used to say until we won CT 2017. Thats what Azhar Mahmood recently said about no spinners until Aqib magically discovered not one but three spinners.

The people you back refuse to give chances to new folks thats why you never see “talent” because they simply block their way.

This experiment already took place when i think Shadab was captain or was it Shaheen, and they bought in all youngsters, removed babar and rizwan and than lost to Afghanistan.

Khair hai, do the same tamasha again no issue. Lets hope results are different this time.

Dropping your best ever batter and best ever keeper produxmced was not the solution. Solution was to coach them and have a proper management that would force these guys to play with a proper plan.

Babar and Rizwan made their career from t20. Atleast one of them should had been kept.

Issue was never Babar and Rizwan

Anyways, this was done in the past and we lost the next series. So lets see what the results are going to be.

Atleast now babar and rizwan haters wont have any excuse. @Rana

Preach brother @Major

I dont care if Pakistan loses all bilateral series as long as we are giving youngsters a chance.

I am done with Saya mafia beating B/C team of other teams and then getting knocked in first round of every tournament. They are simply not good enough.

And stop with this BS about no talent, that is what Misbah used to say until we won CT 2017. Thats what Azhar Mahmood recently said about no spinners until Aqib magically discovered not one but three spinners.

The people you back refuse to give chances to new folks thats why you never see “talent” because they simply block their way.

So would you rather lose against b/c teams and still be eliminated in the first round of ICC tournaments?

Or beat b/c teams and still be eliminated in the first round of ICC tournaments

So would you rather lose against b/c teams and still be eliminated in the first round of ICC tournaments?

!
He have had 6-7 tournaments+ plenty of bilaterals to show us how useless they truly are! Move on!

The hell? How is that a given that if we give youngsters a chance, we will lose in icc tournaments?! Last time we gave youngsters a chance, we won in 2017.

He have had 6-7 tournaments+ plenty of bilaterals to show us how useless they truly are! Move on!

He uses bilateral’s to secure their employment when all other teams use them to develop their bench strength and give chances to the right players in preparation for ICC tournaments. You got to have some fried brain cells not to pick this trend up, this has been our pattern for half a decade.

How do you know Babar didn't listen?

Misbah never said this.

You want to drop the two best players to solve your middle and lower order batting problem with no proper batsman in domestic.

Like i said, go ahead, win the series and prove me wrong.

THing is, no poster is confident that we can win.

Prove you wrong how? Are you desh ka Choudhary??

You’ve been proven wrong with RizBar cheerleading. What more do you need to be proven wrong?
If you dont want to discussion, no need to do a mujra around me. Dance somewhere else.

Azam Siddique, Babar Azam's father, has criticized the decision to drop his son while commenting "Boss is always right."

qDRGjRP.jpg
Aamer Sohail reacts to Babar Azam's father's post on social media during a TV show:

"It's in bad taste, there's no doubt about it. If they have dropped Babar Azam, it’s not the end. The simple fact is that T20 is a format where you can regain your form by playing, and you have to take your chances."

"One-day cricket gives you opportunities, and I think he even scored 69 runs against New Zealand in the ICC Champions Trophy 2025. When given a chance, you can take your time, play comfortably, and get your form back."

The hell? How is that a given that if we give youngsters a chance, we will lose in icc tournaments?! Last time we gave youngsters a chance, we won in 2017.

We’ll let me put it another way…

Those youngsters in 2017 are the same ones we are now throwing under the bus in 2025.

Babar (25CT), Amir (24 T20 WC), Shadab (23WC), Hassan Ali (23WC)

Rinse and repeat again 5 years later…

Misbah never said this.

You want to drop the two best players to solve your middle and lower order batting problem with no proper batsman in domestic.

Like i said, go ahead, win the series and prove me wrong.

THing is, no poster is confident that we can win.
Im confident that we would lose with both of them. How about that?

We’ll let me put it another way…

Those youngsters in 2017 are the same ones we are now throwing under the bus in 2025.

Babar (25CT), Amir (24 T20 WC), Shadab (23WC), Hassan Ali (23WC)

Rinse and repeat again 5 years later…
Amir came in 2009, he won, he left. Hes not part of international circuit.

Hasan is not part of the team anymore.

Shadab’s selection is wrong.

Those players are done and dusted. Time for a new cycle.

!

I like your optimism how the next batch of players will be any better..

Like I said multiple times our issues go much deeper and I guarantee 2026 WorldT20 will end in tears too even with the squad we announced for the NZ tour

I like your optimism how the next batch of players will be any better..

Like I said multiple times our issues go much deeper and I guarantee 2026 WorldT20 will end in tears too even with the squad we announced for the NZ tour
Yeah the issue goes much deeper now because RizBar is removed? And you had no guarantees they would lose when it was those two at the helm?

Come off it mate! Even if they do lose trying to play proper cricket, I have no problems with it! Now what?

Yeah the issue goes much deeper now because RizBar is removed? And you had no guarantees they would lose when it was those two at the helm?

Come off it mate! Even if they do lose trying to play proper cricket, I have no problems with it! Now what?
so even u are not confident without rizwan and babar even though you mention these two the most in every thread.

what a hypocrite.

so even u are not confident without rizwan and babar even though you mention these two the most in every thread.

what a hypocrite.
I am 100% confident the team is on the right track without those two in the team.

Now what?

I am 100% confident the team is on the right track without those two in the team.

Now what?
ok, so how many series wins are you willing to predict, or what kind of cricket would you approve from this new squad even if they were to lose

I want to see the powerplay being fully utilised, 60+, why not 70?? Or 80 in 6 overs??

That’s step one.

Pakistan bowlers need as much runs on the board to defend.

200 isn’t enough. 220 may not be enough. Even 240 can be chased on some grounds.

I want to see an approach where the batsman know they haven’t left anything out there. They have done their best to give their bowlers the best chance.

I want to see the powerplay being fully utilised, 60+, why not 70?? Or 80 in 6 overs??

That’s step one.

Pakistan bowlers need as much runs on the board to defend.

200 isn’t enough. 220 may not be enough. Even 240 can be chased on some grounds.

I want to see an approach where the batsman know they haven’t left anything out there. They have done their best to give their bowlers the best chance.
fair enough. So lets give it a couple of series than. Ok maybe an year?

if it happens withour babar and rizwan than i will admit you were right, if it doesnt happen without Babar or Rizwan than would you be willing to accept that the Issue wasnt these two?

fair enough. So lets give it a couple of series than. Ok maybe an year?

if it happens withour babar and rizwan than i will admit you were right, if it doesnt happen without Babar or Rizwan than would you be willing to accept that the Issue wasnt these two?
No. They can have 3-4 years. 2 T20i world cups at least

bro i hope i am alive after 3 years man. like come on.
Give them a fair chance.

Like the PCB has given RizBar a more than fair chance. T20 shouldn’t be a priority for you lot anymore. Your favourites only have a few years left to salvage anything in Test and ODI. You can focus your energy there.

Give them a fair chance.

Like the PCB has given RizBar a more than fair chance. T20 shouldn’t be a priority for you lot anymore. Your favourites only have a few years left to salvage anything in Test and ODI. You can focus your energy there.
i dont have favourites since Misbah retired. You can make Asif ALi captain and i would still watch the lot. Gone are the days of good old fanboyism.

Pakistan team always needs a leader that they beleive and respect to lead. Imran, Wasim, Inzimam, Misbah and to some extent Riz-Bar had those qualities. Maybe Sarfaraz. That’s about it.

They are not a coach friendly team. Even Waqar Younis, Miandad, Misbah, Younis Khan, Gary Kirsten, Gillespee type coaches were not given any value in a coach role despite being great cricketers.

Cricket is more of a captain game.

Pakistan team always needs a leader that they beleive and respect to lead. Imran, Wasim, Inzimam, Misbah and to some extent Riz-Bar had those qualities. Maybe Sarfaraz. That’s about it.

They are not a coach friendly team. Even Waqar Younis, Miandad, Misbah, Younis Khan, Gary Kirsten, Gillespee type coaches were not given any value in a coach role despite being great cricketers.

Cricket is more of a captain game.
Babar had those qualities?

Didnt Rizwan change his approach in 2021 under Misbah?

Im not saying bring Misbah as coach, i also want a foreign coach like Kristein or Gillespi but atleast give them full charge.

Good insight in the technique issue, so maybe you are right technique can change, but we need coachs for that.

Look when Babar was made captain in 2020 and isaw his mistakes i called it back than and even after losing the world t20 2021, this guy sucks as a captain. Everyone around here had a go at me, because at that time babar the batsman was untouchable and there is an old issue in pakistan that if you are a performing player, lets make you captain irrespect of your captaincy ability.

Same mistake is being made by trying to bring in Shadab as captain now.

So changes have been made, but no proper chnage or improvement has been bought in. Things will revert back after 1 year or even before

This
i agree with but for Kristen not Gillespie. Gillespie may have been a world class coach but he was not interested in coaching Pakistan.

Dude has no game plan, he wanted to continue with the same 4 pace plan vs England. I'm not saying curate lottery pitches, but at the very least curate a balanced spin pitch vs England. Besides duckett and root, no other player in the current England set up is particularly good against spin.

Gillispie being an Australian who's been following the team set up should have known this and curated a pitch since then you'd only need to plan against duckett and root. And mainly root since duckett avg 37 in tests against spin si really a bavuma level player vs spin.

Kristen should have stayed 100%.

The issue may be with Yousaf, since no one listened to him however yousaf was Pakistan’s most technically spund batsmen and he + Gavaskar had the same opinion about technique. Techniques need to change if something isn't working anymore.

The likes of smith, Sachin etc changed their stances.

Pakistan needs to go back to the UAE. I pointed this out multiple times..UAE is what's going to revive interest in test cricket and improve t20 cricket.

Those pitches are varied, balanced and not easy. And their fun for players to practise on.

I think we need to move on now... Babar and riz have been dropped from t20 team and I don't think we can change the whole system in few days, it will take months (years actually) to fix things.

We might see babar and riz coming back if the current squad fails to impress anyone.