End of a woeful Test tour: Are we still going to look for positives after a 5-0 cleanup?

Dr_Bassim

A lot of people might be of the opinion that we have batted well in Australia.

The best ever perhaps infact for a long time.

But we have bowled the worst ever probably as well in Australia failing to dismiss Australia many times even in one innings.

Before the tour many fans (myself included) were predicting a Pakistan win or a draw on the basis of Australia being weakest for decades.

I think everybody has woken up to the rude shock.

Add the NZ tour which we usually win which we were also blanked 2-0, its hard to see any positives.

Especially when you know only Misbah is the potential retiree with rest of the anno domini batsmen continuing to bat on.

A lot of people will make this a moral victory and feel good about Pakistan team because their favorite players have performed.

However history is not so kind.

Another failure, another tour, no difference.

Deep disappointment from my side.

Misbah has been so out of this tour that it's hard to defend him. I am not going to blame Misbah for our shambolic batting and bowling though. Even Mike Brearly would have failed with this lot.

The pacemen were the worst I have seen in a century of Pakistan cricket. Yes, even "The Chosen One" wasn't much to brag out and Yasir reminded us why he is so far behind as a spinner who is world class.

Indvidually only Azhar Ali and Sarfraz have a bit of fighting spirit, but I am not going to go gung-ho about one batsmen if rest of the team is not good enough. No point if you keep losing.

Let's hope we put a better showing in ODIs.

I am sure people will be desperate to label this tour as some sort of success.

Personally for me, both the tours have been utter disaster.

All we can do is hope for the best and watch. I am sick of posting my best "XI."

Misbah please retire and take with you this over rated bowling attack

Best phrases used by our cricketers who fail to perform.

"I was not utilized properly" As if PCB nahi " AMA ki godh hai kia PCB"

"I have done so much for the country and I am the senior player" Well! you were paid handsomely for your job and you got more than what you did for the country. Above all if you did not want to do the job then someone else would have done the job.Lastly seniority should not be literal age or amount of years you survived in the team by making gazillion come backs but seniority "IF" a basis of prevailing in the team should be based on consistent performance. Enough of seniority crap.

"Our attack is better than our batting". Seriosuly! In Australian conditions Pak bowlers have been exposed how tidly type of bowlers they are where in 6 inning we were not able to to take 10 Australian wickets. Let alone that alos our bowlers were hit as if Australian were playing T20.

"There is no talent in PAK so we don't have replacement". Well! I would rather have new players and be 3 -0.

We have a proud cricketing history but this tour was the most shameful for me. Worst Humiliation, thanks to some people who put personal interest and goal ahead of country,s.

Still some of us are contended with result, not the signs of a sport loving nation, depressing.

I'm fairly upbeat.

Looking forwards for the next few years:

1. Azhar Ali was terrific. 9/10
2. Asad Shafiq was pretty good. 7/10
3. Sarfraz Ahmed batted well. 7/10
4. Wahab Riaz bowled well in spells which were too long and wore him out. 6/10.
5. Mohammad Amir was good for two Tests but overused and exhausted by the end. 5/10
6. Sami Aslam and Babar Azam scored too few runs, but never looked like sitting ducks. 4/10
7. Yasir Shah bowled okay, but was massively overbowled. 4/10
8. Sohail Khan, Imran Khan and Misbah were so bad that they ended their careers, which is a huge bonus. Each 0/10.

Amir was good for 2 Tests before he played this one while burned out.

And in fact, Yasir Shah was okay. But he bowled three times as many overs as he should have.

I actually stand by what I wrote four years ago, before Yasir Shah emerged and while Usman Qadir was terrorising Adelaide grade cricket. And while Saeed Ajmal was at his peak.

I wrote that Usman Qadir needed to travel with Mushtaq Ahmed on every tour, so that when Australia came around he could bat at 8, average 35-40 with the bat and bowl 15-3-60-1 in every First Innings and 20-5-70-2 in every second innings.

Full-time spinners are generally a waste of space for touring teams in Australia. Just ask Murali, Kumble and Swann.

The usual suspects will come out to defend Yasir and Amir in full force, citing conditions, luck or throw stats of some other bowler and say 'look how bad he was too'

Six consecutive Test defeats and appalling batting, and still he hasn't got the grace or Class to retire.

If somebody is still seen defending Misbah then you have to question their cricketing prowess.

The usual suspects will come out to defend Yasir and Amir in full force, citing conditions, luck or throw stats of some other bowler and say 'look how bad he was too'

Sohail Khan and Imran Khan were the worst bowlers of the series. They deserve the most criticism.

Need to regroup and look to build a team around Azhar, Sarfaraz, Asad and Wahab.

Players that should be dropped:
Sami, Rahat, Misbah, Sohail and Imran.

Need to regroup and look to build a team around Azhar, Sarfaraz, Asad and Wahab.

It will be more fragile than the ice layer on my car's wind shield, if you try to rebuild around a 36 years old fast bowler.

Players that should be dropped:
Sami, Rahat, Misbah, Sohail and Imran.

Only 3 players to be dropped - Sami, Babar & Amir.

Asghar hasn't played, neither Nawaz, so technically they are not dropped when they'll miss the WI trip.

If Misbah is Captain, I expect 12/13 players to tour WI from this team.

I'm fairly upbeat.

Looking forwards for the next few years:

1. Azhar Ali was terrific. 9/10
2. Asad Shafiq was pretty good. 7/10
3. Sarfraz Ahmed batted well. 7/10
4. Wahab Riaz bowled well in spells which were too long and wore him out. 6/10.
5. Mohammad Amir was good for two Tests but overused and exhausted by the end. 5/10
6. Sami Aslam and Babar Azam scored too few runs, but never looked like sitting ducks. 4/10
7. Yasir Shah bowled okay, but was massively overbowled. 4/10
8. Sohail Khan, Imran Khan and Misbah were so bad that they ended their careers, which is a huge bonus. Each 0/10.

His missed opportunities behind the stumps cost Pakistan more runs than he actually scored. He gets 5/10 at best.

Asghar hasn't played, neither Nawaz, so technically they are not dropped when they'll miss the WI trip.

Yeah Nawaz should be dropped. Not Amir though. You have to keep your best pacers. And you can't drop the whole pace attack either. Someone has to stay.

Sami and Babar are the future of Pakistan cricket don't you think it's a bit premature to drop them?

Bhai why putting heated salt in wounds? :danish

How did you come to the conclusion that Wahab is 36?

Imran Khan's scouting. I saw Wahab Riaz at debut, when he was 23.

You can also see that, if you wish - check his hair line. And, you can verify that from his CI profile - FC debut 2001-02 - that's cool 15.5 years back, when he was officially 16 years old kid.

I have seen lot, lot to put my judgement behind what is shown - it's up to you to accept that or not, I won't argue.

Bhai why putting heated salt in wounds? :danish

I am telling simply what's going to happen - Kim Hughes was 30 years & 11 months, when he left AUS's Captaincy in tears after Boxing day Test & before SCG Test. Misbah gave an emotional statement .........

The worst thing that PCB has ever done is let captains decide when they can stay and when they can leave. A strong board would have asked Misbah to hand over the captain's arm band after the England series. Host a dinner in his honour, give him some shiny award and send him on his way to the history books.

Instead we let a selfish person decide till when he will play and the result is you are in the midst of a 6 match losing streak. But hey he took us to number one rankings for half a day so let us make him test captain till official government retirement age of 65.

Did Misbah announce his retirement? So neither Misbah nor Younis will retire anytime soon. So next WI series we will see almost same team.PCB will keep give some statements to avoid fans'anger and do nothing at the end

Yeah Nawaz should be dropped. Not Amir though. You have to keep your best pacers. And you can't drop the whole pace attack either. Someone has to stay.

I am not saying who should be, rather I am saying who will be dropped. This is going to be the 16 for WI Test tour

Misbah (C)
Azhar (VC)
Sharjeel
MoHa
Sarfraz
Asad
YK
Babar
Rizwan
Yasir
Zulfiquar/Ajmal
Wahab
Amir
Rahat
Irfan/Hasan/JK
Asif/Gul

Has anyone noticed that none of the PAK seniors ever declare retirement? They keep working to "perform" until their "experience" does the job for them.

During Inzi's time, Gul was his main pacer, among active pacers & PAK needs a right arm pacer - it's 2 between Imran, Sohail, Gul & Asif.

For the 17th man, I am not sure Sami will get his chance ahead of Fawad or not. Arthur will resign if Babar & Amir are dropped, hence they'll be there.

Sohail Khan and Imran Khan were the worst bowlers of the series. They deserve the most criticism.

Both were only picked to make up the numbers, you think anyone in their right mind expected Sohail and Imran to perform? People would have been content with them picking up a wicket or two, or covering for Wahab/Amir while they took a break

Sami and Babar are the future of Pakistan cricket don't you think it's a bit premature to drop them?

It's not what I think matters, it's what PCB thinks that matters. Since you asked, I'll take these 14 of the listed 17 players + the leadership 3 to WI

YK (C)
Amir (1st VC)
Babar (2nd VC)

Openers: Azhar, Sharjeel, Sami
Middle Order: Asad, Amin, Usman Sallu
All-rounders: Saud, Fahim, Shadab
WK: Sarfu, & a genuine WK with potential - may be the U19 kid.
Spinner: Yasir, Asghar
Pacer: Wahab, Asif, & couple of young pacer - may be Hamza & the best among 3/4 U23 right arm pacers; may be even Sameen Gul.

It's not what I think matters, it's what PCB thinks that matters. Since you asked, I'll take these 14 of the listed 17 players + the leadership 3 to WI

YK (C)
Amir (1st VC)
Babar (2nd VC)

Openers: Azhar, Sharjeel, Sami
Middle Order: Asad, Amin, Usman Sallu
All-rounders: Saud, Fahim, Shadab
WK: Sarfu, & a genuine WK with potential - may be the U19 kid.
Spinner: Yasir, Asghar
Pacer: Wahab, Asif, & couple of young pacer - may be Hamza & the best among 3/4 U23 right arm pacers; may be even Sameen Gul.

Sir with all due respect, but I think you are forgetting the chief selector is Inzi the revolutionary.

If tomorrow Misbah voluntarily decides to quit, I expect nearly an identical side to be selected with perhaps Kamraan Akmal added in place of Misbah.

A lot of people might be of the opinion that we have batted well in Australia.

Before the tour many fans (myself included) were predicting a Pakistan win or a draw on the basis of Australia being weakest for decades.

really? you thought this current Pak squad can beat Aus in Aus? i did not think this for one second and not on emotional basis but purely on strategic basis.

We have a proud cricketing history but this tour was the most shameful for me. Worst Humiliation, thanks to some people who put personal interest and goal ahead of country,s.

Still some of us are contended with result, not the signs of a sport loving nation, depressing.

no one is contend. they just act. defeat is defeat no matter what and when it is so shameful, it is embarassing to no end. our bowling was so worst that we broke many records of worst bowling since 1876. not making it up, just search for it.

those who act to be contended just want to prove they are very mature and sensible. Ignore them. either they dont follow cricket and dont understand it or elsle they are just acting. poor souls!

The answer to the question has to be YES!

The all-conquering West Indies team was born from the wreckage of the 5-1 defeat in Australia in 1975-76. Within six months they were the best team in the world, and stayed there for two decades.

Discard the dead wood, learn the lessons, and move forward.

no one is contend. they just act. defeat is defeat no matter what and when it is so shameful, it is embarassing to no end. our bowling was so worst that we broke many records of worst bowling since 1876. not making it up, just search for it.

those who act to be contended just want to prove they are very mature and sensible. Ignore them. either they dont follow cricket and dont understand it or elsle they are just acting. poor souls!

Seriously? The first two Tests could easily have been drawn, and in both cases one batting collapse lost the match.

The problem with the bowling was that there were only three bowlers when there needed to be five, and eventually that overuse - and the negative tactics - wore out Amir and Yasir.

The all-conquering West Indies team was born from the wreckage of the 5-1 defeat in Australia in 1975-76. Within six months they were the best team in the world, and stayed there for two decades.

It's Australia that seems to be emerging from the SA wreckage....

On a serious note Pak has lost 3/0 to a very average Australian test side

The real disappointment was losses against newzealand , against australia we all knew that we ould lose 3-0.

Joel Garner,Malcom Marshall ,Colin Croft were in domestic circuit when they lost that series not to forget Vivian,Holding just been discovered then.

No offense Junaids but not really many parallels here.Don't think there will ever be any parallels to what Llyod build in those 3-4 years.

This AUS team will go long, long way. They took loss in SRL as granted, but the moment they lost to SAF, there was radical change - and this makes AUS team ruthless; they know name won't save anyone.

However, PAK's case is a bit different - there are not much option available actually. No matter how the team performed, you can't drop about 7/8 starters from SCG - more unfortunate that the 2 youngsters have failed measurably, therefore you can't blame the next Captain if he asks for MoHa ...

Azhar, Asad, YK (sad, but reality), Sarfu (pathetic WK, still miles ahead of the 2nd man), Yasir, Wahab, Amir - you can't drop these 7, as there are absolutely to better options left.

For other 5 spots (with an extra bowling option), may be, you can say toss between Sami/Sharjeel; Babar/Umar; Asif/A new bowler & may be 1 all-rounder - that's the max you can do, if Misbah or next Captain picks the team on merit.

It can only happen to a certain extent, if a young Captain is appointed & given 2/3 years to build a young side, regardless of result - which'll never happen. Say, Misbah retires & Amir or Babar is made Captain & the side returns 2-2 from WI - very next day PCB'll sack the Captain & bring MoHa as Captain or will appoint YK on series by series basis or at best appoint Sarfy/azhar as Captain - and they'll bring 2/3 players of their choice, invariably who are their buddies, at least 35.....

Seriously? The first two Tests could easily have been drawn, and in both cases one batting collapse lost the match.

The problem with the bowling was that there were only three bowlers when there needed to be five, and eventually that overuse - and the negative tactics - wore out Amir and Yasir.

seriousy? by your own admission, in those 2 test matches our batting completely failed 2 out of 4 innings. total collapse. bowling was so bad that it is beyond shame and let aussies score over 600 runs in a short time. and you think we could have drawn the game? par kithoon?

They are the best young batting talents in the country.

What exactly do I need to explain?

dear, how do you know sami and babar are the best batting talent in pakistan ? do you want me to post their record in last 5 test matches? plus have you seen all other batting talent in pakistani first class cricket to make this staetemnt?

kindly explain.

This AUS team will go long, long way. .

WRONG. they wont.

i have seen each and every ball of this series and i am rating this Aussie lot very low.

they have pathetic spinners...simply pathetic

just OK fast bowlers. starc has not even figured out his action nd had so many problems with his landing. Bird will be a pedetrain outside austrlia.

batting is so vulnerable. khawaja is a shame against spinners. middle class is non existnet. only smit and warner are two real players.

What I don't get is when Pakistan were at 160-6, instead of trying to block everything like your life depends on it, why would Misbah try to bat like he was playing last two overs of t20 ??

WRONG. they wont.

i have seen each and every ball of this series and i am rating this Aussie lot very low.

they have pathetic spinners...simply pathetic

just OK fast bowlers. starc has not even figured out his action nd had so many problems with his landing. Bird will be a pedetrain outside austrlia.

batting is so vulnerable. khawaja is a shame against spinners. middle class is non existnet. only smit and warner are two real players.

I rate Handscomb pretty highly.

The dude will be Australian middle order for a long time barring freak injury or something.

What I don't get is when Pakistan were at 160-6, instead of trying to block everything like your life depends on it, why would Misbah try to bat like he was playing last two overs of t20 ??

Because Misbah had given up even before SCG started.

He was trying to hit big shots in both innings.

For him it didn't matter whether he hit six or bailed out and got caught.

Just wanted the Test series to end.

In that case it has to be one of the worst performances from captain ever.. PCB has to let him go with immediate effect.

And in fact, Yasir Shah was okay. But he bowled three times as many overs as he should have.

I actually stand by what I wrote four years ago, before Yasir Shah emerged and while Usman Qadir was terrorising Adelaide grade cricket. And while Saeed Ajmal was at his peak.

I wrote that Usman Qadir needed to travel with Mushtaq Ahmed on every tour, so that when Australia came around he could bat at 8, average 35-40 with the bat and bowl 15-3-60-1 in every First Innings and 20-5-70-2 in every second innings.

Full-time spinners are generally a waste of space for touring teams in Australia. Just ask Murali, Kumble and Swann.

Do you honestly believe that Asif alone would have exponentially enhanced Pakistan's ability to take 20 wickets in this series? I expected the bowling to struggle but not to this extent and personally feel bad at how much Yasir Shah is having to bowl. Both this and the last test match were lost because of how quickly Australia were allowed to score. It would have been a narrow respectable series loss otherwise having secured at least 1 draw if not 2.

we are going to forget it just like every other team does now a days honestly.
lets keep winning our home series like we been doing so for some time.

Do you honestly believe that Asif alone would have exponentially enhanced Pakistan's ability to take 20 wickets in this series? I expected the bowling to struggle but not to this extent and personally feel bad at how much Yasir Shah is having to bowl. Both this and the last test match were lost because of how quickly Australia were allowed to score. It would have been a narrow respectable series loss otherwise having secured at least 1 draw if not 2.
It's not just Asif.

You effectively lost the strike power of Amir and Wahab too, by overbowling them in two ways.

One was not having a Number 6 who can be a fifth bowler bowling pace - which is why Hilton Cartwright got called up because Mitch Starc has suffered the same problem.

But the other issue is that the pacers only get a two minute break while Yasir bowls at the other end, and they fatigue more.

Which is why Imran Khan never used Abdul Qadir or Mushtaq Ahmed outside Asia the way Misbah used Yasir.

Kumble would disagree with you.

He had a disastrous first tour to Australia (similar to Yasir) but followed it up with 2 good tours. Was a major help in drawing the 2003 series.

It's not just Asif.

You effectively lost the strike power of Amir and Wahab too, by overbowling them in two ways.

One was not having a Number 6 who can be a fifth bowler bowling pace - which is why Hilton Cartwright got called up because Mitch Starc has suffered the same problem.

But the other issue is that the pacers only get a two minute break while Yasir bowls at the other end, and they fatigue more.

Which is why Imran Khan never used Abdul Qadir or Mushtaq Ahmed outside Asia the way Misbah used Yasir.

u sure about that ?
http://www.espncricinfo.com/ci/engine/match/63502.html
Qadir bowling 58 overs and Tauseef bowling 69 overs in Auckland.

http://www.espncricinfo.com/ci/engine/match/63465.html
Qadir bowling 44 in 1st innings and 53 in 2nd inning. Tauseef 23 & 46 in same match. thats 166 ovrs of spin at oval.

http://www.espncricinfo.com/ci/engine/match/63359.html
Qadir bowling 54 overs at MCG

http://www.espncricinfo.com/ci/engine/match/63318.html
Qadir bowling 38 overs in 2nd innings at Lords. way more than main bowlers Sarfraz (14) & Naqqash (7)

http://www.espncricinfo.com/ci/engine/match/63317.html
Qadir bowling
29 overs in first inning, more than main bowlers Naqash(15) & Sikandar(18)
40 overs in 2nd inning, way more than main bowlers Naqash (18), Sikanddar(13)

Only in Pakistan will people find positives after losing 6 consecutive Tests.

Losing to good Aus teams was bad enough but this is a very average Aus team and they smashed us. Finally, they might have to search for some real bowling talent, not just look at the cric info stats and pick them, improve the domestic structure- which will probably never happen and play positive cricket, which took often is lacking.

Well the myth about "Pakistan's bowling strength" has been truly busted on this tour.

Seems like we've completely forgotten how to bowl on flat tracks.

Even when we beat West Indies in the UAE its not as if we were bowling them out for cheap totals.

or it was his only scoring shots. as it has been all his career. Or may be the reverse sweep also.

it's only youngsters that need to be taught lesson when they play slog and get out when they need to be at the crease not seniors especially captain. It has been truly sad affairs.

We need accept we don't have the ability to match the big boys now.

5 or 6 is where we will stay for at least the next 2 to 3 years.

SA and India will dominate.

Very rarely I have seen a team so mentally shot out. They were playing like T 20 on 5 th day to save the match.

I fear the worst for Pakistan cricket.

Only in Pakistan will people find positives after losing 6 consecutive Tests.

Compared to other countries Pakistanis lag way behind in passion for the spots and their team, or probably less patriotism or care for the country.

After losing to India, Asif Iqbal announced his retirement before landing in Pakistan and he was much younger than Misbah is now. Misbah still "thinking", a big fall from grace.

Misbah is waiting for SK's response. Most likely he will continue till 2018 if not 2020. All those retirement talks are just for show.

End of a woeful Test tour: Are we still going to look for positives after a 5-0 cleanup?
Nothing will happen even we loose by 5-0. Misbah, Azhar, Afridi etc. are not people with principle.

Person most to be blamed is the Chairman SYK, it's just sad that in a country where a huge number of people follow the game is run by some who have their own agenda and priorities .

I also following Pakistani media and news channels, not a strong reaction on such a disastrous tour. If a guy like me who had left Pakistan more than a decade ago, could be still feeling so sad and angry on this, why not people living in Pakistan. I guess country has changed and the people too.

Both were only picked to make up the numbers, you think anyone in their right mind expected Sohail and Imran to perform? People would have been content with them picking up a wicket or two, or covering for Wahab/Amir while they took a break

Yeah we need 2 right armers to replace them. Imo they should be Asif and Hasan. Idk if we have any other choices.

Person most to be blamed is the Chairman SYK, it's just sad that in a country where a huge number of people follow the game is run by some who have their own agenda and priorities .

I also following Pakistani media and news channels, not a strong reaction on such a disastrous tour. If a guy like me who had left Pakistan more than a decade ago, could be still feeling so sad and angry on this, why not people living in Pakistan. I guess country has changed and the people too.

You mean Pakistanis take it like sport now,good on them I say ,the sport of the country shouldn't be attached to the ego of its citizens ,that is when irrelevant things like throwing bottles,verbally abusing players happen for which SC has been famous for.

This has nothing to do with the country but the management and domestic structure and its only a game,not a war.

well the president of PCB is the host of a very famous tv show on Geo News which is a channel watched the most..so I'm sure he must have told them to keep the criticism low. Otherwise the same channel took Janaza of cricket team when MoYo's team was beaten 3-0 in Australia despite putting decent fight...and what happened with MoYo next is a history.

You mean Pakistanis take it like sport now,good on them I say ,the sport of the country shouldn't be attached to the ego of its citizens ,that is when irrelevant things like throwing bottles,verbally abusing players happen for which SC has been famous for.

This has nothing to do with the country but the management and domestic structure and its only a game,not a war.

No one suggesting any violence but people all over the world show some passion to the sport they follow, even at junior level and strongly Demand accountability if team is failing and people running the team show grace and dignity by resigning , not the insensitivity our media and fans are showing and still contended with past achievements.

I,m afraid this insensitivity will lead cricket in Pakistan towards hockey in Pakistan and Cricket in West Indies.