Given his fitness, would Inzamam-ul-Haq find a place in the modern day Indian side?

Thunderbolt14

I’m thinking in terms of fitness. Would they make an “exception”?

Please avoid trolling.

Will he make it in current Pakistani team?

I’m thinking in terms of fitness. Would they make an “exception”?

Please avoid trolling.

No and im sure he wouldnt be as big now as he was then

He was a product of his age He could get away with it and he did

Hed be a lot leaner now because he has to be

Inzimam would have won them the NZ semi final in 2019 even after the top 3 folded like they did, unlike jokers such as Pant choking under pressure

Dude

Kedar Jadhav
Ambati Rayudu
Vijay Shankar

These guys have batted for India for years.

Inzamam even if he weighed 400 pounds would bat better than those.

As someone who never watched Inzi play live: likes of IK, 2Ws or Akhtar have always praised Inzi.

Here is a video of Inzi in 2000 where he smashes an enormous six at the Antigua -3rd Test - off the bowling of Curtly Ambrose.

Ambrose threw ball at Inzi :| and got smashed the very next ball :yk Quality is low. Not many batsman can play this kind of shot.

His fitness is his biggest weakness, like Shaquille O'Neal and free throws. Had Inzi improved his fitness I am sure he would have scored many more daddy 100s and won many more games for Pakistan.

Despite all that, man is a bona fide legend of the game.

Dude

Kedar Jadhav
Ambati Rayudu
Vijay Shankar

These guys have batted for India for years.

Inzamam even if he weighed 400 pounds would bat better than those.

100% agree, I’m just wondering how he would fit in when India has revolutionized its fitness standards. Imo they would make him sit outside the team until he lost weight, even if he batted better.

I think Inzamam can get into present Indian team comfortably.

Apart from Kohli and Rohit, rest of the Indian batsmen aren't very consistent.

I think Inzamam can get into present Indian team comfortably.

Apart from Kohli and Rohit, rest of the Indian batsmen aren't very consistent.

dhawan
Rahul
iyer

are all good now.

inzi would have stiff competition but inzi should replace iyer.

He'd have surely made it to the ODI side at no.4. He is infinite times better than the likes of Jadhav, Pant, DK etc. Tests and T20s is a different story.

I’m thinking in terms of fitness.

He can make it to the indian side alright - india's sumo wrestling team.

The problem is Inzy flourished in the 90s era when fitness wasn't taken seriously. I doubt he can even get into Pak's current team given that Mickey Arthur has revamped the national team's fitness routines, the legacy live on I assume.

He would have to work on his fitness if he wants to make the team. But on his batting, he probably could.

You’re trolling here. Even great Sober, Beefy and fat Warne won’t make it to current ODI team due to fitness.

I’m really not. I have nothing but respect for someone with such an important role in the 1992 WC and a host of other important milestones. But even the current Pakistan team with the way it is sitting Sharjeel out might find a difficult place for Inzimam just purely based on fitness.

The modern era is far less tolerant and won’t make as many “exceptions” for “talent”.

Yes very talented batsmen. He can easily bat at 5 for India ahead of Rahane.

He was a great batsmen and could time the ball just as good as anyone else. Even though he has an impressive record he could have scored so many more runs if he had focused on his fitness. If he was more fitter and was added to the Indian team, Indian batting strength would increase massively

I agree, question was about fitness

He would have been made to work on his fitness a lot, so lesser focus on batting and more on fitness. He would have made it to the Indian side. Indian fitness coach, staffs and fitness team would have taken care, Inzy would have to care about his batting only.

If Inzamam was playing for India today - he wud have slogged hard in gym to get atleast decent level of fitness. Or else keep getting left out & miss out on potentially crores in match fees & sponsorship

Fitness is also by product of team culture. How many unfit players do u seen in Australia or South Africa. India today is slowly moving towards that mindset

Crazy comments.

Inzamam would be scoring hundreds for fun in the domestics and fitness or no, would be impossible to ignore for test team in any era. You make exceptions for players based on what they bring to the table. 90s Inzamam can replace half a dozen players in the Indian team today!

Crazy comments.

Inzamam would be scoring hundreds for fun in the domestics and fitness or no, would be impossible to ignore for test team in any era. You make exceptions for players based on what they bring to the table. 90s Inzamam can replace half a dozen players in the Indian team today!

100 percent

If Papers are begging for Sharjeel to come whose way more unfit than Inzi than there shouldn't even be a question about whether he would make it into teams or not and Aaron Finch doesn't look that fit either he is playing

As someone who never watched Inzi play live: likes of IK, 2Ws or Akhtar have always praised Inzi.

Here is a video of Inzi in 2000 where he smashes an enormous six at the Antigua -3rd Test - off the bowling of Curtly Ambrose.

Ambrose threw ball at Inzi :| and got smashed the very next ball :yk Quality is low. Not many batsman can play this kind of shot.

His fitness is his biggest weakness, like Shaquille O'Neal and free throws. Had Inzi improved his fitness I am sure he would have scored many more daddy 100s and won many more games for Pakistan.

Take it from someone who did have the pleasure of watching Inzi for most of his career - the man was a genius. People think Younus and Yousuf are legends - Inzi was a class above even them. That might not be so obvious in pure stats, but trust me when I say Inzi's match winning ability was astonishing. He won more matches for Pakistan on his own than, in my view, any other other player in the history of Pakistani cricket.

Could Inzi make it into the current Indian team? He could even in his sleep!

Irrelevant question and thread simply seeking validation.
Inzamam was an ODI great and an all time great country great. Much like Ranatunga was for Sri Lanka.

Neither man would survive with their attitude towards fitness in international cricket today for any full member country. And being the great players and proud, uncompromising individuals they are same would spur them to improve their fitness to meet the new standards to prove their critics wrong and they would likely in long run end up being far far better players output wise in this era with more favorable batting rules and better fitness

If Ashwin can play despite his appalling fitness, hernia complication (much worse than obesity for a sportsman), why not Inzi? Exceptions can be made for match winners, else Ashwin would have been dropped a long time back. Inzi in place of Rahane in tests and at number 4 in ODIs would ensure India would be the world's best side in both formats, so why not? Also he was a very safe catcher, large bucket hands, strong throw from the deep, in tests he would be a handy slip catcher and in ODIs he would be better than many other fielders like Chahal, Kuldeep, Bumrah, Shami, Pant, Dhawan etc.

We had Boon, Merv, Warne from Australia, many fatties like Gatting, Samit Patel, Mascarenhas (later years) for England, Ryder from NZ, many from WI. Don't even need to speak about Asian sides. I don't remember any obese player from SA, maybe the only side which take fitness very seriously, has always had top fielding and running between the wickets. Better question would be whether they would have forced someone like Inzi to get in shape or made an exception.

If Ashwin can play despite his appalling fitness, hernia complication (much worse than obesity for a sportsman), why not Inzi? Exceptions can be made for match winners, else Ashwin would have been dropped a long time back. Inzi in place of Rahane in tests and at number 4 in ODIs would ensure India would be the world's best side in both formats, so why not? Also he was a very safe catcher, large bucket hands, strong throw from the deep, in tests he would be a handy slip catcher and in ODIs he would be better than many other fielders like Chahal, Kuldeep, Bumrah, Shami, Pant, Dhawan etc.

So only one batsman is stopping indian from being world's best team? That is some logic.

Ashwin should be dropped for good. Grabs easy wickets and goes missing during crunch games.

I don't remember any obese player from SA, maybe the only side which take fitness very seriously, has always had top fielding and running between the wickets.

I don't remember any obese player from NZ and SA, maybe the only two sides which take fitness very seriously, always been sides with top fielding and running between the wickets.

Seems you remembered jesse ryder after writing the post. And that one batsman was enough to exclude NZ from being a top fielding side.

So only one batsman is stopping indian from being world's best team? That is some logic.

Yes if that replacement is an ATG like Inzi in place of mediocrity.

Ashwin should be dropped for good. Grabs easy wickets and goes missing during crunch games.

I like HTBs, at least we are dominant in Asia, SL, WI. Don't want to go back to 80s where we kept on losing home series because of absence of killer HTB spinners. Who is ready to take his place in the test side? I don't see anyone at least for the next 2 or 3 years. Again define crunch games, were 2011 /15 WCs, 2013 CT final, 2014 WT20 not crunch games? In tests again many of the home matches were crunch especially against SENA sides, the 2015 tour to SL. In SENA he should be behind Jadeja and Kuldeep in the pecking order. Kohli doesn't seem to like Kuldeep, don't know why.

Inzamams lack of fitness is a myth, people attribute his run outs to a lack of fitness but I would attribute that more to a lack of competence in developing an understanding with his batting partners at the wicket and just being a bad judge of a run

He was one of the best strike rotators in our limited overs side and knew the art of pacing the innings and to go for the kill at the end, knowing which bowlers to attack and field placings to exploit.

Yes if that replacement is an ATG like Inzi in place of mediocrity.

Forget Inzi, even replacing one batsman with Lara will not make india the best cricket team. cricket is about sum of parts. Replacing a bowler with an ATG bowler will be far more useful. I guess you got carried away with hyperbole there.

Seems you remembered jesse ryder after writing the post. And that one batsman was enough to exclude NZ from being a top fielding side.

Try to improve your comprehension skills, maybe tough for you but at least try. I never made any mention of those two departments for other countries else Australia and England too would be mentioned. I was talking about fitness, I will give you clue, see where 'only' and comma are placed.

This is what you wrote before editing:
I don't remember any obese player from NZ and SA, maybe the only two sides which take fitness very seriously, always been sides with top fielding and running between the wickets.

Later you removed NZ as a side which takes fitness seriously. What was the reason for you changing your post?

Forget Inzi, even replacing one batsman with Lara will not make india the best cricket team. cricket is about sum of parts. Replacing a bowler with an ATG bowler will be far more useful. I guess you got carried away with hyperbole there.

That is your opinion, you are entitled to it.

But if a team's batting is weak adding an ATG batsman will be more helpful, an ATG bowler for a weak bowling team. Current Indian batting is the weakest fielded in many years, middle order is a nightmare so I would prefer reinforcement there. Had it been the Fab 5 team I would have loved to see an ATG fast bowler. Beyond this I can't explain myself.

This is what you wrote before editing: .

Later you removed NZ as a side which takes fitness seriously. What was the reason for you changing your post?

Focus on 'obese', 'only' and object (s). Comprehension isn't that tough, try to figure it out yourself. Or if your sole purpose here is trolling find some other guy.

I doubt he would make Bangladesh team. He ate soccer balls for his meals.

his job is to score. he does that immaculately. Fitness can be worked on. Yes I would take him in a heart beat.

Inzi will comfortably make any team. If people think otherwise then they need to watch a bit more of cricket.

Ab bus yeh hi humari choti choti khushiyan reh gai hain.

Great player, easily will find a place, but wont be able to sustain it if he remains couch potato, VK's main game is running a lot of 2s and 3s in the middle overs, and today's rule with no-runners, Inzi Bhai wont have a great run with that fitness

I remember inzi destroying ambrose after ambrose chucked the ball at him. Man inzi had some swagger about him.

he only struggled a little vs short balls.

He'll find a place in Indian team easily.. Kedar played a lot for India who's missing every second match due to injury.. And BTW stamina is more important than fitness...

I think he would dominate on their team.

Better coaching, better fitness standards, and an ideal batting lineup in front of him. Inzi would have enough protection to take games away from the opposition.

They would likely turn him into an even better version of what he was for Pakistan.

if Inzy had fitness level and hunger he would be talked about as one of the ATG ODI bats..

or maybe his pudgy physique helped him.become who he is. We will never know. In saying that all the excess weight probably inhibited him from being the best of his era.

virat was poor when he had a pudgy physique. He drastically improved after starting his rigorous fitness regime.

Everyone works differently though. There is no guarantee.

I would say if shoaib dint have as many knee injuries etc he could have been the best ever.

or maybe his pudgy physique helped him.become who he is. We will never know. In saying that all the excess weight probably inhibited him from being the best of his era.

virat was poor when he had a pudgy physique. He drastically improved after starting his rigorous fitness regime.

Everyone works differently though. There is no guarantee.

I would say if shoaib dint have as many knee injuries etc he could have been the best ever.

Knee injuries are a bit outisde your control so can’t really blame Shoaib there for his injuries

The Virat example is a good one. His fitness mantra started 2013-14 after which his fitness improved leaps and bounds to levels not seen before for desi cricketers. He was doing well even before this change but since then he has really become unstoppable for the most part. He’s admitted that himself and you can
See it too. The quick singles he takes have added another dimension. He lasts longer and doesn’t tire out in big innings either

Knee injuries are a bit outisde your control so can’t really blame Shoaib there for his injuries

The Virat example is a good one. His fitness mantra started 2013-14 after which his fitness improved leaps and bounds to levels not seen before for desi cricketers. He was doing well even before this change but since then he has really become unstoppable for the most part. He’s admitted that himself and you can
See it too. The quick singles he takes have added another dimension. He lasts longer and doesn’t tire out in big innings either

I just wonder how good our indian and pakistani plus Lankan boys would be if they actually took fitness seriously back in the 90s. Would probably have been the best 3 teams in the world. Well In the 90s pakistan were already good so just imagine how much better they could have been with proper training.

India too.

Post 2010 india has changed drastically in terms of fitness training however I still need to see improvements.

players like chahal, kuldeep, rohit all need to work on their fitness.

Inzaman was a top class batsmen. His lack of fitness prevented him from achieving his full potential. Always felt as though if batted at 3 in tests and ODIs and looked after fitness he would have achieved more.

said this ins ome other thread, it requires big strong heart to pre decide that I am going to dispatch a great bowler for a six. This is the year 2000, inzamam bats at 4 or 5 possibly. Its test cricket look at his strike rate. It mid 60s post the six

The face after he hit Ambrose for six like u actually did that

In tests he would be fine. In white ball you need quick singles in the middle overs-death, he would need to improve for all teams, unless he became a hard hitting opener like Gayle