Has Hafeez 3.0 emerged as Pakistan's biggest batting match winner since Inzamam and Afridi?

Thanks for reminding us again and bringing us back to earth when we were all getting giddy.

We truly deserve mediocrity and humiliation.

That is such a ridiculous explanation to justify that after 5 t20 world cups where he has failed , he will perform in the next one just because Babar is opening . He will fail under pressure or get out to part time bowlers just like he did in 2019 World Cup . Changing the format does not change the fact that he is a mentally weak player who just does not perform at ICC World Cups. He’s played a total of 8 World Cups with only 3 50s to show for it . But now he will perform because Babar is opening . Amazing logic .

When hafeez has batted at 3 he averages 29 when he bats at 4 he averages 45 his strike rate when batting at 4 is 145 babar plays out majority of the overs hence why hafeez is under less pressure now as he knows someone will bat throw.you cant drop someone now thier in form if you wanted to drop someone tou had to drop them when they wearnt in form !

Hafeez is looking great mashallah!

The truth about Hafeez's career is that he has always had purple patches. During those patches, he looks utterly brilliant as a batsman. But the reason his career stats are ordinary is because he's had as many rough patches as purple ones. As brilliant as he looks now, there have been periods in the past where he has lacked all fluency and looked like a tailender.

I just pray that inshallah this purple patch carries on to the end of the T20 World Cup.

If only he had batted 4-6 for the last 10 years he’d been amongst the goat white ball finishers, always knew he would be much better player with the older ball but that ego took a long time to simmer , loving Hafeez 3.0 though & probably the best t20 bat in the world just now

If Ifthikar has to play in ODIs then I would take Hafeez over him any day.

Hafeez if batted at no.5/6 in tests and no.4 in ODIs would have achieved more than what he has now.

Unfortunately his ego and the brainless think tank blocked all the way.

I was most impressed with the way he played in South Africa ODI series.

I think it was a 3 match short series which Pakistan probably won 2-1. Hafeez was outstanding with the bat in it and played very aggressively and with intent.

I wish he played like this in 10 years before that.

Clearly one has to spare a thought to this late improvement..

Hafeez of last 3 years definitely belongs in Pakistani LOI cricket

It was Anwar Ali and Bilawal Bhatti in the first ODI and Shehzad in the second ODI with 100 in that series. Hafeez played well in the t20i series on that tour.

A player should be chosen on merit.

If Hafeez is playing like this then therr is no reason why he shouldn't be in the T20 or ODI set up.

He has shot selection and power. He really seems to have become indifferent which has only helped his game.

Hafeez is looking great mashallah!

The truth about Hafeez's career is that he has always had purple patches. During those patches, he looks utterly brilliant as a batsman. But the reason his career stats are ordinary is because he's had as many rough patches as purple ones. As brilliant as he looks now, there have been periods in the past where he has lacked all fluency and looked like a tailender.

I just pray that inshallah this purple patch carries on to the end of the T20 World Cup.

He is now batting at 4 his mindset has changed you dont need a excellent technique rather you need to power hitting ability and clear instructions and mind

Just Hafeez 3.0 doing Hafeez 3.0 things.

Not surprised anymore.

Greatness is what you expect from Hafeez 3.0

It was not his day.

Because if it was, Pakistan would not have lost and that's a certainty whether you like it or not

His head was not in the game. That was a shot of a batsman who is too casual in his approach and is not 100% committed to the delivery that he is facing.

He is probably thinking too much about his golf game which has started to consume him. This is only the begging of the greatest addiction and obsession known to man.

His head was not in the game. That was a shot of a batsman who is too casual in his approach and is not 100% committed to the delivery that he is facing.

He is probably thinking too much about his golf game which has started to consume him. This is only the begging of the greatest addiction and obsession known to man.

That is a shot I would expect Mohammad Hafeez Vol. 5.0 to play to perfection with his eyes closed. He played it a couple of years before he's at the level of doing magic.

Hes an absolute champion! I wish he had switched to this role/position even earlier in his career. Hes so so good! An absolute delight to watch.

Give him the captaincy for the WT20, make him sign a contract where he can’t retire until after the WC in 2023. This guy holds the key to our success. And after he retires, build a golf course in his name.

Has been absolutely quality for the last couple years carrying the batting in the middle overs.do not move him up the order keep him at 4

Absolutely perfect occassion to unleash THE BEAST at 1 down.

Stage is set to take over and dominate.

Just the way, The Professor likes it.

Hafeez 3.0 been in bad form for a while. Needs a good tour ahead of the WC

The BEAST has been unleashed.

Looking forward to a cracker of a knock in the series decider!!

Hafeez 3.0 back to his usual awful output. His good form was simply a flash in the pan it seems.

A decade extra for a guy that has wilted under pressure all his career. And to think some still want Malik back to fail even more.

Hafeez is finished and it is making our middle order exposed more because professor now needs to retire and non of the players being tried or on the bench look any good there seems a massive gulf in class and ability when compared to the top teams and the players they have ,even the psl is not producing any high quality cricketers for us .

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-partner="tweetdeck"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Worrying numbers recently for Mohammad Hafeez ahead of the T20 World Cup. Last 6 scores:<br><br>1 off 2<br>10 off 12<br>24 off 10 balls<br>5 off 10 balls<br>5 off 7<br>10 off 12<br><br>55 runs off 53 balls.<br>Average of 9.17<br>Strike-rate of 103.77<a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/ENGvPAK?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#ENGvPAK</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Cricket?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#Cricket</a></p>— Saj Sadiq (@Saj_PakPassion) <a href="https://twitter.com/Saj_PakPassion/status/1417551641100886017?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">July 20, 2021</a></blockquote>

Never speak too soon.

Hafeez almost won the match with his bowling, almost.

Legends never die.

He will definitely be in the plans for the t20 WC with his bowling abilities.

Need another reboot asap, this one is malfunctioning.

Hafeez last 10 T20I scores:

Average of 14.7.

Hafeez last 10 T20I scores:

Average of 14.7.

Yes but he’s a senior player and brings experience to the team , and also a proven match winner… so does it really matter if he fails in 15 innings consecutively with the bat? He’s done that numerous times in his career I’m sure, but he’s always come back strongly and won a game in between against Zimbabwe, Hong Kong and Nigeria against all odds - all to prove that form is temporary but class is permanent when it comes to cricket.

His form hasn't been helped by RizBar's consistency at the top of the order lately.

Swinging from ball 1 when this is the only international cricket he plays isn't going to be easy for anyone.

Even if Hafeez was in great from, what is his record in World Cups even like? I can’t imagine it being too great. The guy hasn’t put in a good performance in a pressure run cause for us in his whole career. There’s no way we can depend on him to do anything in the big WC games. No chance.

I was just about to say , expect captain and coach to give Hafeez maximum opportunity now with his bowling to justify his place - and expect Hafeez to bowl out of his skin like it’s a WC final to silence critics.

Hafeez getting first over and taking wicket from 2nd ball, plan working so far.

Even if Hafeez was in great from, what is his record in World Cups even like? I can’t imagine it being too great. The guy hasn’t put in a good performance in a pressure run cause for us in his whole career. There’s no way we can depend on him to do anything in the big WC games. No chance.

He averages 20 in 5 t20 world cups with a SR of 106. Mind blowing numbers

Getting in his groove now Hafeez - just need to make sure his action is right

If he just got his batting together than he would be an indispensable player. Because he's still remarkably useful with the ball.

I just saw the scorecard and I had to do a double check on Hafeez's figures with the ball.

Was this the cheapest ever 4 over spell in T20 cricket?

Now we only need Hafeez to start playing golf again...maybe we should all chip in to get him a country club membership?

Most economical 4-over bowling spells in T20Is by a Pakistani bowler:

4-1-6-2 by Mohammad Amir versus UAE in 2016
4-1-6-1 by Mohammad Hafeez today v W Indies

I just saw the scorecard and I had to do a double check on Hafeez's figures with the ball.

Was this the cheapest ever 4 over spell in T20 cricket?

Shared with Malinga and Amir for test playing nations playing one another.

Cheapest ever:

4-1-3-2 by M.N.M Aslam for Kuwait versus Saudi Arabia last year.

As long as his bowling is not banned he is an asset, if his not bolwing then his bat is not strong enough on its own.

Proud of Hafeez 3.0

Proud of being his second greatest fan after Majid Khan bhai.

Always believed in him!!!

WI vs Pak: Way Hafeez bowled in powerplay showed his experience, says Babar

A half-century from Pakistan captain Babar Azam and skillful bowling by off-spinner Mohammad Hafeez guided visitors to a thrilling seven-run win over West Indies.

Pakistan captain Babar Azam praised all-rounder Mohammad Hafeez for bowling an economical spell in the powerplay of the second T20I against West Indies.

A half-century from Pakistan captain Babar Azam and skillful bowling by off-spinner Mohammad Hafeez guided visitors to a thrilling seven-run win over West Indies. The win means Pakistan lead the four-match series 1-0, with the first match ending in no result due to rain.

"We were 10-15 runs short after the rain. But a nice victory. Bowlers bowled really very well. Credit to our bowlers, they bowled really well. We lost momentum because of back to back wickets," Babar told the host broadcaster at the post-match presentation.

"We were looking at 170. It's an area we will try to improve in the next few games. The way he (Hafeez) bowled in the powerplay showed his experience. I'm happy as a captain with the way he bowled," he added.

Talking about his performance, Hafeez said: "I would love it, we had a score on the board, we knew it would be tough to score against spinners. We bowled well, myself and Shadab and then the pacers executed the yorkers well."

"Being here many times (having played CPL), I knew if I do the basics well, hit the right lines, executed the skills and that worked for me. A little more comfortable when I bowl to the left-handers, but it's still important to hit the right areas," he added.

Hafeez bowled his most economical spell in the T20Is, giving away just six runs in four overs which included a maiden over and dismissal of Andre Fletcher on the second ball of the innings. He was awarded the best player of the match.

Earlier, after being put into bat, Pakistan managed to score 157 for eight in their 20 overs. Holder and Dwayne Bravo combined to put the brakes on the Pakistan scoring rate. Holder returned the excellent figures of 4-26 while Bravo, claimed 2-24 as the tourists squandered a solid platform provided by Babar Azam and Mohammad Rizwan.

https://www.hindustantimes.com/cricket/wi-vs-pak-way-hafeez-bowled-in-powerplay-showed-his-experience-says-babar-101627809930771.html

Hafeez back in form is amazing news for Pakistan’s chances.

If all world cricket was only played in UAE, Hafeez would have had Bradman like status. He is easily the best batsmen I have seen on UAE pitches. Even Matthew Hayden in the dug out was amazed at his elegance.

I just hope that we don't bump this thread with a very bad taste in the mouth after the Semis.

He should become head coach
He talks the most sense out of all the ex players and is a true patriot
His only issue is he is egoistic like Younis so one incident and he will either quit or get fired