Faisal Iqbal, the coach

We have to understand that working with Pakistan is simply not an attractive option. Coaches who have an opportunity of working for the big teams as well as IPL franchises would not be keen on working with Pakistan.

The team is mediocre, they play their home matches in UAE and the country is dangerous to live in. In addition, PCB has a poor reputation as an employer.

Unless PCB pays over the top, there is no incentive for coaching Pakistan when you have superior alternatives at disposal.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Applied!! <a href="https://twitter.com/TheRealPCB?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@TheRealPCB</a> ������Pakistan Men’s Senior and Junior Batting Coach Positions!! �� <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/BattingCoach?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#BattingCoach</a></p>— Faisal Iqbal فیصل اقبال������ (@FaisalIqbalCric) <a href="https://twitter.com/FaisalIqbalCric/status/1165552975475085313?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">August 25, 2019</a></blockquote>

Another contender joins the mix!

Waiting for Faisal bhai's tweet each day a batsman scores some runs about how his talk and coaching helped:rp

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Applied!! <a href="https://twitter.com/TheRealPCB?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@TheRealPCB</a> ������Pakistan Men’s Senior and Junior Batting Coach Positions!! �� <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/BattingCoach?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#BattingCoach</a></p>— Faisal Iqbal فیصل اقبال������ (@FaisalIqbalCric) <a href="https://twitter.com/FaisalIqbalCric/status/1165552975475085313?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">August 25, 2019</a></blockquote>

Another contender joins the mix!

Yar abdullah, this deserved a seperate thread :)))

Misbah : head coach
Faisal Iqbal: Batting coach
Aqib Javed : Bowling coach

Exciting time ahead for Pakistan cricket.

We have to understand that working with Pakistan is simply not an attractive option. Coaches who have an opportunity of working for the big teams as well as IPL franchises would not be keen on working with Pakistan.

The team is mediocre, they play their home matches in UAE and the country is dangerous to live in. In addition, PCB has a poor reputation as an employer.

Unless PCB pays over the top, there is no incentive for coaching Pakistan when you have superior alternatives at disposal.

Pay, bonuses, perks may be an issue. No way can the PCB match Shastris annual salary of $1 million a year but they will have to match it or get b close to it to attract quality.

UAE should not be a problem. Pakistan's security issues have improved in recent years

Faisal Iqbal is acting like a typical desi who submits multiple applications and think 'chalo ek mein toh select ho hi jaunga'. :inti

Fully agree - exactly what I’ve been saying here over the last month.

Hence why getting rid of Mickey Arthur was a big mistake because whoever comes in will be someone like Waqar Younis or Mohsin Khan, who are far worse and I can only dread to think what they will do to Pakistan cricket.

Batting was making some progress under Grant Flower, so him being axed was also very much unwarranted.

Hate to say it but you were right about Najam Sethi because we’ve gone backwards with Ehsan Mani and Wasim Khan. The latter has a fine CV but he was better suited for the ECB role, where there were little to no demands of reforms required for English cricket.

It’s his right to apply for the position. Doesn’t mean he will get it.

At least I hope he doesn’t...

Don’t see certain posters on here crying about this guy applying for batting coach when he has no qualifications. The same stick being beaten that is used to beat Misbah with.

Apparently he has done ECB's Level 2 coaching course.

So there is only 8-10 people which includes 2 foreigners applied for 4 positions.
Why there is no interest from top coaches for our team? We shouldn't let go Flower if either of Wasim or Faisal become our batting coach.
Wasim Khan didn't do good job if these low skilled people applied for top job.
Also for the head coach position only 3 people applied and Wasim Khan selected 5 members to interview them which is really hilarious

Inzi would be a great choice for batting coach. Younis Khan should put his name forward too. It is depressing to see non achievers like Faisal wanting the job for goodness sake. Bazid Khan may also throw his name in the hat on the basis that he played one Test!

Lol lol

PCB looks like it is going through a period similar to that of Arsenal when they had to cut back on costs after the acquisition of the emirates stadium

May not be right now, but Faisal can be a very good coach in future. He is at the right age and has good connections- if he spends couple of years for preparation, he can be a very good batting coach. His footwork against Warne was better than any English batsman I have seen live, apart from KP.

National team is a bit too much, but he should definitely be considered for a role in Sindh/Karachi FC team.

The illogical response to Faisal's application is worrying. It seems from this thread that to be a coach you need to be a legend or white.

I probably wouldn't hire Faisal. But the idea he can't apply or would be horrible in the job is ludicrous. The two big issues relevant in this thread are the lack of name candidates. Which generally speaking to me is unimportant. But I do agree it's a sign of the economics of coaching and an indictment of the PCB.

Two, I think the topic we should be discussing is the role of the batting coach. What does that job entail? I personally am not a believer in the role. I would though like to see an offensive coordinator who works on approach and strategy as opposed to mindless net sessions. The latter is an unknown epidemic in cricket.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">I Thought <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/NayaPakistan?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#NayaPakistan</a> ���� Would Be Full Of Merit??�� But Nothings CHANGE Here! <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/PakistanCricket?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#PakistanCricket</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/NotPickedAsMentorPlayerDomestic?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#NotPickedAsMentorPlayerDomestic</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/NotPicketAsCoachDomesticInternational?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#NotPicketAsCoachDomesticInternational</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/FavoritismInAppointments?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#FavoritismInAppointments</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/DifferentRules4DifferentIndividuals?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#DifferentRules4DifferentIndividuals</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/BiasTreatmentFromYears?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#BiasTreatmentFromYears</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/MeritIsAJokeInPakistan?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#MeritIsAJokeInPakistan</a></p>— Faisal Iqbal������ فیصل اقبال (@FaisalIqbalCric) <a href="https://twitter.com/FaisalIqbalCric/status/1169263042733006849?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">September 4, 2019</a></blockquote>

At least he didn't get a job.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="und" dir="ltr">Push me to the wall as much as YOU ALL can (PCB / NCA) , But My Allah اللہ Will think a Better Future For Me انشاللہ <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/NotPickedAsPlayer?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#NotPickedAsPlayer</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/NotPicketAsCoach?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#NotPicketAsCoach</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/DomesticInternational?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#DomesticInternational</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Favoritism?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#Favoritism</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/DifferentRules4DifferentIndividuals?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#DifferentRules4DifferentIndividuals</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/BiasTreatmentFromYears?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#BiasTreatmentFromYears</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/MeritIsAJoke?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#MeritIsAJoke</a> <a href="https://t.co/dgO6U0ch83">pic.twitter.com/dgO6U0ch83</a></p>— Faisal Iqbal&#55356;&#56821;&#55356;&#56816;&#55356;&#57295; فیصل اقبال (@FaisalIqbalCric) <a href="https://twitter.com/FaisalIqbalCric/status/1169192280474968065?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">September 4, 2019</a></blockquote>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="und" dir="ltr">Push me to the wall as much as YOU ALL can (PCB / NCA) , But My Allah اللہ Will think a Better Future For Me انشاللہ <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/NotPickedAsPlayer?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#NotPickedAsPlayer</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/NotPicketAsCoach?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#NotPicketAsCoach</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/DomesticInternational?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#DomesticInternational</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Favoritism?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#Favoritism</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/DifferentRules4DifferentIndividuals?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#DifferentRules4DifferentIndividuals</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/BiasTreatmentFromYears?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#BiasTreatmentFromYears</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/MeritIsAJoke?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#MeritIsAJoke</a> <a href="https://t.co/dgO6U0ch83">pic.twitter.com/dgO6U0ch83</a></p>— Faisal Iqbal������ فیصل اقبال (@FaisalIqbalCric) <a href="https://twitter.com/FaisalIqbalCric/status/1169192280474968065?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">September 4, 2019</a></blockquote>

Lol how old is this guy. Seems to act like a 12 year old.

Karachi ke legend ko deewar se lagaya ja raha hai, Faisal bhai has been treated unfairly.

May not be right now, but Faisal can be a very good coach in future. He is at the right age and has good connections- if he spends couple of years for preparation, he can be a very good batting coach. His footwork against Warne was better than any English batsman I have seen live, apart from KP.

National team is a bit too much, but he should definitely be considered for a role in Sindh/Karachi FC team.

He will never be a good coach with the kind of victim mentality and entitled attitude he displays. Some others have it too, but they don't go around displaying it proudly on social media.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="und" dir="ltr">Push me to the wall as much as YOU ALL can (PCB / NCA) , But My Allah اللہ Will think a Better Future For Me انشاللہ <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/NotPickedAsPlayer?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#NotPickedAsPlayer</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/NotPicketAsCoach?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#NotPicketAsCoach</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/DomesticInternational?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#DomesticInternational</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Favoritism?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#Favoritism</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/DifferentRules4DifferentIndividuals?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#DifferentRules4DifferentIndividuals</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/BiasTreatmentFromYears?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#BiasTreatmentFromYears</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/MeritIsAJoke?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#MeritIsAJoke</a> <a href="https://t.co/dgO6U0ch83">pic.twitter.com/dgO6U0ch83</a></p>— Faisal Iqbal&#55356;&#56821;&#55356;&#56816;&#55356;&#57295; فیصل اقبال (@FaisalIqbalCric) <a href="https://twitter.com/FaisalIqbalCric/status/1169192280474968065?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">September 4, 2019</a></blockquote>
I will be rising from the ground
Like a skyscraper

What a sore loser. Keep him away even from coaching school kids, don't need victim mentality being embeded into future cricketers.

He's more of a wally than Umar Akmal this fella. Typical loser, expects a free handout courtesy of #NayaPakistan

If anything you know the system is working cos clowns like him aren't given any kind of responsibility at all.

Misbah might keep the batting job to himself too but to keep things quite might offer Faisal Iqbal a spot in the test team.

He will never be a good coach with the kind of victim mentality and entitled attitude he displays. Some others have it too, but they don't go around displaying it proudly on social media.

Wasn't aware of that to full extent. Had seen some of his tweets in past, but that sort of self bravado isn't new in PAK cricket - if people like Mohsin Khan can call himself legend, then probably Faisal might be allowed to feel some entitlement (for his Uncle also).

But, it tells that in those 2 years of preparation, Faisal should add self image management as well.

Faisal Iqbal should coach a domestic team first and establish a few players before he can seriously be considered for such a key position

God, why does he think he is entitled?

Sound like a brat to me, wanting everything handed to him on a silver platter.

Guys like these are just trolls and should never be given attention.

It is an embarrassment that he even applied for the batting role.

Miandad Asks PCB To Think Out Of The Box

ISLAMABAD, (APP - UrduPoint / Pakistan Point News - 11th Oct, 2019 ):Batting legend Javed Miandad on Friday asked Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) to appoint a specialized batting coach to end Pakistan's woes in the department.

"I think the Board has overburdened Misbah by assigning him the dual responsibilities of Head Coach of all formats and Chief Selector. The board needs to be a bit realistic and think out of the box by appointing a specialized batting coach," he told APP.

Referring to his own nephew Faisal Iqbal, Miandad said that the Board had a best choice in the form of Faisal. "I think the Board was reluctant to hire Faisal due to his relationship with me. But if you speak on merit, he deserves to serve as Pakistan's Batting Coach," he said and added Misbah needs someone like Faisal to assist him in batsmen's coaching.

Pakistan team suffered major defeat in all three departments when was whitewashed by Sri Lanka 0-3 in the Twenty20 home series.

"Faisal had done coaching courses from England and is the best possible option for the Batting Coach position," Miandad said, who played for Pakistan in Tests and ODIs between 1975 and 1996.

Faisal had also applied for the position when PCB advertised for the posts of Head Coach, Bowling Coach and Batting Coach.

The legendary batsman also urged PCB to hire the services of former cricket greats at regional level to train budding players.

"We need to give authority to our local greats who can pass on their skills in the best possible manner to the players at regional level," he said.

Miandad, who was inducted into the ICC Cricket Hall of Fame in 2009, said PCB must focus on improving the regional cricket. "A player when comes in the team is mature and cannot learn the way a grooming youngster can at regional level," he said.

Miandad, who had scored 8,832 runs in 124 Tests, said he used to teach techniques to Inzamam ul Haq and other players when was attached with the team. "See how great figures they had become by learning the basic techniques," he said.

"Our players don't think of making big runs therefore lag behind in chasing even small totals," he said and added we need to improve the mentality of our batsmen.

To a question about under performing skipper Sarfraz Ahmed, Miandad said we have no other option, we could replace him as skipper, however Sarfraz needs to improve his batting as he was struggling in the department.

Speaking about the upcoming series against Australia, Miandad said the only way to select players for the series should be merit and physical fitness.

https://www.urdupoint.com/en/sports/minadad-asks-pcb-to-think-out-of-the-box-734341.html

Honestly speaking Faisal Iqbal could be a better coach than Miandad. This guy was a super failure in every aspect of cricket apart from a playing era.

Not to forget the help Faisal gave to Babar Azam during PSL and played a role in making him into a player he is now. :wy

Jitni joohtian isay maro woh kum hai. I don't know why this guy doesn't want to leave Cricket already. He keeps slithering around like a snake and waiting for an opening position.

He should be treated like a Firetruck. "Keep 500ft back".

And he's back with KK now - but Colin Ingram not there... so who can he improve?

His mental game didn't translate well to international cricket, but his technique and fundamentals were second to none.

He will make a great coach! Pakistan should try and lock him up before other international boards hire him

He has already made Babar into a beast in all the formats, imagine how much Babar will grow with one more season under him. Sharjeel is also lucky to be making a comeback under him. :afridi

Oh my goodness me this guy is actually a coach.
His tweets make him sound like a 10 year old lol.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">I remember a similar practise match like this in 2008 camp in Dubai was put up before Australian series wit 30 players & I was made captain of 1 team by selectors/management suddenly Younis came & made Fawad alam to captain in place of me.. one of the many shockers in my career! <a href="https://t.co/K4V475vv1a">https://t.co/K4V475vv1a</a></p>— Faisal Iqbal&#55356;&#56821;&#55356;&#56816;&#55356;&#57295;فیصل اقبال (@FaisalIqbalCric) <a href="https://twitter.com/FaisalIqbalCric/status/1282213304606351362?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">July 12, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

okay maybe printing mistake.

Younis Khan appears to be one unstable soul.

Must be two sides of the story

I remember very clearly in one game Younis and Faisal were in a partnership and Faisal got run out due to Younis’s fault. I swear at the time i felt like Younis purposely did it. Let me try and dig the scorecard.

Well well well, he is the Head Coach for Balochistan’s First XI now. And on the national selection panel.

I have high hopes from Faisal, remember how he transformed Colin Ingram within a week into a proper beast when he was batting coach at KK :yk

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Thank you <a href="https://twitter.com/TheRealPCB?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@TheRealPCB</a> & NHPC for considering me capable fr shouldering this big responsibility as Head Coach Balochistan Province/ &#55356;&#56821;&#55356;&#56816;National selector,I feel that my skills & experiences over the years will help benefit the future of &#55356;&#56821;&#55356;&#56816;cricket,looking forward for my 2nd innings&#55358;&#56831;</p>— Faisal Iqbal&#55356;&#56821;&#55356;&#56816;&#55356;&#57295;فیصل اقبال (@FaisalIqbalCric) <a href="https://twitter.com/FaisalIqbalCric/status/1296404722866413569?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">August 20, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Great coaches dont necessarily need to be great players. Faisal Iqbal does appear to be a levelled headed bloke. Lets see how his journey goes as a coach.

If I'm not mistaken he was the captain of Saud Shakil In few games he played and he deliberately did not give him opportunities to get noticed, which is such a tragedy to Said, deserving player from Karachi and Pak cricket.

Kab khoon khaulega tera Faijjal?

Wishing Faijjal best of luck in taking badla for all.

Faisal Iqbal must be doing something right as a batting coach as he keeps getting selected in the right departments. I guess being a junior level coach is better than national team coach. He was a terrible player but that’s going back a few years so I guess it’s time to look at him in a fresh light. It’s positive that he’s been given the job over some dinosaur from the 1970’s.

PCB statement on Faisal Iqbal

Lahore, 24 September 2020:

Pakistan Cricket Board has withdrawn Balochistan First XI head coach Faisal Iqbal from the National T20 Cup after the former Test batsman confirmed his employers Pakistan International Airlines were looking into a matter, which he hoped would be resolved soon.

The PCB said it would be unfair on Faisal Iqbal as well on his side and the tournament if he competed in a major domestic tournament until he had resolved and settled the matter with his parent organisation.

The PCB added Faisal Iqbal would be reintegrated with his domestic side as soon as PIA gave him a clean chit along with a No Objective Certificate (NOC). Until such time, Wasim Haider will act as the Balochistan cricket team’s interim head coach.

PCB statement on Faisal Iqbal

Lahore, 24 September 2020:

Pakistan Cricket Board has withdrawn Balochistan First XI head coach Faisal Iqbal from the National T20 Cup after the former Test batsman confirmed his employers Pakistan International Airlines were looking into a matter, which he hoped would be resolved soon.

The PCB said it would be unfair on Faisal Iqbal as well on his side and the tournament if he competed in a major domestic tournament until he had resolved and settled the matter with his parent organisation.

The PCB added Faisal Iqbal would be reintegrated with his domestic side as soon as PIA gave him a clean chit along with a No Objective Certificate (NOC). Until such time, Wasim Haider will act as the Balochistan cricket team’s interim head coach.
Any insights on what the issue is?

Reportedly his matriculation degree he submitted in 2003 has been termed as fake and couldn't be verified.
I don't even know what to say if it is. So incredibly embarassing and a serious offence.

Na. Its probably not fake.

This is the u19 fraud he did thay came back to bite him.

When players reduce their age on official documents or decide to change names, there old documents like degrees become illegal.

This is what probably happened.

Faisal Iqbal cleared to rejoin Balochistan

Lahore, 25 September 2020:

Faisal Iqbal will rejoin the Balochistan cricket team for the National T20 Cup on Saturday after he was issued a No Objection Certificate (NOC) by his parent organization, Pakistan International Airlines, on Friday.

Faisal is already in isolation in Muridke and ready to join the squad in Multan.

“The PCB is pleased Faisal Iqbal has promptly and swiftly resolved an ongoing matter that could have resulted in distraction during an important period for his side and the tournament. Hopefully, Faisal will now fully focus on the job at hand and make meaningful contribution as head coach of the Balochistan cricket team,” PCB General Manager – Domestic, Junaid Zia, said.

Balochistan will play their tournament opener against Sindh on 1 October.

Faisal is a nothing cricketer, has a nothing personality and has nothing credentials in terms of coaching or selection.

BUT he has once again proved that if you make enough noise you'll eventually get something. Shameful how things work in our country.