"Fawad Alam will hopefully make a comeback in the Pakistan team" : Sarfaraz Ahmad

UN talkz

First Class Star
Sarfaraz Ahmad speaking to media today :

"As far as Fawad Alam is concerned, the selection committee have had a good look at him and God Willing he will make a comeback in the Pakistan team"

"Just like he is performing in domestic, Inshallah we will also see him perform at the international level also"

"The selection committee always supports the captain and provides players as per requirements"

"We (Karachi team) did not play well and its our fault that we did not reach the final stages of the National T20"

"There is no lack of young talent but it is a matter of concern that our U19 team was bowled out for such low scores"

"Our team did reach the finals so it does not mean our performance was so bad in ACC U19 Asia Cup"

"Lets support this team as its going to the U19 World Cup and we hope they will perform well there"

"I try and perform as well as I can with the bat but the main idea is for our team do well"

"Obviously everyone wants to play leagues cricket as it allows them to earn more money in a short time but the real emphasis is on Test cricket"

"Whoever performs well will play for Pakistan, whether its Kamran or Adnal Akmal or me"

"Its great news that top-level cricket is coming to Karachi just like it has in Lahore"

"Yes it will take time to fill the space left by the retirement of senior players in the Test team"

"Good news is that we have some time before next Test series to sort things out and with the season in progress, the selection committee will be keeping any eye on the well-performing players"

"We hope that the team that goes to NZ will perform well and we will also work in the same way on developing our Test team"

Hopefully they dont make a blunder by selecting him in ODI squad against NZ

It's good he needs to be exposed but his fans will then say he's not in his peak years......

Sorry state of PAK cricket, if this happens. Guy scored tons of runs at 60+ average for half a decade in his 20s, now he is struggling even in domestics and that stance ........ so, obviously they are planning to call him back against Poms in early summer in his mid 30s.

Fawad deserved a call at least for squad against SRL, but I guess it's too late now.

If he is recalled lets hope its in Test matches which he is suited to and Not ODIS/T20s.

Our selectors seem to struggle at times to select players for right formats.

If he is recalled lets hope its in Test matches which he is suited to and Not ODIS/T20s.

definitely not in LOIs. No worries.. Would like emphasize what MA said about Fawad (needs to hit more boundaries to be considered)

Give him a chance in test matches, we need a good batsman to fill the gap, may be he can fill it as he is doing well in domestic.

He should definitely be selected in the test squad.
After 2015 WC there was no spot in the ODI team for him (though he should have played at the WC)

Fawad Alam will be brought back in the wrong format and that will be used as an excuse to remove him from the right format :)) story of our great cricketing history

Fawad Alam is wrong for every format. Don't know how he has scored these many runs with pathetic style and stance. Better to give chance to the other deserving batsmen like Saad Ali, Saud Shakeel, Usman Salauddin, Umar Amin, Hussain Talat etc.

Even at this late stage he deserves a shot. One of the biggest injustices of Pakistan cricket that the likes of Shan Masood and Imran Farhat can get a game but someone who averages 50+ (and has an international daddy hundred to his name already) cannot.

Regardless of whether he performs or how ugly he looks at the crease it's absolutely justified to give the guy a fair go in the side now.

Fawad Alam is wrong for every format. Don't know how he has scored these many runs with pathetic style and stance. Better to give chance to the other deserving batsmen like Saad Ali, Saud Shakeel, Usman Salauddin, Umar Amin, Hussain Talat etc.

The point is to score runs. Not to satisfy cricketing illiterates who prefer style over substance.

Alam's stance etc might not be conventional, but it doesn't mean its poor technique, nor is he a hack. He was even rotating the strike for Pak in ODIs too when he last got a decent run.

He's a good player, whose domestic record alone means that he is long overdue a run in he test side, despite the level of domestic cricket.

He's a grafter bit like Sarfraz can be when he looks after his wicket. I look at a batter like Du Plessis and think Fawad can be our stalwart at 5, which should help keep Azhar in the opener slots also.

Azhar
????
Asad (just)
Babar
Fawad
Haris
Sarfraz

It's sad that Alam wasn't given many chances in the last few years given that our batting was poor. But he's now 32 and his inclusion now doesn't really fit in with a long term planning process.

Fawad Alam gets too much lobbying. It's not like he wasn't given chances in International Cricket. He is not as great as he is made out to be. The Australian's exposed him by drying up his singles, his strike rate suffered because he didn't have the power release shots. He will always be found wanting against the big sides.

Someone like Imran Khan would never go gaga over him just on the basis of "Oh he has topped the domestic charts for the last 8-10 years". IK never looked at stats, he had an eye and on that basis made a judgement "Can this player with the right coaching, guidance, captaincy and opportunity, get to the next level and win games for me and the coutnry?".

The guy has the highest first class strike rate of any current Pakistan squad batsmen, higher than inzi, miandad also! A very healthy 57% just play him in tests give him 6 needy matches then assess

Should a skipper of a national team be making such a comment singling out a player?

What will other players who are performing at the domestic level make of such comments.

If it's not the team captain singling out a player, it will either be the coach or the PCB chairman. Nothing new here.

Fawad Alam gets too much lobbying. It's not like he wasn't given chances in International Cricket. He is not as great as he is made out to be. The Australian's exposed him by drying up his singles, his strike rate suffered because he didn't have the power release shots. He will always be found wanting against the big sides.

Someone like Imran Khan would never go gaga over him just on the basis of "Oh he has topped the domestic charts for the last 8-10 years". IK never looked at stats, he had an eye and on that basis made a judgement "Can this player with the right coaching, guidance, captaincy and opportunity, get to the next level and win games for me and the coutnry?".

Fawad never played Tests against Australia. The question at hand regards his suitability as a Test player. In the Tests he has played he averages 40 + with a daddy hundred in a Test where he outbatted YK, Inzi and YoYo. It may be worth asking Imran Khan whether he thinks Fawad would be a good selection. But that is not what you are suggesting. You are saying that we should judge by the looks of a player and believe that you are as good at that as was Imran Khan. The question not asked, of course, is which of Imran's supposed wild card selections actually went against what was otherwise observable performance. Which player did he pluck from obscurity who wildly outperformed a sample size significant domestic record in the international arena? What evidence do we have that one should ignore domestic performance indicators in favor of gut reaction? What evidence do we have against that proposition? Hint: Hasan Ali; The Bowler Who Looked Too Short To Ever Succeed. Ravi Chanderpaul; The Crabbiest Technique in World Cricket.

Should a skipper of a national team be making such a comment singling out a player?

What will other players who are performing at the domestic level make of such comments.

well i am not sure if you will be aware that safi also took junior akmal to meetup the coach mickey and had patch them up.. and had said same statement.. why is so gaga on this statement ?
:bhajji

Good knock from Fawad Alam in the latest QEA Trophy match.

Helped SSGC chase 302, scoring 69* off 44 balls against WAPDA.

Good knock from Fawad Alam in the latest QEA Trophy match.

Helped SSGC chase 302, scoring 69* off 44 balls against WAPDA.

Am not sure he's having the best FC season overall though, the hunger/desire could be an issue and also his age. We can't pick him for the sake of it based on opportunities which should have been given to him a lot earlier.

Jab peak par tha tou select nahi kya or jab 10,000 runs kar chuka hai tou keh rahe hain kay age issue hai.. Bhai jaan Misbah Younis Malik or Afridi kay sath age issue nahi tha ??? ... These so called legends did nothing for us in 2011 & 2015 World Cups or any major tournament in ODIs or major foreign tours of Australia or England.

FAWAD ALAM stays on crease, plays with strike rotation, provides RH-LH batting combination like many other good teams Australia England India South Africa. ..

Fawad never played Tests against Australia. The question at hand regards his suitability as a Test player. In the Tests he has played he averages 40 + with a daddy hundred in a Test where he outbatted YK, Inzi and YoYo. It may be worth asking Imran Khan whether he thinks Fawad would be a good selection. But that is not what you are suggesting. You are saying that we should judge by the looks of a player and believe that you are as good at that as was Imran Khan. The question not asked, of course, is which of Imran's supposed wild card selections actually went against what was otherwise observable performance. Which player did he pluck from obscurity who wildly outperformed a sample size significant domestic record in the international arena? What evidence do we have that one should ignore domestic performance indicators in favor of gut reaction? What evidence do we have against that proposition? Hint: Hasan Ali; The Bowler Who Looked Too Short To Ever Succeed. Ravi Chanderpaul; The Crabbiest Technique in World Cricket.

Very well explained. He is more suitable for TEST format. He scored century in the Debut test match but was dropped after playing 3 TESTS with no reason. At that time, Misbah & Younis were in the team, now they have left, so FAWAD is the most deserving player for TESTS in place of Babar Azam.

2 centuries and 3 fifties this season at an average of 40, and on these awful pitches too is a good return.

You mentioned some really good names but Umar Amin & Usman Salahuddin are just craps and Umar Amin got some chances but didn't perform, so as Haris Sohail, Sohaib Maqsood, Shan Masood & Sami Aslam ....

Saad Ali, Hasan Mohsin & Saud Shakeel are the most deserving batsmen to get chances in the National side.

Yes, very well said, if you remember PCB selected Fawad & Khuram Manzoor for T20s just to give excuse that they didn't perform. You know we pakistanis are very clever in terms of politics at every stage of life (excuse me).

He should definitely be selected in the test squad.
After 2015 WC there was no spot in the ODI team for him (though he should have played at the WC)

I still can't believe that on what basis they selected Haris Sohail, Sohaib Maqsood, Ahmed Shehzad & Rahat Ali for the biggest even like World Cup 2015. Still can't imagine such pathetic selection when there were such better / good players already available like Fawad Alam, Asad Shafiq, Babar Azam, Khuram Manzoor, Mir Hamza, Sadaf Hussain & Muhammad Abbas... They were the best performers of 2014-15 season.

Fawad Alam will be brought back in the wrong format and that will be used as an excuse to remove him from the right format :)) story of our great cricketing history

Exactly my point is...

If you remember our dearest selectors have done is many times in the past, which ruined many many careers.

No hopefully no!! he is just not good enough with his ugly stance and all.Better to invest in saad Ali.

You mentioned some really good names but Umar Amin & Usman Salahuddin are just craps and Umar Amin got some chances but didn't perform, so as Haris Sohail, Sohaib Maqsood, Shan Masood & Sami Aslam ....

Saad Ali, Hasan Mohsin & Saud Shakeel are the most deserving batsmen to get chances in the National side.

I still can't believe that on what basis they selected Haris Sohail, Sohaib Maqsood, Ahmed Shehzad & Rahat Ali for the biggest even like World Cup 2015. Still can't imagine such pathetic selection when there were such better / good players already available like Fawad Alam, Asad Shafiq, Babar Azam, Khuram Manzoor, Mir Hamza, Sadaf Hussain & Muhammad Abbas... They were the best performers of 2014-15 season.

Are you trolling?

Haris Sohail was a "pathetic" selection and Fawad Alam and Khurram Manzoor would have been better options. :))) Thanks for the laugh.

Also Abbas and Sadaf would be taken to the cleaners in ODIs but that is another point.

Are you trolling?

Haris Sohail was a "pathetic" selection and Fawad Alam and Khurram Manzoor would have been better options. :))) Thanks for the laugh.

Also Abbas and Sadaf would be taken to the cleaners in ODIs but that is another point.

My Brother ! Please don't exaggerate what I said.

I never said that Khuram Manzoor is world class or what.. ..

Just my point was there was no merit / no justification to select Haris Sohail, Sohaib Maqsood & Rahat Ali for the World Cup as we already had better players...

Fawad Alam was in good touch during those (asia cup century) but was dropped, Asad Shafiq & Azhar Ali were technically best but both were dropped.

Sarfraz was in prime touch but didn't given a single match (till waqar younis exposed) till Pakistan loosed matches.

We had Junaid Khan, Mir Hamza, Muhammad Abbas & Sadaf Hussain but PCB selected Rahat Ali & Wahab Riaz. ...

My Brother ! Please don't exaggerate what I said.

I never said that Khuram Manzoor is world class or what.. ..

Just my point was there was no merit / no justification to select Haris Sohail, Sohaib Maqsood & Rahat Ali for the World Cup as we already had better players...

Fawad Alam was in good touch during those (asia cup century) but was dropped, Asad Shafiq & Azhar Ali were technically best but both were dropped.

Sarfraz was in prime touch but didn't given a single match (till waqar younis exposed) till Pakistan loosed matches.

We had Junaid Khan, Mir Hamza, Muhammad Abbas & Sadaf Hussain but PCB selected Rahat Ali & Wahab Riaz. ...

Stop shifting goalposts. I am referring to your post in the other thread where you said Pakistan should Babar and Sami in tests and play Khurram Manzoor instead. That is insanity.

Back on topic, Haris Sohail will end as a Pakistani great. If you can't see that, then I can't help you. Then again the fact you support Asad Shafiq playing ODIs tells me everything I need to know.

Stop shifting goalposts. I am referring to your post in the other thread where you said Pakistan should Babar and Sami in tests and play Khurram Manzoor instead. That is insanity.

Back on topic, Haris Sohail will end as a Pakistani great. If you can't see that, then I can't help you. Then again the fact you support Asad Shafiq playing ODIs tells me everything I need to know.

It would have been a lot better if they had picked Babar Azam instead of Sohaib Maqsood and Fawad Alam instead of Haris Sohail, for the World Cup 2015. I don't how can you advocate such pathetic selection

Sounds like he was specifically asked out Fawad, doesn't seem like Sarfraz just randomly mentioned him

Perhaps we should first listen to the interview rather just question Sarfraz as the first instinct

He has 100% right to support any player whom he sees more deserving.