How do you say "mister" in Pakistan?

TestMatch

Tape Ball Star
Hi guys, I'm helping my son write a simple fictional story, which is set in Pakistan.

It's in English and about cricket.

The characters speak Urdu, and I was wondering how they'd say, for example, "Mister Khan".

Would they say "Khan Sahib"? (google tells me "Sahib" means mister, and comes after the surname, but some websites say otherwise).

Thanks for any help.

Depends on the relationship with the person being addressed as cricket coach would be addressed differently than a close friend or a fruit vendor.

Can you give me an example in which a young student is speaking to an adult coach (ie the "mister")?

Thanks.

Thanks, I've never heard of "Mian" before (or Miyan, which is popular on google). I may use that.

Is "Sahib" incorrect? It seems popular on google too.

I dont think 'mian' is ever used in everyday conversations.

'Sahab' is perfectly fine. Or in the context of your story 'Bhai' (preceded by the name of the character) might work better. As you may have noticed the Pakistan cricket team is full of bhai's from Wasim bhai to Inzi bhai and nowadays Misbah bhai ;)

Can you give me an example in which a young student is speaking to an adult coach (ie the "mister")?

Thanks.

How young is the student and how old is the Adult coach?
a 15 yr old can call his 35'ish coach as Bhai (bro).

How young is the student and how old is the Adult coach?
a 15 yr old can call his 35'ish coach as Bhai (bro).

If it’s a 10-15 year old kid and he is talking to coach he will just say ‘Sir’

if you are asking like in proper Urdu that will be "Hazrat" but since they are playing Cricket, it can anything like "Bhai"

The characters speak Urdu, and I was wondering how they'd say, for example, "Mister Khan".

Would they say "Khan Sahib"? (google tells me "Sahib" means mister, and comes after the surname, but some websites say otherwise).

Yes, Khan sahab would be the fine. He could also say "Sir". Or depending on the age of the coach say "Bhai".

If it’s a 10-15 year old kid and he is talking to coach he will just say ‘Sir’

In India, all players address their seniors as sir. Apparently this amuses some overseas players who most likely will never be granted knighthood.
Sometimes they do it right after hoicking them for a six

sahab-hazrat-janab . All used in different settings and depending how formal you wanna get . " Sahab" is probably the most commonly uses. Don't really hear janab or hazrat much unless being facetious

Hi guys, I'm helping my son write a simple fictional story, which is set in Pakistan.

It's in English and about cricket.

Thanks for any help.

Sahib is correct.