Has Hafeez 3.0 emerged as Pakistan's biggest batting match winner since Inzamam and Afridi?

This was always in danger of happening.

Now Pakistan are stuck with Mr. Mediocre until the back-to-back World T20s. While the replacement younger batsman languishes without anybody in the world knowing of him.

If they have any luck, they might still get to boot out Malik.

Hafeez 1.0 and 2.0 were talents wasted by PCB's mismanagement.

Hafeez 3.0 needs to wrapped in cotton wool. He doesn't deserve the unfair treatment meted out to his predecessors.

This was always in danger of happening.

Now Pakistan are stuck with Mr. Mediocre until the back-to-back World T20s. While the replacement younger batsman languishes without anybody in the world knowing of him.

If they have any luck, they might still get to boot out Malik.

If the prof keeps getting those fifties he can be a as mediocre as he wants :hafeez

#Professor3.0!

Very well deserved MOTS to Hafeez 3.0.

This version of him is arguably the finest j have ever seen of a Pakistani LOI batsman. It's up there with Saeed Anwar in mid 19

Most Man of the Match awards in T20Is:

Virat Kohli/Mohammad Nabi 12
Shahid Afridi 11
Mohammad Hafeez/Rohit Sharma 10

Most Man of the Series awards in T20Is:

Virat Kohli 5
Mohammad Hafeez 4

:moha :moha :moha

Hafeez batted very well, and he has earned a spot in the next T20 World Cup. However the number of seniors needs to be limited, and as he is going to be on the squad, Malik and Ifthkar should be dropped. At minimum from the starting 11.

Iftikhar is a senior only by face.

Hafeez deserves a place in both ODI and T20 teams. Heck, he's the biggest match winner for Pak in white ball cricket currently. Even better than Babar in that aspect.

Pak fans should brace for another 44 year old match winner after :misbah for the next 5 years.

Hafeez deserves a place in both ODI and T20 teams. Heck, he's the biggest match winner for Pak in white ball cricket currently. Even better than Babar in that aspect.

Pak fans should brace for another 44 year old match winner after :misbah for the next 5 years.

Because he was chucking before. Thats why he got so many MoM awards.

He needs to quit after the T20 World Cup.

Because he was chucking before. Thats why he got so many MoM awards.

He needs to quit after the T20 World Cup.

I said "currently". That is Hafeez, the specialist batsman at no.4. Nothing to do with his bowling.

Right now he's your second best batsman in white ball cricket and probably the biggest match winner with the bat.

Hafeez >> Babar >> Shaheen >> Rest (by match winning ability)

I said "currently". That is Hafeez, the specialist batsman at no.4. Nothing to do with his bowling.

Right now he's your second best batsman in white ball cricket and probably the biggest match winner with the bat.

Hafeez >> Babar >> Shaheen >> Rest (by match winning ability)

The next ODI world cup is not until end of October 2023. He will be 43 officially then. Who knows how old he really is. But assuming his age is accurate, there is no way he can be effective by then.

He is 2-3 years older, I know it through a family friend who knew him since school. He's lied like many others when it comes to age

44 year old Misbah won a test match against England at Lords and almost won the series.

There's no reason to think a 40 year old Hafeez (with the form he's in ) will not do the same in the T20 WC for Pakistan.

But yeah, 2023 will be a bit of a stretch.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Great to see Pakistan end a tough tour on a high! Two great innings by <a href="https://twitter.com/MHafeez22?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@MHafeez22</a> and <a href="https://twitter.com/WahabViki?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@WahabViki</a> once again proved his T20 worth. Congratulations to Haider Ali for a fantastic and fearless start. He is a star in the making Inshallah</p>— Shahid Afridi (@SAfridiOfficial) <a href="https://twitter.com/SAfridiOfficial/status/1301048039335956480?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">September 2, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Great match and win for Pakistan.

Your wishes came true regarding Wahab Riaz also who bowled a terrific death over. In my opinion, probably the defining performance of the match.

He is not a match winner.

He failed at pivotal moments during the World Cup. His dismissal against Australia to Finch was awful. He kept getting out to part timers.

Meaningless T20I circus runs mean nothing when you've consistently flopped at the top level for years.

He is not a match winner.

He failed at pivotal moments during the World Cup. His dismissal against Australia to Finch was awful. He kept getting out to part timers.

Meaningless T20I circus runs mean nothing when you've consistently flopped at the top level for years.

Definitely agree . An average of 20 in 5 t20 world cups with a SR of 105 is an enormous sample tk suggest that he is not a big tournament player .

His achievements need to be considered looking at the bigger picture . He really should not be afforded another World Cup.

Definitely agree . An average of 20 in 5 t20 world cups with a SR of 105 is an enormous sample tk suggest that he is not a big tournament player .

His achievements need to be considered looking at the bigger picture . He really should not be afforded another World Cup.

You cannot use record of Hafeez 1.0 and Hafeez 2.0 to put down Hafeez 3.0

Agreed

Isnt their a t20 world cup in india 2021 and then 2022 in austrlia ?

44 year old Misbah won a test match against England at Lords and almost won the series.

There's no reason to think a 40 year old Hafeez (with the form he's in ) will not do the same in the T20 WC for Pakistan.

But yeah, 2023 will be a bit of a stretch.

Isnt thier a major even in india t20 world cup or something in 2021 and 2022 in austrlia

Many posters seem to be forgetting he can chuck it big time in the next world cup in a big game.That alone with his current batting form should get him a spot in the playing 11 for now plus we dont really have world beaters in the side barring a couple(can be argued)

Hafeez has been brilliant lately, but that doesn't change the fact that he averaged 17 in t20i over a 4 year period (2013-2017). At this point of his career, I'm skeptical of what he can deliver long term.

That said - he has clearly earned his place in the short term. But I hope selectors keep a tighter rope on him, if he doesn't perform he needs to be dropped, not selected in perpetuity because of his 'senior' status

Isnt their a t20 world cup in india 2021 and then 2022 in austrlia ?

Yes there are two , in October 2021 in India, and October 2022 in Australia.

Hafeez is going to be 42 officially for the 2022 World Cup. His real age per some posters here is a couple of years older. So he might in actuality be 44 for that World Cup.

So ideally he should retire after the India T20 World Cup.

Yes there are two , in October 2021 in India, and October 2022 in Australia.

Hafeez is going to be 42 officially for the 2022 World Cup. His real age per some posters here is a couple of years older. So he might in actuality be 44 for that World Cup.

So ideally he should retire after the India T20 World Cup.

The thing Is if he performs in the 21 in india he will most likely play in 22 in austrlia azwell due to the gap only being 1 year

Have we forgotten his performance in the CT finals? His innings as crucial and helped us get to the score we got. He played a hand in the later overs which no one else in the current team could or would have played.

He gets all the slack but for many years he was our best batsmen and was averaging mid 40’s for a long while.

You don't pick a player because he is "experienced" or he needs "to be developed".

You pick a player on Merit. Hafeez is good enough so he gets picked. It's not really not that difficult a concept.

Shoaib is still a solid T20 Player which is why he is picked. Shoaib however struggles in England iirc - So he should have sat this series out.

OP should keep it a bit subtle.

T-20 outside of WC is not meant for mid 40s players. It should be used for putting young players in middle.

You cannot use record of Hafeez 1.0 and Hafeez 2.0 to put down Hafeez 3.0

Hafeez 1.0 failed everywhere including 2007 & 2010 T20 WC.

But if you look closely, even Hafeez 2.0 was good in T20 WCs

He played 3 tournaments and performed in 2

In 2012
Against NZ, he scored 43 and bowled 4 tight overs conceding just 15 runs.

Against SA, his bowling figures were 4-0-23-2
Against Aus, his bowling figures were 4-0-22-2

Pakistan won these 3 important games and reached semis.

Then even in semis he performed. Bowled 2 overs for 12 runs and dismissed Sangakkara. Scored 42 with the bat but Pakistan got knocked out due to Jamshed, Kamran, Malik, Afridi who scored in single digit.

In 2016, he played only two matches where he scored 64 & 5* .

His only failure was in 2014 where almost everyone underperformed.

Ok this may anger a lot of posters but in my view Hafeez is a actually a better test batsman than a limited overs batsman. If he is in the form of his life then why does he not take back his test retirement? He cant do worse than our current lot?

His achilles heal SENA!! :broad

It might conflict with his free flowing LOI batting.

Match winning 67 off 35 today in the National T20 Cup. He’s definitely reinvented himself in this format...

The greatest LOI batter in the world right now.

It's his moment and I am glad he's getting due credit finally.

Hes getting credit becouse hes playing fearless cricket

Yes

How things have changed because i can never forget the day Hafeez as captain forgetting even the changes he made in his playing XI at the toss against India in 2013 T20 world Cup match. He looked so nervous that it was embarrassing and the the commentator had to comfort him, it was Ian Bishop or Rameez bhai I guess.

From them to this fearless Jatt image now, credit to him for turning it around.

Hafeez has played 9 world cups both t20 and 50 overs and he has only mustered an average of 27 with 3 50s .

These 9 world cups span a total of 17 years. We know all their is to know about Hafeez . He will go missing at the biggest stage like he has always done .

This 3.0 fearless Hafeez or whatever the terminology is that is being used is just plain foolish and ridiculous at the same time .

I mean seriously the guy has played 9 world cups and has such a poor record . It’s sad to see how people still support him.

Hafeez 1.0 failed everywhere including 2007 & 2010 T20 WC.

But if you look closely, even Hafeez 2.0 was good in T20 WCs

He played 3 tournaments and performed in 2

In 2012
Against NZ, he scored 43 and bowled 4 tight overs conceding just 15 runs.

Against SA, his bowling figures were 4-0-23-2
Against Aus, his bowling figures were 4-0-22-2

Pakistan won these 3 important games and reached semis.

Then even in semis he performed. Bowled 2 overs for 12 runs and dismissed Sangakkara. Scored 42 with the bat but Pakistan got knocked out due to Jamshed, Kamran, Malik, Afridi who scored in single digit.

In 2016, he played only two matches where he scored 64 & 5* .

His only failure was in 2014 where almost everyone underperformed.

Hafeez has never performed in a t20 World Cup . He averages 20 with a SR of 105 with 1 50 to show for .

How has Hafeez 2.0 performed in two world cups. ? Mate seriously you need to check the stats . In one of the world cups , think it was 2012 his SR was less than a 100.

Hafeez has never performed in a t20 World Cup . He averages 20 with a SR of 105 with 1 50 to show for .

How has Hafeez 2.0 performed in two world cups. ? Mate seriously you need to check the stats . In one of the world cups , think it was 2012 his SR was less than a 100.

Hafeez's issues have always been mental. He has had a good enough technique but he has always been an overthinker and an overanalyser of things; especially his batting.
He also lacked self belief which is why so many of his dismissals used to be softer than a marshmallow.

The hafeez 3.0 is actually a good label, because his Philosophy and approach to the game have definitely changed since 2018.
Before that he was never as consistently attacking in his style. His shots now have conviction and he chances his arm under pressure.
Sure, he may fail sometimes, but more often than not, he has been playing extremely impactful innings, which wasnt the case earlier in his career.

Hafeez has played 9 world cups both t20 and 50 overs and he has only mustered an average of 27 with 3 50s .

These 9 world cups span a total of 17 years. We know all their is to know about Hafeez . He will go missing at the biggest stage like he has always done .

This 3.0 fearless Hafeez or whatever the terminology is that is being used is just plain foolish and ridiculous at the same time .

I mean seriously the guy has played 9 world cups and has such a poor record . It’s sad to see how people still support him.

You cant drop a man who's in form weather hes old or not he deserves to be thier based on performance

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-partner="tweetdeck"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Mohammad Hafeez last 6 innings:<br><br>72* off 42 balls<br>67 off 35 balls<br>45 off 25 balls<br>6 off 6 balls<br>86* off 52 balls<br>69 off 36 balls<br><br>Strike rate of 176.02<br>Average of 86.25<a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Cricket?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#Cricket</a></p>— Saj Sadiq (@Saj_PakPassion) <a href="https://twitter.com/Saj_PakPassion/status/1313161589219037184?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">October 5, 2020</a></blockquote>

Averaging 120 overall in T20s this year (including PSL, Bangladesh, England, and NT20) at a SR of 156 :virat

Hafeez 35+ balls in T20s: 80% team win percentage
Hafeez 35+ balls in T20Is: 88% team win percentage

Imagine having so much hatred for a player that even seeing him score back-to-back fifties will not satisfy you ��

Keep it up Hafeez bhai we loving it

This.

People hate him for no reason. Those are the delusional bunch with no grasp on Pak cricket's reality.

Hafeez in fact has been our 2nd best T20 batsman in the last few years. First being Babar.

As long as he's delivering, he will be a vital part of our World T20 teams. Perhaps even Odis but not too confident there.

This.

People hate him for no reason. Those are the delusional bunch with no grasp on Pak cricket's reality.

Hafeez in fact has been our 2nd best T20 batsman in the last few years. First being Babar.

As long as he's delivering, he will be a vital part of our World T20 teams. Perhaps even Odis but not too confident there.

I feel he is looped in with Malik. Smart decision is to drop Malik and bring in Haider Ali at 3, keeping Hafeez at the number 4 position. Hafeez should aim for retirement after the 2021 T20 world cup.

Shouldn’t extend to 2022 — this should be used as practice and squad development for 2023.

The fact that we are now talking about Hafeez 3.0 as a new improves version shows his mediocrity in his career.

My issue with Hafeez is that he has hogged a place in 9 world cups , with very minimal output . An average of 26 with the bat in 9 world cups combined is a travesty for those who have missed out because of him. He has played 4-5 world cups to many .

Granted he is in form at the moment , but his record in ICC tournaments is no better than Kamran Akmals. I have no issue with his age, but he gets drafted into a squad on the basis of seniority and experience and then flatters to deceive at world cups and goes missing when needed the most.

Hafeez 3.0 was present at the 2019 World Cup . What did we get . An average of 32 with 1 50 and as the tournament progressed the more his performances diminished !

He does not deserve another World Cup and if he does play he will end up with a 20 average which is what he averages after 5 t20 world cups. This circus has carried on far to long .

Maybe then Hafeez 4.0 will emerge for the 2023 World Cup .

Hafeez 35+ balls in T20s: 80% team win percentage
Hafeez 35+ balls in T20Is: 88% team win percentage

Hafeez averages 20 after 5 t20 world cups with 1 50 and a SR of 105! That’s a total of 20 innings.
What a big time match player .

Hafeez averages 20 after 5 t20 world cups with 1 50 and a SR of 105! That’s a total of 20 innings.

Even in National T20, he’s the second highest run scorer right now and pounding bowlers left and right. The only other batsmen who have been really notable and worth taking to the T20 world cup are Haider Ali and Abdullah Shafiq.

Rohail comes in for Rizwan for a lack of options.

If I present to you this playing XI, who will you sub out Hafeez for?

1. Fakhar Zaman
2. Babar Azam (c)
3. Haider Ali
4. Mohammad Hafeez
5. Shadab Khan (vc)
6. Iftikhar Ahmed
7. Rohail Nazir (wk)
8. Imad Wasim
9. Wahab Riaz
10. Shaheen Afridi
11. Haris Rauf

I suppose if you drop Hafeez you can bump everyone up and fit Khushdil at 6. Otherwise I think this is the best possible squad for 2021.

In T20s he should definately be picked. Age is not so much a problem in T20s as other formats, and he's the best performing batsman for Pak

Hafeez needs to bat at 4 were his mind has one way of playing when he plays up the order he tries to consume to many balls then gets out recently hes batted at 4 were the rpo will be high and has to play one way if I was selector I'd use this team

Sharjeel best opener around
Babar
Haider
Hafeez
Zeeshan Ashraf
Shadab
Iftikhar/khsudhil
Imad
Wahab
Shaheen
Rauf

Back up
Rohail
Husnain
Qadir
Khushdil
Abdullah

Hafeez needs to bat at 4 were his mind has one way of playing when he plays up the order he tries to consume to many balls then gets out recently hes batted at 4 were the rpo will be high and has to play one way if I was selector I'd use this team

Sharjeel best opener around
Babar
Haider
Hafeez
Zeeshan Ashraf
Shadab
Iftikhar/khsudhil
Imad
Wahab
Shaheen
Rauf

Back up
Rohail
Husnain
Qadir
Khushdil
Abdullah

So we are going to give him another World Cup and let him bat at 4 this time. It’s just bizarre thinking . Get a youngster in and he will most likely do no worse than Hafeez and his average of 20 in 5 t20 World Cups .

Yes il play him at 4 like pakistan has done recently and performed well also he can bowl.

This a short term long term team rohail and abdullah will be in my team

Really sad days for Pakistan cricket when Hafeez and chacha Ifti are being talked about as the best white ball players we have going into 2021.

Hafeez in some ways has done an Imran Khan at the end of his career. When his bowling became non existent, he has really picked his game up with the bat.

The Game On Hai analysts made an interesting observation that Hafeez of late has become a lot smarter about his shot selection, finding gaps in the field, his scoring areas, knowing which bowlers to attack and focusing more on timing rather than brute force. I have observed his batting since 2018 and this is correct to a large extent

People make the mistake of focusing on Hafeez overall career stats, his stats should be broken down from 2003 to 2009 and film 2010 to now

Hafeez could have easily have failed to be effective post the 15 degree like Ajmal but he fought back and became more useful with the bat

People make the mistake of focusing on Hafeez overall career stats, his stats should be broken down from 2003 to 2009 and film 2010 to now
The truth is no matter how you break down his career he has remained ordinary excluding the last two to 3 years. From 2006 to 2018 he played 73 something innings and amassed only 1600 runs at average of 22 which is better than his world cup average of 20. And even those 22 runs did more harm to the team then better because in that time period in only 1 year did he average more than 30 or strike at more than 125(all the previous years he boasted a sr of less than 125). Only recently has he shown some form averaging more than 70 and striking at around 145 but can pakistan trust him to keep this up until the next two years.

Don’t forget to give me credit for all my motivational posts here on PakPassion over 18 years that has resulted in this new Hafeez 3.0 and the fist pumping celebrations on 50 :)

Yes il play him at 4 like pakistan has done recently and performed well also he can bowl.

He batted at 4 in the 2019 world cup and averaged 32 with one 50 in 8 innings. Do you classify that as performing well for a man in the team for his "experience ". ?

You also have failed to address that he averages 20 in 5 t20 world cups. By him batting at 4 is not going to change anything. He does not deserve another world cup .

This.

Exactly. I been one of his biggest critic especially in the T20 World Cup where he was captain I think he was batting well slow. I was well against him but he has upped his game recently and is a must in our limited overs team at the moment with the way he has been batting. I personally think he would had a much better career if he batted in the middle over from the start as his stroke play is excellent when on song.

MOM in WC QF 2011
MOM against eventual WC winners in 2019
MOM against AUS in 2016, the only match we won in AUS against AUS in the last 15 years
The player that gave Pakistan the balance to become number one test side.
Number one AR in 2011

The list goes on. The best part is how he improves himself especially at this age.

MOM in WC QF 2011
MOM against eventual WC winners in 2019
MOM against AUS in 2016, the only match we won in AUS against AUS in the last 15 years
The player that gave Pakistan the balance to become number one test side.
Number one AR in 2011

The list goes on. The best part is how he improves himself especially at this age.

Mohammad Hafeez

50 0ver world cups- x3
18 Matches
483 Runs
2 50s (only)
Average 28.41

T20 world cups- x5
matches 24
426 Runs
1 50 (only)
Average 20
SR 105.18.

In the 2012 and 14 T20 world cups he batted at SR of less than 100.

I can write a whole article on Hafeez and his failure in ICC tournaments. Those stats are truly shocking, yet people still support his inclusion in ICC tournaments based on a 5-6 performances in a 17 year career.

Truly sad.

I can't believe this is happening man!!!

How is he been playing this good. Specially when he's meant to be at the end of his career.

Man the Professor never quits :moha

we need to chop off heads of the people who think Hafeez is batsman. the guy is a serial bottler who needs to get booted out of pakistan ASAP. The only thing he is good at like many other pak players is politics and boot licking.

Don't compare Hafeez with Inzi ever. Not even close. Inzi is leagues above Hafeez.

He batted at 4 in the 2019 world cup and averaged 32 with one 50 in 8 innings. Do you classify that as performing well for a man in the team for his "experience ". ?

You also have failed to address that he averages 20 in 5 t20 world cups. By him batting at 4 is not going to change anything. He does not deserve another world cup .

I am on about t20s not odis 2019 world cup was odis not t20s. In odis you have to build a innings in t20s you have to hit straight away also when you have babar batting in the top 3 thiers less pressure on the people coming in as he will bat throw Pakistan didnt have that in previews t20 world cups

That is such a ridiculous explanation to justify that after 5 t20 world cups where he has failed , he will perform in the next one just because Babar is opening . He will fail under pressure or get out to part time bowlers just like he did in 2019 World Cup . Changing the format does not change the fact that he is a mentally weak player who just does not perform at ICC World Cups. He’s played a total of 8 World Cups with only 3 50s to show for it . But now he will perform because Babar is opening . Amazing logic .

Thanks for reminding us again and bringing us back to earth when we were all getting giddy.

We truly deserve mediocrity and humiliation.