Government right to crack down on Faizabad protesters?

Pardon my ignorance about Pakistani politics but why the Army didn't came up earlier to suppress these protest of 1000's of people who were stationed for 20 days obstructing normal civilians life? The protest scene would have been cleared much more earlier and no one would have dared to do that in any other part of the Country.

The Govt did mistake but a Union minister should not have resigned because of this gundagardi. That's wrong on so many levels.

I am ignorant regarding Pak policies as well but an explanation can be that democratic government, the judiciary body and Army are different and independent bodies. They can't (and shouldn't) influence each others' internal matters.

This whole protest is Gov's headache and Army should never interfere unless Gov or Judges explicitly ask for them.

(Maybe someone can elaborate please)

What a stupid statement by interior minister Ahsan Iqbal he is not linking it to India. Is govt ka shuru se yehi ravya he masla khud khera kro or phr dusre per daal ke nikel jao

Well if you are active on social media, PMLN supporters and liberals are calling this a military coup and abusing fauj for sending these to Islamabad. They are not even saying fauj could be responsible, everyone seems to have full proof of involvement of Army but can't understand how it helps Army?

When Lal masjid crackdown was done by Army against Maulana Aziz, our so called democratic parties stood against the action and Aziz even refused to admit Pakistani soldiers are shaheed who give their life fighting terrorists.

It's so stupid to link this rise of Bralevi power to Army. GHQ wasn't able to control Bralevis for 65 years so what happened now? This whole support was being built during MQ case but remained hidden from eyes because media wasn't allowed to give coverage to the issue.

Because PMLN government accuses fauj of backing these mullahs in the first place. Rangers have been called but not sure about the fauj as yet.

The interior minister tried to negotiate for like 20 odd days now.

Who does it is not the problem. If these extremists doesn't understand normal language, they need some serious danda and should be put in jail for a couple of years.

Pardon my ignorance about Pakistani politics but why the Army didn't came up earlier to suppress these protest of 1000's of people who were stationed for 20 days obstructing normal civilians life? The protest scene would have been cleared much more earlier and no one would have dared to do that in any other part of the Country.

The Govt did mistake but a Union minister should not have resigned because of this gundagardi. That's wrong on so many levels.

Army is already blamed for all the wrongs happening in the country so they try to stay away from the mess now keeping in mind the sensitivity of this issue they let Police and other LEAs handle this issue otherwise Pak Army HQ is just a few KM away from here and when Army gets involved we all know there is going to be bloodshed they can't act like police. Last time Rangers (paramilitary) tried to give protection to courts because of threat to judges few weeks ago thn Army was blamed by our interior ministers for interference in govt.

Because PMLN government accuses fauj of backing these mullahs in the first place. Rangers have been called but not sure about the fauj as yet.

I am ignorant regarding Pak policies as well but an explanation can be that democratic government, the judiciary body and Army are different and independent bodies. They can't (and shouldn't) influence each others' internal matters.

This whole protest is Gov's headache and Army should never interfere unless Gov or Judges explicitly ask for them.

(Maybe someone can elaborate please)

That's true. It's Govt mistake and they should have asked the army's help earlier itself. I don't understand what's cooking between the Govt and the Army.

Who does it is not the problem. If these extremists doesn't understand normal language, they need some serious danda and should be put in jail for a couple of years.

The problem is the government and it's dirty politics. I would not really want the army to intervene.

This getting more and more serious.Will this be another Lal Masjid and ultimately lead to the downfall of the government. At least 10 protestors have been killed in Pindi alone, according to reports on social media.

Now, Rizvi says will not move until the whole govt is dissolved .

Where is Shehbaz Sharif he should answer why he even allowed these molvis to reach Rawalpindi? Last year during Dherna 2 of PTI shobaz made sure to stop them at Burhan Interchange and attacked a sitting CM of another province and his ministers with full police force.

Army is already blamed for all the wrongs happening in the country so they try to stay away from the mess now keeping in mind the sensitivity of this issue they let Police and other LEAs handle this issue otherwise Pak Army HQ is just a few KM away from here and when Army gets involved we all know there is going to be bloodshed they can't act like police. Last time Rangers (paramilitary) tried to give protection to courts because of threat to judges few weeks ago thn Army was blamed by our interior ministers for interference in govt.

Okay thanks for the clarification. but they could have offered help when situaton was going out of hand.

These protest can't become this strong unless some factors supporting them.

Haan haan saaray mulk mai NAwaz Sharif hi tou hai... Nawaz can't buy a vote to save his life in Sindh, but all this unrest is because of Nawaz Sharif supporters even in Sindh lollll

Rather than blame the PTI, look closer to home and the link between the Sharifs and extremists over 30 years. Sharifs have always in bed with these morons!

That's true. It's Govt mistake and they should have asked the army's help earlier itself. I don't understand what's cooking between the Govt and the Army.

The govt has a made rod for its own back- it politicised AND attacked the Rangers for giving protection to the NAB court a month ago so that the SHARIFS and cronies could attempt to intimidate it, and if it asked for help now, it would need lots of humiliating back tracking.

Why have the lessons of Lal Masjid not been learned ? Had those vigilantes been dealt with earlier, the later (and bloody) use of force would not have been required.

Once again, the government tried to appease a group who are unappeasable. The clause had been fixed and there's a committee probing the situation so what's the issue now ? Why delay for so long when you had a court order from the IHC that allowed you to clear the area ? Now you are stuck in situation where you are reluctant to use excessive force as these animals want a shaheed to rally around.

These fascist jahil who masquerade under the banner of Islam for political gain have already caused the death of an eight month old boy. The parents were instructed by a doctor to take him to either Polyclinic or PIMS. However the ambulance couldn't move forward as Islamabad Expressway was blocked near Khanna Bridge thanks to these "protesters" who wouldn't move despite requests.

They took the boy to another hospital near Khanna after much delay but was pronounced dead on arrival. Hang this mullah if there's any justice left in Pakistan or is this Mullahstan where as long as you have a beard you can hold an entire country hostage ?

COAS is saying the "protesters" should be dealt with "peacefully". A reminder that these people have managed to cause the death of an eight month boy, beaten up journalists and stolen their cameras, snatching and burning police vans, attacked the house of the Law Minister, injured an MNA and have injured 60 police officers, 45 FC men, and 50 civilians.

This same organisation has no problem allowing journalists to be kidnapped or bumping off Baloch human rights activists but when it comes to the mullahs we have to play nice. To hell with that.

Apparently a Chinese delegation over for CPEC talks have complained about the instability. I shudder to think what would happen if this demonstration took place in Beiing.

COAS is saying the "protesters" should be dealt with "peacefully". A reminder that these people have managed to cause the death of an eight month boy, beaten up journalists and stolen their cameras, snatching and burning police vans, attacked the house of the Law Minister, injured an MNA and have injured 60 police officers, 45 FC men, and 50 civilians.

This same organisation has no problem allowing journalists to be kidnapped or bumping off Baloch human rights activists but when it comes to the mullahs we have to play nice. To hell with that.

Apparently a Chinese delegation over for CPEC talks have complained about the instability. I shudder to think what would happen if this demonstration took place in Beiing.

COAS appealed for peacefulness from both sides. Let's not twist words!

There are sittings going on everywhere in the country right now from Karachi to Peshawar and markets were closed earlier and motorway, GT road is also blocked at many points so killing a few molvis here in pindi/isb and kicking them out isn't going to work. The genius who came up with amendment should be given an Oscar why touch a sensitive topic that was closed 44 years ago and why open it when maluvis are already in angry mood after MQ death and waiting for a issue to come to come on roads.

Here comes another foriegn born "Pakistani" spewing ill-informed nonsense against the army

Anyone who believe Army is behind this new extreme Bralevi movement is either blind or ignoring some facts. Establishment always ignored Bralevis and Govt thought they can always be taken for granted this is a result of the ignorance. Bhai wo daur chala gaya jab bralevi molvi just dam drood or halwe waale hote thai

What are COAS on about?

the government has been dealing with this peacefully for the last 20 days. What more to expect??

There are sittings going on everywhere in the country right now from Karachi to Peshawar and markets were closed earlier and motorway, GT road is also blocked at many points so killing a few molvis here in pindi/isb and kicking them out isn't going to work. The genius who came up with amendment should be given an Oscar why touch a sensitive topic that was closed 44 years ago and why open it when maluvis are already in angry mood after MQ death and waiting for a issue to come to come on roads.

so you believe that its better to violate the rights of some people just for the sake of some jahils.

Oneday someone will have to challenge these laws....

I didn't say kill anyone, but Rizvi should be arrested and brought to book. The situation is out of hand because the government appeased these fascists for weeks. When the IHC called for the sit-in to be cleared, that should've been the cue for action. The government gave a last warning but STILL did nothing and that was the day after the IHC statement.

Shahbaz Sharif should've kept his mouth shut instead of spouting off that the minister responsible for the amendment should've been sacked. There is no proof that Hamid was responsible for the amendment. Raja Zafarul Haq should've also shut up instead of talking about a conspiracy, and conducted his inquiry before jumping to conclusions. Also why did Gov of Punjab allow these "protesters" to reach Islamabad ?

Here comes another foriegn born "Pakistani" spewing ill-informed nonsense against the army

Firstly, you are nobody to question my patriotism, I don't give two hoots about your infantile insults. Patriotism is not blindly supporting your government or army.

Secondly, this is years of maulvi appeasement coming home to roost thanks to, yes the political, but also the security establishment of whose rear ends you seem to think the sun rises out of.

Thirdly, do you honestly think the COAS of China, Russia, USA or whoever would instruct the Prime Minister of their country that a group of thugs who have injured hundreds of police, FC officers and civilians, beaten up journalists and have blockaded the capital city, with whom NEGOTIATED HAVE FAILED time and again, should be dealt with PEACEFULLY despite a court order demanding their clearance ? Have we learned nothing from Lal Masjid (another botched episode) ?

If this was Beijing being blockaded these mullahs would've met their demise before you could blink.

I didn't say kill anyone, but Rizvi should be arrested and brought to book. The situation is out of hand because the government appeased these fascists for weeks. When the IHC called for the sit-in to be cleared, that should've been the cue for action. The government gave a last warning but STILL did nothing and that was the day after the IHC statement.

Shahbaz Sharif should've kept his mouth shut instead of spouting off that the minister responsible for the amendment should've been sacked. There is no proof that Hamid was responsible for the amendment. Raja Zafarul Haq should've also shut up instead of talking about a conspiracy, and conducted his inquiry before jumping to conclusions. Also why did Gov of Punjab allow these "protesters" to reach Islamabad ?

Firstly, you are nobody to question my patriotism, I don't give two hoots about your infantile insults. Patriotism is not blindly supporting your government or army.

Secondly, this is years of maulvi appeasement coming home to roost thanks to, yes the political, but also the security establishment of whose rear ends you seem to think the sun rises out of.

Thirdly, do you honestly think the COAS of China, Russia, USA or whoever would instruct the Prime Minister of their country that a group of thugs who have injured hundreds of police, FC officers and civilians, beaten up journalists and have blockaded the capital city, with whom NEGOTIATED HAVE FAILED time and again, should be dealt with PEACEFULLY despite a court order demanding their clearance ? Have we learned nothing from Lal Masjid (another botched episode) ?

If this was Beijing being blockaded these mullahs would've met their demise before you could blink.

Dude the feds created this situation which was totally avoidable and only to create a distraction from the corruption scandals and to portray Sharif as a liberal to the west lmao and now they're milking this situation by draggin it out for weeks.

So government sits for 20 days DOING ABSOLUTELY NOTHING, even after repeated rulings by the IHC and when the court says they will initiate contempt of court the government gets into action in the absolute wrong way and when the COAS recommends for situation to remain peaceful all of a sudden desi liberals are up in arms as to why COAS is commenting.

Dude the feds created this situation which was totally avoidable and only to create a distraction from the corruption scandals and to portray Sharif as a liberal to the west lmao and now they're milking this situation by draggin it out for weeks.

I agree. Any liberal supporting PML-N needs to look at how they've shamelessly appeased this fascist mob. Cowardice doesn't begin to describe.

Imran's statement should've been tougher too. Yes criticise the ineptitude of the government who allowed the situation to fester but there was hardly any condemnation of the violence from the protesters other than one line at the end calling for peaceful protests.

DPeZtiQXcAAonby.jpg

I agree. Any liberal supporting PML-N needs to look at how they've shamelessly appeased this fascist mob. Cowardice doesn't begin to describe.

Imran's statement should've been tougher too. Yes criticise the ineptitude of the government who allowed the situation to fester but there was hardly any condemnation of the violence from the protesters other than one line at the end calling for peaceful protests.

DPeZtiQXcAAonby.jpg

This molvi abused Imran so badly a few days ago in his speech that if IK now gives statement against him it will look like IK is just doing it now because of settling his personal score. You can watch the clip of Khadim Rizwi abusing Imran on youtube to get the idea...

Ok government has summoned the army now.... Can't wait for desi liberals to spew nonsense of how army is meddling in civilian affairs.

So government sits for 20 days DOING ABSOLUTELY NOTHING, even after repeated rulings by the IHC and when the court says they will initiate contempt of court the government gets into action in the absolute wrong way and when the COAS recommends for situation to remain peaceful all of a sudden desi liberals are up in arms as to why COAS is commenting.

I have just criticised the government's ineptitude in posts #94 and #103. Are you really that incapable of reading ?

The government are rightly being criticised for appeasing these violent lawbreakers, and the COAS's statement also deserves criticism as peaceful negotiations have already been attempted several times over to no avail. What more peaceful steps does he want ?

We tried playing nice with those Lal Masjid vigilantes - how did that work out ?

I still remember how media and our desi liberals and anchor like Hamid Mir built the case of laal masjid and thn criticized Musharraf 24/7 when he finally launched operation. A case of damned if you do damned if you don't

This is beyond words.

Mumtaz Qadri's son sitting in Rizvi's lap being used as a literal political weapon. Is there any depth to which these self-styled guardians of religion will not sink to ?

DPdxvoiWAAAINWb.jpg

Army should not hold back.

Another blunder of Govt here according to insiders the operation was expected to start last night but Govt kept all those policemen on standby whole night poor policemen were not given any sleep/rest or breakfast in next morning and instead of asking them to rest and using fresh guys for operation those same exhausted policemen were asked to do the operation in the morning. In the end more policemen ended up being injured thn the protesters :facepalm:

This whole fiasco has been engineered by pml n they want martyrdom , they deliberetly stirred this issue to cause this chaos

Call army, impose curfew and issue shoot to kill orders for anyone violating the curfew. Then we will see how much cajones these mullahs have.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-partner="tweetdeck"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Sad to know whats going on in over Pakistan between Govt & religious scholars strike starting from <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Faizabadinterchange?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#Faizabadinterchange</a> Islamabad , Ya Allah madad , peaceful Dialogue is the only solution , plz do consider Dialogues option &#55357;&#56397;&#55357;&#56397;&#55357;&#56397;</p>— Mohammad Hafeez (@MHafeez22) <a href="https://twitter.com/MHafeez22/status/934325461404045312?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">November 25, 2017</a></blockquote>

Rather than blame the PTI, look closer to home and the link between the Sharifs and extremists over 30 years. Sharifs have always in bed with these morons!

I didnt blame the PTI for this, I said the establishment is responsible for this. I said they some of their other allies might vote for PTI but this isn't PTI's doing. They have their own election candidate who are gaining votes and gaining political momentum with these protests.

Sharifs have been associated with them in the past but now things have changed since they hanged Mumtaz Qadri. All their relgiious supporters have disassociated themselves from the party.

Also establishment is not directly responsible for this, when I say establishment is responsible I mean the army is sitting in the background watching this, instead of condemning the whole situation it is saying violence should be avoided 'from both sides'. Equating the government with these terrorists is something you won't expect from the armed forces. Which means government and army are not on the same page.

Call a joint session of Parliament and take everyone on board. As of now, PML-N is failing against her ego and failing viciously.

These misguided religious thugs are holding the country to ransom.

This is the biggest mistake Pakistan made in the 80s to give these mullahs so much power that they can now dictate to laws or amendments that don't prescribe to their POV.

Army and Police should take a very hard line. Let's cut to the chase - thess religious groups are protesting because they don't want to give equal rights to Pakistans minorities and just giving them what they want only embdoldens them further.

Not only that the madrasahs in which these mullahs poison the youth should also be shut down immediately. Doing nothing and pretending nothing will happen leads only to more problems in the future.

To hell with this mullah brigade. Absolutely despise them. Who do they think they are?

According to zaid Hamid the laal topi one army will not attack the protestors but secure strategic sites .

In his opinion this was engineered by pmln and was a deliberate ploy by pmln to divert attention and pit the masses against the army

To hell with this mullah brigade. Absolutely despise them. Who do they think they are?

Sorry but these groups are not taliban or wahabbi groups who have relation with pmln

These are the barelvi masses who are respected by majority of the population and includes groups from golra sharif .

Army is not gonna dirty its name by getting an image of killing normal Sunnis , Because pmln engineered this whole saga

This will have to be dealt by pmln and the police and they have made a pigs ear of it already

It's not a secret who is backing these protesters, at least not in the minds of those living in the twin cities. People have suffered enough. It's time to end this show.

Wake up, and stop calling the protesters 'terrorists. They are just normal civilians of Pakistan. If they terrorists then these terrorists are holding sit ins in all major cities and protests all around the country.

Ok I might have come on too strong.. and I apologize for the insults.

There has been mullah appeasement from the likes of Noon league and PTI and it is not just an army centric problem. These mullahs are unfortunately a big part of Pakistani society, even though they might not do so well in the polls but they hold a lot of sway with the Pakistani people and their calls for protests can bring alot of people to the streets (as seen today). So inorder to have stable government you need to have these mullahs in your pocket, unfortunately.

And no... going all guns blazing will only exacerbate the issue. It's cold in the evenings in Islamabad. Just spray them with a water cannon these mullahs will be running home ASAP.

Ok I might have come on too strong.. and I apologize for the insults.

There has been mullah appeasement from the likes of Noon league and PTI and it is not just an army centric problem. These mullahs are unfortunately a big part of Pakistani society, even though they might not do so well in the polls but they hold a lot of sway with the Pakistani people and their calls for protests can bring alot of people to the streets (as seen today). So inorder to have stable government you need to have these mullahs in your pocket, unfortunately.

And no... going all guns blazing will only exacerbate the issue. It's cold in the evenings in Islamabad. Just spray them with a water cannon these mullahs will be running home ASAP.

No worries, I enjoy our debates.

I'm not calling for the mullahs to be gunned down as they are desperate to create shaheeds to rally behind. But look at the double standards.

In Ghotki this week, a group of schoolteachers were protesting outside the Sindh Assembly about their salaries that have been held up for the last TWO years. They were immediately met with baton wielding police and bundled into police vans.

Here, TLY can hold the capital hostage for weeks, Punjab Govt doesn't stop them going to Islamabad and we exhaust round after round of fruitless negotiation. They keep changing their demands - calling for the resignation of the Law Minister and then the entire PM and Cabinet, but nobody touches them until the situation gets out of hand.

This is what happens when both political and security establishment tries to co-opt or appease religious groups. When you use Islam as a political weapon - who's to stop any extremist or self styled guardian of Islam like Aziz or Rizvi from doing the same when the establishment have done it for years ?

Even now the political parties are couching their statements by saying they only disagree with Rizvi's language, not his views. The appeasement has to stop. When a government can't impose its writ due to fear of an extremist backlash then you know a Frankenstein's monster has been created. A strong government doesn't care whether its close to 12 Rabi-ul-Awwal, Christmas, Eid-ul-Fitr or Diwali - you don't allow violent lawbreakers to hold a city captive.

Government requested army to intervene... army wrote letter back saying "they are fully ready to perform assigned task in line with its constitutional obligations", however, use of fire arms is highly uncalled for and if army is deployed violence can occur. Army seeking more direction from government.

Basically.... government is trying to drag army into this and violence will occur which will destroy whatever good-will the army has built with the nation from Raheel Sharif's time. Then the Noon government will say army is trying to bring down their government and they will claim political martyrdom. The Noonis have played it well, albeit one may argue whether the state and the government is bigger than one man or not. Army needs to be vigilant of their motives yet not over-step their constitutional boundaries.

No worries, I enjoy our debates.

I'm not calling for the mullahs to be gunned down as they are desperate to create shaheeds to rally behind. But look at the double standards.

In Ghotki this week, a group of schoolteachers were protesting outside the Sindh Assembly about their salaries that have been held up for the last TWO years. They were immediately met with baton wielding police and bundled into police vans.

Here, TLY can hold the capital hostage for weeks, Punjab Govt doesn't stop them going to Islamabad and we exhaust round after round of fruitless negotiation. They keep changing their demands - calling for the resignation of the Law Minister and then the entire PM and Cabinet, but nobody touches them until the situation gets out of hand.

This is what happens when both political and security establishment tries to co-opt or appease religious groups. When you use Islam as a political weapon - who's to stop any extremist or self styled guardian of Islam like Aziz or Rizvi from doing the same when the establishment have done it for years ?

Even now the political parties are couching their statements by saying they only disagree with Rizvi's language, not his views. The appeasement has to stop. When a government can't impose its writ due to fear of an extremist backlash then you know a Frankenstein's monster has been created. A strong government doesn't care whether its close to 12 Rabi-ul-Awwal, Christmas, Eid-ul-Fitr or Diwali - you don't allow violent lawbreakers to hold a city captive.

We can thank Bhutto and Zia for these mullahs being this strong. They set the seeds for it and now it seems like we have to live with it. I see successive governments whether civilian or God-forbid military bowing down to the mullahs.

Wake up, and stop calling the protesters 'terrorists. They are just normal civilians of Pakistan. If they terrorists then these terrorists are holding sit ins in all major cities and protests all around the country.

They are not terrorists but they are looking for excuses to riot and blockade the country if the politicians don't have laws that fit their narratives of how Pakistan should be

They need to be told that In no uncertain terms that Pakistan doesn't belong just to them. Blasphemy law has been misused countless Times and to target and persecute religous minorities.

A country should have laws protecting minroties, not ones that can be exploited against them. This is utterly shameful and it's even more disgusting that people will go to extreme lengths to protect them.

These are same groups of people that went all out in support of Mumtaz Qadri who instead of protecting someone killed him in cold blood yet was celebrated as a hero. Disgusted but glad that **** got the ultimate punishment.

The backlash from operation was not estimated properly. I have not seen such widespread anarchy since the death of BB.

The government is just not doing its job. They have made mistake after mistake. First, they disturbed the hornet's nest. Then they tried to play committee committee to sooth sentiments of those people. They were allowed to camp in Islamabad without any objection. And now the operation was planned and executed poorly with no idea that how widespread it could become.

One day interior minister Ahsan Iqbal complains that it is a conspiracy to dent their brelvi votebank and another day he claims to have unearthed secret contact between Indian and these molvis. Just like branding corruption cases of his leader as conspiracy, the interior minister kept looking for conspiracies in this case too.

This N league Aristotle is a disgrace to this very important interior ministry.

The truth right here ladies and gents:

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Nawaz Sharif's ultimate game plan is unfolding: "Invite Army to control crowds"; send message to Washington, London, and New York Times that Sharif Govt is under siege by Military Establishment that sent Mullahs to intimidate; become a victim</p>— Moeed Pirzada (@MoeedNj) <a href="https://twitter.com/MoeedNj/status/934320751880089600?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">November 25, 2017</a></blockquote>

If you pick operation decision in isolation, this is what should happen no matter how big or ugly opposition gets. But there are so many points where all of this could have been avoided.

This brings the question, who is behind the movement? Nawaz Sharif, Army or any external power? Because a protester crowd could never know who to use element of surprise to push back police, obviously there's some training behind this. Also, they have cut security cameras before the operation because they WANTED anarchy without leaving traces. Their tone is never of agreement but to threaten for more. Resignation alone was not going to do anything for them.

Also, some of the people within Faizabad during the time of operation (I live like 4-5kms away from that place on the Islamabad side) reported that Police was left alone to battle protester by army elements and also, they were giving ways for protesters to reach at specific points. Both of these factors resulted in smooth run-over by the protesters. Now this is something I can not confirm on my own but if its true then the whole thing seems lot more fishy, considering the fact that Rangers were supposed to guard entry points but there's a whole lot bigger group protesting there now.

After that, COAS message added more to the fuel of protesters, giving them free hand. I can understand that Army is not willing to fight due to fear of mass-retaliation and being labelled as aggressors by PML(N), but was it necessary to pass such comments at such critical time?

Now that Qadri is stepping in, things are not going to go any better.

Is this thing related to the attempt by someone in the civil service to change the constitution?

Why that individual has not been charged and punished yet?

The citizens have every right to protest (peaceful) and demand action. Imagine if someone in US made tried to pull a fast one and changed text of the constitution... will there be riots, you bet!!

They are not terrorists but they are looking for excuses to riot and blockade the country if the politicians don't have laws that fit their narratives of how Pakistan should be

They need to be told that In no uncertain terms that Pakistan doesn't belong just to them. Blasphemy law has been misused countless Times and to target and persecute religous minorities.

A country should have laws protecting minroties, not ones that can be exploited against them. This is utterly shameful and it's even more disgusting that people will go to extreme lengths to protect them.

These are same groups of people that went all out in support of Mumtaz Qadri who instead of protecting someone killed him in cold blood yet was celebrated as a hero. Disgusted but glad that **** got the ultimate punishment.

You cannot change text dude. Whatever it should be, had to be done by parliament. This individual should have been punished, tried to sabotage the constitution. It was an outrageous attempt. From that point on, till that individual/s are held to account, the protest is fair.

Ideally it should be done by parliament but the reality is the vast majority of Pakistani politicians are gutless cowards who do not have the courage or worse do not want to change anything.

Let's not forget Salman Tasser (who I never supported politically) who at least tried to amend the ridiculous blasphemy law but what did he get in return ?? 6 bullets from his own bodyguard who was brainwashed from these fanatics.

And let's get one thing straight a lot of these people are religious fanatics who will never be persuaded that Pakistan is not just for Sunni Muslims but for every sect and religion.

Let's also not forget that Mumtaz Qadri was showered with petals and flowers from Pakistani lawyers - that showed me clearly the disgusting state the power these thugs wiled in Pakistan.

I'm sorry but in a country like Pakistan where blasmpahy law will be be misused by these jahils then to correct the damage done by introducing it in th first place it can only be amended through the back door because the fanatics will never accept any change or amendments.

What's Happening in Pakistan?

In 1974 the constitution of Pakistan declared Qadiyanis as non-Muslims due to the Muslim creed that our Prophet Muhammad صلى الله عليه وسلم is the Last Prophet. Hence, Qadiyanis are not allowed to say they are Muslims, build Masjids and perform the Muslim adhan etc. Recently the clauses on Qadiyanis were removed in silence which is believed to be a conspiracy. The Sunni public found out and came to the streets asking the government of Pakistan:

1. Why the clauses on Qadiyanis were repealed?

2. Who passed the judgement for this?

Feeling the pressure, the Govt retracted and reinstated the clauses after initial hesitation and denial. The public's questions remain unanswered and they demand the law minister to be removed and penalised and all those behind the conspiracy. The argument is: even if you've reinstated the clauses, you're not free of the legal repercussions. You kidnap someone's daughter and return her after a month apologizing to the whole family doesn't free you from legal trial and punishment. You steal something and return it but still face the penalty.

A dialogue started but the Govt has not replied nor acted on the agreed points within the time frame mutually agreed. The Govt is not sitting to dialogue or answering any questions.

very sensitive issue and I ask all to make sure they dont overstep any lines in condoning bloodshed on ANY Side of the divide - Thanks

:facepalm: you should watch some videos psoted on social media.

Public property has been destroyed and a policeman has been killed.

byt nahi je, peacful log hai

Call army, impose curfew and issue shoot to kill orders for anyone violating the curfew. Then we will see how much cajones these mullahs have.

ummm, army was called in last night. But now army is doing drama of not getting involved by calling in meetings and all

Government requested army to intervene... army wrote letter back saying "they are fully ready to perform assigned task in line with its constitutional obligations", however, use of fire arms is highly uncalled for and if army is deployed violence can occur. Army seeking more direction from government.

Basically.... government is trying to drag army into this and violence will occur which will destroy whatever good-will the army has built with the nation from Raheel Sharif's time. Then the Noon government will say army is trying to bring down their government and they will claim political martyrdom. The Noonis have played it well, albeit one may argue whether the state and the government is bigger than one man or not. Army needs to be vigilant of their motives yet not over-step their constitutional boundaries.
first you say call in army, now you say army needs to be more vigilant

army is under the govt........ THe govt is under the army....

Btw i resent the free use of word Mullah to describe anyone you don't agree with

There is a certain mindset that just blame the religious people for actions being committed and grossly mishandled by the Govt.. The way this operations started is in itself being criticised, this issue was made to fester by the political leadership who decided not to handle the issue earlier.

Rite now Pakistani public is suffering and their basic human rights like access to basic information is suspended, not by the mullahs but by the Govt.. There is total media blackout and social media[twitter, facebook] and video-sharing websites[youtube, dailymotion] are also blocked. Situation in Karachi normal here only fake rumours circulating are creating uncertainty.

Even Pak Army is seeking clarifications whoa re being requested to take control by this stupid govt. as its not deployed to disperse the crowd. Such gross mishandling and stupidity by the govt..

The backlash from operation was not estimated properly. I have not seen such widespread anarchy since the death of BB.

The government is just not doing its job. They have made mistake after mistake. First, they disturbed the hornet's nest. Then they tried to play committee committee to sooth sentiments of those people. They were allowed to camp in Islamabad without any objection. And now the operation was planned and executed poorly with no idea that how widespread it could become.

One day interior minister Ahsan Iqbal complains that it is a conspiracy to dent their brelvi votebank and another day he claims to have unearthed secret contact between Indian and these molvis. Just like branding corruption cases of his leader as conspiracy, the interior minister kept looking for conspiracies in this case too.

This N league Aristotle is a disgrace to this very important interior ministry.

Rofl the aftermath of Benazir Bhutto death brought a lot of devastation, and arson esp. in Sindh, this situation is bad but can't be compared with the disaster that followed and no media was blocked.

Khadim and associates have announced Strike all over Pakistan on Monday, wouldn't be wise to move around and i hope it all ends there.

Thanks to pathetic planning and handling of this issue, Khadim can become major force in Punjab now. Not sure how many seats he will get but guaranteed to get 10,000 to 15,000 votes in quite a few constituencies.

Requesting people not to watch geo tv or geo news for any information, they are basing reports on rumors only. I just saw there bulletin [through a vpn], some of the information on dharnas in karachi like stargate and one more place near airport are not true. There was protest for a couple of hours last night before it was cleared now its normal but they are still posting news on there headline clip simply untrue.

After media ban in the country, this gets the worst out of this channel as its start spreading malicious information and fuels rumors esp. to overseas Pakistanis. Glad few channels are banned as these channels do go crazy in times of crisis and there is no code of conduct to manage them or even control them.

ARY news is behaving responsibly but it also has a bias towards the govt.so can't trust them completely.

Information from social media is also untrustworthy.

Still not aware of the no. of casualties from the now failed operation yesterday. The no. of deaths and injured are being circulated without confirmation.

Request people to be careful in this INFORMATION WAR going on.

Khadim and associates have announced Strike all over Pakistan on Monday, wouldn't be wise to move around and i hope it all ends there.

Thanks to pathetic planning and handling of this issue, Khadim can become major force in Punjab now. Not sure how many seats he will get but guaranteed to get 10,000 to 15,000 votes in quite a few constituencies.

I don't think they will get many votes. Our people do not usually trust religious parties when it comes to elections.

I think it's a GREAT thing that people don't vote for such short sighted and directionless people otherwise they would have swept the elections with this kind of support but i think they will still be able to get much more than they would have without this dharna.

^Remember that Rizvi' party was the third most popular party in NA 120 and NA 4.They got around a total 18k votes from these two constituencies.

It is more popular than JI and PPPP.

first you say call in army, now you say army needs to be more vigilant

army is under the govt........ THe govt is under the army....

Perhaps you are unaware of this new concept called time.

My both posts that you quoted were hours apart and situation changed between those posts.