'I am Bhutto’s grandson, not a sports player who takes U-turns’: Bilawal Bhutto-Zardari

PPP chairman Bilawal Bhutto Zardari on Thursday launched his election campaign in Gilgit-Baltistan, promising prosperity and development in the region while stressing on the fact that he is Bhutto's grandson, "not some sports player who takes U-turns".

Addressing, a worker’s convention in Skardu district, the PPP leader said that the citizens of the country are deprived of their basic rights because the authorities sitting in Islamabad make decisions without analysing the real problems faced by the people living in a particular region.

“I am [Zulfiqar Ali] Bhutto's grandson, not a [sports] player who takes U-turns from his promises. I have the same manifesto that I had promised you earlier. It is quite a known fact about PPP, that the party provides employment to people, be it in Asif Ali Zardari’s tenure or Mohtarma Benazir Bhutto's government,” Bilawal said, adding that the provision of employment opportunities and education will be one of the top agendas of the party.

Criticising the PTI-led regime for “historic inflation, poor education policies, and health reforms", Bilawal said: “The treatment meted out to our lady health workers is reprehensible. These workers ensure our health and this is how we are treating them. To date, Zardari’s launched health workers programme is facilitating the workers and that is what we envision for this region as well."

Read more: Ahsan Iqbal warns govt of repercussions 'if it interferes in GB election'

“We plan on launching free quality hospitals in the region just like we launched Gambat medical institute that rushed to the rescue of Shaukat Ali[the veteran folk singer] when he was suffering from a lung ailment,” he said, adding that no other provincial government had extended their facilities to the celebrity.

‘No other region like Gilgit-Baltistan’

Emphasising on introducing developmental reforms in the region, Bilawal said that there is no other region as resourceful as Gilgit-Baltistan.

"We have to invest in the region. Whenever I visit foreign countries, I recommend them to visit GB before visiting Sindh," Bilawal said, adding that the tasty fruits that are grown in the region are not found in any other part of the world.

“I tasted the mulberry grown here when I visited last and couldn’t find as luscious a mulberry ever again,” he remarked.

Ruing that the farmers of the region are left to their own devices, Bilawal said that in order to ramp up economic stability, the region needs food processing plants, cold storage chains, and a dense transport network to transport fruits and vegetables first in Pakistan and then around the world.

“For this to happen, you will have to help bring us into power. We have to give you the basic rights from which you have been kept deprived since always,” the PPP chairman stressed.

Taking lessons from other provinces

Bilawal went on to say that the people of Gilgit-Baltistan “should make their decision wisely while realising the situation of other provinces where PTI was in power.

“We need to save GB because we have seen what they [former governments] have done in other provinces. Go ask the people of KP what they are suffering through,” Bilawal said, censuring the incumbent government for their ineffective policies.

Don’t believe their propaganda, he said, adding: “They will ruin your children's future. We have to save this region from unseen devastation.”

Reiterating that democracy is the only solution to all woes of the country, Bilawal hoped that PPP will witness a remarkable win in the region.

"Support Mohtarma Benazir Bhutto's vision and we will brighten the future of your children," he vowed.

PPP chairman Bilawal Bhutto Zardari on Thursday launched his election campaign in Gilgit-Baltistan, promising prosperity and development in the region while stressing on the fact that he is Bhutto's grandson, "not some sports player who takes U-turns".

Addressing, a worker’s convention in Skardu district, the PPP leader said that the citizens of the country are deprived of their basic rights because the authorities sitting in Islamabad make decisions without analysing the real problems faced by the people living in a particular region.

“I am [Zulfiqar Ali] Bhutto's grandson, not a [sports] player who takes U-turns from his promises. I have the same manifesto that I had promised you earlier. It is quite a known fact about PPP, that the party provides employment to people, be it in Asif Ali Zardari’s tenure or Mohtarma Benazir Bhutto's government,” Bilawal said, adding that the provision of employment opportunities and education will be one of the top agendas of the party.

Criticising the PTI-led regime for “historic inflation, poor education policies, and health reforms", Bilawal said: “The treatment meted out to our lady health workers is reprehensible. These workers ensure our health and this is how we are treating them. To date, Zardari’s launched health workers programme is facilitating the workers and that is what we envision for this region as well."

Read more: Ahsan Iqbal warns govt of repercussions 'if it interferes in GB election'

“We plan on launching free quality hospitals in the region just like we launched Gambat medical institute that rushed to the rescue of Shaukat Ali[the veteran folk singer] when he was suffering from a lung ailment,” he said, adding that no other provincial government had extended their facilities to the celebrity.

‘No other region like Gilgit-Baltistan’

Emphasising on introducing developmental reforms in the region, Bilawal said that there is no other region as resourceful as Gilgit-Baltistan.

"We have to invest in the region. Whenever I visit foreign countries, I recommend them to visit GB before visiting Sindh," Bilawal said, adding that the tasty fruits that are grown in the region are not found in any other part of the world.

“I tasted the mulberry grown here when I visited last and couldn’t find as luscious a mulberry ever again,” he remarked.

Ruing that the farmers of the region are left to their own devices, Bilawal said that in order to ramp up economic stability, the region needs food processing plants, cold storage chains, and a dense transport network to transport fruits and vegetables first in Pakistan and then around the world.

“For this to happen, you will have to help bring us into power. We have to give you the basic rights from which you have been kept deprived since always,” the PPP chairman stressed.

Taking lessons from other provinces

Bilawal went on to say that the people of Gilgit-Baltistan “should make their decision wisely while realising the situation of other provinces where PTI was in power.

“We need to save GB because we have seen what they [former governments] have done in other provinces. Go ask the people of KP what they are suffering through,” Bilawal said, censuring the incumbent government for their ineffective policies.

Don’t believe their propaganda, he said, adding: “They will ruin your children's future. We have to save this region from unseen devastation.”

Reiterating that democracy is the only solution to all woes of the country, Bilawal hoped that PPP will witness a remarkable win in the region.

"Support Mohtarma Benazir Bhutto's vision and we will brighten the future of your children," he vowed.

This guy has never worked or earnt a single halal paisa and is criticising a guy that has achieved more than his crooked family ever will. What a cretin

I remember your grandfather very well Bilawal.

He compromised his principles for the sake of power. It was painful to see. If you do the same, then history will not remember you fondly.

You have a great chance to build a better future for the people of Sindh. Some of these areas are so impoverished and deprived it is unbelievable. Will you take the chance or will you squander it?

Billoo Rani thinking people will vote for him just because she attached Bhutto to her name.

Even in interior Sindh, PPP is fast losing support. That is the only place in the country where the manage to get any kind of votes either through ignorance of illiterate people or through coercion of waderas.

Billoo Rani lost the Lyari seat in 2018 and came a distant third. That seat in Lyari belonged to Zulfiqar Ali Bhutto and Benazir Bhutto, both never lost from there and even after them any PPP candidate could easily win that seat.

Billoo Rani should first realize his auqaat rather than barking against Imran Khan.

Billoo Rani thinking people will vote for him just because she attached Bhutto to her name.

Even in interior Sindh, PPP is fast losing support. That is the only place in the country where the manage to get any kind of votes either through ignorance of illiterate people or through coercion of waderas.

Billoo Rani lost the Lyari seat in 2018 and came a distant third. That seat in Lyari belonged to Zulfiqar Ali Bhutto and Benazir Bhutto, both never lost from there and even after them any PPP candidate could easily win that seat.

Billoo Rani should first realize his auqaat rather than barking against Imran Khan.

Is ki tau identity bhi apni nahi hai magar baatain hain k khatm ho kar nahi daiti hain.

If he had any sort of persona he could call his own, wouldn't need to keep reminding everyone who his grandfather was.

He compromised his principles for the sake of power. It was painful to see. If you do the same, then history will not remember you fondly.

You have a great chance to build a better future for the people of Sindh. Some of these areas are so impoverished and deprived it is unbelievable. Will you take the chance or will you squander it?

I am in my late 40s and i dont remember him. Either you are into your 50s or ...................

I was a great fan of his grandfather - but then I learnt a bit more about him later and realized what he did to Pakistan.

How was Benazir in comparison?

She never got to serve a full term, if I'm correct.

Lol what a ridiculous thing to say. So basically Bilawal is saying he has no self-worth and he is where he is because of his grandfather.

She was corrupt too, maybe not as corrupt as Nawaz or Zardari, but still corrupt. Had competent workers under her and was not the best among PPP leaders. The only reason she came to power was due to anti-Zia sentiments, and also because she was the daughter of ZAB. She had full backing of US upon her return to Pakistan in 2007, where she was killed/murdered by her own husband. If she was alive today, she would've backed the PDM and all the crooks in the system, just so she could seek power. She did loot, and a lot of Pakistan money was in Swiss Banks accounts in the 90s, which was eventually frozen due to corruption scandals. Though she is no zardari, but she was still corrupt.

Plus she wasn’t very intelligent.
I know this from her classmates in Karachi

You can thank your pal Nawaz for that. He first took ISI money in the famous Mehran bank scandal case in 1990 to get rid of Benazir, and then knocked Benazir out of power again with the help of the army in the 90s. The great democrat that is Nawaz. :))

As for the OP Bilawal is openly admitting his claim to fame is his nana. Nothing more. Imran Khan did it all for himself in politics. He didn't and doesn't have to rely on his long dead relative to be relevant in politics.

If Bilawal wasn't as thick as he was he'd realise how he stupid he sounds.

So much wrong with this statement. He's basically saying that his biggest achievement in life is that his pampers got changed by a Bhutto.

Lol so he acknowledged being the grandson of a traitor who broke up the country for his political gains and someone who kickstarted the wave of religious extremism and intolerance in Pakistan in order to desperately hold on to power. He has basically indirectly or even directly conceded he is unfit for public office

Also nationalized industry and education which resulted in utter degradation of the economy. Pakistan is still trying to recover from his various mindless acts even if he had a good faith belief that his acts were going to benefit Pakistan socially and economically. At least ZAB seemingly cared about his people. Does Bilawal?

The only real Bhutto right now is Fatima Bhutto, who is the grand daughter of ZAB. Their family don't get along with Zardari family (that includes Bilawal).

That's because Zardari killed her dad

Pakistan has been very unfortunate to have "leaders" like his grandfather, mother and father and now him. Grandfather was instrumental in breaking Pakistan and his parents weakened the country to a great extend. He should be ashamed of this family, nothing to be proud about, including his grandfather,

Zia and ZAB have been the worst things happened to Pakistan.

Question is, are we going to say something similar 30 years down the road: Zardari/Bhutto and Sharifs were the worst things to happen to Pakistan.

To save their corruption and money they are going to all lengths against the state

She has a brother too who is an active member of the LGBT in California lool, just cause they're Bhuttos by descent I don't think that should mean they're fit to lead a country, if anything I think their elitist upbringing makes them out of touch with regular Pakistanis. They can continue advocating for niche issues like veganism and gender fluidity at coffee shops over croissants and decaf coffee. :))

Pakistan's Rahul Puppu,, but a little more intelligent than our Puppu which is not saying much. Both had grand fathers that destroyed their countries :inti:

She has a brother too who is an active member of the LGBT in California lool, just cause they're Bhuttos by descent I don't think that should mean they're fit to lead a country, if anything I think their elitist upbringing makes them out of touch with regular Pakistanis. They can continue advocating for niche issues like veganism and gender fluidity at coffee shops over croissants and decaf coffee. :))

I never said they should be in politics. I refuse to accept that a child of a politician should also be a politician. The Bhutto line is basically with them rather than with Bilawal. Sucks Fatima's brother is gay, so there won't be a male bhutto heir?? lol

Question is, are we going to say something similar 30 years down the road: Zardari/Bhutto and Sharifs were the worst things to happen to Pakistan.

To save their corruption and money they are going to all lengths against the state

You're right, I guess Nawaz has overtaken ZAB at the 2nd spot for the worst thing happened to Pakistan.

This is basically what the PDM is all about: to preserve the dynastic power structures that has obliterated Pakistan’s future. A phony ‘democratic’ movement dedicated to protecting the corrupt political parties where power is passed down from father to daughter to grandson and the echo chamber media that sustains the fake narratives of ‘democracy’ and ‘media freedom’. Obviously, Bilawal won’t see the irony in his statement, because as someone said above, he’s too thick to realize how he sounds.

This is why Imran Khan must prevail, come what may. Pakistan can’t continue to be the property of unqualified and corrupt kids whose only qualification is their last name.

Can you elaborate sir?

ZAB was extremely ambitious and also bigoted against the Bengals. He believed that only those in West Pakistan should rule, even after he lost the elections fair and square, he manipulated the military to support him. This triggered the civil war that ultimately led to the fall of East Pakistan, and creation of Bangladesh.

His enduring contribution to Pakistan was the nuclear program which he singlehandedly championed, first as FM and then as a PM.

He was a corrupt, violent and ruled more like a mafia boss than a democrat.

This is basically what the PDM is all about: to preserve the dynastic power structures that has obliterated Pakistan’s future. A phony ‘democratic’ movement dedicated to protecting the corrupt political parties where power is passed down from father to daughter to grandson and the echo chamber media that sustains the fake narratives of ‘democracy’ and ‘media freedom’. Obviously, Bilawal won’t see the irony in his statement, because as someone said above, he’s too thick to realize how he sounds.

This is why Imran Khan must prevail, come what may. Pakistan can’t continue to be the property of unqualified and corrupt kids whose only qualification is their last name.

Also the thing is their narrative of democracy is not for domestic ears as deep down their supporters know as well these dynastic parties are nothing about democracy. It's for the consumption of their supporters in the Western governments. Which is even more traitorous. Nawaz had lobbyists hired in Washington during his term as PM...not for the state of Pakistan but for HIM.

Can you elaborate sir?

When I was a school boy in Karachi, I used to listen with fascination to his speeches, he was a charismatic leader .

The way he tore those papers in the UN Debate on Bangladesh was amazing for me, then.

But much later on, learnt about how he was party to Pakistan's dismemberment.

And that changed my perception.