Government committee to make decision on holding of PSL final in Lahore [Update #111]

saeed5646

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">After discussions between PSL management & team owners it's been agreed PSL final will be played in Lahore <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/PSL2017?src=hash">#PSL2017</a></p>— Saj Sadiq (@Saj_PakPassion) <a href="https://twitter.com/Saj_PakPassion/status/833617439795576834">February 20, 2017</a></blockquote> <script async src="//platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">The Pakistan Super League final will be played in Lahore on 5th March with or without overseas players <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/PSL2017?src=hash">#PSL2017</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/cricket?src=hash">#cricket</a></p>— Saj Sadiq (@Saj_PakPassion) <a href="https://twitter.com/Saj_PakPassion/status/833619090975625216">February 20, 2017</a></blockquote> <script async src="//platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Better to name the final Faisal Bank T20 and invite Bahawalpur Stags and Hydrabad Falcon to play some demo match before that.

PSL final without foreign players is a joke and honest Pakistan is not safe for Pakistanis let alone foreign players.

Yep correct. BTW, do you know we have over 200 million people in the country and who feel quite safe?

Yeah they are all safe until someone decide to blow himself up out of nowhere I know..

Sir, the objective of bringing final to Lahore already lost after the blast. It's not easy to convince people who are watching everything from outside that Pakistan is safe place to play cricket match just fortnight after a deadly blast.

PCB are not at fault, they did their best but it's completely understandable if all foreign players refuse to come to Lahore.

Not good move to play without overseas players, they have to wait one more year to bring back PSL in Pakistan

Pakistan has to start somewhere when it comes to getting international cricket back to Pakistan. They can't keep on kicking the can down the road.

Even if it's only a couple of foreign commentators and some foreign coaching staff who turn up at least it's a start to build up some confidence in Pakistan being able to hold such events.

I will be happy even if one foreign player out of 4 from each team decides to travel to pakistan.

Since the finalists will be karachi and islamabad , i hope we will have sangakkara and tamim (if he doesnt have any prior commitments)

Edit: lol forgot tamim isnt in islamabad.

Pakistan has to start somewhere when it comes to getting international cricket back to Pakistan. They can't keep on kicking the can down the road.

Even if it's only a couple of foreign commentators and some foreign coaching staff who turn up at least it's a start to build up some confidence in Pakistan being able to hold such events.

Yea if this military level security proves to be any good then people will gain more trust and tour Pak more regularly.

But yea it will take a few more years before people start seeing Pak as a safe country.

If foreign players are not ready than holding in Lahore is just a matter of ego nothing close to objective. But it will be good if foreign players participating

Great decision!! Fully support it. I'm sure some foreign players will come. Even if nobody comes, you can't just keep delaying cricket by 1 more year. Who's to say next year there won't be a blast just days before the final? Will people then again say, "have the final in Dubai this year and have it in Lahore next year." You can't work on a loop.

Good decision PCB.

Better to name the final Faisal Bank T20 and invite Bahawalpur Stags and Hydrabad Falcon to play some demo match before that.

Its people like you who have objections in everything, why cant we just support PCB when theyre doing something good and its a huge move for the development of cricket in Pakistan and In SHaa ALLAH this event will just get bigger and better as the time progresses.
Bas humesha rotay rehna and one day when everything gets better, apna nakli support dikhane sab se pehle pohonchjana. Shame.

Since the finalists will be karachi and islamabad , i hope we will have sangakkara and tamim (if he doesnt have any prior commitments)

Edit: lol forgot tamim isnt in islamabad.

It would be incredibly symbolic and a massive boost if Sangakarra chooses to go. And I'm sure he's the type of person who will seriously consider it - he knows the impact cricket can have in helping to bring peace to a region.

To all those who think the PSL final without foreign players will just be a Faisal Bank T20 cup match, then for ONCE, go and support that so-called "Faisal Bank T20 Cup Match". Make it a packed stadium. Support PCB in their effort to bring cricket back to Pakistan. Stop being a keyboard warrior. Why do we have to nitpick everything? Why can't we all stand behind PCB and give them the belief that cricket can come to Pakistan.

There was a high level meeting held earlier today between Pakistan Super League Management and Franchise owners, chaired by the Chairman of the PCB Executive Committee and the PSL, Mr. Najam Aziz Sethi.

Among various administrative and event discussions, all the team owners took time to reinforce their solidarity and conviction with the decision of taking the Final of the PSL back to its rightful home, the Gaddafi Cricket Stadium, Lahore, also the head office of both the Pakistan Cricket Board and the PSL.

“It has been heart-warming to see the dedication of all the owners to the cause of taking cricket back home and there is a realisation that this final will be the first step in opening the gates to international teams starting to make the journey again. We are all committed to this mission and wish to have a thoroughly entertaining final where it should happen - in Lahore,” said Sethi while speaking of the meeting.

FICA remains opposed to PSL final in Lahore

The Federation of International Cricketers’ Associations (FICA) on Monday (February 20) reiterated its No-go stance to the Pakistan Super League final being played in Lahore, saying all foreign players have been told about the risk but were free to make their own decisions.

Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) had maintained that the March 5 final would be held in Lahore despite a series of deadly bomb attacks in Pakistan.

A blast in Lahore on February 13 left 14 people killed and over 100 injured. Two days later, another suicide bomb rocked a holy shrine in Sehwan in Sindh province, killing around 100 people.

FICA reiterated its stance, saying there were high risks involved in travelling to Pakistan.

“Our security experts have advised that the security risks of playing in Pakistan, including Lahore, remained heightened,” Tony Irish, the FICA chief, told Wisden India in an email message.

“This information has been provided to players and each player will make his own decision as to whether or not he is prepared to go to Lahore for the PSL final.”

Last month, FICA irked the PCB by advising players against going to Pakistan. The PCB suggested that FICA had done a disservice to cricket in Pakistan.

But FICA hit back by saying that they had authentic reports on security fears and would not budge on their stance. The PCB will hold a high-level meeting with the franchise owners to take their stance on the final in Lahore.

They were also due to hold another draft on February 22, to replace those foreign players that refuse to play in Lahore.

Link

there needs to be a briefing off how foreign players will be flown in and out on the day, then give them a week to decide if they r in or out.

good move

Its people like you who have objections in everything, why cant we just support PCB when theyre doing something good and its a huge move for the development of cricket in Pakistan and In SHaa ALLAH this event will just get bigger and better as the time progresses.
Bas humesha rotay rehna and one day when everything gets better, apna nakli support dikhane sab se pehle pohonchjana. Shame.

I will answer you bhai when you post something meaningful.

At the moment you just posted some Jazbati messages without any facts or figures which is comical for me.

To all those who think the PSL final without foreign players will just be a Faisal Bank T20 cup match, then for ONCE, go and support that so-called "Faisal Bank T20 Cup Match". Make it a packed stadium. Support PCB in their effort to bring cricket back to Pakistan. Stop being a keyboard warrior. Why do we have to nitpick everything? Why can't we all stand behind PCB and give them the belief that cricket can come to Pakistan.

Play Faysal Bank T20 tournament and drop PSL is the logical solution.

I am sorry calling others keyboard warrior is not making you anything else you are also using some kind of keyboard and making absolutely illogical points. PSL final consist of only Pakistan players is nothing more than Faysal Bank T20 which was held in pakistan already quite a few times.

Rather than wasting time and money on it PCB should invest on something useful

FICA remains opposed to PSL final in Lahore

The Federation of International Cricketers’ Associations (FICA) on Monday (February 20) reiterated its No-go stance to the Pakistan Super League final being played in Lahore, saying all foreign players have been told about the risk but were free to make their own decisions.

Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) had maintained that the March 5 final would be held in Lahore despite a series of deadly bomb attacks in Pakistan.

A blast in Lahore on February 13 left 14 people killed and over 100 injured. Two days later, another suicide bomb rocked a holy shrine in Sehwan in Sindh province, killing around 100 people.

FICA reiterated its stance, saying there were high risks involved in travelling to Pakistan.

“Our security experts have advised that the security risks of playing in Pakistan, including Lahore, remained heightened,” Tony Irish, the FICA chief, told Wisden India in an email message.

“This information has been provided to players and each player will make his own decision as to whether or not he is prepared to go to Lahore for the PSL final.”

Last month, FICA irked the PCB by advising players against going to Pakistan. The PCB suggested that FICA had done a disservice to cricket in Pakistan.

But FICA hit back by saying that they had authentic reports on security fears and would not budge on their stance. The PCB will hold a high-level meeting with the franchise owners to take their stance on the final in Lahore.

They were also due to hold another draft on February 22, to replace those foreign players that refuse to play in Lahore.

Link

No one will blame them we lost 100+ precious lives in last 7 days in Pakistan due to bomb blasts and PCB is planing to have final there.

PCB has made a correct decision but 1 thing PCB must know that anything happens in Lahore Final despite no foreign players participating it will send a message that even you own players are not safe in your country.

It can go down as a great decision but considering recent attack in Lahore, i have also believe we should have cancelled holding the final in Lahore because those who wanted to succeed in canceling the final being held was succeeded because of poor security measures in Pakistan which is why these culprits succeed in committing such acts.

Pakistan nation is fighting against these people and i think we should not put our general public in more danger by putting final in lahore and hoping it will go smoothly but on that day everyone will be protecting National Stadium but what about the security of common people on this day who will be targeted.

I am all up for this Final had there been no attacks happened. We should not waste money on bribing players to come. Just hold the Final in Dubai and prepare a better PLAN FOR NEXT TIME HOSTING IT IN PAKISTAN.

Well Now they have decided to do it then lets go for it and hope that it will go fine.

No one will blame them we lost 100+ precious lives in last 7 days in Pakistan due to bomb blasts and PCB is planing to have final there.

We all Know v well known politicians are involved in such act taking place in Pakistan. But dont want to go there. I do miss raheel sharif why coudnt he stayed for 2 more years.😔

We all Know v well known politicians are involved in such act taking place in Pakistan. But dont want to go there. I do miss raheel sharif why coudnt he stayed for 2 more years.&#55357;&#56852;

Bhai I also dont wanna go there...my simplest point is that we will not only risk lifes of foreign players but also absolutely throwing life's of our own citizens whom have to stand for security of these individuals.

I dont think lifes of Pakistani citizens should be risked for such an event.

We all Know v well known politicians are involved in such act taking place in Pakistan. But dont want to go there. I do miss raheel sharif why coudnt he stayed for 2 more years.&#55357;&#56852;

Because he's an honorable man who doesn't go back on his word. Something our politicians don't even have a shred of, as a matter of fact 99% politicians are basically the worst **** of the Pakistani society.

haan bhai zara samjhao yaar apna logic

Will you be responsible if life of one sub-inspector or even a road cleaner is lost while giving security or handling this event ??

I hope you will get my point we are risking life's of our citizens to provide security for something which is nothing but 3 hours of entertainment. We need efforts to clean these terrorists and this terrorist mindset in the country and forget about shortcuts. Cricket will come back to Pakistan when it will be safe.

Will you be responsible if life of one sub-inspector or even a road cleaner is lost while giving security or handling this event ??

I hope you will get my point we are risking life's of our citizens to provide security for something which is nothing but 3 hours of entertainment. We need efforts to clean these terrorists and this terrorist mindset in the country and forget about shortcuts. Cricket will come back to Pakistan when it will be safe.

Many PPers are being blinded by their love for the game that they are ignoring all logic and rational thoughts.
To be fair, PSL final is not just a 3hr entertainment show, its symbolic value would have been much larger. But the way the things are going, symbolic value has been replaced by misguided egos and false sense of pride being associated with having a final in Lahore.

yaar phir aap time and saal aur din bhi batado when cricket will come back to pakistan?
Look at the other side of the coin, what if everything happens without any trouble, wont it send a statement across the cricketing world and on top of that this is something that our awaam is in dire need of.

Many PPers are being blinded by their love for the game that they are ignoring all logic and rational thoughts.
To be fair, PSL final is not just a 3hr entertainment show, its symbolic value would have been much larger. But the way the things are going, symbolic value has been replaced by misguided egos and false sense of pride being associated with having a final in Lahore.

No symbolic value will hold any weight without foreign players and I will really value life of individual Pakistanis above any symbolic values....I think we need more concentration on fighting terrorism on whole and mindset and ignore these symbolic points like PSL.

Life is above symbols.

yaar phir aap time and saal aur din bhi batado when cricket will come back to pakistan?
Look at the other side of the coin, what if everything happens without any trouble, wont it send a statement across the cricketing world and on top of that this is something that our awaam is in dire need of.

When we will clear these terrorist outfits and mindsets cricket will come back to Pakistan...Dair ayegi durust ayegi.

I am not willing to back anything for anyone which may result in losing life's of anyone. I think Pakistani men and women have given enough life's and loved once for this war and last thing we need now is risking them for some entertainment awam needs or sending useless statements.

Take a deep breath and think about what happen to a family of constable in Pakistan when he die do you think you want to risk life of your father,brother,son or any loved one to hold PSL final in Pakistan. I will not I will surely not.

No symbolic value will hold any weight without foreign players and I will really value life of individual Pakistanis above any symbolic values....I think we need more concentration on fighting terrorism on whole and mindset and ignore these symbolic points like PSL.

Life is above symbols.

Before the blasts happened, the resolve to have final in Lahore was admirable and courageous move from PCB. But now its just plain stubborn and foolhardy attitude.

Coming back to symbolic events. Symbolic events set course to future events which would change several times more lives than the lives being risked for a particular event. Not a comparable example but lets count the symbolic value of Taj Mahal, Red Fort, Eiffel Tower, Statue of Liberty. Symbols easily outlive human lives.
Again not comparing the risks and symbolic value of these monuments to PSL, just making a point about Symbolism.

Before the blasts happened, the resolve to have final in Lahore was admirable and courageous move from PCB. But now its just plain stubborn and foolhardy attitude.

Coming back to symbolic events. Symbolic events set course to future events which would change several times more lives than the lives being risked for a particular event. Not a comparable example but lets count the symbolic value of Taj Mahal, Red Fort, Eiffel Tower, Statue of Liberty. Symbols easily outlive human lives.
Again not comparing the risks and symbolic value of these monuments to PSL, just making a point about Symbolism.

Bhai I really dont want to go in detail of this symbolism otherwise the thread will be taken into completely different course although I dont believe in this and consider human life of utmost value I agree sometimes situations are so complex where sacrifices are brave and meaningful, but than PSL final is not even close to it.

I guess we both agree on this.

FICA has already warned. They will still maintain that threat perception hasn't changed. Its not like they are saying for certainty there will be a terror attack. One game does nothing but just pleases a few die hard fans in Pakistan.

Pakistan has had 2 terror attacks in the last two series organised in Pakistan, that's two too many.

I will give you a comparable example here: Just like Bangladesh fans have been jumping up and down claiming recognition as a top team without actually achieving results to validate that, Pakistan is doing the same thing with respect to organising cricket in its homeland.

Facts and reality are not in your favor, so you look for conspiracies and other teams and countries to blame.

Now, if you have one game organised without incident, you would be feeling giddy and expect everyone else to feel safe and assured like you feel. But rest of the world sees only one off positive, but no change in the trend.
The trend would remain the same,"Threat perception :High"

FICA has already warned. They will still maintain that threat perception hasn't changed. Its not like they are saying for certainty there will be a terror attack. One game does nothing but just pleases a few die hard fans in Pakistan.

Pakistan has had 2 terror attacks in the last two series organised in Pakistan, that's two too many.

I will give you a comparable example here: Just like Bangladesh fans have been jumping up and down claiming recognition as a top team without actually achieving results to validate that, Pakistan is doing the same thing with respect to organising cricket in its homeland.

Facts and reality are not in your favor, so you look for conspiracies and other teams and countries to blame.

Now, if you have one game organised without incident, you would be feeling giddy and expect everyone else to feel safe and assured like you feel. But rest of the world sees only one off positive, but no change in the trend.
The trend would remain the same,"Threat perception :High"

One game wont change much but atleast a positive step will be taking in getting cricket back to pakistan. We need to take a step somewhere and this is that beginning

As I said .. The risk is exceptionally high for almost nothing to gain. PCB might think its a positive step, but rest of the world will only look at the terror attack that took place in Feb 2017. Trust me from an outsider's POV, PCB has everything to lose by having final in Lahore this year.

well that sure ir but if we are not going to take any step then forget hosting cricket in pakistan, cricket is just going to decline over a period of time and then become a sport like hockey and we all know what is going on with that right now. If we dont host matches such as these, dont expect pakistan to host a full fledged series out of nowhere, these steps need to be taken in order to get cricket in pakistan back on track

I have said it before, this was step was admirable before the blast in Lahore. But now it is plain stubbornness, it will yield no positive. From a neutral perspective what I see is a "reckless disregard of human lives by PCB and Pak authorities" to prove a point.

What the world hears right now is Pakistan authorities would risk anything to make a point. Cities are not safe but to prove that they can hold cricket they would put thousands of lives in precarious situation. This attitude is hurting the credibility of PCB nothing else. It doesn't matter if the game happens without incident.

I have said it before, this was step was admirable before the blast in Lahore. But now it is plain stubbornness, it will yield no positive. From a neutral perspective what I see is a "reckless disregard of human lives by PCB and Pak authorities" to prove a point.

What the world hears right now is Pakistan authorities would risk anything to make a point. Cities are not safe but to prove that they can hold cricket they would put thousands of lives in precarious situation. This attitude is hurting the credibility of PCB nothing else. It doesn't matter if the game happens without incident.

i dont understand why is everyone being so negative and thinking that something bad is going to happen. Lets hope there is nothing of that sort and we get to see some good entertainment in our home after so long

Running into a burning building might not cause you death every time but people are not going to applaud you for being brave, they will simply call you extremely reckless and question your judgement.

Bhai kyunkay chances are really like 50/50 that something can happen...It is really not a rocket science to understand this.

Running into a burning building might not cause you death every time but people are not going to applaud you for being brave, they will simply call you extremely reckless and question your judgement.

I understand that the chances are there lekin I think if In Shaa ALLAH everything goes on smoothly then it will be a big achievement and hopefully then teams might start touring pak in an year or two

Bro, no one but Pakistan is looking at this as some sort of achievement. Rest of the world just sees it as an egotrip by Pak authorities, nothing else.

We should not merge terrorism with security arrangements. Terrorism is a global phenomenon these days, there have been as much terrorism acts in India in 2016 as pakistan if not more. But there is no concern shown by any international stars regarding going to India because they are confident of the security provided by the authorities, it is called trust.
After the attack on Sri Lankan team we lost that trust which we need to regain . And for that we need any high profile event to show the world that we can provide adequate security. PSL provides that platform to show the world that we can provide the required level of security to ensure.

Imagine how much money PCB can make off just this one match in Pakistan. I would say easily 5-10 million USD off just this one T20, with or without foreign players because PSL has that brand value to it now. 100k+ seats will fill up easily and all kinds of sponsors will flocking at the PCB's door.

If it's held without foreign players- it defeats the whole purpose. The whole point is to try and convince foreign teams that Pak is safe to play cricket.

This is an offensive statement in IMO, insensitive one. You don;t know more than the owner of the teams.

Even without foreign players, it would be a step forward. Next time we will have foreign players and then teams.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">After discussions between PSL management & team owners it's been agreed PSL final will be played in Lahore <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/PSL2017?src=hash">#PSL2017</a></p>— Saj Sadiq (@Saj_PakPassion) <a href="https://twitter.com/Saj_PakPassion/status/833617439795576834">February 20, 2017</a></blockquote> <script async src="//platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">The Pakistan Super League final will be played in Lahore on 5th March with or without overseas players <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/PSL2017?src=hash">#PSL2017</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/cricket?src=hash">#cricket</a></p>— Saj Sadiq (@Saj_PakPassion) <a href="https://twitter.com/Saj_PakPassion/status/833619090975625216">February 20, 2017</a></blockquote> <script async src="//platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Not a good decision - should have waited another year and tried to win the trust of the foreign players and make it a worthwhile, memorable final at home.

Well it's obvious India doesn't want cricket to come to Pakistan. But believe it or not, the final is happening in Lahore. Even if all of the foreign players don't come, it's a big push and what matters is the tournament's final will be played where it belongs. In Lahore!

Good move, it's been many years. No country is safe, you can't let terrorism win forever.

Hope Lahore meet Zalmi in the final, we will see the likes of Sammy and McCullum in the Gaddafi stadium. This sight alone will further the prospect of more foreign teams coming back in the future.

Suppose Karachi will qualify for final and there will no CG And sanga, Lahore without bazz n zalmi without Sammy n united without watto n haddin Quetta without KP, then I don't think any enjoy to watch, better to play in UAE this year and wait for next year

PCB should host PSL Final in UAE, and hold a 3rd place match in Pakistan

The whole point of the PSL is that it has international players. Without the international players, it is just like any other domestic tournament. Also, with the security risk that playing the final in Pakistan, the costs far outweigh the benefits.

The PCB should keep the final in the UAE, and play a 3rd place match in Lahore, to appease the fans in Pakistan.

This entire thing has become a khichdi. Why not decide one game and venue and stick to it?

Senseless, this must be from ------------------ someone not a supporter of Pakistan cricket.

IMO they should just ask al the international players if they are willing to go to Pakistan, and make a decision based on that. If the top stars refuse there is no point in playing in Pakistan.

I hope Karachi vs Lahore play in PSL final in Lahore... It will be break all records in Pakistan in terms of viewership(with or without foreigners).

Another blast...guys they are not doing good they should accept that Pakistan isnt safe atm...will be better in UAE
I also want to see final in lahore but right now any little bad thing will mess everything + not good ( just ok) foreign players are gonna join in final....

I agree that it wont be any fun with none of the foreign players participating. its funny the tournamemt is called PSL yet all matches are being played outside Pakistan. It seems the management wants ensure that at-least one match is held within the country so it can be justifiably called the PSL

Well it's obvious India doesn't want cricket to come to Pakistan. But believe it or not, the final is happening in Lahore. Even if all of the foreign players don't come, it's a big push and what matters is the tournament's final will be played where it belongs. In Lahore!

Pl. enlighten us as to what is so obvious about India not wanting cricket to come to Pakistan and specifically where the PSL final will be held. The PSL management and PCB has made a mockery of the tournamemnt by sending out conflicting statemements. Moreover the foreign players themselves are to decide if they want to play in Pakistan or not. Some one deciding to blow up doesn't help the cause of cricket

Never understood the logic of people saying "wait another year to have the final in Lahore". Are you saying that next year things in Lahore will be better than today? Are you so sure that next year there won't be another attack days before the final? Who's to say there isn't any another calamity waiting in store for us for next year, God forbid? Will you then say "wait another year to have the final in Lahore"?

We should have the final in Lahore this year, provide the best and the maximum level of security one can provide and leave the rest up to Allah. That's all you can do anyways in an ideal world as well. So have faith in Him.

The final being orgainsed in Lahore is for betterment of Pakistan cricket and for the people of Pakistan in Pakistan. Most of the responses on this thread are from people living outside Pakistan.

If we can start having responses on this thread from people living in Pakistan it would give us a better idea whether the idea is futile or not. Because like it or not this match is for the people in Pakistan.

As far as I have interacted with people living in Pakistan they want this match more than anything else, simply put a moment of happiness in their sad lives. I don't understand people who live outside of Pakistan and anyways wont be attending this match have to suggest that it is not a good idea because certainly (in my knowledge) people who live in Pakistan are very happy for this match to go ahead.

This is an offensive statement in IMO, insensitive one. You don;t know more than the owner of the teams.

What is there to know and how is the statement offensive...Also a league without foreign players is played in Pakistan named Faysal Bank T20 or ABN Amro cup or Ramzan T20 tournament.

Any of these names can be taken the point of PSL is that Pakistani players play alongside international stars.

I agree that it wont be any fun with none of the foreign players participating. its funny the tournamemt is called PSL yet all matches are being played outside Pakistan. It seems the management wants ensure that at-least one match is held within the country so it can be justifiably called the PSL

Trust me keep on playing these tournaments outside Pakistan and let youngsters play alongside international stars...It is the best we can do for the moment and we can already see how good it is four our youngsters.

http://www.dawn.com/news/1316358/punjab-govt-assessing-security-for-psl-final

LAHORE: The Punjab government is closely monitoring and examining security situation of its capital city before giving the go-ahead to the PCB for hosting the PSL final as per schedule on March 5.

On the other hand, cricket fans are showing great interest in getting information about the final.

Soon after the PCB decided to hold the final in Lahore on March 5 instead of Dubai, terrorist attacks occurred in some major cities of the country, including Lahore, raising new challenges for security agencies.

Dawn has learnt that the federal government and army have ensured full support to the Punjab government in providing security to all players. However, the provincial government is considering different aspects.

ARTICLE CONTINUES AFTER AD

The Punjab government made satisfactory arrangements when Zimbabwe visited Lahore in May 2015. But despite all precautions a suicide blast occurred outside one of the gates of the stadium resulting in some casualties.

LAHORE: The blast in Lahore on Thursday has cast a shadow of doubt on whether the final of the Pakistan Super League T20 tournament will be held in the city with provincial authorities considering withholding security clearance, The Express Tribune has learnt.

Senior officials said the provincial government has been forced to go on the back foot and will wait for the forensic report of the blast to determine what caused it before giving a go-ahead to hold the match in Lahore. If the report determines the blast was a terrorist attack, the Punjab government will not give security clearance for the PSL final.

A senior bureaucrat said the Punjab government has not given any permission to PSL so far. He said the government will take a final decision on whether the final will be held in Lahore in another two days. “The government will take every aspect of the event under consideration before taking a decision on security clearance,” he said.

A senior Punjab government official was of the view that the government should not allow PSL in Lahore. “The PSL final is not that big of a deal to put people’s lives at stake,” he said. “Whatever the result of the forensic report, the threat level in Lahore is too high. This event should be cancelled in the best interest of the people.”

An official of the Pakistan Cricket Board said they were proceeding with arrangements to hold the PSL final in Lahore. He said they have the government’s assurance due to which this decision was taken earlier this month. He said half of the international players with the PSL were also ready to play in Lahore. He however said they were in touch with the provincial government for the situation. He said that Punjab Government will give the final call with regards to the security clearance. He said that if the government conveys any sort of threats to the PSL, the event will take place in Dubai.

Punjab Law Minister Rana Sanaullah said that they will wait for the forensics to determine the cause of the blast before the government sits to assess any danger to the event.

He said the Cabinet Committee on Law and Order was reviewing the situation on a daily basis regarding PSL. He said that a team of security experts of PCB will be in Lahore on February 26 to assess the situation at their end. He said that PCB will be taken on board for any decision regarding the fate of the match

https://tribune.com.pk/story/1337277/shadow-doubt-cast-psl-final/

Uncertainty surrounding the PSL final

What is actually happening? This is a disgrace from the PCB. Now there are reports that there is going to be a meeting today to discuss the final and that it may not be in Lahore.

We haven't even been told of which players are not willing to come to Lahore. Originally we were told that we would be notified by the 22nd of Feb.

The whole thing is a shambles. Everything should have been finalised (location and players) before the tournament started.

Majority of the players won't play in lahore....

No final to be hel in lahore, Stick to UAE,,,,but should it be the

Sharjah with a good pitch but less capacity

or

Dubai with bad pitch and more capacity