"Hasan Ali plays cricket according to his will, he bowls however he wants to" : Shoaib Akhtar

Shoaib Akhtar speaking on TV about Pakistan's loss to South Africa in the first Test:

"There was no need for showing anger, we already knew what the results would be like in South Africa"

"With this batting if you go and play on good quality wickets against good bowlers, the result is known. We could all see the outcome"

"Our best available talent is playing and they have done their best and shown their capacity, why are we asking of them what they can't do"

"We are demanding a lot from the Pakistan batting, more than what is their capacity. They can't get on the front foot. I heard that Sarfaraz Ahmed is promoting Shahrukh Khan's movie Zero. This type of criticism will keep coming when you don't give performances"

"I explained to Sarfaraz previously that it's too late in the day, if he can't exercise his authority and hides behind the coach, this is what will happen"

"I am not a big fan of Mickey Arthur and can not be, because he doesn't understand the methods. I don't think he understands that we need match winners and quality players for big matches"

"You played three fast bowlers but there is a problem and that is Hasan Ali. If your two pacers perform then you need the third one to run in. Hasan Ali plays cricket according to his will, he bowls however he wants to. I don't think that's acceptable. I think he will be out of the Test team very soon. On these wickets, you needed to put in some effort and he failed miserably"

Can anyone tell me what did Akhtar mean?

He was being quite condescending.

What he said in Urdu was "Woh bhai sahab apni marzi say cricket khelte hain aur apni marzi say bowling karte hain aur yeh acceptable nahin hai".

Criticism for the sake of criticism rather than anything substantial.

Sounds a lot like Mr Akhtar himself, doesn't it?

Come on man, Hasan was constantly talking to Azhar Mahmood. He is and remains inconsistent which is something else. He will build that bowling temperament once he gets more experienced.

The whole interview is a contradiction.

Never liked Akhtar when he was a player. Kids will remember his 99mph thunderbolts but forget about his lifestyle, getting injured during the game (in South Africa as it happens) and so on...

He is right because during New Zealand in UAE series Hasan Ali said to sarfraz i wont bowl on this surface in 3rd spell tell someone else to bowl

Hasan Ali plays cricket according to his will, he bowls however he wants to. I don't think that's acceptable. I think he will be out of the Test team very soon. On these wickets, you needed to put in some effort and he failed miserably"

:)) Pot, kettle, back .... that's all that comes to mind.

I think, what Akhtar tried to mean - when two strike bowlers are bowling to get wickets, 3rd one should bowl to contain, but Hasan was too aggressive (for a stock bowler) and leaked boundaries.

I think, he is right; though I am not sure if Hasan can be blamed for that. First, he is not a stock bowler who can bowl tight 10 overs for 12 runs. Then Sarfraz (PAK tank, must not be Sarfraz’s decision alone), decided to open with him. You shouldn’t expect or plan to bowl containing job with new ball!!!

Abbas’s injury changed the entire plot and to his discredit revolutionary didn’t pick a back up pacer, knowing that Abbas wasn’t full fit (even now not sure if he’ll play 2nd Test!!!!). With Abbas fit, may be PAK could have gone for 4 pacers combination and then Abbas/Amir could have kept it really tight, while Hasan & Shaheen could have attacked in short bursts.

Hasan is good in his rhythm but is nothing special otherwise. He is wayward and leaks too many runs, putting the opposition on the front-foot.

The 2017 purple patch is long gone. He is not a big upgrade on the likes of Gul and Junaid. His attitude and overall demeanor makes him quite unlikable as well. About time he gets over that obnoxiously idiotic celebration.

"I am not a big fan of Mickey Arthur and can not be, because he doesn't understand the methods. I don't think he understands that we need match winners and quality players for big matches"

That's the stupidest thing I've ever heard. Mickey doesn't understand that we need quality players? What does he think then? We need sub-standard players to win? Seems like a script from a comedy sketch:

"Mickey Bhai Viv Richards Aur Bran Lara ko khila Lete hein agle match mein".

"Na Bhai bare players se kaam nahi chale ga, Asad Shafiq chahye".

That's the stupidest thing I've ever heard. Mickey doesn't understand that we need quality players? What does he think then? We need sub-standard players to win? Seems like a script from a comedy sketch:

There is rarely any thought process behind these comments.

Another 'analyst' on the same show had this to say: "If Sarfaraz Ahmed is a failure in Test matches, Mickey Arthur is a bigger failure than him".

What does he mean by not showing anger as we know what will happen in SA?
So we should just roll over and give up

He is hillarious, isn't he?

Hasan is good in his rhythm but is nothing special otherwise. He is wayward and leaks too many runs, putting the opposition on the front-foot.

The 2017 purple patch is long gone. He is not a big upgrade on the likes of Gul and Junaid. His attitude and overall demeanor makes him quite unlikable as well. About time he gets over that obnoxiously idiotic celebration.

His lack of consistency and his attitude are things that concern me.

Skillwise he has got quite a lot, he can shape in the new ball regularly on most wickets if he hits that good length which he doesnt hit on most occasions. He can reverse swing the old ball as well which in the current era not a lot of bowlers do. He does have a slower ball in his armory as well.

He isnt working hard enough, while his skill set have improved since his debut but his accuracy and consistency is still as poor on most occasions.

Difference in the champions trophy and now a days is he was really accurate in CT post 1st match and consistently hit that good spot and shaped the ball from there.

Didn’t he take quite a few wickets against NZ. This analysis of ‘player x of Pakistan cricket is no good, because Pakistan cricket is no good’ should wait a few more tests I think.
I expect they’ll play Abbas next test either way.

Shoaib is a super emotional individual and he can't separate it in post match commentary

Comment would have been fine coming from any other bowler who wasnt Akthar.

Mate you played for 2 decades like this, pitching up whenever you wanted to, abusing captains and coaches when asked why you arent putting effort in.

The whole interview is a contradiction.

Never liked Akhtar when he was a player. Kids will remember his 99mph thunderbolts but forget about his lifestyle, getting injured during the game (in South Africa as it happens) and so on...

/CloseThread!!!

Every time I hear this ludhar, I am reminded of how he behaved throughout his playing days; just funny he lectures everyone and contradicts himself multiple times within the same interview

What does he mean by not showing anger as we know what will happen in SA?
So we should just roll over and give up

The stupid anchors in these shows should rein these guys in.
"How did we get to tea day 2 in that position if nothing was expected and why could Azhar Asad and sarfaraz not make 25 each??"

/CloseThread!!!

Every time I hear this ludhar, I am reminded of how he behaved throughout his playing days; just funny he lectures everyone and contradicts himself multiple times within the same interview

Got in to a pushing shoving match with woolmer on that 2007 tour.

Pak bowlers, Hasan included have bowled very well. No complaints. I don't know if it's too risky but Abbas should come back for Yasir. That would be a killer foursome.

Pakistan had two clear chances to seize the game. Unfortunately they let go of both. One at 101/1 and the other when Amla was dropped. Should be a cracker of a series if they can find the correct batting order.

These ststements are all sorts of confusing.. bhai kehna kia chahta hai??

Well Woolmer allegedly racially abused him

Sure he did. That’s why the entire team was up in arms up against woolmer. Oh wait that didn’t happen. But let’s take the world of a chucking, ball tamerping, dope cheat, who hits team mates with a bat.

Got in to a pushing shoving match with woolmer on that 2007 tour.

Fight with Afridi and Asif, issues with Inzi, drugs in system, suspensions, Ice skiing while injured, his list of crimes is quite long...people often talk about Asif's crimes, Akhtar rap sheet is much longer.

Hasan bowled well in the second innings. He even gave us the breakthrough we needed early in South Africa's innings, but then Amla's catch was dropped off his bowling, preventing a potential collapse.

Sure he did. That’s why the entire team was up in arms up against woolmer. Oh wait that didn’t happen. But let’s take the world of a chucking, ball tamerping, dope cheat, who hits team mates with a bat.

Exactly, people like Inzi, YK, MoYo etc. just ignored the racial abuse and didn't do anything especially Inzi who forfeited a match based on Izzat/Beesti...still to this day all of them talk of Woolmer as a father figure and inspiration for no reason!

Let's just ignore the batsmen failing in both innings especially in the second innings, and blame the bowlers instead!

If we look at both the innings, epecifically the the ones with less than 12 runs each, there are like 9 of them in the two innings combined, that is some batting. But here we are, picking on the bowlers who brought us back through their bowling and batting (to an extent) too

If Abbas was playing in place of Hasan Ali then Pakistan may have won the match even with such a bad batting display.

Even if Mir Hamza was playing in place of Hasan Ali, Pakistan would have a great chance to win this match.

Hasan Ali is not what you want in test team when you are playing in South Africa.

He's frustrating. He can also be very expensive at times which is not what we need in certain situations. When in rhythm, no one can deny he is great but he hasn't been that good this year, was pathetic in the Asia Cup too.

Hasan is just starting his career and first time bowling on these wickets? He bowled quite a lot of jaffas and showed his ability to move the ball. He was excellent in the UAE. He did maintain pressure in short spells but then lost patience which is down to inexperience.

"Game winners this, game winners that." That's all this stupid generation knows and this is why they were so inconsistent because they don't know how a team is built.

Akhtar as usual is a total idiot and all over the place.

"Akhtar as usual is a total idiot and all over the place."

As big of a paindu mentality of a guy he is, who goes in circles within the same sentence many a times...he has a long and illustrated list of ex-players to look up to: Akram, Basit Ali, Rameez, Aamir Sohail, Harron Rashid etc. all inept and mostly clueless guys who get paid well due to their past as Int'l players otherwise they have a chabriwaala type of mentality at best!

Even half decent ones like Miandad, Latif, Waqar etc. are not someone you would look up as some thinking and well qualified geniuses when it comes to cricketing intellect, not as a player, but as a cricket analyst!

He just can’t learn fast enough on what his strengths are. He needs to stick to perfecting his skill rather than hoping he will magically deliver superstar spells over and over.

Can’t blame him much though...he’s a small village guy after all. Hope he can find good enough mentors.

Although I think Hasan Ali should be replaced by Abbas (along with Yasir for Shadab), Shoaib ought to keep his mouth shut given his disciplinary issues and poor work ethic as a player.

I found saqlain and mohd waseem tonbe very mature and decent commentators. I like rashid too but he can get pretty cheap at times. Waz is fine too. Others, i agree with you [MENTION=81]Monsee[/MENTION].. very immature and silly at times..

He averages in the mid 20s and has played just 8 Tests. People need to be more supportive of young players who possess quality like him.

Our experts are bashing our bowling when its the only saving grace here.

Yes.

Drop the guy who took 13 wickets in the UAE in the last series based on the keen intellect of someone who claimed to have “genital warts” in order to be dropped.

Hasan is just starting his career and first time bowling on these wickets? He bowled quite a lot of jaffas and showed his ability to move the ball. He was excellent in the UAE. He did maintain pressure in short spells but then lost patience which is down to inexperience.

"Game winners this, game winners that." That's all this stupid generation knows and this is why they were so inconsistent because they don't know how a team is built.

Akhtar as usual is a total idiot and all over the place.

Do you think he has lost a bit of pace? Doesn't seem to be as zippy as he used to be.

Pak bowlers, Hasan included have bowled very well. No complaints. I don't know if it's too risky but Abbas should come back for Yasir. That would be a killer foursome.

Pakistan had two clear chances to seize the game. Unfortunately they let go of both. One at 101/1 and the other when Amla was dropped. Should be a cracker of a series if they can find the correct batting order.

Who will provide breaks to pacers if Yasir is not there?

His talking never have any thought process behind it. In terms of work ethics & attitude, he was umer Akmal of his Era

Do you think he has lost a bit of pace? Doesn't seem to be as zippy as he used to be.

I was watching the movie lay on day three and he was consistently quicker than aamir and afridi who were around 130-135 and hasan would touch 140 and higher.. he was also getting more movement than Amir. If anybody needs to play the containing role, its Amir. He has lost the ability to bring the ballback into the righties..

What he said in Urdu was "Woh bhai sahab apni marzi say cricket khelte hain aur apni marzi say bowling karte hain aur yeh acceptable nahin hai".

He meant Hasan was not following the plans and he is kind of right in saying so. Amir was bowling pressure quite well but Hasan was trying too hard to pick up wickets and got tonked by Amla.

Not that I agree with the plans, mind you; if the target is below 150, you can't build pressure and should be looking for wickets with every other ball. However, Akhtar did not like Hasan breaking rank.

Sounds a lot like Mr Akhtar himself, doesn't it?

Come on man, Hasan was constantly talking to Azhar Mahmood. He is and remains inconsistent which is something else. He will build that bowling temperament once he gets more experienced.

I dunno, it takes one to know one right? Wouldn't be surprised if Akhtar is actually onto something here, given how bezati he was during his own career.

I am a Hasan Ali fan but I kind of agree with Akhtar, for a bowler who is more experienced than he was a year or 2 ago his bowling at the correct line and lengths should almost come from the first ball. Instead he tends to stray on to the pads or overcompensates and bowls it super wide on the off.

He will improve though Inshallah and making needless comments like this especially when Mr Akhtar is a likely inspiration for most of these boys will not sit easy with them.

Yes.

Drop the guy who took 13 wickets in the UAE in the last series based on the keen intellect of someone who claimed to have “genital warts” in order to be dropped.

Enough of personal attacks. Shoaib averaged in the mid 20s as a bowler and was a super star. No current Pakustan cricketer is good enough to lace his shoes. Surely one of the finest bowlers that the world has seen knows more about cricket then you and me.

Hasans accuracy is definitely gone off.

That’s his main problem, not the pace or movement.

Now why he is not as accurate as before is something only he knows and has to figure out.

Yes.

Shoaib didn’t claim that

PCB did that to embarrass him

Have some respect. He is probably our fourth best pacer ever

Enough of personal attacks. Shoaib averaged in the mid 20s as a bowler and was a super star. No current Pakustan cricketer is good enough to lace his shoes. Surely one of the finest bowlers that the world has seen knows more about cricket then you and me.

yes we must decipher coherence in what he said..and if we cant decipher any logic in it, it must be our fault because something something best bowler...

Pakistani fans can be so ungrateful! Not only did Hasan Ali win you a champions trophy, he has only played a handful of tests and performed pretty well in all of them.. I think he averages in the mid to low twenties. After a bad loss, Pak fans suddenly acquire the memories of fishes. Find some objectivity.

Man I really loved Akthar the bowler but sometimes with these interview he doesn't know what he is talking about.

Hasan was giving Pakistan hope in the second innings. He bowled lots of jaffas and that’s what you need to win with 140 to defend.
Shoaib Akhtar is a melodramatic “analyst”. Half of the time he cribs without insights, other half he talks about his knees and IK.

Hasan was giving Pakistan hope in the second innings. He bowled lots of jaffas and that’s what you need to win with 140 to defend.
Shoaib Akhtar is a melodramatic “analyst”. Half of the time he cribs without insights, other half he talks about his knees and IK.

Lmao at last part. So true

I think he genuinely believes that if IK was his captain he would have averaged in terms and taken 500 test wickets

Hasans accuracy is definitely gone off.

That’s his main problem, not the pace or movement.

Now why he is not as accurate as before is something only he knows and has to figure out.

This. He's actually the most consistent Pakistani bowler when it comes to pace. But he just cant afford to miss his length and bowl legsidish. Will get smashed.

Shoaib didn’t claim that

PCB did that to embarrass him

Have some respect. He is probably our fourth best pacer ever

I don’t care if he is considered our greatest cricketer.

A nonsensical piece of analysis will continue to so one especially since Shoiab does not have knowledge of the first-hand tactics the coach uses.

This “XYZ needs to be respected regardless because of past events” mentality is the cause of the seniority plague that haunts Pakistan cricket and culture at large.

Perhaps he does and he has more cricketing talent than you or I.

But we are on a forum to discuss cricket-related matters so comparisons to professionals are unwarranted in a debate or argument.

Furthermore, his bowling average and “sooperstar” status does little to change his empty criticism.

He meant Hasan was not following the plans and he is kind of right in saying so. Amir was bowling pressure quite well but Hasan was trying too hard to pick up wickets and got tonked by Amla.

Not that I agree with the plans, mind you; if the target is below 150, you can't build pressure and should be looking for wickets with every other ball. However, Akhtar did not like Hasan breaking rank.
The question is who told the plan to Shoaib may be the plan given him was to attack. This pressure building game doesn’t suits Pakistan without making the batsman to have the feel for playing. He was tinker only after Amla was dropped. Pakistan fielders always drop someone or captain does not take some reviews later its always bowling fault. Examples kohli Rohit Amla Buttler dropped nicholls finch even smith was given life in daynight test match. These all were big chances later on the batsman took their respective team to
cross the line

Sounds like Shoaib Akhtar describing his own bowling and career.

He is just afraid that Hasan Ali will get more wickets in his career than him and will end up as a better bowler with more achievements.

Akhtar talking about players' attitude is as ironic as it gets. Can't forget going to a match to watch him bowl and finding him having dropped out of the game, spending the day walking or sleeping near the boundary with a cowboy hat on :cobra

Akhtar is a loose canon and probably doesn't sound right coming from him but in essence what he is saying isn't wrong per se. Hasan is apni marzi ka malik types. Most of you were backing his antics when he openly went against captain because you lot dislike the captain, had the captain been more acceptable to people I'm sure more people would have called Hasan out on his garbage unsportsmanlike attitude.

Aggression and passion look good when you are on top of the game and smashing batting lineups like CT17, but not when someone like Ish Sodhi smashes you for three sixes in an over.

Hasan Ali is still finding his way in test cricket. He will get better with time. Look at how well he bowled in the UAE. We have bigger problems than worrying about Hasan Ali.

Akhtar is a loose canon and probably doesn't sound right coming from him but in essence what he is saying isn't wrong per se. Hasan is apni marzi ka malik types. Most of you were backing his antics when he openly went against captain because you lot dislike the captain, had the captain been more acceptable to people I'm sure more people would have called Hasan out on his garbage unsportsmanlike attitude.

Aggression and passion look good when you are on top of the game and smashing batting lineups like CT17, but not when someone like Ish Sodhi smashes you for three sixes in an over.

When did this movie play out, because I missed it:

Let’s face it when Pakistan wins our analysts give us nonsense like ‘they played without fear’
We should expect this level of intelligence from this lot of ex players

Lol people expecting Hasan Ali to be a workhorse. He is a strike bowler. It's his job to bowl attacking lengths.

Also it's high time that we stop paying attention to what Akhtar is saying. Doubt he even saw the match. Rubbish analysis as usual