Has the NCA failed to develop talent and is it an unfair advantage for Lahori cricketers?

Slog

Senior Test Player
This is what Sharjeel Khan had to say in the interview:

There is no excuse for poor levels of fitness especially for the Lahore-based players who have the National Cricket Academy on their doorstep. The Lahore boys should be super-fit. The facilities at the NCA are superb and it's something that us players from outside Lahore don't have access to on a regular basis. We only get access to such facilities from time to time when camps are held. Perhaps there is a need for facilities such as the NCA to be built in other cities around Pakistan and I definitely think it would help the players from outside Lahore

I have long felt that the NCA has not been very successful in its almost 15 year history in really developing talent and taking it to the next level. There are some players like Umar Amin who have been poster boys for NCA in the sense that it 'perfected' their technical game but the results are not there eventough many youngsters spend a lot of time there. I remember in the 2004 onwards period we would hear every youngster talking about how much they are learning there (like Mansoor Amjad, Anwar Ali, Bhatti, Usman Salahuddin etc etc) but none of them have gone onto the next level. Is it a case of overcoaching?

However atleast it has first class gym and training facillities as well as qualified trainers so you would expect 100% fitness from the likes of Nasir Jamshed, Shehzad, Akmal etc who visit it regularly. However this is not the case. But still these Lahori boys get access to these faciltiies that no one else get

Both Younis Khan and Afridi have regularly talked about the need for a PCB Academy in Karachi rather making do with the limited Moin Khan or Rashid Latif academies in the biggest city in the country.

So the thread topic is 2 fold:

1) Has the NCA failed to hone top young talents and serve as a finishing school? Honestly it has been around long enough and we should be able to say that, 'ok this superstar was a product of NCA.' But that is not the case.

2) Is it unfair to non Lahore based cricketers that they do not have access to such a facility in the off season? Thus they shouldn't be held to the same standards as the Lahore based cricketers? As Sharjeel says that if anything atleast these Lahore cricketers should be super fit.

i think those are very interesting questions. not sure any of us would be able to answer them though. perhaps the next player interviews should include them.

to me it seems like right now it has little purpose other than being an elite gym membership :))

i cant say i disagree. you raise some very valid points though, perhaps it is over coaching. why fitness levels are not better for lahore players? perhaps its more skill based coaching than fitness? maybe its because akram is in charge and he is grossly incompetent? who knows?

yep all good questions and would like to see what others have to say

before Akram, Intikhab Alam was headcoach and before that Aqib Javed if im not wrong. none of them seem to have a great pedigree (with maybe Aqib being best of the lot.) I distinctly remember Intikhab Alam inculcatin toilet manners and eating manners in the NCA aims :))

we might be better served by getting a high profile coach for NCA tbh.

Of course they have. They are not even catering to our whole population. It is a massive disadvantage to the majority of domestic cricketers that there is only one academy in the whole country.

Sami aslam, Babar azam, zafar gohar are all from Lahore

Talent is coming up real soon, wait on it

One way to answer questions is:

1) How many of young players who dropped from National side due to technical flaws have been corrected? Has NCA made any improvement on Sharjeel technique or Shan Masood or Fawad Alam or Sami Aslam or these players will return to the side carrying same flaws? (Keep in mind NCA is not Talent Hunt program so dont talk about new talent but how NCA improve that talent)

2) Definitely, players from other cities have disadvantage and PCB should look into it.

Agree that NCA is just a sham. Academies don't develop cricketers into world class players, they are there to teach the fundamentals. FC cricket is where true development takes place.

One way to answer questions is:

1) How many of young players who dropped from National side due to technical flaws have been corrected? Has NCA made any improvement on Sharjeel technique or Shan Masood or Fawad Alam or Sami Aslam or these players will return to the side carrying same flaws? (Keep in mind NCA is not Talent Hunt program so dont talk about new talent but how NCA improve that talent)

Basically what I meant is what has it offered us.

All of our batsmen over the years have spent significant time there. Guys like Farhat ,Iqbal etc etc have spent a lot of time there but you could say they got in the NCA when they were already past their 20s so their ways were set.

But guys like Umar Akmal, Shehzad, Maqsood (less so), Jamshed, Umar Amin have pretty much grown up in the NCA as they have been there since their under 19 days. So you could say they are products of the academy

same with new gen like Babar Azam, Sami Aslam etc.

I think in terms of poster boys Babar Azam and Umar Amin are the face of NCA in terms of batting. Technically they are supposed to be really good and look the part so I guess NCA has a role in that. But for Amin it didnt translate into anything

Also. Bowling is there too. NCA and Aqib Javed made a number of bowlers like Anwar Ali, Hammad Azam etc change their actions. But again there is no one to show.

Agree that NCA is just a sham. Academies don't develop cricketers into world class players, they are there to teach the fundamentals. FC cricket is where true development takes place.

Its a sham but not necessarily why you say so.

NCA;s main role is to develop the talented youngsters who are spotted and are there from Under 19 level. And secondly the role is that when a player gets dropped he is helped to overcome his deficiencies. In both regard it has failed so far. Second point especially because time after time when a dropped player gets recalled he has the same technical weaknesses he had before

Cricket Journalists in Pakistan call NCA a 'While Elephant'. Lot of expenses with zero output :inti

Arent Inzi and Jamshed from Lahore? If so the system is absolutely corrupt. No way can they be that fat with facilities like that at their disposal

Not having such cricketing facilities in other cities automatically puts them at a big disadvantage.

Players from KP/Sindh/Balochistan can only dream of training at such a facility, be it for fitness or improving their game.

I'm sorry but this is just an excuse. Our players are so keen in finding excuses and this is as lame as it gets.

So you do not have NCA - so what.

Wear your joggers and go for a run.

I mean seriously how hard is that? 10 miles a day every day is probably all he needs in term of fitness. Those abs and biceps are not cricketing requirements.

NCA or no NCA or No academies, nothing can stop any Talent . nothing can stop hard work .
Cricket requires passion , practice , skills , talent , and hunger to become a better player.
yes these academies can polish you, but they can't make you.
Well now some talents are coming up from Lahore region.

So Sharjeel's excuse for his terrible fitness levels is that he does not have access to NCA?

We are so good at making excuses.

You can keep fit by running daily and eating the right food...... can this only be done in NCA? If so, I'm booking a ticket to Lahore.....

Reminds me of that saying, you can lead the horse to water but you can't make him drink. The best facilities in the world are useless if the players or coaches are too lazy to use them. I don't know what makes anyone think it would be different if the NCA was based in a different region.

Arent Inzi and Jamshed from Lahore? If so the system is absolutely corrupt. No way can they be that fat with facilities like that at their disposal

NCA became functional in 2003 and Inzy is from Multan anyway

but yea shame on Big Nas

I'm sorry but this is just an excuse. Our players are so keen in finding excuses and this is as lame as it gets.

So you do not have NCA - so what.

Wear your joggers and go for a run.

I mean seriously how hard is that? 10 miles a day every day is probably all he needs in term of fitness. Those abs and biceps are not cricketing requirements.
seems like you have not played competitive sports at any level

fitness is just not being able to run 10 km

it requires a lot more like strength, endurance, aerobics etc etc at that level and that can be achieved by going to your local park.

Also with the state of our parks you are asking for an injury

it requires a lot more like strength, endurance, aerobics etc etc at that level and that can be achieved by going to your local park.

I'm sure there are gyms most places in Pakistan

Their is always a place to take a run.

I'm sure there are gyms most places in Pakistan

Their is always a place to take a run.

most poor cricketers cannot afford a gym with quality facilities

one of the only gym and fitness center of NCA level in Karachi is Shapes and is rs. 6000 plus for basic member ship with limited access. For full access well over 10,000 rs per month. its beyond what a domestic cricketer can afford.

Lol why do us non-lahoris always blame Lahore and Punjab for all our problems?stop whining.

Interesting thread. Aside from developing new players, another question comes in mind that, what happens to players like Nasir (who's in terrible form of his life) after he drops from the side. Shouldn't he be going back to NCA, work on snag, fitness and try to overcome the obstacle with the help of coaching staff?

I believe, this should be another role of NCA, apart from producing new talent.

This is why I emphasize (also said it another thread) that we need coaches like Inzaman and Wasim etc in NCA who to help not only upcoming players but also blokes who're dropped from the team (not only from national, but also from 'A' and under 19).

Furthermore, NCA should also have trainers and fielding coaches to facilitate players.

Interesting thread. Aside from developing new players, another question comes in mind that, what happens to players like Nasir (who's in terrible form of his life) after he drops from the side. Shouldn't he be going back to NCA, work on snag, fitness and try to overcome the obstacle with the help of coaching staff?

I believe, this should be another role of NCA, apart from producing new talent.

they do

every dropped player along with youngsters is sent to NCA and works with coaches to fix his technical flaws among other things

the whole thread is about the lack of results from this activity

they do

every dropped player along with youngsters is sent to NCA and works with coaches to fix his technical flaws among other things

the whole thread is about the lack of results from this activity

:facepalm: then why there is no improvement in Nasir and Sharjeel etc?

On the flip side, indeed, NCA should've done better.

Sharjeel saab you live in Karachi not in some far flung village of KP where you cant find a decent gym.

Btw I doubt even NCA could do anything about your tid.

Pakistan+v+Sri+Lanka+1st+One+Day+International+NuY9uB3Qlujl.jpg

Yes, i have not played competitive sports at any serious level.

Yet I will also say that Imran Khan, Wasim Akram and Waqar Younis, three of our finest athletes never had the benefit of NCA.

Wasim says and I quote without any specifics that he built his stamina running around the model town park.

Fazal Mehmood used to exercise on a bicycle. He would run around in the streets of Lahore.

Shoaib Akhtar used to run around Morgah like a mad man and people would make fun of him and his antics.

The problem is not the absence or presence of NCA, it is the absence of basic athletic ability.

Hand on heart, tell me if this guy is in good shape and is fit enough to play international cricket.

If you think he is fit enough, I will happily admit that my argument is flawed and useless.

and off course, I have no experience as I have never played sports at a higher level, i just have read some biographies of how some ordinary people became extra ordinary athletes.

Yes, i have not played competitive sports at any serious level.

Yet I will also say that Imran Khan, Wasim Akram and Waqar Younis, three of our finest athletes never had the benefit of NCA.

Wasim says and I quote without any specifics that he built his stamina running around the model town park.

Fazal Mehmood used to exercise on a bicycle. He would run around in the streets of Lahore.

Shoaib Akhtar used to run around Morgah like a mad man and people would make fun of him and his antics.

The problem is not the absence or presence of NCA, it is the absence of basic athletic ability.

Hand on heart, tell me if this guy is in good shape and is fit enough to play international cricket.

If you think he is fit enough, I will happily admit that my argument is flawed and useless.

and off course, I have no experience as I have never played sports at a higher level, i just have read some biographies of how some ordinary people became extra ordinary athletes.
my point was in general and not an excuse for Sharjeel. What is likely is that even if he was Lahore based he would not have been fit. Nasir Jamshed is testimony to that

however the general point stands. You need proper facilities at this level. And its not 70s or 80s now. The standards of fitness in world cricket have gone up by leaps and bounds and its a joke to compare that to yesteryeads standards. Fitness today is not just abt stamina but a lot of other things and those can only be achieved by proper equipment and trainers which the NCA has

Slog, I'm not making a point. I am just saying that professional athletes should not be making childish excuses.

As for general fitness, it can pretty much still be gained by basic cardio training that has nothing to do with expensive gyms.

Let us not complicate too much and get the basics done.

After our players are at a good standard, they can be improved in the gyms.

As of now, most of them are way below that. Simple as that.

my point was in general and not an excuse for Sharjeel. What is likely is that even if he was Lahore based he would not have been fit. Nasir Jamshed is testimony to that

however the general point stands. You need proper facilities at this level. And its not 70s or 80s now. The standards of fitness in world cricket have gone up by leaps and bounds and its a joke to compare that to yesteryeads standards. Fitness today is not just abt stamina but a lot of other things and those can only be achieved by proper equipment and trainers which the NCA has

I missed the quote somehow ...
Sorry

Blaming poor fitness on not having NCA in your city is lame and wrong.

However, what's also true is that cricketers of other cities don't have access to such a facility, not only for fitness training but also for working on technical aspects of their game.

That's why, they're indeed disadvantaged.

The answer to the first question KIND OF knocks out the second one.

Has the NCA failed to develop talent?

Is it an unfair advantage for Lahori Cricketers?

Well if it has failed, then it's not really an advantage to Lahore-Based Cricketers, if it hasn't then it is an advantage, is it unfair?

It's debatable but I'd say yes. If players are going to the NCA and it's not really helping them for example, Nasir Jamshed and it isn't helping them then it's not too bad for other players as it means if they went it wouldn't really help them.

Though if a young player succeeds due to the NCA while a older player (who is normally playing and fit) doesn't it further complicates things.

Honestly for Sharjeel it's probably just a typical cry-baby excuse for not being fit, but I think it's still something to think about, stupid excuse aside.

As Slog said, the NCA has all the training and fitness equipment many players won't get to use at domestic level due to not being in Lahore. It's really essential in today's standards for players to be able to use the equipment in the NCA as it really helps with being a sportsman and being healthy and fit overall.

NCA is an advantage if you're a disciplined player and the type to take advantage of it.

It's pretty clear that NCA hasn't yet had success honing the talent or fixing flaws in the game of youngsters (tampering with Anwar Ali's action is something I still can't understand). They say Babar Azam and someone like Mir Hamza are big products of NCA, so let's see how they do.

It is, however, a top class facility in a world of cricket where top-class commitment is required. It's an advantage for someone like Shoaib Malik, who regardless of how I feel about him personally does seem inclined to work hard at NCA. Wahab Riaz trains there a lot. Ahmed Shehzad, likewise. They're fit guys but they also seem committed enough personally to take advantage.

Jamshed is an example of what Misbah and Afridi talked about: you can lecture national team players, you can teach them about fitness and tell them to work hard, but you can't force them to take advantage of the NCA facilities.

Look at Amir. 5 years out of cricket, no access to any top class facilities. He managed to keep himself relatively sharp and fit. Much has to come from your own drive.

There is absolutely no excuse for a professional sportsman to have a pot belly. You don't need NCA for it, he is simply lazy, careless about his eating habits and does not have the motivation and drive to work hard and like a lot of Pakistani cricketers, thinks that coasting on your talent alone will do the job.

Excuses come easy for such people, as if there aren't fit cricketers in the country who are not based in Lahore.

Absolute nonsense.

I agree with the OP 100%. It's grossly unfair that Lahore players get to benefit from the NCA whereas players from other towns have to wait for national training camps. So in the interest of promoting equality, I propose we demolish the NCA so that players from across the country have access to the same level of facilities.

dimaag kharab hai? Abolish a facility that is already present to be fair??? I am glad you are not part of the PCB..although with this type of thinking you would fit right in.

Afridi is moving to Lahore for NCA.

So I guess it is a huge competitive advantage to be based in Lahore

NCA has nets & a gym, its not some wonderland like Narnia or King's Landing.

Sent from my D6603 using Tapatalk

Sharjeel has no one but himself to blame for his huge thidh (belly)...he has been in and out of the team for a couple of years and yet never showed an ounce of improvement in his fitnesss, technique or showed an inclination to even improve his fielding. If he complains that Karachi does not have any decent fitness facilities then how is YK (36-37 years old) keeping himself fit despite being almost 15-20 years older than Sharjeel? Players who want to maintain fitness will find a way i.e. jogging, swimming in a canal/pool, playing lot of club matches while watching their diets etc.

How does he think people like Imran, majid, Waqar etc. kept themselves always extra fit especially since there was no NCA back then?

Regarding the news that Afrid is moving to Lahore due to NCA - Oh bhai uss ki to tangain Qabbar mein hain (cricket wise), what is he gonna gain or learn that no one was able to implant in his thick head over the 20 years he has been playing crikcet? This is just a publicity ploy or something, the max I see him playing the T20's before he is dumped is till the T20 WC and that is it.

Lastly, like a few already said, if one wants to learn only then NCA is an advantage or else you will still be the same looser despite practicing there all your life!

relevant question (first one) considering recent developments

Need one in Karachi. How tf is there not one over there, lol.

Guys like Ahmed Shehzad, Nasir Jamshed, Sohaib Maqsood etc have been in NCA for ages and some of them have been there since the time they were 15/16. However esp Lahore based cricketers like Shehzad have massive technical errors in their game which should have been eradicated long ago when they were spending their teenage years in the NCA. I often wonder what the heck happens there where such glaring technical errors in the game of 17, 18 year olds arent fixed and it comes back to haunt them and the nation 5-6 years later when they are part of the national team!

What exactly does the NCA do besides being a gym membership and oily but tasty desi food?

I really don't think the likes of Sharjeel Khan can blame the lack of NCA facilities for his poor fitness. Heck probably more than 60-70% of ppers would be having a better fitness than him. His misfield vs India at the Eden Gardens was one of the most comical misfields of the world T20:asif

Excellent thread.

There should be several NCA around the country to develop large pool of cricketers. The reason for TTF getting back time after time is that most often than not they can go and train and best facilities, whereas others look and feel sub par because they need time to catch up.

Being unfit is no excuse for anyone. Sami was one of the fittest cricketers and that was solely down to self discipline. Sharjeel being tubby is not due to no NCA in Karachi.

I have been saying it for years on PP. PCB will only have some semblance of professionalism till its uprooted from Lahore and planted in Islamabad.

Some people project NCA as if it's only a gym, and that such facilities are always available locally. NCA is a coaching academy, run by PCB, gym is only a part of it, and it only exists in Lahore, which again exposes the Punjab centric mindset of PCB. Every province should have NCA, and there should be equality.

Considering the batsmen coming offlate from it sounds similar to the MRF pace academy in Chennai :yk

Another excuse to bash punjab. This thread.

PCB cannot afford to have academies in every city. There are academies by rashid latif etc in their cities. For once stop complaining and start producing. Cities like karachi have only given us hacks and tuk tuks in recent past.

And Lahore gave as great Shehzad and chotta akmal... :facepalm:

It is a fact that they are tilted towards Punjab and slightly towards Sindh, compared to other provinces. If they can afford to spend 100000$ or Rs. per day in PSL, then they can afford this as well for the betterment and equality.

Fitness is upto individuals not academies. Asa far batting other technical aspects of the game is concerned I would say yes academies are to be blamed as well. Maybe Pcb didn't hire the right coaches or those coaches were tough enough on academy players. Alsoi think academies were shutdown for a considerable period?

Babar Azam is a product of NCA.

NCA is definitely not delivering as it should. The coaches there aren't good enough to bring the best out of boys. Despite this, NCA is still a huge advantage for Lahore players.

And Lahore gave as great Shehzad and chotta akmal... :facepalm:
Lahore gave us many big cricketers. Even shehzad and akmal are better than the crap other cities notably the city in question karachi is producing. We all know the worth of latifs and nauman anwars.
It is a fact that they are tilted towards Punjab and slightly towards Sindh, compared to other provinces. If they can afford to spend 100000$ or Rs. per day in PSL, then they can afford this as well for the betterment and equality.

There is no doubt that they are tilted towards punjab. Everything in Pakistan is. Why? Because Punjab is the most populated province in Pakistan. Common sense to open an academy in punjab before any other provinces. Also, with regards to finances. Maybe PCB doesnt feels the need.

We seriously need to stop this Lahore, Karachi BS. It's sad that people identify themselves as belonging to their regions before belonging to Pakistan.

Lahore gave us many big cricketers. Even shehzad and akmal are better than the crap other cities notably the city in question karachi is producing. We all know the worth of latifs and nauman anwars.

If I am not too mistaken isn't Nauman Anwar originally from Sialkot ??

There is no doubt that they are tilted towards punjab. Everything in Pakistan is. Why? Because Punjab is the most populated province in Pakistan. Common sense to open an academy in punjab before any other provinces. Also, with regards to finances. Maybe PCB doesn't feels the need.

Karachi is the most populated city in PAKISTAN plus we generate the most revenue for the country and before Islamabad was deemed federal this place was the Capital; it is also ethnically the most diverse city in Pakistan. Going by your logic about Punjab (aka Lahore) - Karachi should be the hub of all cricketing activities but since PCB has clear bias on their agenda it's no surprise that all the money and modern facilities are pumped into Lahore and then we get gems like Junior and Selfie :facepalm: :facepalm:

If I am not too mistaken isn't Nauman Anwar originally from Sialkot ??

Karachi is the most populated city in PAKISTAN plus we generate the most revenue for the country and before Islamabad was deemed federal this place was the Capital; it is also ethnically the most diverse city in Pakistan. Going by your logic about Punjab (aka Lahore) - Karachi should be the hub of all cricketing activities but since PCB has clear bias on their agenda it's no surprise that all the money and modern facilities are pumped into Lahore and then we get gems like Junior and Selfie :facepalm: :facepalm:

My bad. Put it any karachi player's name. Most of them are failures.

This karachi generating most revenue is usually peddled by MQM and PPP supporters and its an absolute myth. There is no academic study behind this claim.

Let me put this false myth to rest today.

"Much of the country’s economic, manufacturing, services and other value addition takes place in Karachi.

But what is the difference between revenue generation and collection? According to an article by State Bank of Pakistan’s deputy governor Mohammad Ashraf Janjua, we should know two terms: impact and incidence. Those who pay tax, but pass on the final burden to others are bearing the impact of a tax, those who bear the final burden are bearing the ‘incidence’. Thus, if machinery is unloaded in Karachi (tax is paid here), but is being used in Punjab, the tax is collected from Sindh, but generated by Punjab.

“It has the advantage of being a port city, as well as housing head offices of major financial institutions,” economist Kaiser Bengali, who is also adviser to Balochistan chief minister, told The Express Tribune. “Most companies have their head offices in Karachi where they pay their income tax but earn their income from the entire country.”

Now i dont want you and other regionalists peddling this BS theory again. Same goes for the closeted racist OP.

It's quite sad and unfortunate that Lahore is the hub of our cricket, all the facilities are concentrated in one place, and we're yet to see ANY quality cricketer produced from there in recent past.

Even other Punjab districts suffer a bit as they don't have NCA. But cities close to Lahore and Lahoris themselves have a MASSIVE advantage.

What do we get? Ahmed Shehzad, Hafeez, Kamran Akmal. WTH?

What if the same facilities were also available to other provinces? Sindh and KP - for example. Arguably the passion for cricket is a bit more in those provinces, yet no facilities, and they've managed to produce better cricketers.

It's quite sad and unfortunate that Lahore is the hub of our cricket, all the facilities are concentrated in one place, and we're yet to see ANY quality cricketer produced from there in recent past.

Even other Punjab districts suffer a bit as they don't have NCA. But cities close to Lahore and Lahoris themselves have a MASSIVE advantage.

What if the same facilities were also available to other provinces? Sindh and KP - for example. Arguably the passion for cricket is a bit more in those provinces, yet no facilities, and they've managed to produce better cricketers.

I am interested to know that how you. came to these two conclusions:

1) There is more passion in Sindh and KPK.
2) How they have managed to produce better cricketers? Which ones? Can you provide us with a versus analysis to back your claim?

My bad. Put it any karachi player's name. Most of them are failures.

This karachi generating most revenue is usually peddled by MQM and PPP supporters and its an absolute myth. There is no academic study behind this claim.

Let me put this false myth to rest today.

"Much of the country’s economic, manufacturing, services and other value addition takes place in Karachi.

But what is the difference between revenue generation and collection? According to an article by State Bank of Pakistan’s deputy governor Mohammad Ashraf Janjua, we should know two terms: impact and incidence. Those who pay tax, but pass on the final burden to others are bearing the impact of a tax, those who bear the final burden are bearing the ‘incidence’. Thus, if machinery is unloaded in Karachi (tax is paid here), but is being used in Punjab, the tax is collected from Sindh, but generated by Punjab.

“It has the advantage of being a port city, as well as housing head offices of major financial institutions,” economist Kaiser Bengali, who is also adviser to Balochistan chief minister, told The Express Tribune. “Most companies have their head offices in Karachi where they pay their income tax but earn their income from the entire country.”

Now i dont want you and other regionalists peddling this BS theory again. Same goes for the closeted racist OP.

oh someone's salty...

Karachi dominates both in tax generation and tax collection so your argument falls flat there.

And it doesnt matter what semantics you use because what matters are the numbers being sourced through the city. You seem to be having a whine session about the fact that a lot of the revenue is due to the fact that Karachi is a port and the business hub. Yest thats true but what logic does one claim to not count those earnings. After all these businesses are in Karachi and certainly no one is stopping them from moving to other cities. They are here due to Karachi.

Also Punjab has more industries than Karachi btw and the gap could be closer in tax collection even if industrialists and agriculturalists from the region bothered to pay taxes

The article you linked says following
Karachi ranks on top on the basis of average overall tax collection between 2000 and 2012 — it has an average of 62.4% followed by Lahore 13.63%, Rawalpindi 8.33%, Multan at 5.50% and Peshawar at 3.3%.

In average direct tax collection Karachi dominates with an average 61.49%, followed by Lahore, Rawalpindi, Multan and Peshawar with 17.33%, 4.30%, 3.65% and 3.03%, respectively.

Karachi also leads the way in terms of taxes filed and its time individuals from other cities step up and play their part.

According to FBR data (as of December 9, 2014), 881,262 tax returns were filed across the country. Karachi leads this list as well — and by a wide margin.

I am interested to know that how you. came to these two conclusions:

1) There is more passion in Sindh and KPK.
2) How they have managed to produce better cricketers? Which ones? Can you provide us with a versus analysis to back your claim?

1) There's no conclusion. I said probably. There are no cricketing facilities in metropolitans of other provinces, yet there's strong interest.

2) Ahmed Shehzad, Kamran Akmal vs. Rizwan, Imran Khan snr, Sarfraz Ahmed, Asad Shafiq, Mir Hamza

One group is at a massive massive advantage, yet not massively better in quality.

[MENTION=141320]ZaynM[/MENTION] Lol Whatever helps you sleep at night :)) :))

My bad. Put it any karachi player's name. Most of them are failures

Asad Shafiq and Sarfraz are two blokes who are both from Karachi and are playing some very decent cricket for the past 3-4 years. Asad is an established test batsmen that is currently holding a World Record (go look it up - I won't tell you what it is :P) and Sarafarz has the 2nd fastest hundred by a wicket keeper in test cricket. The latter is made the captain of the T20 side and in our premium domestic T20 comp PSL captained Quetta into the finals having the best W/L ratio in the entire tournament.

Shan Masood originates from Karachi and in case you missed his performance in the previous test series we played he was a major reason why we chased down that mammoth 376 run target against SL in SL. Coupled this with bowlers like Sohail Khan and Mir Hamza I can safely say that Karachi, deprived of the resources Lahore gets, is doing a pretty decent job at churning out test cricketers which should be the first priority of a FC domestic setup.

Also YK started his career playing from Karachi regions since he was never given a chance in NWFP or Punjab to break into a major domestic team - Guess what he's now the best test batsman we have produced in the history of Pakistan cricket. Ah and yes !! Javed Miandad was also from Khi :P and to put the cherry on top Afridi (who practically has as large a following in Pakistan as Imran Khan) is a pathan who was born and bred in Karachi. :D

Let's compare to what now Lahore, mind you I am not talking about whole of Punjab, has given us :)

1. Kamran Akmal
2. Umer Akmal
3. Imran Farhat
4. Ahmed Shehzad
5. Wahab Riaz

:14: :14: :14: :14: I am sure you're quite proud of the Modal town gang of 5 that we've been subjected to over the years. These blokes have been torturing Pakistan cricket way more than the like of Anwar Ali, Khalid Latif or Khurram Manzoor and on top of their cricketing inability, they have massive egos, pathetic work ethic and superstar syndrome.

The only decent chaps that I've seen come out of Lahore recently are Azhar Ali and Hafeez although the latter is originally from Faisalabad.

oh someone's salty...

Karachi dominates both in tax generation and tax collection so your argument falls flat there.

And it doesnt matter what semantics you use because what matters are the numbers being sourced through the city. You seem to be having a whine session about the fact that a lot of the revenue is due to the fact that Karachi is a port and the business hub. Yest thats true but what logic does one claim to not count those earnings. After all these businesses are in Karachi and certainly no one is stopping them from moving to other cities. They are here due to Karachi.

Also Punjab has more industries than Karachi btw and the gap could be closer in tax collection even if industrialists and agriculturalists from the region bothered to pay taxes

The article you linked says following

Karachi also leads the way in terms of taxes filed and its time individuals from other cities step up and play their part.

Yes. You got me there. I am salty because i have seen some from karachi always peddling this regionalism BS and it really grinds my gears. Very annoying.

And btw i can see that you completely missed the points and arguments presented in the article and molded the statements. Took them out of context to make them look favourable in your argument. This is pathetic. Anyone who has a brain albeit not a racist one would get what is being talked about. You are free to dig your head in the sand and peddle lies freely.

If my memory serves me correct, Hafeez I believe is originally from Faisalabad who didn't just recently move to Lahore ?? Or am I mixing two different players here :facepalm:

Perhaps. Not sure. he's always in Lahore though. :srt

[MENTION=141320]ZaynM[/MENTION]

:14: :14: :14: :14: I am sure you're quite proud of the Modal town gang of 5 that we've been subjected to over the years. These blokes have been torturing Pakistan cricket way more than the like of Anwar Ali, Khalid Latif or Khurram Manzoor and on top of their cricketing inability, they have massive egos, pathetic work ethic and superstar syndrome.

:))) :))) :))) OMG that's so epic and true description. :))) :))) :najam

1) There's no conclusion. I said probably. There are no cricketing facilities in metropolitans of other provinces, yet there's strong interest.

2) Ahmed Shehzad, Kamran Akmal vs. Rizwan, Imran Khan snr, Sarfraz Ahmed, Asad Shafiq, Mir Hamza

One group is at a massive massive advantage, yet not massively better in quality.

Interest has nothing to do with cricket academies firstly. These two things are not perfectly correlated. Interest is everywhere in Pakistan when it comes to cricket. Its the only major sport we are somewhat good at an international level.

There is not a massive gap. But there is a gap. Many of the players you named such as imran khan jnr might not even play international cricket again. Who can forget that cut shot lover chinese copy of amla opener we had in england series iirc. Level of ineptness.