Gautam Gambhir points to Muslim man’s harassment, gets lesson on secularism

Madplayer

Senior Test Player
New Delhi: Newly elected Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) MP from East Delhi Gautam Gambhir was at the receiving end of his own party sympathisers after he tweeted against an alleged ill-treatment meted out to a Muslim man in Gurugram who was asked to remove his skull cap.

Gambhir, who made an impressive debut in Parliament by winning the Lok Sabha elections, termed the incident as deplorable.

He said “we are a secular nation”, citing Bollywood lyricist Javed Akhtar penning “O palan haare, nirgun our nyare” (a religious song from the famous film “Lagaan”) and director Rakeysh Om Prakash Mehra’s “Dilli 6” song “Arziyan”.

“In Gurugram Muslim man told to remove skullcap,chant Jai Shri Ram”.
It is deplorable. Exemplary action needed by Gurugram authorities. We are a secular nation where [MENTION=70]Javed[/MENTION]akhtarjadu writes “ओ पालन हारे, निर्गुण और न्यारे” & @RakeyshOmMehra gave us d song “अर्ज़ियाँ” in Delhi 6.

— Gautam Gambhir (@GautamGambhir) May 27, 2019
However, many social media users advised Gambhir not be selective in highlighting the case.

“Write a tweet on Mathura’s Yadav, who was killed by people for asking the payment of lassi, which was used to break the Roja (sic). OR just keep quiet ... Don’t get affected by virus which only focuses on selective incident,” tweeted Chowkidar Kishore Bhartwal. (Chowkidar was the title used by many BJP supporters in the run up to the Lok Sabha campaign).

Ankit Jain, who claimed to be a BJP supporter also asked Gambhir to speak on every incident, including against Hindus or else shut up. “Either speak on every incident or stay quiet,” he told Gambhir in a tweet.

Following a spate of message questioning Gambhir’s “secularism”, the cricketer-turned-politician clarified that this thoughts on secularism emanated from Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s mantra “Sabka saath, sabka vikas, sabka vishwas”.

“I am not limiting myself to the Gurugram incident alone, any oppression based on caste/religion is deplorable. Tolerance and inclusive(ness) is what idea of India is based on,” he tweeted.

Gambhir had condemned the attack on the Muslim man in the Haryana city and demanded exemplary action against the culprits.

My thoughts on secularism emanate from honourable PM Mr Modi’s mantra “सबका साथ, सबका विकास, सब का विश्वास”. I am not limiting myself to Gurugram incident alone, any oppression based on caste/religion is deplorable. Tolerance & inclusive growth is what idea of India is based on.

— Gautam Gambhir (@GautamGambhir) May 27, 2019
“In Gurugram Muslim man told to remove skullcap, chant Jai Shri Ram ... It is deplorable. Exemplary action needed by Gurugram authorities ...” Gambhir earlier tweeted.

The Gurugram Police has registered a case. The police has also taken the CCTV footage to identify the culprits. No one has been arrested yet.

The most satisfying thing is watching Gautam Gambhir getting abused. Afterall what he did with Atishi Marlena, he deserves this kind of hatred.🙏🏼🙏🏼 Jai Shree Ram https://t.co/WO0KsGVZ9R

— SHASHANK CHATURVEDI (@SHASHANK_056) May 27, 2019

https://gulfnews.com/world/asia/ind...rassment-gets-lesson-on-secularism-1.64217724

Gambhir abused by extremist bhakkts for pointing out the attack on muslim couple. :)))

Poetic justice. Hope he understands now what he has gotten himself into.

India is turning into a very scary place. At least thats how it feels listening to all of this extremist crap.

Respect to GG on this one. If we can criticise some things he said in past we should also appreciate him going against the tide and raising his voice against this specific incident of extremism.

I hope GG realises the party that he got into is extreme! Also realises of how extreme his own mindset is.

He can escape by saying "twitter posts sent by the same duplicate who was running his campaign".

Tbf to Gambhir, as much as a cretin he is, he has stood up for Muslims in India before as well.

I am pleasantly surprised by this, good on him. I think the criticism of him regarding his not commenting on everything is a bit silly. A lot of attacks happened lately and I think it's good that a BJP supporter is denouncing the violence.

I'm unsure exactly what happened with that lady, but apparently he was handing out pamphlets with obscene things written on them? Can any Indian posters confirm?

That's weird! Now BJP members can not say anything pro Muslim at all. Mod's please provide a Quaid Jinnah emoticon:imad

Well done GG but watch your back. Modi created a monster to win elections but this monster is out of control. Which famous Mary Shelley novel am I thinking of?

A situation well-summed up by comedian and activist Kunal Kamra

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="hi" dir="ltr">Meanwhile in BJP head quarters...<br><br>"Jeet ke 3 din hogaye isko Manusmriti nahi bheja Kya?"<br><br>"Nahi sir ab tak manifesto padh rahe hai Gambhir saab" <a href="https://t.co/wanRGvURvx">https://t.co/wanRGvURvx</a></p>— Kunal Kamra (@kunalkamra88) <a href="https://twitter.com/kunalkamra88/status/1132891498804985856?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">May 27, 2019</a></blockquote>

Gambir is a nationalist not a hinduvita. I understand it's hard for Pakistanis to understand but Indians put country before religion. When Gambir may be anti Pakistan, but he is not anti Muslims.

This.

There is a difference between being nationalist and being a Hindutva supporter. BJP mixes it both up. Real patriots keep the two well separated.

Shame on BJP for supporting these kind of incidents and bashing Gambhir. BJP goons being pathetic as ever.

If Gambhir wanted to act so moral why did he join BJP. Better he joins some other party as we don't need people who turn the core supporters away from BJP.