ExpressPacer
- Post of the Week
Babar needs to be dropped from the ODI side too. Not only is his style of play too outdated even for ODIs as we saw in the CT but he is also in poor form.
Where’s the apology for 16 off 26 in the powerplay?!!The whole nation owes them an apology. Imagine being dropped for Haris, Hasan and Usman.![]()
Keep banging your headYou know you're banging your head against the wall when people double down on their mistakes and refuse to accept when they're clearly wrong
bhai sahab, plan to bataao. Delinked from past ok. But jaa kahaan rahe ho aankho par patti baand ke.Rome wasn't built in a day, and if Pakistan want to move forward in T20I cricket it has to be with players who can play a modern brand of T20 cricket, rather than the outdated version we have been playing for years. I was all for giving the Babar-Rizwan combo a fair shot in T20 cricket but their failure in 3 consecutive T20 World Cups has shown that they don't have what it takes to make it count in the shortest format. Rizwan in particular should never play another T20I again. Since 2022, he has struck at 119 which is simply unacceptable in this format, in this day and age. And Babar should only be considered again if he showcases that he has made a marked improvement in his T20 game and evolved as a T20 batter, which is not really the case right now.
There may have been a time three to four years ago, when you could still justify their place, but the T20 format has changed rapidly since then and Pakistan right now feels like a team that has been left behind. Current group of players need more exposure and they can only get that by playing more matches. One series in New Zealand, in seaming and bouncy conditions against a fairly good NZ side doesn't prove anything. You need to persist with these players and give me consistent opportunities in varying conditions. Many of them have the makings of great T20 players but one series won't tell you anything.
If you are really interested in changing things, there will be alot of bitter defeats to swallow, but that comes with the territory when you are trying to unearth new players. It is only Pakistani fans that care about the results of these bilateral T20I series. I also don't see how the end result is any different from the last time Pakistan toured New Zealand with Babar and Rizwan and also lost 4-1. Atleast this time around, there were flashes of brilliance that can be built on for the future.
I wouldn't call this flying blind. I think there were a number of notable performances by players in this series that showed they are capable of hanging at the T20I level. Salman Ali Agha, Hassan Nawaz, Mohammad Haris, Sufiyan Muqeem, Haris Rauf, Abrar Ahmed, Shadab Khan, Abdul Samad, Irfan Khan all showed something. The next thing you do is try to add players like Saim Ayub, Fakhar Zaman, Haider Ali and other guys who perform in the PSL into the mix, identify what roles they will play, and try and see what you best combination looks like. Not all 16-17 players are going to be match-winners, so obviously some will have to be discarded. But this should be a long-term trial-and-error strategy spread out over multiple bilateral series.bhai sahab, plan to bataao. Delinked from past ok. But jaa kahaan rahe ho aankho par patti baand ke.
If there is a plan, ok. But I am not seeing one. All I see is blind slogging in the name of intent and getting bundled out for less than 140 4 times out of 5 in short short grounds of NZ of all places against a second string NZ.I wouldn't call this flying blind. I think there were a number of notable performances by players in this series that showed they are capable of hanging at the T20I level. Salman Ali Agha, Hassan Nawaz, Mohammad Haris, Sufiyan Muqeem, Haris Rauf, Abrar Ahmed, Shadab Khan, Abdul Samad, Irfan Khan all showed something. The next thing you do is try to add players like Saim Ayub, Fakhar Zaman, Haider Ali and other guys who perform in the PSL into the mix, identify what roles they will play, and try and see what you best combination looks like. Not all 16-17 players are going to be match-winners, so obviously some will have to be discarded. But this should be a long-term trial-and-error strategy spread out over multiple bilateral series.
That should be the plan, I don't see what's so hard to follow or understand?
There is no doubt that the players need to improve their decision-making. However, failure is part of the learning curve. Playing on these bouncy New Zealand pitches against some pretty good bowlers (not Ish Sodhi) has already been an important lesson for them. The focus now should be on helping them understand the importance of strike-rotation and adapting to the conditions. That said, they shouldn’t be discouraged from playing with intent, nor should players who showed flashes of brilliance in this series be dropped.If there is a plan, ok. But I am not seeing one. All I see is blind slogging in the name of intent and getting bundled out for less than 140 4 times out of 5 in short short grounds of NZ of all places against a second string NZ.
Sure hai na bhai?Babar and rizwan were dropped for right reasons and I think they should be kept at bay from T20s atm.
Performance matters and RIz/babar were not on merit...Sure hai na bhai?
Zubaan di hai, mukrne nahi doonga![]()
Exactly that approach took them to 201 instead of 160-170 which Bangladesh would have somehow managed to chase it down.Pakistan has historically been a dominant T20 team and the reason we have underperformed in recent years is because we couldn't keep up to changing dynamics of LOI cricket.
Removal of Babar and Rizwan was the first step in adjusting to modern demands in T20Is atleast. Now with Hesson at the helm with an in form captain who has a clear vision for his team, we are moving in the right direction. We have plenty of options now in batting most of whom are adept against spin which will be crucial in 2026WC. We need to focus on spin department with spinners like Sufyan, Abrar, Arif Yaqoob, Shadab, Khushdil, Nawaz, Arafat getting regular chances in these bilateral T20Is to assess their strength and weaknesses. This is why selection of Hussain Talat and Faheem makes no sense.
In this game against Bangladesh, both our openers failed early on and Pakistan usually goes on the defensive in such a situation. Teams of yesteryears would have looked to 'anchor' the innings and try to reach a 160-170 type total but here Harris and Salman went for the counter charge which was refreshing to see and bodes well for the future. Filling your lineup with high strike rate batters enables such approach because Saim and Fakhar failed today but their failure took only 5 balls combined giving opportunity to rest of the batters to attack which increases probability of success.
That 30 (18) from Harris is far more valuable than 50 (36) or 94 (65) that Rizbabar would have scored.
Regardless of the opposition yesterday, Pakistan still didn’t have enough runs on the board on that track.Exactly that approach took them to 201 instead of 160-170 which Bangladesh would have somehow managed to chase it down.
It’s because they need to justify the pathetic mistakes made by those who they worship.I dont understand why few people(on pp and social media) defend babar rizwan like theyre their fathers. Are they in love with them or their tuktuk mentality. Why dont you love Pakistan and game instead? Game is greater than player.
Even Imran khan would have changed his decision by now seeing Babar performances. Have they confirmed with imran khan whether he wants Babar to continue in LOI. In 2019 it was okayish decision because Babar was best performer for Pakistan but now hes losing us matches.It’s because they need to justify the pathetic mistakes made by those who they worship.
Justifying RizBar in T20s as openers is backing the decision of Imran Khan’s regime. It’s backing the decision of Misbah ul Haq’s cricketing directive.
Backing Babar as captain is backing Imran Khan’s vision of seeing him as the skipper who was handpicked by him.
I remember you were criticizing Pakistan's change in approach when it didn't worked in NZ. These shifts take time and our fans should be patient when we try something new.Exactly that approach took them to 201 instead of 160-170 which Bangladesh would have somehow managed to chase it down.
Logic clearly shows where they stand in terms of PSL performances. They have been surpassed by others who are in the playing XI. Tanveer bhai thinks he's a showman, but now he's coming across as a cow.
You haven’t been tagging me lately?
These boys remind me of Randy Orton's theme song
They all remind me of Colonel Sofia Qureshi during operation Bunyan Al-MarsoosThese boys remind me of Randy Orton's theme song
You got your rules and regulations, they're designed to keep you safe, but when rules start getting broken you start questioning your faith.![]()
Horrible decision to drop both of them. There are no worthy replacements
First Amir should apologize for the Super Over and then Imad should apologize for his innings vs India.Where’s the apology for 16 off 26 in the powerplay?!!
Where’s the apology for USA???
Where’s the apology for the 22-2 in 10 overs at home in the CT???
First Babar and Rizwan should apologise for destroying Pakistan cricket by playing ODI in T20sFirst Amir should apologize for the Super Over and then Imad should apologize for his innings vs India.
With Ba/Riz Pakistan got mauled by NZ on 3 occasions in odiDelulu Pakistani fans falling into the same trap as usual. Any XI in Pakistan would look good against this depleted Bangladesh team on these pitches.
The same “intent merchants” got whooped in New Zealand and it wasn’t even the best team New Zealand could field.
Let these “intent merchants” perform like this vs full-strength Australia, India, England, South Africa etc. then talk. Until then, keep quiet.
So what? New Zealand is an excellent team, Pakistan is a little weaker than them.With Ba/Riz Pakistan got mauled by NZ on 3 occasions in odi
RizBar had plenty of T20s at home against NZ C on these roads. Why was there no 200+ score in the years 2022-2024 with them at the helm?With Ba/Riz Pakistan got mauled by NZ on 3 occasions in odi
So let’s bring back Babar and Rizwan to tackle Rashid, Noor, Nabi and Ghazanfar??August: 3 T20Is vs WI and 3 T20Is vs Afghanistan
October: 3 T20Is vs South Africa
November: 3 T20Is vs Sri Lanka
March: 3 T20Is vs Australia
Assuming that Babar and Rizwan do not return, these 15 T20Is in the next 12 months will reveal and unfold everything.
Let’s see if they have any substance or are soda bottles that made a loud pop but there was nothing inside.
Let’s just hope the 0 IQ clowns don’t make excuses for them. They will not be entertained.
If they continue to play like this, fair play to them.
Little weaker doesnt entail getting mauled 3x in a row.So what? New Zealand is an excellent team, Pakistan is a little weaker than them.
The point is that both belong in the strongest XI that Pakistan can field across formats.
If these intent merchants can beat the best sides in the world, fair enough. No one will advocate for Babar & Rizwan to return to the team. However, they failed their audition in New Zealand with flying colors.
Pakistan with ba/riz lost to USA and Zimbabwe(in a series and a world cup).RizBar had plenty of T20s at home against NZ C on these roads. Why was there no 200+ score in the years 2022-2024 with them at the helm?
Of course chawwal fans will not realise the difference in Pakistan batting mindset which is clearly at display here when comparing to the era of RizBar doing whatever they liked.
Farhan hit 6-7 sixes in his innings of 40 balls! Pakistan continued to press at a run rate of 10+ throughout their innings. Batsmen 1-5 all contributing with runs instead of looking useless out in the middle post powerplay
But let’s laughably ignore the fact that Babar and Rizwan have helped Pakistan chase 330+ in ODIs multiple times?RizBar had plenty of T20s at home against NZ C on these roads. Why was there no 200+ score in the years 2022-2024 with them at the helm?
Of course fans will not realise the difference in Pakistan batting mindset which is clearly at display here when comparing to the era of RizBar doing whatever they liked.
Farhan hit 6-7 sixes in his innings of 40 balls! Pakistan continued to press at a run rate of 10+ throughout their innings. Batsmen 1-5 all contributing with runs instead of looking useless out in the middle post powerplay
That's why I always say you know nothing about cricket.
I've done that mostly but zero knowledge fan @Rana keeps tagging me some reason.To not let agendas dominate discourse, it should be mandated that only posters with honest intentions and good character should be responded to. This is my new policy moving forward.
This is why agendas don’t prevail over honesty and good character. Very shameful.
Fans who want the team to lose when certain players are playing so that they can satisfy their agendas are not fans. They are a disgrace and they must be shunned.
Oh put a sock in it…Fans who want the team to lose when certain players are playing so that they can satisfy their agendas are not fans. They are a disgrace and they must be shunned.
Shaheen wasn't missed, but he certainly would have shared the spoils here
Only Shaheen comes back
He’s one of our own. The other two can Daffa ho!
Shaheen is a key bowlerShaheen wasn't missed, but he certainly would have shared the spoils here
Bumping it upThe whole nation owes them an apology. Imagine being dropped for Haris, Hasan and Usman.![]()
They are just rejoicing exile of two selfish cricketersPakistanis rejoicing after beating a C String Bangladeshi team is height of desperation. Had Bangladesh held onto their catches, this series would have been a lot closer.
True. Bangladesh is not the metric to judge a team's form... The real test will be against strong teams.Dropping Babar and rizwan is right thing but don't get Over excited by Performance against Bangladesh.
When will be Pakistan playing a series against Australia, England, South Africa Or NZ?
Yep...next game is against windies on july 31Just checked after tomorrow game Pakistan don't have any international fixtures for almost 60 days (2 month's) . Is This true?![]()
How will die hard Pakistan fans survive for 2 month's without cricket . Very poor scheduling by PCB .True. Bangladesh is not the metric to judge a team's form... The real test will be against strong teams.
Yep...next game is against windies on july 31
Bump for what? Are we supposed to forget how these intent merchants got destroyed in New Zealand? And it wasn’t even the best available New Zealand team.Bumping it up
You’re coping well bro!August: 3 T20Is vs WI and 3 T20Is vs Afghanistan
October: 3 T20Is vs South Africa
November: 3 T20Is vs Sri Lanka
March: 3 T20Is vs Australia
Assuming that Babar and Rizwan do not return, these 15 T20Is in the next 12 months will reveal and unfold everything.
Let’s see if they have any substance or are soda bottles that made a loud pop but there was nothing inside.
Let’s just hope the 0 IQ clowns don’t make excuses for them. They will not be entertained.
If they continue to play like this, fair play to them.
Shaheen is poor at death just like Amir. I think he should bowl his quota before 16th over.Shaheen is a key bowler
He needs to learn not being dependent on the new ball. Look at Shoriful… he can do the same thing Shaheen does in the 2nd over instead of the first. Bumrah doesn’t open the bowling anymore
Shaheen can do a lot more as long as he doesn’t insist on giving himself the easy start.
Time will tell, as it did with your statements relative to Shubman Gill.Bump for what? Are we supposed to forget how these intent merchants got destroyed in New Zealand? And it wasn’t even the best available New Zealand team.
This new crop of players have miserably failed their only challenge.
What’s wrong with Shubman Gill?Time will tell, as it did with your statements relative to Shubman Gill.
Gill is the highest ranked ODI batter in the world.Time will tell, as it did with your statements relative to Shubman Gill.
A very good odi batsmen but a very medicore test batter. However he is a gun talent for India.Gill is the highest ranked ODI batter in the world.
He’s better than Rizwan and Babar.Is Hasan Nawaz better than Saeed Anwar?
Gill needs to increase his test average . He is damn good but sometimes Play very rash shots. Gill should work on incoming delivery where he struggles a lot in Test cricket.Gill is the highest ranked ODI batter in the world.
That was not my questionHe’s better than Rizwan and Babar.
Your question is stupid.That was not my question