Has the Champions Trophy proven that Misbah-ul-Haq was holding us back?

We lost to India because of Misbah, now 2 weeks later the team has exorcised the Misbah effect completely?

everyone knew Misbah was holding the ODI team back even when he was captain under the disguise of bringing "stability"

Misbah did not do it on purpose. Circumstances did not favor him in a lot of ways. Yeah he was a very conservative captain. Probably because he comes from a generation which saw a lot of batting collapses and he just wanted to introduce a more stable/conservative approach. I guess his folly was sacrificing the our natural flair and unpredictability for a more stable and safe approach. It worked great in tests. But the ODI game has changed a lot, so not so much in LOI

Nothing has changed dramatically with our team. If our bowlers go for 300 runs in the next game, I suspect we will still be on the losing end.

What Sarfaraz managed to do in this game was use bowlers aggressively and with results. This did not work all the time with Misbah and at times when it did, our batsmen still let Us down.

So unless sarfaraz brings about some miraculous change in our batting fortunes, let us hold off in crucifying Misbah at the moment!

We lost to India because of Misbah, now 2 weeks later the team has exorcised the Misbah effect completely?

No. That will probably take a long time, unfortunately. It is good to see some tentative signs of improvement, but who knows if it lasts.

However it is good to see people finally waking up and realizing how things really are. We have been in a kind of Stockholm syndrome for the past few years. And those who dared speak out were seen as "haters" or people who were not able to appreciate the unquestionable beauty of Misbah. In the past few days it has been really refreshing to see people openly speak out against certain aspects of our cricket in the past few years.

Whether we win or lose the next match is immaterial, but it is great to see people finally speaking the truth. There are of course many who still cling on to their beliefs, but slowly the battle for truth is gaining ground against something which can be seen as akin to a cult of personality. Maybe a bit harshly stated, but fair overall. I just hope it leads to lasting change and is not just a flash in the pan.

I am Misbah fan but I can see why people think he may have held us back in LO cricket.

His defensive and cautious approach doesn't help in an era which encourages attacking cricket. Also he didn't give many youngsters a chance. He had enough power in selection so he should share the blame for us having an older team at the 2015 WC. Even for all of Azhar's faults he didn't have a problem with youngsters being selected.

The domestic system being rubbish isn't Misbah's fault but not backing someone like Harris Sohail earlier or giving Hammad Azam a longer run he can certainly be held accountable for.

Misbah has retired so we shouldn't blame him for every bad thing now but during his tenure we didn't progress in LO cricket.

بس کرو یار۔

مصباح الحق ہیرو کی جان چھوڑ دو ہیٹر۔

He is out of ODI Cricket for 28 months.

Had Rahat Ali not dropped Watson story could have been different.

If Perera did not drop Sarfraz's sitter story would have been different.

True - but does that explain PAK team being by far the oldest in terms of average age & hence unfit for best part of 10 years now? And that's considering a good few years buffer between official & biological age?

Misbah's team played mostly in Asia (no crefit taken out from SAF series), where his prime 2 weapons were blunt chucker. Imagine same PAK team under Sarfraz & MoHa allowed to bowl with his old action, while Ajmal replacing Imad/Shadab?

He reluctantly played him after having him the squad for almost a year. As a fan of Harris I can tell you that it was extremely frustrating. Even then he was not keen on giving him a chance and mad him bat in the lower order instead of at the top. People are very very kind to Misbah. If only we had been kinder to some other former players who knows what Pak cricket might have achieved.

How can someone be played when he has no place in the side??? Where will you fill box office favorites Umar Akmal and Sohaib Maqsood in those times? Fawad was another one who was performing and was dropped right before the world cup..

The cherry on top is Younis threatening the board if he's not selected he won't be a part of the test squad for the all important foreign tours abroad...

Misbah should have fought to keep Sharjeel in the team. Just "discovering" him and discarding him after a few failures means that Misbah gets no credit only blame

Not really, he was given aroun 7-8 innings, including the whole Asia cup to show his game, however he kept faltering and Misbah had no option but to send him back... He was a total flop in the Asia CUp and when never really got going in any game including against Afghanistan

No. That will probably take a long time, unfortunately. It is good to see some tentative signs of improvement, but who knows if it lasts.

However it is good to see people finally waking up and realizing how things really are. We have been in a kind of Stockholm syndrome for the past few years. And those who dared speak out were seen as "haters" or people who were not able to appreciate the unquestionable beauty of Misbah. In the past few days it has been really refreshing to see people openly speak out against certain aspects of our cricket in the past few years.

Whether we win or lose the next match is immaterial, but it is great to see people finally speaking the truth. There are of course many who still cling on to their beliefs, but slowly the battle for truth is gaining ground against something which can be seen as akin to a cult of personality. Maybe a bit harshly stated, but fair overall. I just hope it leads to lasting change and is not just a flash in the pan.

Seriously in which match did we look like a modern circket side?

This is actually the Misbah blueprint that is still being played by our teams... you have to look at the chases we have had in his time, none barring a Bangladesh gave did we chase down 300 in any match... please research your stats..

The top 6 in this team are accumulators who will never fire you to anything above 300, against the big guns...

If you need any proof of that please watch the highlights of the English ODI series or Australia series for more elaboration... not one 300 was chased down by our team, infact all of them had already predetermined and considerd defeat and all of the batsmen were playing for averages

I say yes. I defended Misbah for what he did and his service. But there was always an excuse ready for him that he's doing as much as he can with the limited resources. He didn't achieve anything in ODIs though he did draw test series against England.

He was horrible in ODIs. Hardly gave chance to new young players. He played with his touts. He held grudges against fellow cricketers (like Fawad Alam) and never stood for a fellow cricketer (when Younis was dropped during Waqar coaching days and never gave chance to Yasir Shah when Saaed Ajmal was around). He is a strong believer of nepotism.

Misbah had his ODI strike rate in 60s for entire 4 years as a captain batting at 5..that and his post wc15 report about players not following his orders and staying at crease was reason why we lost world cup..that and his love for hafeez,azhat,asad and YK in ODIs he was the worst ever ODI captain we had.

He wanted himself and hia buddies easy money going in their bank accounts then make some revolutionary changes and take Pak forward. People should not forget his stubborness to rest himself and his buddies for Zim tour..Still remember how Umar Amin,Sharjeel and Harris were treated by him.

Seriously in which match did we look like a modern circket side?

This is actually the Misbah blueprint that is still being played by our teams... you have to look at the chases we have had in his time, none barring a Bangladesh gave did we chase down 300 in any match... please research your stats..

The top 6 in this team are accumulators who will never fire you to anything above 300, against the big guns...

If you need any proof of that please watch the highlights of the English ODI series or Australia series for more elaboration... not one 300 was chased down by our team, infact all of them had already predetermined and considerd defeat and all of the batsmen were playing for averages

That chase against BD had best career knock from Afridi otherwise we were doomed.

Except one chase against England, that was a 305 in Cardiff back in 2016... besides that not even in the UAE pitches did we manage to chase any 300 total down, and those are our home conditions apparently

Misbah never was an ODI player. Then he was made on captain on top of that. He was a test player put out of his depth. Still it has to criticize a player who took the team through its most difficult period ever so whatever. But it is clear that his mentality on how to approach limited overs cricket was a massive road block.

Absolutely.

Don't think we would have even seen a move like Hafeez down the order and with 12 overs to go.

Hafeez would have played a garbage knock of 30 off 50 at 4 today.

Yes...Misbah was selfish and never cared about developing the future. Pakistan main talent nahi. Pakistan 200 bhi nahi kar payegi mere bina hahahah :)))

He was captain for 5 years and still needed another 50 years to do something like what sarfraz did here.

Shukar Allah ka bohot bohot that time is now over.

Blaming Misbah for everything is an easy fix. Our woes in LOIs are attributable to more than just one person. Also, as amazing as this victory is we are still ranked 8th in the world and for a real turnaround we need to climb up that ladder, and win matches on a consistent basis. We have found some good young players who need to be nurtured and given more opportunities. Hopefully they will all go on to become great players and bring Pakistani many more laurels in the future. But at the same time it is also imperative for them to not let this victory get to their heads (we've all seen that happening in the past).

I have to say yes.... He was conservative captain, rarely attacked..... Always favoured old players.... If he had choice between old player and new, he would choose old player: Zulfiqar Babar, Hafeez, Ajmal, Tanvir Ahmed, Sohail Tanvir and many more.....

When he debuted a young player, he didn''t give him ideal condition...

Today Shadab got hit for 3 sixes but Sarfraz bowled him again next over. Why??? Because he knew that otherwise his confidence will be shattered.... But Shadab came back and with Sarfraz confidence bowled a good over..... So now he willl be pumped up in the future...

He was captain for 5 years and still needed another 50 years to do something like what sarfraz did here.

Shukar Allah ka bohot bohot that time is now over.

ICC tournaments:

2007: T20 WC final (Malik)
2009: T20 WC (Younis)
2011: Semi-final of WC (Afridi)
Then Misbah for 5 years
2017: Champions trophy (Sarfraz)

In hindsight Misbah was an awful ODI and T20 captain.... Too defensive.... Worked in tests...

Misbah was never a good ODI captain. Also his stubbornness not to experiment with young players was a big reason we had a sharp decline

Misbah will always get the hate for not teusting the new guys and juat backing his trusted guys in unar akmal , kamram akmal , rahat ali and haffeez also bien main man. Now given our all star performers r youngsters who love taking center stage , the bagage of haffeez can b lost for good

Misbah was a gentleman but he is the biggest reason Pakistan in odi cricket had been so disappointing over the last 5/6 years. Goodbye Misbah and Younis mentality of tuk tuk

ICC tournaments:

2007: T20 WC final (Malik)
2009: T20 WC (Younis)
2011: Semi-final of WC (Afridi)
Then Misbah for 5 years
2017: Champions trophy (Sarfraz)

In hindsight Misbah was an awful ODI and T20 captain.... Too defensive.... Worked in tests...

Misbah was an awful captain and 2010 to 2017 era was our worst ever even worse than the Indian team of the 1990s

Once again i repeat, how would this tournament have turned out for Pakistan if Misbah ul Haq was captaining this team or even playing in the team as a player?

That answer will explain everything

I say yes. I defended Misbah for what he did and his service. But there was always an excuse ready for him that he's doing as much as he can with the limited resources. He didn't achieve anything in ODIs though he did draw test series against England.

We knew this long before the CT, but now we also see how much that costs us. And not only Misbah, but Azhar. I'm looking at you [MENTION=488]peter[/MENTION] Rose et al.

Might have, but it was a stage we would have traveled through none the less with or without him.

We knew this long before the CT, but now we also see how much that costs us. And not only Misbah, but Azhar. I'm looking at you [MENTION=488]peter[/MENTION] Rose et al.

These failures should also be placed in the context of poor management, indifferent coaching and ultra cautious selection. Nor am I not convinced the PCB is now a smooth working machine, nor that Mickey is the genius that people now make him out to be. He's the one who stuck for quite some time with Rahat, who wanted to play Wahab, because he provided 'something different,' who not only let Hafeez play, but play at 4. He was lucky in away that Wahab and Shehzad crashed out so quickly. In many ways the team has done well in spite of these people.

not taking away anything from misbah but he honestly was a mediocre captain

he left pakistani ODI team in tatters and also in tests which ranks 6th today

not taking away anything from misbah but he honestly was a mediocre captain

he left pakistani ODI team in tatters and also in tests which ranks 6th today

The greatest leaders are those who aren't just successful, but they leave their organisations in a position for long term success

One of the biggest knocks on Misbah is that he left both the test and ODI team is awful positions

I think people have misconstrued many things:

1) Misbah was made captain under dire circumstances. He inherited the team and the system ( when pakistan cricket isolation started; still remeber Ijaz Butt statements, how he damaged relation with other boards)
2) Nothing seemed to be probable ; pakistan selectors had to fall back to oldies of domestic circuit
3) WC 2015 being not so disappointing considering the fact that we lost key players just before world cup we developed from 2011-2014
Junaid Khan, Saeed Ajmal & Mohammad Hafeez

On the brighter side; I think Misbah's strategy worked out in our favour as we as a nation started to take test cricket seriously. Since, no flamboyance was left in the team in ODI and T20; we were left to take our test cricket forward, and finally made UAE as our fortress, where we have not lost a series yet.
So overall from pakistan cricket perspective, having Misbah serve was not wrong at all.Our test cricket developed also.

Misbah was a spineless shorter version cricketer. The worst to have played ODI for Pakistan. He developed a pessimistic culture in the team. Imagine he was nurturing the stroke less Asad Shafiq who has avg of 24 and strike rate 67 over 60 games as a shorter version player. Shafiq, whom many consider as the worst ODI batsman in the world post 2010, the power hitting period.

Sir viv richards just mentioned the same thing on PTV post match show

i wish there was a link to this. i have always believed that MIsbah was the sole reason we never played to our potential in ODIs. the man had so much talent but refused to use it at the top of the order. and then to quit captaincy and recommend Azhar over sarfaraz, just goes to show the defensive mentality.

Yes yes yes Misbah was very good yet very limited as skipper

Sarfraz oozes confidence at the toss he said firmly we'll score 300 captained astutely persisted with Shadab even when the going got tougher played with Dhoni's mind by planting short leg dead sure we would not have achieved this under Misbah Afridi Hafeez Malik etc

Misbah the captain was a necessity at the time he was made captain. The problem with Pakistan cricket board is that they hardly ever let go of such players who command respect of team mates. What should have been done is that misbah should have been made a stop gap LOI captain after 2011 wc and within 2 years a new captain should have been developed to lead Pak in 2015 wc. That never happened and misbah stayed longer than he should have.

He played Haris Sohail... an unknown back in the day,

He played Yasir Shah, he was an unknown quantity in ODIs back in the day..

in the WC

Screenshot_2017-06-19-17-28-22.jpg
Haris was dropped after this game
Bad quality pic.
Haris was played at 7 and given a few balls to hit.
He got out for 2 then was dropped for a good while.

View attachment 75166
Haris was dropped after this game
Bad quality pic.
Haris was played at 7 and given a few balls to hit.
He got out for 2 then was dropped for a good while.

Bhai jaan he was tried at no.5 no.6 I think and he failed in one of the games got a 20 odd in another...

He was then tried in the NZ series in 2014 where Afridi was captain, and performed so got a ticket to the WC... where he played one down..

No you're gonna say that is because Hafeez was injured.. or because Younis Khan failed to perform

So why did Raees play then? Or Fakhar Zaman?

As much as I admire Misbah for the way he led from the front after the 2010 debacle, clearly he hung on for far too long. Should have been given the boot after the pathetic 2013 CT campaign.

All this talk of Misbah being a nice guy is bothering me for some time. He believed Pak team will not be able to play the 50 overs after him which shows he rated himself too highly. Even when he won the tests his celebrations were just expressions to troll the his critics. Never once it looked like he is genuinely happy that Pak has won but rather he would troll his critics and say he has shut them up.

Misbah, Afridi, Azhar, abc, xyz cant do much because Sarfraz is simply superior to all.

He will be the best captain of world soon with results if he is provided with some decent modern odi batsmen.

Already the best captain of world with results too.

Once he has better modern odi batsmen we will dominate teams left right and center.

Very difficult to post big scores against his captaincy.

There was no PSL when Misbah was captain. Meaning No hasan Ali, no amir, no shadab, no faheem, ajmal bas banned, hafeez was banned. Can not really blame Misbah. we had limited talent.

True we win In aane do and in SA when we had hafeez and ajmal