Harry Brook handed Two-Year IPL Ban for last-minute withdrawal to focus on International Cricket

Harry Brook did the right thing he wanted to play for England. If money is the only thing he wanted then the scenario would have been different.

Answer my 2nd sentence - now if brooks play in IPL after 2 year over his country ,then what you Will say ? Who will be Hypocrite then ?

Learn to comprehend. I already answered. 'Did I say anything when he was playing in the IPL before'? I praised him for choosing his country over IPL. Why are you getting so hurt? :inti

He chose his country over IPL. Who cares about the ban anyway? Nice to see there are players like him. They should he praised and this is why this thread is created. You can swing it whichever way you want to now. Chidiya toh ud gayi. :kp :inti
Harry brook salary is 500000 pounds per year to play tests and LOI

It’s good enough so he doesn’t need ipl. With bonuses could go up to a million.

Sure he can earn more in ipl to play in an easy format but he doesn’t need to

He earns enough.

Not really. We, the real fans who understands cricket, knows that playing in IPL would have only made him a better player, especially against spin bowling which is Brooks glaring weakness. Previously players used to play county cricket to improve themselves in red ball format. Similarly, I think in modern days playing IPL shape them as better white ball players. It transformed Mitchel Johnson's career totally after IPL 2013 season. So playing high pressure T20 matches aganst world class bowlers in front of packed stadiums would have only made Brooks a better player.

Imagine him facing Bumrah, Shami, Jadeja, Kuldeep for 2 months before 5 match test series against India this summer. Imagine him facing Starc, Cummins, Zampa etc before the Ashes. How it would have not benefitted him?

Looks like ECBs approach every year is to stop its players from playing IPL. How did it help Ben Stokes last time by skipping it? Got humiliated in Ashes, India tour and world cup...the exact 3 series he gave excuse to skip IPL.

It is pretty clear that ECB is jealous of IPLs success and wants to jeapordise it especially after the spectacular failure that the Hundreds is. However, they are simply shooting on their own foot by doing so.

IPL is correct in banning players. As a player when you put your name in the auction, owners trust them and spend money on them to buy it. Team management chalk some strategy behind teams requirement to buy such players. Now by pulling out at the last minute is not only unprofessional but put the team in jeapordy. He shouldnt have put his name in auction. This is happening too many times especially from ECB players and BCCI is totally correct in banning them.

As far as posters here rejoicing, LOL...kitna bhi kar lo nehi lega Pak and BD players ko in IPL. I know even after 17 years, the months of March-June still haunts Pak fans and most Pak players wish they were not Pakistanis in the first place to have a chance playing in the daddy league. However nothing doing.

Rajdeep.
World doesn’t need England tbh. Can do without them. In all aspects

Learn to comprehend. I already answered. 'Did I say anything when he was playing in the IPL before'? I praised him for choosing his country over IPL. Why are you getting so hurt? :inti
So if he Play again in IPL over his country then he will be hypocrite , isn't it?

This remind me - we will not sell ourselves for money but what is happen after that everybody know

Harry Brook did the right thing he wanted to play for England. If money is the only thing he wanted then the scenario would have been different.

1. IPL has a seperate window which most of its duration dont clash with international cricket. How exactly did IPL hampered him playing for England? He could have gone back late May when international season starts like Butler etc does many seasons.

2. IPL would have made him a better player especially against spin bowling. It would have helped England national side and not other way around.

3. If money was not a factor for him, why did he put his name in the auction? By pulling out last minute after committment is highly unprofessional. So unsure why are you saying he is doing the right thing.

1. IPL has a seperate window which most of its duration dont clash with international cricket. How exactly did IPL hampered him playing for England? He could have gone back late May when international season starts like Butler etc does many seasons.

2. IPL would have made him a better player especially against spin bowling. It would have helped England national side and not other way around.

3. If money was not a factor for him, why did he put his name in the auction? By pulling out last minute after committment is highly unprofessional. So unsure why are you saying he is doing the right thing.
Brook is the front-runner for England captaincy after Buttler's resignation. I think he is given some hints from his board so he just wants to have some rest before the upcoming series and that captaincy burden.

Silly excuse na? Why would a 25-26 year old lad need rest just because he may become the next captain with proper international schedule starting in June? Rather would it not have been better he improved himself as a player by facing world class bowlers before resuming his captaincy stint. ECB need to stop giving these silly excuses and just call spade a spade.

View attachment 152171

When your point is exposed than here comes to the conclusion

Even Day - County over IPL , excellent move by player

Odd Day - IPL over country , excuse, excuse and crying.

In desi language we say " Thook ke chatna "

Isko hi bolte hai .

Aww, what point did you expose? Care to elaborate.

Currently the only thing you are exposing is your limited knowledge about cricket by comparing a season of country cricket with Indian League. :kp

Harry Brook chose his country over IPL. Accept it and move on. :inti

Silly excuse na? Why would a 25-26 year old lad need rest just because he may become the next captain with proper international schedule starting in June? Rather would it not have been better he improved himself as a player by facing world class bowlers before resuming his captaincy stint. ECB need to stop giving these silly excuses and just call spade a spade.
A great decision by your team's player. He deserves praise for prioritizing his country over a lower-tier league. You should be a proud Brit. Congratulations. :kp :inti

Aww, what point did you expose? Care to elaborate.

Currently the only thing you are exposing is your limited knowledge about cricket by comparing a season of country cricket with Indian League. :kp

Harry Brook chose his country over IPL. Accept it and move on. :inti
I exposed the people who said IPL is nothing.

Player's already chose IPL over international cricket or even ICC tournaments .

And if any players try to break the Rules of IPL auction ,they will be banned by IPL .

Because being captain means he has to play nearly every series, and would rarely have any break at all over the next few years if he also played the IPL.

Harry Brook was banned because he wasted time energy and money of IPL organizers and the Team which purchased him, by adding his name in the auction and running away twice in two years.

Very clearly he doesn't have cohones required to play the IPL so slithered away like the scaredy cat that he is.

All you have to do is see his latest performances in India and realized he knew he was going to fail badly so ran away.

:afridi

Brooks didn't pullout because of any personal problem. BCCI is always flexible in case some emergency but not in the Harry brooks case. He deserve forever ban from IPL not just 2 year.

For siraj ot was ban kar kei to dekho, For Brooks its forever ban?

Itni nafrat?

He will be a sitting duck in most IPL games against spin bowling and specially expect for maybe Hyderabad and Bengaluru flat tracks. Career would have been over sooner. Good decision.

Let him Play international cricket bash teams like Pak, WI, SL, Ban etc and earn some confidence. Still a young man.

Brook already made enough money in his first IPL outing. But this rule will ensure others don't make the same mistake.

It’s better for him and domestic cricket in England, I’d like to see him focus more on red ball cricket over the next few years. IPL cricket is not going anywhere it will always be at his mercy.

No ,IPL Team will think twice before buying Brook Even after 2 year ban .

He has pullout twice now at the Last moment from the IPL .

This is most likely end of his IPL career.

Which is the high tier league then?

His last resort was that India didn't win a T20 WC ever since IPL started but it got smashed last year and now poor guy has nowhere to hide now. :ROFLMAO:

You can expect many more of these comments in the near future.

Any young cricketer who aspires to play for their nation should be prioritising international cricket over league cricket.

The Leagues (whether IPL, PSL, BBL or whatever) should prioritise selecting older players, players that are nearing retirement and those that are looking to bump up their pension pot.

This way the experienced players can impart their knowledge to the younger domestic players (whichever is hosting the tournament) and it keeps international cricket, particularly test cricket, alive for a little bit longer.

Brook should be commended as he has (rightly) prioritised representing his country over a the financial rewards of a domestic franchise league.
It is, of course, easier for English and Australian players to do this, as the contracts they receive from their boards are lucrative.

The fact that he has behaved with a degree of disregard to the IPL is a reflection of what he sees it as -- merely a means of padding his bank balance; no more than that.

Ultimately, as a top player, when you look back at your career, you will not remember the titles and plaudits you won in foreign domestic competitions, but rather the events you won as an international player representing your country.

Brook should be commended as he has (rightly) prioritised representing his country over a the financial rewards of a domestic franchise league.
It is, of course, easier for English and Australian players to do this, as the contracts they receive from their boards are lucrative.

The fact that he has behaved with a degree of disregard to the IPL is a reflection of what he sees it as -- merely a means of padding his bank balance; no more than that.

Ultimately, as a top player, when you look back at your career, you will not remember the titles and plaudits you won in foreign domestic competitions, but rather the events you won as an international player representing your country.
Too much imagination. If he really had that much "disregard" he should have submitted his name for auction. He did twice in a row. May be he was expecting like 1 million which he didn't get. Understandably. Give his struggles in India even this was too much money for him.

Harry brook salary is 500000 pounds per year to play tests and LOI

It’s good enough so he doesn’t need ipl. With bonuses could go up to a million.

Sure he can earn more in ipl to play in an easy format but he doesn’t need to

He earns enough.
I am not sure if Brook is sure of this.

Because he did sign up for the draft, got drafted and played a season. Then signed up again for the big auction and got drafted. But now he does not want to play. Confusing if he wants $$$ or not.

Anyway, all of this is just drama. Brook will want to play IPL again. IPL will draft Brook again. Brook will play in the IPL again.

Why did he choose to rest up just because he could become captain? Why would he not rest up for a series just as a Eng. player?

Let's be real, he was absolutely going to play IPL before he heard about potential captaincy. No question about it.

Does rest for a series only matter if you are captain?

I have heard that taxation is too much in UK. He will receive hardly 30% of IPL salary after deduction of ECB share and taxes. That explains why most English players pull out from IPL. They gotta survive two months of difficult hot weather in India, lots of travel fatigue. It's not worth it.

Not sure if he has made much $$$ in the IPL. He only played one season if I am right.

It’s his choice, he wanted to put to his name for auction and then pull out he has the right to do the same and prioritise his time.

I’m sure he doesn’t care about 2 season ban ..but it’s just that the time and analysis of IPL teams is wasted, and for that 2 season ban is appropriate. They will definitely have backup plans.

No ,IPL Team will think twice before buying Brook Even after 2 year ban .

He has pullout twice now at the Last moment from the IPL .

This is most likely end of his IPL career.

It’s always there they are at his mercy need a player like that in their league this is why they just reacted in a **** hurt manner

I have heard that taxation is too much in UK. He will receive hardly 30% of IPL salary after deduction of ECB share and taxes. That explains why most English players pull out from IPL. They gotta survive two months of difficult hot weather in India, lots of travel fatigue. It's not worth it.
Ooh Tariffss lol I think its worth for them when its over a Million

Overseas so far

Birmingham Phoenix

Boult, Southee, Milne ( All NZ affair) do they have NZ coach?

London spirit

Kane williamson, David warner, Ashton Turner

Manchester originals

Klassen, Noor, Rachin

Northern Superchargers

David Miller, Mitch Santner, Ben Dwarshuis

Oval Invincibes

Rashid KHan, DOnovan Ferreira, Jason Behrendorff

Southern Brave

Faf, Finn Allen, Michael Bracewell

Trent Rockets

Marcus Stoinis, Lockie Ferguson, George Linde

Welsh Fire

Steve Smith, Chris Green, RIley Meredith

looking at the squads NZ dominates the overseas quota followed by Australia and SA. No West Indian, No Pakistanis, NO Srilankans, No Bangladeshis, No Indians ;) Just 2 afghanistan players.

Not sure if he has made much $$$ in the IPL. He only played one season if I am right.
Brook was bought for the first time by Sunrisers Hyderabad for ₹ 13.25 crore (about £1,300,000 at 2023 exchange rates).srh never spent that much on a new player .they were in a completely mess by his inability to play spin and Lara's failure as coach.

Pakistan cost SRH massively lol Brook was an exclusive pakistan bully at that time when he was picked up in that auction.

BCCI should've been cleverer with the wording here .. 'ban' gives off the wrong vibe; they should have said Brook is ineligible for the next two years due to the last minute pullout.

Well done, Brook.

English cricketers generally don't bootlick India. I like that about them.

Ban is required as it will weaken the team and planning..Lot of money and effort of franchisee is involved and player has responsibilities if he has listed his name at auction..Brook missed the train and its bad situation for him and the team involved and cricket lovers too...

I think cricket boards should stop issuing NOCs for IPL, unless BCCI allows Indian players to play in other leagues. :inti

Just to make things fairer.

I think cricket boards should stop issuing NOCs for IPL, unless BCCI allows Indian players to play in other leagues. :inti

Just to make things fairer.

Some may say players can just go freelance if boards stop issuing NOCs. I disagree with that view. Not all players can afford to do that as IPL only sign a limited number of players.

Anyway, Brook should see this IPL ban as a blessing. It is an opportunity for him to focus on his international career. :inti

Some may say players can just go freelance if boards stop issuing NOCs. I disagree with that view. Not all players can afford to do that as IPL only sign a limited number of players.

Anyway, Brook should see this IPL ban as a blessing. It is an opportunity for him to focus on his international career. :inti
He can still play in some other leagues if he wants but I think his focus is mainly playing and performing for England at the moment.

Well, we have seen Cummings, Starc, Stokes et al, try the no IPL thing to various degrees. But we all know what happened. Given that, I do not have too much faith in Brook doing this whole "I reject the IPL" thing.

It is highly likely that Brook puts his hand up for auction in 2027. Or more like 2028 as he has been banned until then.

Well, we have seen Cummings, Starc, Stokes et al, try the no IPL thing to various degrees. But we all know what happened. Given that, I do not have too much faith in Brook doing this whole "I reject the IPL" thing.

It is highly likely that Brook puts his hand up for auction in 2027. Or more like 2028 as he has been banned until then.
Yes, this is likely to happen.

Not sure why’s this such a big discussion point - some people are defending HB like family, some behaving like Abdullah in begaane ki shaadi, while others are defending BCCI like it’s going to shut IPL down.

HB belatedly decided he wanted to rest up to bolster his performances for England, while BCCI enforced their rule of banning him for 2 years. Not sure why’s this such it’s such a big deal for some!

England cricketers Moeen Ali and Adil Rashid have expressed support towards Board of Control for Cricket in India's (BCCI) decision to ban Harry Brook following his last-minute pull-out ahead of the IPL 2025.

Moeean Ali:

“It’s not harsh. I kind of agree with it, in a way, because a lot of people do that, A lot of people have done it in the past, and then they come back in and they end up getting a better financial package, or whatever it is. And he kind of messes a lot of things up as well at the same time”, Moeen said on ‘Beard Before Cricket’ podcast.

“I mean, it’s messed his team up, obviously, by pulling out. Any team that loses Harry Brook is messed up a bit, and they’ve got to now rejig everything and stuff like that. Forget him for a second, but if you do pull out, the rule is that you get a ban unless it’s for family reasons or… due to injury or something. If it’s injury or something, it’s different. But I think if you just pull out, then it’s… I kind of agree with the teams. You actually mess a lot of stuff up. He’s a top player. They’ve probably picked the team around him, and then all of a sudden, you’re pulling out,”

Adil Rashid:

“They actually put that rule in place before, and then this happened. So, you know when you’re going in, this is the rule. So when you put your name in, you know if you pull out, this is going to happen. So you know the consequences of it. So I don’t think it’s harsh, No, but if you pull out and you have, like you say, an injury or whatever, then I think that’s where something like the rules may differ or change in that way,” Rashid said.

“Not just him (Harry Brook), but… But this has been going on for, I don’t know, for a little while, I reckon. Mo (Moeen Ali) has been in the IPL a lot longer, but in the past probably five, ten years, a lot of players have been selected generally and have pulled out. So that’s why they’re trying to stop it that way,”

England cricketers Moeen Ali and Adil Rashid have expressed support towards Board of Control for Cricket in India's (BCCI) decision to ban Harry Brook following his last-minute pull-out ahead of the IPL 2025.

Moeean Ali:

“It’s not harsh. I kind of agree with it, in a way, because a lot of people do that, A lot of people have done it in the past, and then they come back in and they end up getting a better financial package, or whatever it is. And he kind of messes a lot of things up as well at the same time”, Moeen said on ‘Beard Before Cricket’ podcast.

“I mean, it’s messed his team up, obviously, by pulling out. Any team that loses Harry Brook is messed up a bit, and they’ve got to now rejig everything and stuff like that. Forget him for a second, but if you do pull out, the rule is that you get a ban unless it’s for family reasons or… due to injury or something. If it’s injury or something, it’s different. But I think if you just pull out, then it’s… I kind of agree with the teams. You actually mess a lot of stuff up. He’s a top player. They’ve probably picked the team around him, and then all of a sudden, you’re pulling out,”

Adil Rashid:

“They actually put that rule in place before, and then this happened. So, you know when you’re going in, this is the rule. So when you put your name in, you know if you pull out, this is going to happen. So you know the consequences of it. So I don’t think it’s harsh, No, but if you pull out and you have, like you say, an injury or whatever, then I think that’s where something like the rules may differ or change in that way,” Rashid said.

“Not just him (Harry Brook), but… But this has been going on for, I don’t know, for a little while, I reckon. Mo (Moeen Ali) has been in the IPL a lot longer, but in the past probably five, ten years, a lot of players have been selected generally and have pulled out. So that’s why they’re trying to stop it that way,”
They should get Moeen Ali as replacement

Indians crying over this is funny 🤣🤣🤣
The absolute irony and projection of this comment is hilarious, I only see indian fans making light hearted jokes while Pak and Bangla fans are crying and whining on behalf of an English player.

images

Overseas so far

Birmingham Phoenix

Boult, Southee, Milne ( All NZ affair) do they have NZ coach?

London spirit

Kane williamson, David warner, Ashton Turner

Manchester originals

Klassen, Noor, Rachin

Northern Superchargers

David Miller, Mitch Santner, Ben Dwarshuis

Oval Invincibes

Rashid KHan, DOnovan Ferreira, Jason Behrendorff

Southern Brave

Faf, Finn Allen, Michael Bracewell

Trent Rockets

Marcus Stoinis, Lockie Ferguson, George Linde

Welsh Fire

Steve Smith, Chris Green, RIley Meredith

looking at the squads NZ dominates the overseas quota followed by Australia and SA. No West Indian, No Pakistanis, NO Srilankans, No Bangladeshis, No Indians ;) Just 2 afghanistan players.
Afghans are basically Central Asians with lighter tone. Only brownie is the kiwi Rachin Ravindra.
Correct me if I have missed anything.

Bit strange to see Brook miss out on this. He is probably next in line for captaincy and the next T20 WC is in the subcontinent. His game is already a bit suspect against spin so IPL would have been the ideal practice for the World Cup.

Harry Brook was purchased for $730,000 for the 2025 IPL Season. That's pretty good money. However a theory they are stating is that he was unhappy with his price and wanted atleast $2 million. With so many other T-20 leagues propping up i.e. SA T-20, IL T20, Big Bash, MLC T20, the player can now decide whether it is worth spending 2.5 months in India especially if he is unhappy at the price he got?

You don't look at this like that. If you do well you are set for life. Franchisee will retain you for several years. That is how guys like Warner, Narine became uber rich by doing well for one franchise

Brook was worth more...he was disappointed I believe

$730,000 is not chump change. I believe he gets $2 million from the ECB every year. $730,000 for 2 months of work is pretty good. Plus he gets to play all the other T-20 leagues around the world as well. In the end the IPL has now banned him for 2 years and a lot of IPL Franchise owners own teams in the ILT20, SAT20, MLC and Hundred therefore he has burnt more bridges than he anticipated.