Hussain Talat at Islamabad United, from #5 to #8 under Misbah-ul-Haq

Pakistan's worst phase as a ODI team co-incided with Misbah's captaincy. Not a co-incidence is it? Afridi and Misbah effectively destroyed our ODI cricket.

How was that the worst phase? Misbah has ODI series wins in SA, India, West Indies, Sri Lanka along with an Asia Cup. CT 2013 was a blip for sure. I don't see any other captain in the history of Pakistan with those achievements. In 3 years since then our W/L ratio has dropped down to 1 despite us thumping SL and West Indies.

You conveniently "forgot" what we lost under Misbah, his performance as player and captain, including 2011 ( as player ) and 2015 WC. Pakistan was at its lowest ODI ranking under him.

Misbah was Pakistan's top scorer in both 2011 and 2015 world cup with an average of 50. I don't know what else you were expecting from a Pakistani player? Also 2011's loss is on the whole Pakistan team, Misbah included. You shouldn't scapegoat individuals.

We're different posters with different opinions - the truth is in front of you - it was a conscious effort to hold back the pinch hitters. Not sure why Talat's 'treatment' is being singled out when the likes of Russell and Faheem were also lower in the order. Heck even Asif Ali was demoted to 5th

I know you're different posters but it was just strange to see two polar opposite viewpoints used to justify the same thing. ;-)

In the previous match where Talat played a match-winning knock, he was batting above Russell and Faheem! So that's why he's being singled out, I guess.

Asif Ali should never play higher than #5 (actually he should probably be dropped now).

It was in reference to his role in the team, not his ability. Plus that average might be inflated due to not outs as he usually bats in the mid-lower order.

Great, so that indicates that he is a good finisher. :msd Actually he often bats in the top order in List A cricket specially if playing for weaker teams. He prefers to bat in the top order but doesn't usually get many chances there as there are a lot of experienced top order List A batsmen in most teams. He considers himself as a top-order batting all-rounder in the mould of Kallis/Watson (his words, not mine).

Also kindly fix thread title as he hasn't batted at #4 yet in the tournament. The previous match he was at 6 :shadab

Good point, changed to #5. Though he actually batted at #3 last year in PSL in the couple of opportunities he got!

Misbah was Pakistan's top scorer in both 2011 and 2015 world cup with an average of 50. I don't know what else you were expecting from a Pakistani player? Also 2011's loss is on the whole Pakistan team, Misbah included. You shouldn't scapegoat individuals.

Yeah, top scorer but its better not to score and get out quickly if your "runs" costing your team the match. If you play "test match inning" in an ODI, that will give you only one result and that would not be a win. Misbah's inning in 2011 SM against India was the worst and most selfish inning by any Pakistani batsman-----------ever.

Good point, changed to #5. Though he actually batted at #3 last year in PSL in the couple of opportunities he got!

Maybe we should all sign a petition to give the Islamabad captaincy to whoever had the job last year

Waiting for a response to #77. :rahat1

The point is that Talat did well at #3 last year but only batted there for 2 matches towards the end of the season.

At the start of this season, Asif Ali was promoted to #3 instead. He's a hack better suited to the lower middle-order.

Then Talat did well at #5, winning a Man of the Match award in a low-scoring game.

Rewarded with subsequent demotions to #6 and #8.

Surely you can see why people would be concerned?

Waiting for a response to #77. :rahat1

The point is that Talat did well at #3 last year but only batted there for 2 matches towards the end of the season.

At the start of this season, Asif Ali was promoted to #3 instead. He's a hack better suited to the lower middle-order.

Then Talat did well at #5, winning a Man of the Match award in a low-scoring game.

Rewarded with subsequent demotions to #6 and #8.

Surely you can see why people would be concerned?

People are concerned because people are, myself included, dumb.

Talat batted at 8 in one match, and his runs at #8 were invaluable in a close match, so the move was a good one. If someone like McCullum had done that I guarantee there would be more than a few people here arguing it was a tactical masterstroke, letting the youngster play with freedom at the end of the innings, thinking outside the box unlike the Pakistani management etc. Fixating on one change in batting position and assigning this much importance to it is nonsense.

One single innings at #8, where he did well, and people have gone all Chicken Little 'the sky is falling in' in the rush to have one final whinge about Misbah being jealous of the youngsters before he retires.

People are concerned because people are, myself included, dumb.

Talat batted at 8 in one match, and his runs at #8 were invaluable in a close match, so the move was a good one. If someone like McCullum had done that I guarantee there would be more than a few people here arguing it was a tactical masterstroke, letting the youngster play with freedom at the end of the innings, thinking outside the box unlike the Pakistani management etc. Fixating on one change in batting position and assigning this much importance to it is nonsense.

One single innings at #8, where he did well, and people have gone all Chicken Little 'the sky is falling in' in the rush to have one final whinge about Misbah being jealous of the youngsters before he retires.

People just have agendas against him, man. He's been constantly belittled for so many years, why do you expect that to change now?

Lahore Qalandars have the aggressive egg captaining them, flashiest of them all, and a cutie-pie. Kya ukhar liya? :bm

Don't let the door hit you on your way out Misbah, you surely won't be missed

he's not going to leave so easily.. there are still youngsters in ISLU who's careers he needs to destroy first

easily the worst thing to happen to Pakistan LOI Cricket

He is such a great talent. Should bat at 4 or 5. Rarely we see such batsmen who play inside out so very easily to both fast and slower bowlers. Such batsmen often are great success. Also he is very wristy and that is an added advantage to him.

Can't wait for him to retire. Such a shameless person and can't believe he's still playing. Even in bpl his team dropped him shows the value of him.

Even the commie is saying right now that islu could keep one strike to a stabilizer while the other to some attacker

So can we have thread titled editted to hussain talat 1 down under misbah ul haq

I think the reason he came in at 8 was because it was late in the innings and they wanted to send the big hitters out to bat first.

From 8 to 3 today - Misbah's very good at reading the game and making use of his players, what a captain :salute

I think the reason he came in at 8 was because it was late in the innings and they wanted to send the big hitters out to bat first.

Nahi nahi.

Misbah was trying to destroy him.

Many poaters here dont bother to watch the game. Even if they do some cant understand the context.

The other day oyr runrate was very bad which is why a hitter was needed. The image of hussain talat right now is that he is not a hitter which why he had to wait for his turn while others were sent in to strike the ball

Nice to see hom come in a No.3 specially with the way Ronchi set up the game for IU and then with the way Duminy is playing its allowing someone like Hussain Talat to play the way he wants. Either he can start hitting in out or he can bide his time and attack near the end.

Aww. There goes our savior Talat. Couldn't even last 10 balls. :(

Haters will find some way to blame this on Misbah- after all he exposed the youngster to the best bowling line up

1st failure and you pounce at the opportunity. Besides the fact that he helped IU win 2 games.

Not like Misbah haters don't wait for the first opportunity there is to start threads like this.

Misbah hasn't helped the team to win games on his own with the bat or captaincy.

Oh god. Here we go again.

The guy got mcculum in the super over. He asked sami to bowl same delivery and moved patel

The guys post just proves he is looking for a reason to hate

I don't hate Misbah. I call a spade a spade.
He made the right decision today but that does not justify his decision to send Talat at #8 the other day. You can argue that IU won but that was more due to external factors like LQ's fielding and bowling.
Now, I worry about Talat because Misbah has been notorious during his tenture as captain to place a promising young player down the order as a "finisher", Maqsood a notable example, who hasn't recovered since.
I plead with all the Misbah haters and lovers to see both sides of the spectrum.

Oh god. Here we go again.

The guy got mcculum in the super over. He asked sami to bowl same delivery and moved patel

He has been good with bowlers in the past also. Like Ajmal or Junaid's last overs against SA.
But one field change does not excuse his poor leadership, changing of batting order every game, and lack of understanding of the modern game and its requirements. Doesn't help to have Waqar in the background also. I believe Misbah wants well and so does Waqar but their ineptitude is evident.

He has been good with bowlers in the past also. Like Ajmal or Junaid's last overs against SA.
But one field change does not excuse his poor leadership, changing of batting order every game, and lack of understanding of the modern game and its requirements. Doesn't help to have Waqar in the background also. I believe Misbah wants well and so does Waqar but their ineptitude is evident.

hating for the sake

People seem to forget that Misbah is also fielding Sahibzada Farhan aswell.

hating for the sake

Bhai you will brand everything as 'hate' so what's the point of a discussion? You won't accept Misbah has faults, others won't accept he is perfect.

I agree that there are some that hate just for the sake of it and genuinely dislike him but you can't brand all criticism as 'hate'.

Bhai you will brand everything as 'hate' so what's the point of a discussion? You won't accept Misbah has faults, others won't accept he is perfect.

I agree that there are some that hate just for the sake of it and genuinely dislike him but you can't brand all criticism as 'hate'.

bro read his post.

first he claims that misbah hasn't done anything as a captain. i give him an example, then he changes his statement and tries coming in with a new one.

bro read his post.

first he claims that misbah hasn't done anything as a captain. i give him an example, then he changes his statement and tries coming in with a new one.

You said he made a smart fielding change.
I agreed.
I stated before that his captaincy hasn’t won IU a match or his batting performances. And it is true. The win against LQ was due to Yasir dropping Talat and Russell smacking Fizz in the super over. I’ll give credit to Misbah for keeping things stable and giving time to young bowlers. Unless you see Misbah’s horrid time with the bat and lackluster captaincy for two consecutive PSL’s, I can’t continue the discussion.

Comes 1 down.

Ouch misbah haters

Being fan is good but it is worst when you do idol worshipping. Misbah is not like some sort of prophet that he can’t do anything wrong. He did some good things but also did terrible things like he suggested Azhar to be captain but he never wanted him in the squad when Misbah himself was a captain and so on.

We appreciated his support for post match fixing scandal and bring our test team to no. 1

Just hoping that Misbah plays in the next season also.

Misbah don’t have any pressure to resign. He is only 44 years. He can even play another 10 years. Most likely he may play another 5-7 years.

Look at all the people getting defensive after Misbah sent Talat at 3 yesterday.

Dont forget, this is an exception for Misbah. Not a norm. Norm is to make young upcoming batsmen bat in the lower order or to make them carry drinks. Thats the truth. Given Misbah's track record, even this decision must be of Deano and not of Misbah.

These two consecutive posts show your mindset Major

Even the commie is saying right now that islu could keep one strike to a stabilizer while the other to some attacker
Making excuses for Misbah. Preparing ground because even you expect Misbah to send another oldie in to bat. You know people will rip him apart again if that happens so you prepare ground by quoting commies and all. You try to prove that if Misbah doesnt send talat or any Pakistani upcoming batsman in to bat, it is because of his strategy of using hitters.

Comes 1 down.

Ouch misbah haters

This, when Misbah sends talat in to bat :)) Now the commies are wrong. Everybody is wrong now. A proper batsman has been sent in. No strategy matters now. Because Misbah sent Talat in to bat. And now it changes from excuses of strategy to chest thumping about how misbah proved that he supports youngsters.

Its comical. You will defend literally anything that misbah does. :salute:

Misbah has made some faulty decisions for sure like sending Hussain Talat at number 8 the other day, however Misbah is an incredible captain who is a proper student of the game. Along with Salim Malik, Misbah is the finest thinker of cricket Pakistan has ever produced. Just in that Lahore super over game, I can give 3 instances of Misbah's superior captaincy skill:

(1) Brought deep midwicket up to midwicket one ball before which resulted in McCullum getting run out.
(2) Moved the fielder behind square which allowed Asif Ali to catch Salman Irshad.
(3) Moved Samit Patel squarer at fine leg and asked Sami to bowl the exact same delivery which had earlier gone for 6.

Online, there were two really incredible articles that give you an insight on Misbah as a person and more importantly as a captain. Please read those two articles.

These two consecutive posts show your mindset Major

Making excuses for Misbah. Preparing ground because even you expect Misbah to send another oldie in to bat. You know people will rip him apart again if that happens so you prepare ground by quoting commies and all. You try to prove that if Misbah doesnt send talat or any Pakistani upcoming batsman in to bat, it is because of his strategy of using hitters.

This, when Misbah sends talat in to bat :)) Now the commies are wrong. Everybody is wrong now. A proper batsman has been sent in. No strategy matters now. Because Misbah sent Talat in to bat. And now it changes from excuses of strategy to chest thumping about how misbah proved that he supports youngsters.

Its comical. You will defend literally anything that misbah does. :salute:

Leave him alone. He will defend Misbah and Azhar no matter what.

Misbah has made some faulty decisions for sure like sending Hussain Talat at number 8 the other day, however Misbah is an incredible captain who is a proper student of the game. Along with Salim Malik, Misbah is the finest thinker of cricket Pakistan has ever produced. Just in that Lahore super over game, I can give 3 instances of Misbah's superior captaincy skill:

(1) Brought deep midwicket up to midwicket one ball before which resulted in McCullum getting run out.
(2) Moved the fielder behind square which allowed Asif Ali to catch Salman Irshad.
(3) Moved Samit Patel squarer at fine leg and asked Sami to bowl the exact same delivery which had earlier gone for 6.

Online, there were two really incredible articles that give you an insight on Misbah as a person and more importantly as a captain. Please read those two articles. I'm providing the links here. The first article is gold.

Yes all that is good but his love for oldies was and still is the problem.

Misbah's love for oldies is a myth. Please list me all oldies that Misbah has debuted and I will give you a list of how many under 25s made debuts under Misbah.

Any youngster who flourished under Misbah ? Maybe Shadab but that is about it.

Azhar Ali - 25 years old when Misbah became captain. Developed under misbah
Asad Shafiq - 24 years old and debuted under Misbah
Junaid Khan - 21 years old, debuted under Misbah and became a regular under his captaincy

Players like Yasir Shah and Sarfraz Ahmed all flourished under Misbah but I guess they are oldies. Even Virat Kohli is an oldie now I guess now that he is 29.

If by youngsters you mean 17 and 18 years old, then you should realize that we stopped giving chances to 17 and 18 years old after the year 2000 barring one or two.

Batting bro batting. Ask about young batsmen under Misbah. Bowlers would always have come through even though passengers like abdul rehman, sohail tanvir, anwar ali, bilal Asif etc were part of LOI squads.

Where was Haris sohail since 2011? Why wasnt Babar given a chance sooner? Why was Sohaib maqsood demoted after his 50s at number 3? I am not a supporter of Fawad Alam in LOIs but why was he dropped after a couple of failures when he had a tremendous previous year? Why were Kamran Akmal, Ahmad shehzad, Imran Farhat, umar Akmal given chances after chances. Ahmad and umar were playing since many years and failing. Even umar akmal was destroyed by making him into a slogger at number 7 (i know most of the blame lies with him). Sharjeel was dropped after a few failures and TTFs brought back. Iftikhar of all people was given a chance in the team :facepalm:
Asad shafiq, younis khan had their names written in blood on team sheet. Even tortoise Azhar ali was brought in. Why?

I dont even remember many other players now but it was not a coincidence that under Misbah, Pakistan's LOI team nose dived in terms of rankings.

Azhar Ali - 25 years old when Misbah became captain. Developed under misbah
Asad Shafiq - 24 years old and debuted under Misbah
Junaid Khan - 21 years old, debuted under Misbah and became a regular under his captaincy

Players like Yasir Shah and Sarfraz Ahmed all flourished under Misbah but I guess they are oldies. Even Virat Kohli is an oldie now I guess now that he is 29.

If by youngsters you mean 17 and 18 years old, then you should realize that we stopped giving chances to 17 and 18 years old after the year 2000 barring one or two.

Azhar and shafiq were mediocre to average at best in LOIs.

Batting bro batting. Ask about young batsmen under Misbah. Bowlers would always have come through even though passengers like abdul rehman, sohail tanvir, anwar ali, bilal Asif etc were part of LOI squads.

Where was Haris sohail since 2011? Why wasnt Babar given a chance sooner? Why was Sohaib maqsood demoted after his 50s at number 3? I am not a supporter of Fawad Alam in LOIs but why was he dropped after a couple of failures when he had a tremendous previous year? Why were Kamran Akmal, Ahmad shehzad, Imran Farhat, umar Akmal given chances after chances. Ahmad and umar were playing since many years and failing. Even umar akmal was destroyed by making him into a slogger at number 7 (i know most of the blame lies with him). Sharjeel was dropped after a few failures and TTFs brought back. Iftikhar of all people was given a chance in the team :facepalm:
Asad shafiq, younis khan had their names written in blood on team sheet. Even tortoise Azhar ali was brought in. Why?

I dont even remember many other players now but it was not a coincidence that under Misbah, Pakistan's LOI team nose dived in terms of rankings.

Why was Hammad Azam dropped after asia cup and the list goes on. Why can't people accept the fact that Misbah prefer oldies over youngsters ? Every person has some weakness, he had his which cost us a lot.

argument can even be made from Sarfraz, he was picked for the SA tour out of the blew, which Adnan conveniently missed for no apparent reason.

What people forget is that Sarfraz only made a comeback because Adnan broke his finger vs SL. Cricket and life is so fickle at times. All from the will of the creator, just imagine where we would have been if Adnan didnt get injured?