Government right to crack down on Faizabad protesters?

So since 2+ weeks, the protesters have been asking for the resignation of Zahid Hamid after the 'Khatm-i-Nabuwwat' fiasco.

The IHC asked the interior ministry to clear out the protesters as they were disrupting daily life.

Today, Islamabad police and other law enforcement agencies launched a crackdown and there have been a lot of clashes.

Now, the situation seems to be escalating with protests etc. taking place in other parts of the country in response to the crackdown.

Operation is going on from last 7 hours all news channels are blocked. Twitter, Facebook and Youtube are blocked too. Following the reports on social media and news channels on internet through VPN things are not looking good a total of 150 people are injured including 90 policemen. I think blocking the coverage can create chaos and result in more trouble later.

Govt is making it worse by hiding the report.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">COAS telephoned PM.Suggested to handle Isb Dharna peacefully avoiding violence from both sides as it is not in national interest & cohesion.</p>— Maj Gen Asif Ghafoor (@OfficialDGISPR) <a href="https://twitter.com/OfficialDGISPR/status/934358312409329664?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">November 25, 2017</a></blockquote>

People cannot sit and take law in hand. The state's writ needs to be enforced.

The Govt strategy was totally wrong why let them stop at Faizabad the main entrance of Islamabad from Rawalpindi to make life worse for the locals there? Why not let them enter and isolate them just like Govt have been doing in past.

Good decision and about time.

FOr those of you who do not live in this city, Faizabad is the main point from where pindi and islamabad connects.
Pindi and islamabad only has 3 main entery points, you block the biggest entery point, you create a huge rush in the otehr parts of the city.

Our leturers and teachers have to plan their travels 3-4 hours in advance when travelling from 1 city to another.

Normal time to travel is 45min to 1 hr 30 mins. Now commute has gone up 3-4 hrs.

Operation is going on from last 7 hours all news channels are blocked. Twitter, Facebook and Youtube are blocked too. Following the reports on social media and news channels on internet through VPN things are not looking good a total of 150 people are injured including 90 policemen. I think blocking the coverage can create chaos and result in more trouble later.

Nope govt did the right thing here.

Problem is, more mullahs are gathering and mobilizing people from different parts of the city, and all are walking towards faizabad.

In the morning i was at adyalla road by puris when i saw a group of people formed marching from adyalla road. Had to rush out of their from behind.

Nope govt did the right thing here.

Problem is, more mullahs are gathering and mobilizing people from different parts of the city, and all are walking towards faizabad.

In the morning i was at adyalla road by puris when i saw a group of people formed marching from adyalla road. Had to rush out of their from behind.

The timing is wrong you know what can happen 12 Rabi ul Awal is coming and imho the biggest mistake was stopping them at Faizabad.

Dunya News are covering. Police are struggling.

This should've been done much more before than it is now...

These parties should be given such a lesson and made an example of so that future endeavors like this are thought of 10 times before making this sort of threat to the state once again. This is a law and order situation that needs to be dealt with the iron hand.

The timing is wrong you know what can happen 12 Rabi ul Awal is coming and imho the biggest mistake was stopping them at Faizabad.

Oh look its a PTI supporter justifying this bss, oh bhai there is a parade ground protest there as long as you like. Don't hold a whole city hostage and affect their livelihood just for political gains.

It won't be... these people are backed by some people!! This was definitely planned otherwise people won't be coming out in Karachi or Lahore for what happened to protests in Islamabad

Backed my Shabaz Sharif apparently. These maulvis came from Lahore.

Haan haan saaray mulk mai NAwaz Sharif hi tou hai... Nawaz can't buy a vote to save his life in Sindh, but all this unrest is because of Nawaz Sharif supporters even in Sindh lollll

Atleast read what I wrote before writing a paragraph.

I was referring to the initial backing. Ofcourse, such things ignite sentiments across the country; especially with mullahs involved.

The establishment needs a leash on their dogs.. they only come out barking when its required to somehow to put political pressure..

Nothing can't happen without establishments permission

The establishment needs a leash on their dogs.. they only come out barking when its required to somehow to put political pressure..

Nothing can't happen without establishments permission

Okay, if that's what makes you sleep better. This government is already under enough pressure And the establishment doesn't need to do this. The establishment did not alter the law; the government did. It is more fair to say that the government wants martial law and trouble.

Call in the army and arrange meeting between Allah and the protesters who are resisting.

The army should stay clear of this mess. Rather shocking that the police can not control a group of maulvis. Punjab Police zindabad.

Okay, if that's what makes you sleep better. This government is already under enough pressure And the establishment doesn't need to do this. The establishment did not alter the law; the government did. It is more fair to say that the government wants martial law and trouble.

It was a clerical mistake that is being used for political gains. The fact that people are doubting the finality of Prophethood and using that as a means to destabilize the governemnt is an insult to all the Muslims around the word. There was already growing tension after Mumtaz Qadri was hanged and this is the same tola that has come up with an issue to actually challenge the fact that someone was trying to remove the finality of Prophethood clause is ridiculous. This tola of Qadri supporters has already gathered alot of political mileage, gotten votes and is now out in the open.

The same tola also rose up during the Lal Masjid scenario where all these maulvis held the city hostage, had weapons and arsenal at their defence. Affected law and order of the city.

The fact that all 3 dharnas since 2013 show that there have always been some army support in the background.

If you have any doubts to efficacy of our army/rangers in general. Watch how an MQM protest is invaded by Rangers. It literally takes a 15 mins response time from Rangers to enter the zone and seize all the protestors.

Or anymore doubts how the army makes Baloch protestors disappear in thin air.

This is only happening because these people are 'allowed to do this kind of thing'

It was a clerical mistake that is being used for political gains. The fact that people are doubting the finality of Prophethood and using that as a means to destabilize the governemnt is an insult to all the Muslims around the word. There was already growing tension after Mumtaz Qadri was hanged and this is the same tola that has come up with an issue to actually challenge the fact that someone was trying to remove the finality of Prophethood clause is ridiculous. This tola of Qadri supporters has already gathered alot of political mileage, gotten votes and is now out in the open.

The same tola also rose up during the Lal Masjid scenario where all these maulvis held the city hostage, had weapons and arsenal at their defence. Affected law and order of the city.

The fact that all 3 dharnas since 2013 show that there have always been some army support in the background.

If you have any doubts to efficacy of our army/rangers in general. Watch how an MQM protest is invaded by Rangers. It literally takes a 15 mins response time from Rangers to enter the zone and seize all the protestors.

This is only happening because these people are 'allowed to do this kind of thing'

Army hanged Qadri themselves and now they will prop up his supporters?

Jo moh mein ahraha hai bolay ja raha hai

:shh

Despite repeated guarantees that no such amendment was made in the clause, these people are still protesting that this government is Qadiani funded, Qadiani backed and therefore should surrender to these protests. Only in Pakistan Muslims will use the finality of Prophethood and doubt others belief over it. Shameful.

And the language used by these protestors, they have been declared terrorists by Islamabad High court yet people are still managing to defend these acts of terrorism

Army hanged Qadri themselves and now they will prop up his supporters?

Jo moh mein ahraha hai bolay ja raha hai

:shh

Army didn't hang Mumtaz Qadri it was a supreme court verdict, the decision was made by the governement. PMLN lost alot of support because of that.

He wasn't tried in military court meri jaan? Kaunsi dunya mai ho?

No concrete evidence of establishments involvement. This government has no writ so it's not really worth it for establishment to go through this hassle. These is already massive internal rifts in PMLN as the party is in factions.

PMLN has been a vicious supporter of these groups in the past. I have personally met people of Punjab who are thoroughly disappointed by the gov decision to hang Mumtaz Qadri, alot of that support has now gone to PTI and which is why they have formed alliance with Sami ul Haq aka father of taliban. Imran has been in favor of opening taliban offices, and mainstreaming these parties.

The government might have appeased liberals of the country by the liberals don't come out on the street, these religious goons on whichever side provide political power

Despite repeated guarantees that no such amendment was made in the clause, these people are still protesting that this government is Qadiani funded, Qadiani backed and therefore should surrender to these protests. Only in Pakistan Muslims will use the finality of Prophethood and doubt others belief over it. Shameful.

And the language used by these protestors, they have been declared terrorists by Islamabad High court yet people are still managing to defend these acts of terrorism

Amendments were taken back I believe. Their demand is that the government names the person behind the amendment. I do not support either party but putting the facts on the table.

Oh look its a PTI supporter justifying this bss, oh bhai there is a parade ground protest there as long as you like. Don't hold a whole city hostage and affect their livelihood just for political gains.

When you don't know the situation thn stop commenting i said stopping them at Faizabad was wrong and i hope you know where is Faizabad and where is Parade ground? Use google maps if you are not here

PMLN has been a vicious supporter of these groups in the past. I have personally met people of Punjab who are thoroughly disappointed by the gov decision to hang Mumtaz Qadri, alot of that support has now gone to PTI and which is why they have formed alliance with Sami ul Haq aka father of taliban. Imran has been in favor of opening taliban offices, and mainstreaming these parties.

The government might have appeased liberals of the country by the liberals don't come out on the street, these religious goons on whichever side provide political power

Nice spin to link PTI to this lol

Amendments were taken back I believe. Their demand is that the government names the person behind the amendment. I do not support either party but putting the facts on the table.

It was a change in the wording, from I solemnly swear to I believe... thats it!! This was found out and changed immediately, all political parties unanimously found this and were united over this decision. If all parties opposition and government were united on this mistake, who are the representatives of the people, why are non state actors defining the policy of country?

I hope you know Shehbaz Sharif and Capt Safdar views on this issue and what Shehbaz Sharif said to Nawaz in live speech or you are just posting without knowing any history?

It was a change in the wording, from I solemnly swear to I believe... thats it!! This was found out and changed immediately, all political parties unanimously found this and were united over this decision. If all parties opposition and government were united on this mistake, who are the representatives of the people, why are non state actors defining the policy of country?

No, apparently all the blame was on Zaid Hamid for the amendment but he said that another person was behind the amendment. The government is failing to name the person hence this mess.

I hope you know Shehbaz Sharif and Capt Safdar views on this issue and what Shehbaz Sharif said to Nawaz in live speech or you are just posting without knowing any history?

Yes PMLN has always supported these groups in the party in the past. Pro taliban policy was clear before they came to government. However they have changed their approach since they joined government, trying to turn away from the rightist approach.

No, apparently all the blame was on Zaid Hamid for the amendment but he said that another person was behind the amendment. The government is failing to name the person hence this mess.

It doesn't fall on anyone, it was a wording change, you shouldn't do politics on this. You shouldn't affect the livelihood of so many people, their day to day lives over this issue. Put a whole country in paralysis over this issue. Religion should never be a part of politics.

So? Sheikh Rashid has his own views and is not part of PTI. Plus, it's more of a political statement then anything.

Well then if its a 'political statement' akin to glorifying a 'known terrorist or convict' then I guess there is no point arguing with you. When you are ok with people glorifying these names for political gains, then I guess you are part of the problem.

Yes PMLN has always supported these groups in the party in the past. Pro taliban policy was clear before they came to government.

I am not talking about past or what PMLN did 10 years ago or their relations with banned orgs they are well documented i am talking about what Shebaz Sharif said to Nawaz on this Khatam-e-Nabuwat issue and thn comments of Capt Safdar the biggest Qadri sympathizer. Shehbaz started all this by giving a hyper statement just like he always for for media attention and playing for the gallery even liberal journos like Hamid Mir are blaming SS now. This is not the first time SS did something like this his statement in past that Talibans shouldn't attack Punjab and our views are same is also well documented.
<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="ur" dir="rtl">سب سے پہلے شہباز شریف نے مطالبہ کیا تھا کہ ختم نبوت کے حلف میں تبدیلی کرنے والے وزیر کو فارغ کیا جائے لبیک والوں نے بعد میں مطالبہ کیا <a href="https://t.co/QzNBYhmukL">https://t.co/QzNBYhmukL</a></p>— Hamid Mir (@HamidMirPAK) <a href="https://twitter.com/HamidMirPAK/status/934349325676830720?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">November 25, 2017</a></blockquote>

It doesn't fall on anyone, it was a wording change, you shouldn't do politics on this. You shouldn't affect the livelihood of so many people, their day to day lives over this issue. Put a whole country in paralysis over this issue. Religion should never be a part of politics.

The wording change was significant apparently. End of the day it was stupid of this government to initiate all this! Both the parties should be blamed here. Seems the government wants martial law.

I am not talking about past or what PMLN did 10 years ago or their relations with banned orgs they are well documented i am talking about what Shebaz Sharif said to Nawaz on this Khatam-e-Nabuwat issue and thn comments of Capt Safdar the biggest Qadri sympathizer. Shehbaz started all this by giving a hyper statement just like he always for for media attention and playing for the gallery even liberal journos like Hamid Mir are blaming SS now. This is not the first time SS did something like this his statement in past that Talibans shouldn't attack Punjab and our views are same is also well documented.
<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="ur" dir="rtl">سب سے پہلے شہباز شریف نے مطالبہ کیا تھا کہ ختم نبوت کے حلف میں تبدیلی کرنے والے وزیر کو فارغ کیا جائے لبیک والوں نے بعد میں مطالبہ کیا <a href="https://t.co/QzNBYhmukL">https://t.co/QzNBYhmukL</a></p>— Hamid Mir (@HamidMirPAK) <a href="https://twitter.com/HamidMirPAK/status/934349325676830720?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">November 25, 2017</a></blockquote>

This is all scripted from PLMN; their end goal is martial law so Nawaz can cry foul again. Abbasi is with Nawaz and Shabaz as this trouble brews.

I can see why you came up with that comment because you don't know the actual gound realities so i am posting a map for you to make it easy for you to understand Faizabad is the main entrance from Rawalpindi to Islamabad and to govt stopped them at Faizabad instead of moving them to parade ground to isolate them and make life easy for locals.

Parade-Ground-Islamabad-Location-Map-Near-Faizabad-and-Shakaparian-2-680x399.jpg

This is all scripted from PLMN; their end goal is martial law so Nawaz can cry foul again. Abbasi is with Nawaz and Shabaz as this trouble brews.

PMLN can come up with all the plans but this time they will be convicted through courts and Army isn't going to make them sayasi shaheed again.

I agree with you it could be handled differently. However no political/religious party should be allowed to affect the livelihood of the city. Should not be allowed to affect day to day lives of normal people. Should hold the whole country hostage for their issues to be listened to. Protesting is fine, go protest in parade ground. Don't destroy our economy and daily lives of many hardwroking people.

It could be handled differently but no non-state actors should be allowed to dictate terms to anyone. The government obviously seemed helpless because they were fearful of facing this backlash now that is happening in all major cities of Pakistan. They had so many dialogues with the head of the protestors, but to no avail. That foul mouth leader of theirs continues saying trash about everyone in this country, whether the judiciary of the parliament. The IHC declares them terrorist, Supreme court has ordered the clearing of these people from the areas? What is the fear?

There is still a fear, and this is what it is 'the government fear this will weaken them further' - why? Because pressure is on them now and more protests will eventually lead government unable to finish its term and military coming in.

Governments have gone for less. 90s government had a history of failure to complete term. Bhutto's government was dissolved for murder of Murtaza Bhutto and country wide protests after that.

Blame PTI and IK for all the failures of current goverment this is a new trend :yk

Khadim Rizwi is still doing live speeches through Youtube while all the channels are blocked so what kind od operation is going on that he is still able to speak and deliver his message?

Governments have gone for less. 90s government had a history of failure to complete term. Bhutto's government was dissolved for murder of Murtaza Bhutto and country wide protests after that.

Yes governments have been gone for less but it's not 90s and if Army was really hungry for power they had enough chances in last 9 years of democracy from Memo Gate to Dherna to Dawn Leaks to Dherna 2 to Panama Leaks but no this time they are just sitting enjoying the show and allowing the bloody civilians to settle their scores.

I can see why you came up with that comment because you don't know the actual gound realities so i am posting a map for you to make it easy for you to understand Faizabad is the main entrance from Rawalpindi to Islamabad and to govt stopped them at Faizabad instead of moving them to parade ground to isolate them and make life easy for locals.

Parade-Ground-Islamabad-Location-Map-Near-Faizabad-and-Shakaparian-2-680x399.jpg

I dont know any maps to Islamabad or Rawalpindi since I am from Karachi myself. I only say what I hear in the news. Protest should be peaceful and such that they don't affect the lifestyle of any one else in the city. They have their own lives and if the movement is real it will only gather momentum on its own. This is not a peaceful protest by any means, these people were here for politiical mileage and they were here to create violence and anarchy in the city that was their primary objective.

The government was fearful of the model town scenario again, however enough is enough, a 20 day protest is enough and the court decision is against them. They have to move those are the orders.

If you are defending that then you are also one of the taliban apologists who support such behavior

Yes governments have been gone for less but it's not 90s and if Army was really hungry for power they had enough chances in last 9 years of democracy from Memo Gate to Dherna to Dawn Leaks to Dherna 2 to Panama Leaks but no this time they are just sitting enjoying the show and allowing the bloody civilians to settle their scores.

That doesn't stop them from dipping their feet wet into politics. That will never change. A recent example before this episode was how they were trying to engineer politics in Karachi and what drama it led to that afterwards.

Annual tradition of Dharna continues, our 3rd in 4 years for this country.

A leaf cannot move without establishment's permission in this country :)

I dont know any maps to Islamabad or Rawalpindi since I am from Karachi myself. I only say what I hear in the news. Protest should be peaceful and such that they don't affect the lifestyle of any one else in the city. They have their own lives and if the movement is real it will only gather momentum on its own. This is not a peaceful protest by any means, these people were here for politiical mileage and they were here to create violence and anarchy in the city that was their primary objective.

The government was fearful of the model town scenario again, however enough is enough, a 20 day protest is enough and the court decision is against them. They have to move those are the orders.

If you are defending that then you are also one of the taliban apologists who support such behavior

I am not supporting this protest and this molvi is from my home district i know him really well and the way he abuse everyone including Edhi COAS, Nawaz, Imran, TuQ and almost every molvi my only point is that the govt once again handled the sitation wrongly the strategy was wrong why let them reach Faizabad and if they had reached there why not let them enter and try to isolate them instead of making it easy to create a hostage situation?

Yes this can be down to one of the many government failures.

The mumtaz qadri movement has been gaining support for a very long time since he was hanged. Now we are here, Tehreek e Labaik participated in elections, is planning for future elections, gaining political mileage by protests. A few deaths and they will get even more votes.

A mistake is now being politicized to blame the government as Qadiani. Doubting their dedication to Islam and Prophethood.

This will get worse before it gets better. These parties should not be allowed to be mainstream again like they were in the 70s

I see PMLN supporters still trying to link PTI to this when none of PTI leaders joined the dharna when they could've done that to put pressure on government but they know any support to such mullahs could be dangerous, if Nawaz Sharif was in opposition he would have joined dharna many days ago wearing "Labbaik ya Rasulallah" outfit.

Just a note to PMLN supporters like Waleed.

Shahbaz Sharif was first one to demand action against those responsible.

Nawaz Sharif's son in law Captain Safdar who chanted "Mumtaz Qadri zindabad" inside parliament and abused Ahmadis in his parliament speech. He supported this dharna and wanted to join the dharna himself.

One PMLN MNA and one MPA have resigned against their own government's actions.

But Geo walas and liberals as usually are busy linking PTI to this dharna. Geo anchors are even quoting random PTI supporters to show PTI is linked to dharna ignoring PMLN leaders resigning and supporting dharna. Most PTI supporters on my Twitter TL are against this mullah but wanted gov to handle this differently.

The mumtaz qadri movement has been gaining support for a very long time since he was hanged. Now we are here, Tehreek e Labaik participated in elections, is planning for future elections, gaining political mileage by protests. A few deaths and they will get even more votes.

A mistake is now being politicized to blame the government as Qadiani. Doubting their dedication to Islam and Prophethood.

This will get worse before it gets better. These parties should not be allowed to be mainstream again like they were in the 70s

This molvi is creating the first extreme wing in Bralevi sect and he is enjoying great support in Punjab even without Est support. Bralevis were never in control of GHQ like other groups (Debobands, Ahl-e-Hadees) etc so this is something hard to predict but one thing i am sure is that even if they don't win a seat in 2018 elections they will still end up with a few lakh votes to hurt other parties in Punjab because i noticed in support for them in Punjab.

I see PMLN supporters still trying to link PTI to this when none of PTI leaders joined the dharna when they could've done that to put pressure on government but they know any support to such mullahs could be dangerous, if Nawaz Sharif was in opposition he would have joined dharna many days ago wearing "Labbaik ya Rasulallah" outfit.

Just a note to PMLN supporters like Waleed.

Shahbaz Sharif was first one to demand action against those responsible.

Nawaz Sharif's son in law Captain Safdar who chanted "Mumtaz Qadri zindabad" inside parliament and abused Ahmadis in his parliament speech. He supported this dharna and wanted to join the dharna himself.

One PMLN MNA and one MPA have resigned against their own government's actions.

But Geo walas and liberals as usually are busy linking PTI to this dharna. Geo anchors are even quoting random PTI supporters to show PTI is linked to dharna ignoring PMLN leaders resigning and supporting dharna. Most PTI supporters on my Twitter TL are against this mullah but wanted gov to handle this differently.

Some of these guys really need to see the way this molvi abused Imran in his speech just few days ago to get the idea ke iski kitaab main sab berabaert hen Edhi se leker Imran tak.

Whole country shut down. Government underestimated Rizvi and his followers. Chaudary Nisar' house attacked, Zahid Hamid's house attacked, PML-N MNA beaten up in Sheikhupura.

Never ever in Pakistan's history has extremism been linked to the Barelvi school of thought. Now, that is happening and it is even more dangerous as the Barelvi sect is the country's largest sect.

Some of these guys really need to see the way this molvi abused Imran in his speech just few days ago to get the idea ke iski kitaab main sab berabaert hen Edhi se leker Imran tak.

As they say Khadim Rizvi se ikhtilaaf apni jaga laikin is banday ne firqa, qaum, nasal, party se baala tar ho k har banday ko barabar ki gaali nikaali hai:))

Yeah but the ruling party triggered them in the first place, all of this was avoidable.

As they say Khadim Rizvi se ikhtilaaf apni jaga laikin is banday ne firqa, qaum, nasal, party se baala tar ho k har banday ko barabar ki gaali nikaali hai:))

Yes. From Edhi to Trump to TuQ to Modi to Imran Khan to Raheel Sharif to Nawaz Sharif. Everyone!

This molvi is creating the first extreme wing in Bralevi sect and he is enjoying great support in Punjab even without Est support. Bralevis were never in control of GHQ like other groups (Debobands, Ahl-e-Hadees) etc so this is something hard to predict but one thing i am sure is that even if they don't win a seat in 2018 elections they will still end up with a few lakh votes to hurt other parties in Punjab because i noticed in support for them in Punjab.

I agree

haha bas abhi Golre Shareef waale peeron ko bakhash dya he but unki be baari ayegi filhal to wo govt or iske dermyaan sulah kerwa rahe thai :))

Stay safe guys. The situation doesn't look good...

The country should be together with the Govt against this mullah brigade. It's about national security after all.

According to report Ch Nisar house is attacked. 178 people injured so far.

After sittings in different areas of Karachi i guess Army is also getting involved now because chaos in Karachi means fuel on fire. DG Rangers just came up with a press release to warn TLP supporters in Karachi to stay at home Rangers will never allow them to create chaos in the city.

If that is the case then this whole situation will do more harm than good to PMLN.

This is a perfect example of "why fix what ain't broke". The brains who came up with this amendment should be fired this is no more about what's right or wrong the whole thing is getting out of control now. Govt should be thankful opposition for staying calm and they never tried to cash this issue because they know the sensitivity so they did nothing except a few statements here and there.

And finally Law minister Zaid Hamid offers to resign, i simply can't understand why he couldn't resign before the crackdown when they knew this will spread to whole country??

The people, media and govt underestimated the support this Molvi gained in last few years during Mumtaz Qadri issue because the media wasn't giving coverage so people outside Rawalpindi/Islamabad had no idea how much power these molvis showed when Mumtaz Qadri was hanged.

And finally Law minister Zaid Hamid offers to resign, i simply can't understand why he couldn't resign before the crackdown when they knew this will spread to whole country??

I heard there are brains behind this and just Zaid Hamid shoulder was used? Anushe Rehman our IT minister is missing from media if you noticed...

This is a perfect example of "why fix what ain't broke". The brains who came up with this amendment should be fired this is no more about what's right or wrong the whole thing is getting out of control now. Govt should be thankful opposition for staying calm and they never tried to cash this issue because they know the sensitivity so they did nothing except a few statements here and there.

Well if you are active on social media, PMLN supporters and liberals are calling this a military coup and abusing fauj for sending these to Islamabad. They are not even saying fauj could be responsible, everyone seems to have full proof of involvement of Army but can't understand how it helps Army?

When Lal masjid crackdown was done by Army against Maulana Aziz, our so called democratic parties stood against the action and Aziz even refused to admit Pakistani soldiers are shaheed who give their life fighting terrorists.

If the PTI was in power now, I am sure Nawaz Sharif and his minions would be on the stage with Rizvi and chanting slogans and hurling abuses at the government. The PML-N should be thankful to the PTI that it didn't support the protesters or else the situation would be 10 worse.

The people, media and govt underestimated the support this Molvi gained in last few years during Mumtaz Qadri issue because the media wasn't giving coverage so people outside Rawalpindi/Islamabad had no idea how much power these molvis showed when Mumtaz Qadri was hanged.

Pardon my ignorance about Pakistani politics but why the Army didn't came up earlier to suppress these protest of 1000's of people who were stationed for 20 days obstructing normal civilians life? The protest scene would have been cleared much more earlier and no one would have dared to do that in any other part of the Country.

The Govt did mistake but a Union minister should not have resigned because of this gundagardi. That's wrong on so many levels.

What is the law exactly when it comes to demonstrations like this? There is a difference between peaceful demonstrations and protests which turn violent. If it was the latter, then the govt should have no hesitation in using the danda to restore order.

Pakistan launches crackdown on religious protesters, setting off violent clashes

https://www.washingtonpost.com/worl...d1e45a6de3d_story.html?utm_term=.3378cd2c23f6

ISLAMABAD, Pakistan — Protests erupted across Pakistan on Saturday after security forces launched an early-morning crackdown on thousands of religious demonstrators camped on a highway in the capital. Police fired tear gas and rubber bullets at the angry crowd, which fought back with clubs and pelted police with stones from slingshots.”

Army officials urged the government to respond to the protests “peacefully,” saying that violent confrontation was “not in the national interest,” but police and civilian officials seemed overwhelmed by the day-long outpouring of unrest. Demonstrators blocked highways, shut down sections of metropolitan Rawalpindi, Karachi and Lahore, and filled dozens of public squares and crossroads across Pakistan’s four provinces.

Officials blocked all television news channels at midafternoon, but information from scattered communities traveled by phone and text messages. Hundreds of injuries were reported among both protesters and security forces, and two fatalities were reported at the scene. Protesters attacked and injured a legislator from the ruling party and vandalized the home of the federal law minister, whose resignation they have demanded.

Clashes continued all day at Faizabad, an interchange on the main highway between Islamabad and the nearby garrison city of Rawalpindi, where religious groups had first gathered since Nov. 8 to protest what they believed was a deliberate attempt to change Pakistani electoral laws with language that insulted the prophet Muhammad.

The original protests were spearheaded by a movement dedicated to defending the honor of Muhammad, a 7th-century figure whom Muslims believe to be final prophet in Islam, and the country’s strict laws against religious blasphemy. The group also reveres a man who assassinated a provincial governor in 2011, acting out of religious anger because the official had defended a Christian peasant woman accused of blaspheming against Islam.

A police officer fires rubber bullets to disperse protesters during a clash in Islamabad. Pakistani police have launched an operation to clear an intersection linking capital Islamabad with the garrison city of Rawalpindi where an Islamist group's supporters have camped out for the last 20 days.

The leader of that movement, Maulvi Khadim Allama Hussain Rizvi, remained at the Faizabad site all day, wearing a gas mask and using a wheelchair because of a permanent disability. According to news reports, he chanted slogans praising the “finality of the prophet” and welcoming new protesters who arrived from mosques, shrines and homes to join the besieged rally.

Rizvi reportedly read out lists of towns and cities where crowds had blocked roads, adding “all praises to Allah.” Emotionally charged protesters chanted, “Long live the finality of the prophet.”

The assault at Faizabad had been expected but repeatedly delayed for days, as religious leaders refused government orders to disperse and ignored repeated deadlines. The demonstrations began three weeks ago and have grown steadily, with emotionally charged crowds calling for the removal of a cabinet minister.

The protesters are upset about a previous proposed change in election laws — just a few words of text — that weakened the specific oath that all candidates for public office must repeat, swearing they believe that Muhammad was the prophet. The government apologized for the “clerical error” several weeks ago, but Rizvi and his supporters have continued to push relentlessly for further action, especially the firing of law minister Zahid Hamid.

Despite the presence of thousands of security forces, protesters at Faizabad continued to resist or escape them throughout the day, and by nightfall crowds were roaming the streets. Meanwhile, the reports of sympathetic rallies elsewhere spread, creating a growing sense of confrontation and loss of government control.

As the unrest spread, the demands of the protesters broadened; instead of calling for Hamid’s dismissal, there were growing chants and speeches demanding the resignation of the entire government, which is led by Prime Minister Shahid Khaqan Abbasi from the ruling Pakistan Muslim League Party-Nawaz. Some security officials reportedly called for martial law to be imposed, although the army said it would act only on civilian orders.

From Karachi, Pakistan’s largest city and a major seaport, a Washington Post correspondent reported that many malls and commercial areas had been shut down amid throngs of milling protesters, and that dozens of people had been injured. As crowds gathered near the city’s international airport, some flights were canceled.

“The fight with the police is in the streets, and they are on the run. We are winning, and we will be on the roads as long as the government stays,” said Sayed Sabtain, 26, a protester in the Faizabad crowd Saturday morning. “Earlier, this was about the law minister resigning, but now all the government has to go. If they think they can defeat us with bullets, we are here to die for the respect of the prophet.”

The group that started the protests, which have blocked traffic for days on the major expressway between the federal capital and nearby Rawalpindi, was once considered a fringe religious movement built around the cult of Mumtaz Qadri, a 26-year-old bodyguard who assassinated Punjab Gov. Salman Taseer. Qadri was hanged for murder last year, and supporters built an ornate shrine to him on the outskirts of the capital.

The group, called the Movement in Service to the Finality of the Prophet, has recently become involved in politics, fielding candidates in two parliamentary elections. It claims to be peaceful and nonideological, and it has been steadily gaining support among the Muslim populace. Pakistan, a poor country of 207 million, is 95 percent Muslim.

The movement also crusades against Ahmedis, a religious minority that claims to be Muslim but follows a 19th-century prophet, and it has accused the government of favoring Ahmedis by trying to change the election law.

In recent days, as hundreds of thousands of people have been prevented from getting to work, school and home by the traffic snarls, the Abbasi government has attempted to negotiate with the protest leaders, fearing a major confrontation, but they refused to back down from demanding that Hamid be fired for allegedly engineering the proposed change in the electoral law.

Officials have so far refused to fire Hamid but launched an investigation into the origins of the proposed legal change. Earlier this week, after the Islamabad High Court called the protest illegal and an “act of terror” against the public, the government still gave the protesters more time to disperse.

On Thursday, the Islamabad court threatened to hold the federal interior minister with contempt for failing to evict them. The government then gave a final dispersal deadline of midnight Friday, and at dawn the police assault commenced.

Pardon my ignorance about Pakistani politics but why the Army didn't came up earlier to suppress these protest of 1000's of people who were stationed for 20 days obstructing normal civilians life? The protest scene would have been cleared much more earlier and no one would have dared to do that in any other part of the Country.

The Govt did mistake but a Union minister should not have resigned because of this gundagardi. That's wrong on so many levels.

Because PMLN government accuses fauj of backing these mullahs in the first place. Rangers have been called but not sure about the fauj as yet.

The interior minister tried to negotiate for like 20 odd days now.