How to become a landowner in Pakistan?

Pakistanian

So I'm not from Pakistan but was thinking about owning agricultural land over there, my ancestors in punjab never owned land over there apart from houses. Is there a way to become a landowner or do you have to politcal connections or come from a family that's been landowners for generations? I just wanna know what the process is.

First thing you need is National ID card, can't do anything without that. Then I believe, it is permissable to purchase land.

I have a NICOP, what's next? I don't descend from a zamindar, is that an issue? I feel like the old boys club won't like a new kid on the block.

if you don't know anything about agriculture, if you do not have anyone who you run your day to day matter, then I'd suggest you to not to purchase agriculture land, rather invest in a property that will hold its value or could be rented out.

I'm gonna hire farmers/kissans to work the land, I haven't graduated college yet but I plan to do this in the future.

I have a NICOP, what's next? I don't descend from a zamindar, is that an issue? I feel like the old boys club won't like a new kid on the block.

I don't think it's an issue as I understand the NICOP is the main requirement. Have you got any relatives there than can help you locate suitable land? I only have experience with plots and not agricultural land as such.

My uncle has a big business in Lahore and deals with real estate and I got extended relatives in sialkot that however none of them have experience with agriculture, like I said we're not zamindars, we don't come from 'old money'.

Don't do it if you don't have backing of an influential person. In Pakistan it is very easy to get scammed out of your money, even your family members will happily take money from you and play games.

My uncle has a big business in Lahore and deals with real estate and I got extended relatives in sialkot that however none of them have experience with agriculture, like I said we're not zamindars, we don't come from 'old money'.

Starting point would be to look at some websites that sell agricultural land in Pakistan. Then maybe get someone like your uncle to follow up on something of interest.

The first step is to learn the terminology. Do you know the difference between a murraba, a marla, a kanal and a ghumaaon? I never learnt, and always thought that a murraba was strawberry jam, a kanal was a canal, and a ghumaaon the amount of spin on my Chinaman. My career as a feudal lord was swiftly nipped in the bud.

Ah I thought the term Murbba was used only in NW Rajasthan. Here it means the short tracts of land usually near a nahar(canal).

Murabba literally means square, from the Arabic, and it’s probably derived from arba’a, the number four, since it has four sides. So it’s a square of land, and if I am not mistaken, it doesn’t necessarily have to be next to a canal, at least not in Pakistan. The definition may well be different in Rajasthan.

However, murabba also means jam. In the original Arabic, it is spelt and pronounced differently, but since we don’t pronounce it any differently, it can lead to confusion. So you could go out to buy a square of land, and come home with a jar or jam, or vice versa.

Etymology is fun!

I have heard of these terms, I'm not sure about the measurements and how they convert to American measurements however it can't be too hard. With enough homework I'll be a feudal lord in no time :misbah3

Do you personally have any knowledge or experience of farming or you have any trustworthy person here who has it ?

Murabba literally means square, from the Arabic, and it’s probably derived from arba’a, the number four, since it has four sides. So it’s a square of land, and if I am not mistaken, it doesn’t necessarily have to be next to a canal, at least not in Pakistan. The definition may well be different in Rajasthan.

However, murabba also means jam. In the original Arabic, it is spelt and pronounced differently, but since we don’t pronounce it any differently, it can lead to confusion. So you could go out to buy a square of land, and come home with a jar or jam, or vice versa.

Etymology is fun!

Murabba doesnt always necessarily mean Jam. For instance aanwle ka murabba isn't technically a jam , is it?
I love murabbas of different items. They are generally considered good for your overall health.

I have heard of these terms, I'm not sure about the measurements and how they convert to American measurements however it can't be too hard. With enough homework I'll be a feudal lord in no time :misbah3

That’s the spirit. In a pinch, you could always use the calculator app on your cellphone.

Anyhow, the next step is to hire dacoits. This is important, because if you are an absentee landlord, enterprising peasants and rival landlords would try to usurp your land. They will try to do this anyhow.

Dacoits are a smart hire because unlike hired thugs drawn from country yokels, dacoits can supplement their income with organized acts of larceny. Said acts can help you strategically too, to keep any recalcitrant rivals in check.

You will need to build a dera for the dacoits. This is a brick building, suitably unfinished and nondescript. This is where your band of heavies will rest, recuperate, eat, frolick, etc.

A word of caution. There is a lot of intrigue that goes on in the rural underbelly where these people operate. You will need to keep your ear to the ground, root out any traitors and turncoats in the midst, and deal with them with an iron fist.

Refer to below:
http://www.pakpassion.net/ppforum/showthread.php?254306-Pakistan-land-grabbers
It's a Pakistani speciality to take outsiders for a ride...

Murabba doesnt always necessarily mean Jam. For instance aanwle ka murabba isn't technically a jam , is it?
I love murabbas of different items. They are generally considered good for your overall health.

I’ve never heard of an aanwle. I don’t even know what it is. Maybe it only grows in Rajasthan.

Murabbas are indeed sold by hakeems as a remedy. The amount of sugar in them means they can’t possibly be good for health.

That’s the spirit. In a pinch, you could always use the calculator app on your cellphone.

Anyhow, the next step is to hire dacoits. This is important, because if you are an absentee landlord, enterprising peasants and rival landlords would try to usurp your land. They will try to do this anyhow.

Dacoits are a smart hire because unlike hired thugs drawn from country yokels, dacoits can supplement their income with organized acts of larceny. Said acts can help you strategically too, to keep any recalcitrant rivals in check.

You will need to build a dera for the dacoits. This is a brick building, suitably unfinished and nondescript. This is where your band of heavies will rest, recuperate, eat, frolick, etc.

A word of caution. There is a lot of intrigue that goes on in the rural underbelly where these people operate. You will need to keep your ear to the ground, root out any traitors and turncoats in the midst, and deal with them with an iron fist.

Dera can be used for other purposes as well if OP is interested enough.:asadrauf

Indeed. As a matter of fact, younger sons of feudal lords, who have no hope of succeeding their fathers as chaudhries because their elder brothers are being groomed for that role, are invariably found at the deras of their thugs. It helps pass the time. Country life can be dull otherwise.

The classic example of this is the Firdous Jamal character in Waris.

I’ve never heard of an aanwle. I don’t even know what it is. Maybe it only grows in Rajasthan.

Murabbas are indeed sold by hakeems as a remedy. The amount of sugar in them means they can’t possibly be good for health.

I meant Amla:amla or Indian gooseberry. Can't believe you haven't heard of it. Been long in US?

No, I’ve heard of Amla. You misspelt it. It’s all your fault.

Isn’t amla used for controlling dandruff? There were even shampoos with amla in it. Maybe that explains Hashim Amla’s impressive facial hair.

My hairdresser in Pakistan, the peerless Haji Sahab, used to keep amla and another herb, reetha, in his shop.

It was a fairly involved process of softening the amla and the reetha up and mixing them to come up with an anti-dandruff concoction. I never tried it, but Haji Sahab swore by it.

No, I’ve heard of Amla. You misspelt it. It’s all your fault.

Isn’t amla used for controlling dandruff? There were even shampoos with amla in it. Maybe that explains Hashim Amla’s impressive facial hair.

Its a good desi remedy if you have a weak eyesight.
And Yeah they also recommended it for those having hairfall problems. Been known to do wonders to balding dudes.
Maybe you should give it a shot :afridi

Its a good desi remedy if you have a weak eyesight.
And Yeah they also recommended it for those having hairfall problems. Been known to do wonders to balding dudes.
Maybe you should give it a shot :afridi

That ship sailed long ago. I’m perfectly content with my clean-shaven pate, thankyouverymuch.

Indeed. As a matter of fact, younger sons of feudal lords, who have no hope of succeeding their fathers as chaudhries because their elder brothers are being groomed for that role, are invariably found at the deras of their thugs. It helps pass the time. Country life can be dull otherwise.

The classic example of this is the Firdous Jamal character in Waris.

Tehsildar and local patwari if gone to rival landlord's hand can be a problem for our OP.:babar

[MENTION=22846]Nostalgic[/MENTION] [MENTION=140491]Greenstorm[/MENTION] How come Pakistan never tried implemention of land and tenancy reforms after azadi? Here we had them soon after the country got Independence from the British .
Also how does feudal structure works in Pakistan? Which tribe owns the most of Land? Are Gakkhars and Khokhars still relevant?

We’ve veered off course, into jams and hair remedies.

The OP will eventually need to make the move into electoral politics, and it’s important to put the mechanism in place to be able to do so.

A National Assembly seat would be bad form. It would betray the mindset of an upstart, and we don’t want that. A provincial assembly seat, with the promise of remaining a backbencher and an infusion of dollars into the party coffers, could be enough to sway the mind of the party chief into giving the OP a ticket. This need not happen immediately, but it should, eventually.

To make this eventuality come to pass, the OP should first start cultivating the local patwari. I mean the real patwari, not the local PMLN leader. The patwari knows where the bodies are buried, both literally and figuratively, and having him on your side will work wonders in the long run.

Etymology is fun!

Murabba مربة (jam) is with a silent 6aa while muraba3 مُرَبَّع (square) end with an 3ain.

Also this reminded me of guys who had just recently learned a bit of Arabic pronouncing Shur6a شرطة (Police) as Shurtata.

Tehsildar and local patwari if gone to rival landlord's hand can be a problem for our OP.:babar

Yes, we cross posted. I was coming to that. The patwari, the tehsildaar, the AC/DC, all need to be on board, and they will all want their piece of the pie. Or jam.

Note to OP: AC/DC does not refer to the heavy metal band.

Murabba مربة (jam) is with a silent 6aa while muraba3 مُرَبَّع (square) end with an 3ain.

Also this reminded me of guys who had just recently learned a bit of Arabic pronouncing Shur6a شرطة (Police) as Shurtata.

Yup, that’s what I meant: they are written and pronounced differently in Arabic, but generally they are pronounced the same in Pakistan.

[MENTION=22846]Nostalgic[/MENTION] [MENTION=140491]Greenstorm[/MENTION] How come Pakistan never tried implemention of land and tenancy reforms after azadi? Here we had them soon after the country got Independence from the British .
Also how does feudal structure works in Pakistan? Which tribe owns the most of Land? Are Gakkhars and Khokhars still relevant?

Landlords were too powerful for any reforms. Majority of them are still in parliament.
I do not know much about the feudal structure in Pakistan.

@KB can answer this better than I can.

Its a romantic idea but in the Land of Sharifs and AZ, you need to have connections to survive. We own land in Pothwar but its non productive land which due speculation is worth a lot but outside that it has no practical use.

By purchasing land.

Any one can purchase agricultural land. The system is being updated and computerized but there are still issues in transfer, mutation of land ownership.

You need to look at economical and legal aspects of your plan.

The basic unit of land is acre which consists of around 8-9 canals, one canal is equal to 20 marlas. 25 acres make a square.

An average agricultural acre in fertile areas of Punjab will cost you between 1.2 to 2 million rupees, premium agricultural lands in surrounding areas of big cities could be as expensive as 3/4 million Rs. Depending on the location/fertility you can give it for rent for agricultural purposes at around 40k - 60k per annum.

I just realized the Urdu keyboard has been updated in iOS11! It actually looks like Nastaaliq, not that blocky faux-Arabic text! Like so: مربع، مربہ

Exciting!

Yes, we cross posted. I was coming to that. The patwari, the tehsildaar, the AC/DC, all need to be on board, and they will all want their piece of the pie. Or jam.

Note to OP: AC/DC does not refer to the heavy metal band.

Only Patwari needs to be on board. Rest, will be managed by Patwari himself.

But this is not as lawless as people are making it here. There is a proper documentation for agricultural rights. Patwari's role is also diminishing with computerization of records. Still, the record keeping, ownership records are far from being ideal.
Before purchasing a land one needs to check the ownership record of that property and check if there are any counter claims on that land.
Neighborhood should be of good reputation, the land should be easily accessible, preferably directly connected to a public/thorough road.

Possession is very important in case of a dodgy documentation/ ownership record.

Transactions should be properly documented, attested, signed etc for any future legal issues.

If it is more than mere romanticism then I will try to provide more information on this issue. I know a thing or two because my family owns few acres.

I actually read it as "How to become a lawnmower in Pakistan" at first. Pleased to report that it provided me with much needed hilarity in my own mind.

One example of an American-Pakistani landlord is the novelist Daniyal Mueenuddin.

Born to a Pakistani father and an American mother, he spent a lot of time on his father’s mango plantation in South Punjab. He then left for the US, attended an Ivy League school, worked for a Wall Street firm, and spent his spare time in Wisconsin.

Upon his father’s death, he returned to Pakistan, and now runs the farm. In fact, the farm and it’s environs provided the inspiration for In Other Rooms, Other Wonders, his debut collection of short stories.

So a precedent exists. Except that in Mueenuddin’s case, his family already owned the place. And he moved back well into his adulthood. Nevertheless, he could be an inspiration to the OP.

One example of an American-Pakistani landlord is the novelist Daniyal Mueenuddin.

Born to a Pakistani father and an American mother, he spent a lot of time on his father’s mango plantation in South Punjab. He then left for the US, attended an Ivy League school, worked for a Wall Street firm, and spent his spare time in Wisconsin.

Upon his father’s death, he returned to Pakistan, and now runs the farm. In fact, the farm and it’s environs provided the inspiration for In Other Rooms, Other Wonders, his debut collection of short stories.

So a precedent exists. Except that in Mueenuddin’s case, his family already owned the place. And he moved back well into his adulthood. Nevertheless, he could be an inspiration to the OP.

That short story collection was really engrossing and a much more entertaining read than most of Mohsin Hamid's "critically acclaimed" novels.

You need to post more often :)))

That short story collection was really engrossing and a much more entertaining read than most of Mohsin Hamid's "critically acclaimed" novels.

Speaking of Mohsin Hamid, did you read his latest? I noticed it had been shortlisted for the Booker, so maybe he has improved. I haven’t yet read it, but I plan to.

You need to post more often :)))

I’m actually trying to wean myself away. But to quote Michael Carleone in Godfather III, “I try to leave, and they pull me back. They pull me back!”

Corleone!! (italian hand gestures) Car-leone is something the bank tries to do to own you for 4 years minimum.

Speaking of Mohsin Hamid, did you read his latest? I noticed it had been shortlisted for the Booker, so maybe he has improved. I haven’t yet read it, but I plan to.

I did. Exit West starts similar to Moth Smoke, a young professional in Lahore looking for meaning in life. The female protagonist is an interesting character, burqa clad but a riding on a motorbike, she seem to come across as someone out of Frank Miller's graphic novels. Not very believable.

The global refugee crisis is main theme of the story. While I was very sympathetic to it all, I found Mohsin pandering to the western audience, falling for the all so hip and cool "victim-narrative" that seem to have become the darling of all the NYT, Newyorker etc. critic elite. Of course, when word got out that Obama is reading it, (like Oprah, he has made some sort of a 'Obama book club' himself).

Its a prestige book for the sake of prestige. Lots of pseudo-intellectual thoughts put together loosely to make something that just doesn't have the power or impact of the Reluctant Fundamentalist.

Corleone!! (italian hand gestures) Car-leone is something the bank tries to do to own you for 4 years minimum.

A thousand apologies. I have a reputation here for meticulous attention to detail, spelling, punctuation et al. Which means that as soon as an attentive newbie arrives, I make a mistake.

By the way, do you have a thread on the intro section yet? That’s where we get to quiz you and ask questions of an offensive personal nature.

I did. Exit West starts similar to Moth Smoke, a young professional in Lahore looking for meaning in life. The female protagonist is an interesting character, burqa clad but a riding on a motorbike, she seem to come across as someone out of Frank Miller's graphic novels. Not very believable.

The global refugee crisis is main theme of the story. While I was very sympathetic to it all, I found Mohsin pandering to the western audience, falling for the all so hip and cool "victim-narrative" that seem to have become the darling of all the NYT, Newyorker etc. critic elite. Of course, when word got out that Obama is reading it, (like Oprah, he has made some sort of a 'Obama book club' himself).

Its a prestige book for the sake of prestige. Lots of pseudo-intellectual thoughts put together loosely to make something that just doesn't have the power or impact of the Reluctant Fundamentalist.

I was reading an interview with Mustansar Hussain Tarar the other day. He is friends with Mohsin Hamid and some of the other more prominent English-language Pakistani fiction writers, like Daniyal Mueenuddin and Kamila Shamsie etc. He said that these writers are told by their editors and publishers to insert certain cliches in order to be published. I suppose this is the case for all writers having to write about their native culture for audiences ignorant of the details and nuances of said culture.

I sort of have experience of that. I shared a short story in a workshop once, and the comments were along the lines of, why didn’t the protagonist say his afternoon prayers, how come the male and female leads met openly without invoking the ire of the mullah and getting stoned to death etc.

I was reading an interview with Mustansar Hussain Tarar the other day. He is friends with Mohsin Hamid and some of the other more prominent English-language Pakistani fiction writers, like Daniyal Mueenuddin and Kamila Shamsie etc. He said that these writers are told by their editors and publishers to insert certain cliches in order to be published. I suppose this is the case for all writers having to write about their native culture for audiences ignorant of the details and nuances of said culture.

I sort of have experience of that. I shared a short story in a workshop once, and the comments were along the lines of, why didn’t the protagonist say his afternoon prayers, how come the male and female leads met openly without invoking the ire of the mullah and getting stoned to death etc.

In Mohsin Hamid's case though, its not about over abundance of cultural cliches. The relationships in his books are in fact quite idiosyncratic in my opinion. Its just that I find him choosing topics to write on based solely on what will get traction in the western liberal media elite. He knows that if he writes on certain topics, he will get a lot of press coverage and interviews in the media.

The Reluctant Fundamentalist felt different because of its auto-biographical aspects, the protagonist felt real. The latest offering is laden with self referential material as if Hamid is most inspired by his own previous work rather than some new inspiration, except, he seems to have taken a page out of Haruki Murakami supernatural realm. It made the story confusing for me, in a bad way.

Still, I am happy for the guy. All the world hears about us is terrorism and extremism. At least we get some benefit of the doubt with Hamid's work getting recognition.

In Mohsin Hamid's case though, its not about over abundance of cultural cliches. The relationships in his books are in fact quite idiosyncratic in my opinion. Its just that I find him choosing topics to write on based solely on what will get traction in the western liberal media elite. He knows that if he writes on certain topics, he will get a lot of press coverage and interviews in the media.

The Reluctant Fundamentalist felt different because of its auto-biographical aspects, the protagonist felt real. The latest offering is laden with self referential material as if Hamid is most inspired by his own previous work rather than some new inspiration, except, he seems to have taken a page out of Haruki Murakami supernatural realm. It made the story confusing for me, in a bad way.

Still, I am happy for the guy. All the world hears about us is terrorism and extremism. At least we get some benefit of the doubt with Hamid's work getting recognition.

In some ways it comes with the territory, this catering to a Western audience and what will find traction with them, simply because he is writing in English. There’s hardly a significant audience for English literature in Pakistan, and choosing to write in English almost automatically implies a Western audience. That said, there is still enormous scope for exploring topics beyond the ones that ensure maximum press coverage and interviews, like you said, and it’s not like it hasn’t been done: Muhammad Haneef’s work is gritty and authentic while still touching on politics and extremism, Mueenuddin wrote about rural life, and before them Bapsi Sidhwa with her focus on the Parsi community.

Still, I was rooting for Hamid to win the Booker. It’s about damn time we had a Booker winner, even if it’s him.