Harsh on Sami Aslam to be dropped for the tour of the West Indies?

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-partner="tweetdeck"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Harsh on Sami Aslam. Looked a good prospect in England & now a few months later he's dropped from the Test squad <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/WIvPAK?src=hash">#WIvPAK</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Cricket?src=hash">#Cricket</a></p>— Saj Sadiq (@Saj_PakPassion) <a href="https://twitter.com/Saj_PakPassion/status/849613902899970048">April 5, 2017</a></blockquote>

not a good decision by any means, Shan Masood is likely gonna end up like Faisal Iqbal.
Sami has a bright future, I hope he doesn't give up and work hard in the first class and get selected again.

Guess his dad didnt dream hard enough for him.

Should english lesson, it will probably help

I am so livid right now, he is one of the best talents

Sami is the brightest star we have after Babar. I'm dead serious. He is the beacon of our hopes. Pathetic decision by Inzi. But what can he do when there are snakes in the board? Where is the patriotism by Shan man?!

needs to learn from Junaid Zia

Sami has some flaws to iron out but those runs he scored in England were gold and he has that one quality openers for pakistan have lacked for over a decade! he knows where his damn off stump is! the rest we could have figured out with love and support whilst elevating him from within the set up where progression is a lot more likely but they dump him in the bin, the rest of the squad is fine by me but this was a big mistake.

Poor guy makes runs on the tough tours. Now is his time to make merry and gets dropped. While same old TTFs get the nice easy tour to lay their claim again. Just twisted.

God. Was he pathetic or what.. But hey, at least we never had to see him after that debut series. The quicker Shan realises he is not cut out for international cricket, the better.

same excuses were used back then : He is the fittest player in Pakistan, he is educated and a really nice polite guy.

Note im not against people from privileged upbringings playing for Pakistan, thats insane. In the current team guys like Riaz and Shezhad are both from well off familes, but at least they have domestic performances to back them up at the very least.

Shan averages 34 in first class, is not getting any younger and most importantly has been brutally exposed to such an extent i felt sorry for him in enland.

as harsh as it is you have to call it from what it is

Fun Fact: Shan Masood scored only 436 at an average of 36.33 in the last QeA trophy.

same excuses were used back then : He is the fittest player in Pakistan, he is educated and a really nice polite guy.

Note im not against people from privileged upbringings playing for Pakistan, thats insane. In the current team guys like Riaz and Shezhad are both from well off familes, but at least they have domestic performances to back them up at the very least.

Agreed. Fitness holds a lot of importance and all these guys from educated backgrounds seem to really be on international level fitness. Another example is some guy in PIA squad.

Anyway, just to let you know, Shehzad is not from a well off family. Maybe not as bad as some guys like Anwar Ali or Abdul Razzaq, but he was lower middle class. While Riaz was just middle class. Shan Masood is not even upper middle class, this guy is from the elites of Pakistan - which is why he has connections in the board probably.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-partner="tweetdeck"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Harsh on Sami Aslam. Looked a good prospect in England & now a few months later he's dropped from the Test squad <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/WIvPAK?src=hash">#WIvPAK</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Cricket?src=hash">#Cricket</a></p>— Saj Sadiq (@Saj_PakPassion) <a href="https://twitter.com/Saj_PakPassion/status/849613902899970048">April 5, 2017</a></blockquote>

He doesnt speak good enough english and isnt seen as future captaincy material like shan Masood!

I guess pakistan has to fulfill the useless quota in the sqaud :facepalm:

Agreed. Fitness holds a lot of importance and all these guys from educated backgrounds seem to really be on international level fitness. Another example is some guy in PIA squad.

Anyway, just to let you know, Shehzad is not from a well off family. Maybe not as bad as some guys like Anwar Ali or Abdul Razzaq, but he was lower middle class. While Riaz was just middle class. Shan Masood is not even upper middle class, this guy is from the elites of Pakistan - which is why he has connections in the board probably.

its not vauage connections his dad sits on the board. Its a gross conflict of Interest even if Shan was the best player in Pakistan.

thanks for the correction on the others though

Disappointed with this decision by the selectors. Look we can argue the toss about scoring rates but as mentioned above - Sami Aslam is one of the very few Pakistani Test openers I've seen that knows his off-stump.

If the team management wants someone more dynamic - Shan Masood and Ahmed Shehzad are hardly much better and their techniques against swing/seam has been exposed time and again.

Now I don't think Shan Masood will actually start a Test, Shehzad is more likely to play all three, but neither fill me with confidence. I hope Sami Aslam performs well in front of the cameras at the Pakistan Cup and proves this exclusion wrong.

Disappointed with this decision by the selectors. Look we can argue the toss about scoring rates but as mentioned above - Sami Aslam is one of the very few Pakistani Test openers I've seen that knows his off-stump.

If the team management wants someone more dynamic - Shan Masood and Ahmed Shehzad are hardly much better and their techniques against swing/seam has been exposed time and again.

Now I don't think Shan Masood will actually start a Test, Shehzad is more likely to play all three, but neither fill me with confidence. I hope Sami Aslam performs well in front of the cameras at the Pakistan Cup and proves this exclusion wrong.

I'm far from pro shezhad buts isane to clump him togther with Shan.

Shezhad will probably fail overseas, but he is a good FTB in tests to get some scores at a relatively decent pace, something that Shan can never do

Really beacon of hopes??? Shan got selected because of his Abba and secondly his list A performance and who knows may be Sami isn't in a good knick or something..

Good decision. Watching Sami bat is a snoozefest. 20 runs off 120 balls!!! That's ridiculous.

Still can't forget that selfish innings he played at the Oval Test to ensure he stayed not out when chasing a target of 40

Really beacon of hopes??? Shan got selected because of his Abba and secondly his list A performance and who knows may be Sami isn't in a good knick or something..

Man, Sami Aslam was highly regarded by every legend of the game in the Eng series. His technique was the best in the entire Pakistan squad. He should have been given more confidence.

I'm far from pro shezhad buts isane to clump him togther with Shan.

Shezhad will probably fail overseas, but he is a good FTB in tests to get some scores at a relatively decent pace, something that Shan can never do

Shehzad can score at a good pace against second-rate bowling attacks playing in his comfort zone, but the moment any half-thinking captain cuts off his main scoring areas his innings grinds to a halt and is inevitably dismissed.

I agree he is better than Shan Masood but neither are good enough long-term for Test cricket.

Aslam showed the aptitude and technique for Test cricket but we've needlessly destabilised the opening position by dropping him. Its also a shame Imam-ul-Haq got injured as one would've thought he could've been a reserve opener.

When we worry about player development this is what we mean: this is the second time he has been dropped in such a short career

This is not just Harsh, but criminal... He is one of the best, if not the best at taking shine of new ball, why in the world you snub him?? - Even teams like AUS/SA/ENG/NZ/IND would not drop such a guy, who has such a solid defense... He only had one or two bad tests in AUS and you throw him out, very harsh and unjustifiable... No wonder Pakistan cannot hold on to batsman... They did something similar to UA 7/8 years back for opposite reasons(too flamboyant), I have no respect in the judgment of think tank when it comes to batting :acp:

I am very disappointed at whole think tank (Misbah, Mickey and Inzi), they are suppose to know batting :facepalm:

I feel sorry for the Pakistanis, I really do. Sami Aslam being dropped is almost the same as dropping someone of Babar Azams or Shadab Khans stature. I haven't seen a Pakistani opener bat the way he did in NZ/England since Saeed Anwar.

Probably the most retard3d decision made by the Pakistani higher ups since introducing the Akmal brothers to international cricket.

Man, Sami Aslam was highly regarded by every legend of the game in the Eng series. His technique was the best in the entire Pakistan squad. He should have been given more confidence.

Frankly English wickets last summer were comparatively easier than they used to be so cant say much about that I rate him highly too but he is way too young and he shouldnt have been selected for Aus and NZ tour ... but this is Pakistan..

Come on Inzi, what are you doing! Even when Sami Aslam doesnt score a lot, he still consumes plenty of deliveries helping in taking the shine off the new ball which is mostly what saves the rest of the batting order. Bring back Sami whose technique is much more sound compared to Shan Masood who was found out in previous Tests.

A little off topic but happy that Hafeez didnt make the squad otherwise that would be double disaster lol

Its just a terrible decision.

You can argue about his strike rate all you want.

But at least he is still out on the pitch while others are in the hut with faster strike rates.

Terrible decision to drop Sami aslam. Hope it backfires and spoils MISBAHs retirement to finish on a high note.

pak and PCB deserve a 3-0 whitewash against WI for dropping Sami aslam.

Its just a terrible decision.

You can argue about his strike rate all you want.

But at least he is still out on the pitch while others are in the hut with faster strike rates.

He has played nearly 1000 balls as an opener in the six tests he played in eng,nzl and aus. He blunts the new ball as an opener, if he wasn't there in aus Younus and Misbah would have faced more embarrassment not scoring anything. Pak would have collapsed many times under 100 and 150.

Next we will see babar being dropped from the 11 and Azhar at no.3 to give chance for shehzad and Masood as openers. PCB simply fantastic.

What a pathetic decision from the revolutionary Inzimam.. Goes on to show that how pathetic selector he is !

Another career ruined but he will make a comeback in 2023 just like Salahudin did after 2011

If we're dropping players on the back of a bad Australia tour then there'd hardly be any Pakistani cricketers left.

When i pionted out that Samil looked poor at the crease, people laughed and said that i didn't know the game. Sami needs to work on his game. He needs to find the right balance between attack and defence and lately he hasn't done that. In many ways Shan is similar and tbh neither is any good.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">First, accept sadness. Realize that without losing, winning isn't so great.</p>— Sami Aslam (@Samiaslam999) <a href="https://twitter.com/Samiaslam999/status/849673306936672256">April 5, 2017</a></blockquote>

:13:

The Kid grinded out 3 tough tours, but he should have cashed in hard when he was given the opportunity to do so. This is exactly what happened with Umar Akmal, he didnt perform when the conditions were not as difficult where he was failing regularly

Unfair on sami. He batted so well in england didnt deserve to get dropped.

Shan masood isnt bad but if he cant bat in overseas conditions then whats the point, its like carrying around another hafeez

And this is how we ruin players.

What have some of the others done to deserve selection?

Terrible decision!

Shan Masood is in no way better than Sami Aslam as a test opener. So Masood got dropped when the tough tours came and is now picked again for the easy tour to get some runs.

The Kid grinded out 3 tough tours, but he should have cashed in hard when he was given the opportunity to do so. This is exactly what happened with Umar Akmal, he didnt perform when the conditions were not as difficult where he was failing regularly

But its not that we have other better options. Masood hasnt done anything to be picked ahead of Aslam. Aslam is a long term prospect for our test side.

Finally after a couple of decades we have an opener who can leave the ball and we pick a fisherman in his place. I have no problems with Masood but in no world he is a better test batsman than Aslam.

God. Was he pathetic or what.. But hey, at least we never had to see him after that debut series. The quicker Shan realises he is not cut out for international cricket, the better.

he can score in sub-continent
his knock with yonis khan in record chasing run chase against srilanka was great example.
in place like england he have Zero chance to survive even 5 overs.

Very, very harsh.

Feel for the guy and the guy he replaced initially has only made it back because of certain links.

he can score in sub-continent
his knock with yonis khan in record chasing run chase against srilanka was great example.
in place like england he have Zero chance to survive even 5 overs.

I dont how that happened, but freak innings do occur, i still remember Farhat 'edge' 100 vs NZ.

The real test is how you go overall and shan has been disimal, forget about England, he was getting bounced out and hit on the head by anderson in the UAE.

If we want an FTB shezhad is a far better option in every way bar english and dad's dream

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-partner="tweetdeck"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">A TV report says Sami Aslam has been dropped from the Test squad after team management raided his room & caught him eating chicken karahi &#55356;&#57175;</p>— Saj Sadiq (@Saj_PakPassion) <a href="https://twitter.com/Saj_PakPassion/status/849696247330091008">April 5, 2017</a></blockquote>

Look forward to Kamran's room being raided and his subsequent dropping if this is really our new policy...

...or is chicken only haram for youngsters? :13:

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-partner="tweetdeck"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">A TV report says Sami Aslam has been dropped from the Test squad after team management raided his room & caught him eating chicken karahi ��</p>— Saj Sadiq (@Saj_PakPassion) <a href="https://twitter.com/Saj_PakPassion/status/849696247330091008">April 5, 2017</a></blockquote>

They are still living a life they should at least be able to eat what they want from time to time, and he is not even close to being fat.

Sami Aslam is still young and can come back but he was too defensive and when he got out, he gave the impression that he was out of form. But the sad thing is that all the guys are pretty poor and it is much of muchness.

If they replaced Sami with a solid young opener I would not mind so much, but replacing him with Ahmed Shehzad and Shan Masood is ridiculous.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">First, accept sadness. Realize that without losing, winning isn't so great.</p>— Sami Aslam (@Samiaslam999) <a href="https://twitter.com/Samiaslam999/status/849673306936672256">April 5, 2017</a></blockquote>

:13:

Kehna kya chahtay hain yeh? :danish

Only decision I don't agree with. Sami is much more superior to Masood.

Extremely harsh decision, considering that the man replaced him at SCG is not considered. I am not sure if he played in Patron's trophy or not, but after investing in 3 tough series, he should have been there. Only blemish in this squad by IuH.

Could be a blessing as well - in few months time, couple of slots in middle order is opening; one will be covered by Azhar, other probably by Haris; which allows one opening slot free to grab. It should be a good fight between Sami, Imam & Ahmed for 2 spots.

Only harsh part, if true is this kid is dropped for Chicken Karai; when KAkmal is travelling with full size goat in his bread basket - that too in LOs....

Kehna kya chahtay hain yeh? :danish

This is wisdom beyond years actually.

He is trying to say he has accepted he is sad.

Then the killer line.

There is no greater pleasure in winning until you have tasted defeat.

If you are winning all the time you don't know what it feels like to actually win.

It's a very common thought process.

He who has never lost, does not really know what a win is.

Ridiculous, especially when you take in the fact that Shan has replaced him.

Saw it coming though, after seeing his name in the Pakistan Cup squads.

So, Sami Aslam actually SAVES Pakistan on 3 tough tours AWAY!

And now is his chance to cash in and play against weak opposition. Pathetic Inzi drops him!!!!!!

Look guys. Shan Masood isn't even upper class.

He's what you call THE ELITE CLASS. As someone said above.

He's just fulfilling his elite dad's dream here.

I feel so bad right now for Sami. He's become yet another victim of nepotism and not having connections.

I really do hope Misbah gets the karma and ends up on a low this series. He should've spoken for his BEST opener who saved the team AWAY.

And now is his chance to cash in and play against weak opposition. Pathetic Inzi drops him!!!!!!

I feel so bad right now for Sami. He's become yet another victim of nepotism and not having connections.

I really do hope Misbah gets the karma and ends up on a low this series. He should've spoken for his BEST opener who saved the team AWAY.

You change like autumn leaves.

A while ago you were saying you hope Misbah will go out on a high against West Indies because that's what he deserves.

Shan will warm the bench expecting this

Azhar
Shehzad
Babar
YK
Misbah
Shafiq
Sarfraz
Yasir
Wahab
Amir
Hassan

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">A TV report says Sami Aslam has been dropped from the Test squad after team management raided his room & caught him eating chicken karahi &#55356;&#57175;</p>— Saj Sadiq (@Saj_PakPassion) <a href="https://twitter.com/Saj_PakPassion/status/849696247330091008">April 5, 2017</a></blockquote>

Terrible,terrible decision.This is how we treat future prospects?He wasn't even the worst batsman from the Oz tour.2 batsmen who performed even worse are in the squad.

Poor guy, while Babar Azam carries on, despite not performing for 10 innings straight...

Nice idea, give him an easy Windies series to cement his place as a no.3 for Pakistan...

While also trying to reinvigorate Shehzad and Masood..

Leave the difficult foreign tours to the batsman like Aslam, so that when we lose, they can be made a scapegoat..

Guy was removed after his second test match in Aussie in place of a spot fixer...

Shabaash hai

You change like autumn leaves.

A while ago you were saying you hope Misbah will go out on a high against West Indies because that's what he deserves.

Everyone here knows I respect Misbah.

But I can't agree with him on this decision, if he did not protest over this.

Dr bhai sahab, you mean, things and circumstances don't change? :)))

Everyone here knows I respect Misbah.

But I can't agree with him on this decision, if he did not protest over this.

Dr bhai sahab, you mean, things and circumstances don't change? :)))

They can.

But one wrong decision shouldn't change your thoughts on why he shouldn't retire on a high.

I was against him continuing blatantly.

But even I hope he retires on a high no matter what the blunders he has made in the past.

This is how you get rid of young batsmen, let them fail in tough conditions so the ttfs can make comeback against easier sides (like Windies nowadays)

Needs to improve his english and also get a family member a job in PCB to gain a recall.

Oh damn, how did I forget about him? He should have been there instead of Shan. Shehzad and Aslam as opener. The guy got some runs in England, a century I think and a 90 odd against NZ.

I'm gguilty for forgetting about him. This kid looked like the first genuinely good opener Pak has had in years.

Not harsh. Selfishness cannot be tolerated, you have to play for the team. Sami became to obsessed with with his stats and evolved into the latest stroke-less wonder. Yes he is better than Masood, but he doesn't deserve to be in the playing XI so I am not too fused over him not carrying drinks and towels. He needs to learn to put the team above everything if he wants to be recalled in the near future.

[MENTION=134608]Hawkeye[/MENTION] bhai, Arthur has only eyes for one player : that is the blue eyed baby boy of Pakistan cricket Babar Azam...

who has yet to perform in 10 innings but is the first name on the playing sheet..

Anyone who is short, compact, attritional will never play a cover drive like the former can

Compare him to Aslam, who have 7 failiures and was dropped for the 3rd test match vs the Aussie in place of a convicted spot fixer Sharjeel Khan..

You will get the idea how the lucky stars are all shining on Babar

You could show a highlight reel of Shan Masood's dismissals in England to someone and they wouldn't be able to differentiate one from the other. This guy has zero technique, zero talent and zero ability to make it as a batsman.

Sami may have been selfish from time to time as few people pointed out but he's still immensely talented, technically sound and just 21. Proper grooming could make him an excellent test batsman.

I think he needed to have a talk with the coach and team management about how he approaches the game, but a drop was not in order.

No, not playing selfish cricket would suffice.

I wouldnt call it selfish cricket! the guy puts a price on his wicket atleast, something most of our other batsmen dont do! He just needs to learn to rotate strike more and score a little quicker at age he is he can still improve!

I like sami but he deserved the boot. looked completely clueless in Australia as if he was a tailender. I thought he was very good in England but he followed up very poorly. needs to learn to score but just being at the crease will not win many matches for his team. we need to win games not only draw them. but saying that shan did not deserve that spot either. should have given another domestic performer a chance because shan is not cut out for international cricket. he looked completely clueless in England, where he was studying

As much as I had been turned off by Sami's game during the NZ/Aus series, he did not deserve to be dropped for freaking Shan Masood of all people !!! Inzi bhai kya kardiya! :facepalm:

Shehzad's return to the test squad is pleasing to see as he was doing quite well before being dropped for "disciplinary" issues. Should open with Azhar. I swear Shan better not play ahead of Shehzad else ....