How far will Pakistan progress in the ICC T20 World Cup 2022?

How far will Pakistan progress in the ICC T20 World Cup?

Pakistan have yet to win a T20I in Australia but some of our fans thought we were gonna win it :))

First round exit incoming.

I just hope Pakistan can beat Netherlands and Bangladesh, or they won't be allowed to land back home.

Pakistan have yet to win a T20I in Australia but some of our fans thought we were gonna win it :))

Pakistan's record of T20Is played in Australia:

Played 6
Won 0
Lost 5
No Result 1

I just hope Pakistan can beat Netherlands and Bangladesh, or they won't be allowed to land back home.

Why there is even a need to play these games now?

Either way, I think both Bangla and Netherlands have a good chance to win.

I do not want Pak to win here because then, some useless heroics by one of these totally miserable and failed players will give a false sense of some earth shattering self assurance, under the notion of "ending the tournament on a high note". No we don't need any victory from here on.

I truly hope Pak loses all the remaining games. It's only good for us - or else, things will never change, and we will carry on with the same team, same coaching staff, and same cricket culture.

As Bob Willis might have said, “send them all home in Economy Class, and if you want you can strap some of them to the wings”.

Shoaib Akhtar:

"I had already told Pakistan that they will come back this week. And India will come back next week after playing in the semi-final. Voh bhi koi Tees Maar Khan nahi hai (India are also not some unbeatable side) and we are even worse"

"I have been saying this repeatedly, these openers, the middle order aren’t good enough for us to get success at this level. What can I say? Pakistan have a bad captain. Pakistan is out of the world cup in the second game. Against Zimbabwe. Babar, come one down but he is not listening. Major flaw in Shaheen Afridi’s fitness. A major flaw in captaincy.

"What kind of cricket do you want to play? For god’s sake, you have lost to Zimbabwe. Don’t you understand your cricket is deteriorating? The management and the PCB chairman don’t have brains … We had to play 4 bowlers, and we played 3 fast bowlers. A proper middle order is needed, you are selecting something else"

"Two good openers were needed who can use the 30-yard circle. Fakhar Zaman is sitting there; you didn’t use him. He is a back-foot player, and would do well in Australia…It’s really really embarrassing. Ultimately, it’s not you but we have to face the media. We have to sit in India. We have to give answers to the world. What answers can we give now? No plans, no middle order, no openers … I was saying if Zimbabwe bowled length balls, they would win here. I don’t have trust in this team,"

Easiest route now:
Pakistan beats South Africa
Netherlands beat South Africa (highly unlikely)
India wins all remaining games

Other option:
Bangladesh beats India
India marginally beats Zimbabwe
Pakistan thrashes Bangladesh

Leaves Pakistan, India and Bangladesh on 6 pts and NRR comes in to play.

Overally, a 10% chance to qualify for semis now imo. Would have been 60% if India won today

Easiest route now:
Netherlands beat South Africa (highly unlikely)
India wins all remaining games

I mentioned this as easiest not because of its possibility, but because Pakistan would then qualify on points and wont be dependent on NRR.

Other option:
Bangladesh beats India
India marginally beats Zimbabwe
Pakistan thrashes Bangladesh

Leaves Pakistan, India and Bangladesh on 6 pts and NRR comes in to play.

Overally, a 10% chance to qualify for semis now imo. Would have been 60% if India won today

Pigs can fly but Bangladesh won't defeat India in a ICC cup now, Pakistan can tension free enjoy this tourney visit Islamic Centres from Melbourne to Canberra and come back home with a peace of mind :tuq

Sahi farmaaya. This defeat against South Africa will rid them of all complacency and false sense of superiority.They will now hopefully make the required changes in the playing XI by throwing out non performers and giving chances to proven matchwinners sitting on the bench.

Neither Baangladesh nor Zimbabwe will win against India.

Pakistan team just walked into the Qantas lounge in Perth, my son is there waiting on a flight. He is not going to ask for autographs even though he would like to.

Looks like Pakistan may get knocked out in group stage. That Zimbabwe loss was decisive.

The road to knockouts for Pak is pretty much closed now. They need to learn f=the lessons here and plan properly for the 50ver event next year.

The middle order needs to be sorted that's the biggest issue.

The moment of truth coming up tomorrow

Pakistan's rise from the dead?

Pakistan was out of the world cup. Everyone was bashing this team. We had hopes India would defeat SA, didn't happen. We had hopes BG would defeat India, but they cheated and India won.

And out of all teams Netherlands beat the might Saffers.

Pakistan needs to win against Bangladesh now.

Can it get any better than this?

Honestly can't even begin to believe what Netherlands have managed to do here. Now if we don't beat Bangladesh I'll be absolutely heart broken

Incredible.

Looks like India vs Pak final is On again.

Man I have kept believing in this team even when we lost to Zimbabwe..

Come.on Pakistan beat Bangladesh

Even Bangladesh has a chance now. Called this world cup of upsets and it has been like that so far. I know some fans won't be happy now. What a world cup. :ab :inti

Incredible.

Imagine the kind of money that will come in with this, ICC will be licking it's lips.

Let's just hope that Bangladesh don't become a victim of ICC offciials favoring Pakistan for India Vs Pak final.

Pakistan was out of the world cup. Everyone was bashing this team. We had hopes India would defeat SA, didn't happen. We had hopes BG would defeat India, but they cheated and India won.

And out of all teams Netherlands beat the might Saffers.

Pakistan needs to win against Bangladesh now.

Can it get any better than this?

Most of the criticism was right - even a blind man knows that we have a very ordinary batting line for it be a good team. Yes, the team stands a good chance to go to semis but lets not forget it was NOT due to team's performance. Netherland beating SA, shouldn't make us proud.

And frankly speaking ,, u still don't know if Bangla beats us.

Equation is simple. This is a virtual quarter final between Pakistan and Bangladesh. India vs Zimbabwe game is a dead rubber now. :inti

Pak vs B'desh potentially the game of the tournament.

But good time to take the opportunity to ask Pak fans what their reaction would be, had this been India that was given a 2nd chance at life :inti

Even Bangladesh has a chance now. Called this world cup of upsets and it has been like that so far. I know some fans won't be happy now. What a world cup. :ab :inti
This WC has been awesome so far.

This win has put a dampener though. I liked our chances against SA more, Pakistan beat us recently at home. Our batsmen are in better form but we suck against them in WCs and they'll be buoyed after coming back from the dead.

Hoping for another upset to get Bangladesh instead.

Incredible.

India is not getting past England.

Think 80% Eng win this WT20, 15% Pakistan and 5% NZ. India winning will be the real miracle. Pakistan has a chance because of match ups.

Extremely nervous about this game. This now becomes a high pressure game for both teams especially Pakistan who do not do well under pressure when they are expected to do well.

A low slow bounce pace wicket supports the Bangladeshi medium pacers and spinners and Pakistani batsmen are the worst in the world on a wicket where the ball doesn't come on to the bat. If the South African batsmen were struggling to hit and time the ball on this wicket, how do you think our Pakistani batsmen will fare on this wicket against the Bangladeshi medium pacers who love to bowl cutters and the Bangladeshi spinners who know how to intelligently vary their pace.

Also Pakistani pacers could brainlessly give plenty of pace to the Bangladeshi batsmen to work with.

Imagine the kind of money that will come in with this, ICC will be licking it's lips.

Let's just hope that Bangladesh don't become a victim of ICC offciials favoring Pakistan for India Vs Pak final.

So you admit that icc officials do favour teams and India got that favour right?

This upset has surely given Pakistan a new life and even Bangladesh would not like to miss this opportunity even thoigh they are not here to win the world cup. :inti

Pak vs NZ - Semis

Pak vs ENG - finals

Such a co incidence this tourney with 1992 WC. Congrats Pak fans , it is happening

Why don’t you guys say that SA deliberately fixed that match to ensure Pak goes through and an Ind vs Pak final happens ?

Why are some of my fellow indians looking sour and unhappy now? :91: Just enjoy the game. You won't see such cricket in those low quality pyjama leagues ever. Second semi finalist will also be an Asian team. I am supporting Bangladesh in this match. :inti

Why don’t you guys say that SA deliberately fixed that match to ensure Pak goes through and an Ind vs Pak final happens ?

funny how indians pop out like tapeworms

Did you watch the match? If you watched the match you would know

funny how indians pop out like tapeworms

Did you watch the match? If you watched the match you would know

I watched this match and all the other matches you claimed India “cheated “ in . And my statement applies to the extent you say India cheated .

Btw looking fwd to see BCCI influence the proceedings in the Pak vs Ban match and knock Pak out . If they can do so much to influence every match , why not this one ehh ?

SA laid out a red carpet welcome for Pakistan into the semis.

Always trust SA to choke in world cups.

I watched this match and all the other matches you claimed India “cheated “ in . And my statement applies to the extent you say India cheated .

Btw looking fwd to see BCCI influence the proceedings in the Pak vs Ban match and knock Pak out . If they can do so much to influence every match , why not this one ehh ?

Relax. It seems you are about to cry. That thread was started by an Indian member. Don't spoil this thread with your sour posts. :inti

Like i said, first watch the game. And if you make such claims even after watching the game, than that shows you have no idea about how cricket is played.

This has nothing to do with India. I understand Pakistan's win bothers you, deal with it.

Tapeworm

Why are some of my fellow indians looking sour and unhappy now? :91: Just enjoy the game. You won't see such cricket in those low quality pyjama leagues ever. Second semi finalist will also be an Asian team. I am supporting Bangladesh in this match. :inti

tell us something new, funny thing is people with very old accounts log in and come here just to insult pakistan when we win.

pathetic stuff man,

Wow , Pakistan has won already ? Congratulations man

Pakistan winning doesn’t bother me at all . But every India win seems to bother you for sure

Wow , Pakistan has won already ? Congratulations man

Pakistan winning doesn’t bother me at all . But every India win seems to bother you for sure

win as in winning a scenario.

yes it does bother you, or else why would someone make an effort to go to a place and log in to a dead account

win as in winning a scenario.

yes it does bother you, or else why would someone make an effort to go to a place and log in to a dead account

Have been watching this space for a long time .
As I mentioned earlier , you pak fans crying hoarse abt every Indian win is what got me to post

Have been watching this space for a long time .
As I mentioned earlier , you pak fans crying hoarse abt every Indian win is what got me to post

yeh sure you have.

Mate you are the one who is crying here.

No more sour posts from me . Enjoyed some good swing bowling by Shaheen and finally what a six by Litton there

Pakistan are peaking at the right time?

After those chokes against India and Zimbabwe, Pakistan have turned it around by thrashing Netherlands and RSA.

I still think Pakistan are an inferior side to England but they can certainly beat India and NZ and on a good day maybe even beat England also.

So, are Pakistan peaking at the right time in this tournament?

It's pretty clear that with rains and washouts, this is going to be a chaotic tournament and many of the favorites would be out on account of some easy match getting washed out or curtailed. I expect Pakistan team to win this tournament because this start stop chaotic tournament is meant for Pakistan who would struggle to give consistent performances in normal situations but can be extremely good in these situations. They have a superb bowling attack, an extremely underrated but one of the best T20 all rounders in shadab and strangely this time around a very safe fielding side thanks to a lot of youngsters. I have put my money where my mouth is and have backed Pakistan to win the tournament at the current odds of 8/1.

Said this after the early defeats. Always thot Pakistan would surprise everyone. Being an Indian, i am more optimistic about Pakistan than pakistani fans themselves.

Who would have thought we would be talking about a semi-final place after loss to Zimbabwe?

Look the thought was there definitely
Because at that time mathematics could be worked easily ( india winning all matches etc )

We all watched

India v south africa ( hoping indian win will ease our route) it didnt happen

Then we moved to adelaide
Hoping bangladesh miracle but miracle turned into disappointment via Rain

That was the moment hope was kind of lost.

Until litton das was smashing
Pakistan was very much in semi final contention discussion.

We're in the finals! One more to go

Babar: Thanks to the crowd. We feel like we're playing at home. Got a good start with the first 6 overs with the ball. Later on the ball didn't come on well. Fast bowlers finished well. We planned before going that we'll utilise the powerplay. He's a young guy and showing his aggression (Haris). He's playing very well. We're going to enjoy this moment. But at the same time have focus on the final.

Didn't expect this team to reach the finals. Regardless of ICC rankings, even if the team is ranked in the bottom 3, Pakistan always turns up in the big ICC events.

Global events are all about form, momentum and a bit of luck. You can be in tremendous form throughout the year, if you run into a bad patch or slight bad luck during the tournament, then it will cost you big time.

Babar has to take leaf out of Australia 2015 or 1999, they lost close contests v New zealand, their trans tasman rivals and latter one by just 1 wicket which deeply hurt Aussie pacers. It kicked in Aussies v badly as their defeat to England in 2021 world cup.

Instead of venting frustration on this game in which we bowled poorly in the end like srmi final of world cup last year & Asia cup final, focus needs to be to win next 4 matches.

Our fans become too emotional as it is end of the world. Unlike last year world cup Semi final where it was the end. It is just a beginning.

Every single ICC trophy pakistan has won has started with a defeat.
1) 89 Nehru cup
2) 92 world cup
3) 2017 icc champions trophy
4) 2009 T20 world cup

It is about mental strength, our boys need to have fire in their belly & up for the game 4 mini-finals

Zimbabwe, Holland, South Africa ( virtual quarter final) then banglafesh.

World cup does funny things
You never know india might lose heavily against Proteas at Perth WACA as pitch will suit South African pacers.

NRR might come into picture.

What pakistan shall not do is bottle it
As india did in 2021 they suffered badly v Nzl and Asia cup v sri lanka.

Hayden is an Aussie he needs to say all this.

Take it hard steven waugh way in 1999 and win every single match of world cup.

I remember this post i sent on october 23rd

Early exit. We will lose two of the remaining four matches.

I can't see pakistan beating south africa in these conditions

Very difficult for Pakistan to reach Semis after this heart' break game. If they loose against SA they will be out of the World WC. India and South Africa will most probably qualify from this group.

I cannot see Pakistan beating South Africa on any Australian ground. We were just beaten by a poor Indian side, where we threw away 2 points in a choke-job.

Zimbabwe at Perth will be difficult aswell. We saw how Afghanistan troubled England at Perth yesterday, and our batters are horribly out of form for them to make any meaningful contributions.

Need to drop Shaheen, he is not fit. Bowling harmless 80 MPH dollies will not work on these wickets.

We could get out of the fairly easy group to reach the semis.

Don't see us beating Australia or NZ or England whichever team shows up then.

Islamabad Airport on 7th November

pakistan is going home in group stages.

Say what you want BUT That loss to India will heavily mentally impact the players.

In most of our previous WC losses to India we hardly every got even close to a winning position, it was always like we had accepted from the go that we had lost and we needed to move on and focus on to the other remaining matches of the tournament.
This time however, we were pretty much in a position where we should have won it comfortably. But from there completely bottling it and being absolutely torn apart under pressure will definitely leave scars on our team's mental strength for a long time.

I highly doubt we can find enough mental strength and fire to win 6 matches in row after that devastating ending. Reaching the semis would be a massive achievement.

Semi Final in my view unless rain intervenes. Final seems out of their reach now

You guys gave up too easily :))