Donald Trump at India rally: US has a 'very good' relationship with Pakistan

US has 'very good' relation with Pakistan, hopes for reduced tension in region, Trump says at India rally

US President Donald Trump, while addressing a packed rally in Ahmedabad after his arrival in India on Monday, said the United States has "a very good relation" with Pakistan and hopes to reduce tensions in the region.

"US and India are committed to stopping terrorists and fight their ideology. For this reason, since taking office, my administration is working in a very positive way with Pakistan to crack down on terrorist organisations and militants which operate on the Pakistani border," said Trump.

"Our relationship with Pakistan is a very good one. Thanks to these efforts, we are beginning to see signs of big progress with Pakistan and we are hopeful for reduced tensions, greater stability and the future of harmony for all of the nations of South Asia," said Trump on the first day of his whirlwind 36-hour visit meant to reaffirm US-India ties.

More than 100,000 people packed into the world’s largest cricket stadium, giving Trump the biggest rally crowd of his political career, for the pinnacle of the day’s trio of presidential photo-ops. The boisterous scene featured soldiers on camels, a mix of songs from Bollywood hits and Trump’s campaign rally playlist, including an Elton John hit that seemed to puzzle most of the crowd. Trump basked in the raucous reception that has eluded him on many foreign trips, some of which have featured massive protests and icy handshakes from world leaders.

Nearly everyone in the newly constructed stadium in Ahmedabad in western India sported a white cap with the name of the event, “Namaste, Trump” or “Welcome, Trump”, and roared for the introductions of both Trump and India’s Prime Minister Narendra Modi.

Trump opened his speech by declaring that he traveled 8,000 miles to deliver the message that “America loves India, America respects India and America will always be faithful and loyal friends to the Indian people”.

Perhaps alluding to tough negotiations over trade, Trump lightheartedly told the rally crowd: “Everybody loves him, but I will tell you this. He’s very tough.”

The two nations are closely allied, in part to act as a bulwark against the rising influence of nearby China, but trade tensions between the two countries have escalated since the Trump administration imposed tariffs on steel and aluminium from India. India responded with higher penalties on agricultural goods and restrictions on US medical devices. The US retaliated by removing India from a decades-old preferential trade program.

There was no mention by Trump of the protests enveloping India over its Citizenship Amendment Act, which provides a fast track to naturalisation for some migrants who entered the country illegally while fleeing religious persecution, but excludes Muslims. The passage has raised fears that the country is moving toward a religious citizenship test and prompted large-scale protests and a violent crackdown.

https://www.dawn.com/news/1536395/u...d-tension-in-region-trump-says-at-india-rally

US has 'very good' relation with Pakistan, hopes for reduced tension in region, Trump says at India rally

US President Donald Trump, while addressing a packed rally in Ahmedabad after his arrival in India on Monday, said the United States has "a very good relation" with Pakistan and hopes to reduce tensions in the region.

"US and India are committed to stopping terrorists and fight their ideology. For this reason, since taking office, my administration is working in a very positive way with Pakistan to crack down on terrorist organisations and militants which operate on the Pakistani border," said Trump.

"Our relationship with Pakistan is a very good one. Thanks to these efforts, we are beginning to see signs of big progress with Pakistan and we are hopeful for reduced tensions, greater stability and the future of harmony for all of the nations of South Asia," said Trump on the first day of his whirlwind 36-hour visit meant to reaffirm US-India ties.

https://www.dawn.com/news/1536395/u...d-tension-in-region-trump-says-at-india-rally

So all that song and dance was for nothing?

Did Modi make it to the stage to utter his usual anti Pakistan tirade?
A bit of Modi yin to the Trump yang.

Interesting choice of words from Trump:
my administration is working in a very positive way with Pakistan to crack down on terrorist organisations and militants which operate on the Pakistani border,

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Our relationship with Pakistan is a very good one - thanks to these efforts we are beginning to see signs of big progress with Pakistan: US President Trump to Modi supporters in Ahmedabad<br><br>Pin-drop silence and shock from audience <a href="https://t.co/IwJ8Pfq92C">pic.twitter.com/IwJ8Pfq92C</a></p>— omar r quraishi (@omar_quraishi) <a href="https://twitter.com/omar_quraishi/status/1231877008780558336?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">February 24, 2020</a></blockquote>

LOL that moment of silence when he mentioned Pakistan was epic.

WARNING: Bhakths and Sanghis, watch it at your own discretion.

Modi: Last Week Tonight with John Oliver

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/qVIXUhZ2AWs" frameborder="0" allow="accelerometer; autoplay; encrypted-media; gyroscope; picture-in-picture" allowfullscreen></iframe>

LMAO EPIC FAIL for the Modi govt. After all the bhangra, shoor sharaba, constructing walls to hide the poor. :yk :afridi :misbah :uakmal

WARNING: Bhakths and Sanghis, watch it at your own discretion.

Modi: Last Week Tonight with John Oliver

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/qVIXUhZ2AWs" frameborder="0" allow="accelerometer; autoplay; encrypted-media; gyroscope; picture-in-picture" allowfullscreen></iframe>

This video made my day.

He is literally humiliating Modi with some epic trolling, and exposing him with straight facts at the same time.

or he sees them as beggers and doesnt care.

He is an idiot, he sees the world as white Americans with money vs rest of the world with some money he can take vs most of the world that is all beggars..

I would t be surprised if he really didn’t care who his audience was!

He is an idiot, he sees the world as white Americans with money vs rest of the world with some money he can take vs most of the world that is all beggars..

I would t be surprised if he really didn’t care who his audience was!

He is but the Inds like him because his hatred of Muslims.

Not sure he hates Muslims more than any other darker toned people, they are all much of a muchness to him. Indians can make statues and worship him if they like, but he will just see all these s-hole countries as markets for the US.

I am wondering why Ppers doing bhangra over trumps diplomatic statement and celebrating it like a big victory... Who was the last US president who visited Pakistan

Lol what a slap on extremist Moody face [MENTION=1269]Bewal Express[/MENTION].

I can't stand Trump but this was a proper slap. The PK have played the game very well, as he is desperate to leave Afghanistan and he knows its only us that can help. The slap in your guests own home is worth it's weight in gold.

People celebrating this statement too !

Nothing to say about his "militants and terrorist organisation operating on Pakistani soil" comment ?

Lol at "bIg SlAp on InDiA's fAcE" !

:yk

Nothing to say about his "militants and terrorist organisation operating on Pakistani soil" comment ?

Who has stopped you from opening up a thread?

Big Poppa will always try to associate Pakistan with any fringe groups as long as they are not serving purpose of big Poppa.

So you switched Pakistani border with Pakistani soil?

:lol

Yes, the part he spent more time talking about, is a slap on India's face.

I thought he said border not soil, but of course you may know better

Who has stopped you from opening up a thread?

Big Poppa will always try to associate Pakistan with any fringe groups as long as they are not serving purpose of big Poppa.

If I start opening a thread about everything that Trump said today that are against Pakistan/Pakistanis' stance , this site would crash. :)

Why don’t you go for it - you seem quite an inventive person what with changing border for soil in this thread and going on about 500,000 pandits emigrating in a single night in Kashmir thread

border.
border.
border.
border.
border.

Write it out 5 times so you don't confuse the two again

Its good to have someone to defend the Indian stance here. Don’t run away like the rest of the Indian fellas.

I am wondering why Ppers doing bhangra over trumps diplomatic statement and celebrating it like a big victory... Who was the last US president who visited Pakistan

I'm wondering why, when your pathetic nation bans anything Pakistan or Pakistani, are you coming on a Pakistani forum telling us what to celebrate or not?

I wish Indians took the Pakistan boycott and applied it to PP too.

What narrative ? "Isolating Pakistan'' one ?

This is not some saas bahu drama that Trump will start having a go at Pakistan or start being totally non-diplomatic about his statements just to please Modi. Pakistan is one of US' biggest arms and defence market, don't get why people are acting surprised here.

No one is acting surprised, just stating, again, what you have stated in your comment. No US president will ever try to humiliate Pakistan on Indian soil.

Difference is, this time around, Sanghis and Hindutva thought Trump would support BJP narrative.

This is not some saas bahu drama that Trump will start having a go at Pakistan or start being totally non-diplomatic about his statements just to please Modi. Pakistan is one of US' biggest arms and defence market, don't get why people are acting surprised here.

Can you list the top 10 nations buying military tools/systems from the US? What number is Pakistan?

On topic, serious embarrassment for the RSS and its supporters. Im sure they were expecting harsh words towards Pakistan but now Trump the idiot has let the cat out of the bag.

This is not some saas bahu drama that Trump will start having a go at Pakistan or start being totally non-diplomatic about his statements just to please Modi. <b>Pakistan is one of US' biggest arms and defence market, </b> don't get why people are acting surprised here.

Really? Isn’t Trump selling something to India in this visit?

https://www.google.co.uk/amp/s/m.ti...ion-copter-deals/amp_articleshow/74286506.cms

Reality is that Pakistan is strategically more important for US than India. India is only used by the US to exert some pressure over China but nothing more than that. Other than its just a big market for US to sell stuff. Otherwise its just another poor 3rd world country for Trump and Americans.

Trump is getting foreign exchange for the US, whats India selling in return?

This is funnier

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">India's friend... the President of the United States of America... Mr Do **** Trump!<br><br>😹😹😹<a href="https://t.co/Qsoy9SdVTd">pic.twitter.com/Qsoy9SdVTd</a></p>— Rofl Republic 🍋🌶 (@i_theindian) <a href="https://twitter.com/i_theindian/status/1231866100482113536?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">February 24, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

This is funnier

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">India's friend... the President of the United States of America... Mr Do **** Trump!<br><br>&#55357;&#56889;&#55357;&#56889;&#55357;&#56889;<a href="https://t.co/Qsoy9SdVTd">pic.twitter.com/Qsoy9SdVTd</a></p>— Rofl Republic &#55356;&#57163;&#55356;&#57142; (@i_theindian) <a href="https://twitter.com/i_theindian/status/1231866100482113536?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">February 24, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

:))) :))) :))) :))) :))) :))) :))) :))) :))) :)))

I need some funds from Donald trump to do a thorough research on the genes of Pakistani and Indian citizens. I always wonder why do they fight so much I guess they have nothing good to write about their countries....

India can roll out the red carpet all they want but if they really think America is their ''friend'' then they are sorely mistaken. America is nobody's friend but its own and from India it wants complete obedience vis-a-vis China. Policy-makers in India are already aware of this and sensible analysts are visibly nervous about it. Furthermore, as the US under Trump continues to pursue mercantilist and protectionist economic policies, trade ties with India are unlikely to grow. The only area where India is getting its moneys worth is defense equipment.

This is funnier

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">India's friend... the President of the United States of America... Mr Do **** Trump!<br><br>&#55357;&#56889;&#55357;&#56889;&#55357;&#56889;<a href="https://t.co/Qsoy9SdVTd">pic.twitter.com/Qsoy9SdVTd</a></p>— Rofl Republic &#55356;&#57163;&#55356;&#57142; (@i_theindian) <a href="https://twitter.com/i_theindian/status/1231866100482113536?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">February 24, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Hilarious. If Modi insists on speaking English than he may want to improve on it and not just orally, but written too. I expect him to succeed with this though as he has great 'STREANH' as leader.

India can roll out the red carpet all they want but if they really think America is their ''friend'' then they are sorely mistaken. America is nobody's friend but its own and from India it wants complete obedience vis-a-vis China. Policy-makers in India are already aware of this and sensible analysts are visibly nervous about it. Furthermore, as the US under Trump continues to pursue mercantilist and protectionist economic policies, trade ties with India are unlikely to grow. The only area where India is getting its moneys worth is defense equipment.

Array ab tou Trump ko Bhagwan banna k uss ki pooja bhi ho rahi hai.
What more does US expect?

Ho sakta hai Trump k naam pe Naryal phornay se H4 visa restrictions ease ho jaein.

Hilarious. If Modi insists on speaking English than he may want to improve on it and not just orally, but written too. I expect him to succeed with this though as he has great 'STREANH' as leader.

Being Amreekas Phrainde, he needs to do some Toefl/ielts type course. Otherwise baar baar yeh DoLun walli confusions hi hoti rahein gi :)))

Trump Inn k naamo ki be-ijjati kar bhi Helicopter bech gaya. Thatswhat he meant by premier Defence partner.

Its a ping pong game going on between the 2 about speaking each other’s language. We just need to sit back and enjoy the show.

I don't know why are we getting so excited about this dog and pony show. A case of schadenfreude it seems.

All important stuff will happen behind the scenes. If they sign major defense deals with ToT and a lot more FDI in India, who cares what Donald says :P

I don't know why are we getting so excited about this dog and pony show. A case of schadenfreude it seems.

All important stuff will happen behind the scenes. If they sign major defense deals with ToT and a lot more FDI in India, who cares what Donald says :P

This BBC article sums it up well (see #2 abt the Trade deal)
https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-us-canada-51590610

In summary Trump is out there for himself and not to hand out candies to Chai walla Modi.

Tbh: Schadenfreude aside It would be good if India gets something out of this visit (because other than despicable Modi & BJP) ordinary poor Indians should get a respite. However because of their right wing government and extremist attitude shown by Hinduvita/RSS it’s difficult to sympathise with Indian government.

I think it was Clinton back in 1999.

India can roll out the red carpet all they want but if they really think America is their ''friend'' then they are sorely mistaken. America is nobody's friend but its own and from India it wants complete obedience vis-a-vis China.

As Henry John Temple said "Nations have no permanent friends or allies, they only have permanent interests."

The US is not going to do any favors to India or Pakistan if it goes against its interests.

In the short term, Trump has an interest in getting out of Pakistan. So, while he visits India and skips Pakistan, he will say something nice about Pakistan as he needs to make a deal with Pakistan's surrogate Taliban. Once the deal is done and the US is out of Afghanistan, he likely will be indifferent.

Having permanent interests means that collaboration with countries can extend to the longer term. There is a convergence of interests between the US and India, both of which are significant democracies dealing with some similar issues. That doesn't mean that they won't tussle over trade. As India runs a $50 billion trade surplus with the US, the US would like India to buy more from the US. It also recognizes, that unlike China, India does not run a huge net surplus with the world.

Policy-makers in India are already aware of this and sensible analysts are visibly nervous about it. Furthermore, as the US under Trump continues to pursue mercantilist and protectionist economic policies, trade ties with India are unlikely to grow. The only area where India is getting its moneys worth is defense equipment.

Trade with India could grow if India does whatever is necessary to become a more attractive base for manufacturing. While the US resists larger trade deficits, Trump would rather purchase goods from India than China. It is up to India to raise the level of its manufacturing to compete with China, Indonesia, Vietnam etc.

Americans are not stupid. They know who gave arms to the Taliban which killed 2,500 US soldiers. They are not going to forget that soon, whatever little pleasantries Trump may now utter.

Reality is that Pakistan is strategically more important for US than India. India is only used by the US to exert some pressure over China but nothing more than that. Other than its just a big market for US to sell stuff. Otherwise its just another poor 3rd world country for Trump and Americans.

Pakistan too is just a poor 3rd world country for Trump and Americans. Them being more important for US is an objective thing.

India is far more important for the US on the economic front due to our huge market. And Pakistan is geograhically more important due to their proximity to Afghanistan and Iran. You can also say that they are only "using" Pakistan to fight taliban or negate China's control in South Asia by taking a chunk off their trade. Point is you can say that about pretty much every country in the world. It's all for materialistic needs. No one is entitled or owes anyone anything.

Pakistan too is just a poor 3rd world country for Trump and Americans. Them being more important for US is an objective thing.

India is far more important for the US on the economic front due to our huge market. And Pakistan is geograhically more important due to their proximity to Afghanistan and Iran. You can also say that they are only "using" Pakistan to fight taliban or negate China's control in South Asia by taking a chunk off their trade. Point is you can say that about pretty much every country in the world. It's all for materialistic needs. No one is entitled or owes anyone anything.

Importance due to geographical proximity is a subjective thing. Iran and Afghanistan are not important to the US, especially in the longer term. Oil is going to be replaced by solar in the next decade. The market cap of Tesla used to be less than GM and Ford three years ago, two years ago it was equal to both individually, today it is twice that of both combined.

There are people in the US Foreign Service who want to remain relevant, so they go poke their noses all over the world and create trouble. But Trump would like to bring them to heel, and they yelp "isolationist". Hopefully 4 more years of Trump will further neuter them.

Importance due to geographical proximity is a subjective thing. Iran and Afghanistan are not important to the US, especially in the longer term. Oil is going to be replaced by solar in the next decade. The market cap of Tesla used to be less than GM and Ford three years ago, two years ago it was equal to both individually, today it is twice that of both combined.

There are people in the US Foreign Service who want to remain relevant, so they go poke their noses all over the world and create trouble. But Trump would like to bring them to heel, and they yelp "isolationist". Hopefully 4 more years of Trump will further neuter them.

Oh thanks for the info.

Maybe that explains why US is leaving Afghanistan finally.

As Henry John Temple said "Nations have no permanent friends or allies, they only have permanent interests."

The US is not going to do any favors to India or Pakistan if it goes against its interests.

In the short term, Trump has an interest in getting out of Pakistan. So, while he visits India and skips Pakistan, he will say something nice about Pakistan as he needs to make a deal with Pakistan's surrogate Taliban. Once the deal is done and the US is out of Afghanistan, he likely will be indifferent.

Having permanent interests means that collaboration with countries can extend to the longer term. There is a convergence of interests between the US and India, both of which are significant democracies dealing with some similar issues. That doesn't mean that they won't tussle over trade. As India runs a $50 billion trade surplus with the US, the US would like India to buy more from the US. It also recognizes, that unlike China, India does not run a huge net surplus with the world.

Trade with India could grow if India does whatever is necessary to become a more attractive base for manufacturing. While the US resists larger trade deficits, Trump would rather purchase goods from India than China. It is up to India to raise the level of its manufacturing to compete with China, Indonesia, Vietnam etc.

Americans are not stupid. They know who gave arms to the Taliban which killed 2,500 US soldiers. They are not going to forget that soon, whatever little pleasantries Trump may now utter.

Dream on!

Taliban will not evaporate into thin air after any deal with the US (like they didn’t since US invasion of Afghanistan). So Pakistan will need to be engaged on on-going basis to keep things in balance.

Secondly Pakistans proximity to Iran, middle east and central asia makes it far more strategically important than India. Whereas India’s natural border with China is mountainous that too in uninhabited Tibetan plateau, hence of no real logistical use. Pakistan is also useful for Americans to keep a tab on India itself.

As for making India a manufacturing hub and steal China’s lunch, i dont really see that happening because the modern infrastructure is just not there, the rest of the world isn’t sleeping and automation is on the rise. They way things are technologically advancing in China, its gonna be difficult.

India may be Worlds largest democracy in name but what’s happening in there with minorities is reported all over the world (incl BBC, NY times, Deutschewelle etc). Its another thing that countries put their economic interest first but that doesn’t People are dumb to overlook all that because of Indian chest thumping.

...In the short term, Trump has an interest in getting out of Pakistan.

Importance due to geographical proximity is a subjective thing. Iran and Afghanistan are not important to the US, especially in the longer term.

US are not in Pakistan that’s just in your fantasies.
US have had an ‘interest’ in Iran for more than 70 years, I can’t think of another country in which the US have both covertly and openly meddled with in modern history.
You contradicting yourself in the space of one post is about par. That’s usually what happens when you post rubbish from the top of your head with little recourse to historical events.

Importance of Trump's statement on Pakistan while in India cannot be denied: FM Qureshi

Foreign Minister Shah Mehmood Qureshi on Tuesday said the importance of US President Donald Trump's statement during his visit to India — in which he said that the US has a "very good relationship" with Pakistan — cannot be denied.

A day earlier, US President Donald Trump, while addressing a packed rally in Ahmedabad after his arrival in India on Monday, said the United States has "a very good relationship" with Pakistan.

"Our relationship with Pakistan is a very good one. Thanks to these efforts, we are beginning to see signs of big progress with Pakistan and we are hopeful for reduced tensions, greater stability and the future of harmony for all of the nations of South Asia," Trump had said on the first day of his whirlwind 36-hour visit meant to reaffirm US-India ties.

In a statement released by the foreign minister's spokesperson today, Qureshi said that Trump remark about Pakistan was "extraordinary and its importance cannot be denied".

"Trump wants peace and stability in the region and has asked India to play a positive role in the area and extend a hand for promoting peace and stability in the region."

The foreign minister said that this will only be possible when the Kashmir issue is solved.

"The current Indian government has further complicated an already complicated problem. India's measures of August 5 have affected the identity of Kashmir and broken it into several parts.

"Kashmir has been under lockdown for 206 days. How can things progress in these conditions?" he questioned.

"Pakistan's stance on the disturbance caused by the Citizenship Amendment Act in India can be seen by what is happening in Delhi.

Read: 7 killed, 150 injured in citizenship law clashes in Delhi

"If conditions worsen, the void of peace in the region can affect the whole world."

The minister added that India needs to "review its behaviour and policy".

Qureshi said Trump "made it clear that Pakistan is a partner of peace in the war against terrorism". He added that the progress Pakistan has made to defeat terrorism is exemplary.

"Pakistan's role in the Afghan peace process is there for the world to see [...] and Pakistan's role in the region is being commended.

"The Pakistan which India deemed to be a 'problem' is now being seen by the world as a 'solution'."

He congratulated the "people of Pakistan, the armed forces and the political leadership for the positive change".

https://www.dawn.com/news/1536588/i...an-while-in-india-cannot-be-denied-fm-qureshi

Yes, yes I am perfectly well aware about American intentions towards Pakistan. But if you really still think that American is in this to mutually boost trade, you're sorely mistaken. American doesn't treat its best friends (UK, France, Korea) with respect, what makes you think it will treat India with respect? At best American will give some carrots to India (defence, trade etc. etc.) but in the long-term their interests with India are strategic, and specifically in-regards to containing China and that's where the stick will come in. And it is then that India will either have to obediently obey America or not. And the latter will not go down well with the Americans.

Actually I would say they are very stupid, in regards to Afghanistan. Firstly because they thought that Pakistan would compromise its own strategic interests and blindly support them in the "war on terror", and secondly, because they actually thought they could win this war. Today, neither has Pakistan's influence in Afghanistan diminished, nor has the puppet regime that they propped up done anything to consolidate power outside Kabul. Rather, the Americans have themselves vindicated Pakistan's stance by negotiating with the Taliban.

US are not in Pakistan that’s just in your fantasies.
US have had an ‘interest’ in Iran for more than 70 years, I can’t think of another country in which the US have both covertly and openly meddled with in modern history.
You contradicting yourself in the space of one post is about par. That’s usually what happens when you post rubbish from the top of your head with little recourse to historical events.

I meant Afghanistan, not Pakistan.

Not sure where you think I contradicted myself. Yes, the US has had an interest in Iran for a long time given its oil wealth. However, oil is going to get less important in the future. If Trump remains President, then there will be lesser and lesser military adventures and involvement by the US. Obama, the Nobel Peace Laureate, was part of the group that started the Syrian, Libyan, Yemen and Ukraine wars. Trump has indulged in no such adventures.

While the US foreign policy Establishment likes meddling in Iran, the Iranian ruling Establishment also feeds off it. Iran doesn't need to have huge demonstrations in which people chant "Death to America" and call it the "Great Satan". The Iranian rulers don't have much to offer their people, they are not bringing prosperity beyond their oil wealth. So they instead feed off the enmity with Israel and the US.

If you want to engage in a discussion, you need to learn to be civil. No more replies from me.

Yes, yes I am perfectly well aware about American intentions towards Pakistan. But if you really still think that American is in this to mutually boost trade, you're sorely mistaken. American doesn't treat its best friends (UK, France, Korea) with respect, what makes you think it will treat India with respect? At best American will give some carrots to India (defence, trade etc. etc.) but in the long-term their interests with India are strategic, and specifically in-regards to containing China and that's where the stick will come in. And it is then that India will either have to obediently obey America or not. And the latter will not go down well with the Americans.

Not sure what you think "obediently obey America" entails. They put a lot of pressure on India not to get the SS 400 system as they want to starve Russia's defense industry, however India didn't accede. Which is not to say that in the future India will not agree to their demands, but Indians are perfectly capable of doing a cost benefit analysis.

Do countries like Japan, South Korea, Singapore, Taiwan, Germany, and Britain "obediently obey America"? In your assessment they likely do. However, they have also benefited from the post WWII system with their people experiencing prosperity. The US is obviously the leader of the bloc, but all its members have benefited.

Actually I would say they are very stupid, in regards to Afghanistan. Firstly because they thought that Pakistan would compromise its own strategic interests and blindly support them in the "war on terror", and secondly, because they actually thought they could win this war. Today, neither has Pakistan's influence in Afghanistan diminished, nor has the puppet regime that they propped up done anything to consolidate power outside Kabul. Rather, the Americans have themselves vindicated Pakistan's stance by negotiating with the Taliban.

Bush and his gang were stupid when they started the Afghanistan and Iraq wars. To succeed in these countries you have to be ruthless like Saddam, or if you go back in history Genghis Khan (the last invader to succeed in Afghanistan). Their best option to get rid of the Taliban was to defeat them militarily, and then turn over the country to another warlord, or multiple warlords.

However, the above doesn't mean that the US doesn't know who armed the Taliban in spite of Pakistani denials. That is the sense in which I said they are not stupid.

Not sure what you think "obediently obey America" entails. They put a lot of pressure on India not to get the SS 400 system as they want to starve Russia's defense industry, however India didn't accede. Which is not to say that in the future India will not agree to their demands, but Indians are perfectly capable of doing a cost benefit analysis.

Do countries like Japan, South Korea, Singapore, Taiwan, Germany, and Britain "obediently obey America"? In your assessment they likely do. However, they have also benefited from the post WWII system with their people experiencing prosperity. The US is obviously the leader of the bloc, but all its members have benefited.

Bush and his gang were stupid when they started the Afghanistan and Iraq wars. To succeed in these countries you have to be ruthless like Saddam, or if you go back in history Genghis Khan (the last invader to succeed in Afghanistan). Their best option to get rid of the Taliban was to defeat them militarily, and then turn over the country to another warlord, or multiple warlords.

However, the above doesn't mean that the US doesn't know who armed the Taliban in spite of Pakistani denials. That is the sense in which I said they are not stupid.

Well it means that America's strategic interests comes above all these countries' own strategic interests. Luckily for countries like Japan, Korea they are countries that are not embroiled in any major conflicts and yet still they get bullied by US on trade, NATO contributions. Unfortunately the reality that you are failing to see is that today's world is not the Post WW2 world or the Post Cold War world where America as the prime, uni-polar superpower actually benefited from globalization, international trade. The emergence of China as an economic powerhouse has made America increasingly insecure about its economic future which is why it is very careful to put American economic interests above everything else while dealing on economic matters with other countries. That is why any trade deal India negotiates with America, it negotiates from a position of weakness rather than a position of strength. Unless ofcourse America deliberately gives India the carrot. America is perfectly willing to cede to India on defence because it realizes that a) India is a very big market b) it can eventually cut Russia's market share by getting India hooked on American equipment which isn't really that hard because American weaponry and equipment is simply the most superior on the planet.

I think you're very much off-base. Saddam, like all dictators was ruthless only when he had foreign support like during the Iran-Iraq War. And even then he could not defeat Iran. When he tried to overreach by invading Kuwait he got his due. The example of Genghis Khan does not apply because back then most places around the world were invade-able if you had sheer force. The advent of communications, modern weaponry and the nation-state system has deemed conquests highly unlikely if not completely impossible.

Who doesn't know? Pakistan played a double game in Afghanistan. We took American money without ever doing what they wanted and yet doing enough to keep them interested. The way I see it Pakistan played America like a fiddle and it was an incredible ignorance on part of the Americans to think that Pakistan would compromise on its strategic interests in Afghanistan or throw away all the links it cultivated with the Taliban over the course of 20+ years just to support them on their quest to reaffirm American hegemony. Today it is Pakistan that has brought the Taliban and the Americans to the table. And all the vitriol that America spewed over the last decade about Pakistan arming and giving safe-heavens to the Taliban ceases to matter.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">For my Taj files: Yogi Adityanath, Islamophobic politician from Hindu fundamentalist party, gifts photo of Taj--a Muslim mausoleum covered in Qur'anic inscriptions--to Islamophobic, white nationalist POTUS. ¯\_(ツ)_/¯ <a href="https://t.co/z9dw08MNId">pic.twitter.com/z9dw08MNId</a></p>— Yael Rice (@Yael_Rice) <a href="https://twitter.com/Yael_Rice/status/1232012257653071875?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">February 24, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Well it means that America's strategic interests comes above all these countries' own strategic interests. Luckily for countries like Japan, Korea they are countries that are not embroiled in any major conflicts and yet still they get bullied by US on trade, NATO contributions.

Hard to say Japan and Korea get bullied by the US on trade given they they run huge surpluses with the US, and have accumulated huge forex reserves.

Hard to say Germany, Italy and England get bullied by the US on NATA contributions given that they promised to raise their defense spending to 2% more than a decade ago and never followed through. They are mooching off the US taxpayers.

Unfortunately the reality that you are failing to see is that today's world is not the Post WW2 world or the Post Cold War world where America as the prime, uni-polar superpower actually benefited from globalization, international trade. The emergence of China as an economic powerhouse has made America increasingly insecure about its economic future which is why it is very careful to put American economic interests above everything else while dealing on economic matters with other countries. That is why any trade deal India negotiates with America, it negotiates from a position of weakness rather than a position of strength.

India runs a large surplus with the US. A trade agreement is not a zero sum game. It is possible to have both countries win. In the past, the US corporations won, while the US workers got shafted. Trump is leery of trade agreements which do that.

Unless ofcourse America deliberately gives India the carrot. America is perfectly willing to cede to India on defence because it realizes that a) India is a very big market b) it can eventually cut Russia's market share by getting India hooked on American equipment which isn't really that hard because American weaponry and equipment is simply the most superior on the planet.

I think you're very much off-base. Saddam, like all dictators was ruthless only when he had foreign support like during the Iran-Iraq War. And even then he could not defeat Iran. When he tried to overreach by invading Kuwait he got his due.

I war referring to brutality towards domestic enemies. Saddam was able to crush his domestic enemies with exceptional brutality. Same was the modus operandi of other dictators like Assad, Ghadaffi, Saudis etc. who defeated their domestic opponents. The US failed to defeat the domestic enemies in Iraq and Afghanistan as they were constrained to fight a "civilized" war. There was the US media reporting back home any excesses like Abu Ghraib.

The example of Genghis Khan does not apply because back then most places around the world were invade-able if you had sheer force. The advent of communications, modern weaponry and the nation-state system has deemed conquests highly unlikely if not completely impossible.

Who doesn't know? Pakistan played a double game in Afghanistan. We took American money without ever doing what they wanted and yet doing enough to keep them interested. The way I see it Pakistan played America like a fiddle and it was an incredible ignorance on part of the Americans to think that Pakistan would compromise on its strategic interests in Afghanistan or throw away all the links it cultivated with the Taliban over the course of 20+ years just to support them on their quest to reaffirm American hegemony. Today it is Pakistan that has brought the Taliban and the Americans to the table. And all the vitriol that America spewed over the last decade about Pakistan arming and giving safe-heavens to the Taliban ceases to matter.

You think you "played America like a fiddle", but look at the bigger picture. Your country has acquired a reputation as a terrorist haven, it gets no Western FDI, the economy is stuck producing low-tech items and constantly teeters on the edge of bankruptcy. Bangladesh's per cap GDP is now 15% higher than Pakistan's.

http://www.worldstopexports.com/pakistans-top-10-exports/

Disney Reportedly Censors John Oliver Segment on Its India Streaming Service Over Criticisms of Modi

A recently aired segment on Last Week Tonight with John Oliver that was critical of India’s Prime Minister Narendra Modi has reportedly been censored on the Disney-owned streaming platform Hotstar, a wildly popular service the company snapped up during its acquisition of 21st Century Fox last year.

TechCrunch reported that the show typically becomes available early on Tuesday mornings on Hotstar, which syndicates Last Week Tonight in India. The site reported the 19-minute clip was available to stream on HBO’s YouTube account in India but that it still wasn’t available on Hotstar as of late Tuesday. A spokesperson for the Information and Broadcasting Ministry told TechCrunch it was not part of discussions to censor the segment.

Representatives for HBO, Disney, and Hotstar did not immediately return requests for comment.

The segment takes aim at Modi’s controversial policies, including his Hindu nationalism, refusal to address ongoing protests, and a divisive citizenship law that by all appearances is codifying anti-Muslim sentiment into law. Since Sunday, at least thirteen people have been killed and more than 150 injured in clashes over the law. In typical John Oliver fashion, bizarre pop cultural moments are mixed into the segment, including a noteworthy appearance alongside Bear Grylls on Man vs. Wild where the two discuss and sniff elephant ****. As TechCrunch noted, streaming services—including U.S.-based platforms like Netflix and Amazon Prime Video—self-censor the content they stream in India in order to swerve any formal government regulation.

The move comes as President Donald Trump this week made his first official trip to the country. The sentient tube of mayonnaise currently representing the U.S. on the world’s stage was also the target of a number of Oliver jabs, including but not limited to Trump’s bizarre characterization of Modi as the “Father of India,” a title typically reserved for Gandhi.

This week’s controversial censorship comes as Disney is gearing up to launch its Disney+ streaming service at the end of March—also on Hotstar. Earlier this month, Disney head Bob Iger said that the company would rebrand Hotstar’s VIP and Premium subscription tiers to Disney Plus Hotstar, adding that Disney plans to launch two primary products in the country.

“One will be more premium in nature that will include the entire library, so with the original programming and the other one will be more basic that will have the library and not the original programming. (They will be) priced for the market and launched at a very peak period of time,” Iger said, per Variety.

Perhaps Disney+ will users will have better luck accessing expected programming than they evidently currently do through Hotstar. Given that its censorship of some of its content in the U.S. was a mess at launch, however, who the hell knows.

Catie Keck
Staff Reporter

https://gizmodo.com/disney-reportedly-censored-a-john-oliver-segment-on-its-1841917336

Hard to say Japan and Korea get bullied by the US on trade given they they run huge surpluses with the US, and have accumulated huge forex reserves.

Hard to say Germany, Italy and England get bullied by the US on NATA contributions given that they promised to raise their defense spending to 2% more than a decade ago and never followed through. They are mooching off the US taxpayers.

India runs a large surplus with the US. A trade agreement is not a zero sum game. It is possible to have both countries win. In the past, the US corporations won, while the US workers got shafted. Trump is leery of trade agreements which do that.

I war referring to brutality towards domestic enemies. Saddam was able to crush his domestic enemies with exceptional brutality. Same was the modus operandi of other dictators like Assad, Ghadaffi, Saudis etc. who defeated their domestic opponents. The US failed to defeat the domestic enemies in Iraq and Afghanistan as they were constrained to fight a "civilized" war. There was the US media reporting back home any excesses like Abu Ghraib.

You think you "played America like a fiddle", but look at the bigger picture. Your country has acquired a reputation as a terrorist haven, it gets no Western FDI, the economy is stuck producing low-tech items and constantly teeters on the edge of bankruptcy. Bangladesh's per cap GDP is now 15% higher than Pakistan's.

Pakistan has a higher GDP per capita (PPP) than BD.

Okay sure. I don't blame you for being optimistic. We don't have to argue on this. Time will tell who is right and who is wrong.

Okay first off, that is an incredibly strange approximation that makes very little sense. Second, don't tell me you actually believe that the US invaded Iraq to defeat "terrorism" or stop the proliferation of WMDs? And if you really think that the US fought a civilized war, especially in Iraq then you need to read up on ALOT. There may have been critical media reporting but none of it actually stopped American troops from committing vast amounts of war crimes both against what you call "domestic enemies" and against innocent civilians. Nor did it deter the inhumane torture tactics employed by US military and CIA officials. There's literally an entire sub-genre of literature on American excesses in Iraq.

I think you're still living in 2010 because you seem to be unaware of the fact that perceptions have changed significantly on both sides. This is evident most of all in India's desperation to "isolate" Pakistan and declare it a "state-sponsor of terror". Unlike maybe a decade ago, neither foreign media nor the US pays much heed to it. On the other hand, your country is quickly acquiring the reputation of being an egregiously unequal, fascist, majoritarian Hindu state run by an authoritarian Nazi, that facilitates great injustices on its very large Muslim minority. Also, last I checked the Indian economy was in doldrums which is far worse for a population 1.2 billion people then it is for a country with roughly the same population as UP.

As for Pakistan's economy: that disaster is years in the making and has nothing to do with the war on terror. Pakistan's economic issues are deep-rooted and based on internal and structural issues.

None of that though has changed the fact that Pakistan despite its fledgling economy still manages to stay afloat, while pursuing its vital strategic interests. Pakistan's role in the Afghan Peace Process has largely washed away the tag of "terrorist safe haven". And once Pakistan is off the FATF grey-list it will further affirm this.

On the other hand, if you wanna talk about reputation I do hope you are paying close attention how your country's soft-image is taking a hard beating. Your intellectuals can say you are becoming a Hindu Pakistan but there's only so long that you can externalize your demons.

US President Donald Trump expected 10 million people to welcome him in India on his first state visit. It didn't happen, but everything else seems to have gone according to the script.

The optics of the trip were crucial both for him and Indian Prime Minister Narendra Modi.

Mr Trump wanted to show people in the US that he was hugely popular abroad and that he was capable of negotiating good deals out of a country he once described as the "king of tariffs".

On the other hand, the Indian PM desperately needed some good headlines after being under the spotlight due to his controversial decision to revoke Kashmir's autonomy and the ongoing protests against his new citizenship law.

In the end, both leaders had their wishes fulfilled despite not agreeing on a much talked-about trade agreement.

US President Donald Trump expected 10 million people to welcome him in India on his first state visit. It didn't happen, but everything else seems to have gone according to the script.

The optics of the trip were crucial both for him and Indian Prime Minister Narendra Modi.

Mr Trump wanted to show people in the US that he was hugely popular abroad and that he was capable of negotiating good deals out of a country he once described as the "king of tariffs".

On the other hand, the Indian PM desperately needed some good headlines after being under the spotlight due to his controversial decision to revoke Kashmir's autonomy and the ongoing protests against his new citizenship law.

In the end, both leaders had their wishes fulfilled despite not agreeing on a much talked-about trade agreement.

Read more on

https://www.bbc.com/news/world-south-asia-51638345

Okay first off, that is an incredibly strange approximation that makes very little sense. Second, don't tell me you actually believe that the US invaded Iraq to defeat "terrorism" or stop the proliferation of WMDs? And if you really think that the US fought a civilized war, especially in Iraq then you need to read up on ALOT. There may have been critical media reporting but none of it actually stopped American troops from committing vast amounts of war crimes both against what you call "domestic enemies" and against innocent civilians. Nor did it deter the inhumane torture tactics employed by US military and CIA officials. There's literally an entire sub-genre of literature on American excesses in Iraq.
I wouldn’t waste too much time with this poster. He believes the US are one of the more honest governments in the world and by extension most of their dealings are carried out with the highest levels of morals and ethics.
His delusions are at such a level that instead of acknowledging and condemning US constant meddling in foreign governments, especially Iran, he responds by stating the Iranian establishment are benefiting from the US meddling by rallying their masses.
This is the level of his understanding of international affairs.

You cannot have a “relationship” with your biggest mercenary.

That is what Pakistan has always been and always will be to the U.S.