Does the Sarfaraz - Shafiq partnership mean good bye to our usual ultra defensive batting approach?

Zeshan547

We have witnessed countless times that typical ultra defensive approach which Pak batsman opt for In tests Specially in 4th inning whether trying to win or draw match every single time end in tears but yesterday Partnership even though somewhat forced showed how big a difference just a little more intent to score can have, before some of you say "oh man they simply don't have ability to score quick" than I ain't buying that theory, do you have to be Viv to score at 3 rpo vs today bowlers on today flatter pitches? And if you don't have even this much ability then we should sack those legendary selectors first for selecting such hopeless lot, but I don't think our top 5 didn't have the ability to achieve that it's just the plain stupid safety first planning and strategy by overall management which these phattu players follow blindly and keep blocking for the sake of it, that has to be changed going forward, I agree this more dynamic approach won't win you every but it will always keep you in the game. And is better strategy than that going nowhere approach which we always have. Thoughts?

[MENTION=79064]MMHS[/MENTION] [MENTION=138254]Syed1[/MENTION] [MENTION=137148]Rayyman[/MENTION] [MENTION=134608]Hawkeye[/MENTION] [MENTION=131701]Mamoon[/MENTION] Would love to know your take on this.

I doubt it , it didnt happen after we chased 302.

Our players do not want to come out of their comfort zone and doing tukk is their most favourite option.

You wish.

Players like azhar, shan, sami, shafiq dont play like this usually. And babar is following suit. Only haris and sarfaraz show some intent. Dont think players are going to change the style of batting which they have been following since years.

[MENTION=57110]JibranAnsari[/MENTION] that 302 isn't a like for like or routine case, in that scenario they had no other option, but yesterday sarfraz and Asad had the option to follow suit of their earlier partners and could opt for that keep blocking approach because they could have been excused due to match situation and because still overs remaining wasn't a problem but despite that they thankfully opted for the better approach of keep ticking the score board. And with some luck there for everyone to see.

[MENTION=131678]Madplayer[/MENTION] but they simply have to change if they want to be the best in world or keep lingering at the bottom, and it will sooner or later will force them out of the team as well.

[MENTION=57110]JibranAnsari[/MENTION] that 302 isn't a like for like or routine case, in that scenario they had no other option, but yesterday sarfraz and Asad had the option to follow suit of their earlier partners and could opt for that keep blocking approach because they could have been excused due to match situation and because still overs remaining wasn't a problem but despite that they thankfully opted for the better approach of keep ticking the score board. And with some luck there for everyone to see.

Sarfraz plays like this , infact yesterday he played a rathar controlled innings. As for shafiq he played a similar kind of innings against australia last year and after that he returned to his merry ways. So i dont think that this partnership will change much as far as approach goes.

[MENTION=140234]DRsohail[/MENTION] how much ability it would have taken for our top order to score at Atleast 2.5 to 3 rpo yesterday? I don't think it was plain lack of ability I think it was more the case of lack of intent and wrong approach.

No no chance bhai ye Pakistan cricket hai!! With a clueless guy as chief selector we are going nowhere.. ps abh to shaan masood regular hogya hai aur bhateeja imaam bhi aanaywala hai🤦🏽*♂️, I cant see us goin anywhere in tests without dynamic openers but hamari badkissmati ka par chi walay aatay rahaingy 🤦🏽*♂️

That depends. Is this the first time a middle/lower order partnership has scored at a faster pace after the top order batted slowly?

The problem is the mindset as you've mentioned. We've had the same issues before the younis/misbah era. There is no doubt about the skill level of fhe batsmen but psychologically pakistani batsmen tend to go into their shells while chasing no matter if its a test or a ltd over game. Shan masood is a typical example. Played 102 balls for his 21 and was going no where. He still wasnt confident playing the spinners. You could debate his approach had he scored a 50 in 180-190 balls but then again the pressure that keeps building whilst the strike is halted

I think Shan Simply don't have the skill but for others it was more lack of intent than skill.

Seriously doubt it.

Sarfraz always play like this where as Shafiq was desperate to perform in the 2nd innings and realized he won't survive by blocking on this pitch. Shafiq has played similar type of innings against NZ in 2014 and against Australia recently. I don't expect much from him today looking at his previous record of choking under pressure.

Going Forward if we want to play at modern rate than we have to set a minimum benchmark of 50 strike rate and 40 Average in FC to get a chance for national teams we don't need turtle army anymore, I think our Ideal combo For UK tests should be
1) Fakhar
2) Azhar
3) Harris
4) Usman
5) Shafiq
6) Sarfraz
7) Fahim/Yamin
8) Amir
9) Yasir
10) Wahab
11) Hassan
Squad:
12) Abbas
13) Fahim/Yamin
14) Shehzad
15) Imad
And if we can find even better performer from this QEA than we can get them in as well.

I guess the team I put above may be unproven but potentially very solid modern day test outfit which has most bases covered with no major weak link, [MENTION=79064]MMHS[/MENTION] do you think this is ideal combo for UK test series given the known players Pak have as of now.

some times aggression brings you more tears than ultra defensive technique
same people will say this is test cricket how they are playing aggressively and losing tests

[MENTION=79064]MMHS[/MENTION] [MENTION=138254]Syed1[/MENTION] [MENTION=137148]Rayyman[/MENTION] [MENTION=134608]Hawkeye[/MENTION] [MENTION=131701]Mamoon[/MENTION] Would love to know your take on this.

No.

Problem isn't approach, problem is capability. Even when Misbah was in charge, YK chased 377 at 4+ RR on a rank turner - that's class. With this line up, don't think approach will change - every time Sami tried to accelerate, got out. Least said about Shan is safer.

Needs change in personals, as Mickey hinted - but, I am afraid again wrong people will be picked. Besides - No. 3 dictates the batting motto ... won't say further.

Nothing is going to happen. Our batsmen don't have the ability or the courage.

The 7th ranking shouldn't come as a surprise when Azhar is your star batsman.

Sarfraz and Shafiq have always batted positively together. Top 3 doesn't set the right tempo at all for me. Need Babar or Harris at 3.

So one nice quick partnership and goodbye to ultra slow batting? I expect both on some days this partnership doesn't mean it will always happen.

One thing is for sure if we keep repeating the same mistake then result will always be same, Rip Pak cricket.

No.

Problem isn't approach, problem is capability. Even when Misbah was in charge, YK chased 377 at 4+ RR on a rank turner - that's class. With this line up, don't think approach will change - every time Sami tried to accelerate, got out. Least said about Shan is safer.

Needs change in personals, as Mickey hinted - but, I am afraid again wrong people will be picked. Besides - No. 3 dictates the batting motto ... won't say further.

Couldn't agree more, i really don't have high hopes from our team in near future in tests, and even in ODIs its yet to be proven that CT was fluke or real overnight improvement, still fear its former.