Feeling ashamed of being a Pakistani cricket fan watching Imam and Babar bat

No real intent shown! Should have gone for a 900+ score with a SR of 250+.

Unacceptable attitude, not fit to be modern day batsmen....

... oh wait this is a serious thread and not for sarcastic jokes? ooops sorry.

There are many more than 'some' Pakistanis probably in thousands crying about Imam and Babar's selfish batting .

They are not Warner and Morgan! They played like how they play and this was also a slow wicket.

I don't know what the difference is. Perhaps the deluded expectation that Pakistan was actually going to score 450+ to win the game?

Unbelievable

There is a difference between when you toil hard to earn a place in Pakistan team or you are gifted a seat in Pakistan National Team due to being related to someone [Babar as cousinf Of Akmal and Imam selector's nephew].

Once they did'nt pick Asif Ali I knew they'll play slow but atleast one should've shown intent to qualify.

There are fans sitting there who come to cheer for Pakistan atleast show intent dammit everyone knew its a tough task but show some teethfor your country.
You have 2 players playing for themselves than for the team in a World Cup match.

This is the end result of the corruption in our cricket system. For me there is nothing to watch in this team anymore.

You are either too naive or just started watching the game.

BD is not a club side who you can hit out of the ground. Realistically, Pakistan never had a chance to match the asking NRR to qualify for the semis. Imam clearly indicated in his post-innings statement that the wicket was slowing downa nd would slow down further when BD bats. omething similar to what India experienced when playing England.

Expecting players to hit 4's & 6's at will or have a above 125% strike rate, against an ok bowling attack is just crazy. Get some perspective...this is a WC game, not college cricket

When a team does it, they will believe and do it. That is how the first 300 was made and then the first 400.

Unless the bowling is absolutely rubbish and you have tiny boundaries, along with a a lot of no/wide balls extending a regular over, maybe 400, but seeking 500, in one innings, no way. If at all 500 happens, it will be an outlier and a statistical anomaly. Would not expect teams to reach that line consistently

nly other wcenario I can think of is if there is a rule change further favoring the batsman

Unless the bowling is absolutely rubbish and you have tiny boundaries, along with a a lot of no/wide balls extending a regular over, maybe 400, but seeking 500, in one innings, no way. If at all 500 happens, it will be an outlier and a statistical anomaly. Would not expect teams to reach that line consistently

nly other wcenario I can think of is if there is a rule change further favoring the batsman

Yes, but the team which believes will go for it without expecting these things.

To play with intent you need to be bold, you need to be aggressive, you need to boot out deadwood and bring in a surprise x factor or have a plan.

Today just proved what a cowardly captain Safraz is going with an unchanged team who are the reason for Pakistan being in this position. You want to send out a message and stick by your guns saying we will go for the 500 or atleast try to get a high total.

This is what Safraz should and could have done.

Fakhar
Asif
Babar
Imad
Hassan
Haris
Safraz
Hafeez
Amir
Shaheen
Hasnain

That would show that we tried a different tactic we tried a different approach if it pays off great if not then atleast they would have tried something different, its a dead rubber could have made it slightly interesting.
Win or lose dont matter whether you finish 5th in the table or 6th but atleast a sniff was there for the taking.

So many fans have such minnow mentality

Yeah lets play safe and make sure we beat Bangladesh and secure the 5th spot

Cant wait to get the trophy at the end of the game

Pathetic time to be a Pak fan!

Yeah by a team filled with professional athletes and big hitters. Their team is built to bat on flat decks.

Paks team isnt built like that.
They may not but they aren't even trying. It's not impossible. Whether it's a bilateral or a World Cup game is irrelevant. Whether they win by 40 runs or they lose after getting bundled out for 160 while trying to get 450, they're going to get out of the World Cup anyway. A consolation win doesn't do them any good.

Are you feeling ashamed now on starting this post? Wicket was not easy to bat on and Pakistan totally outplayed Bangladesh. Criticism is fine to some extant but showing no knowledge of cricket is another and you showed that you have no knowledge.

So many fans have such minnow mentality

Yeah lets play safe and make sure we beat Bangladesh and secure the 5th spot

Cant wait to get the trophy at the end of the game

Pathetic time to be a Pak fan!

This new breed of Pak fans have not witnessed glory days of Pak cricket so be easy on them. For them finishing at 5 is an achievement.

Are you feeling ashamed now on starting this post? Wicket was not easy to bat on and Pakistan totally outplayed Bangladesh. Criticism is fine to some extant but showing no knowledge of cricket is another and you showed that you have no knowledge.

And answer this Mr knowledgable

What we have gained from showing no intent and winning this pointless absolutely pointless match?

Finish 5th or finish 6th it makes no difference whatsover

If Pakistan went for it and lost the game in the process, people would have respected the team more

This victory is worthless. Cant wait to get that trophy for finishing 5th :vk2:

Disgraceful!

This new breed of Pak fans have not witnessed glory days of Pak cricket so be easy on them. For them finishing at 5 is an achievement.

Your right

Im seriously thinking of boycotting Pakistan cricket

Fed up with the team and most especially our fans!

I am very surprised by these type of Pakistan fans. These fans are content to be mediocre and ridiculed since they have no self-esteem. Little hearts. Reminds me of some time ago when Sarfraz was not captain and he was batting and he chickened out when an opposition bowler show aggression; he did not show any backbone at that time, same like these fans.

We have some very very stupid cricket fans.

Can’t believe they actually thought 500 was on the cards.

I am very surprised by these type of Pakistan fans. These fans are content to be mediocre and ridiculed since they have no self-esteem. Little hearts. Reminds me of some time ago when Sarfraz was not captain and he was batting and he chickened out when an opposition bowler show aggression; he did not show any backbone at that time, same like these fans.

It mostly the fans who have started following cricket post Misbah era or during the Misbah era who have such minnow mentality or fans with regional basis that will support Sarfaraz regardless

Sick and tired of Pakistan cricket!

Responded to this point already so if your going to ignore posts then why bother?

[MENTION=149517]Rifaqat[/MENTION]

Thiss is the same pattern going on

first they twist the fan emotion of showing intent, to expecting 500 runs

moreover make personal attacks in an uncivil manner

than celebrate both cancers Imam and Babar innings as something extraordinary while the whole Pakistan is abusing these 2 blokes on social media.

Im thinking or boycotting Pakistan cricket forseaable future. How about you?

So you are crying because they didn't gifted their wicket like we used to do ?

N one is dreaming of unicorns by asking for better players than Imam who are available in our domestic system and deserve playing ahead of this selector's nephew p@rchi. We are not asking for Pakistan players to get trained on video analysis like other more professional teams we are begging for basic stuff merit in 2019 rofl.

36 matches with 7 centuries (We are talking about international centuries here not in street cricket), avg of 54 with SR of 80. Yes he needs to improve his SR.

Which merit people talk about, he was one of the highest scorers amongst openers in the last QAE trophy he played in. Even if we consider his selection was out of turn he totally proved it right with his performances more often than not.

This wasn’t easy. If they had gone in all guns blazing to break records (because that’s what it would take) there is a very high chance of a collapse, and a loss. Many of those asking for intent now would be furious for the team succumbing to Bangladesh.

If don’t see why they should have had any intent to qualify today. It was practically impossible. A 316 run margin. Not only would they need to score a mmmoth total but then pray the pitch suddenly becomes a minefield for the second innings.

I think they played sensible cricket, got the win, saved face and left on a high.

Delete this thread.. babar is playing on merit. You guys have absoulute zero cricket sense wanting asif in the team.

Asif dropped 3 catches vs aus. Basically made us lose.
How on earth can you justify his place.

He hasnt scored once in the chances he was given this wc and has been a serial catch dropper

Very well said. But why did u select such a player i n the squad who can field properly and put him in the slips lol. Also hasnain who never played dropping uks, junaid and faheem who were playing for the last 1 year or so.

36 matches with 7 centuries (We are talking about international centuries here not in street cricket), avg of 54 with SR of 80. Yes he needs to improve his SR.

Which merit people talk about, he was one of the highest scorers amongst openers in the last QAE trophy he played in. Even if we consider his selection was out of turn he totally proved it right with his performances more often than not.

Looks like Imam himself is posting here
Have heard this ** before it has been replied by many member countless times.
Only have this response for this repeated bakwaas and you using the term merit and Imam in the same sentence

500? No. But 400 was definitely on. Remember, England scored 386 and Australia scored 381 against this very team in this World Cup. And India scored 359 against them in the warm up match after being 102/4. Sorry but you can’t blame the wicket for the smaller than expected total today. It was a good wicket to bat on after winning the toss. You could judge that from some of the shots played initially. At no point did any batsman looked like he was trying to get Pakistan into the semis.

But at the same time, I do understand the psychology of the Pak players. A settled team would have tried for that 400+ total. But Pakistan isn’t a settled team right now. The axe is hanging over most of the squad members. They were all playing to save their place in the squad. Hence none of them were willing to take that risk. It’s quite understandable tbh. Even with 400 there was very little chance of making it to the semis. That could be another reason why they didn’t go for it.

I don’t think anyone should feel ashamed to be a Pak fan today, but there’s definitely reason to be disappointed. You won the match but you’re out of the tournament.

Problem we have is can’t have Babs right and imam in top 3 , all successful one day teams have two explosive openers ,

What’s Criminal today is imam and babar getting to 90, 100 getting out .

That’s we’re you need to cash in and get a massive score

Looks like Imam himself is posting here
Have heard this ** before it has been replied by many member countless times.
Only have this response for this repeated bakwaas and you using the term merit and Imam in the same sentence

Where are the facts in your reply? Laughing smileys are not facts buddy. :smith

I'm really tired of this criticism of Babar & Iman on social media. It seems Pakistanis like to attack things that work. Their strike rates are similar or better than Smith, Root, Williamson & Kohli. The issue is that Fakhar, Hafeez, Imad and Shadad aren't Buttler, Hardik, Finch, Roy etc.

Today if we were going to get close to 400 we needed Fakhar to bat long and quick.....and I'm sure that was the plan. He did neither.

Below are the facts for some misguided posters. He was youngest as well as the top scorer as opener in QAE trophy before his debut. :smith

7-5-2019 2-59-36 PM.jpg

Man **** no team in the world could ever achieve that and I’m so angry that I’m having to respond to such a pathetic thread where a player like Babar Azam is being questioned. ***** and Asif Ali that ***** would hit a six and get out the next ball you really think he would score 500 alone and we don’t have a single power hitter in the team so it was unachievable. Pakistan played great cricket and finished on a high did better than their overall rankings so it’s a positive for pakistan

I think I was asking the other poster. Let him reply for himself please. Thanks.

Really? Lol

Im thinking or boycotting Pakistan cricket forseaable future. How about you?

Good bye.

Follow your own advice thanks

Said yesterday that Sarfaraz saying we'd score 500 was stupid. Ultimately the tactics are decided before he match starts.

How do you define intent?

Who is abusing Babar and Imam? Majority of social media is pleased with today's performance. We won by 94 runs. What is the problem?

And answer this Mr knowledgable

What we have gained from showing no intent and winning this pointless absolutely pointless match?

Finish 5th or finish 6th it makes no difference whatsover

If Pakistan went for it and lost the game in the process, people would have respected the team more

This victory is worthless. Cant wait to get that trophy for finishing 5th :vk2:

Disgraceful!

I am not answerable to a person who has ZERO knowledge of cricket, I can see you are getting emotional and must be crying at the moment.

How do you define intent?

Who is abusing Babar and Imam? Majority of social media is pleased with today's performance. We won by 94 runs. What is the problem?

Bhai yeh qaum pagla gayi hai 13 consecutive losses kay baad bhi we finished 5th which was not bad at all to me.

Delete this thread pls.

How can you criticize our best bats?

Wow just wow.

I am not answerable to a person who has ZERO knowledge of cricket, I can see you are getting emotional and must be crying at the moment.

So in other words, you dont have any answer to what I wrote and this is your best comeback. Filed and understood

Sir to answer your concern winning today was more crucial than just blind hitting and losing the match. our one bad performance against Windies cost us the Worldcup. If you ask me Pakistan performed way better than I expected. NewZealand I feel is extremely lucky to qualify for SemiFinals. Guess if Pakistan was able to Score 500runs do you think Bangladesh is that much mediocre team that they just give up as soon as they see Pakistan posted 500 on board. Be realistic and chill out and be happy.

Reading posts like this make me realise that Indian fans are right when they say things about us like 'choti fans ki choti khushiyan'

I don't care about Indian fans, their team is doing way better than Pakistan and frankly, we cannot defend a team who just throw away a winnable match so easily.

Rashid Latif predicted right about Haphew that he will get the useless 100 in Lords...

Ludicrous. Have I understood this correctly: You want to drop Babar Azam for Asif Ali?

Don't forget Khalid latif, fawad alam and usama baloch who's yet to play domestics yet he's already better then babar. As clueless as they come.

There is nothing to be ashamed of.Scoring 500 and bowling BD for nothing was never going to happen.It was not possible.It was good to beat BD and end on a high.Selectors need to bring in a few younger and dynamic batsmen and get rid of the dead wood.The core of this side is ok.Need to improve fitness and fielding.

I agree, why didn't Pakistan openers show the intent to be 220/0 after 10 overs?

I am not from Pakistan. I watch Pakistan cricket as I do for some other teams. For me, this was a shocking approach coming from any team. Not expected out of any team and definitely not Pakistan.