Former India cricketer Chetan Chauhan passes away at the age of 73 due to Covid-19

Rana

Hall of Famer
"India should put pressure on ICC to throw Pakistan out of the World Cup: Chetan Chauhan
Chetan Chauhan suggested that India should be putting pressure on the ICC to throw Pakistan out of the 2019 World Cup in England & Wales. The call for India to boycott Pakistan on the cricket field has been growing since the Pulwama terror attack.

Chetan Chauhan, former Indian cricketer and current UP Cabinet Minister, has called for India to put pressure on the International Cricket Council (ICC) to throw Pakistan out of the 2019 Cricket World Cup.

Chauhan also pointed out that growing threat of terror from Pakistan, saying that it is a problem for country.

"World Cup, Olympics is decided years ahead. We don't play bilateral series with Pakistan. The best thing to do is to throw Pakistan out of the World Cup. Every country is worried with the growth of terrorism in Pakistan. It's a problem for everyone. We should exert pressure on ICC to throw Pakistan out of the World Cup," Chauhan told Aaj Tak in an exclusive interview.

"If Pakistan do not play the World Cup, it won't make any difference. If India do not play, the ICC will suffer losses. India bring in 65 to 70 per cent of the sponsorship," Chauhan said.

Since the February 14 Pulwama terror attack which resulted in the death of 40 CRPF soldiers, there has been clarion call for India to boycott Pakistan in world meets.

Chauhan had earlier called for India to be cautious about the World Cup match in the Cricket World Cup, and the Indian Government and the Board of Control for Cricket in India to tread careful regarding the matter. He had further reasoned that if India don't play Pakistan in the World Cup saying that it may be detrimental to the country's chances at the quadrennial event."

https://www.indiatoday.in/sports/cr...uhan-pulwama-terror-attack-1460734-2019-02-20

With the world cup taking place in England, nothing really can be done and this will come across as an idiotic demand. Fast forward 2023 and the same situation could actually see Pakistan not invited to India for any world cup fixtures.

Is he the same guy that Miandad hit a last ball six on?

Seems like he is still in trauma :yk

My patience is literally running out with the Indians.

Every ABC is coming on media and posting all sorts of mindless XYZ statements.
Get a life please.

No this stupidity.

India can boycott the match.That also will be a stupidity according to me.

Or if they really want to stretch it,India can refuse to play the world cup. That will be a bigger stupidity.

But India cant ask Pakistan to be not included.

My patience is literally running out with the Indians.

Every ABC is coming on media and posting all sorts of mindless XYZ statements.
Get a life please.

Hey, at least it gives us some entertainment on PP. :91:

Lol. These people seriously need help. Starting point will be to see a doctor.

i think every wanna be expert comes up with these kinda statements everyday
i request admin to make one thread of all this kinda stupid stuff.
or put it in timepass

"If we are not playing Pak in bilateral series, we should not play them anywhere" : M. Ahzharuddin

Former Indian captain Mohammad Azharuddin has backed India to boycott Pakistan at the ICC World Cup 2019, in the wake of the Pulwama terror attack. Sentiments are running high in the country after the ghastly terror attack on a CRPF convoy saw 40 soldiers getting martyred. Pakistan based terror outfit Jaish-e-Mohammad claimed responsibility for the dastardly attack and there have been calls to boycott the neighbours on the cricket pitch as well.

After Indian spinner Harbhajan Singh urged the BCCI to not play Pakistan at the showpiece event in England and Wales this year, Azharuddin has also voiced his opinion on the matter. He said that India should not play Pakistan on any level if they have decided to boycott bilateral series against the neighbours. The two arch-rivals have not met each other in a bilateral series since 2012 with BCCI maintaining a steel resolve over the issue despite massive pressure from the Pakistan Cricket Board.

Azharuddin said he agreed with Harbhajan that a World Cup cannot be bigger than the country. "If we are not playing Pakistan in bilateral series, we should not play them anywhere. I agree with Harbhajan, the World Cup cannot be bigger than the country," he was quoted as saying by India Today.

A suicide bomber identified as Adil Ahmed Dar rammed an explosive-laden SUV into a bus carrying CRPF soldiers on the Jammu-Srinagar highway. The convoy of 78 vehicles with over 2,500 soldiers was targeted by the terrorists. Ever since the attack, there has been a huge outroar in the country to end cross-border terrorism and boycott Pakistan on the sports field as well.

Harbhajan was the first big name from the cricket fraternity to come out and express his emotions over the attack. He said that India should avoid playing against Pakistan at the World Cup as the event was not bigger than the country. Meanwhile, Azharuddin, who was leading India in the 1999 World Cup, revealed that the team was under huge pressure in the game against Pakistan as the Kargil war was on and there were fears that a fight might break out between the spectators.

"There was tension...there was the war on. We were scared the spectators would start fighting. When we won, the soldiers celebrated. If you play Pakistan, play everywhere. Otherwise, don't play them anywhere. ICC and BCCI should resolve this quickly," said Azharuddin.

https://www.timesnownews.com/sports...n-the-country-says-mohammad-azharuddin/369434

With the world cup taking place in England, nothing really can be done and this will come across as an idiotic demand. Fast forward 2023 and the same situation could actually see Pakistan not invited to India for any world cup fixtures.

It's a challenge for PCB to ensure that we remain relevant enough over the next four years. And then it's a challenge for current affair managers to ensure that the world isn't that crazy that this would become a reality.

But yes, it's quiet possible that we don't play the tournament or play our matches in Sri Lanka / Bangla and avoid as much as possible playing inside of India.

It's a challenge for PCB to ensure that we remain relevant enough over the next four years. And then it's a challenge for current affair managers to ensure that the world isn't that crazy that this would become a reality.

But yes, it's quiet possible that we don't play the tournament or play our matches in Sri Lanka / Bangla and avoid as much as possible playing inside of India.

It just wont make sense. India would never entertain the Idea of Playing Pakistan outside of India during a world cup that they will be hosting. Its a very tricky situation, lets hope BJP isn't the ruling party by then. But this current event and the one sided media propaganda may have brainwashed a vast majority of the Indian public against Pakistan. It may not matter who will be in power by then.

If that is to be done then India should have never played any WC from 1992. In Indian Occupied Kashmir lacs of people are killed since 1990, thousands of women were raped ( See Kunanposhpora one of the worst mass rape in history) , thousands of people are disappeared since last 30 years with their families having no idea whether they are alive or dead (See APDP association formed by the iron lady of Kashmir). India army has terrorised thr whole kashmir right from their inception in Kashmir. But Indian media will never show that.

Ex cricketer + Politician = Stupid illogical emotional blabber mouth. Is he from BJP?

Good to see India trying to get their excuses in early. On a serious note this is getting ridiculous, show us the evidence or shutup, coincidence this happened just before election time. India deserve to be booted out of the world cup for inciting hatred if anything, they are the real terrorists here.

If I was allowed to use few abusive words here, I would have used on Chetan Chauhan.

This is getting beyond a joke. The game will go ahead no matter what these politicians and ex players say.

Former Indian captain Mohammad Azharuddin has backed India to boycott Pakistan at the ICC World Cup 2019, in the wake of the Pulwama terror attack. Sentiments are running high in the country after the ghastly terror attack on a CRPF convoy saw 40 soldiers getting martyred. Pakistan based terror outfit Jaish-e-Mohammad claimed responsibility for the dastardly attack and there have been calls to boycott the neighbours on the cricket pitch as well.

After Indian spinner Harbhajan Singh urged the BCCI to not play Pakistan at the showpiece event in England and Wales this year, Azharuddin has also voiced his opinion on the matter. He said that India should not play Pakistan on any level if they have decided to boycott bilateral series against the neighbours. The two arch-rivals have not met each other in a bilateral series since 2012 with BCCI maintaining a steel resolve over the issue despite massive pressure from the Pakistan Cricket Board.

Azharuddin said he agreed with Harbhajan that a World Cup cannot be bigger than the country. "If we are not playing Pakistan in bilateral series, we should not play them anywhere. I agree with Harbhajan, the World Cup cannot be bigger than the country," he was quoted as saying by India Today.

A suicide bomber identified as Adil Ahmed Dar rammed an explosive-laden SUV into a bus carrying CRPF soldiers on the Jammu-Srinagar highway. The convoy of 78 vehicles with over 2,500 soldiers was targeted by the terrorists. Ever since the attack, there has been a huge outroar in the country to end cross-border terrorism and boycott Pakistan on the sports field as well.

Harbhajan was the first big name from the cricket fraternity to come out and express his emotions over the attack. He said that India should avoid playing against Pakistan at the World Cup as the event was not bigger than the country. Meanwhile, Azharuddin, who was leading India in the 1999 World Cup, revealed that the team was under huge pressure in the game against Pakistan as the Kargil war was on and there were fears that a fight might break out between the spectators.

"There was tension...there was the war on. We were scared the spectators would start fighting. When we won, the soldiers celebrated. If you play Pakistan, play everywhere. Otherwise, don't play them anywhere. ICC and BCCI should resolve this quickly," said Azharuddin.

https://www.timesnownews.com/sports...n-the-country-says-mohammad-azharuddin/369434
I agree with him. If you do not want to play cricket, you dont want to play cricket.. bilateral or whatever..

They should forfeit games against us in other events, as a matter of principle, and also stop playing us in ALL sports.. not just cricket.. ehat the heck kind of double standard is this that you wont play us just when it comes to cricket or bilateral series?

If ICC goes ahead with this, which i know they wont, Pakistan should stop playing cricket. Cricket will die without its major nations.

Why should we stop playing cricket?
Pakistan will always be a part of international cricket fraternity. There is no grounds to remove pakistan and isolate them based on political posturing from one nation.

India has no leg to stand on making this demand.

DO IT DO IT DO IT!!!!

Pressure the ICC! DO IT!

MORE STATEMENTS!!! DO IT!

No this stupidity.

India can boycott the match.That also will be a stupidity according to me.

Or if they really want to stretch it,India can refuse to play the world cup. That will be a bigger stupidity.

But India cant ask Pakistan to be not included.

Wow. Did sun rise in the west today?

News channels need news. They interview every Kumar and Babu on the street and ask their opinion.

If they say, politics and sports should not be mixed, they will be shunned like Sidhu.

They are forced to say moronic things to keep the emotional public happy.

Bottom line, news channels win as people will have something new to listen to.

News channels need news. They interview every Kumar and Babu on the street and ask their opinion.

If they say, politics and sports should not be mixed, they will be shunned like Sidhu.

They are forced to say moronic things to keep the emotional public happy.

Bottom line, news channels win as people will have something new to listen to.

People are forced to say these kind of stuff, then I understand why they blame Pakistan for everything.

We should have a competition to predict what childish steps BCCI and former Indian players might take next to damage the interests of Pakistan cricket , here’s some possibilities:

- Appeal to Google to remove all cricket videos on YouTube featuring Imran Khan, Wasim and Waqar

- Ask ICC to erase the test statistics of all Pakistan cricket legends

- Cancel TV broadcasting deals for IPL or Indian cricket with any TV channel that broadcasts Pakistan cricket

- Ask ICC to expel Pakistan from test cricket or we are forming a breakaway Test League and will invite everyone apart from Pakistan to join

We should have a competition to predict what childish steps BCCI and former Indian players might take next to damage the interests of Pakistan cricket , here’s some possibilities:

- Appeal to Google to remove all cricket videos on YouTube featuring Imran Khan, Wasim and Waqar

- Ask ICC to erase the test statistics of all Pakistan cricket legends

- Cancel TV broadcasting deals for IPL or Indian cricket with any TV channel that broadcasts Pakistan cricket

- Ask ICC to expel Pakistan from test cricket or we are forming a breakaway Test League and will invite everyone apart from Pakistan to join

-Ask world cartographers to remove Pakistan from the world map

Heights of stupidity.. do these people think before they speak? why should BCCI do it? the worst thing they can do is refuse to play Pak, which i think is really another bad idea. what does Indian team gain by giving up free points? if we have to lose 3 poitns lets lose it after we lose the match, not just hand it over to Pak or any other team.

Why? Joshila bhai and I may be nationalists but not delusional. BCCI has no right to oust Pakistan since we dont own ICC. But we can forefiet our match....that is our right.

well said.. it makes absolutely no sense to ask ICC to oust Pakistan or any other country..

It is better if India does not play in the World Cup. They will be told that Cricket has nothing to do with politics neither do other countries care about the Pulwama attack or Kashmir for that matter. Pak is gonna be in the WC for sure, Insha Allah. India should take it's whining and crying elsewhere, it's getting so very boring now:((:((

Former India cricketer Chetan Chauhan critical, on life support

Chetan Chauhan, the former India opener and veteran cricket administrator, has been put on ventilator, a report in PTI stated. Chauhan, who in July had tested positive for the Covid-19, was yet to recover fully when a further infection affected his kidneys and caused blood pressure problems.

After testing positive for Covid-19, Chauhan was hospitalised at the Sanjay Gandhi PGI hospital in Lucknow. He was later moved to Gurugram’s Medanta hospital. On Friday night, Chauhan’s condition deteriorated, after which the doctors put him on life support.

“Early morning today, Chetan ji had a kidney failure and subsequently, had multi-organ failure. He is currently on life support. We are all praying that he wins this battle,” a senior DDCA official, who is keeping track of the development, told PTI on Saturday.

Chauhan has served the Delhi & Districts Cricket Association (DDCA) in various capacities - president, vice-president, secretary and chief selector - apart from being manager of the Indian Team during their tour of Australia.

Chauhan was twice elected to the Lok Sabha from Amroha in Uttar Pradesh, in 1991 and 1998 and was honoured with the Arjuna Award in 1981. During his 12-year-long cricket career, Chauhan played 40 Tests scoring 2084 runs with 16 half-centuries and two wickets. With Sunil Gavaskar, Chauhan formed a potent opening partnership for India with the duo scoring over 3000 runs, including 12 century stands.

https://www.hindustantimes.com/cric...lth-reports/story-TNGajvQRWqqMLPc6U8LX1M.html

Former India cricketer Chetan Chauhan passes away due to Covid-19

Former Test batsman Chetan Chauhan, who shone as a gritty player against pace overseas and as Sunil Gavaskar’s enduring opening partner in the 1970s, died on Sunday following complications due to Covid-19. He was 73 and is survived by wife Sangeeta and son Vinayak.

The two-time former Lok Sabha MP was Home Guard minister in Uttar Pradesh’s Yogi Adityanath’s cabinet, having served as the state’s sports minister. The BJP leader tested positive for Covid-19 last month and was shifted to a Gurugram hospital after his condition worsened.

“My elder brother Shri Chetan Chauhan has left us today after fighting a good battle. I sincerely thank everyone who had prayed for his recovery. His son Vinayak will be reaching anytime and we will then perform last rites,” brother Pushpendra told PTI.

In a decade-long Test career, Chauhan played 40 Tests and seven ODIs. He scored 2,084 Test runs with 16 half-centuries but missed out on a century with a best of 97. He played few ODIs, but was a prolific batsman in his long first-class career.

Chauhan represented Maharashtra for almost a decade before switching to Delhi, amassing 11,143 runs, with 21 centuries and 59 half-centuries. The last of those innings was a gritty half-century with a broken finger, in the 1985 Ranji Trophy final loss to Mumbai.

Born in UP’s Bareilly, Chauhan grew up in Pune where his father, who was in the army, was posted. Thus he took early steps in Pune cricket and went on to play for Maharashtra.

He made his Test debut in 1969, but was discarded after playing only five Tests. He made a strong comeback, playing 35 Tests between 1977 and 1981, 17 of them away from home, before his international career ended.

Chauhan cemented his place in Indian cricket on his recall to the Test team in 1977 after a prolific domestic season that included a 158 against Haryana for Delhi braving a fractured jaw.

He shared 11 Test century stands with Gavaskar, 10 of them for the opening wicket. He didn’t possess an orthodox batting technique, but could grind out attacks and complement his great batting partner.

Chauhan’s significant batting efforts came in Australia. He hit 88 at bouncy Perth on the 1977 tour, against an attack led by Jeff Thomson. On the 1980-81 tour, he played an important role as India fought back to draw 1-1 with a famous win in the final Test at Melbourne.

His career ended without a Test century, dismissed on 97 in the drawn second Test at Adelaide, having tackled the formidable trio of Dennis Lillee, Rodney Hogg and Len Pascoe.

At MCG, he seemed set for a maiden century when a 165-run opening stand ended after Gavaskar (70) was controversially given out leg before to Lillee. Upset by the sledging that followed, skipper Gavaskar asked Chauhan to walk out with him. The team manager persuaded Chauhan to return, but he lost focus and was out for 85, the wicket falling 11 runs after Gavaskar’s dismissal. India though sealed a famous win, routing Australia for 83 chasing a fourth-innings target of 143.

Chauhan was involved in another famous opening stand in the 1979 Test at the Oval. He scored 80 in a 213-run stand with Gavaskar, who went on to score his then career-best 221. India finished agonisingly nine runs short of the winning target, reaching 429/8, when the Test ended as a draw.

Chauhan was chairman of the National Institute of Fashion Technology (NIFT) for a year from June 2016, having served two terms in the Lok Sabha, elected from Amroha in 1991 and 1998.

Given the Arjuna award in 1981, he was a long-time office-bearer of the Delhi and District Cricket Association. His most significant contribution as a cricket official came as manager on the controversial 2008 tour of Australia, when an initial ban on Harbhajan Singh for alleged racist remarks to Andrew Symonds in the Sydney Test almost led to an India boycott of the series.

The tour continued after India’s appeal was upheld by the ICC adjudicator, who turned the ban to heavy fine for use of abusive language. India went on to win the Perth Test.

https://www.hindustantimes.com/cric...passes-away/story-sRdL9L9NwogwAnh1mAz3ZI.html

Om Shanti.

Joining BJP was the end of his as a human being however. He disgraced himself.

Om Shanti.

What COVID-19 yaar, it has taken away whole 2020 now.

RIP CC, an honest, hard working cricketer; Gavaskar’s longest standing partner. Before Warne, I believe he was the only Test cricketer with 2000+ runs but no hundreds. Didn’t know he joined BJP politics though.....

RIP

Not to ask an insensitive question but was he the bowler Miandad hit for a last ball six?

RIP. It's really insensitive to talk about his political leanings at this juncture, really poor.

Chetan Chauhan once saved his Sikh teammates from a mob during the 1984 riots in Delhi

Chetan Chauhan, former India opener, passed away due to complications from COVID-19 at the age of 73 on Sunday. The cricketer-turned-administrator was a minister in the current UP government and his demise was seen as a great loss to not only cricket but to humanity well.

Remembering the gutsy Chauhan who once hit three back-to-back centuries with a broken jaw in the Ranji Trophy, former Haryana off-spinner Sarkar Talwar recalled how he saved Navjot Singh Sidhu and Rajinder Ghai on a train from a mob after the assassination of former PM Indira Gandhi on October 31, 1984.

The incident took place on ‘Jhelum Express’ when the players of North Zone and Central Zone were returning from Pune after playing their Duleep Trophy semifinal.

“The match ended on October 30 and the next morning when we were getting ready for the airport we came to know that the PM had been assassinated. So our team manager (Prem Bhatia) got us first-class tickets on Jhelum Express. It was a nightmare journey and it took us four days to reach Delhi,” Talwar recalled.

“At one of the stations, around 40-50 people entered the compartment looking for people from the Sikh community. We had three Sikh players -Navjot Singh Sidhu, Rajinder Ghai, and Yograj Singh - in our team. I vividly remember, Chetan Chauhan and Yashpal Sharma had a heated argument with the mob and once they realized that they were Indian cricketers, the mob got off the compartment,” recollected Talwar.

Sidhu and Ghai were hidden under the seats behind the kit bags and Yograj Singh recalls asking Sidhu to even cut his hair.

“It was very scary, they were burning trains and after their face-off with Chetan Chauhan and Yashpal, I asked Sidhu that let me cut your hair. He refused and said, ‘Paaji I have been born as a Sardar and will die like one’,” recalls Yograj Singh, father of cricketer Yuvraj Singh.

“I remember one of the people from the mob shouted at Chetan paaji and said, ‘We are here to kill the Sardars, nothing will happen to you.’ Chetan paaji yelled back, ‘They are my brothers and you can’t touch them.’ The way Chetan Chauhan dealt with the situation was quite commendable,” he added.

Gursharan Singh also recollected the incident given that he was in another compartment.

“If not for Chetan Chauhan, I don’t think that any of us would have survived. I and Rajinder Hans (former left-arm spinner of Uttar Pradesh) were on a different bogie and when we came to know about the incident it left us very scared. But Chetan Chauhan came to us and reassured us that we would be safe and the mob would not trouble us,” Singh said.

Rajinder Ghai, who played six ODIs for India recollected the incident and called it a narrow escape for him and Navjot Singh Sidhu.

“I don’t know how we survived. It was horrifying. Chetan Chauhan gave us the second life. We got out of the train at Okhla station because Yashpal Sharma’s house was close by. We stayed there for a week before Sidhu’s father sent help to rescue us,” Ghai said from California.

https://circleofcricket.com/categor...tes-from-a-mob-during-the-1984-riots-in-delhi