[EXCLUSIVE] "A lot of coaches found Mohammad Rizwan a very difficult person to cope with": Shahid Hashmi

Still stuck in the past. Amir is going viral for his bang on analysis and all you have is……. f-f-fixxx..er?!

On his bang on analysis of calling him a 'slogger'? Nothing earth shattering about that comment except that it riled up a few Indians. Many posters here have been calling him a slogger since day 1

@topspin @shaz619

Just listened to Amir making a big revelation on some TV show where he sits with Shahzad and Rashid Latif

Apparently Mickey Arthur came to his house to chill with him in 2023 after the World Cup. Out of discussion, Amir asked him what was the reason why the team struggled so much?

Mickey told him him that the boys he had left 6 years ago were not the superstars who they thought they were now. (They obviously became too big headed).

He gave an example of a guy who he suggested to him that “I think it would be better for the team combination if you were to move down to 6 instead of 4”, the player responded to him with a hand/finger gesture saying “I will only go upwards and not downwards”.

He’s clearly talking about Rizwan.

Fixer only talks smack. Rizwan though not letting that get to his head and still bid for him. Look how high he holds the paddle, doesn't even need to confirm with the bosses. Look at that smile! He's genuinely happy for Amir

rizwan amir.png
riz 2.png
amir 3.png

Rizwan should be batting at 5 in ODIs so there can be some urgency in his game. Kamran Ghulam would be fine at 4.

Bro , the discussion here is not about Rizwan batting order, rather its the revelations via 3rd reference by which people are judging what kind of personality he is

I am not really bothered by what people say. just voicing my opinion where a certain player should play for the betterment of Pak Cricket. Rizwan was indeed guilty of asking to bat at no.4 in the press conference when he was sent in at no.5 for 2-3 ODIs.

Kind of maintain and will always have this opinion that getting clubbed with Babar had a detrimental impact on Rizwan. He's a really solid and reliable keeper, a great outfielder by Pakistani standards, & a decent batter. There's no reason to make any personal comments on his behavior in the dressing room because we aren't really there. Maybe he's the monster that some journalists complain about or maybe he's just misunderstood.

He's a more valuable player for Pak than Babar in tests and even in white ball cricket his utility is beyond doubt. He got dropped for playing slow in T20s which is fair but throwing unnecessary hate towards his direction is just misguided vendetta. He hasn't improved after showing initial promise with the bat but none of the Pakistani batters actually improve over time so he isn't an outlier, just the norm.

Overall he's a decent cricketer and has the potential to even have a late career renaissance.

This was before Amir revealed the story about Rizwan from Mickey,

Also it’s not Rizwan doing the bidding here. Amir is friends with Rashid Latif

I guess this was on the Tabish Hashmi show and after the auction. Makes Amir look even worse and ungrateful. Insaan ki fitrat nahi badal sakti.

Reminds me of the famous YS line from Gumaan - Insaan bhi kya cheez hai, aik mein wafa nahi aur doosre ko wafa ki umeed hai

Even if this story is true just shows how out of depth Mickey Arthur was. I don't blame him, his priorities were Derbyshire and he could only spare time for poor PCT through online mediums.

Just so you remember, Rizwan was our best performing batter that World cup. He scored 395 runs at an avg of 65 and striking at 95. Please tell me who would've performed better at that position from the squad that was selected. Saud Shakeel? Abdullah Shafique? Babar? Fakhar?

I guess this was on the Tabish Hashmi show and after the auction. Makes Amir look even worse and ungrateful. Insaan ki fitrat nahi badal sakti
Not at all. He is right to call out the issue. How can a player think he is bigger than cricket? Is that ok? Who is Rizwan? How dare he say to the coach that he will only bat up the order and not down? So the players who had to bat after him are inferior because of their positions?

So a player taking responsibility and performing makes him bigger than the game? If Mickey had better options, why didn't he play them

What responsibility did he take?

Pakistan lost 5 games. They were knocked out of the first round. They beat SL, Netherlands, Bangladesh and NZ on DL. Rizwan took responsibility how?

What responsibility did he take?

Pakistan lost 5 games. They were knocked out of the first round. They beat SL, Netherlands, Bangladesh and NZ on DL. Rizwan took responsibility how?

By scoring runs and being our highest run getter. Performed better than Mickey's expectations didn't he

Scored runs where? What’s scoring runs? Teams looking to win the World Cup put up scores close to 400 batting first

What did Rizwan do? He has a T20i average of 47, and he become blacklisted as a T20 player.

So what does “scoring runs” mean?

Scored runs where? What’s scoring runs? Teams looking to win the World Cup put up scores close to 400 batting first

What did Rizwan do? He has a T20i average of 47, and he become blacklisted as a T20 player.

So what does “scoring runs” mean?

But we're talking about ODIs more specifically the 2023 WC that Amir made a comment on. If Rizwan didn't perform, who did? Are WCs won by one man?

And Rizwan scored a century in the highest successful WC chase. Not just for Pakistan, but the highest WC chase by any team in the World in the history of the ODI WC. Mickey's just sour grapes

But we're talking about ODIs more specifically the 2023 WC that Amir made a comment on. If Rizwan didn't perform, who did? Are WCs won by one man?
No. But one man clearly cried and tried to make it all about himself.

So, if you have disregarded the strategy of the national coach and management, you have a lot of responsibility to ensure it was the correct decision and your country delivers because of your rigid approach.

Now tell me again, how did this benefit Pakistan? 400 scores batting first…how did our number 4 contribute to this?

@Rana and if Mickey's such besties with Amir, why didn't he get him to come out of retirement earlier for the WC? It's easy to talk but when you're a coward it backfire. It was our bowling that was lacking

No. But one man clearly cried and tried to make it all about himself.

So, if you have disregarded the strategy of the national coach and management, you have a lot of responsibility to ensure it was the correct decision and your country delivers because of your rigid approach.

Now tell me again, how did this benefit Pakistan? 400 scores batting first…how did our number 4 contribute to this?

Again by being the highest run getter for our team. If runs don't benefit Pakistan then what does? Wickets? Well we didn't have Amir for that because he was hiding. He wasn't good enough for ODIs and his bestie also didn't think he was otherwise he would've called him up

@Rana and if Mickey's such besties with Amir, why didn't he get him to come out of retirement earlier for the WC? It's easy to talk but when you're a coward it backfire. It was our bowling that was lacking
Have we not established that the team was selected by Babar only? This is 2022-23. No coach/administrator in PCB had any authority over Babar.

So then that busts the myth that Mickey was Babar's mentor cause clearly he didn't value Mickey's advice

Again by being the highest run getter for our team. If runs don't benefit Pakistan then what does?
His runs don’t benefit the team. This is confirmed. There is no debating this.

He averages 47 in T20is! He was booted out of T20 an was retired out in the BBL.

So then that busts the myth that Mickey was Babar's mentor cause clearly he didn't value Mickey's advice
He didn’t value Misbah’s advice either.

Even @Major will acknowledge this. Why did Hafeez/Misbah resign from the PCB selection advisory committee on the eve of the tournament?

He didn’t value Misbah’s advice either.

Even @Major will acknowledge this. Why did Hafeez/Misbah resign from the PCB selection advisory committee on the eve of the tournament?

No one tries to portray Misbah or Hafeez as Babar's mentors. But Mickey fans always try to give him credit for 'developing' Babar. Another myth busted

Kind of maintain and will always have this opinion that getting clubbed with Babar had a detrimental impact on Rizwan
You can maintain your falsehood all you want.

He (Rizwan) and his agency forcefully clubbed themselves to Babar. It was Rizwan who was leaching off of Babar to cash into his fanbase and brand.

Stop trying to make it sound like it’s the other way round.

It’s Babar who was destroyed by this man’s manipulative mindset!

No one tries to portray Misbah or Hafeez as Babar's mentors. But Mickey fans always try to give him credit for 'developing' Babar. Another myth busted
So then why would you bring up that stupid idea as a Misbah fan in the first place? It hurts you to think Mickey was Babar’s mentor?

Look mate you are pointlessly trying to argue with me knowing full well I ain’t having any of this nonsense. Don’t walk into another howler like you did before the 2024 World Cup.

So then why would you bring up that stupid idea as a Misbah fan in the first place? It hurts you to think Mickey was Babar’s mentor?

Look mate you are pointlessly trying to argue with me knowing full well I ain’t having any of this nonsense. Don’t walk into another howler like you did before the 2024 World Cup.

Look bro, no need for the ad hominems. I've never said Misbah is his mentor. I've always maintained that Babar is a Pakistani domestic product and was a house hold name before Mickey came along to take credit for his development.

You brought up an argument that supports your agenda. I gave you facts to counter that. Rizwan performed in the 2023 WC, end of.

I've always maintained that Babar is a Pakistani domestic product and was a house hold name before Mickey came along to take credit for his development
What??

Babar became a household name after 2019 World Cup. Before that he was playing all of his cricket under MA. Your making it out as if Mickey came and took over after 2019

What??

Babar became a household name after 2019 World Cup. Before that he was playing all of his cricket under MA. Your making it out as if Mickey came and took over after 2019

Bro stay away from the Sri Lankan ganja. It's legal there so don't smoke too much. Babar was top scorer in 2 U19 WCs and was playing not only domestics but foreign T20 leagues as well before Mickey.