Has PSL changed the views of Pakistani fans towards IPL?

Bhaag Viru Bhaag

Senior Test Player
Now that PSL is coming up. How many of you fans who were against IPL have changed their views? IPL is a tamasha league i know but how is PSL different? Same franchise model, overseas and has been players nothing innovative about it. Will we see a change in people's view towards IPL in the next season because now they have the same league? I can see fans giving the reason of youngsters sharing dressing room, exposure etc etc and suddenly they are all excited. But these same things were said about IPL too. Should i call it a hypocrisy or jealousy? I like people who are consistent so please don't mind.

No one will care as long as there are no Pakistani players in that league.

Tamasha league or not, the fact is, a lot of Pakistani fans actually watched the first edition of the IPL with a lot of interest.

How can you expect Pakistani people to care about a league that doesn't have a single Pakistani player?

There has always been laughable hypocrisy from a lot of fans over here regarding IPL which since its inception has been BY FAR the biggest premier T20 league in world cricket. whose success all countries have tried to emulate and failed.

Now that Pakistan been finally able to put together to actually hold a league of its own, i'd epect more people to realize and respect the sincerity of efforts it takes to govern and safeguard such adventures.

No one will care as long as there are no Pakistani players in that league.

Tamasha league or not, the fact is, a lot of Pakistani fans actually watched the first edition of the IPL with a lot of interest.

How can you expect Pakistani people to care about a league that doesn't have a single Pakistani player?

Bhai it's not about caring or not caring. I guess you didn't get the point. It's about those who were against IPL and saying it was killing cricket are changing their views because their own country is coming up with the similar league.

Doesn't matter what ever the name is, Tamasha is Tamasha, chahy PSL ho ya IPL

Nope PSL is unfortunatley a neccessity because of the IPL and we need the cash. But they are both tamasha leagues!! I wont change my stance, yes it would be nice to see pak teams and players play and I did follow bits of the first IPL just to see our players play but its too long and full of tamasha..cant stand em..Ill watch the highlights..

Bhai it's not about caring or not caring. I guess you didn't get the point. It's about those who were against IPL and saying it was killing cricket are changing their views because their own country is coming up with the similar league.

Those people were a minority tbh, and there are a lot of Indians who hold the same opinion as well, like yourself for example. But the lack of interest in IPL and the excitement for PSL is simply because of Pakistani players.

I can speak for myself that I am not interested in following it because there are no Pakistani players in it. It's not a boycott per se, it's just that it has little interest for me. I watched it when Azhar Mahmood played a few seasons ago. I support the need for the ipl to exist but it's too bad, there are no Pakistani players in it.

Viru pa g, i think there are minimum number of fans who have changed their stance. But overall, massive number of fans are having still same view point

My main gripe has always been duration.

The PSL is 20 days long.

IPL is nearly two months long.

I have always said IPL is good for India but outsiders/neutrals have no association with it that's why I don't watch it. Somehow Indians find this statement offensive.. never understood why..

With the arrogance of BiG 3 specially India not playing with Pak at all despite being promised PCB is in need of finance and they would do whatever the way they can. Why is it limited to India only.

By the way I never gave any stance over IPL before, I used to watch IPL but over the years I loose interest for not letting in Pakistani players...which I feel they are pushing Pakistan intentionally to kick out Pakistan from any form of cricket.

Sent from my SM-G900FD using Tapatalk

My problem with IPL is that they aren't any Pakistani players playing in it. I've no problem with the other T20 leagues as they don't discriminate against Pakistani players.

I don't really care about tamasha cricket. This is necessary for PCB though because we've been isolated for far too long. Also gives us a chance to see the upcoming players because our FC games are rarely televised.

its simple bring in Pakistani players and the interest will increase but they played politics and intentionally they are not allowing Pakistani players

In general, Pakistani fans' only issue with IPL has been exclusion of Pakistani players, which has led to their relative lack of interest and sour grapes mentality (in some cases).

It is tamasha, but a tamasha is supposed to be a form of entertainment, which IPL is, hence there still has been a decent enough viewership of IPL in Pakistan.

Even though IPL do have few negative effects on Indian cricket, the positive ones it brings with it, particularly by financial means overshadow its negatives.

PSL too, itself is a tamasha, but it is expected to help Pakistan cricket monetarily plus fans would be able to watch lot of Pakistani players being part of that tamasha, so thats why it should and is getting support from fans.

But I agree with the gist of OP. If someone thinks that IPL is damaging the game, should have same feelings about PSL.

It would have been hypocrisy had PCB in a good financial health and don't need PSL to survive, since that isn't the case, don't think hypocrisy is the right word.

It's ruining the game slowly! The only reason I'm happy about it is because most other countries have it so why not Pakistan? I will agree these leagues do have positives too such as PCB and players making more money and that these domestic players get to play quality cricket with International class players.

I have always thought IPL was great. Its a great product for cricket fans in India, but as a Pakistani I can't really sit and watch the matches when the players I want to see the most (Pakistani) are not in it. Thats why I am in favour of PSL. It might not be at the level of IPL but at least we can watch the players we want to see.

Not for me. The only redeeming quality of the PSL is that it has the potential to raise funds for the PCB. It is still a useless T20, mickey-mouse tournament that will do nothing to improve the skills of our players.

The exclusion of the tamasha elements, like the plastering of Bollywood stars all over the games, as well as the after-parties, fixing, etc makes the PSL a little more bearable for the true cricket fan.

Copy cats everywhere...

IPL itself is a copy of ICL :yk2

Anyways Thesee leagues are a necessity cricket cannot do without. IPL will always be top dog. Only problem with IPL is it doesnt have the atmosphere and quality of grounds of the Big Bash at times.

Now that PSL is coming up. How many of you fans who were against IPL have changed their views? IPL is a tamasha league i know but how is PSL different? Same franchise model, overseas and has been players nothing innovative about it. Will we see a change in people's view towards IPL in the next season because now they have the same league? I can see fans giving the reason of youngsters sharing dressing room, exposure etc etc and suddenly they are all excited. But these same things were said about IPL too. Should i call it a hypocrisy or jealousy? I like people who are consistent so please don't mind.

Against any league which disrupts international cricket.
WI cricket is dead thanks to IPL and now PSL is gonna make it worse.
International cricket > Tamasha League

Not for me. The only redeeming quality of the PSL is that it has the potential to raise funds for the PCB. It is still a useless T20, mickey-mouse tournament that will do nothing to improve the skills of our players.

The exclusion of the tamasha elements, like the plastering of Bollywood stars all over the games, as well as the after-parties, fixing, etc makes the PSL a little more bearable for the true cricket fan.

Yup, pretty much. Cricket is money. The board with the least money has the least resources and is thus more likely to see it's team at the bottom of the rankings

Whatever Pakistanis says they have been jealous of IPL all these days and they will love PSL to counter India. May God help them and cricket return to Pakistan... Wherever there is a compitation between India and pak these two work hard to overcome one another this will benifit both. May be this will turn into healthy compitation

True Indian and a SACHINIST

Whatever Pakistanis says they have been jealous of IPL all these days and they will love PSL to counter India. May God help them and cricket return to Pakistan... Wherever there is a compitation between India and pak these two work hard to overcome one another this will benifit both. May be this will turn into healthy compitation

True Indian and a SACHINIST

I hope you enjoy your stay. :najam

of course it will kill cricket if it is booked like IPL.

Regarding OP, I think PSL is complete different from IPL. You saw the recent T20 tournaments, PSL will be exactly like that but with International players in them. Still fun tournament and most importantly it will be real.

Pakistani fans were watching Domestic T20 tournament before. I have failed to understand logic here. Please help

Regarding OP, I think PSL is complete different from IPL. You saw the recent T20 tournaments, PSL will be exactly like that but with International players in them. Still fun tournament and most importantly it will be real.
How is PSL completely different from IPL?

You are saying IPL is fixed therefore I will tell PCB fix matches internationally using players. You have no proof and me too

An Indian and a SACHINIST

IPL is a fixed league which no cricket fan cares about

How is PSL completely different from IPL?

I guess you have to wait and see for yourself
eyS2Ice.png

By the way you start brilliant thread....na nigla jaraha hai...na ugla jaraha hai...samajh nahi araha Pakistani fans ko kia jawab dai

I do not follow every game of the IPL, however I do from time to time catch a glimpse and I do enjoy it. However for me the main issue with the IPL has been the non-selection of Pakistani players. I watched it completely in the 1st season and my whole family watched it with great fervor. But once Pak players were gone it just lost its charm for us. That being said I am looking forward to PSL and with reports it may be held in Dubai I am very excited.

Honestly speaking, i've always looked IPL as being over the top and being too much in favor of Batsmen and me being from Pakistan would always like batsman struggle a bit instead of smashing every ball out of the park.

And as for PSL, yes am excited for now only because we would regain some of our standings in terms of Cricket-Eco system but if PSL goes same route as IPL, then it would be in the same bracket as IPL.

a competition with individual Pak players has no interest for me.

Pak teams is a separate issue, I would watch that.

Sent from my D6603 using Tapatalk

Nah won't change my views, won't even watch PSL either, T20 with enhanced bats and small boundaries is a tamasha cricket, as long their is no equilibrium between bat and ball, cricket with become a slogging sport.

After reading some of the threads recently i do think lots of posters here have changed. Before PSL all these leagues were harmful to cricket for them. But now some of them want international tours to be postponed so that some players can participate in PSL. If i remember correctly that was the main reason for not liking IPL too other than the tamasha which ipl fans and stars create.

Those who are saying PSL will be different are living in their la la land. The whole model is based on IPL and you will see tamasha like IPL here too with camerman showing lollywood stars and team owners after every ball.

Abhi toh league shuru hui hai : kakmal

After reading some of the threads recently i do think lots of posters here have changed. Before PSL all these leagues were harmful to cricket for them. But now some of them want international tours to be postponed so that some players can participate in PSL. If i remember correctly that was the main reason for not liking IPL too other than the tamasha which ipl fans and stars create.

Those who are saying PSL will be different are living in their la la land. The whole model is based on IPL and you will see tamasha like IPL here too with camerman showing lollywood stars and team owners after every ball.

Will we see Girls dancing after FOUR SIX and WICKET if yes then bring it on Viru jee agree.gif

As i said before, S lagany se and P ko pehly karny se kuch nahe baldega. In the end tamasha=tamasha.
And, abhi to league shuru BHI nahe hue hai :dalmiya

As i said before, S lagany se and P ko pehly karny se kuch nahe baldega. In the end tamasha=tamasha.

League shuru hone wali hai. And i have already noticed few posters who used to slam IPL left, right and center have joined this circus bangwagon too.

I never watched a full innings of an IPL match, let alone a whole match even when Pak players were in it in the first season, after that it was mostly oh some cricket is on...oh wait: dancers, songs, mediocre bowlers being belted for shortest of the short sixes and people calling them maximums etc. I would then switch off, which remains true to this day!

I can barely even watch a whole T20 for our Nat'l team unless it is a big competition like WC or something because conditions are so much in favor of batsmen, it is not even funny; same goes for ODI's these days. To me tests have always been the real deal and they have actually become more exciting since there is almost always a result these days. Tamasha is tamsha no matter who does it, I will watch bits of these games but that is it.

psl will be most boring league like bpl. uae dubai sharjah grounds are slow, lack bounce and outfields are pretty slow. poor pitches for both bowling and batting. in india grounds outfields are fast and you get full value of shots plus huge crowds in india so i think ipl is more interesting than bpl or psl

Tamasha is Tamasha doesn't matter if it is coming from Pakistan, India, Bangladesh.

It seems people have started to like tamasha cricket here as well after looking at the number of threads. :inti

These leagues should only be viewed as pure entertainment. You can't expect to develop good players out of it. Yeah they will have exposure and all that good stuff but growth wise it doesn't doo much

Sent from my 0PM92 using Tapatalk

You can't compare ipls current scuess with psl. It will get better

Btw why do you address these leagues as tamasha?

AFAIK they play proper cricket, follow all the rules which is followed by ICC T20 and backed by world class international players.

You don't like T20s altogether or just don't like individual boards organizing these leagues?

These leagues should only be viewed as pure entertainment. You can't expect to develop good players out of it. Yeah they will have exposure and all that good stuff but growth wise it doesn't doo much

Sorry I don't agree you on this. Such leagues give youngsters opportunities to rub shoulders with international players, plus they get confidence to perform and play fearless cricket at highest level.

You can prove that how?

Yeh sure, the IPL kids (Mann and r. dhawan) played quite fearless cricket in the 4th ODI recently :)))

I watched IPL first season with interest. But after that I did not follow it (full seasons) because of:

1 - No Pakistani players

2- Too much lengthy schedule

3- Too much bolywood masala type

I was never against it nor I am against it now if these matters are sorted out.

These leagues actually polish young talent and we can get new good players from it.

Yeh sure, the IPL kids (Mann and r. dhawan) played quite fearless cricket in the 4th ODI recently :)))

Yeah I agree they didn't perform to their caliber but hey Indians found a decent pacer who can bowl Yorkers in death overs, found batsmen who can rotate strike as never before, play calculative cricket and are cool as cucumber even when the asking rate is 12 an over.

Thanks to the "tamasha league"

Btw why do you address these leagues as tamasha?

AFAIK they play proper cricket, follow all the rules which is followed by ICC T20 and backed by world class international players.

You don't like T20s altogether or just don't like individual boards organizing these leagues?

I don't like leagues (personally). It won't benefit Pakistan cricket, but may be it can destroy more and i sincerely hope this is the first and last edition of PSL.

I would like to invest whole money in domestic system. Sorry but these leagues are money making and wasting things. And yes only a single benefit of these all leagues that they will financially help our poor domestic players.

People say these leagues help youngsters to learn something from foreign players, but i don't think so. No point in these leagues when your domestic system can't provide superstars.

Last thing, these leagues can only give you bowlers who can bowl 4 overs with full pace, but won't be able to bowl in Test cricket, and batsmen would like to play game of 30-40 balls, but won't be able to play in ODI or Test game.

And currently, our cricket is facing the same problem :)

Yeah I agree they didn't perform to their caliber but hey Indians found a decent pacer who can bowl Yorkers in death overs, found batsmen who can rotate strike as never before, play calculative cricket and are cool as cucumber even when the asking rate is 12 an over.

If you are talking about Bumrah bro, let's see after 2 years where he stands :) I can assure you he will become a poor bowler like Dinda, Vinay e.t.c

Who are these batsmen found in the IPL? Kohli and Rohit have won and reached the final of the U-19 WC respectively. Raina isn't an IPL product. Bumrah had an Economy of 9 and Pandya an econ of 11+. Anyone I missed?

Even Anwar Ali won under 19 World Cup for Pakistan but he is not great at International level. But playing PSL would get the best out of him, if not immediate, may be in future.

After 19 WC, he changed his action and some injuries ruined him. Leagues won't help him at all, and if some how some way it helps, then he will be only able to bowl in T20s, not ODIs or Test, and cricket is not only about T20s.

We don't care about IPL because IT doesn't have Pakistani players and I guess due to that reason the views won't change.

Plus even PSL is just some fun cricket :yk

After 19 WC, he changed his action and some injuries ruined him. Leagues won't help him at all, and if some how some way it helps, then he will be only able to bowl in T20s, not ODIs or Test, and cricket is not only about T20s.

May be league won't help Anwar Ali but I can bet this very league would introduce some new stars for Pakistan.

Broadly like any other league i.e. tamasha and quick buck for the pros but great for your everyday domestic cricketer

Us Pakistani's are all very secretly inspired by Indians. If you get how many Indian movies are played on TV and watched every day you will be surprised. The first thing about India becomes news in Pakistan. Us Pakistanis love to hate India, but can't stop talking about it..

From the youths that follow Salman Khan and Shahrukh Khan, to their song that become epidemic tunes in cars with high bass speakers. Almost everything from India is copied in Pakistan..